DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 9-16, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foti et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0114444) in view of Ryu et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0073848).
Regarding claim 1, Foti teaches a device (Fig. 1) comprising:
a processor (processor 403) configured to:
forward, to a User Equipment device (UE) over a network, an [(CN 200, including AN 110-120, convey subscribed NSSAI to UE 100 [Paragraphs 79-82, 98]);
receive, from the UE, a registration request that includes a list of requested network slices (UE 100 sends, in a registration request, its list of accepted slices/NSSAI to CN 200 and AN 110-120 [Paragraphs 79-82, 98]);
generate, based on the list of requested network slices, an updated list of allowed network slices (CN 200 updates NSSAIs intended for the UE 100, based on the received list of accepted slices/NSSAIs from UE 100 [Paragraphs 79-82, 98]); and
send the updated list of allowed network slices to the UE, wherein the updated list of allowed network slices is synchronized to the [(then, CN 200s updates the list of NSSAI intended for the UE 100 by separating unmatched SNNAIs and selects common NSSAIs, and sends it to the UE 100 [Paragraphs 79-82, 98]).
However, Foti does not explicitly mention: updated list of.
Ryu teaches, in a similar field of endeavor of communication systems, the following:
updated list of (for the disclosed system (Fig. 17), AMF communicates with UE to share frequently an updated list of subscribed network slices [Paragraphs 203, 205]. Hence, a person having ordinary skills in the art would recognize that this interaction between AMF and UE in Ryu’s would be applicable to the interaction between AMF 205 (part of CN 200 in Fig. 6A) and UE 100 in Foti’s for constantly communicating the updated list of subscribed network slices).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system (as taught by Foti) by communicate updated list of subscribed network slices (as taught by Ryu) for the purpose of properly registering the UE with the network (Ryu – Paragraph 12).
Regarding claim 2, Foti further teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the device includes an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) (AMF 205 – Fig. 6A), wherein when forwarding the updated list of subscribed network slices, the processor is configured to:
send a Configuration Update Command to the UE (CN/AMF sends the configuration command to the UE [Paragraph 86]).
Regarding claim 3, Foti further teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the updated list of subscribed network slices includes:
Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (NSSAI) ([Paragraph 80]); or
a Single-NSSAI (S-NSSAI) ([Paragraph 79]).
Regarding claim 4, Foti further teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to:
request subscription data from a Unified Data Management (UDM) (network slice subscription data for a UE is requested [Paragraph 50]); and
receive an indications of a change to subscription to a network slice (UE informs the CN about the changes in the list of NSSAIs [Paragraph 92]).
Regarding claim 5, Foti further teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to:
in response to forwarding the updated list of subscribed network slices, send an instruction to the UE to re-register at the device (every time an updated NSSAI list is updated, the UE must register [Paragraphs 80-82]).
Regarding claim 6, Foti further teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to:
after forwarding the updated list of subscribed network devices, not send an instruction to the UE to register at the device, prior to receiving, from the UE, the registration request (when the UE initially registers with the network, it can include the preferred NSSAIs, thus not necessary to send an instruction for registration of the UE [Paragraph 92]).
Regarding claim 9, Foti further teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the updated list of allowed network slices is a subset of the updated list of subscribed network slices (every updated list of network slices belongs to the principal list of network slices [Paragraphs 80-82]).
Regarding claim 10, Ryu further teaches the device of claim 1, wherein when sending the updated list of allowed network slices, the processor is configured to: send a registration accept message to the UE (network accepting the registration request [Paragraph 148]).
Regarding claims 11-16, these claims are rejected as applied to claims 1-6.
Regarding claims 19-20, these claims are rejected as applied to claims 1, 3.
Claims 7-8 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foti et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0114444) in view of Ryu et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0073848) and further in view of Velev et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0334307).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Foti and Ryu teaches all the limitations recited in claim 1.
However, the combination of Foti and Ryu does not explicitly mention: wherein the processor is configured to signal a network component to: generate an updated UE Route Selection Policy (URSP) rule that includes a Single-Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (S-NSSAI); and download the updated USRP rule to the UE.
Velev teaches, in a similar field of endeavor of communication systems, the following:
wherein the processor is configured to signal a network component to: generate an updated UE Route Selection Policy (URSP) rule that includes a Single-Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (S-NSSAI); and download the updated USRP rule to the UE (for the disclosed system, updated URSP is generated including NSSAI and it is then applied to the UE [Paragraph 66]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system (as taught by Foti) by communicate updated list of subscribed network slices (as taught by Ryu) by generating URSP (as taught by Velev) for the purpose of routing selection policy rules (Velev – Paragraph 4).
Regarding claim 8, Velev further teaches the device of claim 7, wherein the UE is configured to: evaluate the updated URSP rule ([Paragraphs 63, 96]), wherein when the UE evaluates the URSP rule, the UE obtains an identifier for a network slice specified in the list of requested network slices (ID of network slice is obtained upon evaluation of the URSP rule [Paragraph 96]).
Regarding claims 17-18, these claims are rejected as applied to claims 7-8.
Conclusion
February 25, 2026
/FABRICIO R MURILLO GARCIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2633