DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species I and sub species i, in the reply filed on 9/4/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that figure 15 is not included in any of the sub species. The examiner notes that figure 15 is included in the species I, as species I includes figures 1-18. The examiner is taking the applicant’s election to include both figures 15 and 19a . Claims 1-10 read on the applicant’s election.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 4, it is unclear what is meant by the term “wherein the ridge line has a shape approaching an upstream side of the liquid supply port in a liquid flow direction as the ridge line leaves from the gas supply port in a plan view direction of the gas supply port.” It is unclear what “a shape” is referring to and how the ridge line leaves from the gas supply port if it never touches the gas supply port.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Esaki et al. (2014/0263740) in view of Gallo (2,889,998)
Regarding claim 1, Esaki et al. shows an atomizer (fig 32) for mixing a gas and a liquid to atomize, the atomizer comprising: a gas supply member (115) having a gas flow path and a gas supply port configured to supply a gas (fig 32); and a liquid supply member (222) having a liquid flow path and a liquid supply port (240) configured to supply a liquid, wherein the gas supply member has a gas supply surface (113s) that forms the gas supply port (fig 33), wherein the liquid supply port is open toward an axis orthogonal to the gas supply surface at the gas supply port (fig 32), wherein the liquid supply member has a first inclined surface (270) between the liquid supply port and the gas supply port, wherein the first inclined surface is inclined to leave from the axis as the first inclined surface extends away from the gas supply surface in a first section (fig 32), the first section including the gas flow path and the liquid flow path (fig 32),
But fails to disclose wherein the liquid supply port protrudes from a plane including the first inclined surface.
However, Gallo teaches a liquid supply port (68) extending from a plane including a surface (38) in figure 1.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively field to expend the liquid supply port past the first inclined surface in order to have the liquid supply port lie in a common plane with the gas supply port as taught by Gallo (col 2, liens 60-65)
Regarding claim 2, wherein the liquid supply member has a second inclined surface (280) on an upstream side of the first inclined surface in a gas flow direction, and faces a gas blown out from the gas supply port (fig 32, 33), and wherein in the first section, the second inclined surface is inclined to approach the axis as the second inclined surface extends away from the gas supply surface (fig 32, 33).
Regarding claim 3, wherein the first inclined surface and the second inclined surface are connected by a ridge line (243T).
Regarding claim 4, wherein the ridge line has a shape approaching an upstream side of the liquid supply port in a liquid flow direction as the ridge line leaves from the gas supply port in a plan view direction of the gas supply port (fig 32 shows this in the same way the applicants figures show it)
Regarding claim 5, wherein the liquid supply member further has a liquid supply surface that forms the liquid supply port (the end surface of 54 of Gallo).
Regarding claim 6, wherein the liquid supply surface extends substantially parallel to the axis at the gas supply port (Gallo shows this and this will be true in the above combination).
Regarding claim 7, the above combination fails to show wherein a maximum measurement of an opening of the liquid supply port in a lateral direction orthogonal to the first section is larger than a maximum measurement of the opening of the liquid supply port in a longitudinal direction intersecting with the lateral direction.
However, figure 17 of Esaki et al. does teach an elongated oval slot opening for the liquid supply port.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively field to use the elongated oval slot opening for the liquid supply port as shown in figure 17 of Esaki et al. in the device of Esaki et al. as modified above, in order to have a bigger opening to suck more fluid into the gas stream.
Regarding claim 8, the above combination fails to show wherein a maximum measurement of an opening of the gas supply port in a lateral direction orthogonal to the first section is larger than a maximum measurement of the opening of the gas supply port in a longitudinal direction intersecting with the lateral direction.
However, figure 21 of Esaki et al. does teach an elongated oval slot opening for the gas supply port.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively field to use the elongated oval slot opening for the gas supply port as shown in figure 21 of Esaki et al. in the device of Esaki et al. as modified above, in order to have a bigger opening to provide more gas flow.
Regarding claim 10, wherein the gas supply member and the liquid supply member are separate members (fig 32).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Esaki et al. (2014/0263740) as modified by Gallo (2,889,998) above, further in view of De Rose et al. (2012/0160874)
Regarding claim 9, Esaki et al. as modified above shows all aspects of the applicant’s invention as in claim 1, but fails to disclose a piezoelectric pump configured to supply the gas to the gas supply port.
However, De Rosa et al. teaches an atomizer that uses a piezoelectric pump (24) to supply fluid under pressure [0054].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively field to use the piezoelectric pump of De Rosa et al. in the above combination in order to pressurize the gas being supplied to the gas supply port with a miniature pump as taught by De Rosa et al. [0054].
Conclusion
/JASON J BOECKMANN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752 2/3/2026