DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
This Action is in response to Applicant’s Response to Election/Restriction Requirement filed on January 13, 2026.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-12 and 16-23 in the reply filed on January 13, 2026 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/13/2025 is being considered by the examiner.
Preliminary Amendment
The present Office Action is based upon the original patent application filed on September 8, 2023 as modified by the preliminary amendment filed on September 18, 2023. Claims 1-12 and 16-23 are now pending in the present application.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the lines, numbers, and letters are not durable, clean, black, sufficiently dense and dark, and uniformly thick and well-defined in Figures 1-12; the font is too small in Figures 9-11. Figures 1-7 are all in grayscale which cause the lines, numbers, and letters to not be durable, clean, black, sufficiently dense and dark, and uniformly thick and well-defined. Additionally, drawings must be black and white (monochrome) except when another form (grayscale or color) is the only practicable medium for illustrating the claimed invention. For Figures 1-7, black and white drawings are sufficient to illustrate the claimed invention. Black and white drawings should be created and filed in monochrome, black only, no gray.
Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office Action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended”. If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the Examiner, the Applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office Action. If a response to the present Office Action fails to include proper drawing corrections, corrected drawings or arguments therefor, the response can be held NON-RESPONSIVE and/or the application could be ABANDONED since the objections/corrections to the drawings are no longer held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1-5, 16-19, and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by ("3GPP TR 23.758 V2.0.0 (2019-12). Study on application architecture for enabling Edge Applications; (Release 17)", hereinafter TR 23.758) hereinafter TR 23.758.
Regarding claim 1, TR 23.758 discloses a device comprising:
at least one memory (not shown but inherent in all Edge Enabler Servers such as the one disclosed in Figure 7.1.1-1)configured to store program; and
at least one processor (not shown but inherent in all Edge Enabler Servers such as the one disclosed in Figure 7.1.1-1) coupled to the at least one memory and configured to execute the program code to cause the device (Figure 7.1.1-1: "Edge Enabler Server"), to
obtain, at a home public land mobile network, configuration data associated with data traffic of a user equipment at a geographical area, wherein the configuration data comprise a first mapping of the data traffic to an identifier of a co-located public land mobile network configured to provide access to an edge application server at the geographical area, (Section 7.2.1.1: General, "In this solution, it is assumed that there are multiple Edge Computing Service Providers and the service area of each Edge Data Network is a subarea of PLMN and the possibility that the UE may have more than one connectivity, for example with Dual SIM." (the subareas of the PLMNS being equivalent to “a home PLMN and a co-located PLMN). (Page 24, last paragraph, "4. If the Edge Enabler client is authorized, the Edge Enabler Server retrieves the information of Edge Application Servers. The information includes a list of FQDN(s) along with a mapping to the IP address(es) of the Edge Application Servers running on the Edge Hosting Platforms in the Edge Data Network. For Edge Application Servers that are available but not instantiated, the Edge Enabler Server includes relevant information.") (Page 25, 2nd paragraph, "the Edge Enabler Server in the discovery response should include Edge Data Network information (such as DNN, S-NSSAI, DNAI etc.) along with the Edge Application Server information (such as FQDN or IP address) and may include information of the responsible Edge Enabler Server."),
and cause routing of the data traffic to the co-located public land mobile network
based on the configuration data, (Page 25, 3rd paragraph, "6. Upon receiving the Edge Application Server discovery response, the Edge Enabler Client uses the FQDN and/or IP address mapping to resolve the domain name requested by the Application Client for routing the outgoing application data traffic and direct it to the instantiated Edge Application Server(s) in the Edge Data Network, as required”).
Regarding claim 2, as applied to claim 1 above, TR 23.758 discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the program code to cause the device to receive, from an application function, an application function request comprising the configuration data, ((Section 7.24.1.1 General), [Figure 7.24.1.2-1: step 1] “the EEC (re-)configures the DNS resolver in the UE with the DNS configuration data provided by the EDNCS. […] When the EEC is provisioned with the DNS configuration data and the EEC detects the UE movements across the configured EDN service area, it (re-)configures the DNS configuration data for DNS resolver”, “The EEC sends the provisioning request for requesting EDN configuration. When it is used for the initial provisioning, this step is the same as the step 1 of solution #1. Also, the EEC can initiate this procedure when the trigger conditions for receiving the DNS configuration data are met […] The message includes the information elements described in the step 1 of solution #1 in the clause 7.2.1.2. The message may also include the request for
DNS configuration data”).
Regarding claim 3, as applied to claim 1 above, TR 23.758 discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the program code to cause the device to identify the data traffic based on a data network name, a single network slice selection assistance information value or an application function service identifier, (Page 87, first paragraph [7.24.1.2] “2. The EDNCS provides DNS configuration data (i.e. DNS server address and optional EDN domain ID) in addition to the information element included in the provisioning response (i.e. the step 2 of solution #1 in the clause 7.2.1.2). DNS configuration data is mapped with EDN service area and EDN connection info (hence, “network name”). EDN domain ID may be sent by the DNS resolver in the UE. The EDN domain ID is used for the DNS server to identify the EDN that the UE is topologically located in”).
Regarding claim 4, as applied to claim 1 above, TR 23.758 discloses wherein the configuration data further comprise a supported data network name, supported data network access identifier, traffic routing requirement for the supported data network access identifier, a fully qualified domain name of the edge application server, an Internet Protocol address of the edge application server, or a requirement for routing the data traffic through a shortest path to the edge application server via a user plane function of the home public land mobile network, (Page 25, 2nd paragraph, " 5. The Edge Enabler Server sends the filtered information to the Edge Enabler Client in an Edge Application Server discovery response. For the Edge Application Servers that are hosted on a different Edge Data Network, the Edge Enabler Server in the discovery response should include Edge Data Network information (such as DNN, S-NSSAI, DNAI etc.) along with the Edge Application Server information (such as FQDN or IP address) and may include information of the responsible Edge Enabler Server. Enabler Server”).
Regarding claim 5, as applied to claim 1 above, TR 23.758 discloses wherein the device is a network exposure function of the home public land mobile network or a policy control function of the home public land mobile network, (page 48 1st paragraph) “The Edge Data Networks reside outside the PLMN trust domain as shown in Figure 7.10.3-1. In Edge Data Network 2, the Edge Application Server and Edge Enabler Server are within the same ECSP trust domain. While in Edge Data Network 1, the Edge Enabler Server and the Edge Application Server are in the different ECSP trust domain. The Edge Enabler Server of an Edge Data Network (equivalent to a “home PLMN”) provides the following functions for network capability exposure: -the centralized CAPIF core function as specified in 3GPP TS 23.222 [4] to support onboarding of Edge Application Servers (API invokers), publish of service APIs, discovery of service APIs and charging of service APIs invocations; and -the API exposing function as specified in 3GPP TS 23.222 [4] to expose the service APIs from SCEF/NEF to the Edge Application Servers via proxy or gateway function”. Essentially, Edge Data Network is a subarea of PLMN, which in return is
equivalent to “a home PLMN”).
Regarding claim 16, TR 23.758 discloses a method comprising:
obtaining, at a home public land mobile network, configuration data associated with data traffic of a user equipment at a geographical area, wherein the configuration data comprise a first mapping of the data traffic to an identifier of a co-located public land mobile network providing access to an edge application server at the geographical area, (Section 7.2.1.1: General, "In this solution, it is assumed that there are multiple Edge Computing Service Providers and the service area of each Edge Data Network is a subarea of PLMN and the possibility that the UE may have more than one connectivity, for example with Dual SIM." (the subareas of the PLMNS being equivalent to “a home PLMN and a co-located PLMN). (Page 24, last paragraph, "4. If the Edge Enabler client is authorized, the Edge Enabler Server retrieves the information of Edge Application Servers. The information includes a list of FQDN(s) along with a mapping to the IP address(es) of the Edge Application Servers running on the Edge Hosting Platforms in the Edge Data Network. For Edge Application Servers that are available but not instantiated, the Edge Enabler Server includes relevant information.") (Page 25, 2nd paragraph, "the Edge Enabler Server in the discovery response should include Edge Data Network information (such as DNN, S-NSSAI, DNAI etc.) along with the Edge Application Server information (such as FQDN or IP address) and may include information of the responsible Edge Enabler Server."),
and causing routing of the data traffic to the co-located public land mobile network based on the configuration data, (Page 25, 3rd paragraph, "6. Upon receiving the Edge Application Server discovery response, the Edge Enabler Client uses the FQDN and/or IP address mapping to resolve the domain name requested by the Application Client for routing the outgoing application data traffic and direct it to the instantiated Edge Application Server(s) in the Edge Data Network, as required.”).
Regarding claim 17, as applied to claim 16 above, TR 23.758 discloses further comprising: receiving, from an application function, an application function request comprising the configuration data, (Section 7.24.1.1 General, [Figure 7.24.1.2-1: step 1]) “the EEC (re-)configures the DNS resolver in the UE with the DNS configuration data provided by the EDNCS. […] When the EEC is provisioned with the DNS configuration data and the EEC detects the UE movements across the configured EDN service area, it (re-)configures the DNS configuration data for DNS resolver”, “The EEC sends the provisioning request for requesting EDN configuration. When it is used for the initial provisioning, this step is the same as the step 1 of solution #1. Also, the EEC can initiate this procedure when the trigger conditions for receiving the DNS configuration data are met […] The message includes the information elements described in the step 1 of solution #1 in the clause 7.2.1.2. The message may also include the request for
DNS configuration data.”).
Regarding claim 18, as applied to claim 16 above, TR 23.758 discloses further comprising identifying the data traffic based on a data network name, a single network slice selection assistance information value, or an application function service identifier, [7.24.1.2] “2. The EDNCS provides DNS configuration data (i.e. DNS server address and optional EDN domain ID) in addition to the information element included in the provisioning response (i.e. the step 2 of solution #1 in the clause 7.2.1.2). DNS configuration data is mapped with EDN service area and EDN connection info (hence, “network name”). EDN domain ID may be sent by the DNS resolver in the UE. The EDN domain ID is used for the DNS server to identify the EDN that the UE is topologically located in”).
Regarding claim 19, as applied to claim 16 above, TR 23.758 discloses wherein a network exposure function of the home public land mobile network or a policy control function of the home public land mobile network implements the method, (page 48 1st paragraph) “The Edge Data Networks reside outside the PLMN trust domain as shown in Figure 7.10.3-1. In Edge Data Network 2, the Edge Application Server and Edge Enabler Server are within the same ECSP trust domain. While in Edge Data Network 1, the Edge Enabler Server and the Edge Application Server are in the different ECSP trust domain. The Edge Enabler Server of an Edge Data Network (equivalent to a “home PLMN”) provides the following functions for network capability exposure: -the centralized CAPIF core function as specified in 3GPP TS 23.222 [4] to support onboarding of Edge Application Servers (API invokers), publish of service APIs, discovery of service APIs and charging of service APIs invocations; and -the API exposing function as specified in 3GPP TS 23.222 [4] to expose the service APIs from SCEF/NEF to the Edge Application Servers via proxy or gateway function”. Essentially, Edge Data Network is a subarea of PLMN, which in return is equivalent to “a home PLMN”).
Regarding claim 21, as applied to claim 16 above, TR 23.758 discloses wherein the co-located public land mobile network comprises a public land mobile network which is different from the home public land mobile network, and wherein the home public land mobile network is not a visitor public land mobile network used for roaming, (page 48 1st paragraph) “The Edge Data Networks reside outside the PLMN trust domain as shown in Figure 7.10.3-1. In Edge Data Network 2, the Edge Application Server and Edge Enabler Server are within the same ECSP trust domain. While in Edge Data Network 1, the Edge Enabler Server and the Edge Application Server are in the different ECSP trust domain. The Edge Enabler Server of an Edge Data Network (equivalent to a “home PLMN”) provides the following functions for network capability exposure: -the centralized CAPIF core function as specified in 3GPP TS 23.222 [4] to support onboarding of Edge Application Servers (API invokers), publish of service APIs, discovery of service APIs and charging of service APIs invocations; and -the API exposing function as specified in 3GPP TS 23.222 [4] to expose the service APIs from SCEF/NEF to the Edge Application Servers via proxy or gateway function”. (Essentially, Edge Data Network is a subarea of PLMN, which in return is equivalent to “a home PLMN”)).
Regarding claim 22, as applied to claim 1 above, TR 23.758 discloses wherein the co-located public land mobile network comprises a public land mobile network which is different from the home public land mobile network, and wherein the home public land mobile network is not a visitor public land mobile network used for roaming, (page 48 1st paragraph) “The Edge Data Networks reside outside the PLMN trust domain as shown in Figure 7.10.3-1. In Edge Data Network 2, the Edge Application Server and Edge Enabler Server are within the same ECSP trust domain. While in Edge Data Network 1, the Edge Enabler Server and the Edge Application Server are in the different ECSP trust domain. The Edge Enabler Server of an Edge Data Network (equivalent to a “home PLMN”) provides the following functions for network capability exposure: -the centralized CAPIF core function as specified in 3GPP TS 23.222 [4] to support onboarding of Edge Application Servers (API invokers), publish of service APIs, discovery of service APIs and charging of service APIs invocations; and -the API exposing function as specified in 3GPP TS 23.222 [4] to expose the service APIs from SCEF/NEF to the Edge Application Servers via proxy or gateway function”. Essentially, Edge Data Network is a subarea of PLMN, which in return is equivalent to “a home PLMN”).
Regarding claim 23, TR 23.758 discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (not shown but inherent in all Edge Enabler Servers such as the one disclosed in Figure 7.1.1-1) storing instructions that, when executed by at least one processor (not shown but inherent in all Edge Enabler Servers such as the one disclosed in Figure 7.1.1-1) of a device, cause the device to: obtain, at a home public land mobile network, configuration data associated with data traffic of a user equipment at a geographical area, wherein the configuration data comprise a first mapping of the data traffic to an identifier of a co-located public land mobile network configured to provide access to an edge application server at the geographical area, (Section 7.2.1.1: General, "In this solution, it is assumed that there are multiple Edge Computing Service Providers and the service area of each Edge Data Network is a subarea of PLMN and the possibility that the UE may have more than one connectivity, for example with Dual SIM." (the subareas of the PLMNS being equivalent to “a home PLMN and a co-located PLMN). (Page 24, last paragraph, "4. If the Edge Enabler client is authorized, the Edge Enabler Server retrieves the information of Edge Application Servers. The information includes a list of FQDN(s) along with a mapping to the IP address(es) of the Edge Application Servers running on the Edge Hosting Platforms in the Edge Data Network. For Edge Application Servers that are available but not instantiated, the Edge Enabler Server includes relevant information."). (Page 25, 2nd paragraph, "the Edge Enabler Server in the discovery response should include Edge Data Network information (such as DNN, S-NSSAI, DNAI etc.) along with the Edge Application Server information (such as FQDN or IP address) and may include information of the responsible Edge Enabler Server."),
wherein the co-located public land mobile network comprises a public land mobile network which is different from the home public land mobile network, and wherein the home public land mobile network is not a visitor public land mobile network used for roaming, (page 48 1st paragraph) “The Edge Data Networks reside outside the PLMN trust domain as shown in Figure 7.10.3-1. In Edge Data Network 2, the Edge Application Server and Edge Enabler Server are within the same ECSP trust domain. While in Edge Data Network 1, the Edge Enabler Server and the Edge Application Server are in the different ECSP trust domain. The Edge Enabler Server of an Edge Data Network (equivalent to a “home PLMN”) provides the following functions for network capability exposure: -the centralized CAPIF core function as specified in 3GPP TS 23.222 [4] to support onboarding of Edge Application Servers (API invokers), publish of service APIs, discovery of service APIs and charging of service APIs invocations; and -the API exposing function as specified in 3GPP TS 23.222 [4] to expose the service APIs from SCEF/NEF to the Edge Application Servers via proxy or gateway function”. (Essentially, Edge Data Network is a subarea of PLMN, which in return is equivalent to “a home PLMN”));
and cause routing of the data traffic to the co-located public land mobile network
based on the configuration data, (Page 25, 3rd paragraph, "6. Upon
receiving the Edge Application Server discovery response, the Edge Enabler Client uses the FQDN and/or IP address mapping to resolve the domain name requested by the Application Client for routing the outgoing application data traffic and direct it to the instantiated Edge Application Server(s) in the Edge Data Network, as required”).
Claims 6, 8, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ("3GPP TR 23.758 V2.0.0 (2019-12). Study on application architecture for enabling Edge Applications; (Release 17)", hereinafter TR 23.758, in view of Yao et al. (US 20200022076 A1), hereinafter Yao, further in view of Qiao et al. (US 20190335392 A1), hereinafter Qiao.
Regarding claim 6, as applied to claim 5 above, TR 23.758 does not disclose, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the program code to cause the device to: determine, based on the configuration data, policy and charging control rules for a session management function of the home public land mobile network.
In the same field of endeavor, Yao discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the program code to cause the device to: determine, based on the configuration data, policy and charging control rules for a session management function of the home public land mobile network, ([0004] “as shown in FIG. 1, when a UE accesses a 4G system, if a mobility management entity (MME) determines that the UE can support the 4G system and a 5G system, the MME selects a co-located session management function network element for the UE to establish a connection. [0042], [0036] the apparatus further includes a sending unit configured to send a second message to the target session management function network element, such that the target session management function network element determines a policy control network element and a charging system based on the second message”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Edge Data Network, disclosed by TR 23.758 ([Page 24, last paragraph]) to incorporate the policy control network element and a charging system disclosed by Yao. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to ensure that the provider's business rules are accurately translated into technical enforcement actions, Yao ([0004], [0042], [0036]).
However, TR 23.758 as modified by Yao does not disclose, wherein the policy and charging control rules enable selection of a user plane function of the co-located public land mobile network for routing the data traffic to the edge application server; and provide the policy and charging control rules to the session management function.
In the same field of endeavor, Qiao discloses wherein the policy and charging control rules enable selection of a user plane function of the co-located public land mobile network for routing the data traffic to the edge application server; and provide the policy and charging control rules to the session management function, ([0177], [0142], [0332] “embodiments provide enhanced mechanisms to indicate policy and charging rules from the PCF to the SMF and to the UPF, so that the UPF may enforce the policy and charging rules by detecting the user plan data traffic to ensure that the UE only accesses the restricted local operator services. [0176] “the 5G core network may expose network information and capabilities to an edge computing application function. The functionality support for edge computing may include local routing where the 5G core network may select a UPF 110 to route the user traffic to the local data network, traffic steering where the 5G core network may select the traffic to be routed to the applications in the local data network, session and service continuity to enable UE 100 and application mobility, user plane selection and reselection, e.g. based on input from application function, network capability exposure where 5G core network and application function may provide information to each other via NEF 125, QoS and charging where PCF 135 may provide rules for QoS control and charging for the traffic routed to the local data network, support of local area data network where 5G core network may provide support to connect to the LADN in a certain area where the applications are deployed”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Edge Data Network, disclosed by TR 23.758 ([Page 24, last paragraph]) as modified by Yao to incorporate the policy and charging rules, disclosed by Qiao. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to accurately route traffic to the applications in the local data network, Qiao ([0332], [0176]).
Regarding claim 8, as applied to claim 5 above, TR 23.758 does not disclose wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the program code to cause the device to: determine, based on the configuration data, access and mobility related policy information for an access and mobility management function of the home public land mobile network.
In the same field of endeavor, Yao discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the program code to cause the device to: determine, based on the configuration data, access and mobility related policy information for an access and mobility management function of the home public land mobile network, ([0004] “as shown in FIG. 1, when a UE accesses a 4G system, if a mobility management entity (MME) determines that the UE can support the 4G system and a 5G system, the MME selects a co-located session management function network element for the UE to establish a connection. [0042], [0036] the apparatus further includes a sending unit configured to send a second message to the target session management function network element, such that the target session management function network element determines a policy control network element and a charging system based on the second message”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Edge Data Network, disclosed by TR 23.758 ([Page 24, last paragraph]) to incorporate the policy control network element and a charging system disclosed by Yao. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to ensure that the provider's business rules are accurately translated into technical enforcement actions, Yao ([0004], [0042], [0036]).
However, TR 23.758 as modified by Yao does not disclose, wherein the access and mobility related policy information enables selection of a session management function of the co-located public land mobile network, and provide the access and mobility related policy information to the access and mobility management function.
In the same field of endeavor, Qiao discloses wherein the access and mobility related policy information enables selection of a session management function of the co-located public land mobile network, and provide the access and mobility related policy information to the access and mobility management function, ([0177], [0142], [0332] “embodiments provide enhanced mechanisms to indicate policy and charging rules from the PCF to the SMF and to the UPF, so that the UPF may enforce the policy and charging rules by detecting the user plan data traffic to ensure that the UE only accesses the restricted local operator services. [0176] “the 5G core network may expose network information and capabilities to an edge computing application function. The functionality support for edge computing may include local routing where the 5G core network may select a UPF 110 to route the user traffic to the local data network, traffic steering where the 5G core network may select the traffic to be routed to the applications in the local data network, session and service continuity to enable UE 100 and application mobility, user plane selection and reselection, e.g. based on input from application function, network capability exposure where 5G core network and application function may provide information to each other via NEF 125, QoS and charging where PCF 135 may provide rules for QoS control and charging for the traffic routed to the local data network, support of local area data network where 5G core network may provide support to connect to the LADN in a certain area where the applications are deployed”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Edge Data Network, disclosed by TR 23.758 ([Page 24, last paragraph]) as modified by Yao to incorporate the policy and charging rules, disclosed by Qiao. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to accurately route traffic to the applications in the local data network, Qiao ([0332], [0176]).
Regarding claim 20, as applied to claim 19 above, TR 23.758 does not disclose, further comprising: determining, based on the configuration data, policy and charging control rules for a session management function of the home public land mobile network.
In the same field of endeavor, Yao discloses further comprising: determining,
based on the configuration data, policy and charging control rules for a session management function of the home public land mobile network, ([0004] “as shown in FIG. 1, when a UE accesses a 4G system, if a mobility management entity (MME) determines that the UE can support the 4G system and a 5G system, the MME selects a co-located session management function network element for the UE to establish a connection. [0042], [0036] the apparatus further includes a sending unit configured to send a second message to the target session management function network element, such that the target session management function network element determines a policy control network element and a charging system based on the second message”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Edge Data Network, disclosed by TR 23.758 ([Page 24, last paragraph]) to incorporate the policy control network element and a charging system disclosed by Yao. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to ensure that the provider's business rules are accurately translated into technical enforcement actions, Yao ([0004], [0042], [0036]).
However, TR 23.758 as modified by Yao does not disclose, wherein the policy and charging control rules enable selection of a user plane function of the co-located public land mobile network for routing the data traffic to the edge application server; and providing the policy and charging control rules to the session management function.
In the same field of endeavor, Qiao discloses wherein the policy and charging
control rules enable selection of a user plane function of the co-located public land mobile network for routing the data traffic to the edge application server; and providing the policy and charging control rules to the session management function, ([0177], [0142], [0332] “embodiments provide enhanced mechanisms to indicate policy and charging rules from the PCF to the SMF and to the UPF, so that the UPF may enforce the policy and charging rules by detecting the user plan data traffic to ensure that the UE only accesses the restricted local operator services. [0176] “the 5G core network may expose network information and capabilities to an edge computing application function. The functionality support for edge computing may include local routing where the 5G core network may select a UPF 110 to route the user traffic to the local data network, traffic steering where the 5G core network may select the traffic to be routed to the applications in the local data network, session and service continuity to enable UE 100 and application mobility, user plane selection and reselection, e.g. based on input from application function, network capability exposure where 5G core network and application function may provide information to each other via NEF 125, QoS and charging where PCF 135 may provide rules for QoS control and charging for the traffic routed to the local data network, support of local area data network where 5G core network may provide support to connect to the LADN in a certain area where the applications are
deployed”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Edge Data Network, disclosed by TR 23.758 ([Page 24, last paragraph]) as modified by Yao to incorporate the policy and charging rules, disclosed by Qiao. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to accurately route traffic to the applications in the local data network, Qiao ([0332], [0176]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ("3GPP TR 23.758 V2.0.0 (2019-12). Study on application architecture for enabling Edge Applications; (Release 17)", hereinafter TR 23.758, in view of Yao et al. (US 20200022076 A1), hereinafter Yao, further in view of Qiao et al. (US 20190335392 A1), hereinafter Qiao, and further in view of Mihály et al. (US 20230337087 A1), hereinafter Mihály.
Regarding claim 7, as applied to claim 6 above, TR 23.758, as modified by Yao and Qiao does not disclose wherein the configuration data further comprise a supported data network access identifier, and wherein the policy and charging control rules comprise a second mapping between the supported data network access identifier and the identifier for a given service data flow.
In the same field of endeavor, Mihály discloses wherein the configuration data further comprise a supported data network access identifier, and wherein the policy and charging control rules comprise a second mapping between the supported data network access identifier and the identifier for a given service data flow, ([0038] […] “These PCC rules are conveyed to the SMF either at PDU session establishment or during the PDU session (e.g., based on a trigger from an Application Function (AF)), and they include a Data Network Access Identifier (DNAI) indication for which the SMF possesses local configuration that maps the DNAI to a PSA location”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Edge Data Network, disclosed by TR 23.758 ([Page 24, last paragraph]) as modified by Yao and Qiao to incorporate the PCC rules, disclosed by Mihály. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to enable the SMF to map a chosen DNAI to a specific PSA location, Mihály ([0038]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ("3GPP TR 23.758 V2.0.0 (2019-12). Study on application architecture for enabling Edge Applications; (Release 17)", hereinafter TR 23.758, in view of Yao et al. (US 20200022076 A1), hereinafter Yao, further in view of Qiao et al. (US 20190335392 A1), hereinafter Qiao, and further in view of XU, YANG (CN 111713128 A), hereinafter XU.
Regarding claim 9, as applied to claim 8 above, TR 23.758, as modified by Yao
and Qiao does not disclose wherein the access and mobility related policy information comprises first indication of an allowed co-located public land mobile network associated with a tracking area identifier for the user equipment.
In the same field of endeavor, XU discloses wherein the access and mobility related policy information comprises first indication of an allowed co-located public land mobile network associated with a tracking area identifier for the user equipment, (see page 5, paragraph 2 of the translated document) “Allowed S-NSSAI is the UE configuration update triggered by the registration reply message or access and mobility management function (access and mobility management function, AMF) (UE). configuration update, UCU) command message is sent to the terminal, and the UE policy (containing URSP) is the UCU command message triggered by the PCF is sent to the terminal device, both are independent in the process. if the allowed S-NSSAI corresponding to a PLMN corresponding to a PLMN sent by the network side used by the terminal device is equivalent to the PLMN, […] tracking area identification (area identity, TAI) list area of TAI included in the other PLMN (equivalent to “allowed co-located PLMN associated with a TAI”) […] The use of the UE policy can also be followed by a common policy similar to Allowed NSSAI on multiple PLMNs. In this way, it can ensure that the terminal is uniform in a certain area or under the condition, and the service continuity will not be affected by the change of the terminal between different PLMN”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Edge Data Network, disclosed by TR 23.758 ([Page 24, last paragraph]) as modified by Yao and Qiao to incorporate the UE policy, disclosed by XU. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to ensure service continuity irrespective of the UE mobility while in the tracking area designated by the TAI, XU (see page 5, paragraph 2 of the translated document).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ("3GPP TR 23.758 V2.0.0 (2019-12). Study on application architecture for enabling Edge Applications; (Release 17)", hereinafter TR 23.758, in view of Yao et al. (US 20200022076 A1), hereinafter Yao, further in view of Qiao et al. (US 20190335392 A1), hereinafter Qiao, further in view of XU, YANG (CN 111713128 A), hereinafter XU, and further in view of SIROTKIN; Alexander (US 20190075023 A1), hereinafter SIROTKIN.
Regarding claim 10, as applied to claim 9 above, TR 23.758, as modified by Yao, Qiao, and XU does not disclose wherein the access and mobility related policy information further comprises a second indication of a supported single network slice selection assistance information value, wherein the second indication is associated with the co-located public land mobile network, and wherein the co-located public land mobile network is associated with the at least one tracking area identifier to route a given traffic type of the user equipment.
In the same field of endeavor, SIROTKIN discloses wherein the access and mobility related policy information further comprises a second indication of a supported single network slice selection assistance information value, wherein the second indication is associated with the co-located public land mobile network, and wherein the co-located public land mobile network is associated with the at least one tracking area identifier to route a given traffic type of the user equipment, ([0089] “the S-GW XS22 may be a local mobility anchor point for inter-RAN node handovers and also may provide an anchor for inter-3GPP mobility. Other responsibilities may include lawful intercept, charging, and some policy enforcement. [0091] The P-GW XS23 may further be a node for policy enforcement and charging data collection. […] In a roaming scenario with local breakout of traffic, there may be two PCRFs associated with a UE's IP-CAN session: a Home PCRF (H-PCRF) within a HPLMN and a Visited PCRF (V-PCRF) within a Visited Public Land Mobile Network (VPLMN). [0094], [0040] the response message may include one or more of […], a broadcast public land mobile network (PLMN) IE 214, a tracking area identifier (TAI) IE 216, or some combination thereof. […] The broadcast PLMN IE 214 indicates available PLMNs. The TAI IE 216 indicates supported single network slice selection assistance information”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Edge Data Network, disclosed by TR 23.758 ([Page 24, last paragraph]) as modified by Yao, Qiao, and XU to incorporate the S-NSSAI, disclosed by SIROTKIN. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to ensure service continuity irrespective of the UE mobility while in the tracking area designated by the TAI, SIROTKIN ([0091], [0094], [0040]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ("3GPP TR 23.758 V2.0.0 (2019-12). Study on application architecture for enabling Edge Applications; (Release 17)", hereinafter TR 23.758, in view of Yao et al. (US 20200022076 A1), hereinafter Yao, further in view of Qiao et al. (US 20190335392 A1), hereinafter Qiao, and further in view of GU et al. (CN 101043401 A), hereinafter GU.
Regarding claim 11, as applied to claim 8 above, TR 23.758, as modified by Yao, and Qiao, does not disclose wherein the access and mobility related policy information comprises a second mapping among the identifier, a supported data network name, and a supported data network access identifier.
In the same field of endeavor, GU discloses wherein the access and mobility related policy information comprises a second mapping among the identifier, a supported data network name, and a supported data network access identifier, ([see page 3, last paragraph, and page 4, first paragraph] “the policy server judging and permitting service flow identification assigning entity is service flow distributing service flow identification; the access service network inner service flow identification and said service flow identification in establishing mapping relationship between corresponding anchor-service flow authorization server stores the service flow identifier, the mobile station stores the inner service flow identification, solves the FID-based content comprises a network access identifier of the terminal. service flow the terminal mark, terminal visiting network service provider network domain name, network service provider identification terminal home network service provider network domain name, service flow belongs to and the network access service flow identification, the terminal identification, terminal visiting network service provider network domain name. terminal home network service provider network domain name”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Edge Data Network, disclosed by TR 23.758 ([Page 24, last paragraph]) as modified by Yao and Qiao to incorporate the policy server entity, disclosed by GU. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to map the relationship between the network access identifier and the home network service provider network domain name, GU ([see page 3, last paragraph, and page 4, first paragraph]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ("3GPP TR 23.758 V2.0.0 (2019-12). Study on application architecture for enabling Edge Applications; (Release 17)", hereinafter TR 23.758, in view of Yao et al. (US 20200022076 A1), hereinafter Yao, further in view of Qiao et al. (US 20190335392 A1), hereinafter Qiao, further in view of XU, YANG (CN 111713128 A), hereinafter XU, and further in view of Ryu et al. (US 20200314731 A1) hereinafter Ryu.
Regarding claim 12, as applied to claim 9 above, TR 23.758, as modified by Yao, Qiao, and XU does not disclose wherein the configuration data further comprises a data network name, and wherein the processor is further configured to execute the program code to cause the device to: determine user equipment route selection policy information comprising a request for external routing of the data traffic through the co-located public land mobile network, and comprising a route selection descriptor, wherein the route selection descriptor comprises a single network slice selection assistance information value or the data network name, and comprises a second mapping between either the tracking area identifier or registration area identifier and either the single network slice selection assistance information value or the data network name; and cause transmission of the user equipment route selection policy information to the user equipment.
In the same field of endeavor, Ryu discloses wherein the configuration data further comprises a data network name, and wherein the processor is further configured to execute the program code to cause the device to: determine user equipment route selection policy information comprising a request for external routing of the data traffic through the co-located public land mobile network, ([0056] “DNN Data Network Name [0163] the 5G system may support roaming with home routed traffic and/or local breakout traffic in the visited PLMN. An example 5G architecture may be service-based and the interaction between network functions may be represented in two ways. (1) As service-based representation (depicted in example FIG. 1), where network functions within the control plane, may enable other authorized network functions to access their services. [0118]- [0119] support for interaction with external DN 115 for transport of signaling for PDU session authorization/authentication by external DN 115”);
and comprising a route selection descriptor, wherein the route selection descriptor comprises a single network slice selection assistance information value or the data network name, ([0167] “An S-NSSAI (Single Network Slice Selection Assistance information) may identify a network slice. An S-NSSAI may comprise a slice/service type (SST), which may refer to the expected network slice behavior in terms of features and services”);
and comprises a second mapping between either the tracking area identifier or registration area identifier and either the single network slice selection assistance information value or the data network name, ([0184], [0182] “the UE 100 may include the mapping of requested NSSAI, which may be the mapping of each S-NSSAI of the requested NSSAI to the S-NSSAIs of the configured NSSAI for the HPLMN, to ensure that the network is able to verify whether the S-NSSAI(s) in the requested NSSAI are permitted based on the subscribed S-NSSAIs. If available, the last visited TAI may be included in order to help the AMF 155 produce registration area for the UE.”);
and cause transmission of the user equipment route selection policy information to the user equipment, ([0118] “SMF 160, may include one or more of the following functionalities (one or more of the SMF 160 functionalities may be supported in a single instance of a SMF 160): session management (e.g. session establishment, modify and release, including tunnel maintain between UPF 110 and AN 105 node), UE 100 IP address allocation & management (including optional authorization), selection and control of UP function(s), configuration of traffic steering at UPF 110 to route traffic to proper destination, [0132] the 5GC may provide policy information from the PCF 135 to the UE 100. […] the policy information may comprise: access network discovery and selection policy, UE 100 route selection policy (URSP), SSC mode selection policy (SSCMSP), network slice selection policy (NSSP), DNN selection policy, […]”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Edge Data Network, disclosed by TR 23.758 ([Page 24, last paragraph]) as modified by Yao, Qiao, and XU to incorporate the visited PLMN, disclosed by Ryu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to enable interaction with external DN 115 (external routing), Ryu ([0163], [0118]- [0119]).
Conclusion
/GILBERT M. GRANT/Examiner, Art Unit 2642
/Rafael Pérez-Gutiérrez/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2642