DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7-9, 14, 16, 20, 22, 25, and 26 have been amended. Claims 2, 4, 6, 10, 12, 13, 15, 18, and 19 have been canceled. Claims 1, 3, 5, 7-9, 11, 14, 16, 17, and 20-26 are pending and are provided to be examined upon their merits.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 3, 5, 7-9, 11, 14, 16, 17, and 20-26 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. A response is provided below in bold where appropriate.
Applicant argues 35 USC §112(a) Rejections, starting pg. 18 of Remarks:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3, 5-9, 11, 12, 14-17, and 20-26 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. Applicant respectfully traverses. Claim 1 - "Overall Physiological Condition" Regarding the "overall physiological condition for the plurality of users," Applicant respectfully directs the Office's attention to the specification at paragraphs [0008] and [00100], which teach determining an overall condition. Paragraph [0008] discloses a smart community management system that is "designed to collect data from a plurality of users, and appliances for both residential and commercial activity and provides real-time recommendations, analysis, and control based on the user data and the appliance data at an individual and community level." (emphasis added) Paragraph [00100] discloses "As another example, the community management system may monitor and generate alerts at a community level." (emphasis added).
From para. [0008]…
[0008] The subject matter disclosed herein is further directed to a smart multi-use community management and wellness system for multi-use environments and a plurality of users. The subject matter disclosed herein is designed to collect data from a plurality of users, and appliances for both residential and commercial activity and provides real-time recommendations, analysis, and control based on the user data and the appliance data at an individual and community level.”
The above teaches collect data from users and provide recommendations, analysis, and control at a community level.
From Applicant’s claim 1 (as an example)…
"wherein, after receiving the user image data, the analytics engine of the at least one rem ate server is designed to analyze the user image data to determine at least one physiological condition for each user of the plurality of users, wherein the analytics engine is further configured to determine an overall physiological condition for the plurality of users;"
The above claims receiving user image data and determine an overall physiological condition for a plurality of users.
From para. [00100]…
[00100] For example, and not limitation, the community management system may monitor a user's activity and determine that the user played a round of golf in 90-degree heat based on location data and environmental data. The community management system is configured to generate a recommendation to a corresponding user remote device to drink water and to activate the air conditioning system in the user's home. As another example, the community management system may monitor and generate alerts at a community level. For example, and not limitation, based on user medical data transmitted from the medical institution to the software platform, the community management system is designed to determine when there is a disease outbreak. Based on the disease outbreak, the community management system is operable to generate alerts on exposed individuals, sick individuals, and provide lifestyle recommendations (e.g., hydration) to address the disease.”
The above teaches community management system is designed to determine when there is a disease outbreak based on data transmitted from a medical institution.
From Applicant’s claim 1…
"wherein, after receiving the user image data, the analytics engine of the at least one rem ate server is designed to analyze the user image data to determine at least one physiological condition for each user of the plurality of users, wherein the analytics engine is further configured to determine an overall physiological condition for the plurality of users;"
The above teaches receiving user image data and determine an overall physiological condition for a plurality of users.
There really needs to be teaching as to how this “overall physiological condition for the plurality of users” is determined, and what is it? If there is a disease outbreak, what is the overall physiological condition of the users?
One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the analytics engine, which is described as analyzing physiological data from a plurality of users, would be configured to determine both individual and aggregate (e.g., community) physiological conditions. Applicant respectfully submits that claim 1 and related dependent claims comply with the written description requirement and request that the rejection be withdrawn.
Respectfully, that is not the standard. An adequate written description for a computer-implemented functional claim limitation contains both the computer and the algorithm that perform the claimed function in sufficient detail such that one of ordinary skill in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor possessed the claimed subject matter at the time of filing. It is not enough that one skilled in the art could write a program to achieve the claimed function because the specification must explain how the inventor intends to achieve the claimed function to satisfy the written description requirement (MPEP § 2161.01).
Applicant needs to provide from their specification how an overall physiological condition for a plurality of users is determined (what is the algorithm) and the Examiner will reconsider the rejection.
Claim 14 -"Controllable Property System"
Regarding the term "controllable property system," Applicant respectfully directs the Office's attention to the specification at paragraphs [0006], [0008], [0076], [0078], [00108], [00116], [00131], [00132], [00137], and [00145]. The application as filed discloses systems including lighting systems, air conditioning systems, audio management systems, property access systems, and nutritional management systems, all of which are controllable systems associated with a property. The term "controllable property system" is a reasonable characterization of these disclosed systems. Applicant respectfully submits that one of ordinary skill in the art would readily understand this term to encompass the controllable devices used in a property as described throughout the specification.
Applicant respectfully submits that claim 14 and related dependent claims comply with the written description requirement and requests that the rejection be withdrawn.
Respectfully, “controllable property system” should be defined in the specification as one reading the claims will refer to the specification to determine exactly what this encompasses.
The Examiner will provide a claim interpretation based on Applicant’s definition above and remove the 112(a) rejection.
Claim 17 - "Usage Command" or "Usage State"
In reference to "usage command" or a "usage state", Applicant respectfully directs the Office's attention to paragraphs [0090], [0099], [00111], [00115], [00116], [00130], [00131], [00134], and [00145]. These paragraphs illustrates usage command and changing usage states (e.g., settings). The specification discloses that the smart community management and wellness system is operable to transmit commands to controllable electronic devices and amenities. For example, and without limitation, paragraph [0145] discloses that the event scheduler is designed to activate appliances based on the personal wellness rules corresponding to a user, and that the event handler is designed to control one or more appliances based on the event scheduler. The specification also discloses transmitting commands to amenities in a predetermined geographic area. A "usage command" is a command that instructs a device or amenity regarding its usage, which is directly supported by the specification's disclosure of commands that activate, control, and modify the operation of devices and amenities. A "usage state" refers to the operational state of a device or amenity (e.g., on/off, operating parameters, schedule), which is inherently taught by the specification's disclosure of modifying device settings and operational parameters. The specification's disclosure of a community-wide system that controls multiple devices across multiple residences and amenities in a geographic area supports the limitation of modifying at least two controllable property systems and at least one amenity.
Applicant respectfully submits that claim 17 complies with the written description requirement and requests that the rejection be withdrawn.
Based on further consideration the rejection is withdrawn. For clarification of the record, the above will be provided in a Claim Interpretation section.
Claim 20 - "New Command"
In reference to "new command", Applicant respectfully directs the Office's attention to paragraphs [0090], [0099], [00111], [00115], [00116], [00130], [00131], [00134], and [00145] of the application as filed.
The specification discloses a smart community management system that continuously monitors user physiological conditions and updates its analysis and commands accordingly. The specification describes the remote server as operable to transmit commands to controllable devices based on determined physiological conditions. The concept of transmitting a "new command" based on "updated" physiological conditions is inherently supported by the specification's disclosure of a dynamic, real-time monitoring system that adjusts device settings based on current user data.
Applicant respectfully submits that claim 20 complies with the written description requirement and requests that the rejection be withdrawn.
Claim 20 recites “the at least one remote server is further configured to transmit a new command to plurality of controllable property systems, wherein the new command modifies the at least one setting of each controllable property system”…
From the specification…
[00132] The calibration engine 182 is configured to design appliance settings based on a user profile. For example, and not limitation, the calibration engine is configured to determine that a user leaves their apartment from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. every day. The calibration engine is configured to alter the settings of a smart thermostat to match the activity of a user. For example, and not limitation, to match the user's activity, the calibration engine is configured to reduce the activity of an air conditioner during the hours of 8 a.m. and 5 p.m.
Therefore, the calibration engine (remote server) alters (modified the thermostat.
Withdrawn based on further consideration.
Claim 21 - "Geographic Area of Interest" and "Subareas"
The Office states that there is no teaching of controllable devices positioned in a "geographic area of interest" and "subareas". Applicant respectfully traverses.
Applicant respectfully submits that the specification's disclosure of a community with multiple residences, amenities, and facilities in a predetermined geographic area supports the concept of a "geographic area of interest." The Office acknowledges that paragraph [0083] teaches amenities in predetermined geographic areas. The specification further describes controllable devices distributed throughout properties in the community, which are located within subareas (e.g., individual residences, common areas, amenity buildings) of the larger geographic area. A "subarea" is a portion of the geographic area, and the specification's description of multiple residences and facilities within a community inherently discloses subareas. The positioning of controllable devices within these various locations throughout the community is supported by the specification's disclosure of devices in individual residences and community facilities.
Applicant respectfully submits that claim 21 complies with the written description requirement and requests that the rejection be withdrawn.
From para. [0083]…
[0083] In some embodiments, the at least one database further includes property data and location data for a predetermined geographic area. The property data includes building data and amenities data. The amenities data includes a plurality of amenities in the predetermined geographic area. The at least one wellness recommendation further includes at least one amenity of the plurality of amenities in the predetermined geographic area.
The above teaches amenities in predetermined geographic area.
Claim 21 recites “the plurality of controllable devices is positioned in a geographic area of interest, wherein the geographic area of interest includes a plurality of subareas, wherein at least one controllable device of the plurality of controllable devices is positioned in each subarea of the plurality of subareas,”
The above claim is broader than the teachings (teachings are directed to amenities) and subareas are not taught. This rejection is respectfully maintained.
Claim 22 - "Controllable Property Systems", "Performance Data" and "Targeted Threshold"
Regarding "controllable property system," Applicant respectfully refers to the arguments above for claim 14. Regarding "performance data" and "targeted threshold," Applicant respectfully submits that the application as filed discloses a smart community management system configured for monitoring controllable electronic device data including operational status and settings. The application as filed describes the analytics engine analyzing device data and user data to generate recommendations (e.g., paragraphs [0079], [0084], [0090], [00129]). "Performance data" is data regarding how the device is performing (e.g., operational status, efficiency, output levels), which is supported by the specification's disclosure of device data including power status and settings. A "targeted threshold" is a performance benchmark for the device, which one of ordinary skill in the art would understand in the context of the specification's disclosure of analyzing device operational data in relation to user wellness data. The specification's disclosure at paragraph [00145] of the system monitoring appliance data and determining operational recommendations supports the concept of evaluating whether a device is performing at a targeted threshold.
Applicant respectfully submits that claim 22 complies with the written description requirement and requests that the rejection be withdrawn.
“Controllable property system” has been defined by Applicant and is now under Claim Interpretation as it is not taught.
The “targeted threshold” needs to be taught as it is not inherent to have this feature.
From para. [00145]…
[00145] The wellness rules component 320 includes wellness standards and rules
corresponding to a user and/or a community. For example, and not limitation, the wellness rules include a sleep routine (e.g., getting ready an hour before an expected bedtime for a suggested eight hours of sleep.) The property mapper tool 318 is designed to monitor appliance data and a location of a user within a property. For example and not limitation, the property manager tool is operable to determine when a user is in the user's bedroom. The event scheduler 316 and event handler 314 work in tandem with each other and the property mapper tool 319 and wellness rules 320. The event scheduler is designed to activate appliances based on the personal wellness rules corresponding to a user. The event handler is designed to control one or more appliances based on the event scheduler. For further example, and not limitation, the smart community management and wellness system is operable to capture user (e.g., resident) usage and user behavior related to a property, amenity, facility and/or activity. For example, and not limitation, the smart community management and wellness system is operable to determine that a facility (e.g., gym) has low user activity. Advantageously, the smart community management and wellness system is designed to transmit the facility data to at least one user (e.g., property manager) and to provide at least one event recommendation and/or at least one operation recommendation. For further example, and not limitation, the at least one event recommendation includes a date and a type of activity to increase user activity. The at least one event recommendation includes an activities class (e.g., yoga), an organized event (e.g., basketball tournament), and other similar events designs to improve activity and engagement. The at least one operation recommendation includes but is not limited to operating hours, cleaning scheduling, maintenance schedule, and similar functions for operating and maintaining a facility. For further example, the smart community management and wellness system is operable to determine when user activity is lowest and to send a notification to a property manager remote device with a recommended time cleaning. Alternatively, or additionally, the smart community management and wellness system is operable to automatically schedule a thirdparty service provider /or to transmit a command to a controllable electronic device (e.g., IoT vacuum) to clean a facility during the low user activity.
Respectfully, the above needs to teach threshold. The rejection is respectfully maintained.
Claim 23 - "Disease Outbreak"
The Office states that there is no teaching of identifying users affected by a disease outbreak and limiting access to a residence, noting that paragraph [00100] only teaches determining an outbreak and generating alerts. Applicant respectfully traverses.
Applicant respectfully submits that paragraph [00100] of the application as filed expressly discloses that the smart community management system can determine a disease outbreak. The application further discloses property access systems as one of the controllable property systems. One of ordinary skill in the art, reading the specification's disclosure of (1) the ability to detect a disease outbreak based on physiological data from the plurality of users, (2) the ability to identify which users are exhibiting symptoms (since the system determines individual physiological conditions for each user), and (3) controllable property access systems, would understand that the system could limit access to a residence of affected users as a natural application of these disclosed capabilities. The identification of affected users follows directly from the system's capability to determine individual physiological conditions and detect abnormalities indicative of illness. The access limitation follows directly from the system's control over property access systems. Applicant respectfully submits that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand the inventor had possession of this subject matter.
Applicant respectfully submits that claim 23 complies with the written description requirement and requests that the rejection be withdrawn.
Respectfully it is unclear from above what support is being argued.
From para’s [00100] – [00101]…
[00100] For example, and not limitation, the community management system may monitor a user's activity and determine that the user played a round of golf in 90-degree heat based on location data and environmental data. The community management system is configured to generate a recommendation to a corresponding user remote device to drink water and to activate the air conditioning system in the user's home. As another example, the community management system may monitor and generate alerts at a community level. For example, and not limitation, based on user medical data transmitted from the medical institution to the software platform, the community management system is designed to determine when there is a disease outbreak. Based on the disease outbreak, the community management system is operable to generate alerts on exposed individuals, sick individuals, and provide lifestyle recommendations (e.g., hydration) to address the disease.
The above teaches providing alerts and recommendations for disease outbreak.
[00101] In another embodiment, the community management system includes a software platform with a plurality of dashboards. For example, and not limitation, in one embodiment, the plurality of dashboards includes a property management dashboard (e.g., rent and bill payment, and maintenance requests, a rewards system or program for residents and users of the community), a utility management dashboard (e.g., electrical), a security management dashboard (e.g., gate access to a community), a lifestyle management dashboard (e.g., presents user sleep data and corresponding recommendations), medical management dashboard (e.g., real-time display of user physiological data), and other dashboards corresponding to the monitoring and management of a plurality of users, appliances, and locations within the community.
The above teaches a different embodiment from disease and security with gate access, not controlling limit access to a residence based on disease outbreak. They also teach display physiological data, not control access based on physiological data.
This rejection is respectfully maintained.
Claim 25 - "Non-invasive optical sensor"
The Office states that there is no teaching of a "non-invasive optical" sensor, noting that the specification only teaches optical regarding networks and storage media at paragraphs [00174], [00180], [00181], and [00189]. Applicant respectfully traverses.
Applicant respectfully submits that the specification discloses image sensors that capture image data of users to determine physiological conditions. An image sensor is a non-invasive optical sensor, it uses optical technology (light) to capture data without requiring physical contact with or penetration of the user. The specification's disclosure of image sensors that capture user image data for physiological analysis supports the broader characterization of a "non-invasive optical sensor" that captures user physiological data. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the image sensors described in the specification are a type of non- invasive optical sensor. Additionally, paragraph [00118] states: "Alternatively, the respiratory rate is estimated from an electrocardiogram, a photoplethysmogram (e.g., a pulse oximeter), and/or an accelerometer. In yet another embodiment, the respiratory sensor 712 uses a non-contact motion biomotion sensor to monitor respiration". Applicant respectfully submits that a pulse oximeter and a non-contact biomotion sensor are examples of non-invasive optical sensors.
Therefore, Applicant respectfully submits that claim 25 complies with the written description requirement and requests that the rejection be withdrawn.
From Applicant’s statement above…
“An image sensor is a non-invasive optical sensor, it uses optical technology (light) to capture data without requiring physical contact with or penetration of the user.”
Applicant should claim “image sensor” which is taught. Applicant is defining non-invasive as not requiring physical contact. But respectfully it is neither inherent nor implied in the specification that non-invasive does not require physical contact. Spying on people with a camera is invasive.
From Applicant’s statement above…
“Alternatively, the respiratory rate is estimated from an electrocardiogram, a photoplethysmogram (e.g., a pulse oximeter), and/or an accelerometer. In yet another embodiment, the respiratory sensor 712 uses a non-contact motion biomotion sensor to monitor respiration". Applicant respectfully submits that a pulse oximeter and a non-contact biomotion sensor are examples of non-invasive optical sensors.”
It may or may not be inherent for a pulse oximeter or biomotion sensor to be “non-invasive.” This does not mean the opposite that all image sensors are non-invasive.
This rejection is respectfully maintained.
Claim 26 - "Body Composition" and "Adjusting the User Body Composition"
The Office states that there is no teaching of a command corresponding to adjusting the user body composition, noting that the specification only teaches commands and user body temperature at paragraph [00111]. Applicant respectfully traverses.
Applicant respectfully submits that the specification discloses determining physiological conditions of users, which would encompass body composition as a physiological metric. The specification further discloses generating wellness recommendations including nutrition recommendations and fitness recommendations aimed at improving the user's physiological condition. A wellness recommendation and corresponding command that addresses the user's body composition, such as a nutrition recommendation to adjust diet or a fitness recommendation to increase physical activity, is directly supported by the specification's disclosure of comprehensive wellness management. The command "corresponds to adjusting the user body composition" in the sense that the command is issued to a controllable property system (e.g., a nutritional management system) with the objective of improving the user's body composition. Paragraph [0111] teaches commands related to user body metrics, and the broader specification teaches nutrition and fitness recommendations, all of which support this limitation.
Applicant respectfully submits that claim 26 complies with the written description requirement and requests that the rejection be withdrawn.
From Applicant’s statement above…
“Applicant respectfully submits that the specification discloses determining physiological conditions of users, which would encompass body composition as a physiological metric.”
Respectfully, there is no teaching as to what this is.
From para. [00111]…
[00111] The body temperature sensor 120 measures core body temperature and/or skin
temperature in real-time. The body temperature sensor 120 includes but is not limited to a thermistor, an infrared sensor, or a thermal flux sensor. In one embodiment, the body
temperature sensor 120 is incorporated into a wearable device (e.g., a watch). Alternatively, or additionally, the smart community management and wellness system is operable to capture image data via a remote device corresponding to the physique of a user and to determine a body fat percentage based on the captured image data. The body temperature sensor 120 is preferably wireless. The present invention is designed to correlate the body temperature data with the appliance data and environmental data. For example, and not limitation, the present invention is designed to determine whether a user's body temperature is rising based on the body temperature sensor.
Advantageously, the present invention is operable to transmit a command to a smart thermostat to decrease the temperature in an apartment when a user's body temperature is increasing.
There is still no teaching of what a “body composition” is or teachings of an example of this. Also, it is unclear how the above is a “command to adjusting the body composition of the corresponding user.” This rejection is respectfully maintained.
Applicant argues 35 USC §112(b) Rejections, starting pg. 25 of Remarks:
Claims 1, 3, 5-9, 11, 12, 14-17, and 20-26 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 8 - "User image data"
The Office states that there is no antecedent basis for "the user image data" and that it is indefinite as to one sensor capturing a plurality of users. Applicant respectfully traverses.
Applicant respectfully submits that claims 1 and 8 each recite that the image sensor is operable to "capture image data corresponding to a plurality of users." This "image data corresponding to a plurality of users" is the antecedent for "the user image data" in the subsequent limitation. However, to expedite prosecution, Applicant has amended claim 1 and 8 to recite "capture user image data".
Applicant respectfully submits that the rejection is overcome and should be withdrawn.
Withdrawn based on the claim amendments.
Claims 1 and 8 - "Determining a physiological condition"
The Office states that claims 1 and 8 are indefinite as to receiving the user image and from that analyzing and determining a physiological condition for each user of the plurality of users. Applicant respectfully traverses.
Applicant respectfully submits that this limitation is not indefinite. The claims recite that the analytics engine is designed to "analyze the user image data to determine at least one physiological condition for each user of the plurality of users." This recites a specific function of the analytics engine: analyzing image data to determine individual physiological conditions. The claim reasonably encompasses capturing images that depict multiple users (e.g., a camera in a common area) or capturing sequential images of different users over time. Applicant respectfully submits this is not indefinite and requests that the rejection be withdrawn.
Noted. The rejection has been modified. It is unclear how overall physiological condition is determined.
Claim 14
Applicant respectfully traverses that previously presented claim 14 is indefinite.
However, to expedite prosecution, Applicant has amended claim 14 to recite "wherein each wearable device of the plurality of wearable devices is designed to capture real-time physiological data of a corresponding user of the plurality of users".
Applicant respectfully submits that the rejection is overcome and requests that it be withdrawn.
Withdrawn based on the claim amendments.
Claim 17
The Office states that the terms "usage command" and "usage state" are indefinite. Applicant respectfully traverses.
Applicant respectfully submits that these terms are not indefinite. A "usage command" is a command that relates to the usage of a device or amenity, i.e., a command that instructs the device or amenity to change its operational behavior. This is understood in context, as claim 17 specifies that the usage commands "include instructions to modify a usage state of at least two controllable property systems and at least one amenity." A "usage state" is the state of usage of the device or amenity, i.e., its current operational status or mode. For example, a thermostat's usage state could include its current temperature setting and operating mode; a lighting system's usage state could include brightness level and on/off status; an amenity's usage state could include its operating hours or accessibility. The specification discloses transmitting commands to control devices and amenities, and the terms "usage command" and "usage state" are sufficiently definite when read in the context of these disclosures. One of ordinary skill in the art in the field of smart building management would understand these terms.
Applicant respectfully submits that claim 17 is definite and requests that the rejection be withdrawn.
Withdrawn based on claim interpretation and further consideration.
Claim 21 - "Geographic Area of Interest" and "Subarea"
The Office states that "geographic area of interest" is a relative term rendering the claim indefinite (any area could be an area of interest) and that "subarea" is indefinite. Applicant respectfully traverses.
Applicant respectfully submits that the term "geographic area of interest" is not a relative term that renders the claim indefinite. A "geographic area of interest" is an area in which the smart community management and wellness system operates and in which the controllable devices are positioned. The term is defined functionally by the claim itself: it is the geographic area in which the plurality of controllable devices is positioned and which includes a plurality of subareas. This provides sufficient definiteness because one of ordinary skill in the art can determine the scope, the geographic area of interest is the area covered by the system's controllable devices. The word "interest" does not introduce ambiguity; it simply indicates the area with which the system is concerned. Similarly, a "subarea" is a subdivision of the geographic area of interest in which at least one controllable device is positioned. In the context of the specification's disclosure of a multi-resident community, subareas would be understood to include individual residences, common areas, and facility zones. These terms are sufficiently definite to apprise one of ordinary skill in the art of the scope of the claim.
The rejection is respectfully maintained but modified. The word “interest” itself is subjective and a relative term, therefore indefinite. The word “interest” would vary depending on a person and there is no standard with which to measure what interest means. This is also true with the term geographic area which needs to be defined as to what is considered an area.
Claim 22 - "Performance Data" and "Targeted Threshold"
The Office states that the terms "controllable property system" "performance data," and "targeted threshold" are indefinite. Applicant respectfully traverses.
Regarding "controllable property system," Applicant respectfully refers to the arguments above under Section 112(a). Regarding "performance data," this term has a plain and ordinary meaning in the art, data relating to how a device or system is performing. In the context of claim 22, performance data is data about how the controllable property system is operating, including metrics such as energy consumption, output levels, and operational efficiency. Regarding "targeted threshold," this term means a predetermined performance level that the system uses as a benchmark. The claim recites that the analytics engine determines whether the system is "performing at a targeted threshold based on the user information." This language is not indefinite; it specifies a comparison between actual performance data and a threshold that is set based on user information. One of ordinary skill in the art in the field of smart building management would understand each of these terms and would understand the scope of the claim.
Applicant respectfully requests that the rejection be withdrawn.
Respectfully there is no teaching as to what performance data and threshold are. This rejection is respectfully maintained.
Claim 26 - "Adjusting the User Body Composition"
The Office states that it is indefinite as to a command to adjust a body composition, questioning how one sends a command to adjust someone's weight. Applicant respectfully submits that this limitation is not indefinite. Amended claim 26 recites that "the at least one wellness recommendation and the command corresponds to adjusting the body composition of the corresponding user." The claim does not recite that a command directly adjusts a person's body composition. Rather, it recites that the wellness recommendation and the command "correspond to" adjusting the user body composition, Page 28 of meaning the recommendation and command are directed toward the objective of adjusting the user's body composition. For example, the wellness recommendation may recommend dietary changes, and the command may instruct a nutritional management system to dispense specific foods that support the body composition goal. The command operates on a controllable property system with the objective of supporting body composition adjustment. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand this limitation to mean that the smart community management and wellness system's recommendations and device commands are tailored to the goal of improving the user's body composition.
Applicant respectfully requests withdrawal of the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections.
Body composition itself is not taught. The “nutritional management system” is also not taught. This rejection is respectfully maintained.
Applicant argues 35 USC §101 Rejections, starting pg. 29 of Remarks:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 3, 5, 8, 11, 14, 16, 17, and 20-26 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Applicant respectfully traverses.
However, to expedite prosecution, the limitations of claims 6, 12, and 15 have been incorporated into their respective independent claims 1, 8, and 14. Accordingly, as acknowledged on page 21 of the Office Action and as addressed in Applicant's response to the Non-Final Office Action, amended independent claims 1, 8, and 14 are directed to a practical application and/or significantly more.
Therefore, Applicant submits that the 35 U.S.C. § 101 rejection has been addressed and respectfully requests that the rejection be withdrawn. Applicant further submits that dependent claims 3,5,11,14,16,17, and 20-26 are also directed to a practical application and/or significantly more at least by virtue of their respective independent claim.
Based on the claim amendments, the rejection is withdrawn. An analysis is provided below for 35 USC 101.
Applicant argues 35 USC §103 Rejections, starting pg. 30 of Remarks:
Applicant’s arguments are moot based on the claim amendments and new prior art.
35 USC § 101 Analysis
Independent claims 1, 8, and 14 recite abstract elements directed to certain methods of organizing human activity. However, the claims also recite:
Claim 1:
“… wherein the at least one remote server is operable to modify the command to the at least one controllable device based on the geographical position of the at least one user, wherein the at least one controllable device includes a thermostat, wherein the modified command lowers or raises a preset temperature of the thermostat.”
Claim 8:
“… wherein the at least one remote server is operable to modify the at least one wellness recommendation and the command to the at least one controllable property system based on the user sensor data and the geographical position of the at least one user, wherein the at least one controllable property system comprises an air conditioning system, a lighting system, and a motion sensor corresponding to a residence of the at least one user, wherein based on a detection of inactivity from the motion sensor and the user data, the at least one remote server is configured to determine a position of the at least one user relative to the residence, wherein, when the at least one remote server determines that the user is away from the residence, the at least one remote server is configured to modify the air conditioning system to reduce energy consumption, wherein the at least one remote server is further configured to modify the lighting system to reduce lighting output.
Claim 14:
“… wherein the analytics engine is further configured to determine user activity based on the plurality of wearable devices, wherein the analytics engine is further operable to transmit at least one nutrition recommendation to at least one remote device based on the user activity, wherein the at least one nutrition recommendation includes consumption of at least one of protein and/or water, wherein the plurality of controllable property systems includes a vending machine, wherein in response to receiving the command, the vending machine is configured to release the protein or the water corresponding to the nutrition recommendation. “
The above underlined claim elements, which control a physical device, provide both a practical application and significantly more. Therefore, the 35 USC 101 rejection of claims 1, 3, 5, 7-9, 11, 14, 16, 17, and 20-26 is withdrawn.
Claim Interpretation
The specification does not define “controllable property systems.” However, Applicant has provided a definition in their remarks.
From Applicant’s Remarks, filed 2/20/2026:
“Regarding the term "controllable property system," Applicant respectfully directs the Office's attention to the specification at paragraphs [0006], [0008], [0076], [0078], [00108], [00116], [00131], [00132], [00137], and [00145]. The application as filed discloses systems including lighting systems, air conditioning systems, audio management systems, property access systems, and nutritional management systems, all of which are controllable systems associated with a property. The term "controllable property system" is a reasonable characterization of these disclosed systems.”
For examination purposes, the term “controllable property systems” is limited to teachings from Applicant’s specification such as air conditioning systems, lighting systems, etc. that relate to property systems that can be controlled. Things such as “nutritional management systems” that are not taught in the disclosure would be excluded as a controllable property system.
The specification does not define “usage command” or “usage state.” However, Applicant has provided a definition in their remarks.
From Applicant’s Remarks, filed 2/20/2026:
In reference to "usage command" or a "usage state", Applicant respectfully directs the Office's attention to paragraphs [0090], [0099], [00111], [00115], [00116], [00130], [00131], [00134], and [00145]. These paragraphs illustrates usage command and changing usage states (e.g., settings). The specification discloses that the smart community management and wellness system is operable to transmit commands to controllable electronic devices and amenities. For example, and without limitation, paragraph [0145] discloses that the event scheduler is designed to activate appliances based on the personal wellness rules corresponding to a user, and that the event handler is designed to control one or more appliances based on the event scheduler. The specification also discloses transmitting commands to amenities in a predetermined geographic area. A "usage command" is a command that instructs a device or amenity regarding its usage, which is directly supported by the specification's disclosure of commands that activate, control, and modify the operation of devices and amenities. A "usage state" refers to the operational state of a device or amenity (e.g., on/off, operating parameters, schedule), which is inherently taught by the specification's disclosure of modifying device settings and operational parameters. The specification's disclosure of a community-wide system that controls multiple devices across multiple residences and amenities in a geographic area supports the limitation of modifying at least two controllable property systems and at least one amenity.
For examination purposes, the term “usage command” and “usage state” are limited to teachings from Applicant’s specification such as activation command. Anything not taught in the disclosure related to command or state would be excluded as a usage command or usage state.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7-9, 11, 14, 16, 17, and 20-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites “wherein, after receiving the user image data, the analytics engine of the at least one remote server is designed to analyze the user image data to determine at least one physiological condition for each user of the plurality of users, wherein the analytics engine is further configured to determine an overall physiological condition for the plurality of users;” where no teaching of analytic engine determine overall physiological condition for a plurality of user can be found in the written description.
Paragraphs [0112], [0148], and [0190] teach overall, but not for a plurality of users. Paragraph [0131] teaches temperature settings, but this compares setting to other users (not an overall condition). Paragraphs [0008] and [00100] teach community level analysis. However, they do not teach and analytic engine configured to determine an overall physiological condition for a plurality of users.
Claims 5, 8, 14, 20, 21, and 23 have a similar problem.
An adequate written description for a computer-implemented functional claim limitation contains both the computer and the algorithm that perform the claimed function in sufficient detail such that one of ordinary skill in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor possessed the claimed subject matter at the time of filing. It is not enough that one skilled in the art could write a program to achieve the claimed function because the specification must explain how the inventor intends to achieve the claimed function to satisfy the written description requirement (MPEP § 2161.01).
Claim 8 recites “nutritional management system” where there is no teaching as to what this is. Para. [0085] only teaches nutrition recommendation, not a system.
Claim 21 recites “the plurality of controllable devices is positioned in a geographic area of interest, wherein the geographic area of interest includes a plurality of subareas, wherein at least one controllable device of the plurality of controllable devices is positioned in each subarea of the plurality of subareas,” where there is no teaching of controllable devices positioned in geographic area of interest and subareas. The specification teaches amenities in predetermined geographic areas (para. [0083] of the specification).
Claim 22 recites “controllable property system, wherein the controllable property system data includes performance data, wherein the analytics engine is operable to determine whether at least one controllable property system is performing at a targeted threshold based on the user data…” where there is no teaching of “performance data” and “targeted threshold.”
From Applicant’s cited support:
[00145] The wellness rules component 320 includes wellness standards and rules
corresponding to a user and/or a community. For example, and not limitation, the wellness rules include a sleep routine (e.g., getting ready an hour before an expected bedtime for a suggested eight hours of sleep.) The property mapper tool 318 is designed to monitor appliance data and a location of a user within a property. For example and not limitation, the property manager tool is operable to determine when a user is in the user's bedroom. The event scheduler 316 and event handler 314 work in tandem with each other and the property mapper tool 319 and wellness rules 320. The event scheduler is designed to activate appliances based on the personal wellness rules corresponding to a user. The event handler is designed to control one or more appliances based on the event scheduler. For further example, and not limitation, the smart community management and wellness system is operable to capture user (e.g., resident) usage and user behavior related to a property, amenity, facility and/or activity. For example, and not limitation, the smart community management and wellness system is operable to determine that a facility (e.g., gym) has low user activity. Advantageously, the smart community management and wellness system is designed to transmit the facility data to at least one user (e.g., property manager) and to provide at least one event recommendation and/or at least one operation recommendation. For further example, and not limitation, the at least one event recommendation includes a date and a type of activity to increase user activity. The at least one event recommendation includes an activities class (e.g., yoga), an organized event (e.g., basketball tournament), and other similar events designs to improve activity and engagement. The at least one operation recommendation includes but is not limited to operating hours, cleaning scheduling, maintenance schedule, and similar functions for operating and maintaining a facility. For further example, the smart community management and wellness system is operable to determine when user activity is lowest and to send a notification to a property manager remote device with a recommended time cleaning. Alternatively, or additionally, the smart community management and wellness system is operable to automatically schedule a thirdparty service provider /or to transmit a command to a controllable electronic device (e.g., IoT vacuum) to clean a facility during the low user activity.
The above needs to at least teach threshold as it is not explicit or inherent in the teachings.
Claim 23 recites “analytics engine is further configured to identify one or more users affected by the disease outbreak, wherein the at least one controllable property system includes an access management system, wherein the at least one remote server commands the access management system to limit access to a residence corresponding to the identified one or more users affected by the disease outbreak” where no teaching of identify users affected by the disease outbreak and limit access to a residence corresponding to the identified users affected by the disease outbreak can be found in the written specification. See para. [00100] that only teaches determine an outbreak and generate alerts and para. [00101] that teach access linked to security, not disease outbreak.
From Applicant’s specification, para’s [00100] – [00101]…
[00100] For example, and not limitation, the community management system may monitor a user's activity and determine that the user played a round of golf in 90-degree heat based on location data and environmental data. The community management system is configured to generate a recommendation to a corresponding user remote device to drink water and to activate the air conditioning system in the user's home. As another example, the community management system may monitor and generate alerts at a community level. For example, and not limitation, based on user medical data transmitted from the medical institution to the software platform, the community management system is designed to determine when there is a disease outbreak. Based on the disease outbreak, the community management system is operable to generate alerts on exposed individuals, sick individuals, and provide lifestyle recommendations (e.g., hydration) to address the disease.
The above teaches providing alerts and recommendations for disease outbreak.
[00101] In another embodiment, the community management system includes a software platform with a plurality of dashboards. For example, and not limitation, in one embodiment, the plurality of dashboards includes a property management dashboard (e.g., rent and bill payment, and maintenance requests, a rewards system or program for residents and users of the community), a utility management dashboard (e.g., electrical), a security management dashboard (e.g., gate access to a community), a lifestyle management dashboard (e.g., presents user sleep data and corresponding recommendations), medical management dashboard (e.g., real-time display of user physiological data), and other dashboards corresponding to the monitoring and management of a plurality of users, appliances, and locations within the community.
The above teaches a different embodiment from disease and security with gate access, not controlling limit access to a residence based on disease outbreak. They also teach display physiological data, not control access based on physiological data.
Claim 25 recites “at least one non-invasive optical sensor, wherein the at least one non-invasive optical sensor captures user physiological data,” where there is no teaching of a “non-invasive optical” sensor. The specification only teaches optical regarding networks and storage media (para’s [0174], [0180], [0181], and [0189]). It is not inherent for an image sensor to be “non-invasive.”
Claim 26 recites “wherein the wellness recommendation and the command corresponds to adjusting the body composition of the corresponding user” where there is no teaching of command corresponds to adjusting the body composition of the corresponding user. The specification only teaches command and user’s body temperature (para. [0111] of the specification).
Claims 3, 5, 7, 9, 11, 16, 17, and 20-26 are further rejected as they depend from their respective independent claim.
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7-9, 11, 14, 16, 17, and 20-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “wherein, after receiving the user image data, the analytics engine of the at least one remote server is designed to analyze the user image data to determine at least one physiological condition for each user of the plurality of users, wherein the analytics engine is further configured to determine an overall physiological condition for the plurality of users;”
The above recites receiving the user image, analyze the image to determine at least one physiological condition for each user of the plurality of users. It is indefinite as to further configure to determine an overall physiological condition for the plurality of users. There is no teaching as to how overall condition is determined. Claims 5, 8, 14, 20, 21, 23 have a similar problem regarding use of overall physiological condition.
Claim 21 recites “the plurality of controllable devices is positioned in a geographic area of interest, wherein the geographic area of interest includes a plurality of subareas, wherein at least one controllable device of the plurality of controllable devices is positioned in each subarea of the plurality of subareas,” where geographic area of interest is a relative term rendering the claim indefinite (any area could be an area of interest). Further, subarea is indefinite as there is no teaching as to what this encompasses. For examination purposes this is considered any geographic area. Also, the term “interest” is a subjective term which is indefinite. Interest is a relative term and would vary depending on how/who is interpreting the word.
Claim 22 recites “controllable property system, wherein the controllable property system data includes performance data, wherein the analytics engine is operable to determine whether at least one controllable property system is performing at a targeted threshold based on the user data…” where “performance data,” and “targeted threshold are indefinite as there is no teaching as to what these encompasses. For examination purposes, this is interpreted as controlling a temperature in a building.
Claim 26 recites “wherein the at least one wellness recommendation and the command corresponds to adjusting the body composition of the corresponding user” where it is indefinite as to a command to adjust a body composition (e.g., how do you send a command to adjust someone’s weight). For examination purposes this is interpreted as telling someone to gain or lose weight.
Claims 3, 5, 7, 9, 11, 16, 17, and 20-26 are rejected as they depend from their respective independent claim.
Examiner Request
The Applicant is requested to indicate where in the specification there is support for amendments to claims should Applicant amend. The purpose of this is to reduce potential 35 U.S.C. §112(a) or §112 1st paragraph issues that can arise when claims are amended without support in the specification. The Examiner thanks the Applicant in advance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7, 21, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pub. No. US 2021/0217532 to Heimerl
Regarding claim 1
A smart community management and wellness system comprising:
at least one remote device including a user interface;
Heimerl teaches:
Smart cell phones (remote device with user interface)…
“The disclosed technology provides a computer-implemented method and system for automatically detecting and automatically intervening in group-crisis states resulting from sub-optimal physical and social environments in which people live, work, and play. The system utilizes one or more user devices and/or input sensors to monitor, measure, and detect the collective operating state of a group of persons via obtaining measurements/values of physical (e.g., heartrate, blood flow, breathing, bodily secretions, muscle tension, body metabolism) and/or behavioral (e.g., movement, voice) indicators, or any combination thereof. These biometric values are taken both by remote-from-the-person (“off-the-body” sensors, e.g., traditional surveillance tools, building sensors, and the like) and on-the-person (sometimes called “on-the-body,” “on-the-skin” or “under-the-skin,” e.g., wearable devices, smart cell phones, and the like, although these sensors may include devices implanted inside the person, in some embodiments) and are used to determine the group operating state at any given moment within particular social and physical environments…” [0024]
at least one image sensor configured to capture image data;
Example of camera (sensor to capture image data)…
“In some embodiments, the disclosed technology provides a PROCESS #1 that includes reading physiological parameters from a group of persons using on-the-body sensors (e.g., heart-rate, skin-resistance, temperature and the like), using off-the-body sensors (e.g., camera, interior position sensors (IPS), global positioning sensors (GPS), temperature sensors (e.g., FLIR cameras) and the like), and obtaining self-reported parameters from persons in the group relating to physical and social (cultural) environmental factors and their impact on stress levels via the system dashboard software application which serves both a data capture and reporting role…” [0009]
at least one remote server including a software platform including a plurality of dashboards, an analytics engine, and at least one database;
Example of dashboard and software for analysis (analytics engine)…“FIG. 22C is a system output that illustrates a system-reporting dashboard and software application for outputting data and enabling analysis and reporting regarding group stress levels, and physical environment and social environment (culture) factors driving elevated collective stress, according to some embodiments of the disclosed technology.” [0063]
Databases…
“The intervention system/server also transmits data to and from the database(s) that capture and store group-specific data and values. The database(s) are part of the overarching system and function primarily for data storage and retrieval of group information and values.” [0102]
Example of primary dashboard and other outputs (therefore other dashboards)…
“FIG. 22C is a system output 1903 that illustrates a system reporting dashboard and software application for outputting data and enabling analysis and reporting regarding physical environment and social environment factors driving elevated collective stress levels, according to some embodiments of the disclosed technology. In some embodiments, the primary dashboard report provides an overall organization group health score 1908 (which can be aggregated from measures sensed by one or more input sources or sensors, as described herein), a physical environment health score 1910, a social environment health score 1912, group stress sensors health score 1914, and a self-reported employee ratings stress score 1916. For example, the output 1903 can also display a group stress sensors score (e.g., 1914) comprised of on-the-body and off-the-body measures, and a self-reported ratings stress score 1916.” [0240] Inherent with primary dashboard report are other dashboard reports.
Dashboard at organizational level…
“The dashboard can capture and report stress variables that are “out of normal” bounds so that direct, immediate action can be taken (e.g., the system can automatically present an intervention application to all members of the group). In addition, the insights presented in the dashboard can enable an organization to build long-term plans to optimize a built environment and social (cultural) environment to maximize a group's mental and physical health and, as a byproduct, optimize organizational productivity and innovation. Powering the dashboard at an organizational level can be the data. One or more AI or machine learning algorithms can be used to fuse and/or cluster different biometric data in order to understand group stress, recommend, and generate effective intervention solutions. In addition, organizational data can be aggregated to a larger data set that enables data analysis and manipulation, AI, and machine learning to determine best practices to maximize organizational and social impacts.” [0243]
See Dashboards below.
at least one controllable device; and
Example of changing a thermostat (controllable device)…“… The disclosed technology implements an intervention that is either conscious (applied to influence the social environment) or unconscious (applied to influence the physical environment, such as changing a thermostat, sending instructions to a system that changes automated doors, walls, and/or windows.) The conscious intervention drives a behavioral response by the individual or group, which they may choose or not choose to engage with.” [0087]
at least one wearable device including a positioning component;
Fig. 2B, ref. 106A (watch) as wearable device…
Wearable device including SGPS (positioning component)…
“In some embodiments, the on-body sensors of FIG. 11B include many types of wearable devices that enable anxiety and stress detection. Mass-marketed wearable devices today include, in various forms of development: smart glasses, smart watches, smart clothing (e.g., shirts, socks, hats, pants, shoes), Bluetooth key trackers, accessories and jewelry (e.g., belts, rings, bracelets), ear buds, SGPS/GPRS body control, and additional “under the skin” measures that are used today predominantly in the medical arena, but which are moving increasingly to broader markets.” [0158]
wherein the at least one remote device, the at least one image sensor, the at least one wearable device, the at least one remote server, and the at least one controllable device are in network communication;
Remote from the person (camera, temperature sensor), on-body (wearable device), IoT sensor (controllable device) and server connected over a network…
“… In all, the four broad measurement inputs—“remote-from-the-person” (“off-body”) group-stress measures, “on-the-person” (“on-body”) group stress measures, traditional IoT building automation sensors, and self-reported user ratings are communicated from the respective user device(s) and/or building sensors via the communication interface to the intervention system/server over a network (wired or wireless) in accordance with the different core processes outlined previously…” [0024]
IOT with thermostats…
“… In some embodiments, a smart building hub serves as the communication interface 211 between one or more input sensors 212, such as a camera or microphone and output alert/output devices 213 that comprise building and IoT-enabled devices and systems, including entertainment systems, smart sensors on thermostats, lightbulbs, outlets and switches, door locks and sensors, security system, fans, window treatments/coverings, and the intervention system/server 220. In some embodiments, one or more portions of, or the entirety of, the intervention server 220 is implemented as software the executes within the smart hub which also serves as the communications interface 211. In some embodiments, the group-intervention server 220 uses artificial intelligence, machine learning, and/or deep learning to continuously obtain data and/or user feedback to improve the system 220's determinations of, and interventions for, group stress.” [0099]
wherein the at least one image sensor is operable to capture user image data corresponding to a plurality of users, wherein the user image data is transmitted to the at least one remote device and the at least one remote server;
Cameras access group operating state (plurality of users)…
“…In some embodiments, microphones and cameras assess the group operating state, for example. In other embodiments, light detection and ranging lasers do so by measuring human traffic speed. And in still other embodiments, mass spectrometry may be used to detect increases in metabolism or changes in cortisol concentration…” [0025]
Camera and taking user’s body with camera…
“The present technology uses at least one sensor 212 to read and monitor one or more physical or behavioral indicators (measured remotely from the user's body or “off-the-body,” “over the skin,” or “on-the-body,” “on-the-skin” or “under the skin”), one or more building sensors 251 to monitor the state of the physical environment, and the disclosed technology also elicits user input 262 and 263 to periodically evaluate the general “health” of the social and physical environments. Input devices 212 may be combined or packaged independently or collectively; they may be wearable such as a watch, smart clothing, earphone, or other product, or they may be stationary devices, physically independent from the human body, that are taking biometric measures remotely from the user's body, such as a camera or microphone. Likewise, output devices 213 may be combined or packaged independently or collectively; or they may be wearable or non-wearable such as building devices including entertainment systems, automated window or wall mechanisms, or an HVAC system, device, or sensor. While the number of devices may vary by user and user group, the devices and sensors, in concert with the intervention system/server and database(s) perform the present technology together.” [0120]
wherein the positioning component is operable to track a geographical position of at least one user of the plurality of users;
Accelerometer (positioning component) to track movement of group of people…
“Motion sensors provide a way of measuring group stress levels in an environment and in some embodiments, include one or more gyroscope sensors and/or accelerometers (such as are found in most current smart phones) to track movement of a group of people. Increases in the velocity or speed of a group of people relative to a baseline speed indicate increased group stress levels. In addition to measuring speed, in some embodiments, a motion sensor is used to measure body movement (e.g., aggressive arm movement, fidgeting) and body position (e.g., forward leaning indicating flight; backward leaning indicating retreat.)” [0151]
Location and speed (movement) of one person…
“In some embodiments, each user device 210 includes a communications interface 211 (such as Bluetooth®, Wi-Fi and/or cellular telephony or the like), and a plurality of sensors 212 (such as global-positioning system (GPS) sensors for location, spatial orientation, speed, etc., galvanic skin response (GSR) sensors, heart-rate sensors, fingerprint sensors (for device activation, authorization or locking), audio microphone(s) for voice and ambient noise evaluations, camera(s) for analysis of hand gestures, posture, facial expressions, and the like, accelerometers, gyroscopes and/or magnetometers for determining orientation, speed, acceleration and the like, and other sensors as may be needed to help determine a group's collective state.” [0211]
wherein, after receiving the user image data, the analytics engine of the at least one remote server is designed to analyze the user image data to determine at least one physiological condition for each user of the plurality of users, wherein the analytics engine is further configured to determine an overall physiological condition for the plurality of users;
Reading (receiving) camera data for physiological parameters…
“In some embodiments, the disclosed technology provides a PROCESS #1 that includes reading physiological parameters from a group of persons using on-the-body sensors (e.g., heart-rate, skin-resistance, temperature and the like), using off-the-body sensors (e.g., camera, interior position sensors (IPS), global positioning sensors (GPS), temperature sensors (e.g., FLIR cameras) and the like), and obtaining self-reported parameters from persons in the group relating to physical and social (cultural) environmental factors and their impact on stress levels via the system dashboard software application which serves both a data capture and reporting role.” [0009]
Fig. 2B, ref. 108 teaches example of remote server analyzing data and “group crises state” (overall physiological condition)…
Example of measure (analyze) physical stress levels…
“… Concurrently, the system reads data from building sensors (e.g., temperature, air quality, CO.sub.2 level and the like, which communicate, for example, as an internet-of-things (IoT) system) to determine the current physical environment parameters from which to act upon (in circumstances of high collective stress.) IF group-stress levels are elevated, THEN the system outputs an (UNCONSCIOUS) PHYSICAL ENVIRONMENT intervention in the form of adjustments to building sensors (e.g., sensory-based modification to change the building environment and optionally customize individual workspaces,) and (CONSCIOUS) SOCIAL ENVIRONMENT interventions designed to both enhance cultural health and reduce or eradicate culture dysfunction or “toxicity” in the form of software applications that include the system dashboard (with reporting indicating an overall organizational health score aggregated from the measures taken from the input sources/sensors, scores indicating the PHYSICAL and SOCIAL ENVIRONMENT stress levels, and metrics pertaining to each of the input areas to identify where, specifically, stressors are outside of the “normal” range,) and a recommended social (cultural) environment group-stress-reducing “app” (software application) to individuals in the group that can coincide with one of six software application sub-collections aligned with proven group stress mitigating areas (which, non-coincidentally, are also culture improvers that have a direct, positive impact on productivity and innovation as well). This dual-intervention system outputs feedback systematically that is both CONSCIOUS and UNCONSCIOUS for optimal collective stress intervention and crisis-state mitigation and avoidance…” [0009]
wherein, based on the at least one determined physiological condition for each user of the plurality of users and/or the overall physiological condition of the plurality of users, the at least one remote server is operable to transmit the at least one determined physiological condition and/or the overall physiological condition of the plurality of users to the at least one remote device, wherein the at least one remote device is operable to display the at least one determined physiological condition and/or the overall physiological condition of the plurality of users;
Output of stress levels (physiological condition)…
“Reporting scores for each input area (e.g., physical sensors in the physical environment, off-the-body group stress sensors, on-the-body group stress sensors (opt-in by users), and self-reported user ratings) can help users and/or the computing system described herein identify where, more specifically, stresses are located outside a normal group stress state/range. The output 1903 can be displayed at one or more user devices (e.g., mobile, desktop) of users in the physical environment. The output 1903 can also be displayed at a computing system that determines collective stress levels and interventions, as described herein.” [0241]
Fig .2B, ref. 108 and 106 teach transmit the condition to plurality of users…
wherein, the at least one remote server is further operable to provide at least one wellness recommendation for improving the at least one determined physiological condition and/or the overall physiological condition of the plurality of users, wherein the at least one wellness recommendation includes a sleep recommendation, a nutrition recommendation, a mental health recommendation, and/or a fitness recommendation; and
Recommended stress reducing (mental health) app…
“… SOCIAL ENVIRONMENT interventions designed to both enhance cultural health and reduce or eradicate culture dysfunction or “toxicity” in the form of software applications that include the system dashboard (with reporting indicating an overall organizational health score aggregated from the measures taken from the input sources/sensors, scores indicating the PHYSICAL and SOCIAL ENVIRONMENT stress levels, and metrics pertaining to each of the input areas to identify where, specifically, stressors are outside of the “normal” range,) and a recommended social (cultural) environment group-stress-reducing “app” (software application) to individuals in the group that can coincide with one of six software application sub-collections aligned with proven group stress mitigating areas (which, non-coincidentally, are also culture improvers that have a direct, positive impact on productivity and innovation as well).” 0009]
Example of individual measures and measures aggregated for group stress levels…
“Body-Temperature Sensors: Body temperature increases as anxiety increases, as indicated above, and demonstrated here. Some embodiments of the disclosed technology use one of several commercially available body temperature sensors/products/wearables on the market today including a fever watch, smart bracelet, and forehead thermometers. A fingerprint thermometer of body temperature is a free smart phone android application and is the most accurate temperature rate monitor app today for any Smartphone and it does not need any external hardware. In addition, there are body temperature fitness trackers, digital ear thermometers and more. These individual measures can be aggregated to arrive at a group stress measure and compared to a baseline to confirm high group stress levels. In addition, there are many readily available room thermometers on the market today including Android apps that function as thermometers.” [0164]
wherein, based on the at least one determined physiological condition, the overall physiological condition, and the at least one wellness recommendation, the at least one remote server is configured to transmit a command to the at least one controllable device, wherein the command modifies a setting of the at least one controllable device; and
Example of command…
“Fourth, based on individual feedback pertaining to the physical environment, in some embodiments, the system makes automatic changes to each individuals' workspace to align with their feedback in 1551. For example, if an individual reports excessive cold, the system will instruct a thermometer to raise the heat level in their area or a switch will be commanded to turn on a space heater. In some embodiments, the system notifies administrators about new and/or additional physical environment issues or opportunities expressed by individuals in the group so that they may be considered in the future to optimize group operating states. In some embodiments, all individual data is anonymized and captured for group stress assessment only—i.e., no personalized workspace adjustments are made by the system; instead, a common group intervention is applied. In some embodiments, individuals control their workspace environment entirely. In some embodiments, individuals can override group physical interventions that impact their work area.” [0205]
Fig. 2B, ref. 104 and 108 teach example of transmit command for controllable device…
wherein the at least one remote server is operable to modify the command to the at least one controllable device based on the geographical position of the at least one user, wherein the at least one controllable device includes a thermostat, wherein the modified command lowers or raises a preset temperature of the thermostat.
Example of location and adjust settings including temperature…
“… The historic and detected group conditions can also include location of members of the group in the physical environment, quantity of members in the group, or location of objects in the physical environment relative to locations of the members of the group (e.g., too many people in one area can cause crowding, which can cause stress). The intervention instructions can include adjusting one or more settings in the physical environment including dispersing an aroma in the physical environment, adjusting a temperature of the physical environment, adjusting a lighting of the physical environment, or playing calming audio in the physical environment. Moreover, in some implementations, the intervention instructions can include causing movement of physical objects or elements of the physical environment to reduce group stress. For example, the physical environment can have automated walls, windows, ceilings, doors, etc. that can be automatically moved within the physical environment to create space where there is crowding, add natural light where this is none, or inject fresh air where it is still (e.g., in smart homes).” [0015]
Uses wearable device and change a thermostat…
“In contrast to other systems that use wearable devices only—the disclosed technology utilizes both wearable devices (on-the-body) and non-wearable devices (off-the-body and building and other surveillance technology) to determine a crisis state of the group or an individual in a group. The disclosed technology does not infer a state of mind, and does not attach any judgement to it—i.e., good, or bad. In the system of the disclosed technology—through on-the-body sensors, off-the-body sensors (and, in some embodiments, user self-reports)—the body of the group “speaks” (via physical, behavioral, and/or cognitive indications) and if the group's “body” indicates that it is outside of the normal range, then an intervention occurs. The person also weighs into the disclosed technology—for initial training of the system purposes, for ongoing system calibration to identify any changes to the normal and/or elevated group-crisis state, and for the user self-reporting mechanism. The disclosed technology does not apply an “antidote”—there's no “medicine” administered to counteract a mind state. The disclosed technology implements an intervention that is either conscious (applied to influence the social environment) or unconscious (applied to influence the physical environment, such as changing a thermostat, sending instructions to a system that changes automated doors, walls, and/or windows.) The conscious intervention drives a behavioral response by the individual or group, which they may choose or not choose to engage with.” [0087]
Dashboards
Heimerl teaches dashboard. They do not explicitly teach dashboards (plural). However, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a primary dashboard and dashboard at organizational levels would encompass dashboards.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s filing to modify the Heimerl reference with the knowledge available to such an artisan that primary and organization levels are encompass more than one dashboard. This would have been known work in the field of endeavor prompting variations of it in the same field based on use of dashboards for providing information and would provide predictable results.
Regarding claim 3
The system of claim 1, wherein the at least one determined physiological condition includes at least one biomarker,
Heimerl teaches:
“One or more preferred embodiment can include a system for group-crisis state detection and intervention, the system having a plurality of mobile devices (e.g., user devices, input devices) that can collectively detect first biometric conditions specific to individual users of a plurality of users, each of the first biometric conditions identifying a health state of each of the users in the plurality of users and transmit, to a computing system, the first biometric conditions…” [0013]
wherein the at least one database further includes historical user data and controllable device data,
“The computing system can also determine the group normal state based on one or more historic first biometric conditions, historic group conditions, the detected first biometric conditions, and the detected group conditions being below a threshold value. The historic and detected first biometric conditions can include at least one of current physiological conditions, a heartrate, a blood flow, sweat, bodily movement, volume of voice, or speaking pace. The first biometric conditions can also be a combination of one or more of breathing rate, body temperature, skin temperature, cognitive-distraction, cortisol-concentration, electrocardiogram, electrodermal activity, electromyogram, skin conductance, and/or respiration. The historic and detected group conditions can include at least one of bodily movement, volume of voice, speaking pace, temperature of the physical environment, noise level in the physical environment, or odor…” [0015]
wherein the historical user data includes biomarker data corresponding to the plurality of users,
“The computing system can also determine the group normal state based on one or more historic first biometric conditions, historic group conditions, the detected first biometric conditions, and the detected group conditions being below a threshold value. The historic and detected first biometric conditions can include at least one of current physiological conditions, a heartrate, a blood flow, sweat, bodily movement, volume of voice, or speaking pace. The first biometric conditions can also be a combination of one or more of breathing rate, body temperature, skin temperature, cognitive-distraction, cortisol-concentration, electrocardiogram, electrodermal activity, electromyogram, skin conductance, and/or respiration. The historic and detected group conditions can include at least one of bodily movement, volume of voice, speaking pace, temperature of the physical environment, noise level in the physical environment, or odor…” [0015]
wherein the controllable device data includes a power status and at least one setting corresponding to the at least one controllable device,
“The intervention instructions can include adjusting one or more settings in the physical environment including dispersing an aroma in the physical environment, adjusting a temperature of the physical environment, adjusting a lighting of the physical environment, or playing calming audio in the physical environment. Moreover, in some implementations, the intervention instructions can include causing movement of physical objects or elements of the physical environment to reduce group stress. For example, the physical environment can have automated walls, windows, ceilings, doors, etc. that can be automatically moved within the physical environment to create space where there is crowding, add natural light where this is none, or inject fresh air where it is still (e.g., in smart homes).” [0015]
Fan speed and light intensity (power status and settings) and switch on/off (power status)…
“EXAMPLES OF OUTPUT DEVICES/ALERTS/BUILDING CONTROLS INCLUDE: Dimmer—fan speed, light intensity, Infrared output—send infrared controls/signals (control devices mimicking their remote controls), Multi-color LED—shine light in any color or intensity (room lighting plant growing), Sound—playing sounds (beeps, voice announcement), Switch—switch on an electric device on or off (heater, fan, light), and Valve—open/close gradually (control flow of liquids, gases).” [0180] Inherent with fan speed light intensity are power status (high fan speed or light intensity requires more power)
wherein the analytics engine is further operable to generate at least one controllable device recommendation based on the historical user data and the controllable device data,
“… The historic and detected group conditions can also include location of members of the group in the physical environment, quantity of members in the group, or location of objects in the physical environment relative to locations of the members of the group (e.g., too many people in one area can cause crowding, which can cause stress). The intervention instructions can include adjusting one or more settings in the physical environment including dispersing an aroma in the physical environment, adjusting a temperature of the physical environment, adjusting a lighting of the physical environment, or playing calming audio in the physical environment. Moreover, in some implementations, the intervention instructions can include causing movement of physical objects or elements of the physical environment to reduce group stress. For example, the physical environment can have automated walls, windows, ceilings, doors, etc. that can be automatically moved within the physical environment to create space where there is crowding, add natural light where this is none, or inject fresh air where it is still (e.g., in smart homes).” [0015]
wherein the at least one controllable device recommendation includes a change of the setting of the at least one controllable device to improve the at least one determined physiological condition.
“… The historic and detected group conditions can also include location of members of the group in the physical environment, quantity of members in the group, or location of objects in the physical environment relative to locations of the members of the group (e.g., too many people in one area can cause crowding, which can cause stress). The intervention instructions can include adjusting one or more settings in the physical environment including dispersing an aroma in the physical environment, adjusting a temperature of the physical environment, adjusting a lighting of the physical environment, or playing calming audio in the physical environment. Moreover, in some implementations, the intervention instructions can include causing movement of physical objects or elements of the physical environment to reduce group stress. For example, the physical environment can have automated walls, windows, ceilings, doors, etc. that can be automatically moved within the physical environment to create space where there is crowding, add natural light where this is none, or inject fresh air where it is still (e.g., in smart homes).” [0015]
Regarding claim 5
The system of claim 1, wherein the at least one remote device is configured to transmit at least one command to the at least one image sensor based on the at least one determined physiological condition,
Heimer teaches:
Fig. 2B, ref. 108 and 103 (sensors such as cameras)…
wherein the at least one command includes a request for user image data,
Obtain (request) measures from camera (image)…
“…To ascertain the “state” of the social and physical environments (which will be modified by the system IF group operating states are outside of the normal rang), two additional sets of measures are obtained: 1) physical environmental measures obtained through building sensors (standard and enhanced IoT/building automation systems that can be located within and/or outside of buildings in communities—for example, a camera on street light post)…” [0024]
wherein, in response to the at least one command, the at least one image sensor captures new user image data,
Additional (new) camera measure…
“…To ascertain the “state” of the social and physical environments (which will be modified by the system IF group operating states are outside of the normal rang), two additional sets of measures are obtained: 1) physical environmental measures obtained through building sensors (standard and enhanced IoT/building automation systems that can be located within and/or outside of buildings in communities—for example, a camera on street light post)…” [0024]
wherein the at least one remote server is further configured to update the at least one determined physiological condition and the overall physiological condition based on the new user image data,
Example of update data on an ongoing basis…
“In some embodiments, the present technology imparts no crisis intervention, alert or action when the collective operational state of a group is determined to be within their non-crisis, normal state range 116 (which includes both normal state 120 and restorative state 110)—a range 116 that is determined by the intervention determiner 224 at a collective/group level by an initial computational training phase of system 402 that is calibrated and updated on an ongoing basis, in some embodiments, via systematic processes using Artificial Intelligence, Machine Learning, and/or other computational methods and algorithms, as well as user-driven or administrator driven readings and refinements. The present technology optionally imparts positive feedback to the group of users if operating in a sustained normal-state range in the form of, in some embodiments, a positive change to the physical environment (sight, sound, smell etc.), or a positive action aligned with one of the system's apps that are part of an overarching collection of apps designed to improve the social environment (culture) based on six proven culture-enhancing areas.” [0107]
wherein the at least one remote server is further configured to transmit a new command to the at least one controllable device,
“…The dashboard can include information that can be organization-wide, including data, analytics, and reporting to assist an organization in determining how to improve and/or redefine employee engagement and/or satisfaction. Inputs from these sources are combined and analyzed (and, in some embodiments, individual data is anonymized) to determine if collective-stress levels are elevated outside the normal operating state range. Concurrently, the system reads data from building sensors (e.g., temperature, air quality, CO.sub.2 level and the like, which communicate, for example, as an internet-of-things (IoT) system) to determine the current physical environment parameters from which to act upon (in circumstances of high collective stress.) IF group-stress levels are elevated, THEN the system outputs an (UNCONSCIOUS) PHYSICAL ENVIRONMENT intervention in the form of adjustments to building sensors (e.g., sensory-based modification to change the building environment and optionally customize individual workspaces,) and (CONSCIOUS) SOCIAL ENVIRONMENT interventions designed to both enhance cultural health and reduce or eradicate culture dysfunction or “toxicity” in the form of software applications that include the system dashboard (with reporting indicating an overall organizational health score aggregated from the measures taken from the input sources/sensors, scores indicating the PHYSICAL and SOCIAL ENVIRONMENT stress levels, and metrics pertaining to each of the input areas to identify where, specifically, stressors are outside of the “normal” range,) and a recommended social (cultural) environment group-stress-reducing “app” (software application) to individuals in the group that can coincide with one of six software application sub-collections aligned with proven group stress mitigating areas (which, non-coincidentally, are also culture improvers that have a direct, positive impact on productivity and innovation as well)…” [0009
wherein the new command modifies the setting of the at least one controllable device based on the updated physiological condition.
“…The dashboard can include information that can be organization-wide, including data, analytics, and reporting to assist an organization in determining how to improve and/or redefine employee engagement and/or satisfaction. Inputs from these sources are combined and analyzed (and, in some embodiments, individual data is anonymized) to determine if collective-stress levels are elevated outside the normal operating state range. Concurrently, the system reads data from building sensors (e.g., temperature, air quality, CO.sub.2 level and the like, which communicate, for example, as an internet-of-things (IoT) system) to determine the current physical environment parameters from which to act upon (in circumstances of high collective stress.) IF group-stress levels are elevated, THEN the system outputs an (UNCONSCIOUS) PHYSICAL ENVIRONMENT intervention in the form of adjustments to building sensors (e.g., sensory-based modification to change the building environment and optionally customize individual workspaces,) and (CONSCIOUS) SOCIAL ENVIRONMENT interventions designed to both enhance cultural health and reduce or eradicate culture dysfunction or “toxicity” in the form of software applications that include the system dashboard (with reporting indicating an overall organizational health score aggregated from the measures taken from the input sources/sensors, scores indicating the PHYSICAL and SOCIAL ENVIRONMENT stress levels, and metrics pertaining to each of the input areas to identify where, specifically, stressors are outside of the “normal” range,) and a recommended social (cultural) environment group-stress-reducing “app” (software application) to individuals in the group that can coincide with one of six software application sub-collections aligned with proven group stress mitigating areas (which, non-coincidentally, are also culture improvers that have a direct, positive impact on productivity and innovation as well)…” [0009
Regarding claim 7
7. (Currently amended) The system of claim 1, wherein the at least one database further includes property data and location data for a predetermined geographic area,
Heimerl teaches:
Databases for storage and retrieval of group information and values (therefore, storing user data, property data, controllable data, property system data, location data and health data)…
“The intervention system/server also transmits data to and from the database(s) that capture and store group-specific data and values. The database(s) are part of the overarching system and function primarily for data storage and retrieval of group information and values.” [0102]
wherein the property data includes building data and amenities data,
Example of positive attributes with ocean and park visuals (amenities) that are real (predetermined geographic area)…
“FIG. 21B is a table 1802 that lists types of physical environment factors that affect stress in a group, according to some embodiments of the disclosed technology. As previously mentioned, some factors include but are not limited to clutter, crowds and loud noises, green space relating to mood, green space relating to mental health, aquariums and fish tanks, aromatherapy, and aroma inhalation (e.g., Bergamot aroma, Lavender, etc.), lighting, and aesthetics, such as natural textures and patterns. Positive attributes, as listed in the table 1802, can include but are not limited to window views, lighting and day light, signs of other life, ocean and park visuals whether real or not, furniture layout for social interaction, natural textures and patterns, temperature, privacy, wall openings, ceiling surface and height, aroma inhalation, expectancy of calmness, hominess, ability to move freely, green and blue spaces, and individual control of the environment. Negative attributes, as listed in the table 1820, can include but are not limited to clutter, poor lighting, crowding, loud exterior noise, inaccessible architecture, no individual control, no green or blue spaces, and low sound absorption.” [0236]
wherein the amenities data includes a plurality of amenities in the predetermined geographic area,
Example of positive attributes with ocean and park visuals (amenities) that are real (predetermined geographic area)…
“FIG. 21B is a table 1802 that lists types of physical environment factors that affect stress in a group, according to some embodiments of the disclosed technology. As previously mentioned, some factors include but are not limited to clutter, crowds and loud noises, green space relating to mood, green space relating to mental health, aquariums and fish tanks, aromatherapy, and aroma inhalation (e.g., Bergamot aroma, Lavender, etc.), lighting, and aesthetics, such as natural textures and patterns. Positive attributes, as listed in the table 1802, can include but are not limited to window views, lighting and day light, signs of other life, ocean and park visuals whether real or not, furniture layout for social interaction, natural textures and patterns, temperature, privacy, wall openings, ceiling surface and height, aroma inhalation, expectancy of calmness, hominess, ability to move freely, green and blue spaces, and individual control of the environment. Negative attributes, as listed in the table 1820, can include but are not limited to clutter, poor lighting, crowding, loud exterior noise, inaccessible architecture, no individual control, no green or blue spaces, and low sound absorption.” [0236]
wherein the at least one wellness recommendation further includes at least one amenity of the plurality of amenities in the predetermined geographic area,
Opening windows and wall partition (positive attributes)…
“In some embodiments, the disclosed technology is focused exclusively or primarily on detecting group stress and on activating a sensory-type response that is directed at the group as a whole by making tangible changes to the physical environment, such as improving light intensity or color of the light in the building, increasing natural air flow by opening windows, activating the movement of a wall partition up or down and the like. In other embodiments, the disclosed technology, when individual data is not aggregated and anonymized, also includes activating responses that are customized and directed toward different individuals differently, such as personalized modifications to workspaces or providing apps from the app sub-collections that are tailored to the user based on his/her self-report.” [0086]
wherein the at least one remote device is further configured to transmit at least one amenity command to at least one amenity of the plurality of amenities based on the at least one wellness recommendation, wherein the at least one amenity command modifies a usage state of the amenity
Reward including open door to picnic area (amenity)…
“…The system may, however, intervene with a positive—conscious or unconscious—reinforcement or reward, for example, delivered via the building sensors (e.g., open a sliding door to an outdoor common picnic area) or interrupt app engagement with an AI/Smart Coach-based positive affirmation if the persons are able to sustain a normal state range for an extended period of time.” [0096]
Regarding claim 21
The system of claim 1, wherein the at least one controllable device further comprises a plurality of controllable devices,
Heimer teaches:
“Accordingly, the disclosed technology utilizes a dual intervention approach to apply both imperceptible (or barely perceptible) sensory-based interventions (called “unconscious” feedback herein) for example, modifying the physical environment by increasing (day) light, reducing the room temperature or emitting a favorable noise or aroma as well as modifying the social environment (culture) via perceptible interventions (called “conscious” feedback herein) such as recommending a group-stress-reducing “app” (software application) to mitigate the stress response, restore the normal state range and corresponding healthy productivity and engagement levels associated with normal, non-elevated, group-operating states. One or more additional advantages of the disclosed technology can be recognized as described throughout this disclosure.” [0027]
wherein the plurality of controllable devices is positioned in a geographic area of interest, wherein the geographic area of interest includes a plurality of subareas,
Room (sub area) temperature for a group with social environment (area of interest)…
“Accordingly, the disclosed technology utilizes a dual intervention approach to apply both imperceptible (or barely perceptible) sensory-based interventions (called “unconscious” feedback herein) for example, modifying the physical environment by increasing (day) light, reducing the room temperature or emitting a favorable noise or aroma as well as modifying the social environment (culture) via perceptible interventions (called “conscious” feedback herein) such as recommending a group-stress-reducing “app” (software application) to mitigate the stress response, restore the normal state range and corresponding healthy productivity and engagement levels associated with normal, non-elevated, group-operating states. One or more additional advantages of the disclosed technology can be recognized as described throughout this disclosure.” [0027]
wherein at least one controllable device of the plurality of controllable devices is positioned in each subarea of the plurality of subareas,
“Accordingly, the disclosed technology utilizes a dual intervention approach to apply both imperceptible (or barely perceptible) sensory-based interventions (called “unconscious” feedback herein) for example, modifying the physical environment by increasing (day) light, reducing the room temperature or emitting a favorable noise or aroma as well as modifying the social environment (culture) via perceptible interventions (called “conscious” feedback herein) such as recommending a group-stress-reducing “app” (software application) to mitigate the stress response, restore the normal state range and corresponding healthy productivity and engagement levels associated with normal, non-elevated, group-operating states. One or more additional advantages of the disclosed technology can be recognized as described throughout this disclosure.” [0027]
wherein the at least one remote server is configured to transmit a command to each controllable device of the plurality of controllable devices based on the overall physiological condition of the plurality of users and the at least one wellness recommendation,
Fig. 2A, ref. 108 teaches transmit command.
wherein the command modifies a setting of each controllable device.
“Accordingly, the disclosed technology utilizes a dual intervention approach to apply both imperceptible (or barely perceptible) sensory-based interventions (called “unconscious” feedback herein) for example, modifying the physical environment by increasing (day) light, reducing the room temperature or emitting a favorable noise or aroma as well as modifying the social environment (culture) via perceptible interventions (called “conscious” feedback herein) such as recommending a group-stress-reducing “app” (software application) to mitigate the stress response, restore the normal state range and corresponding healthy productivity and engagement levels associated with normal, non-elevated, group-operating states. One or more additional advantages of the disclosed technology can be recognized as described throughout this disclosure.” [0027]
Regarding claim 25
The system of claim 1 further comprising at least one non-invasive optical sensor,
Heimerl teaches:
“FIG. 11B is a block diagram of system 1102 that gathers data from on-body sensors for group interventions, according to some embodiments of the disclosed technology. In some embodiments, system 1102 includes a plurality of on-body sensor systems such as anxiety sensor 1191 that obtains individual person's heart rate, skin resistance or the like, breathing-rate heart-rate sensor 1192 that obtains individual person's heart- and breathing-rate information, camera 1193 that obtains individual person's facial-expression information, distraction detector 1194 (such as camera that determines a person's gaze or use of their cell phone), body temperature sensor 1195 that measures the person's temperature, metabolism sensor 1196 (such as a chemical-detection system that measures the chemicals in a person's breath, or a CO2 detector), a cortisol sensor 1197 that uses infrared light of a plurality of specific wavelengths and ratios to measure the cortisol level in a person's blood (in a manner similar to the devices that measure oxygen level), user's on-body computer devices 1198 such as smart watches and fitness sensors, and other group-measurement devices 1199. In some embodiments, the data from the above-listed off-body devices is collected by processor 1120 and the output is used to control a plurality of user devices, alert devices, and/or building controls 1122 to achieve intervention for the group of persons.” [0157]
wherein the at least one non-invasive optical sensor captures user physiological data,
“FIG. 11B is a block diagram of system 1102 that gathers data from on-body sensors for group interventions, according to some embodiments of the disclosed technology. In some embodiments, system 1102 includes a plurality of on-body sensor systems such as anxiety sensor 1191 that obtains individual person's heart rate, skin resistance or the like, breathing-rate heart-rate sensor 1192 that obtains individual person's heart- and breathing-rate information, camera 1193 that obtains individual person's facial-expression information, distraction detector 1194 (such as camera that determines a person's gaze or use of their cell phone), body temperature sensor 1195 that measures the person's temperature, metabolism sensor 1196 (such as a chemical-detection system that measures the chemicals in a person's breath, or a CO2 detector), a cortisol sensor 1197 that uses infrared light of a plurality of specific wavelengths and ratios to measure the cortisol level in a person's blood (in a manner similar to the devices that measure oxygen level), user's on-body computer devices 1198 such as smart watches and fitness sensors, and other group-measurement devices 1199. In some embodiments, the data from the above-listed off-body devices is collected by processor 1120 and the output is used to control a plurality of user devices, alert devices, and/or building controls 1122 to achieve intervention for the group of persons.” [0157]
wherein the at least one non-invasive optical sensor transmits the user physiological data to the at least one remote server,
Fig. 2B, ref. 102 and 108 teach transmit data to remote server.
wherein the at least one remote server is configured to update the at least one wellness recommendation based on the user physiological data from the at least one non-invasive optical sensor,
“FIG. 11B is a block diagram of system 1102 that gathers data from on-body sensors for group interventions, according to some embodiments of the disclosed technology. In some embodiments, system 1102 includes a plurality of on-body sensor systems such as anxiety sensor 1191 that obtains individual person's heart rate, skin resistance or the like, breathing-rate heart-rate sensor 1192 that obtains individual person's heart- and breathing-rate information, camera 1193 that obtains individual person's facial-expression information, distraction detector 1194 (such as camera that determines a person's gaze or use of their cell phone), body temperature sensor 1195 that measures the person's temperature, metabolism sensor 1196 (such as a chemical-detection system that measures the chemicals in a person's breath, or a CO2 detector), a cortisol sensor 1197 that uses infrared light of a plurality of specific wavelengths and ratios to measure the cortisol level in a person's blood (in a manner similar to the devices that measure oxygen level), user's on-body computer devices 1198 such as smart watches and fitness sensors, and other group-measurement devices 1199. In some embodiments, the data from the above-listed off-body devices is collected by processor 1120 and the output is used to control a plurality of user devices, alert devices, and/or building controls 1122 to achieve intervention for the group of persons.” [0157]
wherein the at least one remote server is further configured to generate a new command to the at least one controllable device based on the updated wellness recommendation,
“FIG. 11B is a block diagram of system 1102 that gathers data from on-body sensors for group interventions, according to some embodiments of the disclosed technology. In some embodiments, system 1102 includes a plurality of on-body sensor systems such as anxiety sensor 1191 that obtains individual person's heart rate, skin resistance or the like, breathing-rate heart-rate sensor 1192 that obtains individual person's heart- and breathing-rate information, camera 1193 that obtains individual person's facial-expression information, distraction detector 1194 (such as camera that determines a person's gaze or use of their cell phone), body temperature sensor 1195 that measures the person's temperature, metabolism sensor 1196 (such as a chemical-detection system that measures the chemicals in a person's breath, or a CO2 detector), a cortisol sensor 1197 that uses infrared light of a plurality of specific wavelengths and ratios to measure the cortisol level in a person's blood (in a manner similar to the devices that measure oxygen level), user's on-body computer devices 1198 such as smart watches and fitness sensors, and other group-measurement devices 1199. In some embodiments, the data from the above-listed off-body devices is collected by processor 1120 and the output is used to control a plurality of user devices, alert devices, and/or building controls 1122 to achieve intervention for the group of persons.” [0157]
wherein the new command modifies at least one setting of the at least one controllable device.
“… The intervention instructions can include adjusting one or more settings in the physical environment including dispersing an aroma in the physical environment, adjusting a temperature of the physical environment, adjusting a lighting of the physical environment, or playing calming audio in the physical environment. Moreover, in some implementations, the intervention instructions can include causing movement of physical objects or elements of the physical environment to reduce group stress. For example, the physical environment can have automated walls, windows, ceilings, doors, etc. that can be automatically moved within the physical environment to create space where there is crowding, add natural light where this is none, or inject fresh air where it is still (e.g., in smart homes).” [0015]
Claims 8, 11, 22, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pub. No. US 2021/0217532 to Heimerl in view of Pub. No.US 2019/0166030 to Chen et al.
Regarding claim 8
A smart community management and wellness system comprising:
at least one remote device including a user interface;
Heimerl teaches:
Smart cell phones (remote device with user interface)…
“The disclosed technology provides a computer-implemented method and system for automatically detecting and automatically intervening in group-crisis states resulting from sub-optimal physical and social environments in which people live, work, and play. The system utilizes one or more user devices and/or input sensors to monitor, measure, and detect the collective operating state of a group of persons via obtaining measurements/values of physical (e.g., heartrate, blood flow, breathing, bodily secretions, muscle tension, body metabolism) and/or behavioral (e.g., movement, voice) indicators, or any combination thereof. These biometric values are taken both by remote-from-the-person (“off-the-body” sensors, e.g., traditional surveillance tools, building sensors, and the like) and on-the-person (sometimes called “on-the-body,” “on-the-skin” or “under-the-skin,” e.g., wearable devices, smart cell phones, and the like, although these sensors may include devices implanted inside the person, in some embodiments) and are used to determine the group operating state at any given moment within particular social and physical environments…” [0024]
at least one controllable property system, wherein the at least one controllable property system includes a lighting system, an air conditioning system, an audio management system, a property access system, or a nutritional management system;
Adjust (control) temperature, lighting, audio…
“…The intervention instructions can include adjusting one or more settings in the physical environment including dispersing an aroma in the physical environment, adjusting a temperature of the physical environment, adjusting a lighting of the physical environment, or playing calming audio in the physical environment. Moreover, in some implementations, the intervention instructions can include causing movement of physical objects or elements of the physical environment to reduce group stress. For example, the physical environment can have automated walls, windows, ceilings, doors, etc. that can be automatically moved within the physical environment to create space where there is crowding, add natural light where this is none, or inject fresh air where it is still (e.g., in smart homes).” [0015]
Air conditioning….
“…a smart HVAC (heating, ventilation, air conditioning) system that modulates room temperature or ventilation, LEDs mounted on a wall that provide overt visual feedback (such as symbols, colors, intensity modulation (flashing), text and/or other visual indications) to the group, LED room lighting systems that adjust the brightness and/or color temperature of the room lighting to provide subtle or barely perceptible feedback to the group, aroma, scent, perfume, and/or odor emitters (e.g., or as conditionally activated scent-emitters in wirelessly-connected room air “freshener(s)” coupled to an “internet of things” (IoTs), wherein they are activated by heat to emit a predetermined perfume odor) that provide smell feedback to the group. In some embodiments, the one or more input sensors 212 are also in a separate device, such as a camera or other off-the-body device, that is part of an overarching building automation system that serves as the communications interface 211 and evaluates group stress levels by obtaining a group physiological measures….” [0099]
Door locks (property access)…“… In some embodiments, a smart building hub serves as the communication interface 211 between one or more input sensors 212, such as a camera or microphone and output alert/output devices 213 that comprise building and IoT-enabled devices and systems, including entertainment systems, smart sensors on thermostats, lightbulbs, outlets and switches, door locks and sensors, security system, fans, window treatments/coverings, and the intervention system/server 220. In some embodiments, one or more portions of, or the entirety of, the intervention server 220 is implemented as software the executes within the smart hub which also serves as the communications interface 211. In some embodiments, the group-intervention server 220 uses artificial intelligence, machine learning, and/or deep learning to continuously obtain data and/or user feedback to improve the system 220's determinations of, and interventions for, group stress.” [0099]
at least one wearable device including at least one sensor and a positioning component;
Fig. 2B, ref. 106A (watch) as wearable device…
Wearable device including SGPS (positioning component)…
“In some embodiments, the on-body sensors of FIG. 11B include many types of wearable devices that enable anxiety and stress detection. Mass-marketed wearable devices today include, in various forms of development: smart glasses, smart watches, smart clothing (e.g., shirts, socks, hats, pants, shoes), Bluetooth key trackers, accessories and jewelry (e.g., belts, rings, bracelets), ear buds, SGPS/GPRS body control, and additional “under the skin” measures that are used today predominantly in the medical arena, but which are moving increasingly to broader markets.” [0158]
a plurality of amenities;
Points and perks (plurality of amenities)…
“As depicted in the table 1902, an exemplary application called UNO can foster frequent, open, and honest communications by providing a “one thing” feedback system to users. Another exemplary application called JIG can increases connection and camaraderie among group members by via service rewards and recognition. An exemplary application called Divee can improve information-sharing by reinforcing positive behaviors through points and perks amongst users. An exemplary application called SETL develops conflict resolution skills by providing role play, case studies, and other interactive experiences and decision tools to the users. One or more other applications can be designed to help boost essential cultural skills, improve the social environment, and resolve group stress relating to communication, choice, consistency, connection, access, conflict resolution, and other problem areas that create high stress environments, including toxic environments. The table 1902 is not intended to be an exhaustive list of intervention application.” [0239]
at least one image sensor; and
Cameras (image sensors)…
“…In some embodiments, microphones and cameras assess the group operating state, for example. In other embodiments, light detection and ranging lasers do so by measuring human traffic speed. And in still other embodiments, mass spectrometry may be used to detect increases in metabolism or changes in cortisol concentration…” [0025]
at least one remote server including a software platform including a plurality of dashboards, an analytics engine, and at least one database, wherein the at least one database includes user data, property data, controllable property system data, amenity data, location data, and health data;
Example of dashboard and software for analysis (analytics engine)…“FIG. 22C is a system output that illustrates a system-reporting dashboard and software application for outputting data and enabling analysis and reporting regarding group stress levels, and physical environment and social environment (culture) factors driving elevated collective stress, according to some embodiments of the disclosed technology.” [0063]
Databases for storage and retrieval of group information and values (therefore, storing user data, property data, controllable data, property system data, location data and health data)…
“The intervention system/server also transmits data to and from the database(s) that capture and store group-specific data and values. The database(s) are part of the overarching system and function primarily for data storage and retrieval of group information and values.” [0102]
Example of primary dashboard and other outputs (therefore other dashboards)…
“FIG. 22C is a system output 1903 that illustrates a system reporting dashboard and software application for outputting data and enabling analysis and reporting regarding physical environment and social environment factors driving elevated collective stress levels, according to some embodiments of the disclosed technology. In some embodiments, the primary dashboard report provides an overall organization group health score 1908 (which can be aggregated from measures sensed by one or more input sources or sensors, as described herein), a physical environment health score 1910, a social environment health score 1912, group stress sensors health score 1914, and a self-reported employee ratings stress score 1916. For example, the output 1903 can also display a group stress sensors score (e.g., 1914) comprised of on-the-body and off-the-body measures, and a self-reported ratings stress score 1916.” [0240] Inherent with primary dashboard report are other dashboard reports.
Dashboard at organizational level…
“The dashboard can capture and report stress variables that are “out of normal” bounds so that direct, immediate action can be taken (e.g., the system can automatically present an intervention application to all members of the group). In addition, the insights presented in the dashboard can enable an organization to build long-term plans to optimize a built environment and social (cultural) environment to maximize a group's mental and physical health and, as a byproduct, optimize organizational productivity and innovation. Powering the dashboard at an organizational level can be the data. One or more AI or machine learning algorithms can be used to fuse and/or cluster different biometric data in order to understand group stress, recommend, and generate effective intervention solutions. In addition, organizational data can be aggregated to a larger data set that enables data analysis and manipulation, AI, and machine learning to determine best practices to maximize organizational and social impacts.” [0243]
Points (amenity data)…
“As depicted in the table 1902, an exemplary application called UNO can foster frequent, open, and honest communications by providing a “one thing” feedback system to users. Another exemplary application called JIG can increases connection and camaraderie among group members by via service rewards and recognition. An exemplary application called Divee can improve information-sharing by reinforcing positive behaviors through points and perks amongst users. An exemplary application called SETL develops conflict resolution skills by providing role play, case studies, and other interactive experiences and decision tools to the users. One or more other applications can be designed to help boost essential cultural skills, improve the social environment, and resolve group stress relating to communication, choice, consistency, connection, access, conflict resolution, and other problem areas that create high stress environments, including toxic environments. The table 1902 is not intended to be an exhaustive list of intervention application.” [0239]
See Dashboards below.
wherein the at least one remote device, the at least one image sensor, the at least one wearable device, the at least one controllable property system, and the at least one remote server are in network communication;
Remote from the person (camera, temperature sensor), on-body (wearable device), IoT sensor (controllable device) and server connected over a network…
“… In all, the four broad measurement inputs—“remote-from-the-person” (“off-body”) group-stress measures, “on-the-person” (“on-body”) group stress measures, traditional IoT building automation sensors, and self-reported user ratings are communicated from the respective user device(s) and/or building sensors via the communication interface to the intervention system/server over a network (wired or wireless) in accordance with the different core processes outlined previously…” [0024]
IOT with thermostats…
“… In some embodiments, a smart building hub serves as the communication interface 211 between one or more input sensors 212, such as a camera or microphone and output alert/output devices 213 that comprise building and IoT-enabled devices and systems, including entertainment systems, smart sensors on thermostats, lightbulbs, outlets and switches, door locks and sensors, security system, fans, window treatments/coverings, and the intervention system/server 220. In some embodiments, one or more portions of, or the entirety of, the intervention server 220 is implemented as software the executes within the smart hub which also serves as the communications interface 211. In some embodiments, the group-intervention server 220 uses artificial intelligence, machine learning, and/or deep learning to continuously obtain data and/or user feedback to improve the system 220's determinations of, and interventions for, group stress.” [0099]
wherein the at least one remote device and the at least one remote server are in network communication with the plurality of amenities located in a predetermined geographic area;
Example of positive attributes with ocean and park visuals (amenities) that are real (predetermined geographic area)…
“FIG. 21B is a table 1802 that lists types of physical environment factors that affect stress in a group, according to some embodiments of the disclosed technology. As previously mentioned, some factors include but are not limited to clutter, crowds and loud noises, green space relating to mood, green space relating to mental health, aquariums and fish tanks, aromatherapy, and aroma inhalation (e.g., Bergamot aroma, Lavender, etc.), lighting, and aesthetics, such as natural textures and patterns. Positive attributes, as listed in the table 1802, can include but are not limited to window views, lighting and day light, signs of other life, ocean and park visuals whether real or not, furniture layout for social interaction, natural textures and patterns, temperature, privacy, wall openings, ceiling surface and height, aroma inhalation, expectancy of calmness, hominess, ability to move freely, green and blue spaces, and individual control of the environment. Negative attributes, as listed in the table 1820, can include but are not limited to clutter, poor lighting, crowding, loud exterior noise, inaccessible architecture, no individual control, no green or blue spaces, and low sound absorption.” [0236]
wherein the at least one image sensor is operable to capture user image data corresponding to a plurality of users, wherein the user image data is transmitted to the at least one remote device and the at least one remote server;
Cameras access group operating state (plurality of users)…
“…In some embodiments, microphones and cameras assess the group operating state, for example. In other embodiments, light detection and ranging lasers do so by measuring human traffic speed. And in still other embodiments, mass spectrometry may be used to detect increases in metabolism or changes in cortisol concentration…” [0025]
Camera and taking user’s body with camera…
“The present technology uses at least one sensor 212 to read and monitor one or more physical or behavioral indicators (measured remotely from the user's body or “off-the-body,” “over the skin,” or “on-the-body,” “on-the-skin” or “under the skin”), one or more building sensors 251 to monitor the state of the physical environment, and the disclosed technology also elicits user input 262 and 263 to periodically evaluate the general “health” of the social and physical environments. Input devices 212 may be combined or packaged independently or collectively; they may be wearable such as a watch, smart clothing, earphone, or other product, or they may be stationary devices, physically independent from the human body, that are taking biometric measures remotely from the user's body, such as a camera or microphone. Likewise, output devices 213 may be combined or packaged independently or collectively; or they may be wearable or non-wearable such as building devices including entertainment systems, automated window or wall mechanisms, or an HVAC system, device, or sensor. While the number of devices may vary by user and user group, the devices and sensors, in concert with the intervention system/server and database(s) perform the present technology together.” [0120]
wherein the at least one sensor of the at least one wearable device is operable to monitor a physiological condition of at least one user of the plurality of users, wherein the positioning component of the at least one wearable device is operable to track a geographical position of the at least one user of the plurality of users, wherein the at least one wearable device transmits user sensor data to the at least one remote device and the at least one remote server, wherein the user sensor data includes positioning data of the at least one user and physiological data of the at least one user;
Accelerometer (positioning component) to track movement of group of people and motion sensor for body movement (physiological condition…
“Motion sensors provide a way of measuring group stress levels in an environment and in some embodiments, include one or more gyroscope sensors and/or accelerometers (such as are found in most current smart phones) to track movement of a group of people. Increases in the velocity or speed of a group of people relative to a baseline speed indicate increased group stress levels. In addition to measuring speed, in some embodiments, a motion sensor is used to measure body movement (e.g., aggressive arm movement, fidgeting) and body position (e.g., forward leaning indicating flight; backward leaning indicating retreat.)” [0151]
Location and speed (movement) of one person…
“In some embodiments, each user device 210 includes a communications interface 211 (such as Bluetooth®, Wi-Fi and/or cellular telephony or the like), and a plurality of sensors 212 (such as global-positioning system (GPS) sensors for location, spatial orientation, speed, etc., galvanic skin response (GSR) sensors, heart-rate sensors, fingerprint sensors (for device activation, authorization or locking), audio microphone(s) for voice and ambient noise evaluations, camera(s) for analysis of hand gestures, posture, facial expressions, and the like, accelerometers, gyroscopes and/or magnetometers for determining orientation, speed, acceleration and the like, and other sensors as may be needed to help determine a group's collective state.” [0211]
Output of stress levels (physiological condition)…
“Reporting scores for each input area (e.g., physical sensors in the physical environment, off-the-body group stress sensors, on-the-body group stress sensors (opt-in by users), and self-reported user ratings) can help users and/or the computing system described herein identify where, more specifically, stresses are located outside a normal group stress state/range. The output 1903 can be displayed at one or more user devices (e.g., mobile, desktop) of users in the physical environment. The output 1903 can also be displayed at a computing system that determines collective stress levels and interventions, as described herein.” [0241]
Fig .2B, ref. 108 and 106 teach transmit the condition to plurality of users…
wherein, after receiving the user image data, the at least one remote device is operable to display the user image data via the user interface;
Obtains group image (user image data)…
“FIG. 11A is a block diagram of system 1101 that gathers data from off-body and building sensors for group interventions, according to some embodiments of the disclosed technology. In some embodiments, system 1101 includes a plurality of off-body sensor systems such as audio sensor 1181 that obtains group audio data, motion detector 1182 that obtains group motion information, camera 1183 that obtains group image and/or motion information, congregation detector 1184 (such as an infrared sensor that images an area to determine how many persons are present and how far apart they are spaced), ambient temperature sensor 1185 that measures the room temperature, breathing rate detector 1186 (such as a camera and machine-vision system that measures the breathing of a plurality of persons, or a CO2 detector), a computer-interaction detector 1187 that measures the interactions of a group of persons with their personal computers, tablets, or smart phones, and other group-measurement devices 1188. In some embodiments, the data from the above-listed off-body devices is collected by processor 1110 and the output is used to control a plurality of user devices, alert devices, and/or building controls 1112 to achieve intervention for the group of persons.” [0148]
Group-portrait and shared via dashboard…
“The present technology is group adaptive because the intervention system/server, the user device(s), the building sensors, and the user-feedback mechanisms are repeatedly and/or substantially continually transmitting, evaluating, and sharing data via the network (wired or wireless). This ongoing iterative, evaluative communication and data sharing process between core system components allows for adjusting or modifying interventions and/or recommendations, if applicable, to group needs, and the severity, frequency, and duration of their collective crisis states. In addition, the transmission of data to the database(s), importantly, enables a group-portrait that is shared to all members of the group via the system dashboard periodically and consistently for review, monitoring and manipulating, and the data is stored for subsequent manipulation, analysis, or reporting.” [0114]
Dashboard app (user interface for display)…
“…In some embodiments, after the SYSTEM automatically adjusts the PHYSICAL environment, then all individuals/users in the group are automatically provided a dashboard app that indicates that group stress is elevated, and in the dashboard app is a request-for-feedback form that elicits and receives from each user their evaluation of the SOCIAL environment.” [0145]
One example of user interface…
“FIG. 20F is a user interface 1708 that illustrates a user-feedback app that elicits and receives self-reported data regarding social- and/or physical-environment factors that affect collective stress, according to some embodiments of the disclosed technology. An employee rating system is critical to put power in the employees' hands…” [0231]
wherein, after receiving the user image data, the analytics engine of the at least one remote server is designed to analyze the user image data to determine at least one physiological condition of at least one user of the plurality of users, wherein the analytics engine is further configured to generate an overall physiological condition corresponding to the plurality of users;
Collective stress (overall physiological condition)…
“FIG. 20F is a user interface 1708 that illustrates a user-feedback app that elicits and receives self-reported data regarding social- and/or physical-environment factors that affect collective stress, according to some embodiments of the disclosed technology. An employee rating system is critical to put power in the employees' hands…” [0231]
wherein based on the at least one determined physiological condition of the at least one user and the overall physiological condition of the plurality of users, the at least one remote server is operable to transmit the at least one determined physiological condition and the overall physiological condition to the at least one remote device, wherein the at least one remote device is operable to display the at least one determined physiological condition and the overall physiological condition;
Group-portrait and shared via dashboard…
“The present technology is group adaptive because the intervention system/server, the user device(s), the building sensors, and the user-feedback mechanisms are repeatedly and/or substantially continually transmitting, evaluating, and sharing data via the network (wired or wireless). This ongoing iterative, evaluative communication and data sharing process between core system components allows for adjusting or modifying interventions and/or recommendations, if applicable, to group needs, and the severity, frequency, and duration of their collective crisis states. In addition, the transmission of data to the database(s), importantly, enables a group-portrait that is shared to all members of the group via the system dashboard periodically and consistently for review, monitoring and manipulating, and the data is stored for subsequent manipulation, analysis, or reporting.” [0114]
wherein the at least one remote server is further operable to provide at least one wellness recommendation for improving the at least one determined physiological condition and the overall physiological condition, wherein the at least one wellness recommendation includes a sleep recommendation, a nutrition recommendation, a mental health recommendation, and/or a fitness recommendation;
Recommended stress reducing (mental health) app…
“… SOCIAL ENVIRONMENT interventions designed to both enhance cultural health and reduce or eradicate culture dysfunction or “toxicity” in the form of software applications that include the system dashboard (with reporting indicating an overall organizational health score aggregated from the measures taken from the input sources/sensors, scores indicating the PHYSICAL and SOCIAL ENVIRONMENT stress levels, and metrics pertaining to each of the input areas to identify where, specifically, stressors are outside of the “normal” range,) and a recommended social (cultural) environment group-stress-reducing “app” (software application) to individuals in the group that can coincide with one of six software application sub-collections aligned with proven group stress mitigating areas (which, non-coincidentally, are also culture improvers that have a direct, positive impact on productivity and innovation as well).” 0009]
Example of individual measures and measures aggregated for group stress levels…
“Body-Temperature Sensors: Body temperature increases as anxiety increases, as indicated above, and demonstrated here. Some embodiments of the disclosed technology use one of several commercially available body temperature sensors/products/wearables on the market today including a fever watch, smart bracelet, and forehead thermometers. A fingerprint thermometer of body temperature is a free smart phone android application and is the most accurate temperature rate monitor app today for any Smartphone and it does not need any external hardware. In addition, there are body temperature fitness trackers, digital ear thermometers and more. These individual measures can be aggregated to arrive at a group stress measure and compared to a baseline to confirm high group stress levels. In addition, there are many readily available room thermometers on the market today including Android apps that function as thermometers.” [0164]
wherein the at least one remote server is further operable to transmit a command to the at least one controllable property system based on the at least one wellness recommendation, wherein the command modifies an operational parameter of the at least one controllable property system;
Example of command…
“Fourth, based on individual feedback pertaining to the physical environment, in some embodiments, the system makes automatic changes to each individuals' workspace to align with their feedback in 1551. For example, if an individual reports excessive cold, the system will instruct a thermometer to raise the heat level in their area or a switch will be commanded to turn on a space heater. In some embodiments, the system notifies administrators about new and/or additional physical environment issues or opportunities expressed by individuals in the group so that they may be considered in the future to optimize group operating states. In some embodiments, all individual data is anonymized and captured for group stress assessment only—i.e., no personalized workspace adjustments are made by the system; instead, a common group intervention is applied. In some embodiments, individuals control their workspace environment entirely. In some embodiments, individuals can override group physical interventions that impact their work area.” [0205]
Fig. 2B, ref. 104 and 108 teach example of transmit command for controllable device…
wherein the at least one remote server is further configured to transmit an amenity command to at least one amenity of the plurality of amenities, wherein the amenity command includes instructions to modify at least one setting of the at least one amenity; and
Opening windows and wall partition (positive attributes)…
“In some embodiments, the disclosed technology is focused exclusively or primarily on detecting group stress and on activating a sensory-type response that is directed at the group as a whole by making tangible changes to the physical environment, such as improving light intensity or color of the light in the building, increasing natural air flow by opening windows, activating the movement of a wall partition up or down and the like. In other embodiments, the disclosed technology, when individual data is not aggregated and anonymized, also includes activating responses that are customized and directed toward different individuals differently, such as personalized modifications to workspaces or providing apps from the app sub-collections that are tailored to the user based on his/her self-report.” [0086]
Reward including open door to picnic area (amenity)…
“…The system may, however, intervene with a positive—conscious or unconscious—reinforcement or reward, for example, delivered via the building sensors (e.g., open a sliding door to an outdoor common picnic area) or interrupt app engagement with an AI/Smart Coach-based positive affirmation if the persons are able to sustain a normal state range for an extended period of time.” [0096]
wherein the at least one remote server is operable to modify the at least one wellness recommendation and the command to the at least one controllable property system based on the user sensor data and the geographical position of the at least one user, wherein the at least one controllable property system comprises an air conditioning system, a lighting system, and a motion sensor corresponding to a residence of the at least one user, wherein based on a detection of inactivity from the motion sensor and the user data, the at least one remote server is configured to determine a position of the at least one user relative to the residence, wherein, when the at least one remote server determines that the user is away from the residence, the at least one remote server is configured to modify the air conditioning system to reduce energy consumption, wherein the at least one remote server is further configured to modify the lighting system to reduce lighting output.
[No Patentable Weight is given to intended use language of “to reduce energy consumption” as the may not happen.]
Adjust (control) temperature, lighting, audio…
“…The intervention instructions can include adjusting one or more settings in the physical environment including dispersing an aroma in the physical environment, adjusting a temperature of the physical environment, adjusting a lighting of the physical environment, or playing calming audio in the physical environment. Moreover, in some implementations, the intervention instructions can include causing movement of physical objects or elements of the physical environment to reduce group stress. For example, the physical environment can have automated walls, windows, ceilings, doors, etc. that can be automatically moved within the physical environment to create space where there is crowding, add natural light where this is none, or inject fresh air where it is still (e.g., in smart homes).” [0015]
Air conditioning….
“…a smart HVAC (heating, ventilation, air conditioning) system that modulates room temperature or ventilation, LEDs mounted on a wall that provide overt visual feedback (such as symbols, colors, intensity modulation (flashing), text and/or other visual indications) to the group, LED room lighting systems that adjust the brightness and/or color temperature of the room lighting to provide subtle or barely perceptible feedback to the group, aroma, scent, perfume, and/or odor emitters (e.g., or as conditionally activated scent-emitters in wirelessly-connected room air “freshener(s)” coupled to an “internet of things” (IoTs), wherein they are activated by heat to emit a predetermined perfume odor) that provide smell feedback to the group. In some embodiments, the one or more input sensors 212 are also in a separate device, such as a camera or other off-the-body device, that is part of an overarching building automation system that serves as the communications interface 211 and evaluates group stress levels by obtaining a group physiological measures….” [0099]
Smart hub and sensors on thermostats, therefore adjust temperature based on occupancy…
“… In some embodiments, a smart building hub serves as the communication interface 211 between one or more input sensors 212, such as a camera or microphone and output alert/output devices 213 that comprise building and IoT-enabled devices and systems, including entertainment systems, smart sensors on thermostats, lightbulbs, outlets and switches, door locks and sensors, security system, fans, window treatments/coverings, and the intervention system/server 220. In some embodiments, one or more portions of, or the entirety of, the intervention server 220 is implemented as software the executes within the smart hub which also serves as the communications interface 211. In some embodiments, the group-intervention server 220 uses artificial intelligence, machine learning, and/or deep learning to continuously obtain data and/or user feedback to improve the system 220's determinations of, and interventions for, group stress.” [0099] Inherent with smart hub and sensors on thermostats is optimize energy based on occupancy.
Motion sensors…
“FIGS. 6A-B are diagrams of a process for determining the group baseline operating state, according to some embodiments of the disclosed technology. As depicted in FIG. 6A, in some embodiments, process 402 includes user devices 411 that function as input devices, sensing biometric values, such as heart rate strength or variability via a smart watch, or vocal speed, pace or volume via a microphone in a smart phone. In some embodiments, building sensors 412 include a microphone in smart speaker or a wall-mounted audio/recording device to detect vocal speed, pace or volume, or cameras, ultrasonic or other motion sensors, or FLIR (forward-looking infrared) sensors to sense a change in group velocity or individual speed differences or temperatures of persons. In some embodiments, process 402 requires user and group administrator evaluation and input, and in some embodiments, this can be executed via a smart phone, tablet, or desktop computer. These user values are transmitted via the network to the server 460 and stored into database 461 that holds historical group-specific parameters, as well as system-determined trends in such parameters. In some embodiments, a machine-learning algorithm 480 is used in or with server 460 to learn and improve the software's accuracy in determination of group stress and the effectiveness of group-stress interventions provided by the intervention server 460.” [0128]
“…The historic and detected group conditions can include at least one of bodily movement, volume of voice, speaking pace, temperature of the physical environment, noise level in the physical environment, or odor. The historic and detected group conditions can also include location of members of the group in the physical environment, quantity of members in the group, or location of objects in the physical environment relative to locations of the members of the group (e.g., too many people in one area can cause crowding, which can cause stress). The intervention instructions can include adjusting one or more settings in the physical environment including dispersing an aroma in the physical environment, adjusting a temperature of the physical environment, adjusting a lighting of the physical environment, or playing calming audio in the physical environment. Moreover, in some implementations, the intervention instructions can include causing movement of physical objects or elements of the physical environment to reduce group stress. For example, the physical environment can have automated walls, windows, ceilings, doors, etc. that can be automatically moved within the physical environment to create space where there is crowding, add natural light where this is none, or inject fresh air where it is still (e.g., in smart homes).” [0015]
Dashboards
Heimerl teaches dashboard. They do not explicitly teach dashboards (plural). However, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a primary dashboard and dashboard at organizational levels would encompass dashboards.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s filing to modify the Heimerl reference with the knowledge available to such an artisan that primary and organization levels are encompass more than one dashboard. This would have been known work in the field of endeavor prompting variations of it in the same field based on use of dashboards for providing information and would provide predictable results.
Relative Position
Heimerl teaches monitoring positions of users. They do not teach relative to a residence.
Chen et al. also in the business of positions of users teaches:
Determine position of user relative to home (residence)…
“The task may include: detect a user returning home, detect a user leaving home, detect a user moving from one room to another, detect/control/lock/unlock/open/close/partially open a window/door/garage door/blind/curtain/panel/solar panel/sun shade, detect a pet, detect/monitor a user doing something (e.g. sleeping on sofa, sleeping in bedroom, running on treadmill, cooking, sitting on sofa, watching TV, eating in kitchen, eating in dining room, going upstairs/downstairs, going outside/coming back, in the rest room, etc.), monitor/detect location of a user/pet, do something automatically upon detection, do something for the user automatically upon detecting the user, turn on/off/dim a light, turn on/off music/radio/home entertainment system, turn on/off/adjust/control TV/HiFi/set-top-box (STB)/home entertainment system/smart speaker/smart device, turn on/off/adjust air conditioning system, turn on/off/adjust ventilation system, turn on/off/adjust heating system, adjust/control curtains/light shades, turn on/off/wake a computer, turn on/off/pre-heat/control coffee machine/hot water pot, turn on/off/control/preheat cooker/oven/microwave oven/another cooking device, check/adjust temperature, check weather forecast, check telephone message box, check mail, do a system check, control/adjust a system, check/control/arm/disarm security system/baby monitor, check/control refrigerator, give a report (e.g. through a speaker such as Google home, Amazon Echo, on a display/screen, via a webpage/email/messaging system/notification system, etc.).” [0322]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include in the method and system of Heimerl the ability to determine a user relative to a residence as taught by Chen et al. since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Further motivation is provided by Chen et al. who teaches the benefits of monitoring positions of users for controlling appliances and this provides a financial benefit of reducing costs.
Regarding claim 11
The system of claim 8, wherein the user data includes medical information corresponding to the plurality of users,
Heimerl teaches:
“In some embodiments, the on-body sensors of FIG. 11B include many types of wearable devices that enable anxiety and stress detection. Mass-marketed wearable devices today include, in various forms of development: smart glasses, smart watches, smart clothing (e.g., shirts, socks, hats, pants, shoes), Bluetooth key trackers, accessories and jewelry (e.g., belts, rings, bracelets), ear buds, SGPS/GPRS body control, and additional “under the skin” measures that are used today predominantly in the medical arena, but which are moving increasingly to broader markets.” [0158]
wherein the property data includes at least two residences of the plurality of users,
“…For example, the physical environment can have automated walls, windows, ceilings, doors, etc. that can be automatically moved within the physical environment to create space where there is crowding, add natural light where this is none, or inject fresh air where it is still (e.g., in smart homes).” [0015]
wherein the at least one controllable property system includes a plurality of controllable property systems,
“…For example, the physical environment can have automated walls, windows, ceilings, doors, etc. that can be automatically moved within the physical environment to create space where there is crowding, add natural light where this is none, or inject fresh air where it is still (e.g., in smart homes).” [0015]
wherein at least one controllable property system corresponds to a first residence of the plurality of users, wherein at least one controllable property system corresponds to a second residence of the plurality of users,
“…For example, the physical environment can have automated walls, windows, ceilings, doors, etc. that can be automatically moved within the physical environment to create space where there is crowding, add natural light where this is none, or inject fresh air where it is still (e.g., in smart homes).” [0015]
wherein the at least one wellness recommendation is based on the user medical information and the at least one determined physiological condition,
“FIG. 11B is a block diagram of system 1102 that gathers data from on-body sensors for group interventions, according to some embodiments of the disclosed technology. In some embodiments, system 1102 includes a plurality of on-body sensor systems such as anxiety sensor 1191 that obtains individual person's heart rate, skin resistance or the like, breathing-rate heart-rate sensor 1192 that obtains individual person's heart- and breathing-rate information, camera 1193 that obtains individual person's facial-expression information, distraction detector 1194 (such as camera that determines a person's gaze or use of their cell phone), body temperature sensor 1195 that measures the person's temperature, metabolism sensor 1196 (such as a chemical-detection system that measures the chemicals in a person's breath, or a CO2 detector), a cortisol sensor 1197 that uses infrared light of a plurality of specific wavelengths and ratios to measure the cortisol level in a person's blood (in a manner similar to the devices that measure oxygen level), user's on-body computer devices 1198 such as smart watches and fitness sensors, and other group-measurement devices 1199. In some embodiments, the data from the above-listed off-body devices is collected by processor 1120 and the output is used to control a plurality of user devices, alert devices, and/or building controls 1122 to achieve intervention for the group of persons.” [0157]
wherein the at least one wellness recommendation includes at least one setting corresponding to the plurality of controllable property systems,
“FIG. 11B is a block diagram of system 1102 that gathers data from on-body sensors for group interventions, according to some embodiments of the disclosed technology. In some embodiments, system 1102 includes a plurality of on-body sensor systems such as anxiety sensor 1191 that obtains individual person's heart rate, skin resistance or the like, breathing-rate heart-rate sensor 1192 that obtains individual person's heart- and breathing-rate information, camera 1193 that obtains individual person's facial-expression information, distraction detector 1194 (such as camera that determines a person's gaze or use of their cell phone), body temperature sensor 1195 that measures the person's temperature, metabolism sensor 1196 (such as a chemical-detection system that measures the chemicals in a person's breath, or a CO2 detector), a cortisol sensor 1197 that uses infrared light of a plurality of specific wavelengths and ratios to measure the cortisol level in a person's blood (in a manner similar to the devices that measure oxygen level), user's on-body computer devices 1198 such as smart watches and fitness sensors, and other group-measurement devices 1199. In some embodiments, the data from the above-listed off-body devices is collected by processor 1120 and the output is used to control a plurality of user devices, alert devices, and/or building controls 1122 to achieve intervention for the group of persons.” [0157]
wherein the at least one remote server is configured to transmit a first command to the at least one controllable property system located at the first residence,
Fig. 2B, ref. 108 teaches transmits command.
wherein the at least one remote server is configured to transmit a second command to the at least one controllable property system located at the second residence,
Fig. 2B, ref. 108 teaches transmits command.
wherein the first command and the second command modifies a setting of a corresponding controllable property system.
“…UNCONSCIOUS interventions can be largely imperceptible and include SENSORY-TYPE interventions—sight, sound, taste, touch, smell—made via the building sensors to tangibly modify the built or physical environment…” [0091]
Regarding claim 22
The system of claim 8, wherein the at least one remote server is configured to receive controllable property system data corresponding to the at least one controllable property system,
Heimerl teaches:
“First, as depicted in FIG. 13 block 1320, the system instructs the plurality of building sensors that control the physical environment of the building (i.e., traditional IoT building automation sensors) to take a holistic measure of the current state of the physical environment. These building measures (input sensors) vary per embodiment and include sensors such as—Decibel meter/microphone—measures sound level, Photometer—measures light intensity for lighting control, Thermometer—measures room temperature, VOC (volatile organic compounds) sensor—measures air quality, Carbon dioxide meter measures air quality, and Olfactometer—measures aroma/odor dilution.” [0177]
wherein the controllable property system data includes performance data,
“FIG. 20G is a user interface 1709 that illustrates an employee-feedback app that elicits and receives self-reported data regarding physical-environment factors that affect collective stress, according to some embodiments of the disclosed technology. The user interface 1709 can be presented on one or more devices (e.g., mobile, desktop) of users within a physical environment. The user can be prompted to rate a general physical environment 1722. This can be rating the physical environment on a macro (e.g., overall organizational level) level. In other words, the user can assess/rate how conducive the physical environment is to collaboration and/or productivity. The user can also rate a general physical environment on multiple variables that assess overall comfort and conduciveness to carrying out daily activities well or doing so with exceptionally high performance such as temperature or noise level. The user can also be prompted to rate the state of the current or today's physical environment 1724. The user can rate the current environment based on conduciveness to collaboration, productivity, and related performance-based measures as well as whether the physical conditions are comfortable and conducive to optimal performance. The user can recommend changes to the physical environment 1726. Administrators and/or other officers of the physical environment can make long-term and/or immediate interventions. The user can also make immediate intervention 1728 to improve an immediate comfort level of the physical environment of his/her own workspace, in some embodiments. In some implementations, only the user can see their individual scores, not scores of others.” [0234]
wherein the analytics engine is operable to determine whether at least one controllable property system is performing at a targeted threshold based on the user data,
“Fourth, based on individual feedback pertaining to the physical environment, in some embodiments, the system makes automatic changes to each individuals' workspace to align with their feedback in 1551. For example, if an individual reports excessive cold, the system will instruct a thermometer to raise the heat level in their area or a switch will be commanded to turn on a space heater. In some embodiments, the system notifies administrators about new and/or additional physical environment issues or opportunities expressed by individuals in the group so that they may be considered in the future to optimize group operating states. In some embodiments, all individual data is anonymized and captured for group stress assessment only—i.e., no personalized workspace adjustments are made by the system; instead, a common group intervention is applied. In some embodiments, individuals control their workspace environment entirely. In some embodiments, individuals can override group physical interventions that impact their work area.” [0205]
wherein, when the analytics engine determines that the at least one controllable property system is underperforming, the at least one remote server is configured to automatically update a setting, order a replacement part, or order a new controllable property system.
“Fourth, based on individual feedback pertaining to the physical environment, in some embodiments, the system makes automatic changes to each individuals' workspace to align with their feedback in 1551. For example, if an individual reports excessive cold, the system will instruct a thermometer to raise the heat level in their area or a switch will be commanded to turn on a space heater. In some embodiments, the system notifies administrators about new and/or additional physical environment issues or opportunities expressed by individuals in the group so that they may be considered in the future to optimize group operating states. In some embodiments, all individual data is anonymized and captured for group stress assessment only—i.e., no personalized workspace adjustments are made by the system; instead, a common group intervention is applied. In some embodiments, individuals control their workspace environment entirely. In some embodiments, individuals can override group physical interventions that impact their work area.” [0205]
Regarding claim 24
The system of claim 8 further comprising a calibration engine,
The combined references teach monitor. They do not teach details of calibration.
Chen et al. teaches:
“A second part of the task may comprise at least one of: a smart home task, a smart office task, a smart building task, a smart factory task (e.g. manufacturing using a machine or an assembly line), a smart internet-of-thing (IoT) task, a smart system task, a smart home operation, a smart office operation, a smart building operation, a smart manufacturing operation (e.g. moving supplies/parts/raw material to a machine/an assembly line), an IoT operation, a smart system operation, turning on a light, turning off the light, controlling the light in at least one of: a room, a region, and/or the venue, playing a sound clip, playing the sound clip in at least one of: the room, the region, and/or the venue, playing the sound clip of at least one of: a welcome, a greeting, a farewell, a first message, and/or a second message associated with the first part of the task, turning on an appliance, turning off the appliance, controlling the appliance in at least one of: the room, the region, and/or the venue, turning on an electrical system, turning off the electrical system, controlling the electrical system in at least one of: the room, the region, and/or the venue, turning on a security system, turning off the security system, controlling the security system in at least one of: the room, the region, and/or the venue, turning on a mechanical system, turning off a mechanical system, controlling the mechanical system in at least one of: the room, the region, and/or the venue, and/or controlling at least one of: an air conditioning system, a heating system, a ventilation system, a lighting system, a heating device, a stove, an entertainment system, a door, a fence, a window, a garage, a computer system, a networked device, a networked system, a home appliance, an office equipment, a lighting device, a robot (e.g. robotic arm), a smart vehicle, a smart machine, an assembly line, a smart device, an internet-of-thing (IoT) device, a smart home device, and/or a smart office device.” [0321]
wherein the calibration engine is configured to monitor user activity,
“For example, when a user arrives home in his car, the task may be to, automatically, detect the user or his car approaching, open the garage door upon detection, turn on the driveway/garage light as the user approaches the garage, turn on air conditioner/heater/fan, etc. As the user enters the house, the task may be to, automatically, turn on the entrance light, turn off driveway/garage light, play a greeting message to welcome the user, turn on the music, turn on the radio and tuning to the user's favorite radio news channel, open the curtain/blind, monitor the user's mood, adjust the lighting and sound environment according to the user's mood or the current/imminent event (e.g. do romantic lighting and music because the user is scheduled to eat dinner with girlfriend in 1 hour) on the user's daily calendar, warm the food in microwave that the user prepared in the morning, do a diagnostic check of all systems in the house, check weather forecast for tomorrow's work, check news of interest to the user, check user's calendar and to-do list and play reminder, check telephone answer system/messaging system/email and give a verbal report using dialog system/speech synthesis, remind (e.g. using audible tool such as speakers/HiFi/speech synthesis/sound/voice/music/song/sound field/background sound field/dialog system, using visual tool such as TV/entertainment system/computer/notebook/smart pad/display/light/color/brightness/patterns/symbols, using haptic tool/virtual reality tool/gesture/tool, using a smart device/appliance/material/furniture/fixture, using web tool/server/cloud server/fog server/edge server/home network/mesh network, using messaging tool/notification tool/communication tool/scheduling tool/email, using user interface/GUI, using scent/smell/fragrance/taste, using neural tool/nervous system tool, using a combination, etc.) the user of his mother's birthday and to call her, prepare a report, and give the report (e.g. using a tool for reminding as discussed above). The task may turn on the air conditioner/heater/ventilation system in advance, or adjust temperature setting of smart thermostat in advance, etc. As the user moves from the entrance to the living room, the task may be to turn on the living room light, open the living room curtain, open the window, turn off the entrance light behind the user, turn on the TV and set-top box, set TV to the user's favorite channel, adjust an appliance according to the user's preference and conditions/states (e.g. adjust lighting and choose/play music to build a romantic atmosphere), etc.” [0323]
wherein based on the user activity the calibration engine is configured to update a usage schedule of the at least one controllable property system,
“For example, when a user arrives home in his car, the task may be to, automatically, detect the user or his car approaching, open the garage door upon detection, turn on the driveway/garage light as the user approaches the garage, turn on air conditioner/heater/fan, etc. As the user enters the house, the task may be to, automatically, turn on the entrance light, turn off driveway/garage light, play a greeting message to welcome the user, turn on the music, turn on the radio and tuning to the user's favorite radio news channel, open the curtain/blind, monitor the user's mood, adjust the lighting and sound environment according to the user's mood or the current/imminent event (e.g. do romantic lighting and music because the user is scheduled to eat dinner with girlfriend in 1 hour) on the user's daily calendar, warm the food in microwave that the user prepared in the morning, do a diagnostic check of all systems in the house, check weather forecast for tomorrow's work, check news of interest to the user, check user's calendar and to-do list and play reminder, check telephone answer system/messaging system/email and give a verbal report using dialog system/speech synthesis, remind (e.g. using audible tool such as speakers/HiFi/speech synthesis/sound/voice/music/song/sound field/background sound field/dialog system, using visual tool such as TV/entertainment system/computer/notebook/smart pad/display/light/color/brightness/patterns/symbols, using haptic tool/virtual reality tool/gesture/tool, using a smart device/appliance/material/furniture/fixture, using web tool/server/cloud server/fog server/edge server/home network/mesh network, using messaging tool/notification tool/communication tool/scheduling tool/email, using user interface/GUI, using scent/smell/fragrance/taste, using neural tool/nervous system tool, using a combination, etc.) the user of his mother's birthday and to call her, prepare a report, and give the report (e.g. using a tool for reminding as discussed above). The task may turn on the air conditioner/heater/ventilation system in advance, or adjust temperature setting of smart thermostat in advance, etc. As the user moves from the entrance to the living room, the task may be to turn on the living room light, open the living room curtain, open the window, turn off the entrance light behind the user, turn on the TV and set-top box, set TV to the user's favorite channel, adjust an appliance according to the user's preference and conditions/states (e.g. adjust lighting and choose/play music to build a romantic atmosphere), etc.” [0323]
wherein updating the usage schedule includes modifying a duration of operation and a performance setting,
“For example, when a user arrives home in his car, the task may be to, automatically, detect the user or his car approaching, open the garage door upon detection, turn on the driveway/garage light as the user approaches the garage, turn on air conditioner/heater/fan, etc. As the user enters the house, the task may be to, automatically, turn on the entrance light, turn off driveway/garage light, play a greeting message to welcome the user, turn on the music, turn on the radio and tuning to the user's favorite radio news channel, open the curtain/blind, monitor the user's mood, adjust the lighting and sound environment according to the user's mood or the current/imminent event (e.g. do romantic lighting and music because the user is scheduled to eat dinner with girlfriend in 1 hour) on the user's daily calendar, warm the food in microwave that the user prepared in the morning, do a diagnostic check of all systems in the house, check weather forecast for tomorrow's work, check news of interest to the user, check user's calendar and to-do list and play reminder, check telephone answer system/messaging system/email and give a verbal report using dialog system/speech synthesis, remind (e.g. using audible tool such as speakers/HiFi/speech synthesis/sound/voice/music/song/sound field/background sound field/dialog system, using visual tool such as TV/entertainment system/computer/notebook/smart pad/display/light/color/brightness/patterns/symbols, using haptic tool/virtual reality tool/gesture/tool, using a smart device/appliance/material/furniture/fixture, using web tool/server/cloud server/fog server/edge server/home network/mesh network, using messaging tool/notification tool/communication tool/scheduling tool/email, using user interface/GUI, using scent/smell/fragrance/taste, using neural tool/nervous system tool, using a combination, etc.) the user of his mother's birthday and to call her, prepare a report, and give the report (e.g. using a tool for reminding as discussed above). The task may turn on the air conditioner/heater/ventilation system in advance, or adjust temperature setting of smart thermostat in advance, etc. As the user moves from the entrance to the living room, the task may be to turn on the living room light, open the living room curtain, open the window, turn off the entrance light behind the user, turn on the TV and set-top box, set TV to the user's favorite channel, adjust an appliance according to the user's preference and conditions/states (e.g. adjust lighting and choose/play music to build a romantic atmosphere), etc.” [0323]
wherein the at least one controllable property system includes an autonomous cleaning system,
“For example, when a user arrives home in his car, the task may be to, automatically, detect the user or his car approaching, open the garage door upon detection, turn on the driveway/garage light as the user approaches the garage, turn on air conditioner/heater/fan, etc. As the user enters the house, the task may be to, automatically, turn on the entrance light, turn off driveway/garage light, play a greeting message to welcome the user, turn on the music, turn on the radio and tuning to the user's favorite radio news channel, open the curtain/blind, monitor the user's mood, adjust the lighting and sound environment according to the user's mood or the current/imminent event (e.g. do romantic lighting and music because the user is scheduled to eat dinner with girlfriend in 1 hour) on the user's daily calendar, warm the food in microwave that the user prepared in the morning, do a diagnostic check of all systems in the house, check weather forecast for tomorrow's work, check news of interest to the user, check user's calendar and to-do list and play reminder, check telephone answer system/messaging system/email and give a verbal report using dialog system/speech synthesis, remind (e.g. using audible tool such as speakers/HiFi/speech synthesis/sound/voice/music/song/sound field/background sound field/dialog system, using visual tool such as TV/entertainment system/computer/notebook/smart pad/display/light/color/brightness/patterns/symbols, using haptic tool/virtual reality tool/gesture/tool, using a smart device/appliance/material/furniture/fixture, using web tool/server/cloud server/fog server/edge server/home network/mesh network, using messaging tool/notification tool/communication tool/scheduling tool/email, using user interface/GUI, using scent/smell/fragrance/taste, using neural tool/nervous system tool, using a combination, etc.) the user of his mother's birthday and to call her, prepare a report, and give the report (e.g. using a tool for reminding as discussed above). The task may turn on the air conditioner/heater/ventilation system in advance, or adjust temperature setting of smart thermostat in advance, etc. As the user moves from the entrance to the living room, the task may be to turn on the living room light, open the living room curtain, open the window, turn off the entrance light behind the user, turn on the TV and set-top box, set TV to the user's favorite channel, adjust an appliance according to the user's preference and conditions/states (e.g. adjust lighting and choose/play music to build a romantic atmosphere), etc.” [0323]
wherein based on user activity corresponding to an amenity, the at least one remote server is configured to issue a command modifying a schedule of the autonomous cleaning system.
“For example, when a user arrives home in his car, the task may be to, automatically, detect the user or his car approaching, open the garage door upon detection, turn on the driveway/garage light as the user approaches the garage, turn on air conditioner/heater/fan, etc. As the user enters the house, the task may be to, automatically, turn on the entrance light, turn off driveway/garage light, play a greeting message to welcome the user, turn on the music, turn on the radio and tuning to the user's favorite radio news channel, open the curtain/blind, monitor the user's mood, adjust the lighting and sound environment according to the user's mood or the current/imminent event (e.g. do romantic lighting and music because the user is scheduled to eat dinner with girlfriend in 1 hour) on the user's daily calendar, warm the food in microwave that the user prepared in the morning, do a diagnostic check of all systems in the house, check weather forecast for tomorrow's work, check news of interest to the user, check user's calendar and to-do list and play reminder, check telephone answer system/messaging system/email and give a verbal report using dialog system/speech synthesis, remind (e.g. using audible tool such as speakers/HiFi/speech synthesis/sound/voice/music/song/sound field/background sound field/dialog system, using visual tool such as TV/entertainment system/computer/notebook/smart pad/display/light/color/brightness/patterns/symbols, using haptic tool/virtual reality tool/gesture/tool, using a smart device/appliance/material/furniture/fixture, using web tool/server/cloud server/fog server/edge server/home network/mesh network, using messaging tool/notification tool/communication tool/scheduling tool/email, using user interface/GUI, using scent/smell/fragrance/taste, using neural tool/nervous system tool, using a combination, etc.) the user of his mother's birthday and to call her, prepare a report, and give the report (e.g. using a tool for reminding as discussed above). The task may turn on the air conditioner/heater/ventilation system in advance, or adjust temperature setting of smart thermostat in advance, etc. As the user moves from the entrance to the living room, the task may be to turn on the living room light, open the living room curtain, open the window, turn off the entrance light behind the user, turn on the TV and set-top box, set TV to the user's favorite channel, adjust an appliance according to the user's preference and conditions/states (e.g. adjust lighting and choose/play music to build a romantic atmosphere), etc.” [0323]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include in the method and system of the combined references the ability to use a schedule to control devices as taught by Chen et al. since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Further motivation is provided by Chen et al. who teaches the benefits of schedules and controlling devices and this provides a financial benefit of reducing costs.
Conclusion
/KENNETH BARTLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3684