DETAILED ACTION
Any rejections made in a previous Office action and not repeated below are hereby withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "the quartz" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Note that claim 19 does not appear to further limit claim 1 if “the quartz” refers to the amount of quartz-containing filler.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakamoto et al. (US 2018/0319129) in view of Izumi et al. (US 2011/0117360).
Regarding claims 1 and 19, Sakamoto discloses a multilayer body with a multilayer structure having a surface layer portion and an inner layer portion, see abstract. Each of the surface layer portion and the inner layer portion contains glass and quartz, which corresponds to a glass ceramic material, see abstract. The glass contained in each of the surface layer portion and inner layer portion contains SiO2, B2O3, and M2O, where M is an alkali metal, see abstract.
The reference fails to disclose that the layers contain a metal oxide selected from the group consisting of MnO, NiO, CuO and ZnO.
Izumi discloses a method of manufacturing a sintered ceramic body mixing a ceramic, a glass material and an additive mixture, see abstract. The reference further discloses the additive oxide includes CuO in order to allow for a lower-temperature sintering [0017]. Additionally, the reference discloses controlling the amount of additive oxide in order to effectively lower the sintering temperature while also preventing a decrease of the mechanical strength [0017].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention for the layer portions of Sakamoto to include CuO as an additive in order to promote lower the sintering temperature while at the same time preventing a decrease in mechanical strength. While the references do not specifically disclose the claimed amount relative to the total claimed amount, wherein the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, absent a showing of criticality. MPEP 2144.05 II.
Regarding claim 2, Sakamoto discloses M2O is one or more of Li2O, K2O and Na2O [0035].
Regarding claims 3 and 4, the reference discloses the SiO2 content is preferably 55% by weight or more and 95% by weight of less, which overlaps the claimed range [0034]; see MPEP 2144.05 I regarding overlapping ranges.
Regarding claim 5, the reference discloses the B2O3 content is preferably 5% by weight or more and 40% by weight or less, which overlaps the claimed range [0037-0038]; see MPEP 2144.05 I.
Regarding claim 6, the reference discloses the M2O content is preferably 0.1% by weight or more and 10% by weight or less, which overlaps the claimed range [0037-0038]; see MPEP 2144.05 I.
Regarding claims 7 and 8, the reference discloses the SiO2 content is preferably 55% by weight or more and 95% by weight of less and the B2O3 content is preferably 5% by weight or more and 40% by weight or less [0034, 0037 & 0038]; see MPEP 2144.05 I regarding overlapping ranges.
Regarding claims 9 and 10, the reference discloses the glass may contain Al2O3 in an amount of preferably 0.1% by weight or more and 5% by weight or less, which overlaps the claimed range [0037-0038]; see MPEP 2144.05 I.
Regarding claim 11, the reference discloses that the thermal expansion coefficient of the quartz is higher than that of the glass [0012].
Regarding claim 12, the reference discloses quartz as the only filler, see abstract and [0047].
Regarding claim 13, the reference discloses the layer portions can includes Al2O3 or ZrO2 [0048].
Regarding claim 14, the reference discloses the glass and quartz contents as within the claimed ranges, see Table 2 and [0043-0045]. Note that a specific example in the prior art which is within the claimed range anticipates the range; see MPEP 2131.03 I.
Regarding claim 15, the reference discloses a multilayer body, which corresponds to a laminate, comprising a stack of multiple glass ceramic layers made of the claimed sintered glass ceramic material, see above discussion, abstract, Figs. 1 and 2 and [0011 & 0029].
Regarding claim 16, the reference discloses the multilayer ceramic substrate has conductor films between glass ceramic layers and on the surface of a glass ceramic layer, see Figs. 1 and 2 and [0029-0031].
Regarding claim 17, Sakamoto in view of Izumi discloses CuO as the metal oxide in the glass ceramic layer, see above discussion. Additionally, Sakamoto discloses the conductor film as copper [0030].
Regarding claim 18, Sakamoto discloses an electronic component including the multilayer body [0016 & 0017].
Regarding claims 20 and 21, the reference discloses specific examples with the amount of glass within the claimed range and with the material excluding CaO, see Tables 1 and 2. Note that a specific example within the claimed range anticipates the claimed range; see MPEP 2131.03 I.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-21 have been considered but are moot in view of a new combination of prior art.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAURA A AUER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1783