DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the laminate" in lines 2 and 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakamoto et al. (US 2018/0319129) in view of Kaneko et al. (US 2011/0214908).
Regarding claim 1, Sakamoto discloses a multilayer body with a multilayer structure having a surface layer portion and an inner layer portion, see abstract. Each of the surface layer portion and the inner layer portion contains glass and quartz, which corresponds to a glass ceramic material, see abstract. The glass contained in each of the surface layer portion and inner layer portion contains SiO2, B2O3, and M2O, where M is an alkali metal, see abstract.
The reference fails to disclose that the layers contain a metal oxide selected from the group consisting of MnO, NiO, CuO and ZnO.
Kaneko discloses a ceramic composition that includes a glass-based composition, see abstract. The reference further discloses that the liquid-phase sintering action of the glass composition is promoted by the addition of Cu oxide as a sintering aid [0015]. While the glass composition itself generates a liquid phase to act as a sintering aid for promoting grain-grain sintering, the increased content of the glass composition makes it difficult, because of its low specific dielectric constant to obtain a ceramic composition with a desired high specific dielectric constant [0056]. However, the addition of Cu oxide and Ca oxide to the glass composition can promote the liquid-phase sintering action of the glass composition [0057]. For that purpose, the Cu oxide needs to be contained at 0.1 weight % or more and to 5.0 weight % [0057-0059].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention for the layer portions of Sakamoto to include CuO in the amount of Kaneko in order to promote liquid-phase sintering and obtain a ceramic composition with a desired high specific dielectric constant. Note that the disclosed range overlaps the claimed ranges and that a prima facie case of obviousness exists where ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”; see MPEP 2144.05 I.
Regarding claim 2, Sakamoto discloses M2O is one or more of Li2O, K2O and Na2O [0035].
Regarding claims 3 and 4, the reference discloses the SiO2 content is preferably 55% by weight or more and 95% by weight of less, which overlaps the claimed range [0034]; see MPEP 2144.05 I regarding overlapping ranges.
Regarding claim 5, the reference discloses the B2O3 content is preferably 5% by weight or more and 40% by weight or less, which overlaps the claimed range [0037-0038]; see MPEP 2144.05 I.
Regarding claim 6, the reference discloses the M2O content is preferably 0.1% by weight or more and 10% by weight or less, which overlaps the claimed range [0037-0038]; see MPEP 2144.05 I.
Regarding claims 7 and 8, the reference discloses the SiO2 content is preferably 55% by weight or more and 95% by weight of less and the B2O3 content is preferably 5% by weight or more and 40% by weight or less [0034, 0037 & 0038]; see MPEP 2144.05 I regarding overlapping ranges.
Regarding claims 9 and 10, the reference discloses the glass may contain Al2O3 in an amount of preferably 0.1% by weight or more and 5% by weight or less, which overlaps the claimed range [0037-0038]; see MPEP 2144.05 I.
Regarding claim 11, the reference discloses that the thermal expansion coefficient of the quartz is higher than that of the glass [0012].
Regarding claim 12, the reference discloses quartz as the only filler, see abstract and [0047].
Regarding claim 13, the reference discloses the layer portions can includes Al2O3 or ZrO2 [0048].
Regarding claim 14, the reference discloses the glass and quartz contents as within the claimed ranges, see Table 2 and [0043-0045]. Note that a specific example in the prior art which is within the claimed range anticipates the range; see MPEP 2131.03 I.
Regarding claim 15, the reference discloses a multilayer body, which corresponds to a laminate, comprising a stack of multiple glass ceramic layers made of the claimed sintered glass ceramic material, see above discussion, abstract, Figs. 1 and 2 and [0011 & 0029].
Regarding claim 16, the reference discloses the multilayer ceramic substrate has conductor films between glass ceramic layers and on the surface of a glass ceramic layer, see Figs. 1 and 2 and [0029-0031].
Regarding claim 17, Sakamoto in view of Kaneko discloses CuO as the metal oxide in the glass ceramic layer, see above discussion. Additionally, Sakamoto discloses the conductor film as copper [0030].
Regarding claim 18, Sakamoto discloses an electronic component including the multilayer body [0016 & 0017].
Conclusion
/LAURA A AUER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1783