DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Request for Continued Examination and Amendments filed 02 October 2026. Claims 1-4, 6-10, 12-16 are pending in this application. Claims 5,11 have been cancelled.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Applicant has amended Claims 1, 7 to remove the language that was previously rejected. Therefore, the previous rejections under 35 USC 112(b) are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a(1) as being anticipated by Lee et. al (Us 2023/0045247 A1) (of record)
Regarding Claim 1, Lee discloses (as shown in Fig. 36B, 135A:C, 136) A MEMS sensor ([0141] Referring now to FIGS. 135B-135D bonding of a MEMS device layer (1400, 3600, and 5200) to a cap layer according to a seventh aspect of the present embodiments are shown.) ([0144] Furthermore, multiple electrodes (sensing electrodes) are formed in the cap layer.), comprising:
a first substrate ([0076] Referring now to FIG. 19, an IMD 212), including a cavity ([0087] In other words, the vapor HF etching using the vias 246 removes a portion of the IMD layer 222 and forms cavities 247 … according to some embodiments.) having a portion exposing a surface of the first substrate (212); (See Fig. 36B, showing portions of the IMD layer 212 exposed in cavity 247 between polysilicon electrodes)
and a second substrate ([0137] substrate 410), bonded to the first substrate (212) to cover the cavity (247), ([0141] Referring now to FIGS. 135B-135D bonding of a MEMS device layer (1400, 3600, and 5200) to a cap layer)
wherein an electrode of a sensor element movably arranged ([0084] Referring now to FIG. 32, actuator layer is etched, i.e., going through the substrate 230 through the IMD 222 layer to reach the polysilicon layer 220, by forming vias 238, using a patterned mask…[0087] Referring now to FIG. 36A, the MEMS device layer 3600 is formed when the actuator layer is released using timed vapor HF etch) in the cavity (247)
and a sealed member ([0085] Referring now to FIG. 34, a bonding layer 244) coupling to the second substrate (410), ([0089] The bonding layer 149 of the cap layer 150 may bond to the bonding layer 244 on the MEMS device layer to bond them together and to form the cavities 142 and 144) (See Fig. 136, showing the bonding layer 244 bonded to the bonding layer 416 of the cap layer)
wherein the electrode and the sealed member (244) are disposed on the first substrate (212), ([0080] Referring now to FIG. 25, an IMD 222 layer is deposited over the polysilicon layer 220 and further on the exposed regions of IMD 216. Once deposited, the IMD 222 layer may go through a ClVIP process and a substrate 2500 is formed…[0083] Referring now to FIG. 31, the substrate 230 is bonded to the substrate 250) ([0085] Referring now to FIG. 34, a bonding layer 244 is deposited on a second side of the substrate 230)
a stop member ([0137] bumpstops 444) restricting a movement of the electrode (230) toward the second substrate (410) ([0005] MEMS layer may utilize a structure such as a bumpstop to prevent the movable components of the MEMS device layer, e.g., proof mass, to contact and damage circuitries underneath it)
and a sealing member ([0140] bonding layer 416) coupling to the sealed member (244), ([0089] The bonding layer 149 of the cap layer 150 may bond to the bonding layer 244 on the MEMS device layer to bond them together and to form the cavities 142 and 144) (See Fig. 136, showing the bonding layer 244 bonded to the bonding layer 416 of the cap layer)
the sealed member (244) is formed by an aluminum (Al) layer on the first substrate (212), ([0085] [0085] Referring now to FIG. 34, a bonding layer 244 is deposited on a second side of the substrate 230 and is subsequently patterned using a patterned mask. The bonding layer 244 may include material such as Al, Ge, AlCu, etc.)
the sealing member ([0085]) is formed by a germanium (Ge) layer on the second substrate (410), (See Fig. 135A, showing the bonding layer 416 formed on the substrate 410) ([0120] In an example, eutectic bond is formed by germanium of bonding layer 416 and aluminum of bonding layer 334.)
a polycrystalline layer ([0137] polysilicon layer 432) is formed on the stop member (444), (See Fig. 135A)
between the second substrate (410) and the germanium layer (416). ([0137] a polysilicon layer 432 is deposited over the IMD 442 layer and further within the vias 446 contacting the substrate 410) (See Fig. 135C, showing the bonding layer 416 is separated from the substrate 410 by vias 446 made from polysilicon)
the polycrystalline layer (432) being in contact with the second substrate (410) ([0137] a polysilicon layer 432 is deposited over the IMD 442 layer and further within the vias 446 contacting the substrate 410) and also in contact with the germanium layer (416). (See Fig. 132B, showing the polysilicon layer 432 in electrical contact with the bonding layer 416 through the tungsten filled via 454)
Regarding Claim 6, Lee further discloses (as shown in Fig. 36B, 92A, 135C, 136) wherein the sensor element (230) is a capacitive acceleration sensor element. ([0107] It is appreciated that in some embodiments, the cavity 428 corresponds to the accelerometer cavity while the first cavity region 424 and the second cavity region 426 that are within a same cavity correspond to the gyro cavity region.)
Claim Interpretation Note: "[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987) (See MPEP 2114)
The limitation “the sensor element is a capacitive acceleration sensor element” defines the way the device is used, and therefore would not differentiate the claimed apparatus from the prior art if the structure was the same but the purpose was lacking.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Alternatively, Claim 1 can be rejected under 35 USC 103 as being obvious in view of Lee et. al (Us 2023/0045257 A1) (of record).
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-9, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et. al (Us 2023/0045257 A1) (of record)
Regarding Claim 1, Lee discloses (as shown in Fig. 36B, 103A-D, 135A:C, 136) A MEMS sensor ([0141] Referring now to FIGS. 135B-135D bonding of a MEMS device layer (1400, 3600, and 5200) to a cap layer according to a seventh aspect of the present embodiments are shown.) ([0144] Furthermore, multiple electrodes (sensing electrodes) are formed in the cap layer.), comprising:
a first substrate ([0076] Referring now to FIG. 19, an IMD 212), including a cavity ([0087] In other words, the vapor HF etching using the vias 246 removes a portion of the IMD layer 222 and forms cavities 247 … according to some embodiments.) having a portion exposing a surface of the first substrate (212); (See Fig. 36B, showing portions of the IMD layer 212 exposed in cavity 247 between polysilicon electrodes)
and a second substrate ([0137] substrate 410), bonded to the first substrate (212) to cover the cavity (247), ([0141] Referring now to FIGS. 135B-135D bonding of a MEMS device layer (1400, 3600, and 5200) to a cap layer)
wherein an electrode of a sensor element movably arranged ([0084] Referring now to FIG. 32, actuator layer is etched, i.e., going through the substrate 230 through the IMD 222 layer to reach the polysilicon layer 220, by forming vias 238, using a patterned mask…[0087] Referring now to FIG. 36A, the MEMS device layer 3600 is formed when the actuator layer is released using timed vapor HF etch) in the cavity (247)
and a sealed member ([0085] Referring now to FIG. 34, a bonding layer 244) coupling to the second substrate (410), ([0089] The bonding layer 149 of the cap layer 150 may bond to the bonding layer 244 on the MEMS device layer to bond them together and to form the cavities 142 and 144) (See Fig. 136, showing the bonding layer 244 bonded to the bonding layer 416 of the cap layer)
wherein the electrode and the sealed member (244) are disposed on the first substrate (212), ([0080] Referring now to FIG. 25, an IMD 222 layer is deposited over the polysilicon layer 220 and further on the exposed regions of IMD 216. Once deposited, the IMD 222 layer may go through a ClVIP process and a substrate 2500 is formed…[0083] Referring now to FIG. 31, the substrate 230 is bonded to the substrate 250) ([0085] Referring now to FIG. 34, a bonding layer 244 is deposited on a second side of the substrate 230)
a stop member ([0137] bumpstops 444) restricting a movement of the electrode (230) toward the second substrate (410) ([0005] MEMS layer may utilize a structure such as a bumpstop to prevent the movable components of the MEMS device layer, e.g., proof mass, to contact and damage circuitries underneath it)
and a sealing member ([0140] bonding layer 416) coupling to the sealed member (244), ([0089] The bonding layer 149 of the cap layer 150 may bond to the bonding layer 244 on the MEMS device layer to bond them together and to form the cavities 142 and 144) (See Fig. 136, showing the bonding layer 244 bonded to the bonding layer 416 of the cap layer)
the sealed member (244) is formed by an aluminum (Al) layer on the first substrate (212), ([0085] [0085] Referring now to FIG. 34, a bonding layer 244 is deposited on a second side of the substrate 230 and is subsequently patterned using a patterned mask. The bonding layer 244 may include material such as Al, Ge, AlCu, etc.)
the sealing member ([0085]) is formed by a germanium (Ge) layer on the second substrate (410), (See Fig. 135A, showing the bonding layer 416 formed on the substrate 410) ([0120] In an example, eutectic bond is formed by germanium of bonding layer 416 and aluminum of bonding layer 334.)
a polycrystalline layer ([0137] polysilicon layer 432) is formed on the stop member (444), (See Fig. 135A)
and between the second substrate (410) and the germanium layer (416), ([0124] a polysilicon layer 432 (similar to polysilicon material as described above) is deposited over the mask 412 and further over the substrate 410.) (See Fig. 103C, showing the bonding layer 416 is separated from the substrate 410 by the polysilicon layer 432)
the polycrystalline layer (432) being in contact with the second substrate (410) and also in contact with the germanium layer (416). (See Fig. 103C, showing polysilicon layer 432 in contact with the substrate 410 and the bonding layer 416)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the embodiments of Lee as shown in Fig. 103C and 135C. Lee teaches the bumpstop may be used to prevent the movable components of the MEMS device from contacting and damaging the circuitry. ([0005] MEMS layer may utilize a structure such as a bumpstop to prevent the movable components of the MEMS device layer, e.g., proof mass, to contact and damage circuitries underneath it) Therefore, it would have been obvious to include a bumpstop, as in Fig. 135C, in the device of Fig. 103C in order to prevent the movable components from contacting and damaging the underlying circuitry.
Regarding Claim 2, Lee further discloses (as shown in Fig. 36B, 92A, 103C, 135C, 136) wherein the second substrate (410) is a silicon substrate, ([0104] . The substrate 410 may be a p-silicon substrate or an n-silicon substrate.)
and the polycrystalline layer (432) is a polycrystalline silicon layer. ([0137] a polysilicon layer 432)
However, Lee does not specify that the silicon substrate 410 is monocrystalline silicon.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have the silicon substrate be monocrystalline silicon. Silicon substrates are well known in the art and are typically monocrystalline silicon. Therefore, it would have been obvious for the silicon substrate 410 to be a monocrystalline substrate.
Regarding Claim 3, Lee further discloses (as shown in Fig. 36B, 92A, 103C, 135C, 136) wherein the sealed member (244) and the sealing member (416) are joined by eutectic bonding between the aluminum layer and the germanium layer. ([0120] In an example, eutectic bond is formed by germanium of bonding layer 416 and aluminum of bonding layer 334.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the embodiments of Lee. Lee discloses that the MEMS Device Layer (3600) is bonded to the cap layer ([0141] Referring now to FIGS. 135B-135D bonding of a MEMS device layer (1400, 3600, and 5200) to a cap layer according to a seventh aspect of the present embodiments are shown.) but does not disclose how they are bonded. Therefore, it would have been obvious to use the bonding method used in prior embodiments, which is eutectic bonding between the bonding layers. ([0120] In an example, eutectic bond is formed by germanium of bonding layer 416 and aluminum of bonding layer 334.)
Regarding Claim 6, Lee further discloses (as shown in Fig. 36B, 92A, 103C, 135C, 136) wherein the sensor element (230) is a capacitive acceleration sensor element. ([0107] It is appreciated that in some embodiments, the cavity 428 corresponds to the accelerometer cavity while the first cavity region 424 and the second cavity region 426 that are within a same cavity correspond to the gyro cavity region.)
Claim Interpretation Note: "[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987) (See MPEP 2114)
The limitation “the sensor element is a capacitive acceleration sensor element” defines the way the device is used, and therefore would not differentiate the claimed apparatus from the prior art if the structure was the same but the purpose was lacking.
Regarding Claim 7, Lee discloses (as shown in Fig. 36B, 39, 103C, 135A:C, 136, 13A-B) A method for manufacturing a MEMS sensor, comprising: ([0091] FIG. 39 shows another method flow for fabricating a MEMS device layer according to another aspect of the present embodiments.) ([0143] FIGS. 137A-137B show a method flow for fabricating a cap layer according to a seventh aspect of the present embodiments.)
forming a cavity ([0087] cavities 247) in which a portion of the cavity (247) exposes a surface of the first substrate ([0076] Referring now to FIG. 19, an IMD 212); ([0087] In other words, the vapor HF etching using the vias 246 removes a portion of the IMD layer 222 and forms cavities 247 … according to some embodiments.)
forming an electrode of a sensor element movably arranged in the cavity (247) on the first substrate; ([0084] Referring now to FIG. 32, actuator layer is etched, i.e., going through the substrate 230 through the IMD 222 layer to reach the polysilicon layer 220, by forming vias 238, using a patterned mask…[0087] Referring now to FIG. 36A, the MEMS device layer 3600 is formed when the actuator layer is released using timed vapor HF etch)
forming a stop member ([0137] bumpstops 444) on a second substrate ([0137] substrate 410) bonded to the first substrate (212) to cover the cavity (247), ([0143] At step 13706, the first mask is patterned to form a patterned first mask to cover a region of the first IMD layer associated with a first bumpstop within a first cavity region and to cover a region of the first IMD layer associated with a second bumpstop within a second cavity region, as described above in FIGS. 122-136. At step 13708, exposed portions of the first IMD layer based on the patterned first mask are etched to form the first bumpstop and the second bumpstop, as described above in FIGS. 122-136) ([0141] Referring now to FIGS. 135B-135D bonding of a MEMS device layer (1400, 3600, and 5200) to a cap layer)
wherein the stop member (444) is for restricting a movement of the electrode (230) toward the second substrate (410); ([0005] MEMS layer may utilize a structure such as a bumpstop to prevent the movable components of the MEMS device layer, e.g., proof mass, to contact and damage circuitries underneath it)
forming an aluminum (Al) layer ([085] bonding layer 244) on the first substrate (210) to form a sealed member bonding to the second substrate (410); ([0085] Referring now to FIG. 34, a bonding layer 244 is deposited on a second side of the substrate 230 and is subsequently patterned using a patterned mask.) ([0120] In an example, eutectic bond is formed by germanium of bonding layer 416 and aluminum of bonding layer 334.)
forming a polycrystalline layer ([0137] polysilicon layer 432) directly on the second substrate (410) (See Fig. 103C, showing the polycrystalline layer 432 is directly on the substrate 410) and on a surface of the stop member (444) facing the electrode; (See Fig. 136, showing the polycrystalline layer 432 on the side of the bumpstop 444 facing the actuator)
forming a germanium (Ge) layer ([0140] bonding layer 416) directly on the polycrystalline layer (432) to form a sealing member bonding to the sealed member (244); ([0089] The bonding layer 149 of the cap layer 150 may bond to the bonding layer 244 on the MEMS device layer to bond them together and to form the cavities 142 and 144) ([0120] In an example, eutectic bond is formed by germanium of bonding layer 416 and aluminum of bonding layer 334.)
such that the polycrystalline layer (432) is in contact with the second substrate (410) and also in contact with the germanium layer (416); (See Fig. 103C, showing the polycrystalline layer 432 in direct contact with the substrate 410 and the bonding layer 416)
and joining the sealing member (416) to the sealed member (244) such that the second substrate (410) is joined to the first substrate (212). ([0089] The bonding layer 149 of the cap layer 150 may bond to the bonding layer 244 on the MEMS device layer to bond them together and to form the cavities 142 and 144) (See Fig. 136, showing the bonding layer 244 bonded to the bonding layer 416 of the cap layer)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the embodiments of Lee as shown in Fig. 103C and 135C. Lee teaches the bumpstop may be used to prevent the movable components of the MEMS device from contacting and damaging the circuitry. ([0005] MEMS layer may utilize a structure such as a bumpstop to prevent the movable components of the MEMS device layer, e.g., proof mass, to contact and damage circuitries underneath it) Therefore, it would have been obvious to include a bumpstop, as in Fig. 135C, in the device of Fig. 103C in order to prevent the movable components from contacting and damaging the underlying circuitry.
Regarding Claim 8, Lee further discloses (as shown in Fig. 36B, 92A, 103C, 135C, 136) wherein the second substrate (410) is a silicon substrate, ([0104] . The substrate 410 may be a p-silicon substrate or an n-silicon substrate.)
and the polycrystalline layer (432) is a polycrystalline silicon layer. ([0137] a polysilicon layer 432)
However, Lee does not specify that the silicon substrate 410 is monocrystalline silicon.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have the silicon substrate be monocrystalline silicon. Silicon substrates are well known in the art and are typically monocrystalline silicon. Therefore, it would have been obvious for the silicon substrate 410 to be a monocrystalline substrate.
Regarding Claim 9, Lee further discloses (as shown in Fig. 36B, 92A, 103C, 135C, 136) wherein the sealed member (244) and the sealing member (416) are joined by eutectic bonding between the aluminum layer and the germanium layer. ([0120] In an example, eutectic bond is formed by germanium of bonding layer 416 and aluminum of bonding layer 334.)
Regarding Claim 12, Lee further discloses (as shown in Fig. 36B, 92A, 103C, 135C, 136) wherein the sensor element (230) is a capacitive acceleration sensor element. ([0107] It is appreciated that in some embodiments, the cavity 428 corresponds to the accelerometer cavity while the first cavity region 424 and the second cavity region 426 that are within a same cavity correspond to the gyro cavity region.)
Claim Interpretation Note: "[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987) (See MPEP 2114)
The limitation “the sensor element is a capacitive acceleration sensor element” defines the way the device is used, and therefore would not differentiate the claimed apparatus from the prior art if the structure was the same but the purpose was lacking.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Crnogorac et. al (“Aluminum-Germanium eutectic bonding for 3D integration“, https://ieeexplore.ieee.org/document/5306531) (of record)
Regarding Claim 4, Lee fails to disclose wherein the germanium (416) is thinner than the aluminum layer (244).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application, based on the disclosure of Crnogorac, to have the second metal layer (416) is thinner than the first metal layer (244). Crnogorac teaches that the thickness of the films is chosen to match the Al-Ge eutectic composition (70 at% Al and 30 at% Ge), which should melt at the eutectic temperature (TE=424∘C) and thus form the bond. (Page 1, Right Column, Section II). Crnogorac further teaches that this leads to the ratio of thickness of the Germanium layer to the thickness of the Aluminum layer is 0.59. (Page 1, Right Column to Page 2, Left Column, Section II, stating “for a 100 nm thick Al film, 59 nm of Ge was deposited on top”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to make the Germanium layer thinner than the Aluminum layer in order to form the bond.
In Lee, a eutectic bond is formed from a first metal layer (244, 334) made of Aluminum and a second metal layer (416) made from Germanium ([0120] In an example, eutectic bond is formed by germanium of bonding layer 416 and aluminum of bonding layer 334.). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the second metal layer (416) made from Germanium to be thinner than the first metal layer (244, 334) made of Aluminum in order to form the eutectic bond.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Crnogorac et. al (“Aluminum-Germanium eutectic bonding for 3D integration“, https://ieeexplore.ieee.org/document/5306531) (of record)
Regarding Claim 10, Lee fails to disclose wherein the germanium layer (416) is thinner than the aluminum layer (244).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application, based on the disclosure of Crnogorac, to have the second metal layer (416) is thinner than the first metal layer (244). Crnogorac teaches that the thickness of the films is chosen to match the Al-Ge eutectic composition (70 at% Al and 30 at% Ge), which should melt at the eutectic temperature (TE=424∘C) and thus form the bond. (Page 1, Right Column, Section II) Crnogorac further teaches that this leads to the ratio of thickness of the Germanium layer to the thickness of the Aluminum layer is 0.59. (Page 1, Right Column to Page 2, Left Column, Section II, stating “for a 100 nm thick Al film, 59 nm of Ge was deposited on top”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to make the Germanium layer thinner than the Aluminum layer in order to form the bond.
In Lee, a eutectic bond is formed from a first metal layer (244, 334) made of Aluminum and a second metal layer (416) made from Germanium ([0120] In an example, eutectic bond is formed by germanium of bonding layer 416 and aluminum of bonding layer 334.). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the second metal layer (416) made from Germanium to be thinner than the first metal layer (244, 334) made of Aluminum in order to form the eutectic bond.
Claim(s) 13, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Fournel et. al (FR 3083467 A1) (of record).
Regarding Claim 13, Lee fails to disclose an Al oxide film disposed between the sealed member and the sealing member.
However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application for an Al oxide film to be formed between the sealed member and the sealing member based on the teachings of Fournel. Fournel teaches that when the two elements of the eutectic allow are deposited separately, the presence of native oxides are implied. ([006-007] According to a third architecture, illustrated in figure 3, the two elements of the eutectic alloy are deposited separately, each on one of the surfaces 1a, 2a of the parts 1, 2 to be assembled… However, this configuration implies the presence of native oxides of the constituent elements of the eutectic alloy at the 5th level of the interface between these elements, which can block the melting of the alloy. In the case of Al-Ge sealants, the presence of native aluminum oxide blocks the seal.) Since the bonding layers 244, 416 are formed on separate pieces in Lee, it would imply the presence of native oxides, specifically Al oxide in the case of Al-Ge bonding layers.
Claim(s) 14, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Fournel et. al (FR 3083467 A1) (of record).
Regarding Claim 14, Lee fails to disclose forming an Al oxide film disposed between the sealed member and the sealing member.
However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application for an Al oxide film to be formed between the sealed member and the sealing member based on the teachings of Fournel. Fournel teaches that when the two elements of the eutectic allow are deposited separately, the presence of native oxides are implied. ([006-007] According to a third architecture, illustrated in figure 3, the two elements of the eutectic alloy are deposited separately, each on one of the surfaces 1a, 2a of the parts 1, 2 to be assembled… However, this configuration implies the presence of native oxides of the constituent elements of the eutectic alloy at the 5th level of the interface between these elements, which can block the melting of the alloy. In the case of Al-Ge sealants, the presence of native aluminum oxide blocks the seal.) Since the bonding layers 244, 416 are formed on separate pieces in Lee, it would imply the presence of native oxides, specifically Al oxide in the case of Al-Ge bonding layers.
Claim(s) 15, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Cheng et. al (US 2016/0332863 A1) (newly cited)
Regarding Claim 15, Lee fails to disclose wherein the polycrystalline layer has an arithmetic mean surface roughness (Sa) of between 10 nm and 20 nm,
the arithmetic mean surface roughness of the polycrystalline layer being greater than an arithmetic mean surface roughness of a surface of the first substrate facing the sealed member.
Cheng discloses wherein the polycrystalline layer ([0014] a bottom surface 128s of the device substrate 104 is coated by an anti-stiction layer 127 made of polycrystalline silicon.) has an arithmetic mean surface roughness (Sa) of between 10 nm and 20 nm ([0015] the rough surface 118s of anti-stiction layer 127 has a root mean square (RMS) surface roughness in a range of from about 10 nm to about 30 nm)
Lee does teach that the surface roughness of the polycrystalline layer (432) serves to reduce stiction. ([0133] Referring now to FIG. 115, a polysilicon layer 432 is deposited over the mask 412 and the IMD 442 layer. Polysilicon deposition improves stiction due to the roughness of the polysilicon surface) However, Lee does not teach the thickness of the polycrystalline layer (432).
Cheng teaches that a stiction layer having a surface roughness reduces contact area between the proof mass and the CMOS substrate, thereby reducing stiction. ([0015] The small scale lattice structure of polycrystalline silicon introduces a rough surface 118s, which has a series of peaks (e.g., 131) and valleys (e.g., 133), that reduces contact area between the proof mass 108 and the CMOS substrate 106. Thus, stiction force between the proof mass 108 and the CMOS substrate 106 is decreased and the possibility of stiction between lower surface of the proof mass 108 and an upper surface 120s of the CMOS substrate 106 is reduced.) Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have the polycrystalline anti-stiction layer in Lee have an RMS surface roughness like the polycrystalline anti-stiction layer in Cheng in order to effectively reduce stiction.
However, Cheng fails to disclose the arithmetic mean surface roughness of the polycrystalline layer being greater than an arithmetic mean surface roughness of a surface of the first substrate facing the sealed member.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have the arithmetic mean surface roughness of the polycrystalline layer being greater than an arithmetic mean surface roughness of a surface of the first substrate facing the sealed member. Lee teaches that the polycrystalline layer is deposited to provide roughness in order to increase stiction. ([0056] It is appreciated that the polysilicon layer 112 provide roughness the is advantages to improve stiction. Moreover, polysilicon may form one or more electrodes, thereby reducing hillock effects.) Therefore it would have been obvious for the polysilicon layer to have a greater surface roughness than the underlying substrate since the polysilicon layer is providing the surface roughness.
Furthermore, silicon wafers tend to have a small surface roughness (typically <1nm). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the silicon substrate to have a smaller surface roughness than the roughness of the polycrystalline layer described by Cheng.
Claim(s) 16, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Cheng et. al (US 2016/0332863 A1) (newly cited)
Regarding Claim 16, Lee fails to disclose wherein the polycrystalline layer is formed to have an arithmetic mean surface roughness (Sa) of between 10 nm and 20 nm,
the arithmetic mean surface roughness of the polycrystalline layer being greater than an arithmetic mean surface roughness of a surface of the first substrate facing the sealed member.
Cheng discloses wherein the polycrystalline layer ([0014] a bottom surface 128s of the device substrate 104 is coated by an anti-stiction layer 127 made of polycrystalline silicon.) is formed to have an arithmetic mean surface roughness (Sa) of between 10 nm and 20 nm ([0015] the rough surface 118s of anti-stiction layer 127 has a root mean square (RMS) surface roughness in a range of from about 10 nm to about 30 nm)
Lee does teach that the surface roughness of the polycrystalline layer (432) serves to reduce stiction. ([0133] Referring now to FIG. 115, a polysilicon layer 432 is deposited over the mask 412 and the IMD 442 layer. Polysilicon deposition improves stiction due to the roughness of the polysilicon surface) However, Lee does not teach the thickness of the polycrystalline layer (432).
Cheng teaches that a stiction layer having a surface roughness reduces contact area between the proof mass and the CMOS substrate, thereby reducing stiction. ([0015] The small scale lattice structure of polycrystalline silicon introduces a rough surface 118s, which has a series of peaks (e.g., 131) and valleys (e.g., 133), that reduces contact area between the proof mass 108 and the CMOS substrate 106. Thus, stiction force between the proof mass 108 and the CMOS substrate 106 is decreased and the possibility of stiction between lower surface of the proof mass 108 and an upper surface 120s of the CMOS substrate 106 is reduced.) Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have the polycrystalline anti-stiction layer in Lee have an RMS surface roughness like the polycrystalline anti-stiction layer in Cheng in order to effectively reduce stiction.
However, Cheng fails to disclose the arithmetic mean surface roughness of the polycrystalline layer being greater than an arithmetic mean surface roughness of a surface of the first substrate facing the sealed member.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have the arithmetic mean surface roughness of the polycrystalline layer being greater than an arithmetic mean surface roughness of a surface of the first substrate facing the sealed member. Lee teaches that the polycrystalline layer is deposited to provide roughness in order to increase stiction. ([0056] It is appreciated that the polysilicon layer 112 provide roughness the is advantages to improve stiction. Moreover, polysilicon may form one or more electrodes, thereby reducing hillock effects.) Therefore it would have been obvious for the polysilicon layer to have a greater surface roughness than the underlying substrate since the polysilicon layer is providing the surface roughness.
Furthermore, silicon wafers tend to have a small surface roughness (typically <1 nm). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application for the silicon substrate to have a smaller surface roughness than the roughness of the polycrystalline layer described by Cheng (10-20 nm).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 7 have been considered but are moot because of the new grounds of rejection provided above.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7-9 of Applicant’s Remarks, filed 02 October 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 7 under 35 USC 102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are partially persuasive. Therefore, the previous rejection of Claim 7 has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Lee et. al (US 2023/0045257 A1) (of record).
Applicant is correct that the embodiment in Lee (Figs. 135A-136) that is relied on in the Final rejection does not disclose that the polysilicon layer 432 is in direct contact with the germanium layer (bonding layer 416), but is instead connected through a via. However, other embodiment in Lee (Figs. 101-103D) do show this and other newly claimed features. By combining embodiments in Lee, it would be obvious to create a device or process with all the claimed limitations.
However, Applicant’s argument is not represented properly in the amended Claim 1. Applicant claims: “the polycrystalline layer being in contact with the second substrate and also in contact with the germanium layer”. This limitation does not require either direct contact or physical contact. Therefore, under BRI this could be interpreted as any form of contact, such as electrical contact. The polycrystalline layer is in electrical contact with the germanium layer, through a tungsten filled via. Therefore, while Applicant’s arguments are persuasive to overcome the previous grounds of rejection, Applicant’s amended Claim 1 does not reflect the argument properly and can still be rejected under 35 USC 102(a)(1) in view of Lee et. al (Us 2023/0045257 A1) (of record).
Therefore, amended Claim 1 has been rejected under 35 USC 102a(1). Claim 1 also has a new ground of rejection embodying the Applicant’s claim as argued for completeness.
Claim 7 does properly incorporate the Applicant’s argument since it requires “forming a germanium (Ge) layer directly on the polycrystalline layer”. Therefore, only a new rejection based on the combination of embodiments in Lee has been provided.
Applicant is incorrect in their argument (on page 8) that Lee does not have another embodiment in which the polysilicon layer is not in direct contact with the substrate. As shown in the new grounds of rejection, the embodiment shown in Figs. 101-103D does show that the polysilicon layer 432 is in contact with the substrate 410. Therefore, by combining the embodiments in Lee, a new ground of rejection for Claim 7 has been provided.
Conclusion
/JASON JAMES GREAVING/ Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/Britt Hanley/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893