DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Application filed 08 September 2023. Claims 1-12 are pending in this application.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Note: Priority has yet to be perfected.
Drawings
Figure 12 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 1, Claim 1 is rejected because Claim 1 recites a “second metal layer”, however the second metal layer is not necessarily made of a metal. Dependent Claim 5 claims that the second metal layer is germanium, which is a semiconductor. It is therefore unclear what materials covered by the term “second metal layer”. For examination purposes, this limitation will be interpreted as if metal includes metalloids.
Regarding Claims 2-6, Claims 2-6 depend from Claim 1 and are rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding Claim 7, Claim 7 is rejected because Claim 7 recites a “second metal layer”, however the second metal layer is not necessarily made of a metal. Dependent Claim 11 claims that the second metal layer is germanium, which is a semiconductor. It is therefore unclear what materials covered by the term “second metal layer”. For examination purposes, this limitation will be interpreted as if metal includes metalloids.
Regarding Claim 7, Claim 7 is also rejected for a lack of antecedent basis. Claim 7 claims in lines 2-3 “exposes a surface of the first substrate”. This is the first mention of a first substrate in Claim 7. Therefore, the claim will be interpreted as reciting “exposes a surface of a first substrate”.
Regarding Claims 8-12, Claims 8-12 depend from Claim 7 and are rejected for the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5-7, 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a(1) as being anticipated by Lee et. al (Us 2023/0045247 A1)
Regarding Claim 1, Lee discloses (as shown in Fig. 36B, 135A:C, 136) A MEMS sensor ([0141] Referring now to FIGS. 135B-135D bonding of a MEMS device layer (1400, 3600, and 5200) to a cap layer according to a seventh aspect of the present embodiments are shown.) ([0144] Furthermore, multiple electrodes (sensing electrodes) are formed in the cap layer.), comprising:
a first substrate ([0076] Referring now to FIG. 19, an IMD 212), including a cavity ([0087] In other words, the vapor HF etching using the vias 246 removes a portion of the IMD layer 222 and forms cavities 247 … according to some embodiments.) having a portion exposing a surface of the first substrate (212); (See Fig. 36B, showing portions of the IMD layer 212 exposed in cavity 247 between polysilicon electrodes)
and a second substrate ([0137] substrate 410), bonded to the first substrate (212) to cover the cavity (247), ([0141] Referring now to FIGS. 135B-135D bonding of a MEMS device layer (1400, 3600, and 5200) to a cap layer)
wherein an electrode of a sensor element movably arranged ([0084] Referring now to FIG. 32, actuator layer is etched, i.e., going through the substrate 230 through the IMD 222 layer to reach the polysilicon layer 220, by forming vias 238, using a patterned mask…[0087] Referring now to FIG. 36A, the MEMS device layer 3600 is formed when the actuator layer is released using timed vapor HF etch) in the cavity (247)
and a sealed member ([0085] Referring now to FIG. 34, a bonding layer 244) coupling to the second substrate (410), ([0089] The bonding layer 149 of the cap layer 150 may bond to the bonding layer 244 on the MEMS device layer to bond them together and to form the cavities 142 and 144) (See Fig. 136, showing the bonding layer 244 bonded to the bonding layer 416 of the cap layer)
wherein the electrode and the sealed member (244) are disposed on the first substrate (212), ([0080] Referring now to FIG. 25, an IMD 222 layer is deposited over the polysilicon layer 220 and further on the exposed regions of IMD 216. Once deposited, the IMD 222 layer may go through a ClVIP process and a substrate 2500 is formed…[0083] Referring now to FIG. 31, the substrate 230 is bonded to the substrate 250) ([0085] Referring now to FIG. 34, a bonding layer 244 is deposited on a second side of the substrate 230)
a stop member ([0137] bumpstops 444) restricting a movement of the electrode (230) toward the second substrate (410) ([0005] MEMS layer may utilize a structure such as a bumpstop to prevent the movable components of the MEMS device layer, e.g., proof mass, to contact and damage circuitries underneath it)
and a sealing member ([0140] bonding layer 416) coupling to the sealed member (244), ([0089] The bonding layer 149 of the cap layer 150 may bond to the bonding layer 244 on the MEMS device layer to bond them together and to form the cavities 142 and 144) (See Fig. 136, showing the bonding layer 244 bonded to the bonding layer 416 of the cap layer)
the sealed member (244) is formed by a first metal layer on the first substrate (212), ([0085] [0085] Referring now to FIG. 34, a bonding layer 244 is deposited on a second side of the substrate 230 and is subsequently patterned using a patterned mask. The bonding layer 244 may include material such as Al, Ge, AlCu, etc.)
the sealing member ([0085]) is formed by a second metal layer on the second substrate (410), (See Fig. 135A, showing the bonding layer 416 formed on the substrate 410) ([0120] In an example, eutectic bond is formed by germanium of bonding layer 416 and aluminum of bonding layer 334.)
and a polycrystalline layer ([0137] polysilicon layer 432) is formed on the stop member (444), (See Fig. 135A)
and the polycrystalline layer (432) is formed between the second substrate (410) and the second metal layer (416). ([0137] a polysilicon layer 432 is deposited over the IMD 442 layer and further within the vias 446 contacting the substrate 410) (See Fig. 135C, showing the bonding layer 416 is separated from the substrate 410 by vias 446 made from polysilicon)
Regarding Claim 5, Lee further discloses (as shown in Fig. 36B, 92A, 135C, 136) wherein the first metal layer (244) is an aluminum (Al) layer, and the second metal layer (416) is a germanium (Ge) layer. ([0120] In an example, eutectic bond is formed by germanium of bonding layer 416 and aluminum of bonding layer 334.)
Regarding Claim 6, Lee further discloses (as shown in Fig. 36B, 92A, 135C, 136) wherein the sensor element (230) is a capacitive acceleration sensor element. ([0107] It is appreciated that in some embodiments, the cavity 428 corresponds to the accelerometer cavity while the first cavity region 424 and the second cavity region 426 that are within a same cavity correspond to the gyro cavity region.)
Claim Interpretation Note: "[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987) (See MPEP 2114)
The limitation “the sensor element is a capacitive acceleration sensor element” defines the way the device is used, and therefore would not differentiate the claimed apparatus from the prior art if the structure was the same but the purpose was lacking.
Regarding Claim 7, Lee discloses (as shown in Fig. 36B, 39, 135A:C, 136, 13A-B) A method for manufacturing a MEMS sensor, comprising: ([0091] FIG. 39 shows another method flow for fabricating a MEMS device layer according to another aspect of the present embodiments.) ([0143] FIGS. 137A-137B show a method flow for fabricating a cap layer according to a seventh aspect of the present embodiments.)
forming a cavity ([0087] cavities 247) in which a portion of the cavity (247) exposes a surface of the first substrate ([0076] Referring now to FIG. 19, an IMD 212); ([0087] In other words, the vapor HF etching using the vias 246 removes a portion of the IMD layer 222 and forms cavities 247 … according to some embodiments.)
forming an electrode of a sensor element movably arranged in the cavity (247) on the first substrate; ([0084] Referring now to FIG. 32, actuator layer is etched, i.e., going through the substrate 230 through the IMD 222 layer to reach the polysilicon layer 220, by forming vias 238, using a patterned mask…[0087] Referring now to FIG. 36A, the MEMS device layer 3600 is formed when the actuator layer is released using timed vapor HF etch)
forming a stop member ([0137] bumpstops 444) on a second substrate ([0137] substrate 410) bonded to the first substrate (212) to cover the cavity (247), ([0143] At step 13706, the first mask is patterned to form a patterned first mask to cover a region of the first IMD layer associated with a first bumpstop within a first cavity region and to cover a region of the first IMD layer associated with a second bumpstop within a second cavity region, as described above in FIGS. 122-136. At step 13708, exposed portions of the first IMD layer based on the patterned first mask are etched to form the first bumpstop and the second bumpstop, as described above in FIGS. 122-136) ([0141] Referring now to FIGS. 135B-135D bonding of a MEMS device layer (1400, 3600, and 5200) to a cap layer)
wherein the stop member (444) is for restricting a movement of the electrode (230) toward the second substrate (410); ([0005] MEMS layer may utilize a structure such as a bumpstop to prevent the movable components of the MEMS device layer, e.g., proof mass, to contact and damage circuitries underneath it)
forming a first metal layer ([085] bonding layer 244) on the first substrate (210) to form a sealed member bonding to the second substrate (410); ([0085] Referring now to FIG. 34, a bonding layer 244 is deposited on a second side of the substrate 230 and is subsequently patterned using a patterned mask.) ([0120] In an example, eutectic bond is formed by germanium of bonding layer 416 and aluminum of bonding layer 334.)
forming a second metal layer ([0140] bonding layer 416) on the second substrate (410) to form a sealing member bonding to the sealed member (244); ([0089] The bonding layer 149 of the cap layer 150 may bond to the bonding layer 244 on the MEMS device layer to bond them together and to form the cavities 142 and 144)
forming a polycrystalline layer ([0137] polysilicon layer 432) on the stop member (444) (See Fig. 135A)
and between the second substrate (410) and the second metal layer (416); ([0089] The bonding layer 149 of the cap layer 150 may bond to the bonding layer 244 on the MEMS device layer to bond them together and to form the cavities 142 and 144) (See Fig. 136, showing the bonding layer 244 bonded to the bonding layer 416 of the cap layer)
and joining the sealing member (416) to the sealed member (244) such that the second substrate (410) is joined to the first substrate (212). ([0089] The bonding layer 149 of the cap layer 150 may bond to the bonding layer 244 on the MEMS device layer to bond them together and to form the cavities 142 and 144) (See Fig. 136, showing the bonding layer 244 bonded to the bonding layer 416 of the cap layer)
Regarding Claim 11, Lee further discloses (as shown in Fig. 36B, 92A, 135C, 136) wherein the first metal layer (244) is an aluminum (Al) layer, and the second metal layer (416) is a germanium (Ge) layer. ([0120] In an example, eutectic bond is formed by germanium of bonding layer 416 and aluminum of bonding layer 334.)
Regarding Claim 12, Lee further discloses (as shown in Fig. 36B, 92A, 135C, 136) wherein the sensor element (230) is a capacitive acceleration sensor element. ([0107] It is appreciated that in some embodiments, the cavity 428 corresponds to the accelerometer cavity while the first cavity region 424 and the second cavity region 426 that are within a same cavity correspond to the gyro cavity region.)
Claim Interpretation Note: "[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987) (See MPEP 2114)
The limitation “the sensor element is a capacitive acceleration sensor element” defines the way the device is used, and therefore would not differentiate the claimed apparatus from the prior art if the structure was the same but the purpose was lacking.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding Claim 2, Lee further discloses (as shown in Fig. 36B, 92A, 135C, 136) wherein the second substrate (410) is a silicon substrate, ([0104] . The substrate 410 may be a p-silicon substrate or an n-silicon substrate.)
and the polycrystalline layer (432) is a polycrystalline silicon layer. ([0137] a polysilicon layer 432)
However, Lee does not specify that the silicon substrate 410 is monocrystalline silicon.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have the silicon substrate be monocrystalline silicon. Silicon substrates are well known in the art and are typically monocrystalline silicon. Therefore, it would have been obvious for the silicon substrate 410 to be a monocrystalline substrate.
Regarding Claim 3, Lee further discloses (as shown in Fig. 36B, 92A, 135C, 136) wherein the sealed member (244) and the sealing member (416) are joined by eutectic bonding between the first metal layer and the second metal layer. ([0120] In an example, eutectic bond is formed by germanium of bonding layer 416 and aluminum of bonding layer 334.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the embodiments of Lee. Lee discloses that the MEMS Device Layer (3600) is bonded to the cap layer ([0141] Referring now to FIGS. 135B-135D bonding of a MEMS device layer (1400, 3600, and 5200) to a cap layer according to a seventh aspect of the present embodiments are shown.) but does not disclose how they are bonded. Therefore, it would have been obvious to use the bonding method used in prior embodiments, which is eutectic bonding between the bonding layers. ([0120] In an example, eutectic bond is formed by germanium of bonding layer 416 and aluminum of bonding layer 334.)
Claim(s) 8-9, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee as applied to claim 7 above.
Regarding Claim 8, Lee further discloses (as shown in Fig. 36B, 92A, 135C, 136) wherein the second substrate (410) is a silicon substrate, ([0104] . The substrate 410 may be a p-silicon substrate or an n-silicon substrate.)
and the polycrystalline layer (432) is a polycrystalline silicon layer. ([0137] a polysilicon layer 432)
However, Lee does not specify that the silicon substrate 410 is monocrystalline silicon.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have the silicon substrate be monocrystalline silicon. Silicon substrates are well known in the art and are typically monocrystalline silicon. Therefore, it would have been obvious for the silicon substrate 410 to be a monocrystalline substrate.
Regarding Claim 9, Lee further discloses (as shown in Fig. 36B, 92A, 135C, 136) wherein the sealed member (244) and the sealing member (416) are joined by eutectic bonding between the first metal layer and the second metal layer. ([0120] In an example, eutectic bond is formed by germanium of bonding layer 416 and aluminum of bonding layer 334.)
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Crnogorac et. al (“Aluminum-Germanium eutectic bonding for 3D integration“, https://ieeexplore.ieee.org/document/5306531)
Regarding Claim 4, Lee fails to disclose wherein the second metal layer (416) is thinner than the first metal layer (244).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application, based on the disclosure of Crnogorac, to have the second metal layer (416) is thinner than the first metal layer (244). Crnogorac teaches that the thickness of the films is chosen to match the Al-Ge eutectic composition (70 at% Al and 30 at% Ge), which should melt at the eutectic temperature (TE=424∘C) and thus form the bond. () Crnogorac further teaches that this leads to the ratio of thickness of the Germanium layer to the thickness of the Aluminum layer is 0.59. () Therefore, it would have been obvious to make the Germanium layer thinner than the Aluminum layer in order to form the bond.
In Lee, a eutectic bond is formed from a first metal layer (244, 334) made of Aluminum and a second metal layer (416) made from Germanium ([0120] In an example, eutectic bond is formed by germanium of bonding layer 416 and aluminum of bonding layer 334.). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the second metal layer (416) made from Germanium to be thinner than the first metal layer (244, 334) made of Aluminum in order to form the eutectic bond.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Crnogorac et. al (“Aluminum-Germanium eutectic bonding for 3D integration“, https://ieeexplore.ieee.org/document/5306531)
Regarding Claim 10, Lee fails to disclose wherein the second metal layer (416) is thinner than the first metal layer (244).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application, based on the disclosure of Crnogorac, to have the second metal layer (416) is thinner than the first metal layer (244). Crnogorac teaches that the thickness of the films is chosen to match the Al-Ge eutectic composition (70 at% Al and 30 at% Ge), which should melt at the eutectic temperature (TE=424∘C) and thus form the bond. () Crnogorac further teaches that this leads to the ratio of thickness of the Germanium layer to the thickness of the Aluminum layer is 0.59. () Therefore, it would have been obvious to make the Germanium layer thinner than the Aluminum layer in order to form the bond.
In Lee, a eutectic bond is formed from a first metal layer (244, 334) made of Aluminum and a second metal layer (416) made from Germanium ([0120] In an example, eutectic bond is formed by germanium of bonding layer 416 and aluminum of bonding layer 334.). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the second metal layer (416) made from Germanium to be thinner than the first metal layer (244, 334) made of Aluminum in order to form the eutectic bond.
Citation of Other Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Adams et. al (US 2012/0205753 A1)
Regarding Claim 1, Adams disclose (as shown in Fig. 20, 23) A MEMS sensor ([0027] MEMS devices 100), comprising:
a first substrate ([0028] substrate 120), including a cavity ([0049] The release etch can create a cavity 280) having a portion exposing a surface of the first substrate (280); ([0049] The release etch can create a cavity 280 that separates beams 106, 107, and 108 from a floor 282 of the substrate 120) (See Fig. 20)
and a second substrate ([0053] lid 300), bonded to the first substrate (120) to cover the cavity (280), ([0054] Lid 300 can be bonded with the substrate 102)
wherein an electrode ([0049] beams 106, 108, and 109) of a sensor element ([0055] Beams having a dielectric coating on top are useful for devices needing bowed beams, such as those described in U.S. Pat. No. 7,430,909, for enabling out-of-plane capacitive sensors. Beams comprising only silicon are useful for inertial sensors having surfaces that will impact and potentially charge if made or coated with a dielectric material.) movably arranged in the cavity (280) ([0049] thereby allowing beams 106, 107, and 108 to flex or move during operation of MEMS device 100)
and a sealed member ([0042] As shown in FIGS. 12 and 13, second metal layer 210 can be patterned and etched. In one embodiment, … a metal seal ring surface 103 can be formed) coupling to the second substrate (300), (See Fig. 23, showing the substrate 120 and the lid 300 bonded together through the metal seal ring surface 103)
wherein the electrode (106, 108, 109) and the sealed member (103) are disposed on the first substrate (120), (See Fig. 22)
a stop member ([0053] bump stop 304) restricting a movement of the electrode (106, 108, 109) toward the second substrate (120) ([0053] Lid 300 can also have a bump stop 304 that prevents over flexing of one or more beams, for example, beam 108.)
and a sealing member ([0053] Lid 300 can include a metal seal region 305) coupling to the sealed member (103), (See Fig. 23, showing the substrate 120 and the lid 300 bonded together through the metal seal ring surface 103, the glass frit 310, and the metal seal region 305)
the sealed member (103) is formed by a first metal layer on the first substrate (120), ([0041] Next, a second metal layer 210 can be formed on the substrate 102 as shown in FIG. 13... [0042] As shown in FIGS. 12 and 13, second metal layer 210 can be patterned and etched. In one embodiment, a metal bond pad 101 and a metal seal ring surface 103 can be formed.)
the sealing member (305) is formed by a second metal layer on the second substrate (300), ([0053] In an embodiment, metal seal region 305 can be, for example, aluminum deposited at 7,000 A.)
However, Adams fails to disclose
a polycrystalline layer is formed on the stop member (304),
and the polycrystalline layer is formed between the second substrate (300) and the second metal layer (305).
Lee discloses (as shown in Fig. 36B, 135A:C, 136) a polycrystalline layer ([0137] polysilicon layer 432) is formed on the stop member (444), (See Fig. 135A)
and the polycrystalline layer (432) is formed between the second substrate (410) and the second metal layer (416). ([0137] a polysilicon layer 432 is deposited over the IMD 442 layer and further within the vias 446 contacting the substrate 410) (See Fig. 135C, showing the bonding layer 416 is separated from the substrate 410 by vias 446 made from polysilicon)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present application to combine the teachings of Adams and Lee to have a polysilicon layer formed on the stop member. Lee teaches that forming a polysilicon layer on the bumpstops can improve stiction. ([0087] the side walls by the IMD 222 layer and the bottom by the bumpstops 218 that are covered with polysilicon layer, thereby improving stiction) Therefore, it would have been obvious to have polysilicon on the stop member in order to reduce stiction.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present application to combine the teachings of Adams and Lee to have the polysilicon layer between the second substrate and the second metal layer. Lee teaches that the patterned polysilicon layers can by used to route electrical signal paths, such as acting as shielding electrodes. ([0141] The patterned polysilicon layers 432 may be routed to multiple electrical signal paths due to the underlying IMD layer and may serve as sensing, shield, and actuating electrodes.)
Conclusion
/J.J.G./Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/SUE A PURVIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893