DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Amendments filed 08 May 2026. Claims 1-4, 6-10, 12-14 are pending in this application. Claims 5, 11 have been cancelled.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Drawings
Applicant’s amended drawings address the previous drawing objection. Therefore, the drawing objection is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Applicant’s amendments address the previous 112b rejections. Therefore, the previous 112b rejections are withdrawn.
Claim 1-4, 6-10, 12-14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 1, it is unclear what is meant by “a surface of the stop member opposite to the electrode” (Claim 1 Line 13). As shown in Fig. 11, the electrode 13 is formed in the cavity. Therefore, it is unclear what would constitute being opposite to the interior of the cavity.
Regarding Claims 2-4, 6, 13, Claims 2-4, 6, 13 depend from Claim 1 and are rejected for the same reasons.
For purposes of examination, “a surface of the stop member opposite to the electrode” is interpreted to mean a surface of the stop member facing the electrode.
Regarding Claim 7, it is unclear what is meant by “a surface of the stop member opposite to the electrode” (Claim 1 Line 13). As shown in Fig. 11, the electrode 13 is formed in the cavity. Therefore, it is unclear what would constitute being opposite to the interior of the cavity.
Regarding Claims 8-10, 12, 14, Claims 8-10, 12, 14 depend from Claim 7 and are rejected for the same reasons.
For purposes of examination, “a surface of the stop member opposite to the electrode” is interpreted to mean a surface of the stop member facing the electrode.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6, 7, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a(1) as being anticipated by Lee et. al (Us 2023/0045247 A1) (of record)
Regarding Claim 1, Lee discloses (as shown in Fig. 36B, 135A:C, 136) A MEMS sensor ([0141] Referring now to FIGS. 135B-135D bonding of a MEMS device layer (1400, 3600, and 5200) to a cap layer according to a seventh aspect of the present embodiments are shown.) ([0144] Furthermore, multiple electrodes (sensing electrodes) are formed in the cap layer.), comprising:
a first substrate ([0076] Referring now to FIG. 19, an IMD 212), including a cavity ([0087] In other words, the vapor HF etching using the vias 246 removes a portion of the IMD layer 222 and forms cavities 247 … according to some embodiments.) having a portion exposing a surface of the first substrate (212); (See Fig. 36B, showing portions of the IMD layer 212 exposed in cavity 247 between polysilicon electrodes)
and a second substrate ([0137] substrate 410), bonded to the first substrate (212) to cover the cavity (247), ([0141] Referring now to FIGS. 135B-135D bonding of a MEMS device layer (1400, 3600, and 5200) to a cap layer)
wherein an electrode of a sensor element movably arranged ([0084] Referring now to FIG. 32, actuator layer is etched, i.e., going through the substrate 230 through the IMD 222 layer to reach the polysilicon layer 220, by forming vias 238, using a patterned mask…[0087] Referring now to FIG. 36A, the MEMS device layer 3600 is formed when the actuator layer is released using timed vapor HF etch) in the cavity (247)
and a sealed member ([0085] Referring now to FIG. 34, a bonding layer 244) coupling to the second substrate (410), ([0089] The bonding layer 149 of the cap layer 150 may bond to the bonding layer 244 on the MEMS device layer to bond them together and to form the cavities 142 and 144) (See Fig. 136, showing the bonding layer 244 bonded to the bonding layer 416 of the cap layer)
wherein the electrode and the sealed member (244) are disposed on the first substrate (212), ([0080] Referring now to FIG. 25, an IMD 222 layer is deposited over the polysilicon layer 220 and further on the exposed regions of IMD 216. Once deposited, the IMD 222 layer may go through a ClVIP process and a substrate 2500 is formed…[0083] Referring now to FIG. 31, the substrate 230 is bonded to the substrate 250) ([0085] Referring now to FIG. 34, a bonding layer 244 is deposited on a second side of the substrate 230)
a stop member ([0137] bumpstops 444) restricting a movement of the electrode (230) toward the second substrate (410) ([0005] MEMS layer may utilize a structure such as a bumpstop to prevent the movable components of the MEMS device layer, e.g., proof mass, to contact and damage circuitries underneath it)
and a sealing member ([0140] bonding layer 416) coupling to the sealed member (244), ([0089] The bonding layer 149 of the cap layer 150 may bond to the bonding layer 244 on the MEMS device layer to bond them together and to form the cavities 142 and 144) (See Fig. 136, showing the bonding layer 244 bonded to the bonding layer 416 of the cap layer)
the sealed member (244) is formed by an aluminum (Al) layer on the first substrate (212), ([0085] [0085] Referring now to FIG. 34, a bonding layer 244 is deposited on a second side of the substrate 230 and is subsequently patterned using a patterned mask. The bonding layer 244 may include material such as Al, Ge, AlCu, etc.)
the sealing member ([0085]) is formed by a germanium (Ge) layer on the second substrate (410), (See Fig. 135A, showing the bonding layer 416 formed on the substrate 410) ([0120] In an example, eutectic bond is formed by germanium of bonding layer 416 and aluminum of bonding layer 334.)
a polycrystalline layer ([0137] polysilicon layer 432) is formed on a surface of the stop member (444) opposite to the electrode, (See Fig. 135A)
and the polycrystalline layer (432) is formed between the second substrate (410) and the germanium layer (416). ([0137] a polysilicon layer 432 is deposited over the IMD 442 layer and further within the vias 446 contacting the substrate 410) (See Fig. 135C, showing the bonding layer 416 is separated from the substrate 410 by vias 446 made from polysilicon)
Regarding Claim 6, Lee further discloses (as shown in Fig. 36B, 92A, 135C, 136) wherein the sensor element (230) is a capacitive acceleration sensor element. ([0107] It is appreciated that in some embodiments, the cavity 428 corresponds to the accelerometer cavity while the first cavity region 424 and the second cavity region 426 that are within a same cavity correspond to the gyro cavity region.)
Claim Interpretation Note: "[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987) (See MPEP 2114)
The limitation “the sensor element is a capacitive acceleration sensor element” defines the way the device is used, and therefore would not differentiate the claimed apparatus from the prior art if the structure was the same but the purpose was lacking.
Regarding Claim 7, Lee discloses (as shown in Fig. 36B, 39, 135A:C, 136, 13A-B) A method for manufacturing a MEMS sensor, comprising: ([0091] FIG. 39 shows another method flow for fabricating a MEMS device layer according to another aspect of the present embodiments.) ([0143] FIGS. 137A-137B show a method flow for fabricating a cap layer according to a seventh aspect of the present embodiments.)
forming a cavity ([0087] cavities 247) in which a portion of the cavity (247) exposes a surface of the first substrate ([0076] Referring now to FIG. 19, an IMD 212); ([0087] In other words, the vapor HF etching using the vias 246 removes a portion of the IMD layer 222 and forms cavities 247 … according to some embodiments.)
forming an electrode of a sensor element movably arranged in the cavity (247) on the first substrate; ([0084] Referring now to FIG. 32, actuator layer is etched, i.e., going through the substrate 230 through the IMD 222 layer to reach the polysilicon layer 220, by forming vias 238, using a patterned mask…[0087] Referring now to FIG. 36A, the MEMS device layer 3600 is formed when the actuator layer is released using timed vapor HF etch)
forming a stop member ([0137] bumpstops 444) on a second substrate ([0137] substrate 410) bonded to the first substrate (212) to cover the cavity (247), ([0143] At step 13706, the first mask is patterned to form a patterned first mask to cover a region of the first IMD layer associated with a first bumpstop within a first cavity region and to cover a region of the first IMD layer associated with a second bumpstop within a second cavity region, as described above in FIGS. 122-136. At step 13708, exposed portions of the first IMD layer based on the patterned first mask are etched to form the first bumpstop and the second bumpstop, as described above in FIGS. 122-136) ([0141] Referring now to FIGS. 135B-135D bonding of a MEMS device layer (1400, 3600, and 5200) to a cap layer)
wherein the stop member (444) is for restricting a movement of the electrode (230) toward the second substrate (410); ([0005] MEMS layer may utilize a structure such as a bumpstop to prevent the movable components of the MEMS device layer, e.g., proof mass, to contact and damage circuitries underneath it)
forming an aluminum (Al) layer ([085] bonding layer 244) on the first substrate (210) to form a sealed member bonding to the second substrate (410); ([0085] Referring now to FIG. 34, a bonding layer 244 is deposited on a second side of the substrate 230 and is subsequently patterned using a patterned mask.) ([0120] In an example, eutectic bond is formed by germanium of bonding layer 416 and aluminum of bonding layer 334.)
forming a germanium (Ge) layer ([0140] bonding layer 416) on the second substrate (410) to form a sealing member bonding to the sealed member (244); ([0089] The bonding layer 149 of the cap layer 150 may bond to the bonding layer 244 on the MEMS device layer to bond them together and to form the cavities 142 and 144) ([0120] In an example, eutectic bond is formed by germanium of bonding layer 416 and aluminum of bonding layer 334.)
forming a polycrystalline layer ([0137] polysilicon layer 432) on a surface of the stop member (444) opposite to the electrode (See Fig. 135A)
and between the second substrate (410) and the germanium layer (416); ([0089] The bonding layer 149 of the cap layer 150 may bond to the bonding layer 244 on the MEMS device layer to bond them together and to form the cavities 142 and 144) (See Fig. 136, showing the bonding layer 244 bonded to the bonding layer 416 of the cap layer)
and joining the sealing member (416) to the sealed member (244) such that the second substrate (410) is joined to the first substrate (212). ([0089] The bonding layer 149 of the cap layer 150 may bond to the bonding layer 244 on the MEMS device layer to bond them together and to form the cavities 142 and 144) (See Fig. 136, showing the bonding layer 244 bonded to the bonding layer 416 of the cap layer)
Regarding Claim 12, Lee further discloses (as shown in Fig. 36B, 92A, 135C, 136) wherein the sensor element (230) is a capacitive acceleration sensor element. ([0107] It is appreciated that in some embodiments, the cavity 428 corresponds to the accelerometer cavity while the first cavity region 424 and the second cavity region 426 that are within a same cavity correspond to the gyro cavity region.)
Claim Interpretation Note: "[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987) (See MPEP 2114)
The limitation “the sensor element is a capacitive acceleration sensor element” defines the way the device is used, and therefore would not differentiate the claimed apparatus from the prior art if the structure was the same but the purpose was lacking.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding Claim 2, Lee further discloses (as shown in Fig. 36B, 92A, 135C, 136) wherein the second substrate (410) is a silicon substrate, ([0104] . The substrate 410 may be a p-silicon substrate or an n-silicon substrate.)
and the polycrystalline layer (432) is a polycrystalline silicon layer. ([0137] a polysilicon layer 432)
However, Lee does not specify that the silicon substrate 410 is monocrystalline silicon.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have the silicon substrate be monocrystalline silicon. Silicon substrates are well known in the art and are typically monocrystalline silicon. Therefore, it would have been obvious for the silicon substrate 410 to be a monocrystalline substrate.
Regarding Claim 3, Lee further discloses (as shown in Fig. 36B, 92A, 135C, 136) wherein the sealed member (244) and the sealing member (416) are joined by eutectic bonding between the aluminum layer and the germanium layer. ([0120] In an example, eutectic bond is formed by germanium of bonding layer 416 and aluminum of bonding layer 334.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the embodiments of Lee. Lee discloses that the MEMS Device Layer (3600) is bonded to the cap layer ([0141] Referring now to FIGS. 135B-135D bonding of a MEMS device layer (1400, 3600, and 5200) to a cap layer according to a seventh aspect of the present embodiments are shown.) but does not disclose how they are bonded. Therefore, it would have been obvious to use the bonding method used in prior embodiments, which is eutectic bonding between the bonding layers. ([0120] In an example, eutectic bond is formed by germanium of bonding layer 416 and aluminum of bonding layer 334.)
Claim(s) 13, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Fournel et. al (FR 3083467 A1) (newly cited).
Regarding Claim 13, Lee fails to disclose an Al oxide film disposed between the sealed member and the sealing member.
However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application for an Al oxide film to be formed between the sealed member and the sealing member based on the teachings of Fournel. Fournel teaches that when the two elements of the eutectic allow are deposited separately, the presence of native oxides are implied. ([006-007] According to a third architecture, illustrated in figure 3, the two elements of the eutectic alloy are deposited separately, each on one of the surfaces 1a, 2a of the parts 1, 2 to be assembled… However, this configuration implies the presence of native oxides of the constituent elements of the eutectic alloy at the 5th level of the interface between these elements, which can block the melting of the alloy. In the case of Al-Ge sealants, the presence of native aluminum oxide blocks the seal.) Since the bonding layers 244, 416 are formed on separate pieces in Lee, it would imply the presence of native oxides, specifically Al oxide in the case of Al-Ge bonding layers.
Claim(s) 8-9, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee as applied to claim 7 above.
Regarding Claim 8, Lee further discloses (as shown in Fig. 36B, 92A, 135C, 136) wherein the second substrate (410) is a silicon substrate, ([0104] . The substrate 410 may be a p-silicon substrate or an n-silicon substrate.)
and the polycrystalline layer (432) is a polycrystalline silicon layer. ([0137] a polysilicon layer 432)
However, Lee does not specify that the silicon substrate 410 is monocrystalline silicon.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have the silicon substrate be monocrystalline silicon. Silicon substrates are well known in the art and are typically monocrystalline silicon. Therefore, it would have been obvious for the silicon substrate 410 to be a monocrystalline substrate.
Regarding Claim 9, Lee further discloses (as shown in Fig. 36B, 92A, 135C, 136) wherein the sealed member (244) and the sealing member (416) are joined by eutectic bonding between the aluminum layer and the germanium layer. ([0120] In an example, eutectic bond is formed by germanium of bonding layer 416 and aluminum of bonding layer 334.)
Claim(s) 14, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Fournel et. al (FR 3083467 A1).
Regarding Claim 14, Lee fails to disclose forming an Al oxide film disposed between the sealed member and the sealing member.
However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application for an Al oxide film to be formed between the sealed member and the sealing member based on the teachings of Fournel. Fournel teaches that when the two elements of the eutectic allow are deposited separately, the presence of native oxides are implied. ([006-007] According to a third architecture, illustrated in figure 3, the two elements of the eutectic alloy are deposited separately, each on one of the surfaces 1a, 2a of the parts 1, 2 to be assembled… However, this configuration implies the presence of native oxides of the constituent elements of the eutectic alloy at the 5th level of the interface between these elements, which can block the melting of the alloy. In the case of Al-Ge sealants, the presence of native aluminum oxide blocks the seal.) Since the bonding layers 244, 416 are formed on separate pieces in Lee, it would imply the presence of native oxides, specifically Al oxide in the case of Al-Ge bonding layers.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Crnogorac et. al (“Aluminum-Germanium eutectic bonding for 3D integration“, https://ieeexplore.ieee.org/document/5306531) (of record)
Regarding Claim 4, Lee fails to disclose wherein the germanium (416) is thinner than the aluminum layer (244).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application, based on the disclosure of Crnogorac, to have the second metal layer (416) is thinner than the first metal layer (244). Crnogorac teaches that the thickness of the films is chosen to match the Al-Ge eutectic composition (70 at% Al and 30 at% Ge), which should melt at the eutectic temperature (TE=424∘C) and thus form the bond. (Page 1, Right Column, Section II). Crnogorac further teaches that this leads to the ratio of thickness of the Germanium layer to the thickness of the Aluminum layer is 0.59. (Page 1, Right Column to Page 2, Left Column, Section II, stating “for a 100 nm thick Al film, 59 nm of Ge was deposited on top”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to make the Germanium layer thinner than the Aluminum layer in order to form the bond.
In Lee, a eutectic bond is formed from a first metal layer (244, 334) made of Aluminum and a second metal layer (416) made from Germanium ([0120] In an example, eutectic bond is formed by germanium of bonding layer 416 and aluminum of bonding layer 334.). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the second metal layer (416) made from Germanium to be thinner than the first metal layer (244, 334) made of Aluminum in order to form the eutectic bond.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Crnogorac et. al (“Aluminum-Germanium eutectic bonding for 3D integration“, https://ieeexplore.ieee.org/document/5306531) (of record)
Regarding Claim 10, Lee fails to disclose wherein the germanium layer (416) is thinner than the aluminum layer (244).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application, based on the disclosure of Crnogorac, to have the second metal layer (416) is thinner than the first metal layer (244). Crnogorac teaches that the thickness of the films is chosen to match the Al-Ge eutectic composition (70 at% Al and 30 at% Ge), which should melt at the eutectic temperature (TE=424∘C) and thus form the bond. (Page 1, Right Column, Section II) Crnogorac further teaches that this leads to the ratio of thickness of the Germanium layer to the thickness of the Aluminum layer is 0.59. (Page 1, Right Column to Page 2, Left Column, Section II, stating “for a 100 nm thick Al film, 59 nm of Ge was deposited on top”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to make the Germanium layer thinner than the Aluminum layer in order to form the bond.
In Lee, a eutectic bond is formed from a first metal layer (244, 334) made of Aluminum and a second metal layer (416) made from Germanium ([0120] In an example, eutectic bond is formed by germanium of bonding layer 416 and aluminum of bonding layer 334.). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the second metal layer (416) made from Germanium to be thinner than the first metal layer (244, 334) made of Aluminum in order to form the eutectic bond.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08 May 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s first argument, on page 8 of their remarks filed 08 May 2026, argues that “the reference numeral “230” used in Lee in not indicates an electrode, but a substrate”. This is not found persuasive because the substrate 230 forms the actuator of the MEMS. ([0081] The substrate 230 will eventually form the actuator layer of the MEMS device layer) Furthermore, the actuator is a moveable structure. ([0050] The MEMS device layer may commonly be referred to as the actuator layer with movable structures, e.g., proof mass, etc.) In a movable actuator MEMS device, the actuator forms one of the capacitive plates (or at least part of the plate structure), and the change in capacitance as the actuator moves is how the sensor operates. Therefore, a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application would understand that the movable actuator (formed from substrate 230) acts as one of the capacitive plates of the sensor and therefore is an electrode.
Applicant’s second argument, on page 9 of their remarks filed 08 May 2026, argues that “polysilicon layers at the bottom of cavities 247 and 248 may form the electrodes…Since Lee clearly teaches that the polysilicon layers may form the electrodes, Lee fails to disclose that “a polysilicon layer is formed on a surface of a stop member opposite to the electrode…”” This is unpersuasive for 2 reasons. First, the polysilicon layers at the bottom of cavities 247 and 248 form multiple portions of the device. While part of the layer forms the electrodes, part of the layer forms the electrode (183) part of the layer forms the polysilicon bumpstop (116A). (See Fig. 14A) This polysilicon layer (124) therefore is on a stop member (See Fig, 14A, showing the polysilicon layer 124 on a protruding portion of the IMD layer 122 to form polysilicon bumpstop 116A).
The second reason this argument is unpersuasive is that this polysilicon layer (124) at the bottom of cavities 247 and 248 is not relied upon as the polysilicon layer in the claim (See Page 6 Lines 8-9 of the Non-final Rejection “and a polycrystalline layer ([0137] polysilicon layer 432) is formed on the stop member (444), (See Fig. 135A)”). Figures 119A-B, 136 clearly show polysilicon layer 432 at the top of the cavities covering a bumpstop 444.
Applicant’s third argument, on Page 10 of their remarks filed 08 May 2026, argues that Lee does not have that “a polycrystalline layer is formed on a surface opposite to the electrode” or that “the polycrystalline layer is formed between the second substrate and the germanium layer. These are found unpersuasive. Figures 119A-B, 136 clearly show polysilicon layer 432 at the top of the cavities covering a bumpstop 444 and via 448 made of polysilicon between the substrate 410 and the bonding layer 416.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASON JAMES GREAVING/ Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/Britt Hanley/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893