DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on 09/08/2023. Claims 1-20 are pending and are examined.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The reference(s) listed on the Information Disclosure Statement(s) submitted on 03/28/2024 has/have been considered by the examiner (see attached PTO-1449).
Claim Objections
Claims 10 and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In Claim 10, line 2 recites, “second request information” without reciting first request information, since Claim 10 depends from Claim 8. For purposes of examination, the limitation will be reasonably interpreted as either - - request information - - or - - first request information - - . However, Applicant is invited to amend this limitation in any similar way so as to overcome this objection.
Similarly, in Claim 16, line 2 recites, “second request information” without reciting first request information, since Claim 16 depends from Claim 11. For purposes of examination, the limitation will be reasonably interpreted as either - - request information - - or - - first request information - - . However, Applicant is invited to amend this limitation in any similar way so as to overcome this objection.
Examiner respectfully requests from Applicant verification and requires appropriate correction regarding these matters.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8, 11-14, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al., US Patent Application Publication No.: 2021/0211721 A1, hereby Park, in view of Xu et al., US Patent Application Publication No.: CN 113114608 A (English Translation provided cited in PTO-892), hereby Xu.
Park discloses the invention substantially as claimed. Regarding Claims 1 and 20, Park discloses an encapsulation method for a point cloud media file, applied to a file encapsulation device, and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, configured to store a computer program for causing a computer to perform an encapsulation method for a point cloud media file, executed by one or more processors, the encapsulation method and non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (Figs. 1-2, 4, 11, and 31, and [0577]) comprising:
“acquiring a target point cloud and encoding the target point cloud to obtain a bitstream, the target point cloud comprising at least one type of attribute information, each type of attribution information comprising M attribute instances of instance data, and M being a positive integer . . . 1 (Figs. 1-2, 4, 11, and 31, and [0575], [0577], and [0583], disclosing attribute_instance_id[i]; see also [0078]-[0081], [0086], and [0090]-[0092]); and
encapsulating the bitstream of the target point cloud according to first feature information of at least one attribute instance of . . . to obtain a media file, the media file comprising the first feature information of the at least one attribute instance (Figs. 1-2, 4, 11, and 31, and [0078]-[0081], [0086], and [0090]-[0092]; [0575], [0577], and [0583], disclosing attribute_instance_id[i]).”
However, although Park does not expressly disclose the multiple attribute instances, Xu does expressly disclose the following:
“. . . , each type of attribution information comprising M attribute instances of instance data, and M being a positive integer greater than 1 (pages 11-12, Section Embodiment 2, disclosing when a compressed point cloud media file is packaged, a classification mark is added to each media segment, and the classification mark records the data type and version of information of the media segment; the classification mark generally comprises two mark bits, such as type_id and type_sequence_number; the type_id is used for defining a data type of a media segment; the type_sequence_number is used for defining the version of the media segment; the attribute information may have multiple versions, and therefore, one type_sequence_number may be set for each type_id, and the number of type_sequence_number is the number of versions; for example, when one point cloud person has three sets of clothes, the type_id value is 10, type_sequence_number may be 000, 001, 010, and MPU with the same type_sequence_number thus corresponds to the same set of clothes); and
encapsulating the bitstream of the target point cloud according to first feature information of at least one attribute instance of M attribute instances to obtain a media file, the media file comprising the first feature information of the at least one attribute instance (pages 11-12, Section Embodiment 2, disclosing when a compressed point cloud media file is packaged, a classification mark is added to each media segment, and the classification mark records the data type and version of information of the media segment; the classification mark generally comprises two mark bits, such as type_id and type_sequence_number; the type_id is used for defining a data type of a media segment; the type_sequence_number is used for defining the version of the media segment; the attribute information may have multiple versions, and therefore, one type_sequence_number may be set for each type_id, and the number of type_sequence_number is the number of versions; for example, when one point cloud person has three sets of clothes, the type_id value is 10, type_sequence_number may be 000, 001, 010, and MPU with the same type_sequence_number thus corresponds to the same set of clothes).”
Accordingly, before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Park and Xu (hereby Park-Xu), to modify the encapsulation method and non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of Park to use the claimed multiple attribute instances as in Xu. The motivation for doing so would have been to create the advantage of providing effective transmission of point cloud data in the heterogeneous network environment, so that different types of point cloud data can be efficiently synchronized and presented, and to meet the requirements of different media applications (see Xu, pages 4 and 11-12).
Regarding Claim 11, Park-Xu discloses Claims 1 and 20, as outlined above, and further discloses the remaining features of a decapsulation method for a point cloud media file, applied to a file decapsulation device:
“receiving first information transmitted by a file encapsulation device, the first information indicating first feature information of at least one attribute instance (Park, Figs. 1-2, 4, 11, and 31, and [0078]-[0081], [0086], and [0090]-[0092]; [0575], [0577], and [0583], disclosing attribute_instance_id[i]) of M (Xu, pages 11-12) attribute instances in a target point cloud (Park, Figs. 1-2, 4, 11, and 31, and [0078]-[0081], [0086], and [0090]-[0092]; [0575], [0577], and [0583], disclosing attribute_instance_id[i]), and M being a positive integer greater than 1 (Xu, pages 11-12, Section Embodiment 2, disclosing when a compressed point cloud media file is packaged, a classification mark is added to each media segment, and the classification mark records the data type and version of information of the media segment; the classification mark generally comprises two mark bits, such as type_id and type_sequence_number; the type_id is used for defining a data type of a media segment; the type_sequence_number is used for defining the version of the media segment; the attribute information may have multiple versions, and therefore, one type_sequence_number may be set for each type_id, and the number of type_sequence_number is the number of versions; for example, when one point cloud person has three sets of clothes, the type_id value is 10, type_sequence_number may be 000, 001, 010, and MPU with the same type_sequence_number thus corresponds to the same set of clothes); and
determining a target attribute instance from the at least one attribute instance (Xu, pages 11-12, Section Embodiment 2, disclosing when a compressed point cloud media file is packaged, a classification mark is added to each media segment, and the classification mark records the data type and version of information of the media segment; the classification mark generally comprises two mark bits, such as type_id and type_sequence_number; the type_id is used for defining a data type of a media segment; the type_sequence_number is used for defining the version of the media segment; the attribute information may have multiple versions, and therefore, one type_sequence_number may be set for each type_id, and the number of type_sequence_number is the number of versions; for example, when one point cloud person has three sets of clothes, the type_id value is 10, type_sequence_number may be 000, 001, 010, and MPU with the same type_sequence_number thus corresponds to the same set of clothes) using the first feature information (Park, Figs. 1-2, 4, 11, and 31, and [0078]-[0081], [0086], and [0090]-[0092]; [0575], [0577], and [0583], disclosing attribute_instance_id[i]), and acquiring instance data corresponding to the target attribute instance (Park, Figs. 1-2, 4, 11, and 31, and [0078]-[0081], [0086], and [0090]-[0092]; [0575], [0577], and [0583], disclosing attribute_instance_id[i]).”
The motivation that was utilized in Claims 1 and 20 above applies equally as well here.
Regarding Claims 2 and 12, Park-Xu discloses:
“wherein the first feature information of the attribute instance comprises: at least one of an identification of the attribute instance, a priority of the attribute instance, and a type of the attribute instance (Park, Figs. 1-2, 4, 11, and 31, and [0078]-[0081], [0086], and [0090]-[0092]; [0575], [0577], and [0583], disclosing attribute_instance_id[i]).”
The motivation that was utilized in Claims 1, 11, and 20 above applies equally as well here.
Regarding Claims 3 and 13, Park-Xu discloses:
“wherein the type (Xu, pages 11-12, Section Embodiment 2, disclosing type_id and type_sequence_number) of the attribute instance comprises at least one of an attribute instance (Park, Figs. 1-2, 4, 11, and 31, and [0078]-[0081], [0086], and [0090]-[0092]; [0575], [0577], and [0583], disclosing attribute_instance_id[i]) associated with a recommendation viewport and an attribute instance associated with user feedback (Park, [0083]-[0084] and [0097]; see also Figs. 1-2, 4, 11, and 31, and [0078]-[0081], [0086], and [0090]-[0092]; [0575], [0577], and [0583], disclosing attribute_instance_id[i]).”
The motivation that was utilized in Claims 1, 11, and 20 above applies equally as well here.
Regarding Claims 4 and 14, Park-Xu discloses:
“wherein when the type (Xu, pages 11-12, Section Embodiment 2, disclosing type_id and type_sequence_number) of the attribute instance is the attribute instance associated with the recommendation viewport (Park, [0083]-[0084] and [0097]; see also Figs. 1-2, 4, 11, and 31, and [0078]-[0081], [0086], and [0090]-[0092]; [0575], [0577], and [0583], disclosing attribute_instance_id[i]), the method further comprises: adding second feature information (Xu, pages 11-12, Section Embodiment 2, disclosing type_id and type_sequence_number) of the attribute instance to metadata of the recommendation viewport associated with the attribute instance (Park, [0086]; [0083]-[0084] and [0097]; see also Figs. 1-2, 4, 11, and 31, and [0078]-[0081], [0086], and [0090]-[0092]; [0575], [0577], and [0583], disclosing attribute_instance_id[i]).”
The motivation that was utilized in Claims 1, 11, and 20 above applies equally as well here.
Regarding Claims 5 and 18, Park-Xu discloses:
“wherein the second feature information (Xu, pages 11-12, Section Embodiment 2, disclosing type_id and type_sequence_number) of the attribute instance comprises at least one of an identification of the attribute instance and an attribute type of the attribute instance (Park, Figs. 1-2, 4, 11, and 31, and [0078]-[0081], [0086], and [0090]-[0092]; [0575], [0577], and [0583], disclosing attribute_instance_id[i]).”
The motivation that was utilized in Claims 1, 11, and 20 above applies equally as well here.
Regarding Claim 8, Park-Xu discloses:
“transmitting first information to a file decapsulation device, the first information indicating the first feature information of the at least one attribute instance (Park, Figs. 1-2, 4, 11, and 31, and [0078]-[0081], [0086], and [0090]-[0092]; [0575], [0577], and [0583], disclosing attribute_instance_id[i]) of the M attribute instances (Xu, pages 11-12, Section Embodiment 2, disclosing type_id and type_sequence_number).”
The motivation that was utilized in Claims 1, 11, and 20 above applies equally as well here.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7, 9-10,15-17, and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Examiner notes that multiple references cited disclose point cloud compression and encapsulation/decapsulation. For example, the following references show similar features in the claims, although not relied upon: Oh (US 2022/0060529 A1), Figs. 1-4.
/KATHLEEN M WALSH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2482