DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to the correspondence filled on 10/01/2025.
Claims 22-39 are presented for examination.
IDS Considerations
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/8/23 is/are being considered by the examiner as the submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Terminal disclaimer filled on 7/26/24 has been acknowledged and double patenting rejection is withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/01/2025 with respect to claims 22-39 has been considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argued in page 8 that Kirma fails to teach or disclose "wherein the rigid first base board includes a first groove that receives only one board, wherein the only one board is a third base board, wherein a first side image sensor and a second side image sensor are directly connected to opposite sides of the third base board, the first side image sensor faces a first side direction, and the second side image sensor faces a second side direction opposite to the first side direction," as recited in amended claim 22 because FIG. 29C of Kirma below, there are two base boards (2918, 2920) in an opening in a top board in Kirma.
Examiner disagree on this because Kirma FIG. 29C item 2918, 2920 are not boards, instead those are image sensors as explained in [0703] FIG. 29C illustrates a bottom view of the optical assembly supported by the lower base board 2904 as shown in FIG. 29B with the illuminators 2922 removed. As shown, the lower base board 2904 supports and positions the image sensors 2908, 2918 and 2920 exposing the respective image contact areas and supports the lens assemblies 2906, 2914 and 2916.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 22 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. MPEP 2161.01(I) and 2163.05(I)(3)(ii) give guidance. Generic claim language in the original disclosure does not satisfy the written description requirement if it fails to support the scope of the genus claimed.
Regarding to claim 22:
In the instant case: applicant does not disclose an algorithm for achieving the functionality “wherein a first side image sensor and a second side image sensor are directly connected to opposite sides of the only one third base board”.
The statement that one could achieve a functional result is not sufficient to describe an algorithm for achieving it. The claim functionality must be supported by an algorithm or written description to achieve it. Its not disclosed the meaning of direct connection.
Rest of the dependent claims are also rejected based on dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 22-26, 29-30 and 32-39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kirma (U.S. Pub. No. 20140309495 A1).
Examiner’s note: Having different known components and board connected in different combination of circuit boards are not inventive as explained below.
Regarding to claim 22:
22. Kirma teach a medical device system comprising: (All independent claims are interpreted as obvious variations of PCB structures and relative positioning of multiple PCBs. Kirma all the figures represent the same endoscope system with multiple different PCBs and different figures describes different aspect and positioning of PCBs. For example Fig 32B, Fig. 26A-C and Fig 28-29A-C shows circuit board arrangements. Fig. 2B shows viewing elements.)
a first image sensor, (Kirma Fig. 23C shows116b is 1st viewing elements. [0511] This may significantly improve the performance of the endoscope and allow the endoscope operator to perform more complex medical procedures using two medical tools. Second working channel 640b provides the endoscope operator better access to the object of interest and greater flexibility with operating the medical tools while at the same time viewing the procedure by the front pointing viewing element 116a (FIG. 2B). [0494] While some objects of interest may be visible and/or accessible via the endoscope front panel 320 (FIG. 2A), some objects of interest may be more visible via side looking viewing element 116b (FIG. 2A) and/or accessible via endoscope side service channel 750. Therefore, side service channel 750 may reduce the need to turn the tip section 200 towards the object of interest. Furthermore, side service channel 750 may allow the endoscope operator to access objects of interest, and perform surgical operations while the object of interest is still visible by one of side looking viewing elements 116b [1st viewing elements] or 116c (on the opposite side of viewing element 116b of FIG. 2B). [0174] FIG. 1A shows a semi-pictorial view of a multi-camera endoscopy system, according to some embodiments; [0043] The present specification relates generally to endoscopy systems and more particularly, to a multiple viewing elements endoscopy system having modular imaging or camera units that, along with a flexible LED carrier substrate and associated electrical cables, are supported in at least a partially enclosed housing or holder. [0127] The front looking viewing element comprises a front looking image sensor and a corresponding lens assembly with an associated printed circuit board. The side looking viewing element comprises a side looking image sensor and a corresponding lens assembly with an associated printed circuit board.) and a circuit board assembly comprising: (Kirma [0696] FIG. 28A illustrates an upper base board and a lower base board (which, in combination, form an electronic circuit board/printed circuit board)) a rigid first base board with a first planar face; and (Kirma [0696] FIG. 28A illustrates the two sets of illuminators 2816, 2818 are placed between the upper and lower base boards 2802 [first rigid base board], 2804. [0715] FIG. 32B illustrates the assembly shown in FIG. 32A coupled with an upper circuit board 3252 and a lower circuit board 3254. Kirma Fig. 28-29 A-C upper base board is first rigid base board. [0698] FIG. 28B illustrates a top view of the upper base board 2802 of the electronic circuit board (also referred to as `printed circuit board` (PCB)) adapted to support the optical assembly and illuminators of the endoscope 6400 of FIG. 64, in accordance with an embodiment of the present specification. In various embodiments, the upper base board 2802 is provided with grooves/holes 2832 for the front illuminators 2808, 2810, 2812 and for the first set of side illuminators 2816, 2818 and the second set of side illuminators to be placed within. In the illustrated embodiment, one groove is provided on the upper base board 2802 for each illuminator supported by the upper base board 2802. In one embodiment, grooves 2832 are identical for all illuminators, while in another embodiment each groove may be adapted to different sizes of illuminators. For example, different sizes of illuminators may comprise LEDs (Light Emitting Diode) adapted to emit white light, infrared light, ultraviolet light, near-infrared light and other wavelengths of light. [0699] An electrical cable 2850 threaded through the upper base board 2802, in one embodiment, transfers the information from the optical assemblies to the illuminators and to a main control unit. [0700] FIG. 28C illustrates a bottom side view of the lower base board 2804 of the electronic circuit board (also referred to as `printed circuit board` (PCB)) adapted to support the optical assembly and illuminators of the endoscope 6400 of FIG. 64, in accordance with an embodiment of the present specification. In various embodiments, the lower base board 2804 is provided with grooves/holes 2834 for front illuminators 2808, 2810, 2812 and for the first set of side illuminators 2816, 2818 and the second set of side illuminators to be placed within. In the illustrated embodiment, one groove is provided on the lower base board 2804 for each illuminator supported by the base board 2804. In various embodiments, the connector pins and the contact area(s) of the endoscope's image sensors are manipulated, including being cut, bent or folded to be soldered to the upper and lower base boards 2802, 2804. In one embodiment, grooves 2834 are identical for all illuminators, while in another embodiment each groove may be adapted to different sizes of illuminators. For example, different sizes of illuminators may comprise LEDs (Light Emitting Diode) adapted to emit white light, infrared light, ultraviolet light, near-infrared light and other wavelengths of light)
a rigid second base board with a second planar face, (Kirma [0696] FIG. 28A illustrates the two sets of illuminators 2816, 2818 are placed between the upper and lower base boards 2802, 2804 [second rigid base board])
wherein the rigid second base board is spaced from the rigid first base board,
(Kirma FIG. 28 shows the upper and lower base boards 2802, 2804 are spaced apart)
wherein the first image sensor is positioned between the first planar face and the second planar face; (Kirma [0696] FIG. 28A the side optical assembly comprises a side lens assembly 2814 [first viewing element] and a side image sensor. Fig. 23B first viewing element 116a between 424a and 424b and it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art that FIG. 32B upper circuit board 3252 is placed at bottom of Fig. 23B with predictable results because FIG. 28A shows upper and lower base boards 2802, 2804 are spaced apart by lens 2806. Kirma [0696] while front illuminator 2810 is placed above front lens assembly 2806. Comparing Fig 28A lens assembly 2806 and with 716a of Fig. 27A-B it’s obvious that lens assembly 2806 is part of [0692] forward looking viewing element 716a of FIG. 27A. Fig. 32B, Fig. 28 A and Fig. 28 B teach upper and lower base board. It is obvious to put viewing element in between. [0127] The front looking viewing element comprises a front looking image sensor and a corresponding lens assembly with an associated printed circuit board. The side looking viewing element comprises a side looking image sensor and a corresponding lens assembly with an associated printed circuit board.)
wherein the rigid first base board includes a first groove (Kirma [0698] FIG. 28B illustrates a top view of the upper base board 2802 of the electronic circuit board (also referred to as `printed circuit board` (PCB)) adapted to support the optical assembly and illuminators of the endoscope 6400 of FIG. 64, in accordance with an embodiment of the present specification. In various embodiments, the upper base board 2802 is provided with grooves/holes 2832 for the front illuminators 2808, 2810, 2812 and for the first set of side illuminators 2816, 2818 and the second set of side illuminators to be placed within.) that receives only one board, wherein the only one board is a third base board, (Kirma FIG. 25. FIG 26, FIG 28 shows illuminator board 720 is placed between upper and lower base boards 2802, 2804. Kirma [0649] Flexible LED carrier substrate or illumination circuit board 420 [third base board], which is formed as a flexible unitary piece of a PCB layer, includes two main sections 424a and 424b, a front foldable panel 422a and four side foldable panels 422b, 422c, 422d, 422e. [0650] When flexible LED carrier substrate 420 is in a folded configuration, front foldable panel 422a and four side foldable panels 422b, 422c, 422d, 422e are configured to fold downwards forming a right angle with two main sections 424a and 424b. [0696] FIG. 28A the upper and lower base boards 2802, 2804 (planar based on figure) hold three sets of front illuminators 2808, 2810, 2812 and on each side panel two sets of illuminators 2816, 2818 (the figure illustrates only one side panel of the endoscope. As multiple rigid boards can be placed near each other)
wherein a first side image sensor and a second side image sensor are directly connected to opposite sides of the only one third base board, (Kirma Fig. 23A, FIG. 26A shows viewing element 116b/716b and 116c/716c are opposite side of third board 420/720. [0127] The front looking viewing element comprises a front looking image sensor and a corresponding lens assembly with an associated printed circuit board. The side looking viewing element comprises a side looking image sensor and a corresponding lens assembly with an associated printed circuit board. Fig. 23A shows 116b and 116c are directly connected and viewing element includes image sensor. Referring to the third base board 420 it shows 116b and 116c are opposite side)
)
the first side image sensor faces a first side direction, and the second side image sensor faces a second side direction opposite to the first side direction. (Kirma Fig. 23A, FIG. 26A shows viewing element 116b/716b and 116c/716c are opposite side of third board 420/720. [0127] The front looking viewing element comprises a front looking image sensor and a corresponding lens assembly with an associated printed circuit board. The side looking viewing element comprises a side looking image sensor and a corresponding lens assembly with an associated printed circuit board. Fig. 23A shows 116b and 116c are directly connected and viewing element includes image sensor. Referring to the third base board 420 it shows 116b and 116c are opposite side)
Kirma teach every limitations of independent claims. However Kirma do not teach these limitations from one embodiment. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Kirma to incorporate different embodiments of Kirma to come up with claimed invention with predictable results, because of the current state of technology such modifications are well known.
Regarding to claim 23:
23. Kirma teach the medical device system of claim 22, further comprising first illuminator circuit board that includes only one illuminator. (Claim 23 is rejected for the same reason as claim 22. Kirma FIG. 33B [0720] The front illuminator electronic circuit board 3306 holds a set of three front illuminators 3308a, 3308b, and 3308c. On each side panel, a side illuminator electronic circuit board 3310 holds a set of side illuminators 3312a, 3312b. Any number of illuminator can be placed in an illuminator circuit board)
Regarding to claim 24:
24. Kirma teach the medical device system of claim 23, wherein the first illuminator circuit board is positioned within a second groove of the rigid second base board. (Claim 24 is rejected for the same reason as claim 22. Kirma [0696] FIG. 28A-C The upper base board 2802 and the lower base board 2804 have grooves/holes enabling the front and side illuminators to be placed within the grooves/holes. Kirma FIG. 33B [0720] The front illuminator electronic circuit board 3306 holds a set of three front illuminators 3308a, 3308b, and 3308c. On each side panel, a side illuminator electronic circuit board 3310 holds a set of side illuminators 3312a, 3312b.)
Regarding to claim 25:
25. Kirma teach the medical device system of claim 24, wherein the first illuminator circuit board is adjacent to the first image sensor. (Claim 25 is rejected for the same reason as claim 22. Kirma FIG. 33B [0720] The front illuminator electronic circuit board 3306 holds a set of three front illuminators 3308a, 3308b, and 3308c. On each side panel, a side illuminator electronic circuit board 3310 holds a set of side illuminators 3312a, 3312b. Front illuminators 3308a, 3308b are positioned between the upper 3302 and lower 3304 base boards while front illuminator 3308c is positioned above front lens assembly 3314 [viewing element] and above the upper base board 3302. The two side illuminators 3312a, 3312b on both sides of the endoscope tip are positioned between the upper 3302 and lower 3304 base boards on either side of the side lens assembly 3316 [image sensor]. The front illuminators 3308a, 3308b, 3308c are associated with a front optical assembly comprising a front lens assembly 3314 and a front image sensor. [0719] FIG. 33A The side illuminators 3312a, 3312b are associated with a side optical assembly comprising a side lens assembly 3316 and a side image sensor. Image sensor is adjacent to lens because [0127] The front looking viewing element comprises a front looking image sensor and a corresponding lens assembly with an associated printed circuit board. The side looking viewing element comprises a side looking image sensor and a corresponding lens assembly with an associated printed circuit board.)
Regarding to claim 26:
26. Kirma teach the medical device system of claim 22, further comprising a second illuminator circuit board positioned adjacent to the first image sensor. (Claim 26 is rejected for the same reason as claim 22. Kirma FIG. 33B [0720] The front illuminator electronic circuit board 3306 holds a set of three front illuminators 3308a, 3308b, and 3308c. On each side panel, a side illuminator electronic circuit board 3310 holds a set of side illuminators 3312a, 3312b. Front illuminators 3308a, 3308b are positioned between the upper 3302 and lower 3304 base boards while front illuminator 3308c is positioned above front lens assembly 3314 [viewing element] and above the upper base board 3302. The two side illuminators 3312a, 3312b on both sides of the endoscope tip are positioned between the upper 3302 and lower 3304 base boards on either side of the side lens assembly 3316 [image sensor]. [0719] FIG. 33A The side illuminators 3312a, 3312b are associated with a side optical assembly comprising a side lens assembly 3316 and a side image sensor. Image sensor is adjacent to lens because [0127] The front looking viewing element comprises a front looking image sensor and a corresponding lens assembly with an associated printed circuit board. The side looking viewing element comprises a side looking image sensor and a corresponding lens assembly with an associated printed circuit board.)
Regarding to claim 27-28 and 31:
Cancelled.
Regarding to claim 29:
29. Kirma teach the medical device system of claim 22, further comprising a fourth base board connected to the first image sensor, wherein the fourth base board (Claim 29 is rejected for the same reason as claim 22. Having different known components connected in different board are not inventive. Kirma FIG. 33B shows a front illuminator electronic circuit board 3306 as fourth board and that is attached with upper base board 3302 (first board) and lower base board 3304 (second board) and image sensor part of 3314. [0720] The front illuminator electronic circuit board 3306 holds a set of three front illuminators 3308a, 3308b, and 3308c. On each side panel, a side illuminator electronic circuit board 3310 holds a set of side illuminators 3312a, 3312b. Front illuminators 3308a, 3308b are positioned between the upper 3302 and lower 3304 base boards while front illuminator 3308c is positioned above front lens assembly 3314 [image sensor] and above the upper base board 3302. The two side illuminators 3312a, 3312b on both sides of the endoscope tip are positioned between the upper 3302 and lower 3304 base boards on either side of the side lens assembly 3316 [image sensor]. [0719] FIG. 33A The side illuminators 3312a, 3312b are associated with a side optical assembly comprising a side lens assembly 3316 and a side image sensor. Image sensor is adjacent to lens because [0127] The front looking viewing element comprises a front looking image sensor and a corresponding lens assembly with an associated printed circuit board. The side looking viewing element comprises a side looking image sensor and a corresponding lens assembly with an associated printed circuit board.) is coupled to the rigid first base board and the rigid second base board. (Kirma [0719] FIG. 33A illustrates a front illuminator electronic circuit board 3306 adapted for supporting the front illuminators 3308a, 3308b, 3308c of an endoscope, in accordance with an embodiment of the present specification. FIG. 33A illustrates upper base board 3302, lower base board 3304, a front illuminator electronic circuit board 3306 for supporting the front illuminators 3308a, 3308b, 3308c, and a side illuminator electronic circuit board 3310 for supporting the side illuminators 3312a, 3312b. The front illuminators 3308a, 3308b, 3308c are associated with a front optical assembly comprising a front lens assembly 3314 and a front image sensor. The side illuminators 3312a, 3312b are associated with a side optical assembly comprising a side lens assembly 3316 and a side image sensor. The front image sensor's pins and rigid area 3320 are bent to be soldered to the upper base board 3302 and lower base board 3304. The side image sensors' pins and rigid areas 3322 and 3324 (for the right and left side image sensors respectively) are bent to be soldered to the upper base board 3302 and lower base board 3304. An electrical cable 3350 threaded through the upper base board 3302 transfers the information from the optical assemblies to a main control unit.)
Regarding to claim 30:
30. Kirma teach the medical device system of claim 29, wherein the fourth base board (Kirma Having different known components connected in different board are not inventive. Kirma FIG. 33B shows a front illuminator electronic circuit board 3306 as fourth board and that is attached with upper base board 3302 (first board) and lower base board 3304 (second board) and image sensor part of 3314.FIG. 33B [0720] The front illuminator electronic circuit board 3306 holds a set of three front illuminators 3308a, 3308b, and 3308c. On each side panel, a side illuminator electronic circuit board 3310 holds a set of side illuminators 3312a, 3312b. Front illuminators 3308a, 3308b are positioned between the upper 3302 and lower 3304 base boards while front illuminator 3308c is positioned above front lens assembly 3314 [viewing element] and above the upper base board 3302. The two side illuminators 3312a, 3312b on both sides of the endoscope tip are positioned between the upper 3302 and lower 3304 base boards on either side of the side lens assembly 3316 [viewing element]) is received within a second slot of the rigid first base board and a second slot of the rigid second base board. (Kirma [0698] FIG. 28B the upper base board 2802 is provided with grooves/holes 2832 for the front illuminators 2808, 2810, 2812 and for the first set of side illuminators 2816, 2818 and the second set of side illuminators to be placed within. In the illustrated embodiment, one groove is provided on the upper base board 2802 for each illuminator supported by the upper base board 2802. In one embodiment, grooves 2832 are identical for all illuminators, while in another embodiment each groove may be adapted to different sizes of illuminators. [0700] FIG. 28C illustrates a bottom side view of the lower base board 2804 of the electronic circuit board (also referred to as `printed circuit board` (PCB)) adapted to support the optical assembly and illuminators of the endoscope 6400 of FIG. 64, in accordance with an embodiment of the present specification. In various embodiments, the lower base board 2804 is provided with grooves/holes 2834 for front illuminators 2808, 2810, 2812 and for the first set of side illuminators 2816, 2818 and the second set of side illuminators to be placed within. In the illustrated embodiment, one groove is provided on the lower base board 2804 for each illuminator supported by the base board 2804. In various embodiments, the connector pins and the contact area(s) of the endoscope's image sensors are manipulated, including being cut, bent or folded to be soldered to the upper and lower base boards 2802, 2804. In one embodiment, grooves 2834 are identical for all illuminators, while in another embodiment each groove may be adapted to different sizes of illuminators. For example, different sizes of illuminators may comprise LEDs (Light Emitting Diode) adapted to emit white light, infrared light, ultraviolet light, near-infrared light and other wavelengths of light.)
Regarding to claim 32:
32. Claim 32 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 22 above. However Claim 32 has following additional limitation:
Kirma teach a second viewing element, and (Claim 32 is rejected for the same reason as claim 22. Kirma FIGS. 23A, 23B, 23C and 23D [0647] The flexible optical carrier substrate or camera circuit board 440 is configured to carry, support or position a front-pointing viewing element 116a and two side-pointing viewing elements 116b [first viewing element], 116c [second viewing element] which may be similar to front-pointing viewing element 116a and include a Charge Coupled Device (CCD) or a Complementary Metal Oxide Semiconductor (CMOS) image sensor)
Regarding to claim 33:
33. Kirma teach the medical device system of claim 32, wherein the second base board includes a second slot (Kirma FIG. 28A-C shows multiple illuminator boards are attached to the upper and lower base boards through slots/grooves. [0696] The upper base board 2802 and the lower base board 2804 have grooves/holes enabling the front and side illuminators to be placed within the grooves/holes. Kirma FIG. 33B [0720] The front illuminator electronic circuit board 3306 holds a set of three front illuminators 3308a, 3308b, and 3308c. On each side panel, a side illuminator electronic circuit board 3310 holds a set of side illuminators 3312a, 3312b.) configured to receive the third base board. (Kirma FIG. 33B [0720] The front illuminator electronic circuit board 3306 holds a set of three front illuminators 3308a, 3308b, and 3308c. On each side panel, a side illuminator electronic circuit board 3310 holds a set of side illuminators 3312a, 3312b. Front illuminators 3308a, 3308b are positioned between the upper 3302 and lower 3304 base boards while front illuminator 3308c is positioned above front lens assembly 3314 [viewing element] and above the upper base board 3302. The two side illuminators 3312a, 3312b on both sides of the endoscope tip are positioned between the upper 3302 and lower 3304 base boards on either side of the side lens assembly 3316 [viewing element])
Regarding to claim 34:
34. Kirma teach the medical device system of claim 32, further comprising a third image sensor and a fourth base board, wherein the third image sensor is connected to a third side of the fourth base board. (Claim 34 is rejected for the same reason as claim 22. Having different known components connected in different board are not inventive. Kirma FIG. 33B shows a front illuminator electronic circuit board 3306 as fourth board and that is attached with upper base board 3302 (first board) and lower base board 3304 (second board) and three image sensor part of 3314, 3316 and the one 180 degree opposite to 3316. Kirma FIG. 28A-C shows multiple illuminator boards are attached to the upper and lower base boards through slots/grooves. [0696] The upper base board 2802 and the lower base board 2804 have grooves/holes enabling the front and side illuminators to be placed within the grooves/holes. Kirma FIG. 33B [0720] The front illuminator electronic circuit board 3306 [fourth base board] holds a set of three front illuminators 3308a, 3308b, and 3308c. On each side panel, a side illuminator electronic circuit board 3310 holds a set of side illuminators 3312a, 3312b. Kirma [0703] FIG. 29C illustrates a bottom view of the optical assembly supported by the lower base board 2904 as shown in FIG. 29B with the illuminators 2922 removed. As shown, the lower base board 2904 supports and positions the image sensors 2908, 2918 and 2920 exposing the respective image contact areas and supports [viewing element 2906, 2914 and 2916 connected] the lens assemblies 2906, 2914 and 2916. The grooves 2924 allow the illuminators 2922 (shown in FIG. 29A) to be secured to the base board 2904. Same algorithm is applicable for third viewing element and a fourth base board with predictable results)
Regarding to claim 35:
35. Kirma teach the medical device system of claim 34, wherein the fourth base board is received within a second slot of the first base board. (Kirma FIG. 28A-C shows multiple illuminator boards are attached to the upper and lower base boards through slots/grooves. [0696] The upper base board 2802 and the lower base board 2804 have grooves/holes enabling the front and side illuminators to be placed within the grooves/holes. Kirma FIG. 33B [0720] The front illuminator electronic circuit board 3306 holds a set of three front illuminators 3308a, 3308b, and 3308c. On each side panel, a side illuminator electronic circuit board 3310 holds a set of side illuminators 3312a, 3312b.)
Regarding to claim 36:
36. Kirma teach the medical device system of claim 35, wherein the third base board is received within a third slot of the second base board, and wherein the fourth base board is received within a fourth slot of the second base board. (Kirma FIG. 28A-C shows multiple illuminator boards are attached to the upper and lower base boards through slots/grooves. [0696] The upper base board 2802 and the lower base board 2804 have grooves/holes enabling the front and side illuminators to be placed within the grooves/holes. Kirma FIG. 33B [0720] The front illuminator electronic circuit board 3306 holds a set of three front illuminators 3308a, 3308b, and 3308c. On each side panel, a side illuminator electronic circuit board 3310 holds a set of side illuminators 3312a, 3312b.)
Regarding to claim 37:
37. Kirma teach the medical device system of claim 35, wherein the first slot extends longitudinally in a first direction, and wherein the second slot extends longitudinally in a second direction, wherein the first direction is transverse to the second direction. (Kirma FIG. 29B-C shows slot direction can chosen. [0702] FIG. 29B illustrates another view of the optical assembly supported by the lower base board 2904 as shown in FIG. 29A with the illuminators 2922 (shown in FIG. 29A) removed. The lower base board 2904 comprises grooves 2924 for enabling the illuminators 2922 (shown in FIG. 29A) to be coupled with the based board 2904. [0703] FIG. 29C illustrates a bottom view of the optical assembly supported by the lower base board 2904 as shown in FIG. 29B with the illuminators 2922 removed. As shown, the lower base board 2904 supports and positions the image sensors 2908, 2918 and 2920 exposing the respective image contact areas and supports the lens assemblies 2906, 2914 and 2916. The grooves 2924 allow the illuminators 2922 (shown in FIG. 29A) to be secured to the base board 2904)
Regarding to claim 38:
38. Kirma teach the medical device system of claim 32, wherein the first slot has a shape substantially complimentary to a shape of an outer periphery of the third base board. (Kirma Fig. 23D shows circuit board 440 in a slot. [0643] Reference is now made to FIGS. 23A, 23B, 23C and 23D, which show exploded views of a foldable electronic circuit board 400 of an endoscope assembly 100 of FIG. 2A according to an embodiment. [0644] According to some embodiments, foldable electronic circuit board 400 has several internal parts including a flexible optical carrier substrate or camera circuit board 440, a flexible LED carrier substrate or illumination circuit board 420, a partially enclosed housing or bottom circuit board holder 460 and a front circuit board holder 462)
Regarding to claim 39:
39. Kirma teach the medical device system of claim 36, wherein each of the first image sensor, the second image sensor and the third image sensor is positioned between the first base board and the second base board. (Claim 39 is rejected for the same reason as claim 22. Having different known components connected in different board are not inventive. Kirma FIG. 33B shows a front illuminator electronic circuit board 3306 as fourth board and that is attached with upper base board 3302 (first board) and lower base board 3304 (second board) and three image sensor part of 3314, 3316 and the one 180 degree opposite to 3316. Kirma FIG. 33B [0720] The front illuminator electronic circuit board 3306 holds a set of three front illuminators 3308a, 3308b, and 3308c. On each side panel, a side illuminator electronic circuit board 3310 holds a set of side illuminators 3312a, 3312b. Front illuminators 3308a, 3308b are positioned between the upper 3302 and lower 3304 base boards while front illuminator 3308c is positioned above front lens assembly 3314 [viewing element] and above the upper base board 3302. The two side illuminators 3312a, 3312b on both sides of the endoscope tip are positioned between the upper 3302 and lower 3304 base boards on either side of the side lens assembly 3316 [image sensor])
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NASIM N NIRJHAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896