DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (i.e., claims 1-7) in the reply filed on 9/24/25 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Walker (US 20040131310).
Regarding claim 1, Walker teaches a waveguide structure, comprising: a deep rib waveguide 860 (e.g., fig. 8; deeper etched regions 840 essentially surround multimode mixing region 860) on a slab (e.g., fig. 8); and a plurality of shallow rib waveguides 870 880 890 on the slab (e.g., fig. 8; rib waveguides 870 880 890 are essentially surrounded by shallow etched regions 900), wherein: the deep rib waveguide 860 has a first etch-depth, the plurality of shallow rib waveguides 870 880 890 has a second etch-depth, and the first etch-depth is greater than the second etch-depth (e.g., fig. 8; ¶ 0119).
Regarding claim 2, Walker teaches the waveguide structure of claim 1 (see above), wherein a first sum of the first etch-depth of the deep rib waveguide and a first thickness of the slab under the deep rib waveguide is same as a second sum of the second etch-depth of the shallow rib waveguide and a second thickness of the slab under the shallow rib waveguide (e.g., fig. 8; the deeper etch is in the same slab as the shallow etches resulting in the claim 2 subject matter).
Regarding claim 3, Walker teaches the waveguide structure of claim 2 (see above), wherein: the deep rib waveguide is coupled to the plurality of shallow rib waveguides at an etch boundary (e.g., fig. 8; the right side of deep rib waveguide 860 is essentially at an etch boundary transitioning from a deep to shallow etch), the slab has the first thickness on one side of the etch boundary, proximate to the deep rib waveguide (e.g., fig. 8; the deeper etch 840 causes the slab to be thinner than in the shallow etch region which will have a thicker slab), and the slab has the second thickness on another side of the etch boundary, proximate to the plurality of shallow rib waveguides 870 880 890 (e.g., fig. 8).
Regarding claim 7, Walker teaches the waveguide structure of claim 1 (see above), wherein an optical signal is to travel from the deep rib waveguide 860 to the plurality of shallow rib waveguides 870 880 890 (e.g., fig. 8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walker (US 20040131310) as applied to claim 1 above with obviousness evidenced by {OEB} Rubinstein et al. (US 20220276455; “Rubinstein”).
Regarding claim 4, Walker does not explicitly teach wherein: each of the shallow rib waveguides {WGs} has a first end coupled to the deep rib waveguide and a second end coupled to another deep rib waveguide, and the another deep rib waveguide has the first etch-depth (e.g., fig. 8; Walker fig. 8 does not teach successive/concatenated/nested WGs).
However, successive/concatenated/nested WGs would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention at least as evidenced by Rubinstein (e.g., Rubinstein fig. 2; Rubinstein fig. 2 teaches successively split MMI WGs that would benefit from the deep and shallow rib structure of Walker to enhance optical coupling; the successive WGs would result in each of the shallow rib waveguides {WGs} has a first end coupled to the deep rib waveguide and a second end coupled to another deep rib waveguide, and the another deep rib waveguide has the first etch-depth) and thus would be obvious to provide each of the shallow rib waveguides {WGs} has a first end coupled to the deep rib waveguide and a second end coupled to another deep rib waveguide, and the another deep rib waveguide has the first etch-depth for the purpose of better coupling in a successive MMI WG splitter/combiner structure.
Thus, the claim 4 subject matter is rendered as obvious by Walker fig. 8 in light of the above reasoning as enlightened by Rubinstein.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walker (US 20040131310) as applied to claim 1 above with obviousness evidenced by {OEB} Parsons et al. (US 20060056845; “Parsons”).
Regarding claim 5, Walker does not explicitly teach the MMI coupler is coupled to the plurality of shallow rib waveguides on a first end of the MMI coupler (e.g., fig. 8; Walker teaches just one input at 1st end).
However, MMI couplers with multiple inputs were well known to the skilled artisan at least as evidenced by Parsons (e.g., ¶ 0059; fig. 6) and thus would be obvious to use in a given application (e.g., MPEP §2144.07 Art Recognized Suitability for an Intended Purpose).
Thus, the claim 5 subject matter is rendered as obvious by Walker fig. 8 in light of the above reasoning.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walker (US 20040131310) as applied to claim 1 above with obviousness evidenced by {OEB} Parsons et al. (US 20060056845; “Parsons”) and further OEB Wang et al. (US 20030123796; “Wang”) and/or Menezo (US 20010005438) .
Regarding claim 6, Walker does not explicitly teach a star coupler is coupled to the plurality of shallow rib waveguides {WGs} on a first end of the MMI coupler that also has a plurality of shallow rib WGs on an opposite 2nd end of the star coupler (e.g., fig. 8; Walker teaches just one input at 1st end in an MMI coupler).
However, MMI couplers with multiple inputs were well known to the skilled artisan at least as evidenced by Parsons (e.g., ¶ 0059; fig. 6) and thus would be obvious to use in a given application (e.g., MPEP §2144.07 Art Recognized Suitability for an Intended Purpose).
Moreover, utilizing star couplers as an alternative to MMI couplers was well known [See also: e.g. MPEP §2144.06 Art Recognized Equivalence for the Same Purpose [R-6 >I. < COMBINING EQUIVALENTS KNOWN FOR THE SAME PURPOSE, II. < SUBSTITUTING EQUIVALENTS KNOWN FOR THE SAME PURPOSE and/or MPEP §2144.07 Art Recognized Suitability for an Intended Purpose].
Furthermore, it was also well known for star couplers to have a plurality of input and a plurality of outputs at least as evidenced by Wang (e.g., see Wang claim 10). Therefore, the star coupler as claimed in claim 6 would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL P MOONEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874