DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 76. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “pin that engages with the wall panel” as recited in claim 9 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9, 12-17, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Publication No. 2019/0135161 to Angelow (“Angelow”).
Regarding claim 1, Angelow discloses an expandable structure comprising: a main structure 10; a first expansion section 102, the first expansion section expandable outward in a first direction from the main structure; and walls of the first expansion section are formed from a plurality of wall panels 136, the wall panels 136, in a retracted configuration, are storable in a stacked arrangement (panels 136 are stacked end to end; see Fig. 12).
Regarding claim 2, Angelow discloses that the plurality of wall panels 136, when stacked in the retracted configuration, have planar interior or exterior faces of each wall panel adjacent each other (see Fig. 12; wall panels would be similarly stacked like the floor panels in Fig. 12).
Regarding claim 3, Angelow discloses a second expansion section 202 (expansion section 202 has the same components as expansion section 102) expandable outward in a second direction from the main structure, wherein second expansion section walls are formed from a plurality of second expansion section wall panels 136 that, in a retracted configuration, are storable in a stacked arrangement.
Regarding claim 4, Angelow discloses that the plurality of wall panels 136, in the retracted configuration, are stored in a wall enclosure housing 162, the wall enclosure housing having a slot 166 formed therein for passing each of the plurality of wall panels into and out of the wall enclosure housing.
Regarding claim 5, Angelow discloses that a first wall enclosure housing 162 is used for a first expansion section 102 side wall of the expansion section, and a second wall enclosure housing 162 (in 202) is used for a second expansion section 202 side wall of the expansion section.
Regarding claim 6, Angelow discloses that the first and second wall enclosure housings 162 provide structural support for the main structure (par 0041).
Regarding claim 7, Angelow discloses a first track (170 and 186 along a first side of 102) is extendable outward from the main structure on a first side 102 of the expansion section; and a second track (170 and 186 along a second side of 102) is extendable outward from the main structure on a second side 202 of the expansion section, wherein: the first track 186 engages with a first side deployed one of the plurality of wall panels 136 of the first expansion section side 102 wall as the first side deployed one is moved into a first side deployment position; and the second track 170 engages with a second side deployed one of the plurality of wall panels of the second expansion section 202 side wall as the second side deployed one is moved into a second side deployment position.
Regarding claim 8, Angelow discloses that the first track includes an upper first track 186 and a lower first track 170, engaging with upper and lower portions, respectively, of each of the plurality of wall panels of the first expansion section side wall; and the second track includes an upper second track 186 and a lower second track 170, engaging with upper and lower portions, respectively, of each of the plurality of wall panels of the second expansion section side wall.
Regarding claim 9, Angelow discloses a plurality of wall panel 136 and track adapters 166 disposed along the first track 170 and the second track 170, wherein each of the first and second side deployed ones of the plurality of wall panels include a pin 144 that engages with the wall panel and track adapter as the wall panel is moved into the deployment position.
Regarding claim 12, Angelow discloses that once the first and second deployed ones of the plurality of wall panels 136 are moved out of a slot formed in respective first and second wall enclosure housings by engagement with and movement of the first and second tracks, an additional one of the plurality of wall panels 136 is moved into the deployment position in each of the first and second wall enclosure housings.
Regarding claim 13, Angelow discloses that a side of the first and second deployed ones 136 interconnect with a side of the additional one 136 in each of the first and second wall enclosures as the additional one is moved into the deployment position.
Regarding claim 14, Angelow discloses an expandable structure comprising: a main structure 10; a first expansion section, the first expansion section 102 expandable outward in a first direction from the main structure; and a second expansion section 202 expandable outward in a second direction from the main structure, wherein: first and second side walls of the first expansion section are formed from a plurality of first and second side wall panels 136, the wall panels, in a retracted configuration, are storable in a stacked arrangement (panels 136 are stacked end to end; see Fig. 12); third and fourth side walls of the second expansion section 202 are formed from a plurality of second expansion section third and fourth side wall panels 136 that, in a retracted configuration, are storable in a stacked arrangement (see Fig. 12; expansion section 202 has the same components as expansion section 102); first and second wall enclosure housings 162, 180 holding the plurality of first and second wall panels, respectively, in the retracted configuration; and third and fourth wall enclosure housings 162, 180 holding the plurality of second expansion section third and fourth wall panels, respectively, in the retracted configuration.
Regarding claim 15, Angelow discloses a first track 170 is extendable outward from the main structure on a first side of the first expansion section; a second track 170 is extendable outward from the main structure on a second side of the first expansion section; a third track 186 is extendable outward from the main structure on a first side of the second expansion section; a forth track 186 is extendable outward from the main structure on a second side of the second expansion section, wherein: the first and second tracks engaging with the first and second wall panels 136 when in a deployment position within the first and second wall enclosure housings; the first and second tracks 170, 186 moving the engaged first and second wall panels out of the first and second wall enclosure housings through slits 166 formed therein during expansion of the first expansion section; the third and fourth tracks 170, 186 engaging with the third and fourth second expansion section wall panels 136 when in a deployment position within the third and fourth wall enclosure housings; and the third and fourth tracks moving the engaged third and fourth second expansion section wall panels out of the third and fourth wall enclosure housings through slits 166 formed therein during expansion of the second expansion section.
Regarding claim 16, Angelow discloses that the first and second tracks 170, 186 includes upper first and second tracks 186 and lower first and second tracks 170, each engaging with upper and lower portions, respectively, of each of the first and second wall panels 136 when moved into the deployment position; and the third and fourth tracks 170, 186 includes upper third and fourth tracks 186 and lower third and fourth tracks 170, each engaging with upper and lower portions, respectively, of each the third and fourth wall panels 136 when moved into the deployment position.
Regarding claim 17, Angelow discloses a plurality of wall panel 136 and track adapters 166 disposed along the first, second, third and fourth tracks, wherein each of the first, second, third and fourth wall panels include a pin 144 that engages with the wall panel and track adapter as the first, second, third and fourth wall panels are moved into the deployment position.
Regarding claim 19, Angelow discloses that once first one of the plurality of the first and second side wall panels are moved out of respective first and second wall enclosure housings, additional ones of the plurality of the first and second side wall panels are moved out of respective first and second wall enclosure housings, adjacent respective first ones.
Regarding claim 20, Angelow discloses a side of the first ones 136 interconnect with a side of the additional ones as the additional ones 136 are moved into the deployment position.
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 14(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent No. 5,983,576 to Hanser et al. (“Hanser”).
Regarding claim 1, Hanser discloses an expandable structure comprising: a main structure 12; a first expansion section 10, the first expansion section expandable outward in a first direction from the main structure; and walls of the first expansion section are formed from a plurality of wall panels 16, the wall panels 16, in a retracted configuration, are storable in a stacked arrangement (see Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 2, Hanser discloses that the plurality of wall panels 16, when stacked in the retracted configuration, have planar interior or exterior faces of each wall panel adjacent each other (see Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 4, Hanser discloses that the plurality of wall panels 16, in the retracted configuration, are stored in a wall enclosure housing 16-6, the wall enclosure housing having a slot (opening on one end of 16-6 from which panels 16 extend; see Fig. 10) formed therein for passing each of the plurality of wall panels into and out of the wall enclosure housing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 5, 6, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hanser.
Regarding claim 3, Hanser does not disclose a second expansion section expandable outward in a second direction from the main structure, wherein second expansion section walls are formed from a plurality of second expansion section wall panels that, in a retracted configuration, are storable in a stacked arrangement. It has been held that a mere duplication of parts, such as the duplication of the first expansion section to have a second expansion section with the same parts, has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. A duplication of parts is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 5, Hanser discloses that a first wall enclosure housing 16-6 is used for a first expansion section 10 side wall of the expansion section, but does not disclose a second wall enclosure housing is used for a second expansion section side wall of the expansion section.
It has been held that a mere duplication of parts, such as the duplication of the first expansion section to have a second expansion section with the same parts, has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. A duplication of parts is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1955). The claims dependent of claim 5 will refer to the same reference numbers for the first and second expansion sections due to the second expansion section having the same parts as the first expansion section.
Regarding claim 6, Hanser discloses that the first and second wall enclosure housings 16-6 provide structural support for the main structure.
Regarding claim 14, Hanser discloses an expandable structure comprising: a main structure 12; a first expansion section, the first expansion section 10 expandable outward in a first direction from the main structure; wherein: first and second side walls 16, 18 of the first expansion section are formed from a plurality of first and second side wall panels 16-1 to 16-5 and 18-1 to 18-5; the wall panels, in a retracted configuration, are storable in a stacked arrangement (see Fig. 8); first and second wall enclosure housings 16-6, 18-6 holding the plurality of first and second wall panels, respectively, in the retracted configuration.
Hanser does not disclose a second expansion section expandable outward in a second direction from the main structure; third and fourth side walls of the second expansion section are formed from a plurality of second expansion section third and fourth side wall panels that, in a retracted configuration, are storable in a stacked arrangement; and third and fourth wall enclosure housings holding the plurality of second expansion section third and fourth wall panels, respectively, in the retracted configuration.
It has been held that a mere duplication of parts, such as the duplication of the first expansion section to have a second expansion section with the same parts, has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. A duplication of parts is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1955). The claims dependent of claim 14 will refer to the same reference numbers for the first and second expansion sections due to the second expansion section having the same parts as the first expansion section. As a result of duplicating the first expansion section, the Hanser discloses a second expansion section 10 expandable outward in a second direction from the main structure; third and fourth side walls 16, 18 of the second expansion section are formed from a plurality of second expansion section third and fourth side wall panels 16-1 to 16-5 and 18-1 to 18-5 that, in a retracted configuration, are storable in a stacked arrangement; and third and fourth wall enclosure housings holding the plurality of second expansion section third and fourth wall panels, respectively, in the retracted configuration.
Claim(s) 10, 11, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Angelow in view of Hanser.
Regarding claim 10, 11, and 18, Hanser does not disclose actuators or a pair of actuators provided on opposite sides of the wall enclosure housing, the actuators moving wall panels disposed therein between the deployment position and a storage position.
Hanser discloses a pair of actuators (Hanser 44; col 4, ln 37-42), the actuators moving wall panels disposed therein between the deployment position and a storage position.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the expandable structure of Angelow to have a pair of actuators provided on opposite sides of the wall enclosure housing, the actuators moving wall panels disposed therein between the deployment position and a storage position as taught in Hanser with a reasonable expectation of success because it would provide an automatic means deploying and collapsing the expandable section. Moreover it has been held that a mere duplication of parts, such as the duplication of the actuators on sides of the wall, has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. A duplication of parts is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1955).
Conclusion
/CHRISTINE T CAJILIG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3633