DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
As required by M.P.E.P. 609(c), the Applicant's submissions of the Information Disclosure Statement is acknowledged by the examiner and the cited references have been considered in the examination of the claims now pending. As required by M.P.E.P. 609 C(2), a copy of the PTOL-1449 initialed and dated by the examiner is attached to the instant office action.
Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement has been received, entered into the record, and considered. See attached form PTO-1449.
Restriction Remarks
Claims 1-30 are pending.
Claims 25-28 and 30 are withdrawn as of January 8, 2026, with traverse.
Claims 1-24 and 29 are examined.
This application contains 25-28 and 30 are drawn to an invention nonelected without traverse in the reply filed on January 8, 2026. A complete reply to the final rejection must include cancellation of nonelected claims or other appropriate action (37 CFR 1.144) See MPEP § 821.01.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancellation of claims 25-28 and 30 to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be amended in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(b) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. Any amendment of inventorship must be accompanied by a request under 37 CFR 1.48(b) and by the fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancellation of claims 25-28 and 30 to a non-elected invention with Applicant’s amendment and response to this Non-final office action.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10, 16-17 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Elshafie et al., (US Publication No. 20250330909 A1 and Elshafie hereinafter).
The applied reference has a common inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Regarding Claims 1 and 29, Elshafie teaches an apparatus for wireless communications, comprising a processing system that includes one or more processors and one or more memories coupled with the one or more processors, the processing system configured to cause a user equipment (UE) to:
receive, via a first receiver of the UE (Figures 1 and 3, whole figures) infra:
while in an active mode, first downlink control information (DCI) that by a second receiver of the UE (Figure 3, whole figure) infra:
and (i.e., The UL transmission is processed at the base station 310 in a manner similar to that described in connection with the receiver function at the UE 350. Each receiver 318RX receives a signal through its respective antenna 320. Each receiver 318RX recovers information modulated onto an RF carrier and provides the information to a RX processor 370) Para [0074] to monitor for a wake-up signal (WUS) (i.e., a second wakeup receiver circuit 914, a first antenna 916, and a second antenna 918. In some aspects, the first radio circuit 906 may enable wireless communication using resources of a mobile network (e.g., a 5G NR network, an LTE network, etc.) or other type of network (e.g., a local area network (LAN), such as a Wi-Fi network). The second radio circuit 908 may enable wireless communication with a passive device (also referred to as a passive communication device). For example, the passive device may be an RFID tag. The first and second wakeup receiver circuits 912, 914 may be a low power wakeup receiver circuits) Para [0108], wherein the WUS is associated with a first discontinuous reception (DRX) ON duration configured for the first receiver (i.e., receives the first wakeup signal 938 at the first antenna 916 prior to an active time of a DRX cycle of the first radio circuit 906, the first wakeup receiver circuit 912 may provide the first wakeup signal 938 to the processing circuit 910 via the data path 932. The processing circuit 910 may provide the first wakeup signal 938 to the first radio circuit 906 via the data path 920. The first radio circuit 906 may wake up (e.g., transition to an awake mode) in response to the first wakeup signal 938 during the active time of the DRX cycle of the first radio circuit 906) Para [0112]; and in response to reception of the first DCI: transition, by the first receiver, from the active mode to an inactive mode (i.e., The wakeup signal 1034 may allow the first radio circuit 1006 to wake up (e.g., transition to an awake mode) during the active time of the DRX cycle of the first radio circuit 1006 and may allow the second radio circuit 1008 to wake up (e.g., transition to an awake mode) during the active time of the DRX cycle of the second radio circuit 1008) Para [0122] and (i.e., UE 904 receives the first wakeup signal 938 at the first antenna 916 prior to an active time of a DRX cycle of the first radio circuit 906, the first wakeup receiver circuit 912 may provide the first wakeup signal 938 to the processing circuit 910 via the data path 932. The processing circuit 910 may provide the first wakeup signal 938 to the first radio circuit 906 via the data path 920. The first radio circuit 906 may wake up (e.g., transition to an awake mode) in response to the first wakeup signal 938 during the active time of the DRX cycle of the first radio circuit 906) Para [0122] and (i.e., DRX mode based on a first DRX mode configuration. If the UE 1004 receives the wakeup signal 1034 at the antenna 1014 prior to an active time of a DRX cycle of the first radio circuit 1006 and the wakeup indication in the wakeup signal 1034 is set to the first value (e.g., ‘00’), the wakeup receiver circuit 1012 may provide the wakeup signal 1034 to the first radio circuit 1006 via the data path 1026. The wakeup signal 1034 may allow the first radio circuit 1006 to wake up (e.g., transition to an awake mode) during the active time of the DRX cycle) Para [0120] (Examiner asserts that the wakeup signal infers that a transition from inactive to active and active to inactive is well understood in the art. In order for an inactive state to occur there, should be an active mode or state that transitions to an inactive mode. Wakeup means to cease sleeping and go into an active state, such as an engaged state, or from active state into an inactive state); transition, by the second receiver, from the inactive mode to the active mode (i.e., The wakeup signal 1034 may allow the first radio circuit 1006 to wake up (e.g., transition to an awake mode) during the active time of the DRX cycle of the first radio circuit 1006 and may allow the second radio circuit 1008 to wake up (e.g., transition to an awake mode) during the active time of the DRX cycle of the second radio circuit 1008) Para [0122]; and monitor, by the second receiver while in the active mode (i.e., a DRX active time of the first radio circuit 1006 (e.g., the DRX active time 1108) may be non-overlapping with a DRX active time of the second radio circuit 1008 (e.g., the DRX active time 1188). In this example, the wakeup receiver circuit 1012 may monitor for separate wakeup signals (e.g., during different DRX cycles or paging cycles of the first and second radio circuits 1006, 1008), where each wakeup signal is associated with a certain radio circuit (e.g., the first radio circuit 1006 or the second radio circuit 1008).) Para [0128]-[0129], for the WUS during a WUS monitoring duration (i.e., first UE 1204 has the capability to concurrently operate both its first radio (e.g., the first radio circuit 906, 1006) and its second radio (e.g., the second radio circuit 908, 1008) and the first UE 1204 receives both the first and second wakeup signals 1318, 1320, it should be understood that both the first radio (e.g., the first radio circuit 906, 1006) and the second radio (e.g., the second radio circuit 908, 1008) of the first UE 1204 may transition to the awake mode) Para [0167].
Regarding Claim 2, Elshafie teaches wherein the first receiver comprises a main receiver of the apparatus (i.e., first UE 702, a second UE 704, and a passive communication device 706 ) Para [0097], and the second receiver comprises a low power wake up receiver (LP-WUR) of the apparatus (i.e., a UE, the passive communication device 706 may serve as a second radio (e.g., relative to the main radio 709) of the UE. In these aspects, the UE may use the passive communication device 706 to communicate during low power state conditions of the UE, or based on scheduling from a network node (e.g., a base station) or a controlling unit) Para [0098].
Regarding Claim 3, Elshafie teaches wherein a format of the DCI comprises of 2_6 format (i.e., slot formats 2-61 include a mix of DL, UL, and flexible symbols. UEs are configured with the slot format (dynamically through DL control information (DCI), or semi-statically/statically through radio resource control (RRC) signaling) through a received slot format indicator (SFI). Note that the description infra applies also to a 5G/NR frame structure that is TDD) Para [0061]
Regarding Claim 4, Elshafie teaches detect, by the second receiver, the WUS; transition, by the second receiver, from the active mode to the inactive mode Para [0122]; transition, by the first receiver, from the inactive mode to the active mode Para [0122]; [ 0128-0129]; and monitor, by the first receiver while in the active mode, for one or more transmissions during the first DRX ON duration Para [0074]; [0122]; [ 0128]-[0129].
Regarding Claim 5, Elshafie teaches receive the first DCI in a first occasion associated with a first search space set group; and monitor, by the first receiver while in the active mode, for the one or more transmissions in the first search space set group (i.e., a single wakeup signal configuration including an RNTI, a search space, etc. common to both the first and second radio circuits 1006, 1008. In some examples, the single wakeup signal may include the previously described wakeup indication (e.g., a two-bit value) which may indicate the radio circuit to be awakened (e.g., the wakeup indication may be used to wake up the first radio circuit 1006, the second radio circuit 1008, or both the first and second radio circuits 1006 and 1008). In some examples, the single wakeup signal may include a timing for waking up one or both of the first and second radio circuits) Para [0126].
Regarding Claim 6, Elshafie teaches the WUS comprises a plurality of bits,at least one of the plurality of bits (i.e., during a sampling period represents information bit ‘1’ (e.g., by switching ON the reflection of the signal h.sub.D1_T(n) 716), and each of the dashed portions of the waveform (e.g., portions 856, 860) during a sampling period represents information bit ‘0’ (e.g., by switching OFF the reflection of the signal h.sub.D1_T(n) 716). It should be noted that the waveform in FIG. 8B may be expressed as σ.sub.f.Math.h.sub.D1_T(n).Math.h.sub.T_D2(n).Math.s(n) ) Para [0103] indicates a search space set group, and the processing system is configured to cause the UE to the WUS comprises a plurality of bits,at least one of the plurality of bits indicates a search space set group, monitor, by the first receiver while in the active mode, for the one or more transmissions in the search space set group indicated in the WUS (i.e., a search space, etc. common to both the first and second radio circuits 1006, 1008. In some examples, the single wakeup signal may include the previously described wakeup indication (e.g., a two-bit value) which may indicate the radio circuit to be awakened (e.g., the wakeup indication may be used to wake up the first radio circuit 1006, the second radio circuit 1008, or both the first and second radio circuits 1006 and 1008). In some examples, the single wakeup signal may include a timing for waking up one or both of the first and second radio circuits 1006, 1008. In some examples, the single wakeup signal may include any information needed for operation of one or both of the first and second radio circuits) Para [0126].
Regarding Claim 7, Elshafie teaches start the WUS monitoring duration and begin to monitor, by the second receiver, for the WUS at an offset from: a last symbol of the received first DCI, a predefined slot, or a reference point in time (i.e., subframe 4 being configured with slot format 28 (with mostly DL), where D is DL, U is UL, and X is flexible for use between DL/UL, and subframe 3 being configured with slot format 34 (with mostly UL). While subframes 3, 4 are shown with slot formats 34, 28, respectively, any particular subframe may be configured with any of the various available slot formats 0-61. Slot formats 0, 1 are all DL, UL, respectively. Other slot formats 2-61 include a mix of DL, UL, and flexible symbols. UEs are configured with the slot format (dynamically through DL control information (DCI), or semi-statically/statically through radio resource control (RRC) signaling) through a received slot format indicator (SFI). Note that the description infra applies also to a 5G/NR frame structure that is TDD. ) Para [0061].
Regarding Claim 8, Elshafie teaches receive an indication of the offset via:radio resource control (RRC) signaling; a medium access control control element (MAC-CE); or a second DCI Para [0061].
Regarding Claim 9, Elshafie teaches wherein the first DCI comprises an indication of the offset (i.e., wakeup signal 1034 may include a wakeup indication that can be used to wake up the first radio circuit 1006, the second radio circuit 1008, or both the first and second radio circuits 1006 and 1008. In one example, the wakeup indication may be a two-bit value. The wakeup receiver circuit 1012 may be configured to wake up the first radio circuit 1006 when the wakeup indication in the wakeup signal 1034 is set to a first value (e.g., ‘00’), wake up the second radio circuit 1008 when the wakeup indication in the wakeup signal 1034 is set to a second value (e.g., ‘01’), or wake up both the first and second radio circuits 1006, 1008 when the wakeup indication in the wakeup signal 1034 is set to a third value (e.g., ‘10’)) Para [0119].
Regarding Claim 10, Elshafie teaches receive an indication of the WUS monitoring duration for the second receiver to monitor for the WUS (i.e., The subcarrier spacing and symbol length/duration are a function of the numerology. The subcarrier spacing may be equal to 2.sup.μ*15 kKz, where μ is the numerology 0 to 5. As such, the numerology μ=0 has a subcarrier spacing of 15 kHz and the numerology μ=5 has a subcarrier spacing of 480 kHz. The symbol length/duration is inversely related to the subcarrier spacing. FIGS. 2A-2D provide an example of slot configuration 0 with 14 symbols per slot and numerology μ=0 with 1 slot per subframe. The subcarrier spacing is 15 kHz and symbol duration is approximately 66.7 μs) Para [0062] .
Regarding Claim 16, Elshafie teaches receive the first DCI in a first occasion associated with a first WUS monitoring configuration; and monitor, by the second receiver while in the active mode, for the WUS according to in accordance with the first WUS monitoring configuration (i.e., first wakeup receiver circuit 912. The first wakeup receiver circuit 912 may communicate with the first radio circuit 906 via the data path 930. The second antenna 918 is coupled to the second radio circuit 908 and the second wakeup receiver circuit 914. The second wakeup receiver circuit 914 may communicate with the second radio circuit 908 via the data path 934.) Para [0109] and Para [0111-0112].
Regarding Claim 17, Elshafie teaches wherein the first WUS monitoring configuration comprises at least one of: an indication of a start time for the WUS monitoring duration when the second receiver is to begin to monitor for the WUS, an indication of an amount of time for the WUS monitoring duration, or an interval between WUS monitoring occasions to monitor for the WUS (i.e., receives the first wakeup signal 938 at the first antenna 916 prior to an active time of a DRX cycle of the first radio circuit 906, the first wakeup receiver circuit 912 may provide the first wakeup signal 938 to the processing circuit 910 via the data path 932. The processing circuit 910 may provide the first wakeup signal 938 to the first radio circuit 906 via the data path 920. The first radio circuit 906 may wake up (e.g., transition to an awake mode) in response to the first wakeup signal 938 during the active time). Para [0112]
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-15, 18 and 19-24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner's statement of reasons for allowance:
In regards to dependent Claim 11, BRI (broadest reasonable interpretation) in light of the specification, Examiner finds the claimed invention is patentably distinct from the prior art of record, which sets forth in the following:
Elshafie et al., (US Publication No. 20250330909 A1 and Elshafie hereinafter) relates to discloses wireless communication including a first radio and a second radio is provided. The apparatus powers OFF the first radio when the second radio is to be used for one or more wireless communications. The first radio enables communication using resources associated with a mobile network and the second radio enables communication with a passive communication device. The apparatus communicates using the second radio while the first radio is powered OFF.
However, Elshafie fails to show “ determine, by the second receiver, that the WUS was not detected during the WUS monitoring duration; and based on the determination that the WUS was not detected during the WUS monitoring duration: transition, by the second receiver, from the active mode to the inactive mode; transition, by the first receiver, from the inactive mode to the active mode; and monitor, by the first receiver while in the active mode, for one or more transmissions during the first DRX ON duration ”.
In regards to dependent Claim 15, BRI (broadest reasonable interpretation) in light of the specification, Examiner finds the claimed invention is patentably distinct from the prior art of record, which sets forth in the following:
Elshafie et al., (US Publication No. 20250330909 A1 and Elshafie hereinafter) relates to discloses wireless communication including a first radio and a second radio is provided. The apparatus powers OFF the first radio when the second radio is to be used for one or more wireless communications. The first radio enables communication using resources associated with a mobile network and the second radio enables communication with a passive communication device. The apparatus communicates using the second radio while the first radio is powered OFF.
However, Elshafie fails to show, “determine, by the second receiver, that the second receiver will be unable to detect the WUS prior to a termination of the WUS monitoring duration; and based on the determination that the second receiver will be unable to detect the WUS prior to a termination of the WUS monitoring duration: transition, by the second receiver, from the active mode to the inactive mode; transition, by the first receiver, from the inactive mode to the active mode; and monitor, by the first receiver while in the active mode, for one or more transmissions during the first DRX ON duration”
In regards to dependent Claim 18, BRI (broadest reasonable interpretation) in light of the specification, Examiner finds the claimed invention is patentably distinct from the prior art of record, which sets forth in the following:
Elshafie et al., (US Publication No. 20250330909 A1 and Elshafie hereinafter) relates to discloses wireless communication including a first radio and a second radio is provided. The apparatus powers OFF the first radio when the second radio is to be used for one or more wireless communications. The first radio enables communication using resources associated with a mobile network and the second radio enables communication with a passive communication device. The apparatus communicates using the second radio while the first radio is powered OFF.
However, Elshafie fails to show, “determine, by the second receiver, that the WUS was not detected during the WUS monitoring duration; and based on the determination that the WUS was not detected during the WUS monitoring duration: transition, by the second receiver, from the active mode to the inactive mode; transition, by the first receiver, from the inactive mode to the active mode; and transmit, by the first receiver while in the active mode, feedback indicating an inability of the apparatus to detect the WUS during the WUS monitoring duration”.
In regards to dependent Claim 19, BRI (broadest reasonable interpretation) in light of the specification, Examiner finds the claimed invention is patentably distinct from the prior art of record, which sets forth in the following:
Elshafie et al., (US Publication No. 20250330909 A1 and Elshafie hereinafter) relates to discloses wireless communication including a first radio and a second radio is provided. The apparatus powers OFF the first radio when the second radio is to be used for one or more wireless communications. The first radio enables communication using resources associated with a mobile network and the second radio enables communication with a passive communication device. The apparatus communicates using the second radio while the first radio is powered OFF.
However, Elshafie fails to show, “the WUS monitoring duration includes two or more first noncontiguous intervals, each respective first noncontiguous interval is associated with a respective set of WUS monitoring occasions, the first DRX ON duration is separated into two or more second noncontiguous intervals, each respective second noncontiguous interval is associated with a respective set of physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring occasions, each of the first noncontiguous intervals does not overlap in time with each of the second noncontiguous intervals, and each respective first noncontiguous interval is associated with one of the second noncontiguous intervals later in time than the respective first noncontiguous interval”.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Elshafie et al., (US Publication No. 20250330909 A1 and Elshafie), “Operation of a user equipment including multiple radios” (October 23, 2025). Elshafie discloses wireless communication including a first radio and a second radio is provided. The apparatus may be a UE. The apparatus powers OFF the first radio when the second radio is to be used for one or more wireless communications. The first radio enables communication using resources associated with a mobile network and the second radio enables communication with a passive communication device. The apparatus communicates using the second radio while the first radio is powered OFF.
Communication
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.qov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll free).
/DIANE D MIZRAHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647
Diane.Mizrahi@USPTO.gov