DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-16 are rejected.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 12: “the water inlet the water outlet and the pipes” in line 1 should be replaced with --the water inlet, the water outlet and the pipes--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the conical tubular member" in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 7, 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Richardson (US 2015/0202579).
With respect to claims 1 and 11, Richardson discloses a bio-reactor, as shown in Fig. 9, including the method steps of: scrubbing air to remove carbon dioxide volume therefrom (see paragraph 0082); passing water through a pump/vane assembly 70 (conical tubular apparatus) (see Figs. 1A, 4, 7, pipe/vane assembly is conical and tubular), as shown in Fig. 9, the conical tubular apparatus 70 having a water inlet at a top end thereof and a water outlet at a bottom end thereof, as shown in Fig. 1 (see direction of flow), the top end being the narrow most portion of the conical tubular apparatus, as shown in Fig. 1A; introducing carbon dioxide into the conical tubular apparatus 70 adjacent the top end, as shown in Fig. 9 (see paragraph 0063, carbon dioxide is added through hose 69); and flowing the water through the conical tubular member to dissolve the carbon dioxide into the water as a carbon dioxide enhanced outflow (see paragraphs 0063-0064); and passing the carbon dioxide enhanced outflow through pipes 76, 88, as shown in Fig. 9.
With respect to claims 2 and 12, Richardson discloses wherein the water inlet, the water outlet and the pipes 76, 78, are part of a closed system, as shown in Fig. 9.
With respect to claim 7, Richardson discloses adjusting a pH of a water sample by adding the carbon dioxide enhanced outflow thereto (see paragraph 0087).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 3, 5-6 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102((a)(1)) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Richardson (US 2015/0202579).
With respect to claims 3, 5-6 and 13, Richardson discloses passing the carbon dioxide enhanced outflow through a pipe 76, as shown in Fig. 9, to control algae and bacteria (see paragraph 0062). Richardson does not disclose to act as a molluscicide for control of dreissenid mussels; wherein the dreissenid mussels include zebra and quagga mussels or any other invasive or undesirable aquatic organisms; and passing the carbon dioxide enhanced outflow through a pipe to cause mortality and reduce in a rate of veliger byssogenesis of dreissenid mussels. However, this would be inherent and/or obvious since what the claims require is a carbon dioxide enhanced water flow passing through a pipe to control undesired aquatic life or organisms, and Richardson teaches this step, therefore, it is inherent and/or obvious that the carbon dioxide enhanced water flow passing through the pipe disclosed by Richardson is capable of accomplishing the claimed results of acting as a molluscicide for control of dreissenid mussels including zebra and quagga mussels or any other invasive or undesirable aquatic organisms.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 8-10 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Richardson (US 2015/0202579).
With respect to claims 4 and 14, Richardson discloses wherein the pipe 76 is part of a water delivery infrastructure, as shown in Fig. 9. Richardson lacks the being part of a hydropower generation infrastructure. However, this would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, in order to use the system disclosed by Richardson to generate power in a manner that is safer to the environment, and since one of ordinary skill would recognize to use the system according to a desired application, and Richardson already suggests to use the system for environmental applications (see paragraphs 0059-0065).
With respect to claim 8, Richardson lacks wherein the water sample is water from a lime softening process after settling of a precipitate. However, this would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the system of Richardson according to a desired application and Richardson already suggests to use the system for environmental applications (see paragraphs 0059-0065).
With respect to claims 9 and 15, Richardson lacks sequestering the carbon dioxide enhanced outflow into an injection well for storage. However, Richardson teaches that the water outflow exiting through pipe 88 goes into a field or a tanker truck (see paragraph 0065). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to store the outflow in an injection well, as claimed by applicant, since one of ordinary skill would recognize to choose a desired storage according to a desired application, and Richardson already suggests storage of the outflow (see paragraph 0065).
With respect to claim 10, Richardson lacks introducing the carbon dioxide enhanced outflow into a portion of a body of water to prevent or inhibit migration of Asian carp or any other invasive or undesirable aquatic organisms therethrough. However, Richardson teaches that the carbon dioxide enhanced outflow can be introduced into a field or a tanker truck (see paragraph 0065). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the outflow disclosed by Richardson to control undesirable aquatic organisms in a body of water, as claimed by applicant, since one of ordinary skill would recognize to use the system of Richardson according to a desired application and Richardson already suggests to use the system for environmental applications (see paragraphs 0059-0065).
With respect to claim 16, Richardson discloses passing the carbon dioxide enhanced outflow into the conical tubular apparatus 70 to further increase a concentration of carbon dioxide in the water, as shown in Fig. 9 (see paragraph 0063).
Conclusion
/MADELINE GONZALEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773