DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant's amendment filed on 17 April 2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 14, 17, 25, 34, 36, 41, and 43 have been amended. No claims have been cancelled. No claims have been added. Claims 1-46 are still pending in this application, with claims 1, 17, 25, 36, 41 and 43 being independent. The drawing objections set forth in the previous final office action mailed 13 February 2026 are overcome by Applicant’s amendments. The 112 rejections set forth in the previous final office action mailed 13 February 2026 are overcome by Applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 13-14, 16-21, 23-26, and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jacobs et al. (US 2009/0290332 A1, herein referred to as: Jacobs), in view of Kammerer (DE 202017001055 U1).
Regarding claim 1, Jacobs teaches or suggests a light system (Figs. 1-6, paragraphs [0001]-[0092]), comprising at least one light element (13, 14) and a mounting pad (12 or 80), wherein the light element comprises: a light-emitting unit (20), configured to emit light (paragraph [0058]); an attachment unit (the “…a corresponding positioning element provided on the light module 13…,” as described in paragraph [0057]), configured to attach the light element (13, 14) to any position (16) on a mounting surface (the surface of 12 having the plurality of 16 thereon) on which the light element is mounted (as shown in Fig. 1); a wireless electric-power receiving unit (26, 56), configured to receive electric power for driving the light element on the mounting surface by means of wireless electric-power transmission (paragraphs [0059]-[0060]); and a light-emitting unit power supply circuit (34, 36, 32, 34, 66), connected to the wireless electric-power receiving unit (as shown in Figs. 1-6) and the light-emitting unit (20) and configured to transmit the electric power received by the wireless electric-power receiving unit (26, 56) to the light-emitting unit (as shown in Figs. 1-6 and as described in paragraphs [0053]-[0092]); wherein the mounting pad (12, 80) comprises: a mounting area (16), provided with the mounting surface on which the light element is mounted (as shown in Fig. 1); and a wireless electric-power transmitting unit (18, 30, 32) comprising at least one or more coils (18) being disposed within a predetermined portion of the mounting area (as shown in Fig. 1); wherein when the light element (13, 14) is located within the predetermined portion of the mounting area (as shown in Fig. 1, the light element 13, 14 is located within the predetermined portion of the mounting area), the wireless electric-power transmitting unit is configured to transmit the electric power (via 18) from the predetermined portion of the mounting area to the wireless electric-power receiving unit (26, 56) of the light element (13, 14) on the mounting surface by means of wireless electric-power transmission (as described in paragraphs [0053]-[0092]).
Jacobs does not explicitly teach that the light element is operable to receive wireless electric power when mounted at any position within the predetermined area.
Kammerer teaches or suggests the light element (3, 4, 5) is operable to receive wireless electric power when mounted at any position within the predetermined area (e.g., “...light units within the surface of the transmitting coil or a certain distance above or below it can be freely positioned and need neither cable, rail systems or the like nor batteries or batteries to operate...,” and thus, the light element (3, 4, 5) is operable to receive wireless electric power when mounted at any position within the predetermined area defined by, e.g., the coil 1b).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the device of Jacobs and incorporated the teachings of the light element is operable to receive wireless electric power when mounted at any position within the predetermined area, such as taught or suggested by Kammerer, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to yield the predictable result of increasing the utility and/or marketability of the device (e.g., by providing a configuration or embodiment in which the lighting devices can be placed freely at any position, or in any arrangement desired by the user, within the predetermined area).
Regarding claim 2, Jacobs teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-6, paragraphs [0001]-[0092]) the at least one light element (13, 14) is mounted on the mounting surface so as to form characters or patterns (as shown in Fig. 1, and as described in paragraphs [0001]-[0092]).
Regarding claim 3, Jacobs teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-6, paragraphs [0001]-[0092]) the light element further comprises a light-emitting control unit (not shown, the controller corresponding to the light element 13, 14; as described in paragraphs [0034]-[0035] and [0081]-[0082]), and the light-emitting control unit is configured to control the light-emitting unit to emit light according to a light-emitting control signal for controlling a light-emitting mode of the light-emitting unit (e.g., a mode corresponding to a control signal comprising information of a color, on/off of respective light-emitting units 20 of 13, 14, as described in paragraphs [0034]-[0035] and [0081]-[0082]).
Regarding claim 4, Jacobs teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-6, paragraphs [0001]-[0092]) the light-emitting control unit (not shown, the controller corresponding to the light element 13, 14; as described in paragraphs [0034]-[0035] and [0081]-[0082]) is configured to generate the light-emitting control signal for controlling the light-emitting mode of the light-emitting unit (the control signal received in the light emitting control unit wirelessly from by the base controller contains information regarding which of the light-emitting units 20 should be switched on or off, information about the color, etc. Therefore, upon receipt of the signal, the controller must at least communicate with the appropriate switches and/or driving components of the light emitting control unit to enact the mode that has been communicated by the controller of the base unit, thereby generating the light emitting control signal for controlling the light-emitting mode of the light-emitting unit).
Regarding claim 5, Jacobs teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-6, paragraphs [0001]-[0092]) the light element (13, 14) further comprises: a wireless communication unit (e.g., 26, as noted in paragraphs [0034]-[0035], or a wireless communication unit corresponding to any of the wireless communication modules described in paragraphs [0081]-[0082]), configured to receive the light-emitting control signal (e.g., from the controller of the base unit 14) by means of wireless communication (as described in paragraphs [0034]-[0035] and [0081]-[0082]), and transmit the light-emitting control signal to the light-emitting control unit (the control signal received in the light emitting control unit wirelessly from by the base controller contains information regarding which of the light-emitting units 20 should be switched on or off, information about the color, etc. Therefore, upon receipt of the signal, the controller must at least communicate with the appropriate switches and/or driving components of the light emitting control unit to enact the mode that has been communicated by the controller of the base unit, thereby transmitting the light-emitting control signal to the light-emitting control unit); and the mounting pad (12 or 80) further comprises: a wireless control unit (not shown, the controller corresponding to the mounting pad or base 12, 80; as described in paragraphs [0034]-[0035] and [0081]-[0082]), configured to transmit the light-emitting control signal to the wireless communication unit of the light element by means of wireless communication (as described in paragraphs [0034]-[0035] and [0081]-[0082]).
Regarding claim 13, Jacobs teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-6, paragraphs [0001]-[0092]) the attachment unit comprises at least one of a magnetic apparatus or a double-sided tape (as described in paragraph [0057]).
Regarding claim 14, Jacobs teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-6, paragraphs [0001]-[0092]) the wireless electric-power transmitting unit (18, 30, 32) of the mounting pad (12, 80) comprises at least one wireless electric-power transmitting main coil (18) of the one or more coils disposed in the mounting area (as shown in Fig. 1); and the wireless electric-power receiving unit (26, 56) of the light element (13, 14) comprises at least one wireless electric-power receiving secondary coil (26, as shown in Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 16, Jacobs teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-6, paragraphs [0001]-[0092]) the light-emitting unit has at least one of the following plurality of light-emitting modes: emitting light with a single color; emitting light with a plurality of colors; and emitting light with changeable colors (as described in paragraph [0035], the controllers of each of the mounting pad and light element communicate information about color, and thus, reasonably implies emitting light of a single color, or multiple colors thereof. Additionally, as the controller described in paragraphs [0034]-[0035] and [0081]-[0082] can control which 20 is activated to not, or which array of 20 is activated or not, the light emitting unit has a mode capable of changeable colors).
Regarding claim 17, Jacobs teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-6, paragraphs [0001]-[0092]) a light element (13, 14), comprising: a light-emitting unit (20), configured to emit light (paragraph [0058]); an attachment unit (the attachment unit corresponding to the light element 13,14, as described in paragraph [0057]), configured to attach the light element to any position on a mounting surface having a mounting area (as shown in Fig. 1) on which the light element is mounted (as shown in Fig. 1); a wireless electric-power receiving unit (26, 56), configured to receive electric power for driving the light element (13, 14) by means of wireless electric-power transmission (as described in paragraphs [0053]-[0092]); and a light-emitting unit power supply circuit (34, 36, 32, 34, 66), connected to the wireless electric-power receiving unit (26, 56) and the light-emitting unit (20) and configured to transmit the electric power received by the wireless electric-power receiving unit to the light-emitting unit (as described in paragraphs [0053]-[0092]); wherein, when the light element (13, 14) is located within a predetermined portion of the mounting area (as shown in Fig. 1) in which a wireless electric-power transmitting unit (18, 30, 32) comprising at least one or more coils (18) disposed within, the wireless electric-power transmitting unit is configured to transmit the electric power (via 18) from the predetermined portion of the mounting area to the wireless electric-power receiving unit (26, 56) of the light element (13, 14) on the mounting surface by means of wireless electric-power transmission (as described in paragraphs [0053]-[0092]).
Jacobs does not explicitly teach that the light element is operable to receive wireless electric power when mounted at any position within the predetermined area.
Kammerer teaches or suggests the light element (3, 4, 5) is operable to receive wireless electric power when mounted at any position within the predetermined area (e.g., “...light units within the surface of the transmitting coil or a certain distance above or below it can be freely positioned and need neither cable, rail systems or the like nor batteries or batteries to operate...,” and thus, the light element (3, 4, 5) is operable to receive wireless electric power when mounted at any position within the predetermined area defined by, e.g., the coil 1b).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the device of Jacobs and incorporated the teachings of the light element is operable to receive wireless electric power when mounted at any position within the predetermined area, such as taught or suggested by Kammerer, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to yield the predictable result of increasing the utility and/or marketability of the device (e.g., by providing a configuration or embodiment in which the lighting devices can be placed freely at any position, or in any arrangement desired by the user, within the predetermined area).
Regarding claim 18, Jacobs teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-6, paragraphs [0001]-[0092]) at least one light element (13, 14) is mounted on the mounting surface so as to form characters or patterns (as shown in Fig. 1, and as described in paragraphs [0001]-[0092]).
Regarding claim 19, Jacobs teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-6, paragraphs [0001]-[0092]) the light element (13, 14) further comprises a light-emitting control unit (not shown, the controller corresponding to the light element 13, 14; as described in paragraphs [0034]-[0035] and [0081]-[0082]), and the light-emitting control unit is configured to control the light-emitting unit (20) to emit light according to a light-emitting control signal for controlling a light-emitting mode of the light-emitting unit (e.g., a mode corresponding to color, on/off of respective elements 20 of 13, 14, received in information via 26, and/or from any of the wireless communication modules recited in paragraphs [0081]-[0082]).
Regarding claim 20, Jacobs teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-6, paragraphs [0001]-[0092]) the light-emitting control unit (not shown, the controller corresponding to the light element 13, 14; as described in paragraphs [0034]-[0035] and [0081]-[0082]) is configured to generate the light-emitting control signal for controlling the light-emitting mode of the light-emitting unit (the information wirelessly communicated to the light element comprising color information, on/off of respective elements 20 of 13, 14 information, must be used by the light emitting control unit to implement the mode corresponding to said information. Thus, the light emitting control unit must generate the light emitting control signal for controlling the light emitting mode upon receiving and processing the wirelessly communicated information).
Regarding claim 21, Jacobs teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-6, paragraphs [0001]-[0092]) the light element further comprises: a wireless communication unit (the antenna 26 of 13, 14, or any of the units recited in paragraph [0082]), configured to receive the light-emitting control signal by means of wireless communication (as described in paragraphs [0034]-[0035] and [0081]-[0082], e.g., from the control unit of said base or mounting pad 12), and transmit the light-emitting control signal to the light-emitting control unit (as described in paragraphs [0034]-[0035] and [0081]-[0082], e.g., via 34, 36 so that the controller controls on/off of elements 20, and/or a color according to the provided color or on/off information).
Regarding claim 23, Jacobs teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-6, paragraphs [0001]-[0092]) the wireless electric-power receiving unit of the light element (13, 14) comprises at least one wireless electric-power receiving secondary coil (26).
Regarding claim 24, Jacobs teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-6, paragraphs [0001]-[0092]) the light element (13, 14) further comprises an electric-power storage unit (66), disposed between the wireless electric-power receiving unit and the light-emitting unit power supply circuit (battery 66 must be electrically between the recited components to receive power converted from the secondary coil input to the circuit, and to supply the LEDs of 13, 14 at the output of the circuit), and configured to store the electric power received by the wireless electric-power receiving unit and transmit the electric power to the light-emitting unit power supply circuit (paragraphs [0077]-[0078]).
Regarding claim 25, Jacobs teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-6, paragraphs [0001]-[0092]) a mounting pad of a light (13, 14), comprising: a mounting area (16), provided with a mounting surface on which a light element is mounted (as shown in Fig. 1); and a wireless electric-power transmitting unit (18, 30, 32) comprising at least one or more coils (18) being disposed within a predetermined portion of the mounting area (as shown in Fig. 1); wherein when the light element (13, 14) is located within the predetermined portion of the mounting area (as shown in Fig. 1), the wireless electric-power transmitting unit (18, 30, 32) is configured to transmit electric power from the predetermined portion of the mounting area to the light element (13, 14) on the mounting surface by means of wireless electric-power transmission (as described in paragraphs [0001]-[0092], i.e., via 18).
Jacobs does not explicitly teach that the light element is operable to receive wireless electric power when mounted at any position within the predetermined area.
Kammerer teaches or suggests the light element (3, 4, 5) is operable to receive wireless electric power when mounted at any position within the predetermined area (e.g., “...light units within the surface of the transmitting coil or a certain distance above or below it can be freely positioned and need neither cable, rail systems or the like nor batteries or batteries to operate...,” and thus, the light element (3, 4, 5) is operable to receive wireless electric power when mounted at any position within the predetermined area defined by, e.g., the coil 1b).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the device of Jacobs and incorporated the teachings of the light element is operable to receive wireless electric power when mounted at any position within the predetermined area, such as taught or suggested by Kammerer, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to yield the predictable result of increasing the utility and/or marketability of the device (e.g., by providing a configuration or embodiment in which the lighting devices can be placed freely at any position, or in any arrangement desired by the user, within the predetermined area).
Regarding claim 26, Jacobs teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-6, paragraphs [0001]-[0092]) the mounting pad further comprises: a wireless control unit (not shown, the controller corresponding to the mounting pad; as described in paragraphs [0034]-[0034] and [0081]-[0082]), configured to transmit a light-emitting control signal for controlling a light-emitting mode to the light element by means of wireless communication (as described in paragraphs [0034]-[0034] and [0081]-[0082]).
Regarding claim 34, Jacobs teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-6, paragraphs [0001]-[0092]) the wireless electric-power transmitting unit of the mounting pad comprises at least one wireless electric-power transmitting main coil (18) of the one or more coils disposed in the mounting area (as shown in Fig. 1).
Claims 6-11, 22, 27-32, and 36-46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jacobs, in view of Kammerer, and in further view of Shraga et al. (US 2012/0038619 A1, herein referred to as: Shraga).
Regarding claim 6-11, 22, and 27-32 neither Jacobs nor Kammerer explicitly teach that each light element further comprises: a light element information unit, configured to transmit identification information data uniquely identifying the light element and wireless address data of the light element by means of the wireless communication unit; and the mounting pad further comprises: a light element addressing unit, configured to receive the identification information data of the light element and the wireless address data of the light element from the light element information unit, so as to perform addressing on the light element (as recited in claim 6); wherein that the wireless control unit is configured to transmit the light-emitting control signal to the wireless communication unit of the light element by means of wireless communication comprises: according to a result that addressing is performed on the light element, transmitting each of the at least one light-emitting control signal to the wireless communication unit of the corresponding light element in the at least one light element (as recited in claim 7); wherein the performing addressing on the light element further comprises determining position information of each of the at least one light element on the mounting surface of the mounting area of the mounting pad; and the transmitting each of the at least one light-emitting control signal to the corresponding light element in the at least one light element further comprises determining a correspondence between the light element and the light-emitting control signal according to the characters or patterns of the at least one light element formed on the mounting surface and the position information of each light element (as recited in claim 8); wherein the mounting pad further comprises: a light-emitting control signal generation unit, configured to generate the light-emitting control signal for controlling the light-emitting mode of the light-emitting unit, and transmit the light-emitting control signal to the wireless control unit (as recited in claim 9); wherein the mounting pad further comprises: a command acquisition unit, configured to acquire a command used for generating the light-emitting control signal, and transmit the command to the light-emitting control signal generation unit, wherein the light-emitting control signal generation unit generates the light-emitting control signal according to the command (as recited in claim 10): wherein the command acquisition unit comprises: an intelligent device communication unit, configured to acquire the command used for generating the light-emitting control signal from an intelligent device, wherein the command comprises data representing selection of the light-emitting mode for the at least one light element (as recited in claim 11); wherein each light element further comprises: a light element information unit, configured to transmit identification information data uniquely identifying the light element and wireless address data of the light element by means of the wireless communication unit (as recited in claim 22); wherein the mounting pad further comprises: a light element addressing unit, configured to receive identification information data of the light element and wireless address data of the light element from the light element, so as to perform addressing on the light element (as recited in claim 27); wherein that the wireless control unit is configured to transmit the light-emitting control signal to the light element by means of wireless communication comprises: according to a result that addressing is performed on the light element, transmitting each of the at least one light-emitting control signal to a wireless communication unit of the corresponding light element in the at least one light element (as recited in claim 28); wherein the performing addressing on the light element further comprises determining position information of each of the at least one light element on the mounting surface of the mounting area of the mounting pad; and the transmitting each of the at least one light-emitting control signal to the corresponding light element in the at least one light element further comprises determining a correspondence between the light element and the light-emitting control signal according to the characters or patterns of the at least one light element formed on the mounting surface and the position information of each light element (as recited in claim 29); wherein the mounting pad further comprises: a light-emitting control signal generation unit, configured to generate the light-emitting control signal for controlling the light-emitting mode of the light element, and transmit the light-emitting control signal to the wireless control unit (as recited in claim 30); wherein the mounting pad further comprises: a command acquisition unit, configured to acquire a command used for generating the light-emitting control signal, and transmit the command to the light-emitting control signal generation unit, wherein the light-emitting control signal generation unit generates the light-emitting control signal according to the command (as recited in claim 31); wherein the command acquisition unit comprises: an intelligent device communication unit, configured to acquire the command used for generating the light-emitting control signal from an intelligent device, wherein the command comprises data representing selection of the light-emitting mode for the at least one light element (as recited in claim 32).
Shraga teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-9) each light element (30, 130) further comprises: a light element information unit (42), configured to transmit identification information data uniquely identifying the light element (paragraph [0040]) and wireless address data of the light element (e.g., position data forms a physical address of the light element on the mounting pad 120, and is communicated wirelessly, as shown in Figs. 1-2 and as described in paragraph [0096], thereby forming address data) by means of the wireless communication unit (44); and the mounting pad (120) further comprises: a light element addressing unit (46 or 718), configured to receive the identification information data of the light element and the wireless address data of the light element from the light element information unit (via 46), so as to perform addressing on the light element (paragraph [0096]); wherein that the wireless control unit (e.g., of the master 718) is configured to transmit the light-emitting control signal to the wireless communication unit of the light element by means of wireless communication (paragraph [0101]) comprises: according to a result that addressing is performed on the light element (e.g. paragraph [0096]), transmitting each of the at least one light-emitting control signal to the wireless communication unit (46) of the corresponding light element in the at least one light element (as described in paragraphs [0078]-[0108], paragraph [0096]); wherein the performing addressing on the light element further comprises determining position information of each of the at least one light element on the mounting surface of the mounting area of the mounting pad (paragraph [0096]); and the transmitting each of the at least one light-emitting control signal to the corresponding light element (30, 130) in the at least one light element further comprises determining a correspondence between the light element and the light-emitting control signal according to the characters or patterns of the at least one light element formed on the mounting surface and the position information of each light element (as described in paragraphs [0078]-[0108]); wherein the mounting pad further comprises: a light-emitting control signal generation unit (718, or the controller and wireless communication unit thereof, paragraph [0101], or 720, 732, 718, and/or 734, collectively), configured to generate the light-emitting control signal for controlling the light-emitting mode of the light-emitting unit (as described in paragraphs [0078]-[0108]), and transmit the light-emitting control signal to the wireless control unit (as described in paragraphs [0078]-[0108]); wherein the mounting pad further comprises: a command acquisition unit (720), configured to acquire a command used for generating the light-emitting control signal (via 720, or an interface connected to said mounting pad via 734, as described in paragraphs [0078]-[0108]), and transmit the command to the light-emitting control signal generation unit (as described in paragraphs [0078]-[0108]), wherein the light-emitting control signal generation unit generates the light-emitting control signal according to the command (as described in paragraphs [0078]-[0108]): wherein the command acquisition unit comprises: an intelligent device communication unit (720, or a device coupled to 734 and the master 718), configured to acquire the command used for generating the light-emitting control signal from an intelligent device (as described in paragraphs [0078]-[0108]), wherein the command comprises data representing selection of the light-emitting mode for the at least one light element (data corresponding to 712’ on 722, or equivalent interface on a device of 734, as described in paragraphs [0078]-[0108], corresponding to a mode of the light elements); wherein each light element (30, 130) further comprises: a light element information unit (42), configured to transmit identification information data uniquely identifying the light element (paragraph [0040]) and wireless address data of the light element (e.g., position data forms a physical address of the light element on the mounting pad 120, and is communicated wirelessly, as shown in Figs. 1-2 and as described in paragraph [0096], thereby forming address data) by means of the wireless communication unit (44); wherein the mounting pad (120) further comprises: a light element addressing unit (46 or 718), configured to receive the identification information data of the light element and the wireless address data of the light element from the light element information unit (via 46), so as to perform addressing on the light element (paragraph [0096]); wherein that the wireless control unit (e.g., of the master 718) is configured to transmit the light-emitting control signal to the wireless communication unit of the light element by means of wireless communication (paragraph [0101]) comprises: according to a result that addressing is performed on the light element (e.g. paragraph [0096]), transmitting each of the at least one light-emitting control signal to the wireless communication unit (46) of the corresponding light element in the at least one light element (as described in paragraphs [0078]-[0108], paragraph [0096]); wherein the performing addressing on the light element further comprises determining position information of each of the at least one light element on the mounting surface of the mounting area of the mounting pad (paragraph [0096]); and the transmitting each of the at least one light-emitting control signal to the corresponding light element (30, 130) in the at least one light element further comprises determining a correspondence between the light element and the light-emitting control signal according to the characters or patterns of the at least one light element formed on the mounting surface and the position information of each light element (as described in paragraphs [0078]-[0108]); wherein the mounting pad further comprises: a light-emitting control signal generation unit (718, or the controller and wireless communication unit thereof, paragraph [0101], or 720, 732, 718, and/or 734, collectively), configured to generate the light-emitting control signal for controlling the light-emitting mode of the light-emitting unit (as described in paragraphs [0078]-[0108]), and transmit the light-emitting control signal to the wireless control unit (as described in paragraphs [0078]-[0108]); wherein the mounting pad further comprises: a command acquisition unit (720), configured to acquire a command used for generating the light-emitting control signal (via 720, or an interface connected to said mounting pad via 734, as described in paragraphs [0078]-[0108]), and transmit the command to the light-emitting control signal generation unit (as described in paragraphs [0078]-[0108]), wherein the light-emitting control signal generation unit generates the light-emitting control signal according to the command (as described in paragraphs [0078]-[0108]); wherein the command acquisition unit comprises: an intelligent device communication unit (720, or a device coupled to 734 and the master 718), configured to acquire the command used for generating the light-emitting control signal from an intelligent device (as described in paragraphs [0078]-[0108]), wherein the command comprises data representing selection of the light-emitting mode for the at least one light element (data corresponding to 712’ on 722, or equivalent interface on a device of 734, as described in paragraphs [0078]-[0108], corresponding to a mode of the light elements).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the device of Jacobs and incorporated the teachings of each light element further comprises: a light element information unit, configured to transmit identification information data uniquely identifying the light element and wireless address data of the light element by means of the wireless communication unit; and the mounting pad further comprises: a light element addressing unit, configured to receive the identification information data of the light element and the wireless address data of the light element from the light element information unit, so as to perform addressing on the light element (as recited in claim 6); wherein that the wireless control unit is configured to transmit the light-emitting control signal to the wireless communication unit of the light element by means of wireless communication comprises: according to a result that addressing is performed on the light element, transmitting each of the at least one light-emitting control signal to the wireless communication unit of the corresponding light element in the at least one light element (as recited in claim 7); wherein the performing addressing on the light element further comprises determining position information of each of the at least one light element on the mounting surface of the mounting area of the mounting pad; and the transmitting each of the at least one light-emitting control signal to the corresponding light element in the at least one light element further comprises determining a correspondence between the light element and the light-emitting control signal according to the characters or patterns of the at least one light element formed on the mounting surface and the position information of each light element (as recited in claim 8); wherein the mounting pad further comprises: a light-emitting control signal generation unit, configured to generate the light-emitting control signal for controlling the light-emitting mode of the light-emitting unit, and transmit the light-emitting control signal to the wireless control unit (as recited in claim 9); wherein the mounting pad further comprises: a command acquisition unit, configured to acquire a command used for generating the light-emitting control signal, and transmit the command to the light-emitting control signal generation unit, wherein the light-emitting control signal generation unit generates the light-emitting control signal according to the command (as recited in claim 10): wherein the command acquisition unit comprises: an intelligent device communication unit, configured to acquire the command used for generating the light-emitting control signal from an intelligent device, wherein the command comprises data representing selection of the light-emitting mode for the at least one light element (as recited in claim 11); wherein each light element further comprises: a light element information unit, configured to transmit identification information data uniquely identifying the light element and wireless address data of the light element by means of the wireless communication unit (as recited in claim 22); wherein the mounting pad further comprises: a light element addressing unit, configured to receive identification information data of the light element and wireless address data of the light element from the light element, so as to perform addressing on the light element (as recited in claim 27); wherein that the wireless control unit is configured to transmit the light-emitting control signal to the light element by means of wireless communication comprises: according to a result that addressing is performed on the light element, transmitting each of the at least one light-emitting control signal to a wireless communication unit of the corresponding light element in the at least one light element (as recited in claim 28); wherein the performing addressing on the light element further comprises determining position information of each of the at least one light element on the mounting surface of the mounting area of the mounting pad; and the transmitting each of the at least one light-emitting control signal to the corresponding light element in the at least one light element further comprises determining a correspondence between the light element and the light-emitting control signal according to the characters or patterns of the at least one light element formed on the mounting surface and the position information of each light element (as recited in claim 29); wherein the mounting pad further comprises: a light-emitting control signal generation unit, configured to generate the light-emitting control signal for controlling the light-emitting mode of the light element, and transmit the light-emitting control signal to the wireless control unit (as recited in claim 30); wherein the mounting pad further comprises: a command acquisition unit, configured to acquire a command used for generating the light-emitting control signal, and transmit the command to the light-emitting control signal generation unit, wherein the light-emitting control signal generation unit generates the light-emitting control signal according to the command (as recited in claim 31); wherein the command acquisition unit comprises: an intelligent device communication unit, configured to acquire the command used for generating the light-emitting control signal from an intelligent device, wherein the command comprises data representing selection of the light-emitting mode for the at least one light element (as recited in claim 32), such as taught or suggested by Shraga, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to yield the predictable result of improve the performance and/or utility of the device (i.e., by providing the device with a user interface to customize the light output by the light element or light elements).
Regarding claim 36, Jacobs teaches or suggests a light system (Figs. 1-6), comprising at least one light element (13, 14) and a mounting pad (12, 80), wherein the light element comprises: a light-emitting unit (20), configured to emit light (paragraph [0058]); an attachment unit (a corresponding positioning element provided on the light module 13, as described in paragraph [0057]), configured to attach the light element (13, 14) to any position on a mounting surface on which the light element is mounted (as shown in Fig. 1, and as described in paragraph [0057]); and the mounting pad (12, 80) comprises: a mounting area (16, or the array of 16 shown in Fig. 1), provided with the mounting surface on which the light element (13, 14) is mounted (as shown in Fig. 1); and a wireless electric-power transmitting unit (18, 30, 32) comprising at least one or more coils (18) being disposed within a predetermined portion of the mounting area (as shown in Fig. 1); wherein when the light element (13, 14) is located within the predetermined portion of the mounting area (as shown in Fig. 1), the wireless electric-power transmitting unit is configured to transmit the electric power (via 18) from the predetermined portion of the mounting area to the wireless electric-power receiving unit (26, 56) of the light element (13, 14) on the mounting surface by means of wireless electric-power transmission (as described in paragraphs [0053]-[0092]).
Jacobs does not explicitly teach that the light element is operable to receive wireless electric power when mounted at any position within the predetermined area.
Kammerer teaches or suggests the light element (3, 4, 5) is operable to receive wireless electric power when mounted at any position within the predetermined area (e.g., “...light units within the surface of the transmitting coil or a certain distance above or below it can be freely positioned and need neither cable, rail systems or the like nor batteries or batteries to operate...,” and thus, the light element (3, 4, 5) is operable to receive wireless electric power when mounted at any position within the predetermined area defined by, e.g., the coil 1b).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the device of Jacobs and incorporated the teachings of the light element is operable to receive wireless electric power when mounted at any position within the predetermined area, such as taught or suggested by Kammerer, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to yield the predictable result of increasing the utility and/or marketability of the device (e.g., by providing a configuration or embodiment in which the lighting devices can be placed freely at any position, or in any arrangement desired by the user, within the predetermined area).
The combined teachings of Jacobs and Kammerer teach or suggest all of the elements of the claimed invention, except for the light element comprises a light element information unit, configured to transmit identification information data uniquely identifying the light element and wireless address data of the light element; and the mounting pad comprises a light element addressing unit, configured to receive the identification information data of the light element and the wireless address data of the light element from the light element information unit, so as to perform addressing on the light element.
Shraga teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-9) the light element (30, 130) further comprises: a light element information unit (42), configured to transmit identification information data uniquely identifying the light element (paragraph [0040]) and wireless address data of the light element (e.g., position data forms a physical address of the light element on the mounting pad 120, and is communicated wirelessly, as shown in Figs. 1-2 and as described in paragraph [0096], thereby forming address data) by means of the wireless communication unit (44); and the mounting pad (120) further comprises: a light element addressing unit (46 or 718), configured to receive the identification information data of the light element and the wireless address data of the light element from the light element information unit (via 46), so as to perform addressing on the light element (paragraph [0096]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the device of Jacobs and incorporated the teachings of the light element comprises a light element information unit, configured to transmit identification information data uniquely identifying the light element and wireless address data of the light element; and the mounting pad comprises a light element addressing unit, configured to receive the identification information data of the light element and the wireless address data of the light element from the light element information unit, so as to perform addressing on the light element, such as taught or suggested by Shraga, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to yield the predictable result of improve the performance and/or utility of the device (i.e., by providing the device with a user interface to customize the light output by the light element or light elements).
Regarding claim 37, Jacobs teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-6) the at least one light element (13, 14) is mounted on the mounting surface so as to form characters or patterns (as shown in Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 38, Jacobs teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-6) the light element further comprises: a wireless communication unit (not shown, the controller unit corresponding to the light module 13, 14, as described in paragraphs [0034]-[0035] and [0081]-[0082]), configured to receive a light-emitting control signal by means of wireless communication (as described in paragraphs [0034]-[0035] and [0081]-[0082]); and the mounting pad (12, 80) further comprises: a wireless control unit (not shown, the controller unit corresponding to the mounting pad, 12, 80, as described in paragraphs [0034]-[0035] and [0081]-[0082]), configured to transmit the light-emitting control signal to the wireless communication unit of the light element by means of wireless communication (as described in paragraphs [0034]-[0035] and [0081]-[0082]).
Regarding claim 39, Jacobs does not explicitly teach that the wireless control unit is configured to transmit the light-emitting control signal to the wireless communication unit of the light element by means of wireless communication comprises: according to a result that addressing is performed on the light element, transmitting each of the at least one light-emitting control signal to the wireless communication unit of the corresponding light element in the at least one light element.
Shraga teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-9) wherein that the wireless control unit (e.g., of the master 718) is configured to transmit the light-emitting control signal to the wireless communication unit of the light element by means of wireless communication (paragraph [0101]) comprises: according to a result that addressing is performed on the light element (e.g. paragraph [0096]), transmitting each of the at least one light-emitting control signal to the wireless communication unit (46) of the corresponding light element in the at least one light element (as described in paragraphs [0078]-[0108], paragraph [0096]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the device of Jacobs and incorporated the teachings of the wireless control unit is configured to transmit the light-emitting control signal to the wireless communication unit of the light element by means of wireless communication comprises: according to a result that addressing is performed on the light element, transmitting each of the at least one light-emitting control signal to the wireless communication unit of the corresponding light element in the at least one light element, such as taught or suggested by Shraga, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to yield the predictable result of improve the performance and/or utility of the device (i.e., by providing the device with a user interface to customize the light output by the light element or light elements).
Regarding claim 40, Jacobs does not explicitly teach the performing addressing on the light element further comprises determining position information of each of the at least one light element on the mounting surface of the mounting area of the mounting pad; and the transmitting each of the at least one light-emitting control signal to the corresponding light element in the at least one light element further comprises determining a correspondence between the light element and the light-emitting control signal according to the characters or patterns of the at least one light element formed on the mounting surface and the position information of each light element.
Shraga teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-9) wherein the performing addressing on the light element further comprises determining position information of each of the at least one light element on the mounting surface of the mounting area of the mounting pad (paragraph [0096]); and the transmitting each of the at least one light-emitting control signal to the corresponding light element (30, 130) in the at least one light element further comprises determining a correspondence between the light element and the light-emitting control signal according to the characters or patterns of the at least one light element formed on the mounting surface and the position information of each light element (as described in paragraphs [0078]-[0108])
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the device of Jacobs and incorporated the teachings of the performing addressing on the light element further comprises determining position information of each of the at least one light element on the mounting surface of the mounting area of the mounting pad; and the transmitting each of the at least one light-emitting control signal to the corresponding light element in the at least one light element further comprises determining a correspondence between the light element and the light-emitting control signal according to the characters or patterns of the at least one light element formed on the mounting surface and the position information of each light element, such as taught or suggested by Shraga, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to yield the predictable result of improve the performance and/or utility of the device (i.e., by providing the device with a user interface to customize the light output by the light element or light elements).
Regarding claim 41, Jacobs teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-6) a light element (13, 14), comprising: a light-emitting unit (20), configured to emit light (paragraph [0058]); an attachment unit (24), configured to attach the light element to any position on a mounting surface (22) having a mounting area (as shown in Fig. 1) on which the light element is mounted (as shown in Fig. 1); wherein when the light element (13, 14) is located within a predetermined portion of the mounting area (as shown in Fig. 1) in which a wireless electric-power transmitting unit (18, 30, 32) comprising at least one or more coils (18) is disposed within, the portion of the mounting area (as shown in Fig. 1), the wireless electric-power transmitting unit is configured to transmit the electric power (via 18) from the predetermined portion of the mounting area to the wireless electric-power receiving unit (26, 56) of the light element (13, 14) on the mounting surface by means of wireless electric-power transmission (as described in paragraphs [0053]-[0092]).
Jacobs does not explicitly teach that the light element is operable to receive wireless electric power when mounted at any position within the predetermined area.
Kammerer teaches or suggests the light element (3, 4, 5) is operable to receive wireless electric power when mounted at any position within the predetermined area (e.g., “...light units within the surface of the transmitting coil or a certain distance above or below it can be freely positioned and need neither cable, rail systems or the like nor batteries or batteries to operate...,” and thus, the light element (3, 4, 5) is operable to receive wireless electric power when mounted at any position within the predetermined area defined by, e.g., the coil 1b).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the device of Jacobs and incorporated the teachings of the light element is operable to receive wireless electric power when mounted at any position within the predetermined area, such as taught or suggested by Kammerer, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to yield the predictable result of increasing the utility and/or marketability of the device (e.g., by providing a configuration or embodiment in which the lighting devices can be placed freely at any position, or in any arrangement desired by the user, within the predetermined area).
The combined teachings of Jacobs and Kammerer teach or suggest all of the elements of the claimed invention, except for a light element information unit, configured to transmit identification information data uniquely identifying the light element and wireless address data of the light element.
Shraga teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-9) a light element information unit (42), configured to transmit identification information data uniquely identifying the light element (paragraph [0040]) and wireless address data of the light element (e.g., position data forms a physical address of the light element on the mounting pad 120, and is communicated wirelessly, as shown in Figs. 1-2 and as described in paragraph [0096], thereby forming address data).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the device of Jacobs and incorporated the teachings of a light element information unit, configured to transmit identification information data uniquely identifying the light element and wireless address data of the light element, such as taught or suggested by Shraga, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to yield the predictable result of improve the performance and/or utility of the device (i.e., by providing the device with a user interface to customize the light output by the light element or light elements).
Regarding claim 42, Jacobs teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-6) the light element (13, 14) further comprises: a wireless communication unit (the controller corresponding to the light element 13, 14; as described in paragraphs [0034]-[0035] and [0081]-[0082]), configured to receive a light-emitting control signal by means of wireless communication (as described in paragraphs [0034]-[0035] and [0081]-[0082]).
Regarding claim 43, Jacobs teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-6) a mounting pad (12, 80), comprising: a mounting area (16 or the collection of 16s), provided with a mounting surface (22) on which a light element (13, 14) is mounted; and a wireless electric-power transmitting unit (18, 30, 32) comprising at least one or more coils (18) being disposed within a predetermined portion of the mounting area (as shown in Fig. 1); wherein when light element (13, 14) is located within the predetermined portion of the mounting area (as shown in Fig. 1), the wireless electric-power transmitting unit is configured to transmit the electric power (via 18) from the predetermined portion of the mounting area to the wireless electric-power receiving unit (26, 56) of the light element (13, 14) on the mounting surface by means of wireless electric-power transmission (as described in paragraphs [0053]-[0092]).
Jacobs does not explicitly teach that the light element is operable to receive wireless electric power when mounted at any position within the predetermined area.
Kammerer teaches or suggests the light element (3, 4, 5) is operable to receive wireless electric power when mounted at any position within the predetermined area (e.g., “...light units within the surface of the transmitting coil or a certain distance above or below it can be freely positioned and need neither cable, rail systems or the like nor batteries or batteries to operate...,” and thus, the light element (3, 4, 5) is operable to receive wireless electric power when mounted at any position within the predetermined area defined by, e.g., the coil 1b).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the device of Jacobs and incorporated the teachings of the light element is operable to receive wireless electric power when mounted at any position within the predetermined area, such as taught or suggested by Kammerer, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to yield the predictable result of increasing the utility and/or marketability of the device (e.g., by providing a configuration or embodiment in which the lighting devices can be placed freely at any position, or in any arrangement desired by the user, within the predetermined area).
The combined teachings of Jacobs and Kammerer teach or suggest all of the elements of the claimed invention, except for a light element addressing unit, configured to receive identification information data of the light element and wireless address data of the light element from the light element, so as to perform addressing on the light element.
Shraga teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-9) a light element addressing unit (46 or 718), configured to receive the identification information data of the light element and the wireless address data of the light element from the light element information unit (via 46), so as to perform addressing on the light element (paragraph [0096]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the device of Jacobs and incorporated the teachings of a light element addressing unit, configured to receive identification information data of the light element and wireless address data of the light element from the light element, so as to perform addressing on the light element, such as taught or suggested by Shraga, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to yield the predictable result of improve the performance and/or utility of the device (i.e., by providing the device with a user interface to customize the light output by the light element or light elements).
Regarding claim 44, Jacobs teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-6, paragraphs [0001]-[0092]) the mounting pad (12) further comprises: a wireless control unit (not shown, the controller corresponding to the mounting pad; as described in paragraphs [0034]-[0034] and [0081]-[0082]), configured to transmit a light-emitting control signal to the light element by means of wireless communication (as described in paragraphs [0034]-[0034] and [0081]-[0082]).
Regarding claim 45, Jacobs does not explicitly teach wherein that the wireless control unit is configured to transmit the light-emitting control signal to the light element by means of wireless communication comprises: according to a result that addressing is performed on the light element, transmitting each of the at least one light-emitting control signal to a wireless communication unit of the corresponding light element in the at least one light element.
Shraga teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-9) wherein that the wireless control unit (e.g., of the master 718) is configured to transmit the light-emitting control signal to the wireless communication unit of the light element by means of wireless communication (paragraph [0101]) comprises: according to a result that addressing is performed on the light element (e.g. paragraph [0096]), transmitting each of the at least one light-emitting control signal to the wireless communication unit (46) of the corresponding light element in the at least one light element (as described in paragraphs [0078]-[0108], paragraph [0096]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the device of Jacobs and incorporated the teachings of the wireless control unit is configured to transmit the light-emitting control signal to the light element by means of wireless communication comprises: according to a result that addressing is performed on the light element, transmitting each of the at least one light-emitting control signal to a wireless communication unit of the corresponding light element in the at least one light element, such as taught or suggested by Shraga, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to yield the predictable result of improve the performance and/or utility of the device (i.e., by providing the device with a user interface to customize the light output by the light element or light elements).
Regarding claim 46, Jacobs does not explicitly teach that the performing addressing on the light element further comprises determining position information of each of the at least one light element on the mounting surface of the mounting area of the mounting pad; and the transmitting each of the at least one light-emitting control signal to the corresponding light element in the at least one light element further comprises determining a correspondence between the light element and the light-emitting control signal according to the characters or patterns of the at least one light element formed on the mounting surface and the position information of each light element.
Shraga teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-9) wherein the performing addressing on the light element further comprises determining position information of each of the at least one light element on the mounting surface of the mounting area of the mounting pad (paragraph [0096]); and the transmitting each of the at least one light-emitting control signal to the corresponding light element (30, 130) in the at least one light element further comprises determining a correspondence between the light element and the light-emitting control signal according to the characters or patterns of the at least one light element formed on the mounting surface and the position information of each light element (as described in paragraphs [0078]-[0108]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the device of Jacobs and incorporated the teachings of the performing addressing on the light element further comprises determining position information of each of the at least one light element on the mounting surface of the mounting area of the mounting pad; and the transmitting each of the at least one light-emitting control signal to the corresponding light element in the at least one light element further comprises determining a correspondence between the light element and the light-emitting control signal according to the characters or patterns of the at least one light element formed on the mounting surface and the position information of each light element, such as taught or suggested by Shraga, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to yield the predictable result of improve the performance and/or utility of the device (i.e., by providing the device with a user interface to customize the light output by the light element or light elements).
Claims 12 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jacobs, in view of Kammerer and Shraga, as applied to claims 10 and 31 above, respectively, and in further view of Cohen (US 2020/0225903 A1).
Regarding claims 12 and 33, Jacobs does not explicitly teach that the command acquisition unit comprises: a sensor, configured to acquire sensing data obtained by sensing environment information, wherein the environment information comprises at least one of light, temperature, or sound; a feature extraction unit, configured to acquire the sensing data and extract feature data of the environment information; and a command generation unit, configured to acquire the command used for generating the light-emitting control signal according to the feature data, wherein the command comprises data representing a correspondence between the feature data and the light-emitting mode of the at least one light element (as recited in claim 12); or wherein the command acquisition unit comprises: a sensor, configured to acquire sensing data obtained by sensing environment information, wherein the environment information comprises at least one of light, temperature, or sound; a feature extraction unit, configured to acquire the sensing data and extract feature data of the environment information; and a command generation unit, configured to acquire the command used for generating the light-emitting control signal according to the feature data, wherein the command comprises data representing a correspondence between the feature data and the light-emitting mode of the at least one light element (as recited in claim 33).
Cohen teaches or suggests (Fig. 4) the command acquisition unit (400) comprises: a sensor (420), configured to acquire sensing data obtained by sensing environment information (as described in paragraphs [0097]-[0107]), wherein the environment information comprises at least one of light, temperature, or sound (as described in paragraphs [0097]-[0107]); a feature extraction unit (404, as described in paragraphs [0097]-[0107]), configured to acquire the sensing data and extract feature data of the environment information (as described in paragraphs [0097]-[0107]); and a command generation unit (404, as described in paragraphs [0097]-[0107]), configured to acquire the command used for generating the light-emitting control signal according to the feature data (as described in paragraphs [0097]-[0107]), wherein the command comprises data representing a correspondence between the feature data and the light-emitting mode of the at least one light element (as described in paragraphs [0098] and [0102]); or wherein the command acquisition unit (400) comprises: a sensor (420), configured to acquire sensing data obtained by sensing environment information (as described in paragraphs [0097]-[0107]), wherein the environment information comprises at least one of light, temperature, or sound (as described in paragraphs [0097]-[0107]); a feature extraction unit (404), configured to acquire the sensing data and extract feature data of the environment information (as described in paragraphs [0097]-[0107]); and a command generation unit (404), configured to acquire the command used for generating the light-emitting control signal according to the feature data (as described in paragraphs [0097]-[0107]), wherein the command comprises data representing a correspondence between the feature data and the light-emitting mode of the at least one light element (as described in paragraphs [0097]-[0107], paragraphs [0098] and [0102]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the device of Jacobs and incorporated the teachings of the command acquisition unit comprises: a sensor, configured to acquire sensing data obtained by sensing environment information, wherein the environment information comprises at least one of light, temperature, or sound; a feature extraction unit, configured to acquire the sensing data and extract feature data of the environment information; and a command generation unit, configured to acquire the command used for generating the light-emitting control signal according to the feature data, wherein the command comprises data representing a correspondence between the feature data and the light-emitting mode of the at least one light element (as recited in claim 12); or wherein the command acquisition unit comprises: a sensor, configured to acquire sensing data obtained by sensing environment information, wherein the environment information comprises at least one of light, temperature, or sound; a feature extraction unit, configured to acquire the sensing data and extract feature data of the environment information; and a command generation unit, configured to acquire the command used for generating the light-emitting control signal according to the feature data, wherein the command comprises data representing a correspondence between the feature data and the light-emitting mode of the at least one light element (as recited in claim 33), such as taught or suggested by Cohen, in order to increase the utility and/or marketability of the device (i.e., by providing an embodiment by which the device can utilize a sensor to control or otherwise tailor the content or patterns displayed by the light element or light elements).
Claims 15 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jacobs, in view of Kammerer, and in further view of Jeong et al. (US 2016/0359369 A1, herein referred to as: Jeong).
Regarding claims 15 and 35, Jacobs does not explicitly teach the mounting pad further comprises: an alternating-current receiving unit, configured to receive an alternating current; and an AC-DC conversion unit, configured to convert the alternating current received by the alternating-current receiving unit into a direct current, and transmit the direct current to the wireless electric-power transmitting unit (as recited in claim 15); wherein the mounting pad further comprises: an alternating-current receiving unit, configured to receive an alternating current; and an AC-DC conversion unit, configured to convert the alternating current received by the alternating-current receiving unit into a direct current, and transmit the direct current to the wireless electric-power transmitting unit (as recited in claim 35).
Jeong teaches or suggests (Fig. 1) the mounting pad further comprises: an alternating-current receiving unit (21), configured to receive an alternating current (10); and an AC-DC conversion unit (22), configured to convert the alternating current received by the alternating-current receiving unit into a direct current (paragraph [0048]), and transmit the direct current to the wireless electric-power transmitting unit (to 31 of said wireless electric-power transmitting unit 30, as shown in Fig. 1); wherein the mounting pad further comprises: an alternating-current receiving unit (21), configured to receive an alternating current (10); and an AC-DC conversion unit (22), configured to convert the alternating current received by the alternating-current receiving unit into a direct current (paragraph [0048]), and transmit the direct current to the wireless electric-power transmitting unit (to 31 of said wireless electric-power transmitting unit 30, as shown in Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the device of Jacobs and incorporated the teachings of the mounting pad further comprises: an alternating-current receiving unit, configured to receive an alternating current; and an AC-DC conversion unit, configured to convert the alternating current received by the alternating-current receiving unit into a direct current, and transmit the direct current to the wireless electric-power transmitting unit (as recited in claim 15); wherein the mounting pad further comprises: an alternating-current receiving unit, configured to receive an alternating current; and an AC-DC conversion unit, configured to convert the alternating current received by the alternating-current receiving unit into a direct current, and transmit the direct current to the wireless electric-power transmitting unit (as recited in claim 35), such as taught or suggested by Jeong, in order to improve, or otherwise increase, the utility and/or performance of the device (i.e., by providing an embodiment by which the device can be utilized with an AC power source, e.g., a mains connection or standard outlet).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-46 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: please see BE 1020190 A3 to Sterkens, US 2005/0189910 A1 to Hui, and US 2022/0399760 A1 to Partovi, pertinent to the arrangement of one or plural coils surrounding the entire mounting area, with receiving devices placeable (and chargeable) anywhere within the surrounded mounting area.
/COLIN J CATTANACH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875