DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant's amendment filed on 23 October 2025 has been entered. Claims 1, 17, 25, 36, 41-43 have been amended. No claims have been cancelled. No claims have been added. Claims 1-46 are still pending in this application, with claims 1, 17, 25, 36, 41 and 43 being independent.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the light element is located within the portion of the mounting area encircled by the wireless electric-power transmitting unit, and the at least one or more coils being disposed within, and arranged to encircle, a portion of the mounting area, as recited in claims 1, 17, 25, 36, and 41-43 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 1, 17, 25, 36, 41 and 43, each of the claims recite: “...at least one or more coils being disposed within, and arranged to encircle, a portion of the mounting area...,” which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Specifically, the instant disclosure does not appear to mention surrounding a portion of the mounting area with more than one coil. That is, the specification does not appear to describe an embodiment in which one portion of the mounting area is encircled by multiple coils. Clarification from the Applicant is requested and appropriate correction is required.
Claims 2-16, 18-24, 26-35, 37-40, 42, and 44-46 are rejected as being dependent upon rejected claims 1, 17, 25, 36, 41 and 43, respectively.
Claims 14 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 14 and 23, the limitation recites: “...the wireless electric-power transmitting unit of the mounting pad comprises at least one wireless electric-power transmitting main coil disposed in the mounting area...,” which renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear if the above-recited main coil is to refer to the previously recited one or more coils in claim 1, and how said limitation intends to further limit the previously introduced one or more coils. For purposes of examination, the Examiner will interpret the at least one wireless electric-power transmitting main coil disposed in the mounting area as one of the previously recited one or more coils, and recommends Applicant either cancel or amend the claims to clarify the distinguishment, if any intended, between the one or more coils and the at least one wireless electric-power transmitting main coil disposed in the mounting area. Clarification from the Applicant is requested and appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 13-14, 16-21, 23-26, and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jacobs et al. (US 2009/0290332 A1, herein referred to as: Jacobs).
Regarding claim 1, Jacobs discloses a light system (Figs. 1-6, paragraphs [0001]-[0092]), comprising at least one light element (13, 14) and a mounting pad (12 or 80), wherein the light element comprises: a light-emitting unit (20), configured to emit light (paragraph [0058]); an attachment unit (the “…a corresponding positioning element provided on the light module 13…,” as described in paragraph [0057]), configured to attach the light element (13, 14) to any position (16) on a mounting surface (the surface of 12 having the plurality of 16 thereon) on which the light element is mounted (as shown in Fig. 1); a wireless electric-power receiving unit (26, 56), configured to receive electric power for driving the light element on the mounting surface by means of wireless electric-power transmission (paragraphs [0059]-[0060]); and a light-emitting unit power supply circuit (34, 36, 32, 34, 66), connected to the wireless electric-power receiving unit (as shown in Figs. 1-6) and the light-emitting unit (20) and configured to transmit the electric power received by the wireless electric-power receiving unit (26, 56) to the light-emitting unit (as shown in Figs. 1-6 and as described in paragraphs [0053]-[0092]); wherein the mounting pad (12, 80) comprises: a mounting area (16), provided with the mounting surface on which the light element is mounted (as shown in Fig. 1); and a wireless electric-power transmitting unit (18, 30, 32) comprising at least one or more coils (18) being disposed within, and arranged to encircle, a portion of the mounting area (as shown in Fig. 1); wherein when the light element (13, 14) is located within the portion of the mounting area encircled by the wireless electric-power transmitting unit (as shown in Fig. 1, the light element 13, 14 is located within the portion of the mounting area encircled by the wireless electric-power transmitting unit), the wireless electric-power transmitting unit is configured to transmit the electric power (via 18) to the wireless electric-power receiving unit (26, 56) of the light element (13, 14) on the mounting surface by means of wireless electric-power transmission (as described in paragraphs [0053]-[0092]).
Regarding claim 2, Jacobs discloses (Figs. 1-6, paragraphs [0001]-[0092]) the at least one light element (13, 14) is mounted on the mounting surface so as to form characters or patterns (as shown in Fig. 1, and as described in paragraphs [0001]-[0092]).
Regarding claim 3, Jacobs discloses (Figs. 1-6, paragraphs [0001]-[0092]) the light element further comprises a light-emitting control unit (not shown, the controller corresponding to the light element 13, 14; as described in paragraphs [0034]-[0035] and [0081]-[0082]), and the light-emitting control unit is configured to control the light-emitting unit to emit light according to a light-emitting control signal for controlling a light-emitting mode of the light-emitting unit (e.g., a mode corresponding to a control signal comprising information of a color, on/off of respective light-emitting units 20 of 13, 14, as described in paragraphs [0034]-[0035] and [0081]-[0082]).
Regarding claim 4, Jacobs discloses (Figs. 1-6, paragraphs [0001]-[0092]) the light-emitting control unit (not shown, the controller corresponding to the light element 13, 14; as described in paragraphs [0034]-[0035] and [0081]-[0082]) is configured to generate the light-emitting control signal for controlling the light-emitting mode of the light-emitting unit (the control signal received in the light emitting control unit wirelessly from by the base controller contains information regarding which of the light-emitting units 20 should be switched on or off, information about the color, etc. Therefore, upon receipt of the signal, the controller must at least communicate with the appropriate switches and/or driving components of the light emitting control unit to enact the mode that has been communicated by the controller of the base unit, thereby generating the light emitting control signal for controlling the light-emitting mode of the light-emitting unit).
Regarding claim 5, Jacobs discloses (Figs. 1-6, paragraphs [0001]-[0092]) the light element (13, 14) further comprises: a wireless communication unit (e.g., 26, as noted in paragraphs [0034]-[0035], or a wireless communication unit corresponding to any of the wireless communication modules described in paragraphs [0081]-[0082]), configured to receive the light-emitting control signal (e.g., from the controller of the base unit 14) by means of wireless communication (as described in paragraphs [0034]-[0035] and [0081]-[0082]), and transmit the light-emitting control signal to the light-emitting control unit (the control signal received in the light emitting control unit wirelessly from by the base controller contains information regarding which of the light-emitting units 20 should be switched on or off, information about the color, etc. Therefore, upon receipt of the signal, the controller must at least communicate with the appropriate switches and/or driving components of the light emitting control unit to enact the mode that has been communicated by the controller of the base unit, thereby transmitting the light-emitting control signal to the light-emitting control unit); and the mounting pad (12 or 80) further comprises: a wireless control unit (not shown, the controller corresponding to the mounting pad or base 12, 80; as described in paragraphs [0034]-[0035] and [0081]-[0082]), configured to transmit the light-emitting control signal to the wireless communication unit of the light element by means of wireless communication (as described in paragraphs [0034]-[0035] and [0081]-[0082]).
Regarding claim 13, Jacobs discloses (Figs. 1-6, paragraphs [0001]-[0092]) the attachment unit comprises at least one of a magnetic apparatus or a double-sided tape (as described in paragraph [0057]).
Regarding claim 14, as is best understood, Jacobs discloses (Figs. 1-6, paragraphs [0001]-[0092]) the wireless electric-power transmitting unit (18, 30, 32) of the mounting pad (12, 80) comprises at least one wireless electric-power transmitting main coil (18) disposed in the mounting area (as shown in Fig. 1); and the wireless electric-power receiving unit (26, 56) of the light element (13, 14) comprises at least one wireless electric-power receiving secondary coil (26, as shown in Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 16, Jacobs discloses (Figs. 1-6, paragraphs [0001]-[0092]) the light-emitting unit has at least one of the following plurality of light-emitting modes: emitting light with a single color; emitting light with a plurality of colors; and emitting light with changeable colors (as described in paragraph [0035], the controllers of each of the mounting pad and light element communicate information about color, and thus, reasonably implies emitting light of a single color, or multiple colors thereof. Additionally, as the controller described in paragraphs [0034]-[0035] and [0081]-[0082] can control which 20 is activated to not, or which array of 20 is activated or not, the light emitting unit has a mode capable of changeable colors).
Regarding claim 17, Jacobs discloses (Figs. 1-6, paragraphs [0001]-[0092]) a light element (13, 14), comprising: a light-emitting unit (20), configured to emit light (paragraph [0058]); an attachment unit (the attachment unit corresponding to the light element 13,14, as described in paragraph [0057]), configured to attach the light element to any position on a mounting surface having a mounting area (as shown in Fig. 1) on which the light element is mounted (as shown in Fig. 1); a wireless electric-power receiving unit (26, 56), configured to receive electric power for driving the light element (13, 14) by means of wireless electric-power transmission (as described in paragraphs [0053]-[0092]); and a light-emitting unit power supply circuit (34, 36, 32, 34, 66), connected to the wireless electric-power receiving unit (26, 56) and the light-emitting unit (20) and configured to transmit the electric power received by the wireless electric-power receiving unit to the light-emitting unit (as described in paragraphs [0053]-[0092]); wherein, when the light element (13, 14) is located within a portion of the mounting area (as shown in Fig. 1) that is surrounded (as shown in Fig. 1, the light element 13, 14 is located within the portion of the mounting area encircled by the wireless electric-power transmitting unit) by a wireless electric-power transmitting unit (18, 30, 32) comprising at least one or more coils (18) being disposed within, and arranged to encircle, the portion of the mounting area (as shown in Fig. 1), the wireless electric-power transmitting unit is configured to transmit the electric power (via 18) to the wireless electric-power receiving unit (26, 56) of the light element (13, 14) on the mounting surface by means of wireless electric-power transmission (as described in paragraphs [0053]-[0092]).
Regarding claim 18, Jacobs discloses (Figs. 1-6, paragraphs [0001]-[0092]) at least one light element (13, 14) is mounted on the mounting surface so as to form characters or patterns (as shown in Fig. 1, and as described in paragraphs [0001]-[0092]).
Regarding claim 19, Jacobs discloses (Figs. 1-6, paragraphs [0001]-[0092]) the light element (13, 14) further comprises a light-emitting control unit (not shown, the controller corresponding to the light element 13, 14; as described in paragraphs [0034]-[0035] and [0081]-[0082]), and the light-emitting control unit is configured to control the light-emitting unit (20) to emit light according to a light-emitting control signal for controlling a light-emitting mode of the light-emitting unit (e.g., a mode corresponding to color, on/off of respective elements 20 of 13, 14, received in information via 26, and/or from any of the wireless communication modules recited in paragraphs [0081]-[0082]).
Regarding claim 20, Jacobs discloses (Figs. 1-6, paragraphs [0001]-[0092]) the light-emitting control unit (not shown, the controller corresponding to the light element 13, 14; as described in paragraphs [0034]-[0035] and [0081]-[0082]) is configured to generate the light-emitting control signal for controlling the light-emitting mode of the light-emitting unit (the information wirelessly communicated to the light element comprising color information, on/off of respective elements 20 of 13, 14 information, must be used by the light emitting control unit to implement the mode corresponding to said information. Thus, the light emitting control unit must generate the light emitting control signal for controlling the light emitting mode upon receiving and processing the wirelessly communicated information).
Regarding claim 21, Jacobs discloses (Figs. 1-6, paragraphs [0001]-[0092]) the light element further comprises: a wireless communication unit (the antenna 26 of 13, 14, or any of the units recited in paragraph [0082]), configured to receive the light-emitting control signal by means of wireless communication (as described in paragraphs [0034]-[0035] and [0081]-[0082], e.g., from the control unit of said base or mounting pad 12), and transmit the light-emitting control signal to the light-emitting control unit (as described in paragraphs [0034]-[0035] and [0081]-[0082], e.g., via 34, 36 so that the controller controls on/off of elements 20, and/or a color according to the provided color or on/off information).
Regarding claim 23, Jacobs discloses (Figs. 1-6, paragraphs [0001]-[0092]) the wireless electric-power receiving unit of the light element (13, 14) comprises at least one wireless electric-power receiving secondary coil (26).
Regarding claim 24, Jacobs discloses (Figs. 1-6, paragraphs [0001]-[0092]) the light element (13, 14) further comprises an electric-power storage unit (66), disposed between the wireless electric-power receiving unit and the light-emitting unit power supply circuit (battery 66 must be electrically between the recited components to receive power converted from the secondary coil input to the circuit, and to supply the LEDs of 13, 14 at the output of the circuit), and configured to store the electric power received by the wireless electric-power receiving unit and transmit the electric power to the light-emitting unit power supply circuit (paragraphs [0077]-[0078]).
Regarding claim 25, Jacobs discloses (Figs. 1-6, paragraphs [0001]-[0092]) a mounting pad of a light (13, 14), comprising: a mounting area (16), provided with a mounting surface on which a light element is mounted (as shown in Fig. 1); and a wireless electric-power transmitting unit (18, 30, 32) comprising at least one or more coils (18) being disposed within, and arranged to encircle, a portion of the mounting area (as shown in Fig. 1); wherein when the light element (13, 14) is located within the portion of the mounting area surrounded by the wireless electric-power transmitting unit (as shown in Fig. 1, the light element 13, 14 is located within the portion of the mounting area encircled by the wireless electric-power transmitting unit), the wireless electric-power transmitting unit (18, 30, 32) is configured to transmit electric power to the light element (13, 14)on the mounting surface by means of wireless electric-power transmission (as described in paragraphs [0001]-[0092], i.e., via 18).
Regarding claim 26, Jacobs discloses (Figs. 1-6, paragraphs [0001]-[0092]) the mounting pad further comprises: a wireless control unit (not shown, the controller corresponding to the mounting pad; as described in paragraphs [0034]-[0034] and [0081]-[0082]), configured to transmit a light-emitting control signal for controlling a light-emitting mode to the light element by means of wireless communication (as described in paragraphs [0034]-[0034] and [0081]-[0082]).
Regarding claim 34, as is best understood, Jacobs discloses (Figs. 1-6, paragraphs [0001]-[0092]) the wireless electric-power transmitting unit of the mounting pad comprises at least one wireless electric-power transmitting main coil (18) disposed in the mounting area (as shown in Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-11, 22, 27-32, and 36-46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jacobs, in view of Shraga et al. (US 2012/0038619 A1, herein referred to as: Shraga).
Regarding claim 6-11, 22, and 27-32 Jacobs does not explicitly teach that each light element further comprises: a light element information unit, configured to transmit identification information data uniquely identifying the light element and wireless address data of the light element by means of the wireless communication unit; and the mounting pad further comprises: a light element addressing unit, configured to receive the identification information data of the light element and the wireless address data of the light element from the light element information unit, so as to perform addressing on the light element (as recited in claim 6); wherein that the wireless control unit is configured to transmit the light-emitting control signal to the wireless communication unit of the light element by means of wireless communication comprises: according to a result that addressing is performed on the light element, transmitting each of the at least one light-emitting control signal to the wireless communication unit of the corresponding light element in the at least one light element (as recited in claim 7); wherein the performing addressing on the light element further comprises determining position information of each of the at least one light element on the mounting surface of the mounting area of the mounting pad; and the transmitting each of the at least one light-emitting control signal to the corresponding light element in the at least one light element further comprises determining a correspondence between the light element and the light-emitting control signal according to the characters or patterns of the at least one light element formed on the mounting surface and the position information of each light element (as recited in claim 8); wherein the mounting pad further comprises: a light-emitting control signal generation unit, configured to generate the light-emitting control signal for controlling the light-emitting mode of the light-emitting unit, and transmit the light-emitting control signal to the wireless control unit (as recited in claim 9); wherein the mounting pad further comprises: a command acquisition unit, configured to acquire a command used for generating the light-emitting control signal, and transmit the command to the light-emitting control signal generation unit, wherein the light-emitting control signal generation unit generates the light-emitting control signal according to the command (as recited in claim 10): wherein the command acquisition unit comprises: an intelligent device communication unit, configured to acquire the command used for generating the light-emitting control signal from an intelligent device, wherein the command comprises data representing selection of the light-emitting mode for the at least one light element (as recited in claim 11); wherein each light element further comprises: a light element information unit, configured to transmit identification information data uniquely identifying the light element and wireless address data of the light element by means of the wireless communication unit (as recited in claim 22); wherein the mounting pad further comprises: a light element addressing unit, configured to receive identification information data of the light element and wireless address data of the light element from the light element, so as to perform addressing on the light element (as recited in claim 27); wherein that the wireless control unit is configured to transmit the light-emitting control signal to the light element by means of wireless communication comprises: according to a result that addressing is performed on the light element, transmitting each of the at least one light-emitting control signal to a wireless communication unit of the corresponding light element in the at least one light element (as recited in claim 28); wherein the performing addressing on the light element further comprises determining position information of each of the at least one light element on the mounting surface of the mounting area of the mounting pad; and the transmitting each of the at least one light-emitting control signal to the corresponding light element in the at least one light element further comprises determining a correspondence between the light element and the light-emitting control signal according to the characters or patterns of the at least one light element formed on the mounting surface and the position information of each light element (as recited in claim 29); wherein the mounting pad further comprises: a light-emitting control signal generation unit, configured to generate the light-emitting control signal for controlling the light-emitting mode of the light element, and transmit the light-emitting control signal to the wireless control unit (as recited in claim 30); wherein the mounting pad further comprises: a command acquisition unit, configured to acquire a command used for generating the light-emitting control signal, and transmit the command to the light-emitting control signal generation unit, wherein the light-emitting control signal generation unit generates the light-emitting control signal according to the command (as recited in claim 31); wherein the command acquisition unit comprises: an intelligent device communication unit, configured to acquire the command used for generating the light-emitting control signal from an intelligent device, wherein the command comprises data representing selection of the light-emitting mode for the at least one light element (as recited in claim 32).
Shraga teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-9) each light element (30, 130) further comprises: a light element information unit (42), configured to transmit identification information data uniquely identifying the light element (paragraph [0040]) and wireless address data of the light element (e.g., position data forms a physical address of the light element on the mounting pad 120, and is communicated wirelessly, as shown in Figs. 1-2 and as described in paragraph [0096], thereby forming address data) by means of the wireless communication unit (44); and the mounting pad (120) further comprises: a light element addressing unit (46 or 718), configured to receive the identification information data of the light element and the wireless address data of the light element from the light element information unit (via 46), so as to perform addressing on the light element (paragraph [0096]); wherein that the wireless control unit (e.g., of the master 718) is configured to transmit the light-emitting control signal to the wireless communication unit of the light element by means of wireless communication (paragraph [0101]) comprises: according to a result that addressing is performed on the light element (e.g. paragraph [0096]), transmitting each of the at least one light-emitting control signal to the wireless communication unit (46) of the corresponding light element in the at least one light element (as described in paragraphs [0078]-[0108], paragraph [0096]); wherein the performing addressing on the light element further comprises determining position information of each of the at least one light element on the mounting surface of the mounting area of the mounting pad (paragraph [0096]); and the transmitting each of the at least one light-emitting control signal to the corresponding light element (30, 130) in the at least one light element further comprises determining a correspondence between the light element and the light-emitting control signal according to the characters or patterns of the at least one light element formed on the mounting surface and the position information of each light element (as described in paragraphs [0078]-[0108]); wherein the mounting pad further comprises: a light-emitting control signal generation unit (718, or the controller and wireless communication unit thereof, paragraph [0101], or 720, 732, 718, and/or 734, collectively), configured to generate the light-emitting control signal for controlling the light-emitting mode of the light-emitting unit (as described in paragraphs [0078]-[0108]), and transmit the light-emitting control signal to the wireless control unit (as described in paragraphs [0078]-[0108]); wherein the mounting pad further comprises: a command acquisition unit (720), configured to acquire a command used for generating the light-emitting control signal (via 720, or an interface connected to said mounting pad via 734, as described in paragraphs [0078]-[0108]), and transmit the command to the light-emitting control signal generation unit (as described in paragraphs [0078]-[0108]), wherein the light-emitting control signal generation unit generates the light-emitting control signal according to the command (as described in paragraphs [0078]-[0108]): wherein the command acquisition unit comprises: an intelligent device communication unit (720, or a device coupled to 734 and the master 718), configured to acquire the command used for generating the light-emitting control signal from an intelligent device (as described in paragraphs [0078]-[0108]), wherein the command comprises data representing selection of the light-emitting mode for the at least one light element (data corresponding to 712’ on 722, or equivalent interface on a device of 734, as described in paragraphs [0078]-[0108], corresponding to a mode of the light elements); wherein each light element (30, 130) further comprises: a light element information unit (42), configured to transmit identification information data uniquely identifying the light element (paragraph [0040]) and wireless address data of the light element (e.g., position data forms a physical address of the light element on the mounting pad 120, and is communicated wirelessly, as shown in Figs. 1-2 and as described in paragraph [0096], thereby forming address data) by means of the wireless communication unit (44); wherein the mounting pad (120) further comprises: a light element addressing unit (46 or 718), configured to receive the identification information data of the light element and the wireless address data of the light element from the light element information unit (via 46), so as to perform addressing on the light element (paragraph [0096]); wherein that the wireless control unit (e.g., of the master 718) is configured to transmit the light-emitting control signal to the wireless communication unit of the light element by means of wireless communication (paragraph [0101]) comprises: according to a result that addressing is performed on the light element (e.g. paragraph [0096]), transmitting each of the at least one light-emitting control signal to the wireless communication unit (46) of the corresponding light element in the at least one light element (as described in paragraphs [0078]-[0108], paragraph [0096]); wherein the performing addressing on the light element further comprises determining position information of each of the at least one light element on the mounting surface of the mounting area of the mounting pad (paragraph [0096]); and the transmitting each of the at least one light-emitting control signal to the corresponding light element (30, 130) in the at least one light element further comprises determining a correspondence between the light element and the light-emitting control signal according to the characters or patterns of the at least one light element formed on the mounting surface and the position information of each light element (as described in paragraphs [0078]-[0108]); wherein the mounting pad further comprises: a light-emitting control signal generation unit (718, or the controller and wireless communication unit thereof, paragraph [0101], or 720, 732, 718, and/or 734, collectively), configured to generate the light-emitting control signal for controlling the light-emitting mode of the light-emitting unit (as described in paragraphs [0078]-[0108]), and transmit the light-emitting control signal to the wireless control unit (as described in paragraphs [0078]-[0108]); wherein the mounting pad further comprises: a command acquisition unit (720), configured to acquire a command used for generating the light-emitting control signal (via 720, or an interface connected to said mounting pad via 734, as described in paragraphs [0078]-[0108]), and transmit the command to the light-emitting control signal generation unit (as described in paragraphs [0078]-[0108]), wherein the light-emitting control signal generation unit generates the light-emitting control signal according to the command (as described in paragraphs [0078]-[0108]); wherein the command acquisition unit comprises: an intelligent device communication unit (720, or a device coupled to 734 and the master 718), configured to acquire the command used for generating the light-emitting control signal from an intelligent device (as described in paragraphs [0078]-[0108]), wherein the command comprises data representing selection of the light-emitting mode for the at least one light element (data corresponding to 712’ on 722, or equivalent interface on a device of 734, as described in paragraphs [0078]-[0108], corresponding to a mode of the light elements).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the device of Jacobs and incorporated the teachings of each light element further comprises: a light element information unit, configured to transmit identification information data uniquely identifying the light element and wireless address data of the light element by means of the wireless communication unit; and the mounting pad further comprises: a light element addressing unit, configured to receive the identification information data of the light element and the wireless address data of the light element from the light element information unit, so as to perform addressing on the light element (as recited in claim 6); wherein that the wireless control unit is configured to transmit the light-emitting control signal to the wireless communication unit of the light element by means of wireless communication comprises: according to a result that addressing is performed on the light element, transmitting each of the at least one light-emitting control signal to the wireless communication unit of the corresponding light element in the at least one light element (as recited in claim 7); wherein the performing addressing on the light element further comprises determining position information of each of the at least one light element on the mounting surface of the mounting area of the mounting pad; and the transmitting each of the at least one light-emitting control signal to the corresponding light element in the at least one light element further comprises determining a correspondence between the light element and the light-emitting control signal according to the characters or patterns of the at least one light element formed on the mounting surface and the position information of each light element (as recited in claim 8); wherein the mounting pad further comprises: a light-emitting control signal generation unit, configured to generate the light-emitting control signal for controlling the light-emitting mode of the light-emitting unit, and transmit the light-emitting control signal to the wireless control unit (as recited in claim 9); wherein the mounting pad further comprises: a command acquisition unit, configured to acquire a command used for generating the light-emitting control signal, and transmit the command to the light-emitting control signal generation unit, wherein the light-emitting control signal generation unit generates the light-emitting control signal according to the command (as recited in claim 10): wherein the command acquisition unit comprises: an intelligent device communication unit, configured to acquire the command used for generating the light-emitting control signal from an intelligent device, wherein the command comprises data representing selection of the light-emitting mode for the at least one light element (as recited in claim 11); wherein each light element further comprises: a light element information unit, configured to transmit identification information data uniquely identifying the light element and wireless address data of the light element by means of the wireless communication unit (as recited in claim 22); wherein the mounting pad further comprises: a light element addressing unit, configured to receive identification information data of the light element and wireless address data of the light element from the light element, so as to perform addressing on the light element (as recited in claim 27); wherein that the wireless control unit is configured to transmit the light-emitting control signal to the light element by means of wireless communication comprises: according to a result that addressing is performed on the light element, transmitting each of the at least one light-emitting control signal to a wireless communication unit of the corresponding light element in the at least one light element (as recited in claim 28); wherein the performing addressing on the light element further comprises determining position information of each of the at least one light element on the mounting surface of the mounting area of the mounting pad; and the transmitting each of the at least one light-emitting control signal to the corresponding light element in the at least one light element further comprises determining a correspondence between the light element and the light-emitting control signal according to the characters or patterns of the at least one light element formed on the mounting surface and the position information of each light element (as recited in claim 29); wherein the mounting pad further comprises: a light-emitting control signal generation unit, configured to generate the light-emitting control signal for controlling the light-emitting mode of the light element, and transmit the light-emitting control signal to the wireless control unit (as recited in claim 30); wherein the mounting pad further comprises: a command acquisition unit, configured to acquire a command used for generating the light-emitting control signal, and transmit the command to the light-emitting control signal generation unit, wherein the light-emitting control signal generation unit generates the light-emitting control signal according to the command (as recited in claim 31); wherein the command acquisition unit comprises: an intelligent device communication unit, configured to acquire the command used for generating the light-emitting control signal from an intelligent device, wherein the command comprises data representing selection of the light-emitting mode for the at least one light element (as recited in claim 32), such as taught or suggested by Shraga, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to yield the predictable result of improve the performance and/or utility of the device (i.e., by providing the device with a user interface to customize the light output by the light element or light elements).
Regarding claim 36, Jacobs teaches or suggests a light system (Figs. 1-6), comprising at least one light element (13, 14) and a mounting pad (12, 80), wherein the light element comprises: a light-emitting unit (20), configured to emit light (paragraph [0058]); an attachment unit (a corresponding positioning element provided on the light module 13, as described in paragraph [0057]), configured to attach the light element (13, 14) to any position on a mounting surface on which the light element is mounted (as shown in Fig. 1, and as described in paragraph [0057]); and the mounting pad (12, 80) comprises: a mounting area (16, or the array of 16 shown in Fig. 1), provided with the mounting surface on which the light element (13, 14) is mounted (as shown in Fig. 1); and a wireless electric-power transmitting unit (18, 30, 32) comprising at least one or more coils (18) being disposed within, and arranged to encircle, a portion of the mounting area (as shown in Fig. 1); wherein when the light element (13, 14) is located within the portion of the mounting area surrounded by the wireless electric-power transmitting unit (as shown in Fig. 1, the light element 13, 14 is located within the portion of the mounting area encircled by the wireless electric-power transmitting unit), the wireless electric-power transmitting unit is configured to transmit the electric power (via 18) to the wireless electric-power receiving unit (26, 56) of the light element (13, 14) on the mounting surface by means of wireless electric-power transmission (as described in paragraphs [0053]-[0092]).
Jacobs does not explicitly teach or suggest the light element comprises a light element information unit, configured to transmit identification information data uniquely identifying the light element and wireless address data of the light element; and the mounting pad comprises a light element addressing unit, configured to receive the identification information data of the light element and the wireless address data of the light element from the light element information unit, so as to perform addressing on the light element.
Shraga teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-9) the light element (30, 130) further comprises: a light element information unit (42), configured to transmit identification information data uniquely identifying the light element (paragraph [0040]) and wireless address data of the light element (e.g., position data forms a physical address of the light element on the mounting pad 120, and is communicated wirelessly, as shown in Figs. 1-2 and as described in paragraph [0096], thereby forming address data) by means of the wireless communication unit (44); and the mounting pad (120) further comprises: a light element addressing unit (46 or 718), configured to receive the identification information data of the light element and the wireless address data of the light element from the light element information unit (via 46), so as to perform addressing on the light element (paragraph [0096]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the device of Jacobs and incorporated the teachings of the light element comprises a light element information unit, configured to transmit identification information data uniquely identifying the light element and wireless address data of the light element; and the mounting pad comprises a light element addressing unit, configured to receive the identification information data of the light element and the wireless address data of the light element from the light element information unit, so as to perform addressing on the light element, such as taught or suggested by Shraga, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to yield the predictable result of improve the performance and/or utility of the device (i.e., by providing the device with a user interface to customize the light output by the light element or light elements).
Regarding claim 37, Jacobs teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-6) the at least one light element (13, 14) is mounted on the mounting surface so as to form characters or patterns (as shown in Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 38, Jacobs teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-6) the light element further comprises: a wireless communication unit (not shown, the controller unit corresponding to the light module 13, 14, as described in paragraphs [0034]-[0035] and [0081]-[0082]), configured to receive a light-emitting control signal by means of wireless communication (as described in paragraphs [0034]-[0035] and [0081]-[0082]); and the mounting pad (12, 80) further comprises: a wireless control unit (not shown, the controller unit corresponding to the mounting pad, 12, 80, as described in paragraphs [0034]-[0035] and [0081]-[0082]), configured to transmit the light-emitting control signal to the wireless communication unit of the light element by means of wireless communication (as described in paragraphs [0034]-[0035] and [0081]-[0082]).
Regarding claim 39, Jacobs does not explicitly teach that the wireless control unit is configured to transmit the light-emitting control signal to the wireless communication unit of the light element by means of wireless communication comprises: according to a result that addressing is performed on the light element, transmitting each of the at least one light-emitting control signal to the wireless communication unit of the corresponding light element in the at least one light element.
Shraga teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-9) wherein that the wireless control unit (e.g., of the master 718) is configured to transmit the light-emitting control signal to the wireless communication unit of the light element by means of wireless communication (paragraph [0101]) comprises: according to a result that addressing is performed on the light element (e.g. paragraph [0096]), transmitting each of the at least one light-emitting control signal to the wireless communication unit (46) of the corresponding light element in the at least one light element (as described in paragraphs [0078]-[0108], paragraph [0096]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the device of Jacobs and incorporated the teachings of the wireless control unit is configured to transmit the light-emitting control signal to the wireless communication unit of the light element by means of wireless communication comprises: according to a result that addressing is performed on the light element, transmitting each of the at least one light-emitting control signal to the wireless communication unit of the corresponding light element in the at least one light element, such as taught or suggested by Shraga, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to yield the predictable result of improve the performance and/or utility of the device (i.e., by providing the device with a user interface to customize the light output by the light element or light elements).
Regarding claim 40, Jacobs does not explicitly teach the performing addressing on the light element further comprises determining position information of each of the at least one light element on the mounting surface of the mounting area of the mounting pad; and the transmitting each of the at least one light-emitting control signal to the corresponding light element in the at least one light element further comprises determining a correspondence between the light element and the light-emitting control signal according to the characters or patterns of the at least one light element formed on the mounting surface and the position information of each light element.
Shraga teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-9) wherein the performing addressing on the light element further comprises determining position information of each of the at least one light element on the mounting surface of the mounting area of the mounting pad (paragraph [0096]); and the transmitting each of the at least one light-emitting control signal to the corresponding light element (30, 130) in the at least one light element further comprises determining a correspondence between the light element and the light-emitting control signal according to the characters or patterns of the at least one light element formed on the mounting surface and the position information of each light element (as described in paragraphs [0078]-[0108])
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the device of Jacobs and incorporated the teachings of the performing addressing on the light element further comprises determining position information of each of the at least one light element on the mounting surface of the mounting area of the mounting pad; and the transmitting each of the at least one light-emitting control signal to the corresponding light element in the at least one light element further comprises determining a correspondence between the light element and the light-emitting control signal according to the characters or patterns of the at least one light element formed on the mounting surface and the position information of each light element, such as taught or suggested by Shraga, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to yield the predictable result of improve the performance and/or utility of the device (i.e., by providing the device with a user interface to customize the light output by the light element or light elements).
Regarding claim 41, Jacobs teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-6) a light element (13, 14), comprising: a light-emitting unit (20), configured to emit light (paragraph [0058]); an attachment unit (24), configured to attach the light element to any position on a mounting surface (22) having a mounting area (as shown in Fig. 1) on which the light element is mounted (as shown in Fig. 1); wherein when the light element (13, 14) is located within a portion of the mounting area that is surrounded (as shown in Fig. 1, the light element 13, 14 is located within the portion of the mounting area encircled by the wireless electric-power transmitting unit) by a wireless electric-power transmitting unit (18, 30, 32) comprising at least one or more coils (18) being disposed within, and arranged to encircle, the portion of the mounting area (as shown in Fig. 1), the wireless electric-power transmitting unit is configured to transmit the electric power (via 18) to the wireless electric-power receiving unit (26, 56) of the light element (13, 14) on the mounting surface by means of wireless electric-power transmission (as described in paragraphs [0053]-[0092]).
Jacobs does not explicitly teach a light element information unit, configured to transmit identification information data uniquely identifying the light element and wireless address data of the light element.
Shraga teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-9) a light element information unit (42), configured to transmit identification information data uniquely identifying the light element (paragraph [0040]) and wireless address data of the light element (e.g., position data forms a physical address of the light element on the mounting pad 120, and is communicated wirelessly, as shown in Figs. 1-2 and as described in paragraph [0096], thereby forming address data).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the device of Jacobs and incorporated the teachings of a light element information unit, configured to transmit identification information data uniquely identifying the light element and wireless address data of the light element, such as taught or suggested by Shraga, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to yield the predictable result of improve the performance and/or utility of the device (i.e., by providing the device with a user interface to customize the light output by the light element or light elements).
Regarding claim 42, Jacobs teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-6) the light element (13, 14) further comprises: a wireless communication unit (the controller corresponding to the light element 13, 14; as described in paragraphs [0034]-[0035] and [0081]-[0082]), configured to receive a light-emitting control signal by means of wireless communication (as described in paragraphs [0034]-[0035] and [0081]-[0082]).
Regarding claim 43, Jacobs teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-6) a mounting pad (12, 80), comprising: a mounting area (16 or the collection of 16s), provided with a mounting surface (22) on which a light element (13, 14) is mounted; and a wireless electric-power transmitting unit (18, 30, 32) comprising at least one or more coils (18) being disposed within, and arranged to encircle, a portion of the mounting area (as shown in Fig. 1); wherein when light element (13, 14) is located within the portion of the mounting area surrounded by the wireless electric-power transmitting unit (as shown in Fig. 1, the light element 13, 14 is located within the portion of the mounting area encircled by the wireless electric-power transmitting unit), the wireless electric-power transmitting unit is configured to transmit the electric power (via 18) to the wireless electric-power receiving unit (26, 56) of the light element (13, 14) on the mounting surface by means of wireless electric-power transmission (as described in paragraphs [0053]-[0092]).
Jacobs does not explicitly teach a light element addressing unit, configured to receive identification information data of the light element and wireless address data of the light element from the light element, so as to perform addressing on the light element.
Shraga teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-9) a light element addressing unit (46 or 718), configured to receive the identification information data of the light element and the wireless address data of the light element from the light element information unit (via 46), so as to perform addressing on the light element (paragraph [0096]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the device of Jacobs and incorporated the teachings of a light element addressing unit, configured to receive identification information data of the light element and wireless address data of the light element from the light element, so as to perform addressing on the light element, such as taught or suggested by Shraga, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to yield the predictable result of improve the performance and/or utility of the device (i.e., by providing the device with a user interface to customize the light output by the light element or light elements).
Regarding claim 44, Jacobs teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-6, paragraphs [0001]-[0092]) the mounting pad (12) further comprises: a wireless control unit (not shown, the controller corresponding to the mounting pad; as described in paragraphs [0034]-[0034] and [0081]-[0082]), configured to transmit a light-emitting control signal to the light element by means of wireless communication (as described in paragraphs [0034]-[0034] and [0081]-[0082]).
Regarding claim 45, Jacobs does not explicitly teach wherein that the wireless control unit is configured to transmit the light-emitting control signal to the light element by means of wireless communication comprises: according to a result that addressing is performed on the light element, transmitting each of the at least one light-emitting control signal to a wireless communication unit of the corresponding light element in the at least one light element.
Shraga teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-9) wherein that the wireless control unit (e.g., of the master 718) is configured to transmit the light-emitting control signal to the wireless communication unit of the light element by means of wireless communication (paragraph [0101]) comprises: according to a result that addressing is performed on the light element (e.g. paragraph [0096]), transmitting each of the at least one light-emitting control signal to the wireless communication unit (46) of the corresponding light element in the at least one light element (as described in paragraphs [0078]-[0108], paragraph [0096]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the device of Jacobs and incorporated the teachings of the wireless control unit is configured to transmit the light-emitting control signal to the light element by means of wireless communication comprises: according to a result that addressing is performed on the light element, transmitting each of the at least one light-emitting control signal to a wireless communication unit of the corresponding light element in the at least one light element, such as taught or suggested by Shraga, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to yield the predictable result of improve the performance and/or utility of the device (i.e., by providing the device with a user interface to customize the light output by the light element or light elements).
Regarding claim 46, Jacobs does not explicitly teach that the performing addressing on the light element further comprises determining position information of each of the at least one light element on the mounting surface of the mounting area of the mounting pad; and the transmitting each of the at least one light-emitting control signal to the corresponding light element in the at least one light element further comprises determining a correspondence between the light element and the light-emitting control signal according to the characters or patterns of the at least one light element formed on the mounting surface and the position information of each light element.
Shraga teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-9) wherein the performing addressing on the light element further comprises determining position information of each of the at least one light element on the mounting surface of the mounting area of the mounting pad (paragraph [0096]); and the transmitting each of the at least one light-emitting control signal to the corresponding light element (30, 130) in the at least one light element further comprises determining a correspondence between the light element and the light-emitting control signal according to the characters or patterns of the at least one light element formed on the mounting surface and the position information of each light element (as described in paragraphs [0078]-[0108]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the device of Jacobs and incorporated the teachings of the performing addressing on the light element further comprises determining position information of each of the at least one light element on the mounting surface of the mounting area of the mounting pad; and the transmitting each of the at least one light-emitting control signal to the corresponding light element in the at least one light element further comprises determining a correspondence between the light element and the light-emitting control signal according to the characters or patterns of the at least one light element formed on the mounting surface and the position information of each light element, such as taught or suggested by Shraga, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to yield the predictable result of improve the performance and/or utility of the device (i.e., by providing the device with a user interface to customize the light output by the light element or light elements).
Claims 12 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jacobs, in view of Shraga, as applied to claims 10 and 31 above, respectively, and in further view of Cohen (US 2020/0225903 A1).
Regarding claims 12 and 33, Jacobs does not explicitly teach that the command acquisition unit comprises: a sensor, configured to acquire sensing data obtained by sensing environment information, wherein the environment information comprises at least one of light, temperature, or sound; a feature extraction unit, configured to acquire the sensing data and extract feature data of the environment information; and a command generation unit, configured to acquire the command used for generating the light-emitting control signal according to the feature data, wherein the command comprises data representing a correspondence between the feature data and the light-emitting mode of the at least one light element (as recited in claim 12); or wherein the command acquisition unit comprises: a sensor, configured to acquire sensing data obtained by sensing environment information, wherein the environment information comprises at least one of light, temperature, or sound; a feature extraction unit, configured to acquire the sensing data and extract feature data of the environment information; and a command generation unit, configured to acquire the command used for generating the light-emitting control signal according to the feature data, wherein the command comprises data representing a correspondence between the feature data and the light-emitting mode of the at least one light element (as recited in claim 33).
Cohen teaches or suggests (Fig. 4) the command acquisition unit (400) comprises: a sensor (420), configured to acquire sensing data obtained by sensing environment information (as described in paragraphs [0097]-[0107]), wherein the environment information comprises at least one of light, temperature, or sound (as described in paragraphs [0097]-[0107]); a feature extraction unit (404, as described in paragraphs [0097]-[0107]), configured to acquire the sensing data and extract feature data of the environment information (as described in paragraphs [0097]-[0107]); and a command generation unit (404, as described in paragraphs [0097]-[0107]), configured to acquire the command used for generating the light-emitting control signal according to the feature data (as described in paragraphs [0097]-[0107]), wherein the command comprises data representing a correspondence between the feature data and the light-emitting mode of the at least one light element (as described in paragraphs [0098] and [0102]); or wherein the command acquisition unit (400) comprises: a sensor (420), configured to acquire sensing data obtained by sensing environment information (as described in paragraphs [0097]-[0107]), wherein the environment information comprises at least one of light, temperature, or sound (as described in paragraphs [0097]-[0107]); a feature extraction unit (404), configured to acquire the sensing data and extract feature data of the environment information (as described in paragraphs [0097]-[0107]); and a command generation unit (404), configured to acquire the command used for generating the light-emitting control signal according to the feature data (as described in paragraphs [0097]-[0107]), wherein the command comprises data representing a correspondence between the feature data and the light-emitting mode of the at least one light element (as described in paragraphs [0097]-[0107], paragraphs [0098] and [0102]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the device of Jacobs and incorporated the teachings of the command acquisition unit comprises: a sensor, configured to acquire sensing data obtained by sensing environment information, wherein the environment information comprises at least one of light, temperature, or sound; a feature extraction unit, configured to acquire the sensing data and extract feature data of the environment information; and a command generation unit, configured to acquire the command used for generating the light-emitting control signal according to the feature data, wherein the command comprises data representing a correspondence between the feature data and the light-emitting mode of the at least one light element (as recited in claim 12); or wherein the command acquisition unit comprises: a sensor, configured to acquire sensing data obtained by sensing environment information, wherein the environment information comprises at least one of light, temperature, or sound; a feature extraction unit, configured to acquire the sensing data and extract feature data of the environment information; and a command generation unit, configured to acquire the command used for generating the light-emitting control signal according to the feature data, wherein the command comprises data representing a correspondence between the feature data and the light-emitting mode of the at least one light element (as recited in claim 33), such as taught or suggested by Cohen, in order to increase the utility and/or marketability of the device (i.e., by providing an embodiment by which the device can utilize a sensor to control or otherwise tailor the content or patterns displayed by the light element or light elements).
Claims 15 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jacobs, in view of Jeong et al. (US 2016/0359369 A1, herein referred to as: Jeong).
Regarding claims 15 and 35, Jacobs does not explicitly teach the mounting pad further comprises: an alternating-current receiving unit, configured to receive an alternating current; and an AC-DC conversion unit, configured to convert the alternating current received by the alternating-current receiving unit into a direct current, and transmit the direct current to the wireless electric-power transmitting unit (as recited in claim 15); wherein the mounting pad further comprises: an alternating-current receiving unit, configured to receive an alternating current; and an AC-DC conversion unit, configured to convert the alternating current received by the alternating-current receiving unit into a direct current, and transmit the direct current to the wireless electric-power transmitting unit (as recited in claim 35).
Jeong teaches or suggests (Fig. 1) the mounting pad further comprises: an alternating-current receiving unit (21), configured to receive an alternating current (10); and an AC-DC conversion unit (22), configured to convert the alternating current received by the alternating-current receiving unit into a direct current (paragraph [0048]), and transmit the direct current to the wireless electric-power transmitting unit (to 31 of said wireless electric-power transmitting unit 30, as shown in Fig. 1); wherein the mounting pad further comprises: an alternating-current receiving unit (21), configured to receive an alternating current (10); and an AC-DC conversion unit (22), configured to convert the alternating current received by the alternating-current receiving unit into a direct current (paragraph [0048]), and transmit the direct current to the wireless electric-power transmitting unit (to 31 of said wireless electric-power transmitting unit 30, as shown in Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the device of Jacobs and incorporated the teachings of the mounting pad further comprises: an alternating-current receiving unit, configured to receive an alternating current; and an AC-DC conversion unit, configured to convert the alternating current received by the alternating-current receiving unit into a direct current, and transmit the direct current to the wireless electric-power transmitting unit (as recited in claim 15); wherein the mounting pad further comprises: an alternating-current receiving unit, configured to receive an alternating current; and an AC-DC conversion unit, configured to convert the alternating current received by the alternating-current receiving unit into a direct current, and transmit the direct current to the wireless electric-power transmitting unit (as recited in claim 35), such as taught or suggested by Jeong, in order to improve, or otherwise increase, the utility and/or performance of the device (i.e., by providing an embodiment by which the device can be utilized with an AC power source, e.g., a mains connection or standard outlet).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 23 October 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s argument that Jacobs et al. failed to disclose, or suggest in combination, “...a wireless electric-power transmitting unit comprising at least one or more coils being disposed within, and arranged to encircle, a portion of the mounting area; wherein when the light element is located within the portion of the mounting area encircled by the wireless electric-power transmitting unit, the wireless electric-power transmitting unit is configured to transmit the electric power to the wireless electric-power receiving unit of the light element on the mounting surface by means of wireless electric-power transmission...,” pages 18-21 of the above-cited remarks, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant is respectfully advised that while the claims of issued patents are interpreted in light of the specification, prosecution history, prior art and other claims, this is not the mode of claim interpretation to be applied during examination. During examination, the claims must be interpreted as broadly as their terms reasonably allow. In re American Academy of Science Tech Center, 70 USPQ2d 1827 (Fed. Cir. May 13, 2004). In this case, the claim does not require that the light element be completely encircled, or otherwise limited to the position surrounded by the one or more coils. Rather, the light element, or a portion thereof, need merely be located within the portion of the mounting area encircled by the wireless electric-power transmitting unit in order for the device to meet the above-cited limitations. As outlined in the rejection above, the light element of Jacobs et al. comprises a portion thereof located within the portion of the mounting area encircled by the wireless electric-power transmitting unit. Therefore, Jacobs et al. reasonably discloses the above-cited claim limitations. Additionally, or alternatively, even if the claim had recited that the light element is completely encircled, or otherwise limited to the position surrounded by the one or more coils, such a feature is not considered new or otherwise novel, as outlined in the cited prior art below.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: please see US 2014/0300315 A1 to Wakabayashi, BE 1020190 A3 to Sterkens, and DE 202017001055 U1 to Kammerer, pertinent to the arrangement of one or plural coils surrounding the entire mounting area, with receiving devices placed completely within the surrounded mounting area.
/COLIN J CATTANACH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875