Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-8, 10-12, and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Suganuma (U.S. Patent No. 6,249,381).
Regarding claim 1, Suganuma teaches a microscope system, comprising:
a laser light source (10, 21, 25, 31) to emit illumination light toward an observation sample (46, 53) (See e.g. Figs. 7-12 and 15-18; C. 15, L. 8-22; C. 16, L. 11-23; C. 17, L. 16-28; C. 18, L. 19-33; C. 18, L. 45 – C. 19, L. 20; C. 20, L. 60 – C. 21, L. 6); and
a plurality of optical fibers (2a, 2b, 2d, 2d, 45, 51) disposed along an optical path between the laser light source (10, 21, 25, 31) and the observation sample (46, 53), such that each optical fiber of the plurality of optical fibers propagates illumination light toward the observation sample, wherein each optical fiber of the plurality of optical fibers has a length greater than a coherence length of the illumination light, and wherein a first optical fiber of the plurality of optical fibers has a first length that differs from a second length of a second optical fiber by at least the coherence length (See e.g. Figs. 6-12 and 15-18; C. 16, L. 43 – C. 18, L. 49; C. 20, L. 25 – C. 21, L. 6).
Regarding claim 2, Suganuma teaches the microscope system of claim 1, as above.
Suganuma further teaches that the microscope system is a phase contrast microscope (See e.g. Figs. 6-12 and 15-18; C. 16, L. 43 – C. 18, L. 49; C. 20, L. 25 – C. 21, L. 6).
Regarding claim 5, Suganuma teaches the microscope system of claim 1, as above.
Suganuma further teaches that each optical fiber of the plurality of optical fibers differs in length from each other optical fiber of the plurality of optical fibers by at least the coherence length (See e.g. Figs. 6-12 and 15-18; C. 16, L. 43 – C. 18, L. 49).
Regarding claim 6, Suganuma teaches the microscope system of claim 1, as above.
Suganuma further teaches a lens (11, 22, 33) along the optical path, the lens disposed between the laser light source and the plurality of optical fibers, such that the lens focuses the illumination light toward the plurality of optical fibers (See e.g. Figs. 7-12 and 15-18; C. 15, L. 8-22; C. 16, L. 11-23; C. 17, L. 16-28; C. 17, L. 52-67; C. 18, L. 19-33; C. 18, L. 45 – C. 19, L. 20; C. 20, L. 60 – C. 21, L. 6).
Regarding claim 7, Suganuma teaches the microscope system of claim 1, as above.
Suganuma further teaches a condenser lens (52) along the optical path, the condenser lens disposed between the plurality of optical fibers and the observation sample, such that the condenser lens directs the illumination light toward the observation sample (See e.g. Fig. 16; C. 20, L. 25 – C. 21, L. 6).
Regarding claim 8, Suganuma teaches the microscope system of claim 1, as above.
Suganuma further teaches that the plurality of optical fibers (12) is a first plurality of optical fibers, and wherein the microscope system includes a second plurality of optical fibers (13) along the optical path, the second plurality of optical fibers disposed between the first plurality of optical fibers and the observation sample, such that the illumination light is propagated toward the observation sample by the first plurality of optical fibers and the second plurality of optical fibers (See e.g. Figs. 7-8; C. 17, L. 57-63).
Regarding claim 10, Suganuma teaches the microscope system of claim 1, as above.
Suganuma further teaches a camera (49, 55) to capture and output images of the observation sample as illuminated by the illumination light (See e.g. Figs. 15-16; C. 20, L. 27-34; C. 20, L. 64 – C. 21, L. 6).
Regarding claim 11, Suganuma teaches a method for microscopic imaging, the method comprising:
at a laser light source (10, 21, 25, 31) of a microscope system, emitting illumination light along an optical path toward an observation sample (46, 53) (See e.g. Figs. 7-12 and 15-18; C. 15, L. 8-22; C. 16, L. 11-23; C. 17, L. 16-28; C. 18, L. 19-33; C. 18, L. 45 – C. 19, L. 20; C. 20, L. 60 – C. 21, L. 6); and
at a camera (49, 55) of the microscope system, capturing an image of the observation sample as illuminated by the illumination light (See e.g. Figs. 15-16; C. 20, L. 27-34; C. 20, L. 64 – C. 21, L. 6), wherein the illumination light is propagated toward the observation sample by a plurality of optical fibers (2a, 2b, 2d, 2d, 45, 51) disposed along the optical path, such that each optical fiber of the plurality of optical fibers propagates illumination light toward the observation sample, wherein each optical fiber of the plurality of optical fibers is longer than a coherence length of the illumination light, and wherein a first optical fiber of the plurality of optical fibers has a first length that differs from a second length of a second optical fiber by at least the coherence length (See e.g. Figs. 6-12 and 15-18; C. 16, L. 43 – C. 18, L. 49; C. 20, L. 25 – C. 21, L. 6).
Regarding claim 12, Suganuma teaches the method of claim 11, as above.
Suganuma further teaches that the microscope system includes a phase contrast microscope (See e.g. Figs. 6-12 and 15-18; C. 16, L. 43 – C. 18, L. 49; C. 20, L. 25 – C. 21, L. 6).
Regarding claim 15, Suganuma teaches the method of claim 11, as above.
Suganuma further teaches that each optical fiber of the plurality of optical fibers differs in length from each other optical fiber of the plurality of optical fibers by at least the coherence length (See e.g. Figs. 6-12 and 15-18; C. 16, L. 43 – C. 18, L. 49).
Regarding claim 16, Suganuma teaches the method of claim 1, as above.
Suganuma further teaches that the plurality of optical fibers (12) is a first plurality of optical fibers, and wherein the microscope system includes a second plurality of optical fibers (13) along the optical path, the second plurality of optical fibers disposed between the first plurality of optical fibers and the observation sample, such that the illumination light is propagated toward the observation sample by the first plurality of optical fibers and the second plurality of optical fibers (See e.g. Figs. 7-8; C. 17, L. 57-63).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 10-15, and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Urashima et al. (U.S. PG-Pub No. 2022/0373779; hereinafter – “Urashima”) in view of Kawada et al. (Japanese Pub No. H06-167640; hereinafter – “Kawada”). All citations to Kawada are directed toward the English machine translation of the Japanese document, provided as a reference.
Regarding claim 1, Urashima teaches a microscope system, comprising:
a laser light source (11, 21, 41) to emit illumination light toward an observation sample (See e.g. Figs. 1-5 and 10; Paragraphs 0023-0027, 0038, 0041-0043, and 0060-0065); and
a plurality of optical fibers (121, 221, 421) disposed along an optical path between the laser light source and the observation sample, such that each optical fiber of the plurality of optical fibers propagates illumination light toward the observation sample (See e.g. Figs. 1-5 and 10; Paragraphs 0023-0027, 0038-0039, 0041-0046, and 0060-0065).
Urashima fails to explicitly disclose that each optical fiber of the plurality of optical fibers has a length greater than a coherence length of the illumination light and a first optical fiber of the plurality of optical fibers has a first length that differs from a second length of a second optical fiber by at least the coherence length.
However, Kawada teaches a laser light illumination device comprising a laser light source (3) to emit illumination light toward an observation sample (20) and a plurality of optical fibers (11, 12, 13, 14, 15) disposed along an optical path between the laser light source (3) and the observation sample (20), such that each optical fiber of the plurality of optical fibers propagates illumination light toward the observation sample, wherein each optical fiber of the plurality of optical fibers has a length greater than a coherence length of the illumination light, and wherein a first optical fiber of the plurality of optical fibers has a first length that differs from a second length of a second optical fiber by at least the coherence length (See e.g. Figs. 1-2; Paragraphs 0015-0016 and 0022-0023).
Kawada teaches these fibers with a length greater than a coherence length of the illumination light and differing from each other by at least the coherence length “to improve the signal-to-noise ratio of an image without any mechanical driving parts, without requiring time for integration, and with minimal energy loss” (Paragraph 0018) in order “to convert spatially coherent light into spatially incoherent light without using any mechanically driven parts in the optical system, without requiring time for integration, and while minimizing the loss of energy from the light source” (Paragraph 0014).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the microscope system of Urashima such that the fibers have a length greater than a coherence length of the illumination light and differ from each other by at least the coherence length as in Kawada “to improve the signal-to-noise ratio of an image without any mechanical driving parts, without requiring time for integration, and with minimal energy loss” in order “to convert spatially coherent light into spatially incoherent light without using any mechanically driven parts in the optical system, without requiring time for integration, and while minimizing the loss of energy from the light source,” as taught by Kawada (Paragraphs 0014 and 0018).
Regarding claim 2, Urashima in view of Kawada teaches the microscope system of claim 1, as above.
Urashima further teaches that the microscope system is a phase contrast microscope (See e.g. Figs. 1-5 and 10; Paragraphs 0023-0027, 0038-0039, 0041-0046, and 0060-0065).
Regarding claim 3, Urashima in view of Kawada teaches the microscope system of claim 2, as above.
Urashima further teaches that the plurality of optical fibers are arranged together as a fiber bundle (12, 22, 42), and wherein a source-side cross-sectional profile (12A) of the fiber bundle has a different shape from a sample-side cross-sectional profile (12B, 22B, 42B) of the fiber bundle (See e.g. Figs. 1-2, 5-6, and 10-11; Paragraphs 0031-0033, 0038-0039, 0044-0045, and 0064-0065).
Regarding claim 4, Urashima in view of Kawada teaches the microscope system of claim 3, as above.
Urashima further teaches that the sample-side cross-sectional profile (12B, 22B, 42B) is a ring and the plurality of optical fibers are distributed along an edge of the ring, and wherein the plurality of optical fibers are distributed throughout the source-side cross sectional profile to in-couple illumination light from the laser light source (See e.g. Figs. 1-2, 5-6, and 10-11; Paragraphs 0031-0033, 0038-0039, 0044-0045, and 0064-0065).
Regarding claim 5, Urashima in view of Kawada teaches the microscope system of claim 1, as above.
Urashima fails to explicitly disclose that each optical fiber of the plurality of optical fibers differs in length from each other optical fiber of the plurality of optical fibers by at least the coherence length.
However, Kawada further teaches that each optical fiber of the plurality of optical fibers differs in length from each other optical fiber of the plurality of optical fibers by at least the coherence length (See e.g. Figs. 1-2; Paragraphs 0015-0016 and 0022-0023).
Kawada teaches these fibers differing from each other by at least the coherence length “to improve the signal-to-noise ratio of an image without any mechanical driving parts, without requiring time for integration, and with minimal energy loss” (Paragraph 0018) in order “to convert spatially coherent light into spatially incoherent light without using any mechanically driven parts in the optical system, without requiring time for integration, and while minimizing the loss of energy from the light source” (Paragraph 0014).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the microscope system of Urashima such that the fibers differ from each other by at least the coherence length as in Kawada “to improve the signal-to-noise ratio of an image without any mechanical driving parts, without requiring time for integration, and with minimal energy loss” in order “to convert spatially coherent light into spatially incoherent light without using any mechanically driven parts in the optical system, without requiring time for integration, and while minimizing the loss of energy from the light source,” as taught by Kawada (Paragraphs 0014 and 0018).
Regarding claim 6, Urashima in view of Kawada teaches the microscope system of claim 1, as above.
Urashima further teaches a lens along the optical path, the lens disposed between the laser light source and the plurality of optical fibers, such that the lens focuses the illumination light toward the plurality of optical fibers (See e.g. Figs. 1-5 and 10; Paragraphs 0038-0039).
Additionally, Kawada further teaches a lens (4) along the optical path, the lens disposed between the laser light source and the plurality of optical fibers, such that the lens focuses the illumination light toward the plurality of optical fibers (See e.g. Figs. 1-2; Paragraphs 0015-0016 and 0022-0023).
Regarding claim 7, Urashima in view of Kawada teaches the microscope system of claim 1, as above.
Urashima further teaches a condenser lens (13) along the optical path, the condenser lens disposed between the plurality of optical fibers and the observation sample, such that the condenser lens directs the illumination light toward the observation sample (See e.g. Figs. 1-5 and 10; Paragraphs 0023-0027, 0038-0039, 0041-0046, and 0060-0065).
Regarding claim 10, Urashima in view of Kawada teaches the microscope system of claim 1, as above.
Urashima further teaches a camera (17) to capture and output images of the observation sample as illuminated by the illumination light (See e.g. Figs. 1-5 and 10; Paragraphs 0023-0027, 0038-0039, 0041-0046, and 0060-0065).
Regarding claim 11, Urashima teaches a method for microscopic imaging, the method comprising:
at a laser light source (11, 21, 41) of a microscope system, emitting illumination light along an optical path toward an observation sample (See e.g. Figs. 1-5 and 10; Paragraphs 0023-0027, 0038, 0041-0043, and 0060-0065); and
at a camera (17) of the microscope system, capturing an image of the observation sample as illuminated by the illumination light, wherein the illumination light is propagated toward the observation sample by a plurality of optical fibers (121, 221, 421) disposed along the optical path, such that each optical fiber of the plurality of optical fibers propagates illumination light toward the observation sample (See e.g. Figs. 1-5 and 10; Paragraphs 0023-0027, 0038-0039, 0041-0046, and 0060-0065).
Urashima fails to explicitly disclose that each optical fiber of the plurality of optical fibers is longer than a coherence length of the illumination light and a first optical fiber of the plurality of optical fibers has a first length that differs from a second length of a second optical fiber by at least the coherence length.
However, Kawada teaches a laser light illumination device comprising a laser light source (3) to emit illumination light toward an observation sample (20) and a plurality of optical fibers (11, 12, 13, 14, 15) disposed along an optical path between the laser light source (3) and the observation sample (20), such that each optical fiber of the plurality of optical fibers propagates illumination light toward the observation sample, wherein each optical fiber of the plurality of optical fibers has a length greater than a coherence length of the illumination light, and wherein a first optical fiber of the plurality of optical fibers has a first length that differs from a second length of a second optical fiber by at least the coherence length (See e.g. Figs. 1-2; Paragraphs 0015-0016 and 0022-0023).
Kawada teaches these fibers with a length greater than a coherence length of the illumination light and differing from each other by at least the coherence length “to improve the signal-to-noise ratio of an image without any mechanical driving parts, without requiring time for integration, and with minimal energy loss” (Paragraph 0018) in order “to convert spatially coherent light into spatially incoherent light without using any mechanically driven parts in the optical system, without requiring time for integration, and while minimizing the loss of energy from the light source” (Paragraph 0014).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Urashima such that the fibers have a length greater than a coherence length of the illumination light and differ from each other by at least the coherence length as in Kawada “to improve the signal-to-noise ratio of an image without any mechanical driving parts, without requiring time for integration, and with minimal energy loss” in order “to convert spatially coherent light into spatially incoherent light without using any mechanically driven parts in the optical system, without requiring time for integration, and while minimizing the loss of energy from the light source,” as taught by Kawada (Paragraphs 0014 and 0018).
Regarding claim 12, Urashima in view of Kawada teaches the method of claim 11, as above.
Urashima further teaches that the microscope includes a phase contrast microscope (See e.g. Figs. 1-5 and 10; Paragraphs 0023-0027, 0038-0039, 0041-0046, and 0060-0065).
Regarding claim 13, Urashima in view of Kawada teaches the method of claim 12, as above.
Urashima further teaches that the plurality of optical fibers are arranged together as a fiber bundle (12, 22, 42), and wherein a source-side cross-sectional profile (12A) of the fiber bundle has a different shape from a sample-side cross-sectional profile (12B, 22B, 42B) of the fiber bundle (See e.g. Figs. 1-2, 5-6, and 10-11; Paragraphs 0031-0033, 0038-0039, 0044-0045, and 0064-0065).
Regarding claim 14, Urashima in view of Kawada teaches the method of claim 13, as above.
Urashima further teaches that the sample-side cross-sectional profile (12B, 22B, 42B) is a ring and the plurality of optical fibers are distributed along an edge of the ring, and wherein the plurality of optical fibers are distributed throughout the source-side cross sectional profile to in-couple illumination light from the laser light source (See e.g. Figs. 1-2, 5-6, and 10-11; Paragraphs 0031-0033, 0038-0039, 0044-0045, and 0064-0065).
Regarding claim 15, Urashima in view of Kawada teaches the method of claim 11, as above.
Urashima fails to explicitly disclose that each optical fiber of the plurality of optical fibers differs in length from each other optical fiber of the plurality of optical fibers by at least the coherence length.
However, Kawada further teaches that each optical fiber of the plurality of optical fibers differs in length from each other optical fiber of the plurality of optical fibers by at least the coherence length (See e.g. Figs. 1-2; Paragraphs 0015-0016 and 0022-0023).
Kawada teaches these fibers differing from each other by at least the coherence length “to improve the signal-to-noise ratio of an image without any mechanical driving parts, without requiring time for integration, and with minimal energy loss” (Paragraph 0018) in order “to convert spatially coherent light into spatially incoherent light without using any mechanically driven parts in the optical system, without requiring time for integration, and while minimizing the loss of energy from the light source” (Paragraph 0014).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Urashima such that the fibers differ from each other by at least the coherence length as in Kawada “to improve the signal-to-noise ratio of an image without any mechanical driving parts, without requiring time for integration, and with minimal energy loss” in order “to convert spatially coherent light into spatially incoherent light without using any mechanically driven parts in the optical system, without requiring time for integration, and while minimizing the loss of energy from the light source,” as taught by Kawada (Paragraphs 0014 and 0018).
Regarding claim 18, Urashima teaches a phase contrast microscope system, comprising:
a laser light source (11, 21, 41) to emit illumination light toward an observation sample (See e.g. Figs. 1-5 and 10; Paragraphs 0023-0027, 0038-0039, 0041-0046, and 0060-0065);
a bundle of optical fibers (121, 221, 421) disposed along an illumination light path between the laser light source and the observation sample, such that each optical fiber of the bundle of optical fibers propagates illumination light toward the observation sample, and a source-side cross-sectional profile (12A) of the fiber bundle has a different shape from a sample-side cross-sectional profile (12B, 22B, 42B) of the fiber bundle (See e.g. Figs. 1-2, 5-6, and 10-11; Paragraphs 0031-0033, 0038-0039, 0044-0045, and 0064-0065); and
a camera (17) to capture and output images of the observation sample as illuminated by the illumination light (See e.g. Figs. 1-5 and 10; Paragraphs 0023-0027, 0038-0039, 0041-0046, and 0060-0065).
Urashima fails to explicitly disclose that each optical fiber of the plurality of optical fibers is longer than a coherence length of the illumination light and each optical fiber of the plurality of optical fibers differs in length from each other optical fiber of the plurality of optical fibers by at least the coherence length.
However, Kawada teaches a laser light illumination device comprising a laser light source (3) to emit illumination light toward an observation sample (20) and a plurality of optical fibers (11, 12, 13, 14, 15) disposed along an optical path between the laser light source (3) and the observation sample (20), such that each optical fiber of the plurality of optical fibers propagates illumination light toward the observation sample, wherein each optical fiber of the plurality of optical fibers has a length greater than a coherence length of the illumination light, and wherein a first optical fiber of the plurality of optical fibers has a first length that differs from a second length of a second optical fiber by at least the coherence length (See e.g. Figs. 1-2; Paragraphs 0015-0016 and 0022-0023).
Kawada teaches these fibers with a length greater than a coherence length of the illumination light and differing from each other by at least the coherence length “to improve the signal-to-noise ratio of an image without any mechanical driving parts, without requiring time for integration, and with minimal energy loss” (Paragraph 0018) in order “to convert spatially coherent light into spatially incoherent light without using any mechanically driven parts in the optical system, without requiring time for integration, and while minimizing the loss of energy from the light source” (Paragraph 0014).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the phase contrast microscope system of Urashima such that the fibers have a length greater than a coherence length of the illumination light and differ from each other by at least the coherence length as in Kawada “to improve the signal-to-noise ratio of an image without any mechanical driving parts, without requiring time for integration, and with minimal energy loss” in order “to convert spatially coherent light into spatially incoherent light without using any mechanically driven parts in the optical system, without requiring time for integration, and while minimizing the loss of energy from the light source,” as taught by Kawada (Paragraphs 0014 and 0018).
Regarding claim 19, Urashima in view of Kawada teaches the phase contrast microscope system of claim 18, as above.
Urashima further teaches that the sample-side cross-sectional profile (12B, 22B, 42B) is a ring and the plurality of optical fibers are distributed along an edge of the ring, and wherein the plurality of optical fibers are distributed throughout the source-side cross sectional profile to in-couple illumination light from the laser light source (See e.g. Figs. 1-2, 5-6, and 10-11; Paragraphs 0031-0033, 0038-0039, 0044-0045, and 0064-0065).
Claim(s) 8-9 and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suganuma as applied to claims 1, 11, and 18 above, and further in view of Furman et al. (U.S. PG-Pub No. 2008/0037933; hereinafter – “Furman”).
Regarding claims 8 and 16, Suganuma teaches the microscope system of claim 1 and the method of claim 11, respectively, as above.
Suganuma further teaches that the plurality of optical fibers (12) is a first plurality of optical fibers, and wherein the microscope system includes a second plurality of optical fibers (13) along the optical path, the second plurality of optical fibers disposed between the first plurality of optical fibers and the observation sample, such that the illumination light is propagated toward the observation sample by the first plurality of optical fibers and the second plurality of optical fibers (See e.g. Figs. 7-8; C. 17, L. 57-63).
Additionally, Furman teaches speckle reduction using a fiber bundle and light guide comprising a microscope system with a plurality of optical fibers (20) between a laser light source (12) and an observation sample (100) wherein the plurality of optical fibers (20) is a first plurality of optical fibers, and wherein the microscope system includes a second plurality of optical fibers (22) along the optical path, the second plurality of optical fibers disposed between the first plurality of optical fibers and the observation sample, such that the illumination light is propagated toward the observation sample by the first plurality of optical fibers and the second plurality of optical fibers (See e.g. Figs. 3-6 and 8-9; Paragraphs 0044-0055 and 0059-0062).
Furman teaches this first and second plurality of optical fibers “to substantially reduce or eliminate non-uniformities in both the spatial distribution of light and the angular distribution of light illuminating the object under inspection” and “for its advantageous coherence-breaking effects” (Paragraph 0045).
Therefore, even if Suganuma did not disclose the requisite first and second plurality of optical fibers, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the microscope system and method of Suganuma with the second plurality of optical fibers of Furman “to substantially reduce or eliminate non-uniformities in both the spatial distribution of light and the angular distribution of light illuminating the object under inspection” and “for its advantageous coherence-breaking effects,” as taught by Furman (Paragraph 0045).
Regarding claims 9 and 17, Suganuma in view of Furman teaches the microscope system of claim 8 and the method of claim 16, respectively, as above.
Suganuma fails to explicitly disclose a mode-mixing optical element along the optical path, the mode mixing optical element disposed between the first plurality of optical fibers and the second plurality of optical fibers.
However, Furman further teaches a mode-mixing optical element (21, 28) along the optical path, the mode mixing optical element disposed between the first plurality of optical fibers and the second plurality of optical fibers (See e.g. Figs. 5-6; Paragraphs 0048 and 0054-0055).
Furman teaches this mode-mixing optical element “to further condition and modify the light” (Paragraph 0048) and “advantageously decrease the losses in the light guide” (Paragraph 0054) in order “to substantially reduce or eliminate non-uniformities in both the spatial distribution of light and the angular distribution of light illuminating the object under inspection” and “for its advantageous coherence-breaking effects” (Paragraph 0045).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the microscope system and method of Suganuma with the mode-mixing optical element of Furman “to further condition and modify the light” and “advantageously decrease the losses in the light guide” in order “to substantially reduce or eliminate non-uniformities in both the spatial distribution of light and the angular distribution of light illuminating the object under inspection” and “for its advantageous coherence-breaking effects,” as taught by Furman (Paragraphs 0045, 0048, and 0054).
Claim(s) 8-9, 16-17, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Urashima in view of Kawada as applied to claims 1, 11, and 18 above, and further in view of Furman.
Regarding claims 8, 16, and 20, Urashima in view of Kawada teaches the microscope system of claim 1, the method of claim 11, and the phase contrast microscope system of claim 18, respectively, as above.
Urashima and Kawada fail to explicitly disclose that the plurality of optical fibers is a first plurality of optical fibers, and wherein the microscope system includes a second plurality of optical fibers along the optical path, the second plurality of optical fibers disposed between the first plurality of optical fibers and the observation sample, such that the illumination light is propagated toward the observation sample by the first plurality of optical fibers and the second plurality of optical fibers.
However, Furman teaches speckle reduction using a fiber bundle and light guide comprising a microscope system with a plurality of optical fibers (20) between a laser light source (12) and an observation sample (100) wherein the plurality of optical fibers (20) is a first plurality of optical fibers, and wherein the microscope system includes a second plurality of optical fibers (22) along the optical path, the second plurality of optical fibers disposed between the first plurality of optical fibers and the observation sample, such that the illumination light is propagated toward the observation sample by the first plurality of optical fibers and the second plurality of optical fibers (See e.g. Figs. 3-6 and 8-9; Paragraphs 0044-0055 and 0059-0062).
Furman teaches this first and second plurality of optical fibers “to substantially reduce or eliminate non-uniformities in both the spatial distribution of light and the angular distribution of light illuminating the object under inspection” and “for its advantageous coherence-breaking effects” (Paragraph 0045).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the microscope system, method, and phase contrast microscope system of Urashima with the second plurality of optical fibers of Furman “to substantially reduce or eliminate non-uniformities in both the spatial distribution of light and the angular distribution of light illuminating the object under inspection” and “for its advantageous coherence-breaking effects,” as taught by Furman (Paragraph 0045).
Regarding claims 9 and 17, Urashima in view of Kawada and Furman teaches the microscope system of claim 8 and the method of claim 16, respectively, as above.
Urashima and Kawada fail to explicitly disclose a mode-mixing optical element along the optical path, the mode mixing optical element disposed between the first plurality of optical fibers and the second plurality of optical fibers.
However, Furman further teaches a mode-mixing optical element (21, 28) along the optical path, the mode mixing optical element disposed between the first plurality of optical fibers and the second plurality of optical fibers (See e.g. Figs. 5-6; Paragraphs 0048 and 0054-0055).
Furman teaches this mode-mixing optical element “to further condition and modify the light” (Paragraph 0048) and “advantageously decrease the losses in the light guide” (Paragraph 0054) in order “to substantially reduce or eliminate non-uniformities in both the spatial distribution of light and the angular distribution of light illuminating the object under inspection” and “for its advantageous coherence-breaking effects” (Paragraph 0045).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the microscope system and method of Urashima with the mode-mixing optical element of Furman “to further condition and modify the light” and “advantageously decrease the losses in the light guide” in order “to substantially reduce or eliminate non-uniformities in both the spatial distribution of light and the angular distribution of light illuminating the object under inspection” and “for its advantageous coherence-breaking effects,” as taught by Furman (Paragraphs 0045, 0048, and 0054).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Dos Santos et al. (U.S. PG-Pub No. 2018/0214021) teaches frequency-based mode mixing for surgical laser illumination comprising a first and second optical fiber with a mode-mixing optical element therebetween.
Suganuma et al. (U.S. Patent No. 6,347,173) teaches an optical coherence reduction method comprising a plurality of optical fibers with lengths differing by a coherence length.
Suganuma (Japanese Pub. No. JP 2000-121836) teaches a light source device comprising a plurality of optical fibers with lengths differing by a coherence length.
Suganuma (PCT Pub. No. WO 99/40474 A1) teaches a method and apparatus for reducing coherence of light including a plurality of optical fibers of differing lengths.
Nicholas R. Pasko
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2896
/Nicholas R. Pasko/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896