DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claim 1-6, 15-17 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species A, C, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 5/12/26
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 7-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gurovich (20220241070).
With regards to claim 7, Gurovich discloses a valve prosthesis comprising: a one piece prosthetic valve (10) comprising: a valve leaflet (20) comprising a cusp ([0097], FIG 1A); and a valve inflow cylinder (30) proximal of the valve leaflet (FIG 1B); and a reinforcement member (100) attached to the valve inflow cylinder adjacent the cusp (FIG 8).
With regards to claim 8, Gurovich discloses the valve prosthesis of claim 7 wherein the reinforcement member (100) is U-shaped (FIG 11A).
With regards to claim 9, Gurovich discloses the valve prosthesis of claim 7 further comprising a first reinforcement stitching (142, see annotated figure below) attaching the reinforcement member (100) to the valve inflow cylinder (30) (FIG 15C).
With regards to claim 10, Gurovich discloses the valve prosthesis of claim 9 further comprising a second reinforcement stitching (142, see annotated figure below) attaching the reinforcement member (100) to the valve inflow cylinder (30) (FIG 15C).
With regards to claim 11, Gurovich discloses the valve prosthesis of claim 10 wherein a space (see annotated figure below) between the first reinforcement stitching (142) and the second reinforcement stitching (142) defines a margin of attachment proximal to the cusp (see annotated figure below).
With regards to claim 12, Gurovich discloses the valve prosthesis of claim 11 further comprising: a stent structure (12); and stent structure stitching (146) attaching the margin of attachment to the stent structure (FIG 15D).
With regards to claim 13, Gurovich discloses the valve prosthesis of claim 12 wherein the reinforcement member (100) prevents direct contact between the valve leaflet and the stent structure (FIG 15D).
With regards to claim 14, Gurovich discloses the valve prosthesis of claim 7 wherein the reinforcement member (100) extends distally from the valve inflow cylinder to overlap the cusp (FIG 11B).
Conclusion
/R.F.N./Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3774
/MELANIE R TYSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3774