Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3 June 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. While applicant’s interpretation of the prior art structure is appreciated, the claims have been given their broadest reasonable interpretation in view of the instant speciation, the claims terminology such as what can be considered a “section” is not defined in the instant specification and the prior art may be reasonably divided into the labeled sections identified in the rejection below, a more detailed version of which is annotated here:
As seen in the figure above, sections 1, 2 and 3 have been added by the Examiner, the constriction section (labeled 2 above) may reasonably include the conical opening below such that a cylindrical channel section is directly connected to an output of the constriction, the cylindrical channel section having a cross-section that is larger than a cross-section of the constriction.
Further, a person of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that unavoidably where the upper and lower conical sections of the throttle element come together, i.e. exactly at constriction 60 at the first dotted line in the annotated figure above, exists a cylindrical section which comprises a small cylinder which has a non-zero width and thickness which is necessary in order to allow fluid travel between the two conical sections.
Therefore, the rejection as previously applied is maintained and made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1 or 2) as being anticipated by Masahiro (JP 2011003403, a copy and machine translation of which are of record).
In regard to claim 1, Masahiro teaches a water separator comprising: a flow-conducting interior (exhaust passage 34 to gas-liquid separator 35); and a water outlet (drainage passage 45) connected to the flow-conducting interior, the water outlet comprising a throttle element (figure 2 below) that is inserted in the water outlet and configured to conduct water flow into the throttle element, wherein the throttle element comprises: a first channel section comprising a conical section (discharge regulating part 46) tapering in a direction of the water flow into the first channel section; a constriction (restriction opening 60) directly connected to an output of the first channel section, the constriction comprising a cylindrical section; and a cylindrical channel section (exhaust drainage passage 45 on second side of constriction) directly connected to an output of the constriction, the cylindrical channel section having a cross-section that is larger than a cross-section of the constriction (see annotated figures 1 and 2 below, pages 3 through 6 of machine translation).
In regard to claim 2, the cross-section of the cylindrical channel section becomes larger in the direction of the water flow into the first channel section to an end of the throttle element (figure 2 above).
In regard to claim 3, the Examiner notes that “the throttle element is inserted in the water outlet by heat-set insertion or by injection molding” relates to a product by process limitations that does not distinguish the claims from the prior art (MPEP 2113) which may be formed in other ways and have the an indistinguishable structure.
In regard to claim 7, the throttle element comprises an outer wall having a cylinder shape (figure 2 above).
In regard to claim 14, Masahiro teaches a fuel cell system comprising: a fuel cell unit 12; a cathode supply air path 20 connected to the fuel cell unit; a cathode exhaust air path 45 connected to the fuel cell unit; and the water separator according to claim 1, wherein the water separator is arranged in the cathode exhaust air path and is configured to limit an air flow in a drainage path of the water separator (see figure 1, page 3 of translation).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-6, 8-13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masahiro as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Kang et al. (CN 106523210 cited in IDS, a machine translation of which is of record).
Regarding claims 4-6 and 8-13, Masahiro teaches the water separator according to claim 1 above but does not disclose particulars of the throttle. However, Kang et al. teach a similar water separator for a vehicle and the desirability for form a throttle with a constriction of a diameter of 1.6 mm that is formed of ethylene propylene diene rubber (i.e. a plastic – see page 7 of attached machine translation), wherein the outer wall comprises an outer circumference comprising one or more corrugations that are oriented in an axial direction of the outer wall, the outer wall comprises an outer circumference comprising one or more circumferential grooves with a knurled structure (see figure 6 below),
wherein the water outlet is arranged tangentially in a spin direction of the water separator (figure 5), the water outlet is arranged radially in an outward direction and arranged at an angle (figure 3 annotated below) relative to a longitudinal axis of the water separator and further comprising a funnel-shaped region (rotational flow component 2) connecting the water outlet to the flow-conducting interior which forms a water separator which purifies the air effectively, reducing maintenance and costs (pages 5-7 of machine translation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the before the effective filing date of the claimed invention filed to include a plastic throttle shaped as shown above disposed at an angle downstream of a funnel shaped region as such is an effective arrangement for purifying and removing water from an exhaust stream as taught by Kang et al. In any event, changes to size and shape of the prior art throttle are an obvious modification absent evidence to the contrary (see MPEP 2144.04 Part IV) as the shape and size of the throttle materially affect the functionality.
In regard to new claim 15, Masahiro teaches the water separator according to claim 1 above and the throttle element 45 (annotated figure below):
Masahiro does not teach further comprising a conical end channel section directly connected to an output of the cylindrical channel section, wherein the cross-section of the conical end channel section becomes larger in the direction of the water flow into the first channel section to an end of the throttle element. However, Kang teach the ability to include multiple throttle section 2, 3, with conical and cylindrical sections as seen in the annotated figure above to achieve desired exhaust flow in multiple directions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention filed to include a conical end channel section directly connected to an output of the cylindrical channel section, wherein the cross-section of the conical end channel section becomes larger in the direction of the water flow into the first channel section to an end of the throttle element such as by duplicating the throttle sections of Masahiro et al. in order to control the exhaust flow in multiple directions as taught by Kang as the duplication of parts is an obvious modification to the prior art (see MPEP 2144.04 Part VI).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure - US Pub 2003/0190504 newly cited, teaches a similar fuel cell system with multiple constrictive throttles (figures).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICHOLAS P D'ANIELLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723