DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 11, 15, 22-24, 29, 30 are amended.
Claims 1, 3-11, 13-30 are pending.
Drawing Objections
The drawings are objected to because of the following informalities:
[Claim 15 ln. 13] Typographical error, “convert the indication of sensing directions from the [[CGS]] GCS to a beam direction”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention.
Claims 22-23, 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 22-23, 29 recites “beam direction selected from the set of beam directions based on additional scanning/randomly”. According to Claim 15, beam direction is determined from a beam configuration based on an indication of sensing directions that are obtained from a network entity of a core network (set of beam directions) and “indication of sensing directions is determined by a sensing management function of the core network based on prior sensing information on target objects received from one or more sensing nodes”. According to Claim 19, “select a beam in LCS from a set of beam directions” indicates the beam is selected, not the direction. It is unclear how beam direction is both selected from a network entity of a core network and selected based on additional scanning/randomly. The examiner has interpreted this limitation as beam directions are selected based on indication of sensing directions that are obtained from a network entity of a core network as specified in Claim 15. Further, the deletion of the word “is” does not seem to be grammatically correct or the scope of the limitation is unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-11, 13-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ali (WO 2022107050) in view of Taghizadeh Motlagh (US 20230171053).
Regarding Claim 1, Ali teaches the following limitations:
An apparatus for wireless communication at a first network entity of a core network, comprising: (Ali – [0038] Generally, the present disclosure describes systems, methods, and apparatus for identifying and localizing the blockages via radar sensing that gives a new degree of freedom for the network to perform better beam selection, [0043] Figure 1 depicts a wireless communication system 100 for radar-sensing in a RAN, according to embodiments of the disclosure. In one embodiment, the wireless communication system 100 includes at least one remote unit 105, a radio access network (“RAN”) 120, and a mobile core network 140. The RAN 120 and the mobile core network 140 form a mobile communication network. The RAN 120 may be composed of a base unit 121 with which the remote unit 105 communicates using wireless communication links 123. Even though a specific number of remote units 105, base units 121, wireless communication links 123, RANs 120, and mobile core networks 140 are depicted in Figure 1, one of skill in the art will recognize that any number of remote units 105, base units 121, wireless communication links 123, RANs 120, and mobile core networks 140 may be included in the wireless communication system 100.)
one or more memories non-transitory; and (Ali – [0142] Figure 9 depicts a network apparatus 900 that may be used for radar-sensing in a RAN, according to embodiments of the disclosure. In one embodiment, network apparatus 900 may be one implementation of a RAN device, such as the base unit 121, the gNB 310, the gNB 410, the first TRP 501, the gNB 610, and/or the gNB 710, as described above. Furthermore, the network apparatus 900 may include a processor 905, a memory 910, an input device 915, an output device 920, and a transceiver 925.)
one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories, and configured, individually or in combination, to cause the apparatus to: (Ali – [0142])
receive prior sensing information on target objects in locations of a sensing zone from one or more sensing nodes; (Ali – [0068] The knowledge of the nature and the location of the blockages can be utilized as extra information for the base unit 121 and/or remote unit(s) 105 entering a specific area to perform better and fast DL/UL/SL beam management that avoids the identified blockages for future transmissions and hence reduces the overhead and latency of performing continuous Channel State Information (“CSI”) measurements and reporting. The information of obstacle(s) 125 can also be used for building/updating a heat map for channel finger printing. The solution is more suitable for NR working at high frequencies (e.g., in the mmWave band) that enable the configuration signaling and reporting of temporal and spatial information of the blockages with high resolution thanks to the large available bandwidth (“BW”) and the use of narrow beams. [0119] Measurement information includes counter mentioning one or more of the number of instances when blockage was determined, probability of blockage in specific beam direction, probability of non-blockage, best beam directions based on sensing.)
determine the sensing directions based on the prior sensing information; (Ali – [0068], [0119])
obtain a global coordinate system (GCS) to local coordinate system (LCS) conversion framework; and (Ali – [0119] Blockage location information may include absolute/relative range/location coordinates, 2D/3D size/dimension, speed/velocity, heading information.)
provide, to one or more wireless nodes of a radio access network (NG-RAN) associated with the core network or a second network entity of the core network different from the first entity, (Ali – [Fig. 1], [0043], [0044] the RAN 120 may be a Next Generation Radio Access Network (“NG-RAN”),)
an indication of the determined sensing directions in a global coordinate system (GCS) from a sensing management function of the core network for transmitting and receiving a radar signal to sense an environment of the apparatus, wherein the first network entity comprises the sensing management function of the core network. (Ali – [Fig. 1], [0043], [0119], [0142], [0002] The subject matter disclosed herein relates generally to wireless communications and more particularly relates to enhancing beam management by identifying and localizing radio blockages via radar sensing. [0046] The remote units 105 may communicate directly with one or more of the base units 121 in the RAN 120 via uplink (“UL”) and downlink (“DL”) communication signals. [0054] The mobile core network 140 also includes multiple control plane (“CP”) functions including, but not limited to, an Access and Mobility Management Function (“AMF”) 143 that serves the RAN 120, a Session Management Function (“SMF”) 145, a Policy Control Function (“PCF”) 147, a Unified Data Management function (“UDM”) and a User Data Repository (“UDR”). In some embodiments, the UDM is co-located with the UDR, depicted as combined entity “UDM/UDR” 149. Although specific numbers and types of network functions are depicted in Figure 1, one of skill in the art will recognize that any number and type of network functions may be included in the mobile core network 140. [0084] DL transmissions and echo signals from neighboring gNBs/cells can also be utilized for the purposes of determining one or more blockages of interest and could be shared with the serving gNB via the appropriate interface (e.g., Xn) and/or via a centralized network entity (e.g., Location Management Function and/or Access and Mobility management Function (“LMF/AMF”)). [0193] In some embodiments, receiving the configuration of time-frequency resources includes receiving area-of-interest information and receiving a configuration of resources for transmitting a radar-sensing RS on radar-sensing specific UL slots, said area-of-interest information containing direction information. In certain embodiments, the processor controls the transceiver to transmit UL radar-sensing RS using beam sweeping towards the area of interest. In such embodiments, determining the radar-sensing information includes measuring reflected UL signals of the group of UEs on corresponding UL slots.)
Ali does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Taghizadeh Motlagh, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the indication provided in the GCS is converted from the GCS to a beam direction in the LCS based on the GCS to LCS conversion framework, (Taghizadeh Motlagh – [0127] absolute angular information defining a beam direction with respect to a local coordinate system of the first device or a coordinate system known by the first device; relative angular information defining the beam direction in relation to a previously defined beam; spatial filter transformation in relation to the previously defined beam; usage of an indicated beam (e.g., if the beam is within the sensing RS transmitting beams or among the sensing RS receiving beams, or jointly among the sensing RS transmitting and receiving beams, or among the beams used for sending the sensing measurement reports); or a combination thereof. [0128] a set of parameters defining spatial filters associated with the set of sensing reference signal patterns; a set of angular information indicating a set of beam directions associated with the set of sensing reference signal patterns; a set of parameters relatively defining spatial beams (e.g., relative angular information with respect to a local or known coordinate system, or transformations relatively define a spatial filter with respect to a previous spatial filter (e.g., via x-degree rotation)) jointly for the set of sensing reference signal patterns; or some combination thereof.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the beam management and absolute/relative range/location coordinates of Ali with the relative/coordinate/transformation beam directions of Taghizadeh Motlagh in order to define other sensing reference signal patterns relative to a first sensing reference signal pattern (Taghizadeh Motlagh – [0126]).
Regarding Claims 3, 16, 25, Ali further teaches:
wherein the sensing directions are further indicated using a direction codebook with a particular quantization level. (Ali – [0095] In order to increase the reliability and accuracy of the radar sensing, the gNB 410 configures the full-duplex UEs 401, 403 and 405 to perform UL data transmission 420 and radar sensing simultaneously. In one embodiment, the gNB 410 configures the group of UEs with a common/user-specific RS for radar sensing. In another embodiment, the gNB 410 configures the group of UEs with a user-specific PUCCH, PUSCH, PSCCH, and/or PSSCH. Here, the data/control signal itself is used for radar sensing, irrespective of any RS present in the PUCCH, PUSCH, PSCCH, and/or PSSCH… The radar sensing of the blockage 415 via backscatter signals (e.g., signals 425a-425c) and UL data transmissions (e.g., signals 420a-420c) may be performed at the same time by utilizing wide or multiple narrow beams, where an angular range for scanning can be specified by gNB 410 for each user.)
Regarding Claim 4, Ali further teaches:
wherein the particular quantization level is determined by the first network entity of the core network. (Ali – [0095], [0142])
Regarding Claim 5, Ali further teaches:
wherein the particular quantization level is coarser than a beamwidth supported by the one or more wireless nodes of the NG-RAN or the second entity of the core network provided with the indication of sensing directions. (Ali – [0044], [0095] [0027] Code for carrying out operations for embodiments may be any number of lines and may be written in any combination of one or more programming languages including an object- oriented programming language such as Python, Ruby, Java, Smalltalk, C++, or the like, and conventional procedural programming languages, such as the "C" programming language, or the like, and/or machine languages such as assembly languages. Any binary based language is going to transmit information that is “coarser” than the information that is processed.)
Regarding Claim 6, Ali further teaches:
wherein the one or more processors are further configured, individually or in combination, to cause the apparatus to: (Ali – [0142])
determine a beam configuration in local coordinate system (LCS) based on the obtained prior sensing information. (Ali – [0119])
Regarding Claim 7, Ali further teaches:
wherein the one or more processors are further configured, individually or in combination, to cause the apparatus to: (Ali – [0142])
obtain information on possible refinement reference signal (RRS) time-frequency configurations and beam information that a sensing Tx/Rx node can support along with an optional UE capability report. (Ali – [0119], [0041] Radar sensing can be performed on the DL/UL/SL reference signal (“RS”) resources such as demodulation RS, channel state information RS, and/or sounding RS (“DMRS/CSI-RS/SRS”) that are used for data transmission, or on dedicated radar sensing RS. Dedicated DL/UL/SL radar sensing RS are configured in a periodic transmission where the periodicity of the RS depends on the frequency band/range, beamwidth, mobility of UEs, long term blockage statistics, and/or long-term beam failure statistics. BRRS is defined by the instant specification and RRS is assumed to be “refinement reference signal”.)
Regarding Claim 8, Ali further teaches:
wherein the one or more processors are further configured, individually or in combination, to cause the apparatus to: (Ali – [0142])
determine configuration or change in configuration of a sensor with a set of RRS-time-frequency configurations along with sensing directions for transmitting and receiving the radar signal based on the prior sensing information, the possible RRS time-frequency configurations, and beam information. (Ali – [0041], [0119])
Regarding Claim 9, Ali further teaches:
wherein the prior sensing information is obtained based on receiving measurement report or data. (Ali – [0041], [0119], [0068] The knowledge of the nature and the location of the blockages can be utilized as extra information for the base unit 121 and/or remote unit(s) 105 entering a specific area to perform better and fast DL/UL/SL beam management that avoids the identified blockages for future transmissions and hence reduces the overhead and latency of performing continuous Channel State Information (“CSI”) measurements and reporting.)
Regarding Claim 10, Ali further teaches:
wherein the one or more processors are further configured, individually or in combination, to cause the apparatus to: (Ali – [0142])
request sensing measurement report for sensing data from network entities of the core network at certain locations; and (Ali – [0043], [0083] After performing channel measurements, the UE reports the related time information to the gNB. The gNB may configure the UEs to perform repetition of radar signal transmission/reception and report the time information after each period or report a combined/averaged measurement information after multiple repetitions.)
generate updated sensing measurement report. (Ali – [0043], [0083], [0119])
Regarding Claim 11, Ali further teaches:
wherein the sensing directions are provided in a LCS, and (Ali – [0119])
wherein the one or more processors are further configured, individually or in combination, to cause the apparatus to: (Ali – [0142])
convert the sensing directions in the GCS to the LCS based on the GCS to LCS conversion framework, (Ali – [0119])
wherein the indication of sensing directions is indicated in the LCS. (Ali – [0119])
Regarding Claim 13, Ali further teaches:
wherein the sensing management function of the radio access network operates separately from a location management function of the core network to determine one or more properties of an object. (Ali – [0054], [0084])
Regarding Claim 14, Ali further teaches:
wherein the sensing management function of the radio access network comprises a combined radio access network component that is combined with a location management component of the radio access network. (Ali – [0054], [0084])
Regarding Claim 15, Ali teaches the following limitations:
An apparatus for wireless communication at a component of a radio access network, comprising: (Ali – [0038])
one or more non-transitory memories; and (Ali – [0122] Figure 8 depicts a user equipment apparatus 800 that may be used for radar-sensing in a RAN, according to embodiments of the disclosure. In various embodiments, the user equipment apparatus 800 is used to implement one or more of the solutions described above. The user equipment apparatus 800 may be one embodiment of the remote unit 105, the UE 305, the first UE 401, the second UE 403, the third UE 405, the first UE 601, the second UE 603, the third UE 605, the first UE 701, the second UE 703, the third UE 705, and/or the user equipment apparatus 800, described above. Furthermore, the user equipment apparatus 800 may include a processor 805, a memory 810, an input device 815, an output device 820, and a transceiver 825.)
one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories, and configured, individually or in combination, to cause the apparatus to: (Ali – [0122])
obtain, from a network entity of a core network associated with the radio access network (NG-RAN), an indication of sensing directions in a global coordinate system (GCS) for transmitting and receiving a radar signal to sense an environment of the apparatus, (Ali – [Fig. 1], [0043], [0044], [0119])
wherein the indication of sensing directions is determined by a sensing management function of the core network based on prior sensing information on target objects received from one or more sensing nodes; (Ali – [Fig. 1], [0043], [0046], [0068], [0119])
obtain a GCS to a local coordinate system (LCS) conversion framework; (Ali – [0119])
determine a beam configuration in the LCS based on the converted beam direction. (Ali – [Fig. 1], [0043], [0046], [0119])
Ali does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Taghizadeh Motlagh, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
convert the indication of sensing directions from the CGS to a beam direction in an LCS based on the GCS to LCS conversion framework; and (Taghizadeh Motlagh – [0127-0128])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the beam management and absolute/relative range/location coordinates of Ali with the relative/coordinate/transformation beam directions of Taghizadeh Motlagh in order to define other sensing reference signal patterns relative to a first sensing reference signal pattern (Taghizadeh Motlagh – [0126]).
Regarding Claim 17, Ali further teaches:
wherein the one or more processors are further configured, individually or in combination, to cause the apparatus to: (Ali – [0122])
request the particular quantization level for network based sensing, UE-based, or UE-assisted sensing in mode-1. (Ali – [0095], [0147] In various embodiments, the processor 905 controls the apparatus 900 to implement the above gNB and/or TRP functions.)
Regarding Claim 18, Ali further teaches:
wherein the particular quantization level is coarser than a beamwidth supported by the apparatus. (Ali – [0027], [0095])
Regarding Claims 19, 27, Ali further teaches:
wherein the one or more processors are further configured, individually or in combination, to cause the apparatus to: (Ali – [0122])
select a beam in LCS from a set of beam directions after converting the indication of sensing directions in the GCS to LCS. (Ali – [0002], [0119])
Regarding Claim 20, Ali further teaches:
wherein the direction codebook is informed from the network entity of a core network. (Ali – [0027], [0095])
Regarding Claims 21, 28 Ali further teaches:
wherein the one or more processors are further configured, individually or in combination, to cause the apparatus to: (Ali – [0122])
convert the sensing directions from the LCS to the GCS before transmitting the direction codebook to the network entity of the core network associated with the NG-RAN. (Ali – [0027], [0095])
Regarding Claim 22, 29, Ali further teaches:
wherein the beam direction selected from the set of beam directions based on additional scanning after conversion of the indication of sensing directions in the GCS to LCS. (Ali – [0002], [0119])
Regarding Claim 23, Ali further teaches:
wherein the beam direction selected from the set of beam directions randomly after conversion of the indication of sensing directions in the GCS to LCS. (Ali – [0002], [0119])
Regarding Claim 24, Ali teaches the following limitations:
An apparatus for wireless communication at a first network entity of a core network, comprising: (Ali – [0038])
one or more non-transitory memories; and (Ali – [0122])
one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories, and configured, individually or in combination, to cause the apparatus to: (Ali – [0122])
obtain, from a second network entity of a core network associated with a radio access network (NG-RAN), (Ali – [0043], [0044])
an indication of sensing directions in GCS for transmitting and receiving a radar signal to sense an environment of the apparatus, (Ali – [Fig. 1], [0043], [0044], [0119])
wherein the indication of sensing directions is determined by a sensing management function of the core network based on prior sensing information on target objects received from one or more sensing nodes; (Ali – [Fig. 1], [0043], [0044], [0068], [0119])
obtain a GCS to a local coordinate system (LCS) conversion framework; (Ali – [0119])
determine beam configuration locally based on the converted beam direction for transmitting and receiving a radar signal to sense an environment of the apparatus; and (Ali – [Fig. 1], [0043], [0046], [0119])
transmit the radar signal in the beam configuration. (Ali – [Fig. 1], [0043], [0046], [0119])
Ali does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Taghizadeh Motlagh, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
convert the indication of sensing directions from the GCS to a beam direction in the LCS based on the GCS to LCS conversion framework; (Taghizadeh Motlagh – [0127-0128])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the beam management and absolute/relative range/location coordinates of Ali with the relative/coordinate/transformation beam directions of Taghizadeh Motlagh in order to define other sensing reference signal patterns relative to a first sensing reference signal pattern (Taghizadeh Motlagh – [0126]).
Regarding Claim 26, Ali further teaches:
wherein the one or more processors are further configured, individually or in combination, to cause the apparatus to: (Ali – [0122])
request the particular quantization level for UE-based/assisted sensing in mode-2. (Ali – [0095], [0147])
Regarding Claim 30, Ali teaches the following limitations:
A method for wireless communication at a first network entity of a core network, comprising: (Ali – [0038])
obtaining prior sensing information on target objects in locations of a sensing zone from one or more sensing nodes; determining the sensing directions based on the prior sensing information; (Ali – [Fig. 1], [0043], [0046], [0068], [0119])
obtaining a global coordinate system (GCS) to local coordinate system (LCS) conversion framework; and
providing, to one or more wireless nodes of a radio access network (NG-RAN) associated with the core network or a second network entity of the core network different from the first entity, (Ali – [Fig. 1], [0043], [0044])
an indication of the determined sensing directions in the global coordinate system (GCS) from a sensing management function of the core network for transmitting and receiving a radar signal to sense an environment of a sensing node, wherein the first network entity comprises the sensing management function of the core network. (Ali – [Fig. 1], [0043], [0046], [0119], [0193])
Ali does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Taghizadeh Motlagh, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the indication provided in the GCS is converted from the GCS to a beam direction in the LCS based on the GCS to LCS conversion framework, (Taghizadeh Motlagh – [0127-0128])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the beam management and absolute/relative range/location coordinates of Ali with the relative/coordinate/transformation beam directions of Taghizadeh Motlagh in order to define other sensing reference signal patterns relative to a first sensing reference signal pattern (Taghizadeh Motlagh – [0126]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Page 8, filed 07/30/2026, with respect to the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) have been fully considered and are not persuasive. The amendments do not address the issues indicated in the 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) section. A beam direction cannot be selected when the direction of a set of beam directions each have determined beam directions. Further, there does not seem to be any use for the limitations of claims 22-23, 29 and therefor the limiting term “selected” is unclear and no further explanation is given in the instant specification.
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 8-9, filed 07/30/2026, with respect to the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The BRI of a GCS is a measurement in the absolute frame of reference as opposed to an LCS that is measured in relation to a specific object with coordinates that are relative in measurement. Ali clearly teaches this in [0119] since it is inherent that any radar measurement must be a relative measurement initially and any absolute coordinate requires a conversion. If blockage information is to be shared with a centralized network entity (as disclosed in Ali [0084]) in absolute coordinates, a conversion must happen in order to change the coordinates from relative to absolute. Taghizadeh Motlagh specifically teaches beam directions organized in sets that may include relative, local, coordinate, and transformation information.
Applicant’s arguments, see Page 9, filed 07/30/2026, with respect to the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the dependent claims are allowable due to the dependency on the independent claims. As noted above, the examiner maintains Ali in view of Taghizadeh Motlagh teaches the independent claims and therefore the dependent claims remain rejected.
Applicant's remaining arguments amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims is understandable and distinguishable from other inventions.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRANDON JAMES HENSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/BERNARR E GREGORY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648