DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-11 are pending.
Claim Interpretation
Regarding the word “about” as used in Claims 1, 5, and 11, the term is interpreted as covering the “inherent deviations in measured or calculated values that would be recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art”, as defined in [0168].
Regarding Claim 6, the compound “nitroethylene carbonate” is interpreted to be the product of reacting nitroethylene (i.e. nitroethene; CAS Number 3638-64-0) alongside carbonate esters.
Regarding Claim 6, the compound “cyanoethylene carbonate” is interpreted to be of the molecular formula C4H3NO3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-8, and 10, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being anticipated by Choi et al. (KR20190018114A; Global Dossier machine translation furnished in Office Action).
Regarding Claim 1, Choi discloses a rechargeable lithium battery ([0073]), comprising an electrolyte solution ([0107]) comprising a non-aqueous organic solvent ([0104]) and a lithium salt ([0104]); a positive electrode comprising a positive electrode active material ([0075]); and a negative electrode comprising a negative electrode active material ([0097]), wherein the non-aqueous organic solvent contains less than about 5 wt% of ethylene carbonate ([0105]), based on the total weight of the non-aqueous organic solvent, and the positive electrode active material comprises a cobalt-free lithium nickel manganese-based oxide ([0035-0036]).
Regarding Claim 2, Choi discloses the rechargeable lithium battery of Claim 1, wherein the non-aqueous organic solvent is composed of a chain carbonate alone ([0105]).
Regarding Claim 3, Choi discloses the rechargeable battery of Claim 2, wherein the chain carbonate can include dimethyl carbonate, diethyl carbonate, methylethyl carbonate, and ethylmethyl carbonate ([0105]).
Regarding Claim 6, Choi discloses the rechargeable battery of Claim 1, wherein the electrolyte solution further comprises difluoroethylene carbonate as an additive ([0109]).
Regarding Claim 7, Choi discloses the rechargeable battery of Claim 1, wherein the cobalt-free lithium nickel manganese-based oxide comprises a lithium composite oxide represented by Chemical Formula 3 (LiaNixMnyM1z1M2wO2±bXc). Choi discloses the anticipating lithium composite oxide using the formula LipNi1-(X1+Y1)MnX1MaY1-O2+δ, wherein Ma can be one or more element selected from Al, Ca, and Mg ([0035-0036]). Table 1 illustrates how the ranges of the subscripts of Choi’s disclosed lithium composite oxide fall within the claimed ranges and subsequently anticipate the instant application’s claimed lithium composite oxide.
Table 1: Comparison of the instant application-claimed lithium composite oxide to that disclosed by Choi et al. (KR20190018114A)
Element
Instant application subscript
Instant application claimed range
Choi subscript
Choi disclosed range
Li
a
[0.5, 1.8)
p
[1, 1.5]
Ni
x
[0.6, 1.0)
1-X1-Y1
[0.8, 0.98]
Mn
y
(0, 0.4)
X1
(0, 0.1]
M1 (i.e. Ma)
z
(0, 0.1)
Y1
[0.02, 0.1]
M2
w
[0, 0.1)
N/a
O
2±b
[1.9, 2.1]
2+δ
[1.9, 2.1]
X
c
[0, 0.1]
N/a
Table 1 notes: the ranges in the 3rd and 5th columns reflect the resultant range of mole proportion values possible for the given element, rather than the values for the subscript of the respective document. Additionally, the elemental placeholders M1 (i.e. Ma) and M2 may include Al, Ca, and Mg as disclosed by both the instant application and Choi.
Regarding Claim 8, Choi discloses the rechargeable lithium battery of Claim 7, wherein the lithium composite oxide represented by Chemical Formula 3 is represented by Chemical Formula 3-1: LiaNix1Mny1M1z11M2w1O2±bXc. Choi discloses the anticipating lithium composite oxide using the formula LipNi1-(X1+Y1)MnX1MaY1-O2+δ, wherein Ma can be one or more element selected from Al, Ca, and Mg ([0035-0036]). Table 1 illustrates how the ranges of the subscripts of Choi’s disclosed lithium composite oxide overlap and subsequently anticipate the instant application’s claimed lithium composite oxide.
Regarding Claim 10, Choi discloses the rechargeable battery of Claim 1, wherein the negative electrode active material comprises graphite, a Si composite, or a mixture thereof ([0097]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (KR20190018114A; Global Dossier machine translation furnished in the office action) as applied to Claim 1, in view of Uchida et al. (US20080050295A1).
Regarding Claim 4, Choi discloses the rechargeable battery of Claim 1 and the use of chain carbonate compounds as a non-aqueous organic solvent in an electrolyte solution for their low viscosity and charge/discharge-improving capabilities ([0105]), but does not explicitly disclose wherein the non-aqueous organic solvent is a mixture of two or more solvents selected from dimethyl carbonate (DMC), diethyl carbonate (DEC), dipropyl carbonate (DPC), methylpropyl carbonate (MPC), ethylpropyl carbonate (EPC), and ethylmethyl carbonate (EMC).
Uchida discloses a rechargeable lithium battery ([0063]) wherein the non-aqueous organic solvent is a mixture of dimethyl carbonate (DMC) and ethylmethyl carbonate (EMC) ([0069]). Choi and Uchida are both analogous to the current invention because they are both related to the same field of endeavor, namely rechargeable lithium batteries employing lithium composite oxides. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to have modified the non-aqueous organic solvent of Choi to be a mixture of dimethyl carbonate and ethylmethyl carbonate as disclosed by Uchida because doing so would amount to nothing more than to utilize known components in a known environments to achieve entirely predictable results, e.g. using known carbonates as electrolyte solvents in lithium secondary batteries.
Regarding Claim 5, Choi discloses the rechargeable battery of Claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the non-aqueous organic solvent comprises ethylmethyl carbonate (EMC) and dimethyl carbonate (DMC) in a volume ratio of about 10:90 to about 50:50.
Uchida discloses a rechargeable lithium battery ([0063]) wherein the non-aqueous organic solvent comprises ethylmethyl carbonate and dimethyl carbonate in a mass ratio of 3:7, corresponding to a volume ratio of approximately 29.8:65.8 based on the respective densities of EMC (1.006 grams/cubic centimeter, using Sigma Aldrich as an evidentiary reference) and DMC (1.0636 grams/cubic centimeter, using PubChem as an evidentiary reference). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to have modified the non-aqueous organic solvent of Choi to be a mixture of dimethyl carbonate and ethylmethyl carbonate as disclosed by Uchida because doing so would amount to nothing more than to utilize known components in a known environments to achieve entirely predictable results, e.g. using known carbonates as electrolyte solvents in lithium secondary batteries.
Claim 9 is rejected under U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (KR20190018114A; Global Dossier machine translation furnished in the office action), as applied to Claim 8 in view of Yi et al. (“Delineating the Roles of Mn, Al, and Co by Comparing Three Layered Oxide Cathodes with the Same Nickel Content of 70% for Lithium-Ion Batteries”).
Regarding Claim 9, Choi discloses the rechargeable battery of Claim 8, but does not disclose wherein in Chemical Formula 3-1 (LiaNix1Mny1M1z11M2w1O2±bXc):
0.6 ≤ x1 ≤ 0.79
0.2 ≤ y1 ≤ 0.39
0.01 ≤ z1 < 0.1
Yi discloses a lithium composite oxide for the cathode of a rechargeable lithium battery (abstract). Yi teaches use of a lithium composite oxide of the form LiNi0.7Mn0.25Al0.05O2 (first sentence of the “Materials” paragraph), highlighting its high specific capacity, stable high-voltage cycling performance, and thermal stability (first paragraph in the “Conclusions” section). Choi and Yi are analogous to the current invention because both are related to the same field of endeavor, namely rechargeable lithium batteries employing lithium composite oxides. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to have modified the rechargeable lithium battery of Choi to use the composite lithium oxide of Yi in order to improve the specific capacity, cycling performance, and thermal stability of that rechargeable battery, as suggested by Yi.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (KR20190018114A; Global Dossier machine translation furnished in the office action) as applied to Claim 1 above, in view of Zhao et al. (CN110010886A – Espacenet translation provided by the applicant).
Regarding Claim 11, Choi discloses the rechargeable battery of Claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the rechargeable lithium battery has a charging upper limit voltage of greater than or equal to about 4.35 V.
Zhao discloses a rechargeable lithium battery (abstract), comprising an electrolyte solution ([0091]) comprising a non-aqueous organic solvent ([0091]) and a lithium salt ([0091]); a positive electrode comprising a positive electrode active material (abstract); and a negative electrode comprising a negative electrode active material (abstract), wherein the non-aqueous organic solvent contains less than about 5 wt% of ethylene carbonate ([0091]), based on the total weight of the non-aqueous organic solvent, and the positive electrode active material comprises a cobalt-free lithium nickel manganese-based oxide (abstract). Zhao further teaches wherein the rechargeable lithium battery consequently has a charging upper limit voltage of greater than or equal to about 4.5 V ([0133-0134]) due to the characteristics of a nickel-rich lithium manganese-based positive electrode material ([0133-0135]). Choi and Zhao are analogous to the current invention because both are related to the same field of endeavor, namely rechargeable batteries employing lithium composite oxides. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention that the lithium battery of Choi would reasonably exhibit a charging upper limit voltage of greater than or equal to about 4.5 V because they would find the battery of Choi substantially similar to that of Zhao, which evidences a rechargeable lithium battery having a charging upper limit voltage of greater than or equal to about 4.5 V.
Double Patenting
Claims (see Tables 2-3 below) are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory
double patenting as being unpatentable over claim (see table below) of copending
Application No. (18/459,306; 18/464,904; 18/497,89818/497,916; 18/494,255; 18/646,736; 18/626,150; 18/457,153; 18/459,225; 18/459,275) (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because (see Tables 2-3 below).
Table 2: Nonstatutory double patenting comparisons
Instant app#: 18/464,061
Co-pending app#: 18/459,306
Co-pending app#: 18/464,904
Co-pending app#: 18/497,898
Co-pending app#: 18/497,916
Co-pending app#: 18/494,255
Claim 1
Claim 1
Claim 11, 17
Claim 1
Claim 1
Claim 7-13
Claim 2
Claims 2, 3
Claims 11, 17
Claims 2-3
Claims 2-3
Claims 7, 13
Claim 3
Claim 3
Claims 11, 17
Claim 3
Claim 3
Claims 7, 13
Claim 4
Claim 4
Claims 11-12, 17
Claim 4
Claim 4
Claims 7, 13
Claim 5
Claim 5
-
Claim 5
Claim 5
-
Claim 6
Claim 8
Claims 9, 11, 17
Claim 11
Claim 11
-
Claim 7
Claim 9
Claims 11, 17
Claim 12
Claim 12
Claims 7, 13
Claim 8
Claim 10
Claims 11, 17
Claim 13
Claim 13
Claims 7, 13
Claim 9
Claim 11
Claims 11, 17
Claim 14
Claim 14
Claims 7, 13
Claim 10
Claim 12
Claims 11, 17-18
Claim 15
Claim 15
-
Claim 11
Claim 13
Claim 11, 21
Claim 16
Claim 16
-
Table 3: Nonstatutory double patenting comparison
Instant app#: 18/464,061
Co-pending app#: 18/646,736
Co-pending app#: 18/626,150
Co-pending app#: 18/457,153
Co-pending app#: 18/459,225
Co-pending app#: 18/459,275
Claim 1
Claim 1
Claim 1
Claim 1
Claim 1
Claim 14
Claim 2
Claims 7-9
Claims 2-3
Claims 2-3
Claims 11-12
Claims 2, 3, 14
Claim 3
Claim 9
Claim 3
Claim 3
Claim 12
Claims 2-3, 14
Claim 4
Claim 9
Claim 4
Claim 4
Claim 13
Claims 4, 14
Claim 5
Claim 10
Claim 5
Claim 5
Claim 14
Claims 5, 14
Claim 6
Claim 6
Claim 11
Claim 8
Claim 15
Claims 12, 14
Claim 7
Claim 12
Claim 12
Claim 9
Claim 16
Claim 14
Claim 8
Claim 13
Claim 13
Claim 10
Claim 17
-
Claim 9
Claim 14
Claim 14
Claim 11
Claim 18
-
Claim 10
-
Claim 15
Claim 12
Claim 19
Claims 14-15
Claim 11
Claim 15
Claim 17
Claim 13
Claim 20
Claims 14-15
References Cited But Not Relied Upon
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure:
Zheng et al. (“Exploring high-voltage fluorinated carbonate electrolytes for LiNi0.5Mn1.5O4 cathode in Li-ion batteries”) discloses use of a substituted chain carbonate as an electrolyte in a nickel-manganese oxide lithium-ion battery.
Conclusion
/K.G.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1754
/JAMES M ERWIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725 05/30/2026