DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claim amendments submitted on 09/15/2026 have been considered and entered. Claim 1 has been amended and claims 6-8 have been canceled. Claims 1-5, 9 and 10 are pending in the present application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bainard et al. (US 4,053,030).
Regarding claims 1 and 9, Bainard et al. discloses a seal assembly (10 in fig. 1) for a brake piston (16) of a vehicle wheel brake, the brake piston being displaceably received in a housing (note the piston 16 within the caliper housing14 shown in fig. 1) and the seal assembly being configured to fluidically seal the brake piston with respect to the housing;
the seal assembly (10) comprising:
- an elastically deformable seal member (20) having a first portion that is configured to contact a radial outer surface of the brake piston (16);
- a stiffening member (30) arranged at at least a second portion of the seal member,
wherein the stiffening member (30) is secured at the seal member,
wherein the stiffening member (30) comprises a plurality of projections (note the figure shown above) that protrude into seal member (20), and
wherein the plurality of projections are spaced apart from each other along a radial direction relative to the radial outer surface of the brake piston (note the figure shown above).
Re-claim 2, Bainard et al. discloses the stiffening member (30) is configured to remain undeformed in reaction to a displacement of the brake piston.
Re-claim 3, Bainard et al. discloses the stiffening member (30; col. 2, line 20 ) comprises a metal material or a rigid plastic material.
Re-claim 4, Bainard et al. discloses stiffening member (30) and/or the seal member (20) are ring-shaped.
Re-claim 5, Bainard et al. discloses the stiffening member (30) is configured to contact the housing (14).
Re-claim 10, Bainard et al. discloses the housing (14) comprises a ring-shaped groove (11), the seal assembly (10, 20, 30) being received in said ring-shaped groove (11).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on some reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MAHBUBUR RASHID/Examiner, Art Unit 3616
/Robert A. Siconolfi/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3616