DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
A request for continued examination (RCE) under 37 CFR 1.114 was filed in this application on 06/15/2026 after a decision by the Patent Trial and Appeal Board, but before the filing of a Notice of Appeal to the Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit or the commencement of a civil action. The request, however, lacks the fee required by 37 CFR 1.17(e) and/or the submission required by 37 CFR 1.114. Accordingly, the RCE is improper and any time period running was not tolled by the filing of the improper request.
Response to Amendment
Amendments submitted on 06/04/2026 have been considered and entered. Claim 1 has been amended and claims 6-8 have been canceled. Claims 1-5 and 9-10 are pending in the present application.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the stiffening member that covers all faces of the seal member apart from the inner circumferential face that contacts the brake piston, wherein the stiffening member comprises projections and/or spikes that protrude into the seal member as recited in claim 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morith (US 4,336,746) in view of Meyer et al. (US 4,039,053).
Regarding claims 1 and 9, Morith discloses a seal assembly (43a, 40a in fig. 5) for a brake piston (P) of a vehicle wheel brake, the brake piston being displaceably received in a housing (note the piston P within the caliper housing shown in fig. 2) and the seal assembly being configured to fluidically seal the brake piston with respect to the housing;
the seal assembly (43a, 40a in fig. 5) comprising:
- an elastically deformable seal member (43a) having a first portion that is configured to contact an outer surface of the brake piston (P);
- a stiffening member (40a) arranged at at least a second portion of the seal member,
wherein the stiffening member (40a) covers all faces of the seal member (43a) apart from the inner circumferential face that contacts the brake piston (P),
wherein the stiffening member is secured at the seal member.
Morith fails to disclose the stiffening member comprising projections and/or spikes that protrude into the seal member as recited in the claim. However, Meyer et al. disclose a seal assembly (230 in fig. 5) comprising an elastically deformable seal member (234 in fig. 5) and stiffening element (232) having a plurality of projections or spikes (284 in fig. 6) that protrude into the seal member (234). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at time before the effective filing date of the claimed application was made to modify the stiffening member of Morith to include a plurality of projections or spikes as taught by Meyer et al. will prevent any creep of the seal and ensure a positive connection between the seal the stiffening element.
Re-claim 2, Morith discloses the stiffening member (40, 40a) is configured to remain undeformed in reaction to a displacement of the brake piston.
Re-claim 3, Morith fails to disclose the stiffening member comprises a metal material or a rigid plastic material as recited in the claim. However, Meyer et al. disclose a seal assembly (230 in fig. 5) comprising an elastically deformable seal member (234 in fig. 5) and stiffening element (232) having a plurality of projections or spikes (284 in fig. 6) that protrude into the seal member (234), wherein the stiffening member is a dish of rigid material, such as stainless still. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at time before the effective filing date of the claimed application was made to modify the stiffing member of Morith to be rigid metal material as taught by Meyer et al. will prevent any creep of the seal and protect the seal member from being damaged.
Re-claim 4, Morith the stiffening member (40) and/or the seal member are ring-shaped.
Re-claim 5, Morith the stiffening member (40a in fig. 5) is configured to contact the housing.
Re-claim 10, Morith the housing comprises a ring-shaped groove (36 in fig. 2), the seal assembly (40, 43 in fig. 2) being received in said ring-shaped groove.
Conclusion
/MAHBUBUR RASHID/Examiner, Art Unit 3616
/Robert A. Siconolfi/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3616