DETAILED ACTION
This is in reply to an application filed on . Claims 1-30 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed in the amendment dated 02/27/2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The reasons are set forth below.
Applicant Argues mid page 3 of arguments:
The roaming mode of Kneckt, including as illustrated in Fig. 31, does not teach or suggest “transmitting user data” as claimed. For example, the illustrated indications of Kneckt to “enter power save mode” or to “enter active mode” are power save indications, which are not “user data” as recited in independent claim 1. Nor does Kneckt teach or suggest a roaming that includes transmitting user data to a third wireless device "via the second set of one or more communication links using a second subset of the plurality of user data context parameters corresponding to a second index assigned to the third wireless device." Therefore, for at least these reasons, Kneckt does not teach or suggest at least "roam[ing] from the second wireless device to a third device wherein the roaming comprises transmitting user data to the third wireless device via the second set of one or more communication links using a second subset of the plurality of user data context parameters corresponding to a second index assigned to the third wireless device," as recited in independent claim 1.
The Office Action alleges that the roaming mode of Kneckt is relevant to "roam[ing] from the second wireless device to a third device wherein the roaming comprises transmitting user data to the third wireless device via the second set of one or more communication links using a second subset of the plurality of user data context parameters corresponding to a second index assigned to the third wireless device," as recited in independent claim 1. But the roaming mode of Kneckt, including as illustrated in FIG. 31, does not teach or suggest "transmitting user data," as claimed. For example, the illustrated indications of Kneckt to "enter power save mode" (see, e.g., Kneckt, FIG. 12, Power save PM=1) or to "enter active mode" (see, e.g., Kneckt, FIG. 12, Power save PM=0) are power save indications, which are not "user data," as recited in independent claim 1. Nor does Kneckt teach or suggest a roaming that includes transmitting user data to a third wireless device "via the second set of one or more communication links using a second subset of the plurality of user data context parameters corresponding to a second index assigned to the third wireless device." Therefore, for at least these reasons, Kneckt does not teach or suggest at least "roam[ing] from the second wireless device to a third device wherein the roaming comprises transmitting user data to the third wireless device via the second set of one or more communication links using a second subset of the plurality of user data context parameters corresponding to a second index assigned to the third wireless device," as recited in independent claim 1.
In response, the examiner respectfully submits:
Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s interpretation of Kneckt’s teachings. First, the rejection is based on a combination of Kneckts in view of Chitrakar and not just Kneckt alone. Second, Examiner did not consider “power save mode” or “enter active mode” as “user data”. Third, as for the notion of “…..using a second subset of the plurality of user data context parameters corresponding to a second index assigned to the third wireless device.", Examiner has considered first BSSID and AP1 corresponding to“…..using a first subset of a plurality of user data context parameters corresponding to a first index (first BSSID) assigned to the second wireless device (AP1), and accordingly has mapped this limitation to “Fig. 10, Fig. 16, and para[0129], that teaches STA (i.e., first wireless device) establishing one or more links with one or more APs, using that AP’s BSSID / AP ID (i.e., first index assigned to the second wireless device) . See para[0132] for data (i.e., user data) sent and received between STA and AP(s), may have the following joint parameters: SN, PN, PTK, and Block Acknowledgement (BA) (i.e., first/second subset of user data context parameters.”
Last, as for the general notion of “user data”, Examiner considers “data communication” broadly as equivalent to “user data” or “data that a user communicates with another device”. In Fig. 10, Fig. 31, Fig. 5, #554, and para[0106] Kneckts teaches “Non-AP wireless device/STA” establishes wireless association with second access point (AP2 = the third wireless device) in multi-access point (MAP) system and communicates with it thereafter. As can be seen in para[0130] Kneckts in para[0130]-[0134] and para[0144] teaches the STA may operate in post-associated state and data transmissions may continue without interruption when the STA moves in the AP MAP. Unicast frames may be transmitted over any link, wherein unicast data may have packet number (PN). A STA may receive group data frames from any link. It further indicates that STA may send data to/from Aps via the link, and wherein the unicast data may have packet number (PN). As such, it is understood that user data is transmitted.
Although Examiner has provided certain mappings for the convenience of Applicant, however, the entire references should be considered by Applicant.
Applicant’s all other arguments are about “user data” as not being transmitted, as responded above, but repeated with other claims and other links.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12, 14, and 16-21, and 23-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20240089891 A1 to Knecht et al., (hereinafter Kneckt) in view of US 20200245137 A1 to Chitrakar et al., (hereinafter Chitrakar).
Claim 1. A first wireless device (Non-AP wireless device / STA), comprising:
a processing system that includes processor circuitry and memory circuitry that stores code, (Kneckt: Fig. 2, STA, #302 processor & #306 memory) the processing system configured to cause the first wireless device to:
communicate with a second wireless device (first AP wireless device / AP1) via a first set of one or more communication links between the first wireless device (Non-AP Wireless device / STA) and the second wireless device (first AP wireless device / AP1)
(Kneckt: See Fig. 10, Fig. 31, Fig. 5, #552, and para[0106], “Non-AP wireless device / STA” (i.e., a first wireless device) establish wireless association by establishing links with first access point (the second wireless device) in multi-access point (MAP) system)
using a first subset of a plurality of user data context parameters corresponding to a first index (first BSSID) assigned to the second wireless device (AP1);
(Kneckt: See Fig. 10, Fig. 16, and para[0129], for STA (i.e., first wireless device) establishing one or more links with one or more APs, using that AP’s BSSID / AP ID (i.e., first index assigned to the second wireless device) . See para[0132] for data (i.e., user data) sent and received between STA and AP(s), may have the following joint parameters: SN, PN, PTK, and Block Acknowledgement (BA) (i.e., first/second subset of user data context parameters).
roam from the second wireless device (AP1) to a third wireless device (AP2) based at least in part on a status of the first set of one or more communication links and based at least in part on a status of a second set of one or more communication links between the first wireless device (STA) and the third wireless device (AP2),
(Kneckt: See Fig. 29, Fig. 31, and para[0157]-[0158] a STA in roaming mode, establishes links with AP1 and AP2, and then roams from AP1 to AP2. The “roaming mode”, is based on “fast link activation and deactivation” (enabled/disabled) of those links that are established between STA and AP1/AP2. See also Fig 10, new links are added first, and then transition to new AP is done via links that are enabled)
wherein the roaming comprises transmitting user data to the third wireless device (AP2) via the second set of one or more communication links
(Kneckt: See Fig. 10, Fig. 31, Fig. 5, #554, and para[0106], “Non-AP wireless device / STA” (i.e., a first wireless device) establish wireless association with second access point (AP2 = the third wireless device) in multi-access point (MAP) system and communicates with it thereafter)
using a second subset of the plurality of user data context parameters corresponding to a second index (second BSSID) assigned to the third wireless device (AP2); and
(Kneckt: See Fig. 10, Fig. 16, and para[0129], for STA (i.e., first wireless device) establishing one or more links with one or more APs, using that AP’s BSSID / AP ID (i.e., second index assigned to the third wireless device) . See para[0132] for data (i.e., user data) sent and received between STA and AP(s), may have the following joint parameters: SN, PN, PTK, and Block Acknowledgement (BA) (i.e., first/second subset of user data context parameters).
communicate with the third wireless device (AP2) via the second set of one or more communication links based at least in part on using the second subset of the plurality of user data context parameters to roam from the second wireless device to the third wireless device.
(Kneckt: See Fig. 10, Fig. 31, Fig. 5, #554, and para[0106], “Non-AP wireless device / STA” (i.e., a first wireless device) that is roaming, establish wireless association with second access point (AP2 = the third wireless device) in multi-access point (MAP) system and communicates with it thereafter)
Although Knecht teaches unicast user data sent and received between STA and AP(s) may have PN, SN, PTK, and Block Acknowledgement (BA) parameters, however, it does not explicitly disclose or suggests that any one of such PN, SN, PTK, or BA, parameters are uniquely assigned and maintained by an AP, as can be understood alternatively by the applied claim language.
However, in a similar field, Chitrakar, in Fig. 26, Fig. 27, and para[0176]-[0177] teaches AP maintains a unique PN for every transmission that it performs, and wherein the PN is also divided into 6 octets referred to as PN-0, PN-1, PN-2, PN-3, PN-4, PN-5, as shown in Fig. 26, and wherein the AP uses a portion of such PN, such as PN-0 in the P-PN portion of a frame (#2716 of Fig. 27) which also includes AP’s BSSID in the MIC portion of the same frame (#2730 of Fig. 27) when AP transmits such frame towards a STA. As such, it is understood that an AP’s BSSID is associated with a unique PN, or PN is assigned to AP. (Chitrakar: See para[0176]-[0177] and Fig. 26 & 27)
Kneckt teaches techniques related to multi-access point system link connectivity establishment between AP(s) and STA, wherein unicast user data that is sent and received between STA and AP(s) may have PN, SN, PTK, and Block Acknowledgement (BA). (Kneckt: See para[0132], Fig. 26, & Fig. 27)
Chitrakar teaches secure communication techniques wherein an AP maintains a unique PN for every transmission that it performs, and uses only a portion of such unique PN, such as PN-0, in a frame that it transmits to achieve replay security protection. (Chitrakar: See para[0176]-[0177], Fig. 26 & Fig. 27)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filling to have included the ability of an AP to maintain a unique PN and communicating such unique PN with STA, as taught by Chitrakar, with the teachings of Kneckt, in order to benefit from enhancement of having an AP that maintains a unique PN for transmission, and can use only a portion of such unique PN, such as PN-0, in a frame that it transmits for security purposes. (Chitrakar: See para[0176]-[0177], Fig. 26 & Fig. 27)
Claim 2. The first wireless device of claim 1, wherein, to transmit or receive the user data, the processing system is configured to cause the first wireless device to:
transmit or receive a packet via the second set of one or more communication links using the second subset of the plurality of user data context parameters, wherein the user data context parameters comprise at least one of an encryption key, a packet number, a sequence number, or a block acknowledgement associated with the second index assigned to the third wireless device. (Kneckt: See para[0132] for data (i.e., user data) sent and received between STA and AP(s), may have the following joint parameters: SN, PN, PTK, and Block Acknowledgement (BA) (i.e., first/second subset of user data context parameters).
Claim 3. The first wireless device of claim 1, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the first wireless device to:
obtain an indication of the plurality of user data context parameters that are partitioned into two or more subsets associated with respective indices, each subset comprising a plurality of values associated with a respective index. (Chitrakar: See para[0191] and Fig. 28, AP, upon receiving a request for PN update from STA, transmits a frame back to STA that includes a PN field #2824 that carries the value of PN maintained by the AP. The PN maintained by AP has six octets as shown in Fig. 26, and each octet is for a specific PN index such as PN-0, PN-1, PN-2, PN-3, PN-4, PN-5)
Kneckt teaches techniques related to multi-access point system link connectivity establishment between AP(s) and STA, wherein unicast user data that is sent and received between STA and AP(s) may have PN, SN, PTK, and Block Acknowledgement (BA). (Kneckt: See para[0132], Fig. 26, & Fig. 27)
Chitrakar teaches secure communication techniques wherein an AP maintains a unique PN for every transmission that it performs, and uses only a portion of such unique PN, such as PN-0, in a frame that it transmits to achieve replay security protection. (Chitrakar: See para[0176]-[0177], Fig. 26 & Fig. 27)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filling to have included the ability of an AP to maintain a unique PN and communicating such unique PN with STA, as taught by Chitrakar, with the teachings of Kneckt, in order to benefit from enhancement of having an AP that maintains a unique PN for transmission, and can use only a portion of such unique PN, such as PN-0, in a frame that it transmits for security purposes. (Chitrakar: See para[0176]-[0177], Fig. 26 & Fig. 27)
Claim 4. The first wireless device of claim 1, wherein, to transmit or receive the user data, the processing system is configured to cause the first wireless device to:
transmit or receive, via the second set of one or more communication links, a message containing a packet number field associated with the second index assigned to the third wireless device, (Chitrakar: See para[0191] and Fig. 28, AP upon receiving a request for PN update from STA, transmits a frame back to STA that includes a PN field #2824 that carries the value of PN maintained by the AP such as PN-0, etc.)
wherein a first quantity of bits in the packet number field indicate the second index and a second quantity of bits in the packet number field indicate a packet number within a packet number segment associated with the second index.
(Chitakar: See para[0176] for PN has 48 bits, divided into six octets, wherein PN-0 is the lowest octet and PN-5 is the highest octet. See para[0191] and Fig. 28, AP upon receiving a request for PN update from STA, transmits a frame back to STA that includes a PN field #2824 that carries the value of PN maintained by the AP such as PN-0, etc.)
Kneckt teaches techniques related to multi-access point system link connectivity establishment between AP(s) and STA, wherein unicast user data that is sent and received between STA and AP(s) may have PN, SN, PTK, and Block Acknowledgement (BA). (Kneckt: See para[0132], Fig. 26, & Fig. 27)
Chitrakar teaches secure communication techniques wherein an AP maintains a unique PN for every transmission that it performs, and uses only a portion of such unique PN, such as PN-0, in a frame that it transmits to achieve replay security protection. (Chitrakar: See para[0176]-[0177], Fig. 26 & Fig. 27)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filling to have included the ability of an AP to maintain a unique PN and communicating such unique PN with STA, as taught by Chitrakar, with the teachings of Kneckt, in order to benefit from enhancement of having an AP that maintains a unique PN for transmission, and can use only a portion of such unique PN, such as PN-0, in a frame that it transmits for security purposes. (Chitrakar: See para[0176]-[0177], Fig. 26 & Fig. 27)
Claim 5. The first wireless device of claim 4, wherein:
a length of the packet number field is 48 bits; (Chitakar: See para[0176] for PN a 48-bit divided into six octets)
the 8 most significant bits of the packet number field (1st octet) indicate the second index; and the remaining 40 bits of the packet number field indicate the packet number within the packet number segment associated with the second index.
(Chitrakar: See para[0191] and Fig. 28, AP upon receiving a request for PN update from STA, transmits a frame back to STA that includes a PN field #2824 that carries the value of PN maintained by the AP. The PN maintained by AP, has six octets (8 bits each) as shown in Fig. 26, and each octet is for a specific PN such as PN-0, PN-1, PN-2, PN-3, PN-4, PN-5. It is understood that AP’s response could only contain PN-0 in the first octet (8 bits) and the remaining 40 bits not to have any indication of PN in them)
Kneckt teaches techniques related to multi-access point system link connectivity establishment between AP(s) and STA, wherein unicast user data that is sent and received between STA and AP(s) may have PN, SN, PTK, and Block Acknowledgement (BA). (Kneckt: See para[0132], Fig. 26, & Fig. 27)
Chitrakar teaches secure communication techniques wherein an AP maintains a unique PN for every transmission that it performs, and uses only a portion of such unique PN, such as PN-0, in a frame that it transmits to achieve replay security protection. (Chitrakar: See para[0176]-[0177], Fig. 26 & Fig. 27)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filling to have included the ability of an AP to maintain a unique PN and communicating such unique PN with STA, as taught by Chitrakar, with the teachings of Kneckt, in order to benefit from enhancement of having an AP that maintains a unique PN for transmission, and can use only a portion of such unique PN, such as PN-0, in a frame that it transmits for security purposes. (Chitrakar: See para[0176]-[0177], Fig. 26 & Fig. 27)
Claim 6. The first wireless device of claim 1, wherein, to transmit or receive the user data, the processing system is configured to cause the first wireless device to:
transmit or receive, via the second set of one or more communication links, a frame containing a packet number associated with the second subset of the plurality of user data context parameters and a separate field indicating the second index assigned to the third wireless device.
(Chitrakar: See para[0191] and Fig. 28, AP, upon receiving a request for PN update from STA, transmits a frame back to STA that includes a PN field #2824 that carries the value of PN maintained by the AP. It is understood that PN maintained by AP has six octets as shown in Fig. 26, and each octet is for a specific PN such as PN-0, PN-1, PN-2, PN-3, PN-4, PN-5)
Kneckt teaches techniques related to multi-access point system link connectivity establishment between AP(s) and STA, wherein unicast user data that is sent and received between STA and AP(s) may have PN, SN, PTK, and Block Acknowledgement (BA). (Kneckt: See para[0132], Fig. 26, & Fig. 27)
Chitrakar teaches secure communication techniques wherein an AP maintains a unique PN for every transmission that it performs, and uses only a portion of such unique PN, such as PN-0, in a frame that it transmits to achieve replay security protection. (Chitrakar: See para[0176]-[0177], Fig. 26 & Fig. 27)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filling to have included the ability of an AP to maintain a unique PN and communicating such unique PN with STA, as taught by Chitrakar, with the teachings of Kneckt, in order to benefit from enhancement of having an AP that maintains a unique PN for transmission, and can use only a portion of such unique PN, such as PN-0, in a frame that it transmits for security purposes. (Chitrakar: See para[0176]-[0177], Fig. 26 & Fig. 27)
Claim 7. The first wireless device of claim 1, wherein:
the first wireless device comprises a non-access point (AP) multi-link device (MLD), a station (STA) affiliated with the non-AP MLD, or a non-MLD non-AP STA;
(Kneckt: See Fig. 32, for STA is “Non-AP STA)
the second wireless device comprises a first non-MLD AP or a first AP MLD; and the third wireless device comprises a second non-MLD AP or a second AP MLD.
(Kneckt: See Fig. 32, for AP1, AP2, AP3, as AP Multi-link device (MLD))
Claim 8. The first wireless device of claim 7, wherein:
the second wireless device (i.e., serving AP) comprises a serving AP of the first wireless device; (i.e., STA1) and the third wireless device (i.e., target AP) comprises a candidate or target AP to which the STA (i.e., STA1) is roaming. (Kneckt: See Fig. 31, and para[0157]-[0158] for roaming STA1 has links with AP1 (i.e., serving AP) and AP2 (i.e., target AP) that is roaming towards)
Claim 9. The first wireless device of claim 8, wherein, to transmit or receive the user data, the processing system is configured to cause the first wireless device to:
transmit or receive one or more packets via the second set of one or more communication links, (kneckt: Fig. 10) the one or more packets comprising packet numbers within a packet number segment associated with the second index (second BSSID) assigned to the candidate or target AP.
(Chitrakar: See Fig. 26, Fig. 27, and para[0176]-[0177] teaches PN is divided into 6 octets referred to as PN-0, PN-1, PN-2, PN-3, PN-4, PN-5, as shown in Fig. 26, and wherein AP uses a portion of such PN, such as PN-0 (“PN-0” = first/second index assigned to the second/(third) wireless device) in the P-PN portion of a frame (#2716 of Fig. 27) which also includes AP’s BSSID in the MIC portion of the same frame (#2730 of Fig. 27) when transmitting such frame towards a STA)
Kneckt teaches techniques related to multi-access point system link connectivity establishment between AP(s) and STA, wherein unicast user data that is sent and received between STA and AP(s) may have PN, SN, PTK, and Block Acknowledgement (BA). (Kneckt: See para[0132], Fig. 26, & Fig. 27)
Chitrakar teaches secure communication techniques wherein an AP maintains a unique PN for every transmission that it performs, and uses only a portion of such unique PN, such as PN-0, in a frame that it transmits to achieve replay security protection. (Chitrakar: See para[0176]-[0177], Fig. 26 & Fig. 27)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filling to have included the ability of an AP to maintain a unique PN and communicating such unique PN with STA, as taught by Chitrakar, with the teachings of Kneckt, in order to benefit from enhancement of having an AP that maintains a unique PN for transmission, and can use only a portion of such unique PN, such as PN-0, in a frame that it transmits for security purposes. (Chitrakar: See para[0176]-[0177], Fig. 26 & Fig. 27)
Claim 10. The first wireless device of claim 8, wherein each candidate or target AP of the STA is assigned a different subset of user data context parameters from the plurality of user data context parameters.
(Chitrakar: See para[0191] and Fig. 28, AP upon receiving a request for PN update from STA, transmits a frame back to STA that includes a PN field #2824 that carries the value of PN maintained by the AP. The PN maintained by AP has six octets as shown in Fig. 26, and each octet is for a specific PN such as PN-0, PN-1, PN-2, PN-3, PN-4, PN-5. It is understood that AP’s response could only contain PN-0 in the first octet (8 bits) and the remaining 40 bits not to have any indication of PN in them, and/or any other combination)
Kneckt teaches techniques related to multi-access point system link connectivity establishment between AP(s) and STA, wherein unicast user data that is sent and received between STA and AP(s) may have PN, SN, PTK, and Block Acknowledgement (BA). (Kneckt: See para[0132], Fig. 26, & Fig. 27)
Chitrakar teaches secure communication techniques wherein an AP maintains a unique PN for every transmission that it performs, and uses only a portion of such unique PN, such as PN-0, in a frame that it transmits to achieve replay security protection. (Chitrakar: See para[0176]-[0177], Fig. 26 & Fig. 27)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filling to have included the ability of an AP to maintain a unique PN and communicating such unique PN with STA, as taught by Chitrakar, with the teachings of Kneckt, in order to benefit from enhancement of having an AP that maintains a unique PN for transmission, and can use only a portion of such unique PN, such as PN-0, in a frame that it transmits for security purposes. (Chitrakar: See para[0176]-[0177], Fig. 26 & Fig. 27)
Claim 11. The first wireless device of claim 1, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the first wireless device to:
receive an indication that a third index corresponding to a third subset of the plurality of user data context parameters has been reassigned to the second wireless device previously serving the first wireless device.
(Chitrakar: See para[0191] and Fig. 28, AP upon receiving a request for PN update from STA, transmits a frame back to STA that includes a PN field #2824 that carries the value of PN maintained by the AP. The PN maintained by AP has six octets as shown in Fig. 26, and each octet is for a specific PN such as PN-0, PN-1, PN-2, PN-3, PN-4, PN-5. It is understood that AP’s response could only contain PN-0 in the first octet (8 bits) and the remaining 40 bits not to have any indication of PN in them, and/or any other combination)
Kneckt teaches techniques related to multi-access point system link connectivity establishment between AP(s) and STA, wherein unicast user data that is sent and received between STA and AP(s) may have PN, SN, PTK, and Block Acknowledgement (BA). (Kneckt: See para[0132], Fig. 26, & Fig. 27)
Chitrakar teaches secure communication techniques wherein an AP maintains a unique PN for every transmission that it performs, and uses only a portion of such unique PN, such as PN-0, in a frame that it transmits to achieve replay security protection. (Chitrakar: See para[0176]-[0177], Fig. 26 & Fig. 27)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filling to have included the ability of an AP to maintain a unique PN and communicating such unique PN with STA, as taught by Chitrakar, with the teachings of Kneckt, in order to benefit from enhancement of having an AP that maintains a unique PN for transmission, and can use only a portion of such unique PN, such as PN-0, in a frame that it transmits for security purposes. (Chitrakar: See para[0176]-[0177], Fig. 26 & Fig. 27)
Claim 12. The first wireless device of claim 1, wherein, to transmit or receive the user data, the processing system is configured to cause the first wireless device to:
transmit one or more packets to the third wireless device via the second set of one or more communication links in association with determining that a threshold amount of time has elapsed with respect to a last uplink packet sent via the first set of one or more communication links. (Kneckt: See para[0117] one or more links for first wireless assocication are enabled at one time and one or more links for a second association are disabled at the same time. Therefore, the link enablement/disablement allows transition from one link to another based such time.)
Claim 14. The first wireless device of claim 1, wherein, to the roam, the processing system is configured to cause the first wireless device to:
transmit a first set of packets using a first set of sequence numbers associated with the first index (first BSSID of AP1) assigned to the second wireless device (AP1); and transmit a second set of packets using a second set of sequence numbers associated with the second index (second BSSID of AP2) assigned to the third wireless device (AP2), wherein the first set of sequence numbers is offset from the second set of sequence numbers.
(Kneckt: See Fig. 10, Fig. 16, and para[0129], for STA (i.e., first wireless device) establishing one or more links with one or more APs, using that AP’s BSSID / AP ID (i.e., first index assigned to the second wireless device) . See para[0132] for data (i.e., user data) sent and received between STA and AP(s), may have the following joint parameters: SN, PN, PTK, and Block Acknowledgement (BA). It is understood that each packet transmitted is offset from the previous packet transmission).
Claim 16. The first wireless device of claim 1, wherein, to communicate with the third wireless device, the processing system is configured to cause the first wireless device to:
transmit a Multi-Link Add Link request to the third wireless device via the second set of one or more communication links using one or more packet number values within the second subset of the plurality of user data context parameters assigned to the third wireless device. (Kneckt: See para[0115] once an association is already established, it is possible to transmit an “add link request” and to receive “add link response” back as shown in Fig. )
Claim 17. The first wireless device of claim 1, wherein, to communicate with the third wireless device, the processing system is configured to cause the first wireless device to:
receive a Multi-Link Add Link response from the third wireless device via the second set of one or more communication links, the Multi-Link Add Link response indicating a set of encryption keys to use for communicating with a target access point (AP) of the third wireless device. (Kneckt: See para[0115] once an association is already established, it is possible to transmit and add link request and to receive add link response back)
Claim 18. A third wireless device (AP2), comprising:
a processing system that includes processor circuitry and memory circuitry that stores code, (Kneckt: See Fig. 3, AP, #404 processor & # 460 memory) the processing system configured to cause the third wireless device to:
obtain an indication of a second index (second BSSID) assigned to the third wireless device (AP2), the second index (second BSSID) corresponding to a second subset of a plurality of user data context parameters (SN, PN, PTK, Block Ack (BA) that are usable for communications with a first wireless device(Non-AP wireless device / STA);
(Kneckt: See Fig. 10, Fig. 16, and para[0129], for STA (i.e., first wireless device) establishing one or more links with one or more APs, using that AP’s BSSID / AP ID (i.e., second index assigned to the third wireless device) . See para[0132] for data (i.e., user data) sent and received between STA and AP(s), may have the following joint parameters: SN, PN, PTK, and Block Acknowledgement (BA) (i.e., first/second subset of user data context parameters).
receive, via a second set of one or more communication links between the third wireless device and the first wireless device (Non-AP wireless device / STA) that is roaming from a second wireless device (first AP wireless device / AP1) to the third wireless device (AP2),
(Kneckt: See Fig. 10, Fig. 31, Fig. 5, #554, and para[0106], “Non-AP wireless device / STA” (i.e., a first wireless device) that is roaming, establish wireless association with second access point (AP2 = the third wireless device) in multi-access point (MAP) system and communicates with it thereafter)
user data that indicates the second subset of the plurality of user data context parameters corresponding to the second index (second BSSID) assigned to the third wireless device (AP2),
(Kneckt: See Fig. 10, Fig. 16, and para[0129], for STA (i.e., first wireless device) establishing one or more links with one or more APs, using that AP’s BSSID / AP ID (i.e., second index assigned to the third wireless device) . See para[0132] for unicast data (i.e., user data) sent and received between STA and AP(s), may have the following joint parameters: SN, PN, PTK, and Block Acknowledgement (BA) (i.e., first/second subset of user data context parameters).
wherein a first subset of the plurality of the user data context parameters corresponds to a first index (first BSSID) assigned to the second wireless device (AP1) from which the first wireless device is roaming; and
(Kneckt: See Fig. 10, Fig. 16, and para[0129], for STA (i.e., first wireless device) establishing one or more links with one or more APs, using that AP’s BSSID / AP ID (i.e., first index assigned to the second wireless device) . See para[0132] for data (i.e., user data) sent and received between STA and AP(s), may have the following joint parameters: SN, PN, PTK, and Block Acknowledgement (BA) (i.e., first/second subset of user data context parameters).
communicate with the first wireless device (STA) via the second set of one or more communication links
(Kneckt: See Fig. 10, Fig. 31, Fig. 5, #554, and para[0106], “Non-AP wireless device / STA” (i.e., a first wireless device) that is roaming, establish wireless association with second access point (AP2 = the third wireless device) in multi-access point (MAP) system and communicates with it thereafter)
using the second subset of the plurality of user data context parameters corresponding to the second index (second BSSID) assigned to the third wireless device (AP2) based at least in part on receiving the user data from the first wireless device roaming from the second wireless device to the third wireless device.
(Kneckt: See Fig. 10, Fig. 16, and para[0129], for STA (i.e., first wireless device) establishing one or more links with one or more APs, using that AP’s BSSID / AP ID (i.e., second index assigned to the third wireless device) . See para[0132] for data (i.e., user data) sent and received between STA and AP(s), may have the following joint parameters: SN, PN, PTK, and Block Acknowledgement (BA) (i.e., first/second subset of user data context parameters).
Although Knecht teaches unicast user data sent and received between STA and AP(s) may have PN, SN, PTK, and Block Acknowledgement (BA) parameters, however, it does not explicitly disclose or suggests that any one of such PN, SN, PTK, or BA, parameters are uniquely assigned and maintained by an AP, as can be understood alternatively by the applied claim language.
However, in a similar field, Chitrakar, in Fig. 26, Fig. 27, and para[0176]-[0177] teaches AP maintains a unique PN for every transmission that it performs, and wherein the PN is also divided into 6 octets referred to as PN-0, PN-1, PN-2, PN-3, PN-4, PN-5, as shown in Fig. 26, and wherein the AP uses a portion of such PN, such as PN-0 in the P-PN portion of a frame (#2716 of Fig. 27) which also includes AP’s BSSID in the MIC portion of the same frame (#2730 of Fig. 27) when AP transmits such frame towards a STA. As such, it is understood that an AP’s BSSID is associated with a unique PN, and or PN is assigned to AP. (Chitrakar: See para[0176]-[0177] and Fig. 26 & 27)
Kneckt teaches techniques related to multi-access point system link connectivity establishment between AP(s) and STA, wherein unicast user data that is sent and received between STA and AP(s) may have PN, SN, PTK, and Block Acknowledgement (BA). (Kneckt: See para[0132], Fig. 26, & Fig. 27)
Chitrakar teaches secure communication techniques wherein an AP maintains a unique PN for every transmission that it performs, and uses only a portion of such unique PN, such as PN-0, in a frame that it transmits to achieve replay security protection. (Chitrakar: See para[0176]-[0177], Fig. 26 & Fig. 27)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filling to have included the ability of an AP to maintain a unique PN and communicating such unique PN with STA, as taught by Chitrakar, with the teachings of Kneckt, in order to benefit from enhancement of having an AP that maintains a unique PN for transmission, and can use only a portion of such unique PN, such as PN-0, in a frame that it transmits for security purposes. (Chitrakar: See para[0176]-[0177], Fig. 26 & Fig. 27)
Claim 19. The third wireless device of claim 18, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the third wireless device to:
instantiate a respective 48-bit packet number counter for each access point (AP) associated with the first wireless device, wherein the respective 48-bit packet number counter is initialized according to a first packet number segment currently being used to communicate with the first wireless device.
(Chitakar: See para[0176] for PN has 48 bits, divided into six octets, wherein PN-0 is the lowest octet and PN-5 is the highest octet. See para[0191] and Fig. 28, AP upon receiving a request for PN update from STA, transmits a frame back to STA that includes a PN field #2824 that carries the value of PN maintained by the AP such as PN-0, etc.)
Kneckt teaches techniques related to multi-access point system link connectivity establishment between AP(s) and STA, wherein unicast user data that is sent and received between STA and AP(s) may have PN, SN, PTK, and Block Acknowledgement (BA). (Kneckt: See para[0132], Fig. 26, & Fig. 27)
Chitrakar teaches secure communication techniques wherein an AP maintains a unique PN for every transmission that it performs, and uses only a portion of such unique PN, such as PN-0, in a frame that it transmits to achieve replay security protection. (Chitrakar: See para[0176]-[0177], Fig. 26 & Fig. 27)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filling to have included the ability of an AP to maintain a unique PN and communicating such unique PN with STA, as taught by Chitrakar, with the teachings of Kneckt, in order to benefit from enhancement of having an AP that maintains a unique PN for transmission, and can use only a portion of such unique PN, such as PN-0, in a frame that it transmits for security purposes. (Chitrakar: See para[0176]-[0177], Fig. 26 & Fig. 27)
Claim 20. The third wireless device of claim 19, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the third wireless device to:
perform an anti-replay packet number check using the respective 48-bit packet number counter associated with an AP of the third wireless device that received the user data from the first wireless device.
(Chitakar: See para[0176] for PN has 48 bits, divided into six octets, wherein PN-0 is the lowest octet and PN-5 is the highest octet. See para[0191] and Fig. 28, AP upon receiving a request for PN update from STA, transmits a frame back to STA that includes a PN field #2824 that carries the value of PN maintained by the AP such as PN-0, etc. Packet Number (PN) is monotonically increased to achieve replay protection.)
Kneckt teaches techniques related to multi-access point system link connectivity establishment between AP(s) and STA, wherein unicast user data that is sent and received between STA and AP(s) may have PN, SN, PTK, and Block Acknowledgement (BA). (Kneckt: See para[0132], Fig. 26, & Fig. 27)
Chitrakar teaches secure communication techniques wherein an AP maintains a unique PN for every transmission that it performs, and uses only a portion of such unique PN, such as PN-0, in a frame that it transmits to achieve replay security protection. (Chitrakar: See para[0176]-[0177], Fig. 26 & Fig. 27)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filling to have included the ability of an AP to maintain a unique PN and communicating such unique PN with STA, as taught by Chitrakar, with the teachings of Kneckt, in order to benefit from enhancement of having an AP that maintains a unique PN for transmission, and can use only a portion of such unique PN, such as PN-0, in a frame that it transmits for security purposes. (Chitrakar: See para[0176]-[0177], Fig. 26 & Fig. 27)
Claim 21. The third wireless device of claim 18, wherein, to receive the user data, the processing system is configured to cause the third wireless device to:
receive, via the second set of one or more communication links, a frame containing a packet number associated with the second subset of the plurality of user data context parameters and a separate field indicating the second index assigned to the third wireless device; and perform a replay check by combining the packet number with the second index.
(Chitakar: See para[0176] for PN has 48 bits, divided into six octets, wherein PN-0 is the lowest octet and PN-5 is the highest octet. See para[0191] and Fig. 28, AP upon receiving a request for PN update from STA, transmits a frame back to STA that includes a PN field #2824 that carries the value of PN maintained by the AP such as PN-0, PN-5, etc. Packet Number (PN) is monotonically increased to achieve replay protection.)
Kneckt teaches techniques related to multi-access point system link connectivity establishment between AP(s) and STA, wherein unicast user data that is sent and received between STA and AP(s) may have PN, SN, PTK, and Block Acknowledgement (BA). (Kneckt: See para[0132], Fig. 26, & Fig. 27)
Chitrakar teaches secure communication techniques wherein an AP maintains a unique PN for every transmission that it performs, and uses only a portion of such unique PN, such as PN-0, in a frame that it transmits to achieve replay security protection. (Chitrakar: See para[0176]-[0177], Fig. 26 & Fig. 27)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filling to have included the ability of an AP to maintain a unique PN and communicating such unique PN with STA, as taught by Chitrakar, with the teachings of Kneckt, in order to benefit from enhancement of having an AP that maintains a unique PN for transmission, and can use only a portion of such unique PN, such as PN-0, in a frame that it transmits for security purposes. (Chitrakar: See para[0176]-[0177], Fig. 26 & Fig. 27)
Claim 23. The third wireless device of claim 18, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the third wireless device to:
transmit or receive one or more packets via a gateway between the second wireless device and the third wireless device prior to receiving the user data from the first wireless device via the second set of one or more communication links between the first wireless device and the third wireless device. (Kneckt: See Fig. 6, AP1 acting as a gateway, forwarding messages from STA to AP2)
Claim 24. The third wireless device (AP2) of claim 18, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the third wireless (AP2) device to:
transmit, via a gateway, a path switch frame associated with switching a data path of the first wireless device (STA) from the second wireless device (AP1) to the third wireless device (AP2).
(Kneckt: See Fig. 6, AP2 transmits re-association request to STA, requesting STA to reassociate to AP2 from AP1)
Claim 25. The third wireless device of claim 18, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the third wireless device (AP2) to:
receive, from a centralized controller or a serving access point (AP) of the first wireless device, one or more frames, elements, or fields indicating at least one of a security key, a packet number index, or a sequence number offset for the first wireless device, wherein communicating with the first wireless device via the second set of one or more communication links is based at least in part on the one or more frames, elements, or fields. (Kneckt: See Fig. 20, AP1 transmitting a beacon to AP2 (third wireless device), wherein such beacon includes all of AP1 parameters (i.e., a packet number index), and AP MAP1 parameters)
Claim 26. The third wireless device of claim 18, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the third wireless (AP2) device to:
transmit, to a set of neighboring access points (APs) affiliated with an SMD multi-link device, one or more frames, elements, or fields indicating at least one of a security key, a packet number index, or a sequence number offset for the first wireless device. (Kneckt: See Fig. 20, AP2 (the third wireless device) transmitting a beacon to AP1, wherein such beacon includes all of AP2 (the third wireless device) parameters (i.e., a packet number index), and AP MAP1 parameters)
Claim 27. The third wireless device of claim 18, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the third wireless device (AP2) to:
receive, via a secure backhaul connection between the third wireless device and a centralized controller, a message indicating at least one security key, a packet number index, or a sequence number offset for the first wireless device, wherein the at least one security key is provisioned by the centralized controller. (Kneckt: See Fig. 20, AP1 (i.e., centralized controller) transmitting a beacon to AP2 (third wireless device), wherein such beacon includes all of AP1 parameters (i.e., a packet number index), and AP MAP1 parameters)
Claim 28. The third wireless device of claim 18, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the third wireless device (AP2) to:
transmit a block acknowledgement request frame to the first wireless device (STA) via the second set of one or more communication links after the first wireless device successfully transitions from the second wireless device (AP1) to the third wireless device. (Kneckt: See para[0127]-[0128] for Block Acknowledgements may bet setup in a single BA request. See Fig. 6, AP2 sends a BA window size to STA via AP1.)
Claim 29. A method for wireless communication by a first wireless device, (Non-AP wireless device / STA) comprising:
communicating with a second wireless device (first AP wireless device / AP1) via a first set of one or more communication links between the first wireless device (Non-AP Wireless device / STA) and the second wireless device (first AP wireless device / AP1)
(Kneckt: See Fig. 10, Fig. 31, Fig. 5, #552, and para[0106], “Non-AP wireless device / STA” (i.e., a first wireless device) establish wireless association (i.e. links) with first access point (the second wireless device) in multi-access point (MAP) system)
using a first subset of a plurality of user data context parameters corresponding to a first index (first BSSID) assigned to the second wireless device(AP1);
(Kneckt: See Fig. 10, Fig. 16, and para[0129], for STA (i.e., first wireless device) establishing one or more links with one or more APs, using that AP’s BSSID / AP ID (i.e., first index assigned to the second wireless device) . See para[0132] for data (i.e., user data) sent and received between STA and AP(s), may have the following joint parameters: SN, PN, PTK, and Block Acknowledgement (BA) (i.e., first/second subset of user data context parameters).
roaming from the second wireless device (AP1) to a third wireless device (AP2) based at least in part on a status of the first set of one or more communication links and based at least in part on a status of a second set of one or more communication links between the first wireless device (STA) and the third wireless device (AP2),
(Kneckt: See Fig. 29, Fig. 31, and para[0157]-[0158] a STA in roaming mode, establishes links with AP1 and AP2, and then roams from AP1 to AP2. The “roaming mode”, is based on “fast link activation and deactivation” (enabled/disabled) of those links that are established between STA and AP1/AP2. See also Fig 10, new links are added first, and then transition to new AP is done via links that are enabled)
wherein the roaming comprises transmitting user data to the third wireless device (AP2) via the second set of one or more communication links
(Kneckt: See Fig. 10, Fig. 31, Fig. 5, #554, and para[0106], “Non-AP wireless device / STA” (i.e., a first wireless device) establish wireless association with second access point (AP2 = the third wireless device) in multi-access point (MAP) system and communicates with it thereafter)
using a second subset of the plurality of user data context parameters corresponding to a second index (second BSSID) assigned to the third wireless device (AP2); and
(Kneckt: See Fig. 10, Fig. 16, and para[0129], for STA (i.e., first wireless device) establishing one or more links with one or more APs, using that AP’s BSSID / AP ID (i.e., second index assigned to the third wireless device) . See para[0132] for data (i.e., user data) sent and received between STA and AP(s), may have the following joint parameters: SN, PN, PTK, and Block Acknowledgement (BA) (i.e., first/second subset of user data context parameters).
communicating with the third wireless device (AP2) via the second set of one or more communication links based at least in part on using the second subset of the plurality of user data context parameters to roam from the second wireless device to the third wireless device.
(Kneckt: See Fig. 10, Fig. 31, Fig. 5, #554, and para[0106], “Non-AP wireless device / STA” (i.e., a first wireless device) that is roaming, establish wireless association with second access point (AP2 = the third wireless device) in multi-access point (MAP) system and communicates with it thereafter)
Although Knecht teaches unicast user data sent and received between STA and AP(s) may have PN, SN, PTK, and Block Acknowledgement (BA) parameters, however, it does not explicitly disclose or suggests that any one of such PN, SN, PTK, or BA, parameters are uniquely assigned and maintained by an AP, as can be understood alternatively by the applied claim language.
However, in a similar field, Chitrakar, in Fig. 26, Fig. 27, and para[0176]-[0177] teaches AP maintains a unique PN for every transmission that it performs, and wherein the PN is also divided into 6 octets referred to as PN-0, PN-1, PN-2, PN-3, PN-4, PN-5, as shown in Fig. 26, and wherein the AP uses a portion of such PN, such as PN-0 in the P-PN portion of a frame (#2716 of Fig. 27) which also includes AP’s BSSID in the MIC portion of the same frame (#2730 of Fig. 27) when AP transmits such frame towards a STA. As such, it is understood that an AP’s BSSID is associated with a unique PN, and or PN is assigned to AP. (Chitrakar: See para[0176]-[0177] and Fig. 26 & 27)
Kneckt teaches techniques related to multi-access point system link connectivity establishment between AP(s) and STA, wherein unicast user data that is sent and received between STA and AP(s) may have PN, SN, PTK, and Block Acknowledgement (BA). (Kneckt: See para[0132], Fig. 26, & Fig. 27)
Chitrakar teaches secure communication techniques wherein an AP maintains a unique PN for every transmission that it performs, and uses only a portion of such unique PN, such as PN-0, in a frame that it transmits to achieve replay security protection. (Chitrakar: See para[0176]-[0177], Fig. 26 & Fig. 27)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filling to have included the ability of an AP to maintain a unique PN and communicating such unique PN with STA, as taught by Chitrakar, with the teachings of Kneckt, in order to benefit from enhancement of having an AP that maintains a unique PN for transmission, and can use only a portion of such unique PN, such as PN-0, in a frame that it transmits for security purposes. (Chitrakar: See para[0176]-[0177], Fig. 26 & Fig. 27)
Claim 30. A method for wireless communications by a third wireless device (AP2), comprising:
obtaining an indication of a second index (second BSSID) assigned to the third wireless device (AP2), the second index (second BSSID) corresponding to a second subset of a plurality of user data context parameters that are usable for communications with a first wireless device(Non-AP wireless device / STA);
(Kneckt: See Fig. 10, Fig. 16, and para[0129], for STA (i.e., first wireless device) establishing one or more links with one or more APs, using that AP’s BSSID / AP ID (i.e., second index assigned to the third wireless device) . See para[0132] for data (i.e., user data) sent and received between STA and AP(s), may have the following joint parameters: SN, PN, PTK, and Block Acknowledgement (BA) (i.e., first/second subset of user data context parameters).
receiving, via a second set of one or more communication links between the third wireless device and the first wireless device (Non-AP wireless device / STA) roaming from a second wireless device (first AP wireless device / AP1) to the third wireless device (AP2),
(Kneckt: See Fig. 10, Fig. 31, Fig. 5, #554, and para[0106], “Non-AP wireless device / STA” (i.e., a first wireless device) that is roaming, establish wireless association with second access point (AP2 = the third wireless device) in multi-access point (MAP) system and communicates with it thereafter)
user data that indicates the second subset of the plurality of user data context parameters corresponding to the second index (second BSSID) assigned to the third wireless device (AP2),
(Kneckt: See Fig. 10, Fig. 16, and para[0129], for STA (i.e., first wireless device) establishing one or more links with one or more APs, using that AP’s BSSID / AP ID (i.e., second index assigned to the third wireless device) . See para[0132] for unicast data (i.e., user data) sent and received between STA and AP(s), may have the following joint parameters: SN, PN, PTK, and Block Acknowledgement (BA) (i.e., first/second subset of user data context parameters).
wherein a first subset of the plurality of the user data context parameters corresponds to a first index (first BSSID) assigned to the second wireless device (AP1) from which the first wireless device is roaming; and
(Kneckt: See Fig. 10, Fig. 16, and para[0129], for STA (i.e., first wireless device) establishing one or more links with one or more APs, using that AP’s BSSID / AP ID (i.e., first index assigned to the second wireless device) . See para[0132] for data (i.e., user data) sent and received between STA and AP(s), may have the following joint parameters: SN, PN, PTK, and Block Acknowledgement (BA) (i.e., first/second subset of user data context parameters).
communicating with the first wireless device (STA) via the second set of one or more communication links
(Kneckt: See Fig. 10, Fig. 31, Fig. 5, #554, and para[0106], “Non-AP wireless device / STA” (i.e., a first wireless device) that is roaming, establish wireless association with second access point (AP2 = the third wireless device) in multi-access point (MAP) system and communicates with it thereafter)
using the second subset of the plurality of user data context parameters corresponding to the second index (second BSSID) assigned to the third wireless device (AP2) based at least in part on receiving the user data from the first wireless device roaming from the second wireless device to the third wireless device.
(Kneckt: See Fig. 10, Fig. 16, and para[0129], for STA (i.e., first wireless device) establishing one or more links with one or more APs, using that AP’s BSSID / AP ID (i.e., second index assigned to the third wireless device) . See para[0132] for data (i.e., user data) sent and received between STA and AP(s), may have the following joint parameters: SN, PN, PTK, and Block Acknowledgement (BA) (i.e., first/second subset of user data context parameters).
Although Knecht teaches unicast user data sent and received between STA and AP(s) may have PN, SN, PTK, and Block Acknowledgement (BA) parameters, however, it does not explicitly disclose or suggests that any one of such PN, SN, PTK, or BA, parameters are uniquely assigned and maintained by an AP, as can be understood alternatively by the applied claim language.
However, in a similar field, Chitrakar, in Fig. 26, Fig. 27, and para[0176]-[0177] teaches AP maintains a unique PN for every transmission that it performs, and wherein the PN is also divided into 6 octets referred to as PN-0, PN-1, PN-2, PN-3, PN-4, PN-5, as shown in Fig. 26, and wherein the AP uses a portion of such PN, such as PN-0 in the P-PN portion of a frame (#2716 of Fig. 27) which also includes AP’s BSSID in the MIC portion of the same frame (#2730 of Fig. 27) when AP transmits such frame towards a STA. As such, it is understood that an AP’s BSSID is associated with a unique PN, and or PN is assigned to AP. (Chitrakar: See para[0176]-[0177] and Fig. 26 & 27)
Kneckt teaches techniques related to multi-access point system link connectivity establishment between AP(s) and STA, wherein unicast user data that is sent and received between STA and AP(s) may have PN, SN, PTK, and Block Acknowledgement (BA). (Kneckt: See para[0132], Fig. 26, & Fig. 27)
Chitrakar teaches secure communication techniques wherein an AP maintains a unique PN for every transmission that it performs, and uses only a portion of such unique PN, such as PN-0, in a frame that it transmits to achieve replay security protection. (Chitrakar: See para[0176]-[0177], Fig. 26 & Fig. 27)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filling to have included the ability of an AP to maintain a unique PN and communicating such unique PN with STA, as taught by Chitrakar, with the teachings of Kneckt, in order to benefit from enhancement of having an AP that maintains a unique PN for transmission, and can use only a portion of such unique PN, such as PN-0, in a frame that it transmits for security purposes. (Chitrakar: See para[0176]-[0177], Fig. 26 & Fig. 27)
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20240089891 A1 to Knecht et al., (hereinafter Kneckt) in view of US 20200245137 A1 to Chitrakar et al., (hereinafter Chitrakar) and in further view of US 20240224203 A1 to Dong (hereinafter Dong).
Claim 15. Kneckt in view of Chitrakar teaches the first wireless device (STA) of claim 1, wherein, to communicate with the second wireless device, the processing system is configured to cause the first wireless device to:
wherein each of the one or more candidate APs is assigned a different packet number index (i.e., PN-0, PN-1, PN-2, PN-3, PN-4, PN-5) for the plurality of user data context parameters.
(Chitrakar: in Fig. 26, Fig. 27, and para[0176]-[0177] teaches AP(s) maintain a unique PN for every transmission that it performs, and wherein PN is divided into 6 octets referred to as PN-0, PN-1, PN-2, PN-3, PN-4, PN-5, as shown in Fig. 26, and wherein AP uses a portion of such PN, such as PN-0 (“PN-0” = first/second index assigned to the second/(third) wireless device) in the P-PN portion of a frame (#2716 of Fig. 27) which also includes AP’s BSSID in the MIC portion of the same frame (#2730 of Fig. 27) when transmitting such frame towards a STA)
However, Kneckt in view of Chitrakar does not seem to explicitly disclose a link recommendation message, that identifies links of certain Access Points, as understood by:
receive, via the first set of one or more communication links, a link recommendation message indicating one or more candidate access points (APs) for the first wireless device,
However, in a similar field, Dong, in para[0063], para[0074], and Fig. 3, teaches STA can receive a second message from AP, that may include identification information of another link of another AP which is recommended and is different from the first link, due to AP’s load.
Kneckt teaches techniques related to multi-access point system link connectivity establishment between AP(s) and STA, wherein unicast user data that is sent and received between STA and AP(s) may have PN, SN, PTK, and Block Acknowledgement (BA). (Kneckt: See para[0132], Fig. 26, & Fig. 27)
Chitrakar teaches secure communication techniques wherein an AP maintains a unique PN for every transmission that it performs, and uses only a portion of such unique PN, such as PN-0, in a frame that it transmits to achieve replay security protection. (Chitrakar: See para[0176]-[0177], Fig. 26 & Fig. 27)
Dong teaches STA can receive a second message from AP, that may include identification information of another link which is recommended by the AP and is different from the first link, due to AP’s load. (Dong: See para[0063], para[0074], and Fig. 3)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filling to have included the ability of an AP to transmit a link recommendation to a STA, as taught by Dong, with the teachings of Kneckt in view of Chitrakar, in order to benefit from further enhancments of an AP that can send a link recommendation message to a STA due to the load of the AP. (Dong: See para[0063], para[0074], and Fig. 3)
Allowable Subject Matter
6. Claims 13 and 22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
7. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MAJID ESMAEILIAN whose telephone number is (571)270-7830. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Chirag Shah can be reached on 571-272-3144. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/M. E./
Examiner, Art Unit 2477
/GREGORY B SEFCHECK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477