DETAILED ACTION
The communication dated 3/26/2025 has been entered and fully considered.
Claims 1 and 11 have been amended. Claim 4 has been cancelled. Claims 1-3 and 5-15 are pending with claims 11-15 being withdrawn from further consideration.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-6 and 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haymann et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2005/0008887), hereinafter HAYMANN, in view of SADOUN (U.S. PGPUB 2011/0229858), hereinafter SADOUN.
Regarding claim 1, HAYMANN teaches: A method of producing a dental restoration (HAYMANN teaches a process for producing a dental restoration [Abstract].), comprising the steps of: milling from a blank (HAYMANN teaches milling a blank [0046; 0056-0057].), the dental restoration in an initial geometry, which has an excess volume compared to a final geometry to be produced (HAYMANN teaches the blank has an initial geometry which has an excess volume compared to the final geometry [Figs. 1-2 and 4-8; 0057].), wherein the excess volume is formed by a layer having a uniform thickness surrounding the final geometry (HAYMANN teaches the excess volume is calculated and formed having a uniform thickness surrounding the final geometry [Figs. 4-8; 0055-0057].), wherein the initial geometry and the final geometry are from the same blank (HAYMANN teaches the initial geometry and the final geometry are from the same blank [Figs. 4-8; 0055-0057].); infiltrating the initial geometry with an investment material (GANLEY teaches investment material is then poured into the paper cylinder [0029].), which investment material is different from material of the blank (GANLEY teaches the investment material is different from the material of the blank [0034; 0029].); and removing the excess volume with the investment material from the initial geometry to create the final geometry (GANLEY teaches removing the excess volume with the investment material to create the final dental restoration, which is the final geometry [0030].).
HAYMANN is silent as to: infiltrating the initial geometry with an investment material, which investment material is different from material of the blank; and removing the excess volume with the investment material from the initial geometry to create the final geometry. In the same field of endeavor, dental restorations, SADOUN teaches a porous support (porous dental blank) is infiltrated with a liquid resin and cured [0007-0009]. SADOUN teaches the investment material (resin) is different than the support material, which may be ceramic [0080; 0068-0074; 0089; 0096; 0100]. SADOUN teaches infiltrating the initial geometry and then removing the excess material to create the final geometry [0068-0074]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify HAYMANN, by infiltrating the geometry and removing excess to a final shape, as suggested by SADOUN, in order to increase the strength of the dental prosthesis [0058; 0066].
Regarding claim 2, SADOUN further teaches: wherein the investment material is cured (SADOUN teaches the investment material is cured [0073].).
Regarding claim 5, HAYMANN teaches: wherein the initial geometry is produced from a blank by printing or milling and/or the excess volume is produced by a subtractive process (GANLEY teaches the initial geometry may be produced by milling [0055-0057].).
Regarding claim 6, SADOUN further teaches: wherein the blank is formed from zirconium dioxide, polymethyl methacrylate, lithium disilicate, or cobalt chromium (SADOUN teaches the blank is formed from lithium disilicate [0096].). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify HAYMANN, by having the blank be made from lithium disilicate, as suggested by SADOUN, as it’s a known option in the art. See KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) ("A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.”).
Regarding claim 8, SADOUN further teaches: wherein a portion of the initial geometry is first produced that is infiltrated with the investment material, and then another portion of the initial geometry is produced that is infiltrated with the investment material (SADOUN teaches a first investment material (resin) is infiltrated into the blank (which includes the initial geometry) and then a second additional resin is infiltrated into the blank [0096-0112].). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify HAYMANN, by having the blank be infiltrated by an additional resin, as suggested by SADOUN, in order to further strengthen the dental prosthetic [0066]. Additionally, it is a known option in the art. See KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) ("A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.”).
Regarding claim 9, SADOUN further teaches: wherein the investment material is formed by a polymer, a light-cured polymer, a wax or a surfactant (SADOUN teaches the investment material is a polymer [0034-0038; 0044].). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify HAYMANN, by having the investment be a polymer, as suggested by SADOUN, as it’s a known option in the art. See KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) ("A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.”).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haymann et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2005/0008887), hereinafter HAYMANN, and SADOUN (U.S. PGPUB 2011/0229858), hereinafter SADOUN, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ganley et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2004/0254667), hereinafter GANLEY.
Regarding claim 3, HAYMANN and SADOUN teach all of the claimed limitations as stated above, but are silent as to: wherein milling residues are sucked off, brushed or blown off when producing the final geometry or when removing the excess volume. In the same field of endeavor, dental restorations, GANLEY teaches: wherein milling residues are sucked off, brushed or blown off when producing the final geometry or when removing the excess volume (GANLEY teaches the final dental restoration is divested by “sand” blasting [0030].). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify HAYMANN and SADOUN, by sand blasting, as suggested by GANLEY, in order to divest and remove the dental restoration [0030].
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haymann et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2005/0008887), hereinafter HAYMANN, and SADOUN (U.S. PGPUB 2011/0229858), hereinafter SADOUN, as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Johnson et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2013/0277874), hereinafter JOHNSON.
Regarding claim 6, HAYMANN and SADOUN teach all of the claimed limitations as stated above. In the alternative, in the same field of endeavor, dental restorations, JOHNSON teaches a blank can be made of lithium disilicate [0098]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify HAYMANN and SADOUN, by having the blank be made of lithium disilicate, as suggested by JOHNSON, as it’s a known option in the art. See KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) ("A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.”).
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haymann et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2005/0008887), hereinafter HAYMANN, and SADOUN (U.S. PGPUB 2011/0229858), hereinafter SADOUN, as applied to claims 1 and 5 above, and further in view of Howe (U.S. 8,641,938), hereinafter HOWE.
Regarding claim 7, HAYMANN and SADOUN teach all of the claimed limitations as stated above, but are silent as to: wherein the investment material is filled into a milled gap between the initial geometry and the blank. In the same field of endeavor, dental restorations, HOWE teaches investment material (20, 21) is filled into a milled gap (14, 16) between the initial geometry (12) and the blank (10) [Figs. 1A-1B; 2A-2B; Col. 10, lines 18-27; Col. 11, lines 54-58]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify HAYMANN and SADOUN, by having the investment material filled into a milled gap, as suggested by HOWE, in order to inject the investment material into the cavity through the gaps in a manner analogous to injection molding [Col. 10, lines 23-27].
Regarding claim 8, HAYMANN and SADOUN teach all of the claimed limitations as stated above. In the alternative, in the same field of endeavor, dental restorations, HOWE teaches a first portion of the initial geometry (12) is first produced that is infiltrated with the investment material [Fig. 2B]. HOWE teaches then another portion of the initial geometry (12) is produced that is infiltrated with the investment material [Figs. 1A; 2B, 3, 4A-4B, 5-7; Col. 11, lines 46-58; Col. 10, lines 65-67]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify HAYMANN and SADOUN, by having a first portion produced that is infiltrated with the investment material and another portion infiltrated with the investment material, as suggested by HOWE, in order for the appearance of natural teeth to best be replicated [Col. 11, lines 30-38].
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haymann et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2005/0008887), hereinafter HAYMANN, and SADOUN (U.S. PGPUB 2011/0229858), hereinafter SADOUN, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Blair (U.S. 4,705,476), hereinafter BLAIR.
Regarding claim 10, HAYMANN and SADOUN teach all of the claimed limitations as stated above, but are silent as to: wherein the investment material is removed by heating the dental restoration. In the same field of endeavor, dental restorations, BLAIR teaches the investment material is removed by heating the dental restorations [Col. 5, lines 5-10]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify HAYMANN and SADOUN, by removing the investment material by heating, as suggested by BLAIR, in order to make the dental restoration removable after its finished [Col. 4, lines 60-68 – Col. 5, lines 10].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1748
/Abbas Rashid/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1748