DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-15 are pending. Claims 1, 6, and 9-12 are currently amended. The 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections of claims 1-10 are withdrawn. Claims 1-15 are rejected under new grounds. A response to applicant’s remarks filed 25 June 2026 can be found at the end of this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the indefinite pronoun “its”. It is unclear which particular previously recited structure the pronoun “its” is referring to, e.g. is the pronoun referring to the recited structure of the second arm, the second propulsion pod, the fourth rail etc.
Claim 11 recites the indefinite pronoun “its”. It is unclear which particular previously recited structure the pronoun “its” is referring to, e.g. is the pronoun referring to the recited structure of the first arm, the propulsion pod, the rails, etc. Claims 12-15 are rejected as being dependent on, and failing to cure the deficiencies of rejected independent claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schwarzler (US 3851594 A) in view of Clark (US 20150083018 A1) and Heidelberg (US 4217829 A).
In regards to claim 1, Schwarzler teaches a magnetic levitation transport system comprising:
A. a guideway (13, 14, 25) (Fig. 1) having at least a first rail (10) (Fig. 1) extending therealong and defining at least in part a first path (as seen in Fig. 5), the first rail (10) having
B. a vehicle (1) (Fig. 1) disposed on the guideway (13, 14, 25),
C. at least a first propulsion pod (2) extending from a base (as seen in Fig. 1) of the vehicle (1) toward to the guideway (13, 14, 25), the first propulsion pod (2) being T-shaped and having at least a first arm that (i) extends laterally from a stem (as seen in Fig. 1) of that T-shaped propulsion pod (2), and (ii) has disposed thereon a permanent magnet and a control coil (4),
D. where the permanent magnet and control coil (4) of the first arm of the first propulsion pod (2) are disposed (i) adjacent to (as seen in Fig. 1) the first rail (10) and the
While Schwarzler teaches windings (29) on the rail (10), Schwarzler does not teach said windings on the rail being propulsion windings.
Clark teaches the rail having (para. [0053]) propulsion windings (26) (Fig. 3C).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the rail and windings of Schwarzler to include a propulsion windings as taught by Clark with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of improving and controlling the propulsive forces exerted on the vehicle (para. [0080]).
Schwarzler does not teach utilizing a permanent magnet.
Heidelberg teaches utilizing a permanent magnet (col. 3, lines 62-68).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the propulsion pod of Schwarzler to include a permanent magnet as taught by Heidelberg with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of increasing magnetic forces to reduce the burden of suspension on the control coils and thus reducing the cost of operation (col. 3, lines 62-68).
In regards to claim 2, the combination of Schwarzler as modified by Clark and Heidelberg above teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the first propulsion pod (2) (Schwarzler, Fig. 1) wraps around (Schwarzler, as seen in Fig. 1, the propulsion pods are disposed in a similar configuration as depicted in Fig. 3A of the instant application) a lateral end of any of an inboard portion and an outboard portion of the guideway (13, 14, 25) (Schwarzler, Fig. 1) on which the first rail (10) (Schwarzler, Fig. 1) is disposed.
In regards to claim 3, the combination of Schwarzler as modified by Clark and Heidelberg above teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the gap is an air gap (Schwarzler, col. 9, lines 58-61).
In regards to claim 4, the combination of Schwarzler as modified by Clark and Heidelberg above teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the vehicle (1) (Schwarzler, Fig. 1) is disposed above the guideway (13, 14, 25) (Schwarzler, Fig. 1) and is suspended through attraction (Schwarzler, col. 9, lines 58-61) of the permanent magnet (Heidelberg, col. 3, lines 62-68) of the first arm of the first propulsion pod (2) (Schwarzler, Fig. 1) with the first rail (10) (Schwarzler, Fig. 1).
In regards to claim 5, the combination of Schwarzler as modified by Clark and Heidelberg above teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the permanent magnet (Heidelberg, col. 3, lines 62-68) of the first arm of the first propulsion pod 2) (Schwarzler, Fig. 1) guides (Schwarzler, col. 1, lines 32-38) the vehicle (1) along the guideway (13, 14, 25) (Schwarzler, Fig. 1).
In regards to claim 6 the combination of Schwarzler as modified by Clark and Heidelberg above teaches the system of claim 1, wherein
A. the guideway (13, 14, 25) (Schwarzler, Fig. 1) comprises a second rail (11) (Schwarzler, Fig. 1) extending therealong defining at least in part a second path that diverges from the first path (Schwarzler, as seen in Fig. 5), the second rail (11) (Schwarzler, Fig. 1) having propulsion (26) (Clark, Fig. 3C) windings (29) (Schwarzler, Fig. 8) extending therealong,
B. a second propulsion pod (3) (Schwarzler, Fig. 1) extending from the base of the vehicle (1) (Schwarzler, Fig. 1) toward to the guideway (13, 14, 25) (Schwarzler, Fig. 1), the second propulsion pod (3) being T-shaped (as seen in Fig. 1) and having at least a first arm that (i) extends from a stem (as seen in Fig. 1) of that T-shaped propulsion pod (3), and (ii) has disposed thereon a permanent magnet (Heidelberg, col. 3, lines 62-68) of the first arm of the second propulsion pod (3) and a control coil (5) of the first arm of the second propulsion pod (3),
C. where the permanent magnet (Heidelberg, col. 3, lines 62-68) and control coil (5) of the first arm of the second propulsion pod (3) are disposed (i) adjacent to (Schwarzler, as seen in Fig. 1) the second rail (11) and the propulsion (26) (Clark, Fig. 3C) windings (29) thereof, (ii) separated from (Schwarzler, as seen in Fig. 1) the second rail (11) and the propulsion (26) (Clark, Fig. 3C) windings (29) thereof by a gap (Schwarzler, col. 7, lines 61-63) sized to permit the permanent magnet (Heidelberg, col. 3, lines 62-68) and control coils (5) of the first arm of the second propulsion pod (3) to exert electromagnetic force (Schwarzler, col. 7, lines 61-63) on the second rail (11) and the propulsion (26) (Clark, Fig. 3C) windings (29) thereof, and vice versa,
D. the vehicle (1) is suspended through attraction (Schwarzler, col. 9, lines 58-61) of the permanent magnet (Heidelberg, col. 3, lines 62-68) of the first arms of the first (2) and second (3) propulsion pods with the first (10) and second rails (11), respectively,
E. the permanent magnets (Heidelberg, col. 3, lines 62-68) of the first arms of the first (2) and second (3) propulsion pods guide (Schwarzler, col. 1, lines 32-38) the vehicle (1) along the guideway (13, 14, 25), and
F. the second propulsion pod (3) wraps around (Schwarzler, as seen in Fig. 1, the propulsion pods are disposed in a similar configuration as depicted in Fig. 3A of the instant application) a lateral end of any of an inboard portion and an outboard portion of the guideway (13, 14, 25) on which the second rail (11) is disposed.
In regards to claim 7, the combination of Schwarzler as modified by Clark and Heidelberg above teaches the system of claim 6, wherein
A. the second path diverges from the first path at a switching point (E) (Schwarzler, Fig. 5) of the guideway (13, 14, 25), the first rail (10) and second rail (11) defining a left branch and right branch (as seen in Fig. 5), respectively, of the guideway (13, 14, 25) after the switching point (E), and
B. switching of the vehicle (1) as between the first path and the second path is effected by activation and deactivation (Schwarzler, col. 1, lines 32-38) of the control coils (4, 5) on the propulsion pods (2, 3) of the vehicle (1).
In regards to claim 8, the combination of Schwarzler as modified by Clark and Heidelberg above teaches the system of claim 7, wherein the second rail (11) parallels (Schwarzler, as seen in Fig. 5) the first rail (10) in a region of the guideway (13, 14, 25) prior to the switching point (E).
In regards to claim 9, the combination of Schwarzler as modified by Clark and Heidelberg above teaches the system of claim 7, wherein
A. the guideway (13, 14, 25) comprises a third rail (11’) extending therealong paralleling the first rail (10) and also defining at least in part the first path (Schwarzler, as seen in Fig. 5), the third rail having propulsion (26) (Clark, Fig. 3C) windings (29) (Schwarzler, Fig. 8) extending therealong,
B. the first propulsion pod (2) having at least a second arm (Schwarzler, as seen in Fig. 1) that (i) extends from a stem of that T-shaped propulsion pod (2), and (ii) has disposed thereon a permanent magnet (Heidelberg, col. 3, lines 62-68) and a control coil (4) (Schwarzler, Fig. 4),
C. where the permanent magnet (Heidelberg, col. 3, lines 62-68) and control coil (4) (Schwarzler, Fig. 4) of the second arm of the first propulsion pod are disposed (i) adjacent to (Schwarzler, as seen in Fig. 1) the third rail (11’) and the propulsion (26) (Clark, Fig. 3C) windings (29) thereof, (ii) separated from (Schwarzler, as seen in Fig. 1) the third rail (11’) and the propulsion (26) (Clark, Fig. 3C) windings (29) thereof by a gap (Schwarzler, col. 7, lines 61-63) sized to permit the permanent magnet (Heidelberg, col. 3, lines 62-68) and control coils (4) of the second arm of the first propulsion pod (2) to exert electromagnetic force (Schwarzler, col. 7, lines 61-63) on the third rail (11’) and the propulsion (26) (Clark, Fig. 3C) windings (29) thereof, and vice versa,
D. the vehicle (1) is suspended through attraction (Schwarzler, col. 9, lines 58-61) of the permanent magnets (Heidelberg, col. 3, lines 62-68) of the arms of the first (2) and second (3) propulsion pods with at least two of the first (10), second (11) and third rails (11’), and
E. the permanent magnet (Heidelberg, col. 3, lines 62-68) of the second arm of the first propulsion pod (2) guides (Schwarzler, col. 1, lines 32-38) the vehicle (1) along the first path of the guideway (13, 14, 25).
In regards to claim 10, the combination of Schwarzler as modified by Clark and Heidelberg above teaches the system of claim 9, wherein
A. the guideway (13, 14, 25) (Schwarzler, Fig. 1) comprises a fourth rail (10’) extending therealong paralleling (as seen in Fig. 5) the second rail (11) and also defining at least in part the second path (as seen in Fig. 5), the fourth rail (10’) having propulsion (26) (Clark, Fig. 3C) windings (29) (Fig. 8) extending therealong,
B. the second propulsion pod (3) having at least a second arm that (i) extends from a stem (as seen in Fig. 1) of that T-shaped propulsion pod (3), and (ii) has disposed thereon a permanent magnet (Heidelberg, col. 3, lines 62-68) and a control coil (5),
C. where the permanent magnet (Heidelberg, col. 3, lines 62-68) and control coil (5) of the second arm of the second propulsion pod (3) are disposed (i) adjacent to (Schwarzler, as seen in Fig. 1) the fourth rail (10’) and the propulsion (26) (Clark, Fig. 3C) windings (29) thereof, (ii) separated from (Schwarzler, as seen in Fig. 1) the fourth rail (10’) and the propulsion (26) (Clark, Fig. 3C) windings (29) thereof by a gap (Schwarzler, col. 7, lines 61-63) sized to permit the permanent magnet (Heidelberg, col. 3, lines 62-68) and control coils (5) of the second arm of the second propulsion pod (3) to exert electromagnetic force (Schwarzler, col. 7, lines 61-63) on the fourth rail (10’) and its propulsion (26) (Clark, Fig. 3C) windings (29), and vice versa,
D. the vehicle (1) is suspended through attraction (Schwarzler, col. 9, lines 58-61) of the permanent magnets (Heidelberg, col. 3, lines 62-68) of the arms of the first (2) and second (3) propulsion pods with at least two of the first (10), second (11), third (11’) and fourth (10’) rails, and
E. the permanent magnet (Heidelberg, col. 3, lines 62-68) of the second arm of the second propulsion pod (3) guide (Schwarzler, col. 1, lines 32-38) the vehicle (1) along the second path of the guideway (13, 14, 25).
In regards to claim 11, Schwarzler teaches a magnetic levitation transport system comprising:
A. a guideway (13, 14, 25) (Fig. 1) having a first rail (10) (Fig. 1), a second rail (11), a third rail (11’) (Fig. 5), and a fourth rail (10’), each extending along the guideway (13, 14, 25) and each
B. the guideway having a cross-section of any of an open polygon and a letter T (as seen in Fig. 1), the first (10) and second (11) rails being disposed at or near termini (as seen in Fig. 1) of the guideway (13, 14, 25) in lateral cross-section,
C. the guideway (13, 14, 25) cross-section including near the switching point a medial structure (25-27) that has arms that extend from a central support (as seen in Fig. 1), the third (11’) and fourth (10’) rails being disposed at or near (as seen in Fig. 5) termini of that medial structure (25-27) in lateral cross-section,
D. a vehicle (1) (Fig. 1) that that travels over (as seen in Fig. 1), under or beside the guideway (13, 14, 25),
E. first (2) and second (3) propulsion pods extending from (as seen in Fig. 1) the vehicle (1) toward to the guideway, each of the first (2) and second (3) propulsion pods being T-shaped (as seen in Fig. 1) and having first and second arms that (i) extend laterally (as seen in Fig. 1) from a stem of that respective T-shaped propulsion pod (2, 3), and (ii) each have disposed thereon a permanent magnet and a control coil (4, 5) (Fig. 1),
F. in a region of the guideway (13, 14, 25) remote from the switching point (E), (i) the permanent magnet and control coil (4) of the first arm of the first propulsion pod (2) is disposed adjacent to the first rail (10) and its
G. in a region of the guideway (13, 14, 25) near from the switching point (E), (i) the permanent magnet and control coil (4) of the first arm of the first propulsion pod (2) is disposed (as seen in Fig. 1) adjacent to the first rail (10) and its
H. the permanent magnet and control coil (4, 5) of each of the first arm and the second arm is separated from the respective rail (10, 11, 11’, 10’) and the
While Schwarzler teaches windings (29) on the rail (10), Schwarzler does not teach said windings on the rail being propulsion windings.
Clark teaches the rail having (para. [0053]) propulsion windings (26) (Fig. 3C).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the rail and windings of Schwarzler to include a propulsion windings as taught by Clark with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of improving and controlling the propulsive forces exerted on the vehicle (para. [0080]).
Schwarzler does not teach utilizing a permanent magnet.
Heidelberg teaches utilizing a permanent magnet (col. 3, lines 62-68).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the propulsion pod of Schwarzler to include a permanent magnet as taught by Heidelberg with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of increasing magnetic forces to reduce the burden of suspension on the control coils and thus reducing the cost of operation (col. 3, lines 62-68).
In regards to claim 12, the combination of Schwarzler as modified by Clark and Heidelberg above teaches the system of claim 11, wherein each of the first and second propulsion pods (2, 3) (Schwarzler, Fig. 1) wrap around (Schwarzler, as seen in Fig. 1, the propulsion pods are disposed in a similar configuration as depicted in Fig. 3A of the instant application) respective lateral ends of any of an inboard portion and an outboard portion of the guideway (13, 14, 25) on which the rails (10, 11, 11’, 10’) disposed adjacent (as seen in Fig. 1) to magnets (Heidelberg, col. 3, lines 62-68) and control coils (4, 5) of those pods are disposed.
In regards to claim 13, the combination of Schwarzler as modified by Clark and Heidelberg above teaches the system of claim 11, wherein switching of the vehicle (1) as between the first path and the second path is effected by activation and deactivation (Schwarzler, col. 1, lines 32-38) of the control coils (4, 5) on the propulsion pods (2, 3) of the vehicle (1).
In regards to claim 14, the combination of Schwarzler as modified by Clark and Heidelberg above teaches the system of claim 11, wherein the vehicle (1) is disposed above the guideway (13, 14, 25) (as seen in Fig. 1) and is (Schwarzler, col. 9, lines 58-61) of the permanent magnets (Heidelberg, col. 3, lines 62-68) and the rails (10, 11, 11’, 10’) adjacent to which they are disposed.
In regards to claim 15, the combination of Schwarzler as modified by Clark and Heidelberg above teaches the system of claim 11, wherein the permanent magnets (Heidelberg, col. 3, lines 62-68) guide (Schwarzler, col. 1, lines 32-38) the vehicle (1) along the guideway (13, 14, 25).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 25 June 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. However, after the Applicant-Initiated Interview conducted on 03 August 2026, Examiner’s found the Applicant’s arguments in regards to the Propulsion Windings in the Guideway persuasive. Thus, Claims 1-15 are rejected under new grounds as seen above under the combination of Schwarzler as modified by Clark and Heidelberg.
Applicant argues in the Remarks filed 25 June 2026 that Schwarzler's electromagnets do not suggest control coils, but even if they did, that it would destroy the intended purpose of the control coil/electromagnet to include swapping the device for a permanent magnet.
Examiner respectfully disagrees, the Non-Final Office Action dated 25 February 2026 recited that it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the permanent magnets of Heidelberg. The rejection does not state that it would substitute any individual control coil. Furthermore, the current state of the rejection above clearly states the Permanent Magnet in addition to the Control Coils rather than in substitution.
Conclusion
/JAMES WILLIAM JONES/ Examiner, Art Unit 3615
/S. Joseph Morano/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3615