DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McClellan et al. (Pub # US 2008/0319602 A1), and further in view of Hart (US Patent 8,463,488 B1).
Consider claim 1, McClellan et al. teaches a method performed by a processor of a transport, the method comprising: limiting, operational characteristic of the transport based on an operating parameter indicating an unsafe operation of the transport [0040].
McClellan et al. does not teach changing the operating parameter is changed to a previous operating parameter in response to the transport complying with the operating parameter for a period of time.
In the same filed of endeavor, Hart teaches changing the operating parameter is changed to a previous operating parameter in response to the transport complying with the operating parameter for a period of time (Column 7 lines 34-52) for the benefit of reducing the operation risk.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include changing the operating parameter is changed to a previous operating parameter in response to the transport complying with the operating parameter for a period of time as shown in Hart, in McClellan et al. method for the benefit of reducing the operation risk.
Consider claim 2, McClellan et al. clearly shows and disclose the method, wherein the operating parameter comprises one or more of: information identifying a type of unsafe operation, or information identifying a level of unsafe operation [0047].
Consider claim 3, McClellan et al. teaches the similar invention.
McClellan et al. does not teach wherein the previous operating parameter is relaxed in comparison to the operating parameter.
In the same field of endeavor, Hart teaches wherein the previous operating parameter is relaxed in comparison to the operating parameter (Column 4 lines 40-52) for the benefit of replace previous vehicle operation parameter with new operating parameter when unsafe operation is detected.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the previous operating parameter is relaxed in comparison to the operating parameter as shown in Hart, in McClellan et al. method for the benefit of replace previous vehicle operation parameter with new operating parameter when unsafe operation is detected.
Consider claim 4, McClellan et al. clearly shows and disclose the method, wherein the limiting of the operational characteristic comprises: limiting the operational characteristic by an amount based on the one or more of the types of unsafe operation or the level of unsafe operation [0036-0037].
Consider claim 5, McClellan et al. clearly shows and disclose the method, wherein the operating parameter comprises: information specifying how to correct the unsafe operation [0040].
Consider claim 6, McClellan et al. clearly shows and disclose the method, wherein the operating parameter one or more of: data identifying an issue with the transport, data identifying erratic (aggressive) driving associated with the transport, or data identifying a weather condition associated with the transport [0023-0024].
Consider claim 7, McClellan et al. clearly shows and disclose the method, wherein the operating parameter comprises: identifying a condition of a road associated with the transport [0051].
Consider claim 8, McClellan et al. teaches a transport, comprising: a processor that executes one or more instructions in a memory to configure the processor to: limit an operational characteristic of the transport based on an operating parameter indicating an unsafe operation of the transport [0040].
McClellan et al. does not teach changing the operating parameter is changed to a previous operating parameter in response to the transport complying with the operating parameter for a period of time.
In the same filed of endeavor, Hart teaches changing the operating parameter is changed to a previous operating parameter in response to the transport complying with the operating parameter for a period of time (Column 7 lines 34-52) for the benefit of reducing the operation risk.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include changing the operating parameter is changed to a previous operating parameter in response to the transport complying with the operating parameter for a period of time as shown in Hart, in McClellan et al. device for the benefit of reducing the operation risk.
Consider claim 9, McClellan et al. clearly shows and disclose the transport, wherein the operating parameter comprises one or more of: information identifying a type of unsafe operation, or information identifying a level of unsafe operation [0047].
Consider claim 10, McClellan et al. teaches the similar invention.
McClellan et al. does not teach wherein the previous operating parameter is relaxed in comparison to the operating parameter.
In the same field of endeavor, Hart teaches wherein the previous operating parameter is relaxed in comparison to the operating parameter (Column 4 lines 40-52) for the benefit of replace previous vehicle operation parameter with new operating parameter when unsafe operation is detected.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the previous operating parameter is relaxed in comparison to the operating parameter as shown in Hart, in McClellan et al. device for the benefit of replace previous vehicle operation parameter with new operating parameter when unsafe operation is detected.
Consider claim 11, McClellan et al. clearly shows and disclose the transport, wherein the limiting of the operational characteristic comprises: limiting the operational characteristic by an amount based on the one or more of the types of unsafe operation or the level of unsafe operation [0036-0037].
Consider claim 12, McClellan et al. clearly shows and disclose the transport, wherein the operating parameter comprises: information specifying how to correct the unsafe operation [0040].
Consider claim 13, McClellan et al. clearly shows and disclose the transport, wherein the operating parameter one or more of: data identifying an issue with the transport, data identifying erratic (aggressive) driving associated with the transport, or data identifying a weather condition associated with the transport [0023-0024].
Consider claim 15, McClellan et al. teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising one or more instructions that, when executed by a processor of a transport, cause the processor to perform: limiting, an operational characteristic of the transport based on an operating parameter indicating an unsafe operation of the transport [0040].
McCellan et al. does not teach changing wherein the operating parameter to a previous operating parameter in response to an-operation-of the transport complying with the operating parameter for a period of time.
In the same filed of endeavor, Hart teaches changing wherein the operating parameter to a previous operating parameter in response to an-operation-of the transport complying with the operating parameter for a period of time (Column 7 lines 34-52) for the benefit of reducing the operation risk.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include changing wherein the operating parameter to a previous operating parameter in response to an-operation-of the transport complying with the operating parameter for a period of time as shown in Hart, in McClellan et al. device for the benefit of reducing the operation risk.
Consider claim 16, McClellan et al. clearly shows and disclose the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, wherein the operating parameter comprises one or more of: information identifying a type of unsafe operation, or information identifying a level of unsafe operation [0047].
Consider claim 17, McClellan et al. teaches similar invention.
McClellan et al. does not teach the non-transitory computer-readable medium, wherein the previous operating parameter is relaxed in comparison to the operating parameter.
McClellan et al. does not teach wherein the previous operating parameter is relaxed in comparison to the operating parameter.
In the same field of endeavor, Hart wherein the previous operating parameter is relaxed in comparison to the operating parameter (Column 4 lines 40-52) for the benefit of replace previous vehicle operation parameter with new operating parameter when unsafe operation is detected.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the previous operating parameter is relaxed in comparison to the operating parameter as shown in Hart, in McClellan et al. device for the benefit of replace previous vehicle operation parameter with new operating parameter when unsafe operation is detected.
Consider claim 18, McClellan et al. clearly shows and disclose the non-transitory computer-readable medium, wherein the limiting of the operational characteristic comprises: limiting the operational characteristic by an amount based on the one or more of the identified-type of unsafe operation or the level of unsafe operation [0036-0037].
Consider claim 19, McClellan et al. clearly shows and disclose the non-transitory computer-readable medium, wherein the operating parameter comprises: one or more of: data identifying an issue with the transport, data identifying erratic (aggressive) driving associated with the transport, or data identifying a weather condition associated with the transport [.0023-0024].
Consider claim 20, McClellan et al. clearly shows and disclose the non-transitory computer-readable medium, wherein the operating parameter comprises: data identifying a condition of a road associated with the transport [0051].
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McClellan et al. (Pub # US 2008/0319602 A1) in view of Hart (US Patent 8,463,488 B1) as applied to claim 8, and further in view of Georgis et al. (Pub # US 2010/0004838 A1).
Consider claim 14, McClellan et al. teaches the similar invention.
McClellan et al. and Hart combined reference does not teach wherein the operating parameter comprises: identifying a weather condition associated with the transport.
In the same field of endeavor, Georgis et al. teaches wherein the operating parameter comprises: identifying a weather condition associated with the transport [0018] for the benefit of provides warning to the operator.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the operating parameter comprises: identifying a weather condition associated with the transport as shown in Geoegis, et al., in McClellan et al. and Hart combined device for the benefit of provides warning to the operator.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JACK K WANG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2686