DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sekiguchi et al. (Influence of Si on the particle growth of AlN ceramics; Applied Physics Express 7, 115503; 2014).
Regarding claim 1, Sekiguchi et al. teaches AlN particle growth with Si doping and investigated the influence of Si-doping on the growth and luminescence of the AlN particles which meets the limitation of silicon-containing aluminum nitride particles (page 11503-1, paragraph 1). Sekiguchi et al. teaches AlN (Tokuyama Type E, particle size of 0.96–1.07µm) and α-Si3N4 (Ube Industries SN-E10, particle size of 0.5µm) were used as starting materials which meets the limitation providing a raw material mixture comprising aluminum nitride and silicon nitride (page 11503-1, paragraph 2). Sekiguchi et al. teaches Si concentrations of 2.4-4.0% which is encompassed by wherein an amount of the silicon nitride is in a range of 2% by mass or more and 10% by mass or less based on a total amount of the aluminum nitride and the silicon nitride in the raw material mixture as 100% by mass (page 11503-2, Fig. 2). Sekiguchi et al. teaches the raw powders were packed into boron nitride (BN) crucibles and then fired in a gas-pressure sintering furnace (Fujidempa Kogyo FVPHR-R-10, FRET-40) with a graphite heater at 1950°C for 2, 4, and 8h under a nitrogen gas pressure of 0.92MPa which meets the limitation subjecting the raw material mixture to a heat treatment at a pressure of 0.101 MPa or more and a temperature in a range of 1,700°C or more and 2,100°C or less (page 11503-1, paragraph 2).
Regarding claim 2, Sekiguchi et al. teaches graphite heater at 1950°C for 2, 4, and 8h under a nitrogen gas pressure of 0.92MPa which meets the limitation wherein the heat treatment is subject in a nitrogen atmosphere (page 11503-1, paragraph 2).
Regarding claim 3, Sekiguchi et al. teaches for 2, 4, and 8h which meets the limitation of wherein the retention time of the raw material mixture at the temperature of the heat treatment is in a range of 1 hour or more and 10 hours or less (page 11503-1, paragraph 2).
Regarding claim 4, Sekiguchi et al. teaches nitrogen gas pressure of 0.92MPa which meets the limitation of comprising subjecting the raw material mixture to a heat treatment at a pressure in a range of more than 0.101 MPa and 1MPa or less (page 11503-1, paragraph 2).
Regarding claim 5, Sekiguchi et al. teaches Si concentrations of 4.0% which meets the limitation of wherein an amount of the silicon nitride is in a range of 4% by mass or more and 8% by mass or less based on a total amount of the aluminum nitride and the silicon nitride in the raw material mixture as 100% by mass (page 11503-2, Fig. 2).
Conclusion
/GUINEVER S GREGORIO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1732 03/03/2026