DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, with reference to Claim 17, the “horn-shaped enclosures” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term or phrase “special-shaped holes” in claim 16 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term or phrase “special-shaped holes” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. In the interest of advancing prosecution and for purposes of this Office Action the term or phrase “special-shaped holes” is interpreted as a hole comprising any shape.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 7, 11 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 212252810 U (hereinafter “LI”) in view of US 2003/0156828 A1 (hereinafter “JAMIESON”).
Regarding Claim 1, LI discloses a detachable electric fireplace (10), comprising: a base (900, 100, 105, 106, 400), at least one artificial firewood assembly (200/300) detachably disposed on a top of the base (see Figs. 1 & 4), at least one light source assembly (101/102, 103/104) detachably disposed on the base, and a flame simulation assembly (see at least 500/600) disposed inside the base; wherein the at least one artificial firewood assembly comprises a firewood support (200) and an artificial firewood (300); the firewood support (200) is detachably disposed on the base (see the provided English translation: “wherein the simulation ash carbon 200 is mounted on the fixing plate 100”); a light-transmitting hole is defined on the firewood support (see the provided English translation: “the front end of the simulation grey carbon 200 and the rear end is provided with a light transmission port (not shown); the light projected to the simulation grey carbon 200 can be projected to the simulation diesel 300 through the light transmission port”); the artificial firewood (300) is disposed on the firewood support (200) and is disposed above the light-transmitting hole (see again the provided English translation: “the front end of the simulation grey carbon 200 and the rear end is provided with a light transmission port (not shown); the light projected to the simulation grey carbon 200 can be projected to the simulation diesel 300 through the light transmission port”); the artificial firewood is a light-transmitting hollow structure (see the provided English translation: “simulation ash carbon 200 and simulation wood 300 can be made of transparent wood or transparent resin material”); the at least one light source assembly (101/102, 103/104) is disposed below the light-transmitting hole (see again the provided English translation: “the front end of the simulation grey carbon 200 and the rear end is provided with a light transmission port (not shown); the light projected to the simulation grey carbon 200 can be projected to the simulation diesel 300 through the light transmission port”); light emitted by the at least one light source assembly penetrates through the light-transmitting hole to light up the artificial firewood (see again the provided English translation: “the front end of the simulation grey carbon 200 and the rear end is provided with a light transmission port (not shown); the light projected to the simulation grey carbon 200 can be projected to the simulation diesel 300 through the light transmission port”).
LI discloses that the artificial firewood (300) is installed on the firewood support (see the provided English translation: “the simulation firewood 300 is installed on the simulation grey carbon 200”) however, it is unclear whether the artificial firewood is detachably disposed on the firewood support.
JAMIESON teaches an electric fireplace comprising artificial firewood (50) is detachably disposed on a firewood support (52).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify LI wherein the artificial firewood is detachably disposed on the firewood support as taught and/or suggested by JAMIESON, since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961). Furthermore, such a modification would provide a means to vary the aesthetic properties of said electric fireplace by allowing replacement said artificial firewood with different versions of artificial firewood. Other benefits of such a modification would be facilitating repair or maintenance of said artificial firewood due to the easier manipulation provided by a detachable element.
Regarding Claim 2, LI further discloses wherein the base comprises a base main body (see 900, 100, 105, 106, 400) and a cover plate (530/630); an opening is defined on a top of the base main body (see 900, 100, 105, 106, 400); the base main body (see 900, 100, 105, 106, 400) is hollow; the cover plate (530/630) covers on the top of the base main body; the flame simulation assembly (see at least 500/600) is disposed inside the base main body; wherein the cover plate comprises a mounting portion (530) and a rear cover portion (630) connected to the mounting portion; the at least one artificial firewood assembly (200/300) is detachably disposed on the mounting portion (best seen in Fig. 4; see also the provided English translation: “wherein the simulation ash carbon 200 is mounted on the fixing plate 100”); the at least one artificial firewood assembly comprises the firewood support (200) detachably disposed on the mounting portion (see again Fig. 4; see also the provided English translation: “wherein the simulation ash carbon 200 is mounted on the fixing plate 100”) and the artificial firewood (300) detachably disposed on the firewood support (as taught by JAMIESON, discussed above with regard to Claim 1); the at least one light source assembly is detachably disposed on the mounting portion (see the provided English translation: “the front control plate 101 is provided with a front lamp light source 102” and “the front control plate 101 is mounted on the front light blocking member 530”).
Regarding Claim 7, LI further discloses wherein the flame simulation assembly comprises a heating mechanism (see the provided English translation: “the electric heating device 900 comprises a fan assembly, a heating assembly and a control circuit part; the heating assembly can generate heat; the fan assembly is suitable for blowing the heat generated by the heating assembly to the external environment of the shell; the control circuit part is electrically connected with the fan assembly and the heating assembly.”) disposed inside the base main body and a flame light mechanism (see at least 500/600) disposed inside the base main body; an air outlet is defined on a front end of the base main body (see the front of base main body element 900); an air inlet is defined on a rear end of the base main body (see Fig. 2 which illustrates an air inlet defined on the rear end of the base main body; in the alternative, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to modify LI by providing an air inlet at a convenient location, such as on a rear end of the base main body, which can provide air to said fan assembly).
Regarding Claim 11, Li in view of JAMIESON does not disclose wherein the mounting portion and the rear cover portion are integrally formed.
Nevertheless, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to further modify Li in view of JAMIESON wherein the mounting portion and the rear cover portion are integrally formed, since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two or more pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965).
Regarding Claim 18, LI further discloses wherein the detachable electric fireplace (10) further comprises a front firewood frame (indicated in annotated Figs. 3 & 4 below) disposed on a front end of the base main body.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LI in view of JAMIESON as applied to Claim 2 above, and further in view of US 20210088221 A1 (hereinafter “CROWE”).
Regarding Claim 10, LI in view of JAMIESON does not disclose wherein a main control board is disposed inside the base main body; the main control board is electrically connected to the at least one light source assembly and the flame simulation assembly; a window is disposed on a front end of the base main body; an operation panel is embedded in the window; the operation panel is electrically connected to the main control board and controls the at least one light source assembly and the flame simulation assembly through the main control board.
CROWE teaches an electric fireplace wherein a main control board (controller 28 (with printed control board assembly (PCBA)); controller 428 can include a main PCBA 428P) is disposed inside the base main body (40, 440); the main control board is electrically connected to the at least one light source assembly and the flame simulation assembly (see para. [0064]: “Further, as shown, the controller 28 can include a control panel 328A that enables the user to control the various functions of the electric fireplace 10, e.g., the power, the heat, the light/flames, etc.”); a window (i.e., the window housing the control panel 328A) is disposed on a front end of the base main body; an operation panel (328A) is embedded in the window; the operation panel is electrically connected to the main control board and controls the at least one light source assembly and the flame simulation assembly through the main control board (see again para. [0064]: “Further, as shown, the controller 28 can include a control panel 328A that enables the user to control the various functions of the electric fireplace 10, e.g., the power, the heat, the light/flames, etc.”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify LI in view of JAMIESON wherein a main control board is disposed inside the base main body; the main control board is electrically connected to the at least one light source assembly and the flame simulation assembly; a window is disposed on a front end of the base main body; an operation panel is embedded in the window; the operation panel is electrically connected to the main control board and controls the at least one light source assembly and the flame simulation assembly through the main control board as taught and/or suggested by CROWE, since such a modification would enable the user to control the various functions of the electric fireplace, e.g., the power, the heat, the light/flames, etc. (See again CROWE, para. [0064]: “Further, as shown, the controller 28 can include a control panel 328A that enables the user to control the various functions of the electric fireplace 10, e.g., the power, the heat, the light/flames, etc.”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-6, 8-9, 12-15, 17 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 16 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure because the references are either in the same field of endeavor or are reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the applicant was concerned. Please see form PTO-892 (Notice of References Cited) attached to, or included with, this Office Action.
/JORGE A PEREIRO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799