DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-15, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US 20180166928) and Yamamoto et al. (US 20160336760).
Re claim 1, Wu et al. teaches a foreign object detection apparatus, wherein the foreign object detection apparatus, comprising:
a controller (control circuitry 46);
a first resonant network (52);
a signal coupler (78I); and
a phase difference detector (88I), wherein
the signal coupler is configured to obtain a resonance current signal corresponding to the first resonant network when the first resonant network operates normally under the action of an excitation signal (FIG. 6, 52), couple a preset carrier signal to the resonance current signal to obtain a coupled current signal (FIG. 6, 78I), and transmit the coupled current signal to the phase difference detector, wherein a frequency of the preset carrier signal is the same as a frequency of the excitation signal (FIG. 7 equation);
the phase difference detector is configured to extract a low-frequency signal component from the coupled current signal (FIG. 6, 88I and FIG. 7 term 100 and paragraph [0045]), determine a phase difference signal based on the low-frequency signal component, and transmit the phase difference signal to the controller (paragraph [0046]), wherein the low-frequency signal component is a signal component with includes a frequency less than or equal to a first preset frequency in the coupled current signal, and an amplitude of the phase difference signal correspondingly indicates a phase difference between the excitation signal and the resonance current signal; and
the controller is configured to determine, based on the amplitude of the phase difference signal, whether a foreign object exists in a detection area corresponding to the first resonant network (paragraph [0044]- [0046]). While silent to explicitly reciting that phase difference signal (preset frequency), the Examiner notes that Iout and Qout are analyzed to produce phase shift and magnitude information that provides insight into the foreign object, and in combination with foreign detection circuitry 56 with specific phase signals that are compared to determine magnetic or non-magnetic objects, etc., thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date in order to make a determination on the type and presence of a foreign object.
The teachings of Wu et al. have been discussed above but are silent to a first reversed to obtain a reverse resonance current signal with a 180 degree phase difference. However, the Examiner notes that using a reverse to compare a signal is a conventional mathematical operation and does not provide unexpected results. The Examiner also notes that merely reciting a first reverser to phase shift without providing further details as to how it is used for object detection, and thus using a first reverser is within the ordinary skill in the art for electronic processing of signals, as how it is used/ its effect is not positively recited.
Nonetheless, Yamamoto et al. teaches such limitations (col 15, lines 30+).
Prior to the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings for a known object detection method.
Re claim 2, FIG. 1 teaches measuring the current which is used as part of determining foreign object presence.
Re claim 3, as discussed above, selecting a signal via a signal selector is implicit/ obvious in order to “select” a signal to be output as part of object detecting.
Re claim 6, Wu et al. teaches a multiplier or multiplication circuit to obtain the current signal by multiplying the present carrier signal by the resonance current signal (FIG. 6 and 78I), and Wu et al. teaches sine signals as the excitation and preset carrier signal (FIG. 7 and equation 2).
Re claims 8-9, Wu et al. teaches the limitations (paragraph [0044]- [0046]) as the value of the phase shift is analyzed in order to determine if there is a foreign object present. As information on the in phase and quadrature signals are analyzed to determine presence of foreign objects, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have thresholds levels to accurately determine presence/ lack therefore of a foreign object.
Re claims 10-11, though silent to determining quotients of the signals, the Examiner notes that determining quotients and comparing them to thresholds is obvious to open of ordinary skill in the art as part of mathematical measuring.
Re claim 12, the signal generated is read on by the oscillator (paragraph [0035]).
Re claim 13, a plurality of resonant coils reads on the second resonant network and switching model.
Re claim 14, the limitations have been discussed above re claim 1.
Re claim 15, the limitations have been discussed above re claim 2.
Re claim 16, the limitations have been discussed above re claim 3.
Re claim 18, the limitations have been discussed above, re claim 6.
Re claim 19, the limitations have been discussed above, re claim 9
Re claims 20-21, FIG. 1+ teaches such limitations and the limitations have been discussed above.
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al./ Yamamoto et al., as discussed above, in view of Raveh et al. (US 20160181874).
Re claim 10-11, the teachings of Wu et al./ Yamamoto et al. have been discussed above but are silent to the quotient limitations.
Raveh et al. teaches calculating a quotient as it pertains to a ratio between signals (paragraph [0167]+).
Prior to the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings for expected calculations of signals to a threshold for measurement purposes, wherein additional preset amplitudes (claim 11) and comparisons is obviated by the expected results of thresholds and comparisons for signal determination means.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5 and 17 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record fails to teach the limitations including at least the signal selector, preset carrier signal, controlling per claims 4 and 17.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed have been fully considered but they are not persuasive in light of the new art applied above. The Examiner also suggests possibly amending in line with the European Search Report to overcome the art.
Conclusion
/DANIEL I WALSH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876