DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 23, 24 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nanba et al. (WO 2019/168183). US 2020/0392266 is being used as an English equivalent to WO 2019/168183 since it is a national stage entry of the international application.
Regarding claims 1 and 3: Nanba et al. teach a coating material [0552-0553] comprising a fluororesin, an aqueous medium, [Examples] and a polymer (1) comprising a polymerized unit (1) derived from a monomer represented by the general formula (1):
[0019-0022].
Where the Rf of Nanba et al. is a difluoromethylene group (i.e., a CF2 group), and the A of Nanba et al. comprises any of the structures described in [0123], the structure of the monomer of Nanba et al. reads on the claimed structure (I). This is because in such a case, the -CZ2-O- group of Nanba et al. reads on the claimed "R," wherein "R is a linking group." -CZ2-O- is a linking group because it connects the vinyl group to the rest of the molecule. In this case, Rf similarly reads on the "CZ1Z2" linkage of the instant claim when Z¹ and Z² are both fluorine.
Nanba et al. teaches that the total solids content of the aqueous dispersion is between 1.0 and 70% by mass [0543]. Further, Nanba et al. teaches that the dispersion solids consist of both the polymer (1) and the fluoropolymer solids [0544], and that the amount of polymer (1) is between 0.0001 and 20% by mass based on the amount of
polytetrafluoroethylene [0470]. Therefore, the amount of polytetrafluoroethylene in the
composition may range from 0.83% to 69.993%, which overlaps the claimed ranges of the content of polymer (I) and the content of the fluororesin of claim 3.
The subject matter as a whole would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, since it has been held that choosing the overlapping portion, of the range taught in the prior art and the range claimed by the applicant, has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness, see In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549, In re Geisler 43 USPQ2d 1365 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (CCPA 1976) and MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claims 2 and 28: Nanba et al. teach adding surfactants to adjust the viscosity [0740, 0742, 0749]. Since the composition is the same as claimed, the claimed viscosity is obtainable. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add surfactant to obtain the desired viscosity.
Regarding claim 4: Nanba et al. teach polytetrafluoroethylene [0017, 0024, 0261, 0783; Claim 12; Examples].
Regarding claim 5: Since the composition is the same as claimed, it will possess the claimed stability retention time. The courts have stated that a chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 15 USPQ2d 1655, (Fed. Cir. 1990). See also In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430, (CCPA 1977). "Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established." Further, if it is the applicant's position that this would not be the case, evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant's position.
Regarding claim 7: Nanba et al. teach a nonionic surfactant [0218, 0238, 0725, 0774].
Regarding claim 23: Nanba et al. teach a film forming agent [0752].
Regarding claim 24: Nanba et al. teach a binder resin [0638].
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5, 7, 23, 24 and 28 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,466,905 in view of Nanba et al. (WO 2019/168183). US 2020/0392266 is being used as an English equivalent to WO 2019/168183 since it is a national stage entry of the international application.
The Patent claims the composition, but does not specify an amount for polymer (1). The composition is capable of functioning in the claimed capacity.
However, Nanba et al. teach, in an analogous composition that the amount of polymer (1) should be between 0.0001 and 20% by mass based on the amount of polytetrafluoroethylene [0470].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the amount of polymer (1) as taught by Nanba et al. as the amount of polymer (1) in the Patent claims to use an art tested amount.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/15/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant has stated that the claimed range of polymer (I) is based on the coating material composition, and has alleged that the range in Nanba et al. is different because it is based upon the fluoropolymer. This is not persuasive because the entire composition of Nanba et al. is the fluoropolymer and polymer (1). Even if one were to include the other components in the dispersion [0723, 0776; Examples], the range still overlaps the claimed range.
The applicant has alleged unexpected stability benefits. This is not persuasive because the claims are not commensurate in scope with the data provided.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/JOHN E USELDING/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763