DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Objections Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: “said second polarization-influencing laser optical unit” recited in the claim lacks antecedent basis and claim 3 should be changed to depend on claim 2 where “a second polarization-influencing laser optical unit” in initially recited. Appropriate correction is required. For purposes of examination, claim 3 is examined according to the Examiner’s suggestion above. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claims 1- 2, 6, 10-11, 14, 16-17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 a1 as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (US PG Pub 2006/0045148 A1, 09/11/23 IDS) . Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses a laser device ( a single longitudinal mode laser, FIG. 3 , [0013] ) , comprising: an optical resonator (see annotated FIG. 3 below) having two resonator mirrors (coatings applied to the left side of 120 and the right side of 130, FIG. 3, [0015] - [0016] ) including a decoupling mirror (see annotated FIG. 3 below) and an end mirror (see annotated FIG. 3 below) ; an optical active medium (120, FIG. 3, [0014]) for generating light of a first frequency (120 generates a fundamental wavelength, [0015]) ; an optical nonlinear medium (130, FIG. 3, [0014]) for converting light of the first frequency into light of another frequency (130 converts the fundamental frequency into a second harmonic wavelength) , wherein said optical active medium and said optical nonlinear medium are disposed in a beam path between said two resonator mirrors (120/130 are placed in a beam path between the coatings , FIG. 3 ) ; and a first polarization-influencing laser optical unit (125, FIG. 3, [0014]) , for polarizing the light of the first frequency reflected by said decoupling mirror in a direction toward said end mirror such that a frequency conversion of the light of the first frequency thus polarized is suppressed during a passage through said optical nonlinear medium ( it’s implicitly taught by 125/130 are combined to optically become a quarter wave plate to the fundamental wavelength, [0017] ) . Regarding claim 2, Zhang discloses a second polarization-influencing laser optical unit (140, FIG. 3, [0025]) , which polarizes the light of the first frequency propagating in a direction toward said decoupling mirror such that a frequency conversion of the light of the first frequency thus polarized is promoted during the passage through the optical nonlinear medium. Regarding claim 6, Zhang discloses said optical resonator has a linear beam path (FIG. 3) . Regarding claim 10, Zhang discloses said active optical medium is a solid crystal (“ The laser is projected onto a laser gain medium 120 composed of gain materials such as Nd:YVO.sub.4 ,” [0014]) . Regarding claim 11, Zhang discloses said optical nonlinear medium has an optical nonlinear crystal in a type I phase match configuration (“ The KTP is prepared and orientated to facilitate type-II or type I phase matching for the doubling of the fundamental frequency of radiation ,” [0008]) . Regarding claim 14, Zhang discloses a second polarization-influencing laser optical unit (140, FIG. 3, [0025]) , which polarizes the light of the first frequency propagating in a direction toward said decoupling mirror such that a frequency conversion of the light of the first frequency thus polarized is maximized during the passage through the optical nonlinear medium (it’s implicitly taught by 125/130 are combined to optically become a quarter wave plate to the fundamental wavelength, [0017]) . Regarding claim 16, Zhang discloses said solid crystal is a neodymium-doped yttrium-orthovanadate crystal (“ The laser is projected onto a laser gain medium 120 composed of gain materials such as Nd:YVO.sub.4 ,” [0014]) . Regarding claim 17, Zhang discloses said optical nonlinear crystal is a lithium triborate crystal (“ the non-linear frequency-doubling medium further includes a frequency-doubling medium composed of LBO ,” [0009]) . Regarding claim 19, Zhang discloses the frequency conversion of the light of the first frequency thus polarized is minimized during the passage through said optical nonlinear medium (it’s implicitly taught by 125/130 are combined to optically become a quarter wave plate to the fundamental wavelength, [0017]) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness . Claim s 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al . Regarding claims 3-5, Zhang has disclosed the first and second polarization-influencing laser optical units outlined in the rejection to claim 2 above and further discloses the first polarization-influencing laser optical unit is a quarter wave plate ([0017]) except said second polarization-influencing laser optical unit is selected from the group consisting of a polarization rotator, a Faraday rotator, a quartz crystal rotator, and a liquid crystal rotator . It would have been an obvious matter of design choice before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the second polarization-influencing laser optical unit of Zhang with the group consisting of a polarization rotator, a Faraday rotator, a quartz crystal rotator, and a liquid crystal rotator in order to obtain desired polarization control. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. in view of Lee et al. (US Patent 5,671,232) . Regarding claim 7, Zhang has disclosed the laser device outlined in the rejection to claim 2 above except a third polarization-influencing laser optical unit, connected downstream of said decoupling mirror and is configured to compensate for an influence of said first polarization-influencing laser optical unit on a frequency-converted light. Lee discloses a third polarization-influencing laser optical unit (22, FIG. 3, col. 4 lines 38-40) , connected downstream of said decoupling mirror (12, FIG. 3, col. 4 lines 29-31) and is configured to compensate for an influence of said first polarization-influencing laser optical unit on a frequency-converted light (333, FIG. 1, col. 5 lines 2-7) . It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the laser device of Zhang with the third polarization-influencing laser optical unit downstream of the decoupling mirror as taught by Lee in order to obtain polarized output. Claim s 9 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. in view of Ishizu et al. (US PG Pub 2005/0276300 A1) . Regarding claim 9, Zhang has disclosed the laser device outlined in the rejection to claim 1 above except a quality switch. Ishizu discloses a laser (FIG. 1, [00 53 ]) comprising a quality switch (a Q-switch 8 , FIG. 1, [00 56 ]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the laser device of Zhang with the Q-switch as taught by Wang in order to obtain desired pulsed operation of the resonator ([0016] of Wang). Regarding claim 15, Zhang, as modified, discloses said quality switch is an electro-optical quality switch, an acousto -optical quality switch or a passive quality switch (8 may be an acousto-optic Q-switch, [0058] of Ishizu ) . Claim s 12-13 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. in view of Mao (US PG Pub 2011/0122896 A1) . Regarding claim 12, Zhang has disclosed the optical nonlinear medium outlined in the rejection to claim 1 above except said optical nonlinear medium contains at least two optical nonlinear crystals connected in succession to one another. Mao discloses said optical nonlinear medium contains at least two optical nonlinear crystals (SHG(V) and THG(H), FIG. 9, [0040]) connected in succession to one another. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical nonlinear medium with contain ing at least two optical nonlinear crystals connected in succession to one another as taught by Mao in order to obtain desired harmonic output. Regarding claim 13, Zhang, as modified, discloses said at least two optical nonlinear crystals connected in succession to one another comprise a first crystal in a type I phase match configuration (SHG(V) is a type-I LBO, [0040] of Mao) and a second crystal in a type II phase match configuration (THG(H) is a type-II LBO, [0040] of Mao) . Regarding claim 18, Zhang, as modified, discloses said at least two optical nonlinear crystals connected in succession to one another are lithium triborate crystals ([0040] of Mao) . Allowable Subject Matter Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the cited prior art fails to disclose or suggest “ said first polarization-influencing laser optical unit and said third polarization-influencing laser optical unit are formed by quarter-wave plates which are structurally identical but are rotated relative to one another by 90° ” as recited in claim 8. Therefore, claim 8 is allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Any comments considered necessary by applicant must be submitted no later than the payment of the issue fee and, to avoid processing delays, should preferably accompany the issue fee. Such submissions should be clearly labeled “Comments on Statement of Reasons for Allowance.” Conclusion The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kortz et al. (US Patent 5,249,190, 09/11/23 IDS) discloses a frequency-double laser similar to the claimed invention (see FIG. 1). Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT YUANDA ZHANG whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)270-1439 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT M-F 10:30 AM - 6:30 PM . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT MINSUN HARVEY can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-1835 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /YUANDA ZHANG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2828