DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the application filed on 11 September 2023.
Claims 1-6 are currently pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
It is noted, no information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) was/were submitted to be considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in People’s Republic of China on 31 March 2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the CN202320676297.8 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
Examiner note: no 112(f) invocations have been identified by the Office.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Non-Patent Literature “HydroFlyer Tech – The HydroFlyer,” from the Wayback Machine Capture of 07 August 2022, hereafter referred to as HydroFlyer.
Regarding Claim 1, HydroFlyer discloses the following:
An electric surfboard with a handrail bracket, comprising
a board body (body as shown in the picture on page 4),
a bracket (bracket shown in the pictures on page 4) being installed at the front end of the board body (body as shown in the picture on page 4),
a handrail (handlebars, as shown in the pictures on pages 2, 4) being arranged at the top of the bracket (bracket shown in the pictures on page 4) (the height of the handrail (handlebars, as shown in the pictures on pages 2, 4) can be adjusted), and
a remote control holder (as best seen on page 7; also see Bluetooth Controller section on page 14) being arranged at one side of the handrail (handlebars, as shown in the pictures on pages 2, 4).
Regarding Claim 3, HydroFlyer discloses the following:
The electric surfboard with a handrail bracket according to claim 1,
wherein the handrail (handlebars, as shown in the pictures on pages 2, 4) has a locking mechanism (see the structure between the bracket and handrail comprising a screw and nut in the bottom, as seen in the picture on page 2), and when unlocking is performed, the height of the handrail can be adjusted (via the angle of the structure between the bracket and handrail).
Regarding Claim 4, HydroFlyer discloses the following:
4. The electric surfboard with a handrail bracket according to claim 1,
wherein the board body (body as shown in the picture on page 4) and the bracket (bracket shown in the pictures on page 4) are fixed by screws and nuts (see picture on page 19 which shows the screws/nuts in in cooperation to connect the bracket to the body; note, the picture from page 19 is from 0:09 seconds into the flash video of the website) and the positions of the board body (body as shown in the picture on page 4) and the bracket (bracket shown in the pictures on page 4) can be adjusted (one of ordinary skill in the art would see that page 1 shows the bracket with the screw holes and the body with two parallel grooves with a gap for a nut head to enter the grooves, and screw would be provided on top of the bracket through the bracket bolt hole and threaded into the nut).
Regarding Claim 5, HydroFlyer discloses the following:
5. The electric surfboard with a handrail bracket according to claim 4,
wherein the board body (body as shown in the picture on page 4) is provided with two parallel grooves (see pages 1, 4), the nuts (if nuts weren't in the grooves, the screws wouldn't work) are installed in the grooves (see pages 1, 4), and the groove (see pages 1, 4) is provided with a gap (as best seen on page 1) whose width is greater than the width of the nut (if nuts weren't in the grooves, the screws wouldn't work).
Regarding Claim 6, HydroFlyer discloses the following:
The electric surfboard with a handrail bracket according to claim 5, wherein
the groove (see pages 1, 4) is provided with a cavity inside, the nut (if nuts weren't in the grooves, the screws wouldn't work) includes a shoulder (if the nut didn't provide a shoulder the assembly would not work, thus the structure must certainly be present), and the cavity can accommodate the shoulder of the nut, so that the nut can slide within the groove (see pages 1, 4) without detachment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HydroFlyer, as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Non-Patent Literature, “Amazon.com_ ROCKBROS 360° Rotatable Waterproof Phone Holder,” First Available June 14 2022, hereafter referred to as Rockbros.
Regarding Claim 2, HydroFlyer discloses the following:
The electric surfboard with a handrail bracket according to claim 1,
HydroFlyer does not explicitly disclose the following:
wherein the handrail (3) is further provided with an accommodating box (32), and the accommodating box (32) is waterproof.
However Rockbros teaches the following:
it is well known in the art to provide handlebars with waterproof boxes (see for example page 1).
HydroFlyer as modified teaches the following:
wherein the handrail (handlebars, as shown in the pictures on pages 2, 4) is further provided with an accommodating box (waterproof phone holder of Rockbros), and the accommodating box is waterproof.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the handrail as disclosed by HydroFlyer, wherein a waterproof phone holder is attached to the handrail, as taught by Rockbros, with the reasonable expectation of being able to protect a phone (see Rockbros, about this item, first bullet).
Conclusion
See form No. 892 for other references pertinent to the application that may not have been cited within the Office Action.
For references which show similar surfboard arrangements see Pages 1-2.
/BRIAN CHRISTOPHER DELRUE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745