CTFR 18/464,433 CTFR 74498 DETAILED ACTION 1. Applicant’s amendment received on May 4, 2026 has been fully considered and entered, but the arguments are not deemed to be persuasive. Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-fti AIA The present application is being examined under the pre-AIA first to invent provisions. REMARKS 2. Applicant argues that independent claim 1 recites “selecting an entropy code for decoding…” against this element, the Examiner recited paragraph 0054 of Joch. The Applicant went on to argue that “this paragraph does not teach or suggest the quoted claim element. The Applicant added that Paragraph 0054 describes sets of reference pictures, which are organized as a list. There is no description whatsoever of entropy codes or even the concept of decoding. The Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant’s argument. The prior art that the Applicant is referring to is Joch et al. (US Patent Application Publication no. 2005/0117646). Paragraph [0054] of Joch discloses “ [0054] More particularly, the functional units include a buffering unit 33 that receives the compressed bitstream 15, an entropy decoder 34 which decodes the received bit stream 15 to produce syntax elements used in subsequent processing by the other decoder 20 components, a motion compensated prediction 36 to produce the predicted frame, an inverse scanning and quantization unit 38, and inverse transform units 40 to reproduce the coded prediction error 54. A reconstruction unit 42 adds the prediction error 54 to the predicted pixels 57 to produce the reconstructed frame 55 which is stored in a temporary buffer 59. The reconstructed frame is fed to a deblocking filter 44 that smoothes the edges of sub-blocks within the reconstructed frame 55 to produce the filtered reconstructed frame 56. Each of the above mentioned components is discussed in more detail in the following.” To the Examiner, the above passage is clear evidence that Joch is relevant to the claimed limitations. The Examiner disagrees with the Applicant for the simple fact that Joch [0054] clearly discloses an entropy decoder 34. Applicant’s claim 1 calls for “ selecting an entropy code for decoding from among multiples entropy codes…”. Joch discloses entropy decoder 34 which decodes the received bit stream. Joch [0055] teaches that “The incoming video bitstream 15 is stored in a buffer 33 at the input to the decoder 20. The first stage in the decoding process includes the parsing and decoding of the entropy coded bitstream symbols that are stored in a buffer 33 to produce the syntax elements used by the other decoder 20 components.” The Applicant when on to say that the Examiner has not cited any evidence of an “indication of the entropy code” as claimed, and in fact, the Examiner has cited no evidence that a transform qualifies as a claimed entropy code. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Among other cited sections of Joch, paragraph [0055] of Joch teaches or at least suggest entropy code “[0055] The incoming video bitstream 15 is stored in a buffer 33 at the input to the decoder 20. The first stage in the decoding process includes the parsing and decoding of the entropy coded bitstream symbols that are stored in a buffer 33 to produce the syntax elements used by the other decoder 20 components.” The Examiner is pointing to Joch’s paragraph [0065] as indication or the entropy code “[0065] The values of the quantized coefficients are parsed and decoded by the entropy decoder 34 . These are put into their correct order based on the run values through the scanning process and then the levels, which represent quantized transform coefficients, are scaled via multiplication by a scaling factor. Finally, the necessary transform to reconstruct the coded residual signal for a block is performed on the scaled coefficients. The result of the transforms for each macroblock 24 is added to the predicted macroblock 24 and stored in the reconstructed frame buffer 59.” The Applicant further argued that independent claim 1 further recites “decoding a pixel residual based on the pixel predictor using the entropy code or using run mode decoding”. The Applicant went on to say that Seo’s teachings in this passage is irrelevant. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. In col. 2, starting from line 45 to line 67, Seo teaches “The reception unit receives a bitstream enclosing coefficients that result from entropy-decoding of a residual image block that selectively undergoes differential pulse coded modulation (DPCM) based on rate-distortion optimization (RDO) values and a mode flag indicating whether DPCM has been applied to the residual image block or not.” (See Seo col. 2, lines 48-54); Seo col. 2, lines 60-67 teaches “ According to another aspect of the present invention, there is provided a pixel-based video codec including a residual image generation unit, a pixel prediction unit, a pixel reconstruction unit, and a motion compensation unit. The residual image generation unit generates a prediction block corresponding to a current block to be encoded with a reference image or already decoded neighboring blocks and generates a residual image block composed of a residual signal corresponding to a difference between pixels of the prediction block and pixels of the current block. The pixel prediction unit determines whether to apply differential pulse coded modulation (DPCM) to each of pixels of the residual image block based on a rate distortion optimization (RDO) value calculated for the case where DPCM is applied to each of the pixels of the residual image block and a RDO value calculated for the case where DPCM is not applied to each of the pixels of the residual image block. The pixel reconstruction unit selectively performs inverse differential pulse coded modulation (IDPCM) on a bitstream generated by entropy-coding the residual image block in order to reconstruct the residual image block. The motion compensation unit performs motion compensation based on the residual image block to which IDPCM is selectively applied.” It is the Examiner’s belief that most of Applicant’s remarks were addressed, the rejection is being repeated in order to provide a complete response to the Applicant’s arguments. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 3. In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-fti 4. The following is a quotation of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: (a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-fti 5. Claim s 1-2, 4, 8-11, 13, and 17-20 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Joch et al. (US Patent Application Publication no. 2005/0117646) in view of Seo et al. (US Patent no. 8208545), and further in view of Yang et al. (US Patent Application Publication no. 2004/0008778) . Regarding claims 1 and 10, Joch discloses a system and method comprising: receiving reference frame data from storage (See Joch [0053] and processor 36 of Fig. 4, and paragraph [0059]); decompressing the reference frame data (See Joch [0053]-[0054]) by at least: selecting an entropy code for decoding (See Joch [0054]); computing a pixel predictor (See Joch [0058]). It is noted that Joch is silent about decoding a pixel residual based on the pixel predictor using the entropy code or using run mode decoding. However, Seo teaches decoding a pixel residual based on the pixel predictor using the entropy code or using run mode decoding (See Seo col. 2, lines 60-67, col. 3, lines 1-15). Therefore, it is considered obvious that one skilled in the art at the time of the invention, would recognize the advantage of modifying Joch to incorporate Seo’s teachings to decode a pixel residual based on the pixel predictor using the entropy code or using run mode decoding. The motivation for performing such a modification in Joch is to maximize compression efficiency while improving the compression rate. It is also noted that the although combination of Joch and Seo teaches selecting an entropy code (See Joch [0054] and [0058]), it is silent about “ from among multiple entropy codes by reading an indicator of the entropy code from the reference frame data ”. However, Yang teaches “ from among multiple entropy codes by reading an indicator of the entropy code from the reference frame data ” (See Yang [0046] “ a segmented reference frame and a new frame that is to be approximated using the segments from the reference frame and their respective motion vectors” , [0049] “ the data introduced to the decoder, including the segmentation of the reference frame, previous motion vectors, the prediction indicator , the entropy-coded top-level motion vectors, and entropy-coded lower-level residual vectors.” ). Therefore, it is considered obvious that one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize the advantage of modifying the combination of Joch and Seo to incorporate Yang’s teachings to select an entropy code for decoding from among multiple entropy codes by reading an indicator of the entropy code from the reference frame data. The motivation for performing such a modification in the combination of Joch and Seo is to provide a novel way of encoding and decoding motion vectors that saves bits by exploiting the correlations between the motions of adjacent segments as taught by Yang (See Yang [0019]). As per claims 19-20, Joch discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium having executable instructions stored thereon, configured to be executable by one or more processors for causing the one or more processors (See Joch [0053] and [0059]) to: compress first reference frame data to generate compressed reference frame data (See Joch [0018], [0036]); store the compressed reference frame data to off-chip storage (See Joch [0055]); retrieve the compressed reference frame data from the off-chip storage (See Joch [0053]-[0054]); decompress the compressed reference frame data by at least: selecting an entropy code for decoding (See Joch [0053]-[0054]); computing a pixel predictor (See Joch [0058]). It is noted that Joch is silent about decoding a pixel residual based on the pixel predictor using the entropy code or using run mode decoding. However, Seo teaches decoding a pixel residual based on the pixel predictor using the entropy code or using run mode decoding (See Seo col. 2, lines 60-67, col. 3, lines 1-15). Therefore, it is considered obvious that one skilled in the art at the time of the invention, would recognize the advantage of modifying Joch to incorporate Seo’s teachings to decode a pixel residual based on the pixel predictor using the entropy code or using run mode decoding. The motivation for performing such a modification in Joch is to maximize compression efficiency while improving the compression rate. It is also noted that the although combination of Joch and Seo teaches selecting an entropy code (See Joch [0054] and [0058]), it is silent about “ from among multiple entropy codes by reading an indicator of the entropy code from the reference frame data ”. However, Yang teaches “from among multiple entropy codes by reading an indicator of the entropy code from the reference frame data” (See Yang [0046] “a segmented reference frame and a new frame that is to be approximated using the segments from the reference frame and their respective motion vectors”, [0049] “the data introduced to the decoder, including the segmentation of the reference frame, previous motion vectors, the prediction indicator, the entropy-coded top-level motion vectors, and entropy-coded lower-level residual vectors.”). Therefore, it is considered obvious that one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize the advantage of modifying the combination of Joch and Seo to incorporate Yang’s teachings to select an entropy code for decoding from among multiple entropy codes by reading an indicator of the entropy code from the reference frame data. The motivation for performing such a modification in the combination of Joch and Seo is to provide a novel way of encoding and decoding motion vectors that saves bits by exploiting the correlations between the motions of adjacent segments as taught by Yang (See Yang [0019]). As per claims 2 and 11, the combination of Joch, Seo and Yang further teaches wherein receiving the reference frame data comprises retrieving compressed data from the storage (See Joch [0055] and [0061]). As per claims 4 and 13, the combination of Joch, Seo and Yang further teaches wherein receiving the reference frame data comprises receiving the reference frame data from off-chip memory (See Joch [0053]-[0055]). As per claims 8 and 17, the combination of Joch, Seo and Yang further teaches constructing a current pixel based on the pixel predictor and pixel residual after decoding the pixel residual using entropy code (See Seo col. 2, lines 60-67, col. 3, lines 1-15). As per claims 9 and 18, the combination of Joch, Seo and Yang further teaches generating a picture based on the decompressed reference frame data and displaying the picture (See Joch [0017] and [0046]). As per claim 21, the combination of Joch, Seo and Yang further teaches wherein the decompressing the reference frame data is performed by an encoder (See Joch [0017], [0046] and [0067]) . 07-22-fti 6. Claim s 6 and 15 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Joch et al. (US Patent Application Publication no. 2005/0117646) in view of Seo et al. (US Patent no. 8208545) and Yang et al. (US Patent Application Publication no. 2004/0008778) as applied to claim s 1 and 10 above, and further in view of Uramoto et al. (US Patent no. 5400087) . Regarding claims 6 and 15, most of the limitations of these claims have been noted in the above rejection of claims 1 and 10. It is noted that the combination of Joch, Seo and Yang is silent about computing minimum absolute difference for the current pixel, and computing the pixel predictor for the current pixel based on the minimum absolute difference. However, Uramoto teaches computing minimum absolute difference for the current pixel, and computing the pixel predictor for the current pixel based on the minimum absolute difference (See Uramoto col. 34, lines 46-68, col. 35, lines 1-5). Therefore, it is considered obvious that one skilled in the art, at the time of the invention, would recognize the advantage of modifying the combination of Joch, Seo and Yang to incorporate Uramoto’s teachings to compute minimum absolute difference for the current pixel, and computing the pixel predictor for the current pixel based on the minimum absolute difference. The motivation for performing such a modification in the proposed combination of Joch, Seo and Yang is to determine a displacement vector which corresponds to the minimum absolute value sum is determined as the motion vector . 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 7. Claim s 5, 7, 14, and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The claims are allowable over the prior art of record since the cited references taken individually or in combination fail to teach or suggest decompressing a reference frame data wherein receiving the reference frame data comprises retrieving the reference frame data from off-chip memory, wherein the reference frame data is first reference frame data, wherein receiving the first reference frame data comprises retrieving compressed reference frame data from the off-chip memory, and wherein the method further comprises, before retrieving the first reference frame data: compressing second reference frame data to generate the compressed reference frame data; and storing the compressed reference frame data to the off-chip memory. 07-39 AIA 8. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. 9. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to GIMS S PHILIPPE whose telephone number is (571)272-7336. The examiner can normally be reached Maxi Flex. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Benjamin Bruckart can be reached at 571-272-3982. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /GIMS S PHILIPPE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2424 Application/Control Number: 18/464,433 Page 2 Art Unit: 2424 Application/Control Number: 18/464,433 Page 3 Art Unit: 2424 Application/Control Number: 18/464,433 Page 4 Art Unit: 2424 Application/Control Number: 18/464,433 Page 5 Art Unit: 2424 Application/Control Number: 18/464,433 Page 6 Art Unit: 2424 Application/Control Number: 18/464,433 Page 7 Art Unit: 2424 Application/Control Number: 18/464,433 Page 8 Art Unit: 2424 Application/Control Number: 18/464,433 Page 9 Art Unit: 2424 Application/Control Number: 18/464,433 Page 10 Art Unit: 2424 Application/Control Number: 18/464,433 Page 11 Art Unit: 2424 Application/Control Number: 18/464,433 Page 12 Art Unit: 2424