DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an application filed on 03/27/2026 in which claims 1-2, 5, 7-11, 14-16 and 18-22 are pending. Claims 3-4, 6, 12-13 and 17 were cancelled.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s Arguments/Remarks filed on 03/27/2026 with respect to amended independent claims 1 and 8 have been fully considered. Based on the amendments to the claims, further consideration of the prior arts of record was performed, resulting in the ground(s) of rejection presented below. Applicant’s amendments to claims 1, 4, 11 and 13 overcome the claim objection previously set in the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 01/12/2026. The claims have not overcome the claim rejections as shown below.
Claims 1-2, 5, 7-11, 14-16 and 18-22 are pending.
Claims 3-4, 6, 12-13 and 17 were canceled.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 2, 9 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites in lines 16-17 “based on the one or more relaxed measurement parameters” and it should be “based on the ”.
Claim 2 recites in line 7 “the cell edge parameter the cell edge parameter” and it should be “the cell edge parameter ”.
Claim 9 recites in lines 5-6 “is determined based on, and” and it should be “is determined based on the low mobility parameter, and”.
Claim 20 recites in lines 4-5 “is determined based on the low mobility parameter the low mobility parameter” and it should be “is determined based on the low mobility parameter ”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5, 11, 14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2021/0105643) (provided in the IDS), hereinafter “Kim” in view of Boettger et al. (US 2023/0408626), hereinafter “Boettger”.
As to claim 1, Kim teaches a method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a communication system (Kim, Fig. 1E, [0121], a process of performing relaxed RRM measurement by a UE and a gNB), the method comprising:
receiving, from a serving cell, a system information block 2 (SIB2) including relaxed measurement parameters (Kim, Fig. 1E, [0122], “a UE 1e-05 … may receive system information including configuration parameters required for determining UE mobility and a UE location, from a gNB 1e-10, in operation 1e-15. The system information may include configuration parameters related to relaxed RRM measurement”, [0181], “SIB2 may include the above-mentioned configuration parameters for RRM measurement relaxation”);
determining, based on the relaxed measurement parameters, a mobility state of the UE being in a low mobility state and a location of the UE being not at an edge of the serving cell (Kim, Fig. 1E, [0124], “the UE 1e-05 may apply the configuration parameters provided from the gNB 1e-10 to the predefined mathematical formulas to evaluate whether the UE stops or moves at a low speed and whether the UE is located in a cell edge, in operation 1e-20”); and
deferring, based on the mobility state of the UE being in the low mobility state and the location of the UE being not at the edge of the serving cell, a search (Kim, Fig. 1E, [0146], “That any one of the first to fifth mathematical formulas applied by the UE 1e-05 is fulfilled may represent that the UE 1e-05 is in a mobility state in which the relaxed RRM measurement is applicable (that is, a stop state or a low-speed state) and the UE 1E-05 is not in a cell edge”, [0154], “The UE 1e-05 may perform intra-/inter-/inter-RAT frequency relaxed RRM measurement, and at this time, the UE 1e-05 may save consumption power by applying a long measurement period compared to general RRM measurement or reducing the number of cells or frequencies to be measured, in operation 1e-30”. The UE performs relaxed measurement by applying a long measurement period (i.e. postponing or deferring), based on the mobility state of the UE being stop or low-speed and the UE not being in the cell edge) until determining, based on the one or more relaxed measurement parameters (Kim, Fig. 1F, [0160], [0162]-[0163], the UE performs relaxed measurements (step 1f-25) until it is checked and determined in steps 1f-30 and 1f-15 that the relaxed monitoring criterion is not fulfilled (No route in step 1f-15)), at least one of the mobility state of the UE being not in the low mobility state or the location of the UE being in at the edge of the serving cell (Kim, [0146], the relaxed measurements is applicable when the UE is in a stop state or a low speed state, and when the UE is not in a cell edge. Therefore, relaxed monitoring criterion not fulfilled (No route in step 1f-15) means that the UE is not in a stop state or a low speed state, and when the UE is in a cell edge).
Kim teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Kim does not explicitly teach the following underlined features: regarding claim 1, wherein the serving cell is associated with a visited public land mobile network (PLMN) (VPLMN) in which the UE is camped;
deferring a background PLMN (BPLMN) search corresponding to a periodic background scan for at least one of a home PLMN (HPLMN) or a higher priority PLMN (HPPLMN) while the UE is camped in the VPLMN.
However, Boettger teaches wherein the serving cell is associated with a visited public land mobile network (PLMN) (VPLMN) in which the UE is camped (Boettger, [0021], “a user equipment (UE) that is connected to a VPLMN searches for and discovers an HPLMN”. Fig. 1, [0027], “While traveling, UE 110 may remain connected to base station 120 of the VPLMN and search for cells from the HPLMN”);
deferring a background PLMN (BPLMN) search corresponding to a periodic background scan for at least one of a home PLMN (HPLMN) or a higher priority PLMN (HPPLMN) while the UE is camped in the VPLMN (Boettger, [0022], “Per the 3GPP, the mechanism that allow devices to return from the VPLMN to the HPLMN is a periodic background search (or “HPLMN search”), in which UEs check for the presence of the HPLMN on an infrequent basis (e.g., every 20 minutes)”, [0026], “the UE may determine the HPLMN search periodicity based on one or more of N or T default values, which UE may modify based on factors, such as the type of HPLMN cells associated with the area, whether the UE is moving or stationary, etc.”. Fig. 13, [0086], when the device is stationary (low mobility), the setting T_large is increased to 180).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kim to have the features, as taught by Boettger in order to enable a UE to perform HPLMN searches in a manner that optimizes search frequency and battery power conservation, and in so doing, may help address significant pragmatic issues involved in bootstrapping a wireless network service (Boettger, [0026]).
As to claim 2, Kim teaches wherein the relaxed measurement parameters include a low mobility parameter and a cell edge parameter (Kim, Fig. 1E, [0122], “a UE 1e-05 … may receive system information including configuration parameters required for determining UE mobility and a UE location, from a gNB 1e-10, in operation 1e-15. The system information may include configuration parameters related to relaxed RRM measurement”, [0124], “the UE 1e-05 may apply the configuration parameters provided from the gNB 1e-10 to the predefined mathematical formulas to evaluate whether the UE stops or moves at a low speed and whether the UE is located in a cell edge, in operation 1e-20”),
wherein the UE being in the low mobility state is determined based on the low mobility parameter (Kim, Fig. 1E, [0124], “the UE 1e-05 may apply the configuration parameters provided from the gNB 1e-10 to the predefined mathematical formulas to evaluate whether the UE stops or moves at a low speed), and
wherein the UE being not at the edge of the serving cell is determined based on the cell edge parameter the cell edge parameter (Kim, Fig. 1E, [0124], “the UE 1e-05 may apply the configuration parameters provided from the gNB 1e-10 to the predefined mathematical formulas to evaluate whether the UE stops or moves at a low speed and whether the UE is located in a cell edge, in operation 1e-20”. [0140], “Thresh.sub.RelaxedP=Minimum required RX level to indicate that UE is not in cell edge (decibemilliwatts (dBm))”, [0142], “Q.sub.rxlevmeas=Measured cell RX level value (RSRP)”).
As to claim 5, Kim teaches further comprising:
determining, based on the one or more relaxed measurement parameters, the at least one of the mobility state of the UE being not in the low mobility state or the location of the UE being in at the edge of the serving cell (Kim, Fig. 1E, [0124], “the UE 1e-05 may apply the configuration parameters provided from the gNB 1e-10 to the predefined mathematical formulas to evaluate whether the UE stops or moves at a low speed and whether the UE is located in a cell edge, in operation 1e-20”); and
performing the search based on the at least one of the mobility state of the UE being not in the low mobility state or the location of the UE being in at the edge of the serving cell (Kim, [0111], high-mobility state, Fig. 2E, [0244]-[0245], the equations are evaluated to determine whether the UE is stopped/moving at low speed and the UE is in the cell edge. [0276]-[0278], equation 1 considers the UE mobility and equation 2 considers if the UE is in a cell edge. [0281], when the equations are not fulfilled (high-mobility state and in the cell edge), the UE perform normal intra-frequencies or inter-frequencies measurement (steps 2e-30 and 2e-40)).
Kim teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Kim does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 5, the BPLMN search.
However, Boettger teaches the BPLMN search (Boettger, [0022], “Per the 3GPP, the mechanism that allow devices to return from the VPLMN to the HPLMN is a periodic background search (or “HPLMN search”), in which UEs check for the presence of the HPLMN on an infrequent basis (e.g., every 20 minutes)”, [0026], “the UE may determine the HPLMN search periodicity based on one or more of N or T default values, which UE may modify based on factors, such as the type of HPLMN cells associated with the area, whether the UE is moving or stationary, etc.”. Fig. 13, [0086], when the device is stationary (low mobility), the setting T_large is increased to 180).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kim to have the features, as taught by Boettger in order to enable a UE to perform HPLMN searches in a manner that optimizes search frequency and battery power conservation, and in so doing, may help address significant pragmatic issues involved in bootstrapping a wireless network service (Boettger, [0026]).
As to claim 11, Kim teaches a user equipment (UE) (Kim, Fig. 1E, [0121], Fig. 1I, [0203], a UE) comprising:
a transceiver (Kim, Fig. 1I, [0205], the UE includes a RF processor); and
a processor operably coupled with the transceiver and configured to (Kim, Fig. 1I, [0204], [0210], the UE includes a controller connected to the RF processor to control the operations of the UE):
receive, from a serving cell, a system information block 2 (SIB2) including relaxed measurement parameters (Kim, Fig. 1E, [0122], “a UE 1e-05 … may receive system information including configuration parameters required for determining UE mobility and a UE location, from a gNB 1e-10, in operation 1e-15. The system information may include configuration parameters related to relaxed RRM measurement”, [0181], “SIB2 may include the above-mentioned configuration parameters for RRM measurement relaxation”);
determine, based on the relaxed measurement parameters, a mobility state of the UE being in a low mobility state and a location of the UE being not at an edge of the serving cell (Kim, Fig. 1E, [0124], “the UE 1e-05 may apply the configuration parameters provided from the gNB 1e-10 to the predefined mathematical formulas to evaluate whether the UE stops or moves at a low speed and whether the UE is located in a cell edge, in operation 1e-20”); and
defer, based on the mobility state of the UE being in the low mobility state and the location of the UE being not at the edge of the serving cell, a search (Kim, Fig. 1E, [0146], “That any one of the first to fifth mathematical formulas applied by the UE 1e-05 is fulfilled may represent that the UE 1e-05 is in a mobility state in which the relaxed RRM measurement is applicable (that is, a stop state or a low-speed state) and the UE 1E-05 is not in a cell edge”, [0154], “The UE 1e-05 may perform intra-/inter-/inter-RAT frequency relaxed RRM measurement, and at this time, the UE 1e-05 may save consumption power by applying a long measurement period compared to general RRM measurement or reducing the number of cells or frequencies to be measured, in operation 1e-30”. The UE performs relaxed measurement by applying a long measurement period (i.e. postponing or deferring), based on the mobility state of the UE being stop or low-speed and the UE not being in the cell edge) until determining, based on the one or more relaxed measurement parameters (Kim, Fig. 1F, [0160], [0162]-[0163], the UE performs relaxed measurements (step 1f-25) until it is checked and determined in steps 1f-30 and 1f-15 that the relaxed monitoring criterion is not fulfilled (No route in step 1f-15)), at least one of the mobility state of the UE being not in the low mobility state or the location of the UE being in at the edge of the serving cell (Kim, [0146], the relaxed measurements is applicable when the UE is in a stop state or a low speed state, and when the UE is not in a cell edge. Therefore, relaxed monitoring criterion not fulfilled (No route in step 1f-15) means that the UE is not in a stop state or a low speed state, and when the UE is in a cell edge).
Kim teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Kim does not explicitly teach the following underlined features: regarding claim 11, wherein the serving cell is associated with a visited public land mobile network (PLMN) (VPLMN) in which the UE is camped;
defer a background PLMN (BPLMN) search corresponding to a periodic background scan for at least one of a home PLMN (HPLMN) or a higher priority PLMN (HPPLMN) while the UE is camped in the VPLMN.
However, Boettger teaches wherein the serving cell is associated with a visited public land mobile network (PLMN) (VPLMN) in which the UE is camped (Boettger, [0021], “a user equipment (UE) that is connected to a VPLMN searches for and discovers an HPLMN”. Fig. 1, [0027], “While traveling, UE 110 may remain connected to base station 120 of the VPLMN and search for cells from the HPLMN”);
defer a background PLMN (BPLMN) search corresponding to a periodic background scan for at least one of a home PLMN (HPLMN) or a higher priority PLMN (HPPLMN) while the UE is camped in the VPLMN (Boettger, [0022], “Per the 3GPP, the mechanism that allow devices to return from the VPLMN to the HPLMN is a periodic background search (or “HPLMN search”), in which UEs check for the presence of the HPLMN on an infrequent basis (e.g., every 20 minutes)”, [0026], “the UE may determine the HPLMN search periodicity based on one or more of N or T default values, which UE may modify based on factors, such as the type of HPLMN cells associated with the area, whether the UE is moving or stationary, etc.”. Fig. 13, [0086], when the device is stationary (low mobility), the setting T_large is increased to 180).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kim to have the features, as taught by Boettger in order to enable a UE to perform HPLMN searches in a manner that optimizes search frequency and battery power conservation, and in so doing, may help address significant pragmatic issues involved in bootstrapping a wireless network service (Boettger, [0026]).
As to claim 14, Kim teaches wherein the processor is further configured to:
determine, based on the one or more relaxed measurement parameters, the at least one of the mobility state of the UE being not in the low mobility state or the location of the UE being in at the edge of the serving cell (Kim, Fig. 1E, [0124], “the UE 1e-05 may apply the configuration parameters provided from the gNB 1e-10 to the predefined mathematical formulas to evaluate whether the UE stops or moves at a low speed and whether the UE is located in a cell edge, in operation 1e-20”); and
perform the search based on the at least one of the mobility state of the UE being not in the low mobility state or the location of the UE being in at the edge of the serving cell (Kim, [0111], high-mobility state, Fig. 2E, [0244]-[0245], the equations are evaluated to determine whether the UE is stopped/moving at low speed and the UE is in the cell edge. [0276]-[0278], equation 1 considers the UE mobility and equation 2 considers if the UE is in a cell edge. [0281], when the equations are not fulfilled (high-mobility state and in the cell edge), the UE perform normal intra-frequencies or inter-frequencies measurement (steps 2e-30 and 2e-40)).
Kim teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Kim does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 14, the BPLMN search.
However, Boettger teaches the BPLMN search (Boettger, [0022], “Per the 3GPP, the mechanism that allow devices to return from the VPLMN to the HPLMN is a periodic background search (or “HPLMN search”), in which UEs check for the presence of the HPLMN on an infrequent basis (e.g., every 20 minutes)”, [0026], “the UE may determine the HPLMN search periodicity based on one or more of N or T default values, which UE may modify based on factors, such as the type of HPLMN cells associated with the area, whether the UE is moving or stationary, etc.”. Fig. 13, [0086], when the device is stationary (low mobility), the setting T_large is increased to 180).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kim to have the features, as taught by Boettger in order to enable a UE to perform HPLMN searches in a manner that optimizes search frequency and battery power conservation, and in so doing, may help address significant pragmatic issues involved in bootstrapping a wireless network service (Boettger, [0026]).
As to claim 16, Kim teaches wherein the relaxed measurement parameters include a low mobility parameter and a cell edge parameter (Kim, Fig. 1E, [0122], “a UE 1e-05 … may receive system information including configuration parameters required for determining UE mobility and a UE location, from a gNB 1e-10, in operation 1e-15. The system information may include configuration parameters related to relaxed RRM measurement”, [0124], “the UE 1e-05 may apply the configuration parameters provided from the gNB 1e-10 to the predefined mathematical formulas to evaluate whether the UE stops or moves at a low speed and whether the UE is located in a cell edge, in operation 1e-20”),
wherein the UE being in the low mobility state is determined based on the low mobility parameter (Kim, Fig. 1E, [0124], “the UE 1e-05 may apply the configuration parameters provided from the gNB 1e-10 to the predefined mathematical formulas to evaluate whether the UE stops or moves at a low speed), and
wherein the UE being not at the edge of the serving cell is determined based on the cell edge parameter the cell edge parameter (Kim, Fig. 1E, [0124], “the UE 1e-05 may apply the configuration parameters provided from the gNB 1e-10 to the predefined mathematical formulas to evaluate whether the UE stops or moves at a low speed and whether the UE is located in a cell edge, in operation 1e-20”. [0140], “Thresh.sub.RelaxedP=Minimum required RX level to indicate that UE is not in cell edge (decibemilliwatts (dBm))”, [0142], “Q.sub.rxlevmeas=Measured cell RX level value (RSRP)”).
Claims 7 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2021/0105643) (provided in the IDS), hereinafter “Kim” in view of Boettger et al. (US 2023/0408626), hereinafter “Boettger” and further in view of Zhu et al. (US 2023/0413152), hereinafter “Zhu”.
As to claim 7, Kim teaches further comprising:
wherein the one or more states of the UE is determined based on the relaxed measurement parameters (Kim, Fig. 1E, [0124], “the UE 1e-05 may apply the configuration parameters provided from the gNB 1e-10 to the predefined mathematical formulas to evaluate whether the UE stops or moves at a low speed and whether the UE is located in a cell edge, in operation 1e-20”. Fig. 1I, [0210], “the controller 1i-40 may include a communication processor CP for performing control for communication, and an application processor AP for controlling an upper layer of an application program, etc. Also, the controller 1i-40 may control the UE to perform the method for performing relaxed RRM measurement as described above”), and the one or more states of the UE include at least one of a stationary state, the low mobility state, a high mobility state or a location state (Kim, Fig. 1E, [0111], “The mobility states may be divided into a Normal-mobility state, a Medium-mobility state, and a High-mobility state. Generally, the High-mobility state means a highest UE mobility”, [0124], “the UE 1e-05 may apply the configuration parameters provided from the gNB 1e-10 to the predefined mathematical formulas to evaluate whether the UE stops or moves at a low speed and whether the UE is located in a cell edge, in operation 1e-20”);
performing the search in case that the obtained one or more states of the UE include the at least one of the low mobility state and the high mobility state, wherein the location state indicates that the UE being at the edge of the serving cell (Kim, [0111], high-mobility state, Fig. 2E, [0244]-[0245], the equations are evaluated to determine whether the UE is stopped/moving at low speed and the UE is in the cell edge. [0276]-[0278], equation 1 considers the UE mobility and equation 2 considers if the UE is in a cell edge. [0281], when the equations are not fulfilled (high-mobility state and in the cell edge), the UE perform normal intra-frequencies or inter-frequencies measurement (steps 2e-30 and 2e-40)); and,
deferring the search in case that the obtained one or more states of the UE include the stationary state, wherein the location state indicates the UE not being at the edge of the serving cell (Kim, Fig. 1E, [0146], “That any one of the first to fifth mathematical formulas applied by the UE 1e-05 is fulfilled may represent that the UE 1e-05 is in a mobility state in which the relaxed RRM measurement is applicable (that is, a stop state or a low-speed state) and the UE 1E-05 is not in a cell edge”, [0154], “The UE 1e-05 may perform intra-/inter-/inter-RAT frequency relaxed RRM measurement, and at this time, the UE 1e-05 may save consumption power by applying a long measurement period compared to general RRM measurement or reducing the number of cells or frequencies to be measured, in operation 1e-30”. The UE performs relaxed measurement by applying a long measurement period (i.e. postponing or deferring), based on the mobility state of the UE being stop or low-speed and the UE not being in the cell edge, in order to save power consumption).
Kim teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Kim does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 7, obtaining one or more states of the UE from at least one machine learning (ML) model associated with the UE, wherein the one or more states of the UE is determined by the ML model;
the BPLMN search.
However, Boettger teaches the BPLMN search (Boettger, [0022], “Per the 3GPP, the mechanism that allow devices to return from the VPLMN to the HPLMN is a periodic background search (or “HPLMN search”), in which UEs check for the presence of the HPLMN on an infrequent basis (e.g., every 20 minutes)”, [0026], “the UE may determine the HPLMN search periodicity based on one or more of N or T default values, which UE may modify based on factors, such as the type of HPLMN cells associated with the area, whether the UE is moving or stationary, etc.”. Fig. 13, [0086], when the device is stationary (low mobility), the setting T_large is increased to 180).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kim to have the features, as taught by Boettger in order to enable a UE to perform HPLMN searches in a manner that optimizes search frequency and battery power conservation, and in so doing, may help address significant pragmatic issues involved in bootstrapping a wireless network service (Boettger, [0026]).
Kim and Boettger teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Kim and Boettger do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 7, obtaining one or more states of the UE from at least one machine learning (ML) model associated with the UE, wherein the one or more states of the UE is determined by the ML model.
However, Zhu teaches obtaining one or more states of the UE from at least one machine learning (ML) model associated with the UE, wherein the one or more states of the UE is determined by the ML model (Zhu, Fig. 8, [0146], “the UE 802 may have the at least one neural network and the UE 802 may use the at least one neural network to derive the at least one mobility related prediction associated with the UE 802. The at least one mobility related prediction associated with the UE may include at least one of the UE trajectory prediction, the UE traffic prediction, the RRM measurement prediction, or the UE location and mobility status”, [0149], “the output of the machine learning model for generating the relaxed RRM measurement may include at least one of predicted RRM measurement results or recommended target network nodes to measure and RRM relax level for each of the target network nodes”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kim and Boettger to have the features, as taught by Zhu in order to improve robustness and QoS/QoE during the handover procedure, and reduce UE power consumption and the network resource cost (Zhu, [0028]).
As to claim 15, Kim teaches wherein the processor is further configured to:
wherein the one or more states of the UE is determined based on the relaxed measurement parameters (Kim, Fig. 1E, [0124], “the UE 1e-05 may apply the configuration parameters provided from the gNB 1e-10 to the predefined mathematical formulas to evaluate whether the UE stops or moves at a low speed and whether the UE is located in a cell edge, in operation 1e-20”. Fig. 1I, [0210], “the controller 1i-40 may include a communication processor CP for performing control for communication, and an application processor AP for controlling an upper layer of an application program, etc. Also, the controller 1i-40 may control the UE to perform the method for performing relaxed RRM measurement as described above”), and the one or more states of the UE include at least one of a stationary state, the low mobility state, a high mobility state or a location state (Kim, Fig. 1E, [0111], “The mobility states may be divided into a Normal-mobility state, a Medium-mobility state, and a High-mobility state. Generally, the High-mobility state means a highest UE mobility”, [0124], “the UE 1e-05 may apply the configuration parameters provided from the gNB 1e-10 to the predefined mathematical formulas to evaluate whether the UE stops or moves at a low speed and whether the UE is located in a cell edge, in operation 1e-20”);
perform the search in case that the obtained one or more states of the UE include the at least one of the low mobility state and the high mobility state, wherein the location state indicates that the UE being at the edge of the serving cell (Kim, [0111], high-mobility state, Fig. 2E, [0244]-[0245], the equations are evaluated to determine whether the UE is stopped/moving at low speed and the UE is in the cell edge. [0276]-[0278], equation 1 considers the UE mobility and equation 2 considers if the UE is in a cell edge. [0281], when the equations are not fulfilled (high-mobility state and in the cell edge), the UE perform normal intra-frequencies or inter-frequencies measurement (steps 2e-30 and 2e-40)); or,
defer the search in case that the obtained one or more states of the UE include the stationary state, wherein the location state indicates the UE not being at the edge of the serving cell (Kim, Fig. 1E, [0146], “That any one of the first to fifth mathematical formulas applied by the UE 1e-05 is fulfilled may represent that the UE 1e-05 is in a mobility state in which the relaxed RRM measurement is applicable (that is, a stop state or a low-speed state) and the UE 1E-05 is not in a cell edge”, [0154], “The UE 1e-05 may perform intra-/inter-/inter-RAT frequency relaxed RRM measurement, and at this time, the UE 1e-05 may save consumption power by applying a long measurement period compared to general RRM measurement or reducing the number of cells or frequencies to be measured, in operation 1e-30”. The UE performs relaxed measurement by applying a long measurement period (i.e. postponing or deferring), based on the mobility state of the UE being stop or low-speed and the UE not being in the cell edge, in order to save power consumption).
Kim teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Kim does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 15, obtain one or more states from at least one machine learning (ML) model associated with the UE, wherein the one or more states of the UE is determined by the ML model;
the BPLMN search.
However, Boettger teaches the BPLMN search (Boettger, [0022], “Per the 3GPP, the mechanism that allow devices to return from the VPLMN to the HPLMN is a periodic background search (or “HPLMN search”), in which UEs check for the presence of the HPLMN on an infrequent basis (e.g., every 20 minutes)”, [0026], “the UE may determine the HPLMN search periodicity based on one or more of N or T default values, which UE may modify based on factors, such as the type of HPLMN cells associated with the area, whether the UE is moving or stationary, etc.”. Fig. 13, [0086], when the device is stationary (low mobility), the setting T_large is increased to 180).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kim to have the features, as taught by Boettger in order to enable a UE to perform HPLMN searches in a manner that optimizes search frequency and battery power conservation, and in so doing, may help address significant pragmatic issues involved in bootstrapping a wireless network service (Boettger, [0026]).
Kim and Boettger teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Kim and Boettger do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 15, obtain one or more states from at least one machine learning (ML) model associated with the UE, wherein the one or more states of the UE is determined by the ML model.
However, Zhu teaches obtain one or more states from at least one machine learning (ML) model associated with the UE, wherein the one or more states of the UE is determined by the ML model (Zhu, Fig. 8, [0146], “the UE 802 may have the at least one neural network and the UE 802 may use the at least one neural network to derive the at least one mobility related prediction associated with the UE 802. The at least one mobility related prediction associated with the UE may include at least one of the UE trajectory prediction, the UE traffic prediction, the RRM measurement prediction, or the UE location and mobility status”, [0149], “the output of the machine learning model for generating the relaxed RRM measurement may include at least one of predicted RRM measurement results or recommended target network nodes to measure and RRM relax level for each of the target network nodes”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kim and Boettger to have the features, as taught by Zhu in order to improve robustness and QoS/QoE during the handover procedure, and reduce UE power consumption and the network resource cost (Zhu, [0028]).
Claims 8-9, 18 and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2021/0105643) (provided in the IDS), hereinafter “Kim” in view of Manepalli et al. (US 2017/0318536), hereinafter “Manepalli”.
As to claim 8, Kim teaches a method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a communication system (Kim, Fig. 1E, [0121], a process of performing relaxed RRM measurement by a UE and a gNB), the method comprising:
receiving, from a serving cell, a system information block 2 (SIB2) including relaxed measurement parameters (Kim, Fig. 1E, [0122], “a UE 1e-05 … may receive system information including configuration parameters required for determining UE mobility and a UE location, from a gNB 1e-10, in operation 1e-15. The system information may include configuration parameters related to relaxed RRM measurement”, [0181], “SIB2 may include the above-mentioned configuration parameters for RRM measurement relaxation”);
determining, based on the relaxed measurement parameters, a mobility state of the UE being in a low mobility state and a location of the UE being not at an edge of the serving cell (Kim, Fig. 1E, [0124], “the UE 1e-05 may apply the configuration parameters provided from the gNB 1e-10 to the predefined mathematical formulas to evaluate whether the UE stops or moves at a low speed and whether the UE is located in a cell edge, in operation 1e-20”);
deferring, based on the mobility state of the UE being in the low mobility state and the location of the UE being not at the edge of the serving cell, a measurement (Kim, Fig. 1E, [0146], “That any one of the first to fifth mathematical formulas applied by the UE 1e-05 is fulfilled may represent that the UE 1e-05 is in a mobility state in which the relaxed RRM measurement is applicable (that is, a stop state or a low-speed state) and the UE 1E-05 is not in a cell edge”, [0154], “The UE 1e-05 may perform intra-/inter-/inter-RAT frequency relaxed RRM measurement, and at this time, the UE 1e-05 may save consumption power by applying a long measurement period compared to general RRM measurement or reducing the number of cells or frequencies to be measured, in operation 1e-30”. The UE performs relaxed measurement by applying a long measurement period (i.e. postponing or deferring), based on the mobility state of the UE being stop or low-speed and the UE not being in the cell edge, in order to save power consumption).
Kim teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Kim does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 8, receiving, from the serving cell, connected mode discontinuous reception (CDRX) configuration information and measurement gap configuration information;
determining, based on the CDRX configuration information and the measurement gap configuration information, that a measurement gap falls during a CDRX sleep duration of the CDRX; and
deferring a neighbor cell measurement during the measurement gap that falls during the CDRX sleep duration until a next measurement gap that does not fall during the CDRX sleep duration determined based on the CDRX configuration information and the measurement gap configuration information.
However, Manepalli teaches receiving, from the serving cell, connected mode discontinuous reception (CDRX) configuration information and measurement gap configuration information (Manepalli, Fig. 7, step 704, [0083], the BS selects C-DRX configuration for use by the UE and provide the configuration to the UE. [0005], “in a C-DRX mode, a wireless device may reduce its power consumption by periodically (e.g., rather than continuously) monitoring the wireless medium when not actively exchanging data, and by operating in a reduced power state (e.g., sleeping) when not monitoring the wireless medium. Numerous C-DRX configuration variations may be possible, including a length of the ‘C-DRX cycle’, one or more timer lengths associated with C-DRX cycle operation, and/or various other parameters”);
determining, based on the CDRX configuration information and the measurement gap configuration information, that a measurement gap falls during a CDRX sleep duration of the CDRX (Manepalli, [0005], [0006], “a longer C-DRX cycle length may result in less frequent measurement reports being provided to the serving cell than a shorter C-DRX cycle”, [0084], “C-DRX cycle lengths…monitoring control channels, performing cell/neighbor measurements and transmitting measurement reports, etc.) during each C-DRX cycle”. The measurements that fall outside of the C-DRX cycle are not performed. [0086], “while operating in C-DRX may reduce power consumption by the UE 106, it may also reduce the frequency with which serving cell and/or neighboring cell measurements are taken and/or reported back to the serving cell”); and
deferring a neighbor cell measurement during the measurement gap that falls during the CDRX sleep duration (Manepalli, [0005], “in a C-DRX mode, a wireless device may reduce its power consumption by periodically (e.g., rather than continuously) monitoring the wireless medium when not actively exchanging data, and by operating in a reduced power state (e.g., sleeping) when not monitoring the wireless medium”. Fig. 7, [0086], “while operating in C-DRX may reduce power consumption by the UE 106, it may also reduce the frequency with which serving cell and/or neighboring cell measurements are taken and/or reported back to the serving cell”, [0089], the UE determines its mobility state, such as stationary. [0098], “the UE 106 to request C-DRX reconfiguration to increase C-DRX cycle length based on mobility and/or signal conditions…trigger the UE 106 to initiate C-DRX reconfiguration to increase C-DRX cycle length if signal conditions improve and/or mobility conditions become more stationary after the UE 106 has previously decreased C-DRX cycle length due to poor signal conditions and/or high mobility conditions…”. The measurements that fall outside of the C-DRX cycle are not performed. The cycle is based on UE conditions, such as mobility, signal conditions, etc.) until a next measurement gap that does not fall during the CDRX sleep duration determined based on the CDRX configuration information and the measurement gap configuration information (Manepalli, Fig. 7, step 704, [0083], the BS selects C-DRX configuration for use by the UE and provide the configuration to the UE. [0005], “in a C-DRX mode, a wireless device may reduce its power consumption by periodically (e.g., rather than continuously) monitoring the wireless medium when not actively exchanging data, and by operating in a reduced power state (e.g., sleeping) when not monitoring the wireless medium. Numerous C-DRX configuration variations may be possible, including a length of the ‘C-DRX cycle’, one or more timer lengths associated with C-DRX cycle operation, and/or various other parameters”, Fig. 7, [0086], “while operating in C-DRX may reduce power consumption by the UE 106, it may also reduce the frequency with which serving cell and/or neighboring cell measurements are taken and/or reported back to the serving cell”. The measurements that fall inside of the C-DRX cycle are performed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kim to have the features, as taught by Manepalli in order to adjust the C-DRX configuration of a wireless device based on mobility level and/or signal conditions being experienced by the wireless device and improve power consumption profile of the wireless device (Manepalli. [0007]-[0008]).
As to claim 9, Kim teaches wherein the relaxed measurement parameters include a low mobility parameter and a cell edge parameter (Kim, Fig. 1E, [0122], “a UE 1e-05 … may receive system information including configuration parameters required for determining UE mobility and a UE location, from a gNB 1e-10, in operation 1e-15. The system information may include configuration parameters related to relaxed RRM measurement”, [0124], “the UE 1e-05 may apply the configuration parameters provided from the gNB 1e-10 to the predefined mathematical formulas to evaluate whether the UE stops or moves at a low speed and whether the UE is located in a cell edge, in operation 1e-20”),
wherein the UE being in the low mobility state is determined based on (Kim, Fig. 1E, [0124], “the UE 1e-05 may apply the configuration parameters provided from the gNB 1e-10 to the predefined mathematical formulas to evaluate whether the UE stops or moves at a low speed), and
wherein the UE being not at the edge of the serving cell is determined based on the cell edge parameter (Kim, Fig. 1E, [0124], “the UE 1e-05 may apply the configuration parameters provided from the gNB 1e-10 to the predefined mathematical formulas to evaluate whether the UE stops or moves at a low speed and whether the UE is located in a cell edge, in operation 1e-20”. [0140], “Thresh.sub.RelaxedP=Minimum required RX level to indicate that UE is not in cell edge (decibemilliwatts (dBm))”, [0142], “Q.sub.rxlevmeas=Measured cell RX level value (RSRP)”).
As to claim 18, Kim teaches a communication device comprising (Kim, Fig. 1E, [0121], Fig. 1I, [0203], a UE):
a transceiver (Kim, Fig. 1I, [0205], the UE includes a RF processor); and
a processor operably coupled with the transceiver and configured to (Kim, Fig. 1I, [0204], [0210], the UE includes a controller connected to the RF processor to control the operations of the UE):
receive, from a serving cell, a system information block 2 (SIB2) including relaxed measurement parameters (Kim, Fig. 1E, [0122], “a UE 1e-05 … may receive system information including configuration parameters required for determining UE mobility and a UE location, from a gNB 1e-10, in operation 1e-15. The system information may include configuration parameters related to relaxed RRM measurement”, [0181], “SIB2 may include the above-mentioned configuration parameters for RRM measurement relaxation”);
determine, based on the relaxed measurement parameters, a mobility state of the UE being in a low mobility state and a location of the UE being not at an edge of the serving cell (Kim, Fig. 1E, [0124], “the UE 1e-05 may apply the configuration parameters provided from the gNB 1e-10 to the predefined mathematical formulas to evaluate whether the UE stops or moves at a low speed and whether the UE is located in a cell edge, in operation 1e-20”);
defer, based on the mobility state of the UE being in the low mobility state and the location of the UE being not at the edge of the serving cell, a measurement (Kim, Fig. 1E, [0146], “That any one of the first to fifth mathematical formulas applied by the UE 1e-05 is fulfilled may represent that the UE 1e-05 is in a mobility state in which the relaxed RRM measurement is applicable (that is, a stop state or a low-speed state) and the UE 1E-05 is not in a cell edge”, [0154], “The UE 1e-05 may perform intra-/inter-/inter-RAT frequency relaxed RRM measurement, and at this time, the UE 1e-05 may save consumption power by applying a long measurement period compared to general RRM measurement or reducing the number of cells or frequencies to be measured, in operation 1e-30”. The UE performs relaxed measurement by applying a long measurement period (i.e. postponing or deferring), based on the mobility state of the UE being stop or low-speed and the UE not being in the cell edge, in order to save power consumption).
Kim teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Kim does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 8, receive, from the serving cell, connected mode discontinuous reception (CDRX) configuration information and measurement gap configuration information;
determine, based on the CDRX configuration information and the measurement gap configuration information, that a measurement gap falls during a CDRX sleep duration of the CDRX; and
defer a neighbor cell measurement during the measurement gap that falls during the CDRX sleep duration until a next measurement gap that does not fall during the CDRX sleep duration determined based on the CDRX configuration information and the measurement gap configuration information.
However, Manepalli teaches receive, from the serving cell, connected mode discontinuous reception (CDRX) configuration information and measurement gap configuration information (Manepalli, Fig. 7, step 704, [0083], the BS selects C-DRX configuration for use by the UE and provide the configuration to the UE. [0005], “in a C-DRX mode, a wireless device may reduce its power consumption by periodically (e.g., rather than continuously) monitoring the wireless medium when not actively exchanging data, and by operating in a reduced power state (e.g., sleeping) when not monitoring the wireless medium. Numerous C-DRX configuration variations may be possible, including a length of the ‘C-DRX cycle’, one or more timer lengths associated with C-DRX cycle operation, and/or various other parameters”);
determine, based on the CDRX configuration information and the measurement gap configuration information, that a measurement gap falls during a CDRX sleep duration of the CDRX (Manepalli, [0005], [0006], “a longer C-DRX cycle length may result in less frequent measurement reports being provided to the serving cell than a shorter C-DRX cycle”, [0084], “C-DRX cycle lengths…monitoring control channels, performing cell/neighbor measurements and transmitting measurement reports, etc.) during each C-DRX cycle”. The measurements that fall outside of the C-DRX cycle are not performed. [0086], “while operating in C-DRX may reduce power consumption by the UE 106, it may also reduce the frequency with which serving cell and/or neighboring cell measurements are taken and/or reported back to the serving cell”); and
defer a neighbor cell measurement during the measurement gap that falls during the CDRX sleep duration (Manepalli, [0005], “in a C-DRX mode, a wireless device may reduce its power consumption by periodically (e.g., rather than continuously) monitoring the wireless medium when not actively exchanging data, and by operating in a reduced power state (e.g., sleeping) when not monitoring the wireless medium”. Fig. 7, [0086], “while operating in C-DRX may reduce power consumption by the UE 106, it may also reduce the frequency with which serving cell and/or neighboring cell measurements are taken and/or reported back to the serving cell”, [0089], the UE determines its mobility state, such as stationary. [0098], “the UE 106 to request C-DRX reconfiguration to increase C-DRX cycle length based on mobility and/or signal conditions…trigger the UE 106 to initiate C-DRX reconfiguration to increase C-DRX cycle length if signal conditions improve and/or mobility conditions become more stationary after the UE 106 has previously decreased C-DRX cycle length due to poor signal conditions and/or high mobility conditions…”. The measurements that fall outside of the C-DRX cycle are not performed. The cycle is based on UE conditions, such as mobility, signal conditions, etc.) until a next measurement gap that does not fall during the CDRX sleep duration determined based on the CDRX configuration information and the measurement gap configuration information (Manepalli, Fig. 7, step 704, [0083], the BS selects C-DRX configuration for use by the UE and provide the configuration to the UE. [0005], “in a C-DRX mode, a wireless device may reduce its power consumption by periodically (e.g., rather than continuously) monitoring the wireless medium when not actively exchanging data, and by operating in a reduced power state (e.g., sleeping) when not monitoring the wireless medium. Numerous C-DRX configuration variations may be possible, including a length of the ‘C-DRX cycle’, one or more timer lengths associated with C-DRX cycle operation, and/or various other parameters”, Fig. 7, [0086], “while operating in C-DRX may reduce power consumption by the UE 106, it may also reduce the frequency with which serving cell and/or neighboring cell measurements are taken and/or reported back to the serving cell”. The measurements that fall inside of the C-DRX cycle are performed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kim to have the features, as taught by Manepalli in order to adjust the C-DRX configuration of a wireless device based on mobility level and/or signal conditions being experienced by the wireless device and improve power consumption profile of the wireless device (Manepalli. [0007]-[0008]).
As to claim 20, Kim teaches wherein the relaxed measurement parameters include a low mobility parameter and a cell edge parameter (Kim, Fig. 1E, [0122], “a UE 1e-05 … may receive system information including configuration parameters required for determining UE mobility and a UE location, from a gNB 1e-10, in operation 1e-15. The system information may include configuration parameters related to relaxed RRM measurement”, [0124], “the UE 1e-05 may apply the configuration parameters provided from the gNB 1e-10 to the predefined mathematical formulas to evaluate whether the UE stops or moves at a low speed and whether the UE is located in a cell edge, in operation 1e-20”),
wherein the UE being in the low mobility state is determined based on the low mobility parameter (Kim, Fig. 1E, [0124], “the UE 1e-05 may apply the configuration parameters provided from the gNB 1e-10 to the predefined mathematical formulas to evaluate whether the UE stops or moves at a low speed), and
wherein the UE being not at the edge of the serving cell is determined based on the cell edge parameter (Kim, Fig. 1E, [0124], “the UE 1e-05 may apply the configuration parameters provided from the gNB 1e-10 to the predefined mathematical formulas to evaluate whether the UE stops or moves at a low speed and whether the UE is located in a cell edge, in operation 1e-20”. [0140], “Thresh.sub.RelaxedP=Minimum required RX level to indicate that UE is not in cell edge (decibemilliwatts (dBm))”, [0142], “Q.sub.rxlevmeas=Measured cell RX level value (RSRP)”).
Kim teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Kim does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 21, wherein the UE remains in a sleep state of the CDRX during the measurement gap that falls during the CDRX sleep duration based on the mobility state of the UE being in the low mobility state and the location of the UE being not at the edge of the serving cell.
As to claim 21, Manepalli teaches wherein the UE remains in a sleep state of the CDRX during the measurement gap that falls during the CDRX sleep duration based on the mobility state of the UE being in the low mobility state and the location of the UE being not at the edge of the serving cell (Manepalli, [0005], “in a C-DRX mode, a wireless device may reduce its power consumption by periodically (e.g., rather than continuously) monitoring the wireless medium when not actively exchanging data, and by operating in a reduced power state (e.g., sleeping) when not monitoring the wireless medium”. Fig. 7, [0086], “while operating in C-DRX may reduce power consumption by the UE 106, it may also reduce the frequency with which serving cell and/or neighboring cell measurements are taken and/or reported back to the serving cell”, [0089], the UE determines its mobility state, such as stationary. [0098], “the UE 106 to request C-DRX reconfiguration to increase C-DRX cycle length based on mobility and/or signal conditions…trigger the UE 106 to initiate C-DRX reconfiguration to increase C-DRX cycle length if signal conditions improve and/or mobility conditions become more stationary after the UE 106 has previously decreased C-DRX cycle length due to poor signal conditions and/or high mobility conditions…”. The UE remains in the C-DRX cycle, where the UE is in a sleeping state. The cycle is based on UE conditions, such as mobility, signal conditions (i.e. poor conditions, such as at the edge of a cell), etc.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kim to have the features, as taught by Manepalli in order to adjust the C-DRX configuration of a wireless device based on mobility level and/or signal conditions being experienced by the wireless device and improve power consumption profile of the wireless device (Manepalli. [0007]-[0008]).
Kim teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Kim does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 22, wherein the UE remains in a sleep state of the CDRX during the measurement gap that falls during the CDRX sleep duration based on the mobility state of the UE being in the low mobility state and the location of the UE being not at the edge of the serving cell.
As to claim 22, Manepalli teaches wherein the UE remains in a sleep state of the CDRX during the measurement gap that falls during the CDRX sleep duration based on the mobility state of the UE being in the low mobility state and the location of the UE being not at the edge of the serving cell (Manepalli, [0005], “in a C-DRX mode, a wireless device may reduce its power consumption by periodically (e.g., rather than continuously) monitoring the wireless medium when not actively exchanging data, and by operating in a reduced power state (e.g., sleeping) when not monitoring the wireless medium”. Fig. 7, [0086], “while operating in C-DRX may reduce power consumption by the UE 106, it may also reduce the frequency with which serving cell and/or neighboring cell measurements are taken and/or reported back to the serving cell”, [0089], the UE determines its mobility state, such as stationary. [0098], “the UE 106 to request C-DRX reconfiguration to increase C-DRX cycle length based on mobility and/or signal conditions…trigger the UE 106 to initiate C-DRX reconfiguration to increase C-DRX cycle length if signal conditions improve and/or mobility conditions become more stationary after the UE 106 has previously decreased C-DRX cycle length due to poor signal conditions and/or high mobility conditions…”. The UE remains in the C-DRX cycle, where the UE is in a sleeping state. The cycle is based on UE conditions, such as mobility, signal conditions (i.e. poor conditions, such as at the edge of a cell), etc.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kim to have the features, as taught by Manepalli in order to adjust the C-DRX configuration of a wireless device based on mobility level and/or signal conditions being experienced by the wireless device and improve power consumption profile of the wireless device (Manepalli. [0007]-[0008]).
Claims 10 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2021/0105643) (provided in the IDS), hereinafter “Kim” in view of Manepalli et al. (US 2017/0318536), hereinafter “Manepalli” and further in view of Zhu et al. (US 2023/0413152), hereinafter “Zhu”.
As to claim 10, Kim teaches further comprising:
wherein the one or more states of the UE is determined based on the one or more relaxed measurement parameters (Kim, Fig. 1E, [0124], “the UE 1e-05 may apply the configuration parameters provided from the gNB 1e-10 to the predefined mathematical formulas to evaluate whether the UE stops or moves at a low speed and whether the UE is located in a cell edge, in operation 1e-20”. Fig. 1I, [0210], “the controller 1i-40 may include a communication processor CP for performing control for communication, and an application processor AP for controlling an upper layer of an application program, etc. Also, the controller 1i-40 may control the UE to perform the method for performing relaxed RRM measurement as described above”), and the one or more states of the UE include at least one of a stationary state, the low mobility state, a high mobility state or a location state (Kim, Fig. 1E, [0111], “The mobility states may be divided into a Normal-mobility state, a Medium-mobility state, and a High-mobility state. Generally, the High-mobility state means a highest UE mobility”, [0124], “the UE 1e-05 may apply the configuration parameters provided from the gNB 1e-10 to the predefined mathematical formulas to evaluate whether the UE stops or moves at a low speed and whether the UE is located in a cell edge, in operation 1e-20”);
performing the measurement in case that the obtained one or more states of the UE include the at least one of the low mobility state or the high mobility state, wherein the location state indicates that the UE being at the edge of the serving cell (Kim, [0111], high-mobility state, Fig. 2E, [0244]-[0245], the equations are evaluated to determine whether the UE is stopped/moving at low speed and the UE is in the cell edge. [0276]-[0278], equation 1 considers the UE mobility and equation 2 considers if the UE is in a cell edge. [0281], when the equations are not fulfilled (high-mobility state and in the cell edge), the UE perform normal intra-frequencies or inter-frequencies measurement (steps 2e-30 and 2e-40)); and,
deferring the measurement in case that the obtained one or more states of the UE include the stationary state, wherein the location state indicates the UE not being at the edge of the serving cell (Kim, Fig. 1E, [0146], “That any one of the first to fifth mathematical formulas applied by the UE 1e-05 is fulfilled may represent that the UE 1e-05 is in a mobility state in which the relaxed RRM measurement is applicable (that is, a stop state or a low-speed state) and the UE 1E-05 is not in a cell edge”, [0154], “The UE 1e-05 may perform intra-/inter-/inter-RAT frequency relaxed RRM measurement, and at this time, the UE 1e-05 may save consumption power by applying a long measurement period compared to general RRM measurement or reducing the number of cells or frequencies to be measured, in operation 1e-30”. The UE performs relaxed measurement by applying a long measurement period (i.e. postponing or deferring), based on the mobility state of the UE being stop or low-speed and the UE not being in the cell edge, in order to save power consumption).
Kim teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Kim does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 10, obtaining one or more states of the UE from at least one machine learning (ML) model, wherein the one or more states of the UE is determined by the ML model;
the neighbor cell measurement during the measurement gap that falls during the CDRX sleep duration.
However, Manepalli teaches the neighbor cell measurement during the measurement gap that falls during the CDRX sleep duration (Manepalli, [0005], “in a C-DRX mode, a wireless device may reduce its power consumption by periodically (e.g., rather than continuously) monitoring the wireless medium when not actively exchanging data, and by operating in a reduced power state (e.g., sleeping) when not monitoring the wireless medium”. Fig. 7, [0086], “while operating in C-DRX may reduce power consumption by the UE 106, it may also reduce the frequency with which serving cell and/or neighboring cell measurements are taken and/or reported back to the serving cell”, [0089], the UE determines its mobility state, such as stationary. [0098], “the UE 106 to request C-DRX reconfiguration to increase C-DRX cycle length based on mobility and/or signal conditions…trigger the UE 106 to initiate C-DRX reconfiguration to increase C-DRX cycle length if signal conditions improve and/or mobility conditions become more stationary after the UE 106 has previously decreased C-DRX cycle length due to poor signal conditions and/or high mobility conditions…” The UE performs the measurements in the C-DRX cycle based on the UE mobility state being stationary).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kim to have the features, as taught by Manepalli in order to adjust the C-DRX configuration of a wireless device based on mobility level and/or signal conditions being experienced by the wireless device and improve power consumption profile of the wireless device (Manepalli. [0007]-[0008]).
Kim and Manepalli teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Kim and Manepalli do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 10, obtaining one or more states of the UE from at least one machine learning (ML) model, wherein the one or more states of the UE is determined by the ML model.
However, Zhu teaches obtaining one or more states of the UE from at least one machine learning (ML) model, wherein the one or more states of the UE is determined by the ML model (Zhu, Fig. 8, [0146], “the UE 802 may have the at least one neural network and the UE 802 may use the at least one neural network to derive the at least one mobility related prediction associated with the UE 802. The at least one mobility related prediction associated with the UE may include at least one of the UE trajectory prediction, the UE traffic prediction, the RRM measurement prediction, or the UE location and mobility status”, [0149], “the output of the machine learning model for generating the relaxed RRM measurement may include at least one of predicted RRM measurement results or recommended target network nodes to measure and RRM relax level for each of the target network nodes”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kim and Manepalli to have the features, as taught by Zhu in order to improve robustness and QoS/QoE during the handover procedure, and reduce UE power consumption and the network resource cost (Zhu, [0028]).
As to claim 19, Kim teaches wherein the processor is further configured to:
wherein the one or more states of the UE is determined based on the one or more relaxed measurement parameters (Kim, Fig. 1E, [0124], “the UE 1e-05 may apply the configuration parameters provided from the gNB 1e-10 to the predefined mathematical formulas to evaluate whether the UE stops or moves at a low speed and whether the UE is located in a cell edge, in operation 1e-20”. Fig. 1I, [0210], “the controller 1i-40 may include a communication processor CP for performing control for communication, and an application processor AP for controlling an upper layer of an application program, etc. Also, the controller 1i-40 may control the UE to perform the method for performing relaxed RRM measurement as described above”), and the one or more states of the UE include at least one of a stationary state, the low mobility state, a high mobility state or a location state (Kim, Fig. 1E, [0111], “The mobility states may be divided into a Normal-mobility state, a Medium-mobility state, and a High-mobility state. Generally, the High-mobility state means a highest UE mobility”, [0124], “the UE 1e-05 may apply the configuration parameters provided from the gNB 1e-10 to the predefined mathematical formulas to evaluate whether the UE stops or moves at a low speed and whether the UE is located in a cell edge, in operation 1e-20”);
perform the measurement in case that the obtained one or more states of the UE include the at least one of the low mobility state or the high mobility state, wherein the location state indicates that the UE being at the edge of the serving cell (Kim, [0111], high-mobility state, Fig. 2E, [0244]-[0245], the equations are evaluated to determine whether the UE is stopped/moving at low speed and the UE is in the cell edge. [0276]-[0278], equation 1 considers the UE mobility and equation 2 considers if the UE is in a cell edge. [0281], when the equations are not fulfilled (high-mobility state and in the cell edge), the UE perform normal intra-frequencies or inter-frequencies measurement (steps 2e-30 and 2e-40)); and,
defer the measurement in case that the obtained one or more states of the UE include the stationary state, wherein the location state indicates the UE not being at the edge of the serving cell (Kim, Fig. 1E, [0146], “That any one of the first to fifth mathematical formulas applied by the UE 1e-05 is fulfilled may represent that the UE 1e-05 is in a mobility state in which the relaxed RRM measurement is applicable (that is, a stop state or a low-speed state) and the UE 1E-05 is not in a cell edge”, [0154], “The UE 1e-05 may perform intra-/inter-/inter-RAT frequency relaxed RRM measurement, and at this time, the UE 1e-05 may save consumption power by applying a long measurement period compared to general RRM measurement or reducing the number of cells or frequencies to be measured, in operation 1e-30”. The UE performs relaxed measurement by applying a long measurement period (i.e. postponing or deferring), based on the mobility state of the UE being stop or low-speed and the UE not being in the cell edge, in order to save power consumption).
Kim teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Kim does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 19, obtain one or more states of the UE from at least one machine learning (ML) model, wherein the one or more states of the UE is determined by the ML model;
the neighbor cell measurement during the measurement gap that falls during the CDRX sleep duration.
However, Manepalli teaches the neighbor cell measurement during the measurement gap that falls during the CDRX sleep duration (Manepalli, [0005], “in a C-DRX mode, a wireless device may reduce its power consumption by periodically (e.g., rather than continuously) monitoring the wireless medium when not actively exchanging data, and by operating in a reduced power state (e.g., sleeping) when not monitoring the wireless medium”. Fig. 7, [0086], “while operating in C-DRX may reduce power consumption by the UE 106, it may also reduce the frequency with which serving cell and/or neighboring cell measurements are taken and/or reported back to the serving cell”, [0089], the UE determines its mobility state, such as stationary. [0098], “the UE 106 to request C-DRX reconfiguration to increase C-DRX cycle length based on mobility and/or signal conditions…trigger the UE 106 to initiate C-DRX reconfiguration to increase C-DRX cycle length if signal conditions improve and/or mobility conditions become more stationary after the UE 106 has previously decreased C-DRX cycle length due to poor signal conditions and/or high mobility conditions…” The UE performs the measurements in the C-DRX cycle based on the UE mobility state being stationary).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kim to have the features, as taught by Manepalli in order to adjust the C-DRX configuration of a wireless device based on mobility level and/or signal conditions being experienced by the wireless device and improve power consumption profile of the wireless device (Manepalli. [0007]-[0008]).
Kim and Manepalli teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Kim and Manepalli do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 19, obtain one or more states of the UE from at least one machine learning (ML) model, wherein the one or more states of the UE is determined by the ML model.
However, Zhu teaches obtaining one or more states of the UE from at least one machine learning (ML) model, wherein the one or more states of the UE is determined by the ML model (Zhu, Fig. 8, [0146], “the UE 802 may have the at least one neural network and the UE 802 may use the at least one neural network to derive the at least one mobility related prediction associated with the UE 802. The at least one mobility related prediction associated with the UE may include at least one of the UE trajectory prediction, the UE traffic prediction, the RRM measurement prediction, or the UE location and mobility status”, [0149], “the output of the machine learning model for generating the relaxed RRM measurement may include at least one of predicted RRM measurement results or recommended target network nodes to measure and RRM relax level for each of the target network nodes”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kim and Manepalli to have the features, as taught by Zhu in order to improve robustness and QoS/QoE during the handover procedure, and reduce UE power consumption and the network resource cost (Zhu, [0028]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RICARDO H CASTANEYRA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473