DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an application filed on 07/31/2026 in which claims 1-2, 7-11, 15-16 and 18-22 are pending. Claims 3-6, 12-14 and 17 were cancelled.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s Arguments/Remarks filed on 07/31/2026 with respect to amended independent claims 1 and 8 have been fully considered and are addressed below. Based on the amendment to the claims, the claim objection previously set in the Final Action mailed on 06/10/2026 are withdrawn. The claims have not overcome the claim rejections as shown below.
Claims 1-2, 7-11, 15-16 and 18-22 are pending.
Claims 3-6, 12-14 and 17 were cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Regarding amended independent claim 1, Applicant argues that Kim and Boettger do not disclose or suggest “deferring, while (i) the UE is camped in the VPLMN, (ii) the mobility state of the UE is in the low mobility state and (iii) the location of the UE is not at the edge of the serving cell, a background PLMN (BPLMN) search corresponding to a periodic background scan for at least one of a home PLMN (HPLMN) or a higher priority PLMN (HPPLMN) until determining the mobility state of the UE being not in the low mobility state and the location of the UE being in at the edge of the serving cell” because “Kim merely discloses performing relaxed RRM measurement for a certain period of time once the relaxed RRM measurement conditions occur” and “Boettger merely describes adjusting the period for an HPLMN search (i.e., a background PLMN search) according to the mobility of the UE”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Kim discloses in Fig. 1F, [0160], [0162]-[0163], that the UE performs relaxed measurements (step 1f-25) until it is checked and determined in steps 1f-30 and 1f-15 that the relaxed monitoring criterion is not fulfilled (No route in step 1f-15). The figure shows the UE performing the relaxed measurements, until the criterion is not fulfilled. At that point the UE does not perform the relaxed measurements. Kim further shows in Fig. 1H, [0196], step 1h-35, that after performing the relaxed RRM measurements, the UE stops the relaxed RRM measurements when the relaxed monitoring criterion is fulfilled no longer, and in Fig. 2E, [0281], “when the Equation(s) is not fulfilled, the UE may perform normal intra-frequencies or inter-frequencies measurement”. The UE performs the relaxed measurements while the criterion is fulfilled, stops the relaxed measurements when the criterion is not fulfilled and then performs normal measurements. Thus, Kim discloses “deferring, while (i) the UE is camped in the VPLMN, (ii) the mobility state of the UE is in the low mobility state and (iii) the location of the UE is not at the edge of the serving cell, a background PLMN (BPLMN) search corresponding to a periodic background scan for at least one of a home PLMN (HPLMN) or a higher priority PLMN (HPPLMN) until determining the mobility state of the UE being not in the low mobility state and the location of the UE being in at the edge of the serving cell”.
Regarding amended independent claim 1, Applicant further argues that “a person looking to obtain the advantages disclosed in Boettger would have no reason to believe that these benefits would accrue by modifying Kim as the Examiner proposes”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Boettger is cited for a UE being connected to a VPLMN and searching for a HPLMN, where this search is performed periodically (Boettger, [0021], Fig. 1, [0022]). This enables the UE to perform HPLMN searches in a manner that optimizes search frequency and battery power conservation, and in so doing, may help address significant pragmatic issues involved in bootstrapping a wireless network service (Boettger, [0026]). Thus, Boettger discloses the feature “wherein the serving cell is associated with a visited public land mobile network (PLMN) (VPLMN) in which the UE is camped”.
Regarding amended independent claim 1, Applicant further argues that “The cited references do not disclose that the decision whether to defer or perform a background PLMN search and neighbor-cell measurements in an MG overlapping with the CDRX sleep duration is determined based on both the mobility condition and the cell-edge criterion”.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., whether to defer or perform a background PLMN search and neighbor-cell measurements in an MG overlapping with the CDRX sleep duration is determined based on both the mobility condition and the cell-edge criterion) are not recited in the rejected claims 1 and 11. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Therefore, the amended independent claims 1 and 11 are rendered unpatentable. As a result the features of the claims are shown by the cited references as set forth below.
Regarding amended independent claim 8, Applicant argues that “Manepalli does not teach or suggest that when the UE has low mobility and is not located at the cell edge, neighbor-cell measurements in a measurement gap overlapping with the C-DRX sleep duration are deferred, or that after it is determined that the UE does not have low mobility and is located at the cell edge, neighbor-cell measurements are performed in a measurement gap overlapping with the C-DRX sleep duration”.
Based on the amendments to claims 8 and 18, further search and consideration were conducted and no prior art was found that discloses the amended features. Thus, the rejection of claims 8-10 and 18-22 was withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 11 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2021/0105643) (provided in the IDS), hereinafter “Kim” in view of Boettger et al. (US 2023/0408626), hereinafter “Boettger”.
As to claim 1, Kim teaches a method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a communication system (Kim, Fig. 1E, [0121], a process of performing relaxed RRM measurement by a UE and a gNB), the method comprising:
receiving, from a serving cell, a system information block 2 (SIB2) including relaxed measurement parameters (Kim, Fig. 1E, [0122], “a UE 1e-05 … may receive system information including configuration parameters required for determining UE mobility and a UE location, from a gNB 1e-10, in operation 1e-15. The system information may include configuration parameters related to relaxed RRM measurement”, [0181], “SIB2 may include the above-mentioned configuration parameters for RRM measurement relaxation”);
determining, based on the relaxed measurement parameters, a mobility state of the UE being in a low mobility state and a location of the UE being not at an edge of the serving cell (Kim, Fig. 1E, [0124], “the UE 1e-05 may apply the configuration parameters provided from the gNB 1e-10 to the predefined mathematical formulas to evaluate whether the UE stops or moves at a low speed and whether the UE is located in a cell edge, in operation 1e-20”);
deferring, while (i) the UE is camped in the VPLMN (Kim, [0240], Table 2, “a periodic search for a higher priority PLMN while camped normally in a VPLMN”), (ii) the mobility state of the UE is in the low mobility state (Kim, [0146], “That any one of the first to fifth mathematical formulas applied by the UE 1e-05 is fulfilled may represent that the UE 1e-05 is in a mobility state in which the relaxed RRM measurement is applicable (that is, a stop state or a low-speed state)”) and (iii) the location of the UE is not at the edge of the serving cell (Kim, [0146], “That any one of the first to fifth mathematical formulas applied by the UE 1e-05 is fulfilled may represent that…and the UE 1E-05 is not in a cell edge”), a background PLMN (BPLMN) search (Kim, Fig. 2E, [0280], “when the Equation(s) is fulfilled, the UE may perform intra-frequencies or inter-frequencies measurement relaxation to reduce UE consumption power”. [0118], “The relaxed RRM measurement is technology of reducing consumption power of UEs by applying a longer measurement period or reducing the number of cells or frequencies to be measured when a predefined condition is fulfilled”, [0268], “the UE 2d-05 may apply a longer measurement period than in a normal RRM measurement operation or reduce the number of cells or frequencies which need to be measured, thereby reducing consumption power of the UE”. The UE performs relaxed measurement by applying a long measurement period (i.e. postponing or deferring), based on the mobility state of the UE being stop or low-speed and the UE not being in the cell edge) corresponding to a periodic background scan for at least one of a home PLMN (HPLMN) or a higher priority PLMN (HPPLMN) (Kim, [0027], the intra-frequency and inter-frequency measurements include Srxlev and Squal. [0240], Table 2, the measurements performed by the UE (Srxlev and Squal) include the parameter Qrxlevminoffset which is an offset to the signaled Qrxlevmin taken into account in the Srxlev evaluation as a result of a periodic search for a higher priority PLMN while camped normally in a VPLMN, and the parameter Qqualminoffset which is an offset to the signaled Qqualmin taken into account in the Squal evaluation as a result of a periodic search for a higher priority PLMN while camped normally in a VPLMN) until determining the mobility state of the UE being not in the low mobility state and the location of the UE being in at the edge of the serving cell (Kim, [0146], “That any one of the first to fifth mathematical formulas applied by the UE 1e-05 is fulfilled may represent that the UE 1e-05 is in a mobility state in which the relaxed RRM measurement is applicable (that is, a stop state or a low-speed state) and the UE 1E-05 is not in a cell edge”. Fig. 1F, [0160], [0162]-[0163], the UE performs relaxed measurements (step 1f-25) until it is checked and determined in steps 1f-30 and 1f-15 that the relaxed monitoring criterion is not fulfilled (No route in step 1f-15). Fig. 1H, [0196], step 1h-35, after performing the relaxed RRM measurements, the UE stops the relaxed RRM measurements when the relaxed monitoring criterion is fulfilled no longer. Fig. 2E, [0281], “when the Equation(s) is not fulfilled, the UE may perform normal intra-frequencies or inter-frequencies measurement”. The UE performs relaxed measurements until it is determined that the relaxed monitoring criterion is not fulfilled. At that point, when the UE is not in a stop or a low-speed state and the UE is in a cell edge, the UE performs normal measurements); and
after determining the mobility state of the UE being not in the low mobility state and the location of the UE being in at the edge of the serving cell (Kim, [0146], “That any one of the first to fifth mathematical formulas applied by the UE 1e-05 is fulfilled may represent that the UE 1e-05 is in a mobility state in which the relaxed RRM measurement is applicable (that is, a stop state or a low-speed state) and the UE 1E-05 is not in a cell edge”. Fig. 2E, [0279], [0281], the UE determines that the Equations are not fulfilled. Not fulfilled represents that the UE is not in a stop or a low-speed state and the UE is in a cell edge), performing the BPLMN search while the UE is camped in the VPLMN (Kim, Fig. 2E, [0281], “when the Equation(s) is not fulfilled, the UE may perform normal intra-frequencies or inter-frequencies measurement”. [0027], the intra-frequency and inter-frequency measurements include Srxlev and Squal. [0240], Table 2, the measurements performed by the UE (Srxlev and Squal) include the parameter Qrxlevminoffset which is an offset to the signaled Qrxlevmin taken into account in the Srxlev evaluation as a result of a periodic search for a higher priority PLMN while camped normally in a VPLMN, and the parameter Qqualminoffset which is an offset to the signaled Qqualmin taken into account in the Squal evaluation as a result of a periodic search for a higher priority PLMN while camped normally in a VPLMN).
Kim teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Kim does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 1, wherein the serving cell is associated with a visited public land mobile network (PLMN) (VPLMN) in which the UE is camped.
However, Boettger teaches wherein the serving cell is associated with a visited public land mobile network (PLMN) (VPLMN) in which the UE is camped (Boettger, [0021], “a user equipment (UE) that is connected to a VPLMN searches for and discovers an HPLMN”, Fig. 1, [0022], “Per the 3GPP, the mechanism that allow devices to return from the VPLMN to the HPLMN is a periodic background search (or “HPLMN search”), in which UEs check for the presence of the HPLMN on an infrequent basis (e.g., every 20 minutes)”, [0027], “While traveling, UE 110 may remain connected to base station 120 of the VPLMN and search for cells from the HPLMN”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kim to have the features, as taught by Boettger in order to enable a UE to perform HPLMN searches in a manner that optimizes search frequency and battery power conservation, and in so doing, may help address significant pragmatic issues involved in bootstrapping a wireless network service (Boettger, [0026]).
As to claim 2, Kim teaches wherein the relaxed measurement parameters include a low mobility parameter and a cell edge parameter (Kim, Fig. 1E, [0122], “a UE 1e-05 … may receive system information including configuration parameters required for determining UE mobility and a UE location, from a gNB 1e-10, in operation 1e-15. The system information may include configuration parameters related to relaxed RRM measurement”, [0124], “the UE 1e-05 may apply the configuration parameters provided from the gNB 1e-10 to the predefined mathematical formulas to evaluate whether the UE stops or moves at a low speed and whether the UE is located in a cell edge, in operation 1e-20”),
wherein the UE being in the low mobility state is determined based on the low mobility parameter (Kim, Fig. 1E, [0124], “the UE 1e-05 may apply the configuration parameters provided from the gNB 1e-10 to the predefined mathematical formulas to evaluate whether the UE stops or moves at a low speed), and
wherein the UE being not at the edge of the serving cell is determined based on the cell edge parameter (Kim, Fig. 1E, [0124], “the UE 1e-05 may apply the configuration parameters provided from the gNB 1e-10 to the predefined mathematical formulas to evaluate whether the UE stops or moves at a low speed and whether the UE is located in a cell edge, in operation 1e-20”. [0140], “Thresh.sub.RelaxedP=Minimum required RX level to indicate that UE is not in cell edge (decibemilliwatts (dBm))”, [0142], “Q.sub.rxlevmeas=Measured cell RX level value (RSRP)”).
As to claim 11, Kim teaches a user equipment (UE) (Kim, Fig. 1E, [0121], Fig. 1I, [0203], a UE) comprising:
a transceiver (Kim, Fig. 1I, [0205], the UE includes a RF processor); and
a processor operably coupled with the transceiver and configured to (Kim, Fig. 1I, [0204], [0210], the UE includes a controller connected to the RF processor to control the operations of the UE):
receive, from a serving cell, a system information block 2 (SIB2) including relaxed measurement parameters (Kim, Fig. 1E, [0122], “a UE 1e-05 … may receive system information including configuration parameters required for determining UE mobility and a UE location, from a gNB 1e-10, in operation 1e-15. The system information may include configuration parameters related to relaxed RRM measurement”, [0181], “SIB2 may include the above-mentioned configuration parameters for RRM measurement relaxation”);
determine, based on the relaxed measurement parameters, a mobility state of the UE being in a low mobility state and a location of the UE being not at an edge of the serving cell (Kim, Fig. 1E, [0124], “the UE 1e-05 may apply the configuration parameters provided from the gNB 1e-10 to the predefined mathematical formulas to evaluate whether the UE stops or moves at a low speed and whether the UE is located in a cell edge, in operation 1e-20”);
defer, while (i) the UE is camped in the VPLMN (Kim, [0240], Table 2, “a periodic search for a higher priority PLMN while camped normally in a VPLMN”), (ii) the mobility state of the UE is in the low mobility state (Kim, [0146], “That any one of the first to fifth mathematical formulas applied by the UE 1e-05 is fulfilled may represent that the UE 1e-05 is in a mobility state in which the relaxed RRM measurement is applicable (that is, a stop state or a low-speed state)”) and (iii) the location of the UE is not at the edge of the serving cell (Kim, [0146], “That any one of the first to fifth mathematical formulas applied by the UE 1e-05 is fulfilled may represent that…and the UE 1E-05 is not in a cell edge”), a background PLMN (BPLMN) search (Kim, Fig. 2E, [0280], “when the Equation(s) is fulfilled, the UE may perform intra-frequencies or inter-frequencies measurement relaxation to reduce UE consumption power”. [0118], “The relaxed RRM measurement is technology of reducing consumption power of UEs by applying a longer measurement period or reducing the number of cells or frequencies to be measured when a predefined condition is fulfilled”, [0268], “the UE 2d-05 may apply a longer measurement period than in a normal RRM measurement operation or reduce the number of cells or frequencies which need to be measured, thereby reducing consumption power of the UE”. The UE performs relaxed measurement by applying a long measurement period (i.e. postponing or deferring), based on the mobility state of the UE being stop or low-speed and the UE not being in the cell edge) corresponding to a periodic background scan for at least one of a home PLMN (HPLMN) or a higher priority PLMN (HPPLMN) (Kim, [0027], the intra-frequency and inter-frequency measurements include Srxlev and Squal. [0240], Table 2, the measurements performed by the UE (Srxlev and Squal) include the parameter Qrxlevminoffset which is an offset to the signaled Qrxlevmin taken into account in the Srxlev evaluation as a result of a periodic search for a higher priority PLMN while camped normally in a VPLMN, and the parameter Qqualminoffset which is an offset to the signaled Qqualmin taken into account in the Squal evaluation as a result of a periodic search for a higher priority PLMN while camped normally in a VPLMN) until determining the mobility state of the UE being not in the low mobility state and the location of the UE being in at the edge of the serving cell (Kim, [0146], “That any one of the first to fifth mathematical formulas applied by the UE 1e-05 is fulfilled may represent that the UE 1e-05 is in a mobility state in which the relaxed RRM measurement is applicable (that is, a stop state or a low-speed state) and the UE 1E-05 is not in a cell edge”. Fig. 1F, [0160], [0162]-[0163], the UE performs relaxed measurements (step 1f-25) until it is checked and determined in steps 1f-30 and 1f-15 that the relaxed monitoring criterion is not fulfilled (No route in step 1f-15). Fig. 1H, [0196], step 1h-35, after performing the relaxed RRM measurements, the UE stops the relaxed RRM measurements when the relaxed monitoring criterion is fulfilled no longer. Fig. 2E, [0281], “when the Equation(s) is not fulfilled, the UE may perform normal intra-frequencies or inter-frequencies measurement”. The UE performs relaxed measurements until it is determined that the relaxed monitoring criterion is not fulfilled. At that point, when the UE is not in a stop or a low-speed state and the UE is in a cell edge, the UE performs normal measurements); and
after determining the mobility state of the UE being not in the low mobility state and the location of the UE being in at the edge of the serving cell (Kim, [0146], “That any one of the first to fifth mathematical formulas applied by the UE 1e-05 is fulfilled may represent that the UE 1e-05 is in a mobility state in which the relaxed RRM measurement is applicable (that is, a stop state or a low-speed state) and the UE 1E-05 is not in a cell edge”. Fig. 2E, [0279], [0281], the UE determines that the Equations are not fulfilled. Not fulfilled represents that the UE is not in a stop or a low-speed state and the UE is in a cell edge), perform the BPLMN search while the UE is camped in the VPLMN (Kim, Fig. 2E, [0281], “when the Equation(s) is not fulfilled, the UE may perform normal intra-frequencies or inter-frequencies measurement”. [0027], the intra-frequency and inter-frequency measurements include Srxlev and Squal. [0240], Table 2, the measurements performed by the UE (Srxlev and Squal) include the parameter Qrxlevminoffset which is an offset to the signaled Qrxlevmin taken into account in the Srxlev evaluation as a result of a periodic search for a higher priority PLMN while camped normally in a VPLMN, and the parameter Qqualminoffset which is an offset to the signaled Qqualmin taken into account in the Squal evaluation as a result of a periodic search for a higher priority PLMN while camped normally in a VPLMN).
Kim teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Kim does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 11, wherein the serving cell is associated with a visited public land mobile network (PLMN) (VPLMN) in which the UE is camped.
However, Boettger teaches wherein the serving cell is associated with a visited public land mobile network (PLMN) (VPLMN) in which the UE is camped (Boettger, [0021], “a user equipment (UE) that is connected to a VPLMN searches for and discovers an HPLMN”, Fig. 1, [0022], “Per the 3GPP, the mechanism that allow devices to return from the VPLMN to the HPLMN is a periodic background search (or “HPLMN search”), in which UEs check for the presence of the HPLMN on an infrequent basis (e.g., every 20 minutes)”, [0027], “While traveling, UE 110 may remain connected to base station 120 of the VPLMN and search for cells from the HPLMN”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kim to have the features, as taught by Boettger in order to enable a UE to perform HPLMN searches in a manner that optimizes search frequency and battery power conservation, and in so doing, may help address significant pragmatic issues involved in bootstrapping a wireless network service (Boettger, [0026]).
As to claim 16, Kim teaches wherein the relaxed measurement parameters include a low mobility parameter and a cell edge parameter (Kim, Fig. 1E, [0122], “a UE 1e-05 … may receive system information including configuration parameters required for determining UE mobility and a UE location, from a gNB 1e-10, in operation 1e-15. The system information may include configuration parameters related to relaxed RRM measurement”, [0124], “the UE 1e-05 may apply the configuration parameters provided from the gNB 1e-10 to the predefined mathematical formulas to evaluate whether the UE stops or moves at a low speed and whether the UE is located in a cell edge, in operation 1e-20”),
wherein the UE being in the low mobility state is determined based on the low mobility parameter (Kim, Fig. 1E, [0124], “the UE 1e-05 may apply the configuration parameters provided from the gNB 1e-10 to the predefined mathematical formulas to evaluate whether the UE stops or moves at a low speed), and
wherein the UE being not at the edge of the serving cell is determined based on the cell edge parameter the cell edge parameter (Kim, Fig. 1E, [0124], “the UE 1e-05 may apply the configuration parameters provided from the gNB 1e-10 to the predefined mathematical formulas to evaluate whether the UE stops or moves at a low speed and whether the UE is located in a cell edge, in operation 1e-20”. [0140], “Thresh.sub.RelaxedP=Minimum required RX level to indicate that UE is not in cell edge (decibemilliwatts (dBm))”, [0142], “Q.sub.rxlevmeas=Measured cell RX level value (RSRP)”).
Claims 7 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2021/0105643) (provided in the IDS), hereinafter “Kim” in view of Boettger et al. (US 2023/0408626), hereinafter “Boettger” and further in view of Zhu et al. (US 2023/0413152), hereinafter “Zhu”.
As to claim 7, Kim teaches further comprising:
wherein the one or more states of the UE are determined based on the relaxed measurement parameters (Kim, Fig. 1E, [0124], “the UE 1e-05 may apply the configuration parameters provided from the gNB 1e-10 to the predefined mathematical formulas to evaluate whether the UE stops or moves at a low speed and whether the UE is located in a cell edge, in operation 1e-20”. Fig. 1I, [0210], “the controller 1i-40 may include a communication processor CP for performing control for communication, and an application processor AP for controlling an upper layer of an application program, etc. Also, the controller 1i-40 may control the UE to perform the method for performing relaxed RRM measurement as described above”), and the one or more states of the UE include at least one of a stationary state, the low mobility state, a high mobility state or a location state (Kim, Fig. 1E, [0111], “The mobility states may be divided into a Normal-mobility state, a Medium-mobility state, and a High-mobility state. Generally, the High-mobility state means a highest UE mobility”, [0124], “the UE 1e-05 may apply the configuration parameters provided from the gNB 1e-10 to the predefined mathematical formulas to evaluate whether the UE stops or moves at a low speed and whether the UE is located in a cell edge, in operation 1e-20”);
performing the BPLMN search (Kim, [0027], the periodic search for a higher priority PLMN while camped normally in a VPLMN) in case that the obtained one or more states of the UE include the at least one of the low mobility state and the high mobility state, wherein the location state indicates that the UE is at the edge of the serving cell (Kim, [0111], high-mobility state, Fig. 2E, [0244]-[0245], the equations are evaluated to determine whether the UE is stopped/moving at low speed and the UE is in the cell edge. [0276]-[0278], equation 1 considers the UE mobility and equation 2 considers if the UE is in a cell edge. [0281], when the equations are not fulfilled (high-mobility state and in the cell edge), the UE perform normal intra-frequencies or inter-frequencies measurement (steps 2e-30 and 2e-40)); and,
deferring the BPLMN search (Kim, [0027], the periodic search for a higher priority PLMN while camped normally in a VPLMN) in case that the obtained one or more states of the UE include the stationary state, wherein the location state indicates that the UE is not at the edge of the serving cell (Kim, Fig. 1E, [0146], “That any one of the first to fifth mathematical formulas applied by the UE 1e-05 is fulfilled may represent that the UE 1e-05 is in a mobility state in which the relaxed RRM measurement is applicable (that is, a stop state or a low-speed state) and the UE 1E-05 is not in a cell edge”, [0154], “The UE 1e-05 may perform intra-/inter-/inter-RAT frequency relaxed RRM measurement, and at this time, the UE 1e-05 may save consumption power by applying a long measurement period compared to general RRM measurement or reducing the number of cells or frequencies to be measured, in operation 1e-30”. The UE performs relaxed measurement by applying a long measurement period (i.e. postponing or deferring), based on the mobility state of the UE being stop or low-speed and the UE not being in the cell edge, in order to save power consumption).
Kim and Boettger teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Kim and Boettger do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 7, obtaining one or more states of the UE from at least one machine learning (ML) model associated with the UE, wherein the one or more states of the UE are determined by the ML model.
However, Zhu teaches obtaining one or more states of the UE from at least one machine learning (ML) model associated with the UE, wherein the one or more states of the UE are determined by the ML model (Zhu, Fig. 8, [0146], “the UE 802 may have the at least one neural network and the UE 802 may use the at least one neural network to derive the at least one mobility related prediction associated with the UE 802. The at least one mobility related prediction associated with the UE may include at least one of the UE trajectory prediction, the UE traffic prediction, the RRM measurement prediction, or the UE location and mobility status”, [0149], “the output of the machine learning model for generating the relaxed RRM measurement may include at least one of predicted RRM measurement results or recommended target network nodes to measure and RRM relax level for each of the target network nodes”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kim and Boettger to have the features, as taught by Zhu in order to improve robustness and QoS/QoE during the handover procedure, and reduce UE power consumption and the network resource cost (Zhu, [0028]).
As to claim 15, Kim teaches wherein the processor is further configured to:
wherein the one or more states of the UE are determined based on the relaxed measurement parameters (Kim, Fig. 1E, [0124], “the UE 1e-05 may apply the configuration parameters provided from the gNB 1e-10 to the predefined mathematical formulas to evaluate whether the UE stops or moves at a low speed and whether the UE is located in a cell edge, in operation 1e-20”. Fig. 1I, [0210], “the controller 1i-40 may include a communication processor CP for performing control for communication, and an application processor AP for controlling an upper layer of an application program, etc. Also, the controller 1i-40 may control the UE to perform the method for performing relaxed RRM measurement as described above”), and the one or more states of the UE include at least one of a stationary state, the low mobility state, a high mobility state or a location state (Kim, Fig. 1E, [0111], “The mobility states may be divided into a Normal-mobility state, a Medium-mobility state, and a High-mobility state. Generally, the High-mobility state means a highest UE mobility”, [0124], “the UE 1e-05 may apply the configuration parameters provided from the gNB 1e-10 to the predefined mathematical formulas to evaluate whether the UE stops or moves at a low speed and whether the UE is located in a cell edge, in operation 1e-20”);
perform the BPLMN search (Kim, [0027], the periodic search for a higher priority PLMN while camped normally in a VPLMN) in case that the obtained one or more states of the UE include the at least one of the low mobility state and the high mobility state, wherein the location state indicates that the UE is at the edge of the serving cell (Kim, [0111], high-mobility state, Fig. 2E, [0244]-[0245], the equations are evaluated to determine whether the UE is stopped/moving at low speed and the UE is in the cell edge. [0276]-[0278], equation 1 considers the UE mobility and equation 2 considers if the UE is in a cell edge. [0281], when the equations are not fulfilled (high-mobility state and in the cell edge), the UE perform normal intra-frequencies or inter-frequencies measurement (steps 2e-30 and 2e-40)); or,
defer the BPLMN search (Kim, [0027], the periodic search for a higher priority PLMN while camped normally in a VPLMN) in case that the obtained one or more states of the UE include the stationary state, wherein the location state indicates that the UE is not at the edge of the serving cell (Kim, Fig. 1E, [0146], “That any one of the first to fifth mathematical formulas applied by the UE 1e-05 is fulfilled may represent that the UE 1e-05 is in a mobility state in which the relaxed RRM measurement is applicable (that is, a stop state or a low-speed state) and the UE 1E-05 is not in a cell edge”, [0154], “The UE 1e-05 may perform intra-/inter-/inter-RAT frequency relaxed RRM measurement, and at this time, the UE 1e-05 may save consumption power by applying a long measurement period compared to general RRM measurement or reducing the number of cells or frequencies to be measured, in operation 1e-30”. The UE performs relaxed measurement by applying a long measurement period (i.e. postponing or deferring), based on the mobility state of the UE being stop or low-speed and the UE not being in the cell edge, in order to save power consumption).
Kim and Boettger teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Kim and Boettger do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 15, obtain one or more states from at least one machine learning (ML) model associated with the UE, wherein the one or more states of the UE are determined by the ML model.
However, Zhu teaches obtain one or more states from at least one machine learning (ML) model associated with the UE, wherein the one or more states of the UE are determined by the ML model (Zhu, Fig. 8, [0146], “the UE 802 may have the at least one neural network and the UE 802 may use the at least one neural network to derive the at least one mobility related prediction associated with the UE 802. The at least one mobility related prediction associated with the UE may include at least one of the UE trajectory prediction, the UE traffic prediction, the RRM measurement prediction, or the UE location and mobility status”, [0149], “the output of the machine learning model for generating the relaxed RRM measurement may include at least one of predicted RRM measurement results or recommended target network nodes to measure and RRM relax level for each of the target network nodes”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kim and Boettger to have the features, as taught by Zhu in order to improve robustness and QoS/QoE during the handover procedure, and reduce UE power consumption and the network resource cost (Zhu, [0028]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-10 and 18-22 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter, since no prior arts were found to disclose the features of the claims as shown below.
Kim et al. (US 2021/0105643) (provided in the IDS), hereinafter “Kim” and Manepalli et al. (US 2017/0318536), hereinafter “Manepalli” are the closest prior arts found after examiner’s thorough search.
Regarding independent claim 8, the closes prior art Kim discloses a process of performing relaxed RRM measurement by a UE and a gNB (Kim, Fig. 1E, [0121]). Kim recites in [0122] “a UE 1e-05 … may receive system information including configuration parameters required for determining UE mobility and a UE location, from a gNB 1e-10, in operation 1e-15. The system information may include configuration parameters related to relaxed RRM measurement”, in [0181] “SIB2 may include the above-mentioned configuration parameters for RRM measurement relaxation”, in [0146], “That any one of the first to fifth mathematical formulas applied by the UE 1e-05 is fulfilled may represent that the UE 1e-05 is in a mobility state in which the relaxed RRM measurement is applicable (that is, a stop state or a low-speed state) and the UE 1E-05 is not in a cell edge”, and in [0154], “The UE 1e-05 may perform intra-/inter-/inter-RAT frequency relaxed RRM measurement, and at this time, the UE 1e-05 may save consumption power by applying a long measurement period compared to general RRM measurement or reducing the number of cells or frequencies to be measured, in operation 1e-30”. The UE performs relaxed measurement by applying a long measurement period (i.e. postponing or deferring), based on the mobility state of the UE being stop or low-speed and the UE not being in the cell edge, in order to save power consumption.
Regarding independent claim 8, the closes prior art Manepalli recites in [0005], [0006], “a longer C-DRX cycle length may result in less frequent measurement reports being provided to the serving cell than a shorter C-DRX cycle”, in [0084], “C-DRX cycle lengths…monitoring control channels, performing cell/neighbor measurements and transmitting measurement reports, etc.) during each C-DRX cycle”, and in [0086], “while operating in C-DRX may reduce power consumption by the UE 106, it may also reduce the frequency with which serving cell and/or neighboring cell measurements are taken and/or reported back to the serving cell”. Manepalli further recites in [0098], “the UE 106 to request C-DRX reconfiguration to increase C-DRX cycle length based on mobility and/or signal conditions…trigger the UE 106 to initiate C-DRX reconfiguration to increase C-DRX cycle length if signal conditions improve and/or mobility conditions become more stationary after the UE 106 has previously decreased C-DRX cycle length due to poor signal conditions and/or high mobility conditions…”. The measurements that fall outside of the C-DRX cycle are not performed. The cycle is based on UE conditions, such as mobility, signal conditions, etc. Manepalli further discloses in Fig. 7, step 704, [0083], that the BS selects C-DRX configuration for use by the UE and provide the configuration to the UE. The measurements that fall inside of the C-DRX cycle are performed.
However, regarding independent claim 8, Kim and Manepalli either alone or in combination fail to teach or suggest the underlined claimed features of “A method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a communication system, the method comprising:
receiving, from a serving cell, a system information block 2 (SIB2) including relaxed measurement parameters;
receiving, from the serving cell, connected mode discontinuous reception (CDRX) configuration information and measurement gap configuration information;
determining, based on the relaxed measurement parameters, a mobility state of the UE being in a low mobility state and a location of the UE being not at an edge of the serving cell;
determining, based on the CDRX configuration information and the measurement gap configuration information, that a measurement gap falls during a CDRX sleep duration of the CDRX;
deferring, while (i) the mobility state of the UE is in the low mobility state and (ii) the location of the UE is not at the edge of the serving cell, a neighbor cell measurement during the measurement gap that falls during the CDRX sleep duration until a next measurement gap that does not fall during the CDRX sleep duration determined based on the CDRX configuration information and the measurement gap configuration information, until determining the mobility state of the UE being not in the low mobility state and the location of the UE being in at the edge of the serving cell; and
after determining the mobility state of the UE being not in the low mobility state and the location of the UE being in at the edge of the serving cell, performing the neighbor cell measurement during the measurement gap that falls during the CDRX sleep duration” when taking in context of claim 8 as a whole. The same rationale applies to independent claim 18. Therefore, allowable over the prior art of record, when interpreted in accordance with the present specification description.
Conclusion
/RICARDO H CASTANEYRA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473