DETAILED ACTION
A)
The amendment filed on 08/04/2026 has been acknowledged.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114.
Amendment Summary
Claims 1, 8, 15 are amended.
Response to Arguments/Amendment
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims # 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the combination of the references being used for the current rejection of the above claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Park (US 2022/0240152 A1) in view of Galmes (US 2020/0084743 A1)
Regarding Claim 1, 8, 15
Park discloses a system (See Fig.2),
the system comprising:
one or more hardware processors (See Fig.2; The devices in the system merely comprises processor) configured by machine-readable
instructions (See [0039-0040]; devices comprises computer program instructions) to:
receive, at an Access, Mobility and Management Function (AMF) (Fig.7(702)), an initial attach request (See [0076-0078]; [0085-0086]; the UE 701 may transmit a control message requesting an initial attach to the network) from a wireless device (See Fig.2(201)); [0076-0078]; [0085-0086]; UE)
determine, at the AMF (Fig.7(702)), and from the initial attach request (See [0085-0086]; the UE 701 may transmit a control message requesting an initial attach to the network) an originating radio access technology (RAT) (See [0085-0086]; AMF of the network determine first RAT) and a destination radio access technology (RAT) (See [0085-0086]; AMF of the network determine second RAT) for the initial attach request (See [0085-0086]; in the message request) and
transmit, by the AMF (Fig.7(702)), a message including the originating RAT and destination RAT for the initial attach request (See [0076-0078]; [0085-0086]; the UE 701 may transmit a control message requesting an initial attach to the network) to a subscriber profile (See [0086]; the first RAT network, for example, the MME (AMF in the case of 5G RAT network) 702 of the 4G RAT network, may request subscription information of the UE 701 from the HSS+UDM 704, and may receive the subscription information of the UE 701 from the HSS+UDM 704 in response to the subscription information request) associated with the wireless device (See Fig.2(201)); [0085]; UE)
wherein the message corresponds to a handover type for the initial attach request (See [0076-0078]; [0085-0086]; a UE can decide to switch to a 5G network after previously been attached to 4G network).
But Park fails to explicitly recite about
a unified data management (UDM) that updates a subscriber profile associated with the wireless device stored in a unified data repository (UDR), such that the subscriber profile is updated with corresponding fields for the originating RAT and the destination RAT,
However in an analogous art,
Galmes teaches about UE mobility from 5G core to 4G core and vice versa wherein a user profile in the UDR can be updated by the UDM with corresponding fields for the originating RAT and the destination RAT (See [0020]; [0111-0117]; For an existing 4G user the profile is updated to 5GC including new data, then when 5GC data is read, it could be added the information about whether this subscription is 4G enabled).
Park and Galmes are analogous art because they all pertain to cellular wireless technology where multiple RAT can be used to establish communication. Park teaches about a network determining a UE originating RAT and destination RAT through an initial attach request. Galmes teaches about UE mobility from 5G core to 4G core and vice versa wherein a user profile in the UDR can be updated by the UDM with corresponding fields for the originating RAT and the destination RAT. Park could use Galmes features in order to streamline the handover from the first RAT to the second RAT network benefiting from all the subscription RAT features. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of the filling of the application to combine Park and Galmes as to obtain an efficient cellular internetworking system.
Claim(s) 2-7, 9-14, 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Park (US 2022/0240152 A1) in view of Galmes (US 2020/0084743 A1) and further in view of Ahmadi (US 2021/0092586 A1).
Regarding Claim 2, 9, 16,
Park and Galmes teach all the features with respect to claim 1, 8, 15
But Park and Galmes fail to explicitly recite
wherein the one or more hardware processors are further configured by machine-readable instructions to
generate a service base interface (SBI) HTTP2 message for 5G.
However in an analogous art,
Ahmadi teaches about a network that uses service base interface (SBI) HTTP2 message for 5G in order to authenticate UE (See [0026-0027]).
Park, Galmes and Ahmadi are analogous art because they all pertain to cellular wireless technology where multiple RAT can be used to establish communication. Park teaches about a network determining a UE originating RAT and destination RAT through an initial attach request. Ahmadi teaches about a network that uses service base interface (SBI) HTTP2 message for 5G in order to authenticate UE through internetwork system. Park and Galmes could use Ahmadi features in order to authenticate a UE through its subscription for use of other RAT network in UDM database. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of the filling of the application to combine Park, Galmes and Ahmadi as to obtain an efficient cellular internetworking system.
Regarding Claim 3, 10, 17
Park, Galmes and Ahmadi teach all the features with respect to claim 2, 9, 16 and Park further teaches
wherein the one or more hardware processors (See Fig.2; The devices in the system merely comprises processor) are further
configured by machine-readable instructions (See [0039-0040]; devices comprises computer program instructions) to
assign attributes for the initial attach request (See [0091-0092]; assigned attributes by receiving attach request from UE and from requesting subscription information from UDM/HSS)
wherein the attributes comprise
a member (See [0091-0092]; support mobility between RATs),
string value (See [0091-0092]; text data or integer is used to indicate mobility) value (See [0091-0092]; using handover for mobility between 4G and 5G)
Regarding Claim 4, 11
Park, Galmes and Ahmadi teach all the features with respect to claim 3, 10 and Ahmadi further teaches
wherein the one or more hardware processors are further
configured by machine-readable instructions to
transmit the SBI HTTP2 message to a unified data management of a mobile network operator (See [0026-0027]; SBI HTTP2 message is transmitted to the UDM).
Regarding Claim 5, 12
Park, Galmes and Ahmadi teach all the features with respect to claim 4, 11 and Park further teaches
wherein the one or more hardware processors are further configured by machine-readable instructions to
update the subscriber profile for the wireless device (See [0087]; MME/AMF store updated requested subscription information from UDM/HSS) maintained in a unified data repository (See [0087]; UDM/HSS fetched subscription information from UDR) with corresponding fields for the attributes for the initial attach request (See [0091-0092]; assigned attributes by receiving attach request from UE and from requesting subscription information from UDM/HSS).
Regarding Claim 6, 13
Park, Galmes and Ahmadi teach all the features with respect to claim 3, 10 and Park further teaches
wherein the member is handover type (See fig.5; [0076]; [0091]; an attach request comprising a handover type like RAT support for 4G/5G) .
Regarding Claim 7, 14
Park, Galmes and Ahmadi teach all the features with respect to claim 6, 13 and Bakker further teaches
wherein the string value is handover (See fig.5; [0091]; [0113]; mobility support from 4G-5G is attributed through indication).
Regarding Claim 18,
Park, Galmes and Ahmadi teach all the features with respect to claim 17 and Park further teaches
wherein the value identifies the originating RAT and the destination RAT (See [0091-0092]; the values of RATs 4G/5G are stored in AMF/MME).
Claim(s) 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 2022/0240152 A1) in view of Galmes (US 2020/0084743 A1) in view of Ahmadi (US 2021/0092586 A1) and further in view of Chin (US 2021/0329514 A1).
Regarding Claim 19,
Park, Galmes and Ahmadi teach all the features with respect to claim 15
But fail to explicitly recite
performing an audit of handovers for a subscriber based on the origination RAT
and the destination RAT maintained in the subscriber profile associated with the
wireless device.
However in analogous art,
Chin teaches a UE configured to track or monitor the quantity of handoffs that are performed between a first RAT and a second RAT during a time period (See [0028]).
Park, Galmes and Ahmadi are analogous art because they all pertain to cellular wireless technology where multiple RAT can be used to establish communication.
Park teaches about a network determining a UE originating RAT and destination RAT through an initial attach request. Ahmadi teaches about a network that uses service base interface (SBI) HTTP2 message for 5G in order to authenticate UE through internetwork system. Chin teaches a UE configured to track or monitor the quantity of handoffs that are performed between a first RAT and a second RAT during a time period. Park, Galmes and Ahmadi could use Chin features in order to evaluate area with signal degradation that result in multiple signal exchange between RATs. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of the filling of the application to combine Park, Galmes, Ahmadi and Chin as to obtain an efficient cellular internetworking system.
Regarding Claim 20,
Park, Galmes and Ahmadi teach all the features with respect to claim 15
But fail to explicitly recite
utilizing the origination RAT and destination RAT maintained in the subscriber
profile for determining poor overage areas due to frequent handovers from the
origination RAT to the destination RAT.
However in analogous art,
Chin teaches about a UE with multiple RATs (LTE/NR) that is experiencing many RAT handovers due to degradation of signal throughput in creatin coverage area (See [0028])
Park, Galmes and Ahmadi are analogous art because they all pertain to cellular wireless technology where multiple RAT can be used to establish communication. Park teaches about a network determining a UE originating RAT and destination RAT through an initial attach request. Ahmadi teaches about a network that uses service base interface (SBI) HTTP2 message for 5G in order to authenticate UE through internetwork system Chin teaches about a UE with multiple RATs (LTE/NR) that is experiencing many RAT handovers due to degradation of signal throughput in creatin coverage area. Park, Galmes and Ahmadi could use Chin features in order to evaluate area with signal degradation using originating RAT and destination RAT that result in multiple signal exchange between them. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of the filling of the application to combine Park, Galmes, Ahmadi and Chin as to obtain an efficient cellular internetworking system.
Conclusion
/GARY LAFONTANT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646