DETAILED ACTION
Receipt is acknowledged of claims filed on 04/15/2026
The amendment filed on 04/15/2026 has been acknowledged.
Amendment Summary
Claims 1, 3, 8, 9, 10, 12, 15, 16, 17, 19, 20 are amended.
Response to Arguments/Amendments
Applicant has amended the independent claims and associated dependent claims. The following OA examination reflect the new amended claims submitted herein. The arguments regarding previous claim submittal are moot since the amended claim has modified the scope of the previous claim. The amended claims are examined below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 1, 8, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park (US 2022/0240152 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, 8, 15
Park discloses a system (See Fig.2),
the system comprising:
one or more hardware processors (See Fig.2; The devices in the system merely comprises processor) configured by machine-readable
instructions (See [0039-0040]; devices comprises computer program instructions) to:
receive, at an Access, Mobility and Management Function (AMF) (Fig.7(702)), an initial attach request (See [0076-0078]; [0085-0086]; the UE 701 may transmit a control message requesting an initial attach to the network) from a wireless device (See Fig.2(201)); [0076-0078]; [0085-0086]; UE)
determine, at the AMF (Fig.7(702)), and from the initial attach request (See [0085-0086]; the UE 701 may transmit a control message requesting an initial attach to the network) an originating radio access technology (RAT) (See [0085-0086]; AMF of the network determine first RAT) and a destination radio access technology (RAT) (See [0085-0086]; AMF of the network determine second RAT) for the initial attach request (See [0085-0086]; in the message request) and
transmit, by the AMF (Fig.7(702)), a message including the originating RAT and destination RAT for the initial attach request (See [0076-0078]; [0085-0086]; the UE 701 may transmit a control message requesting an initial attach to the network) to a subscriber profile (See [0086]; the first RAT network, for example, the MME (AMF in the case of 5G RAT network) 702 of the 4G RAT network, may request subscription information of the UE 701 from the HSS+UDM 704, and may receive the subscription information of the UE 701 from the HSS+UDM 704 in response to the subscription information request) associated with the wireless device (See Fig.2(201)); [0085]; UE)
wherein the message corresponds to a handover type for the initial attach request (See [0076-0078]; [0085-0086]; a UE can decide to switch to a 5G network after previously been attached to 4G network).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-7, 9-14, 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Park (US 2022/0240152 A1) in view of Ahmadi (US 2021/0092586 A1)
Regarding Claim 2, 9, 16,
Park teaches all the features with respect to claim 1, 8, 15
But Park fails to explicitly recite
wherein the one or more hardware processors are further configured by machine-readable instructions to
generate a service base interface (SBI) HTTP2 message for 5G.
However in an analogous art,
Ahmadi teaches about a network that uses service base interface (SBI) HTTP2 message for 5G in order to authenticate UE (See [0026-0027]).
Park and Ahmadi are analogous art because they all pertain to cellular wireless technology where multiple RAT can be used to establish communication. Park teaches about a network determining a UE originating RAT and destination RAT through an initial attach request. Ahmadi teaches about a network that uses service base interface (SBI) HTTP2 message for 5G in order to authenticate UE through internetwork system. Park could use Ahmadi features in order to authenticate a UE through its subscription for use of other RAT network in UDM database. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of the filling of the application to combine Park and Ahmadi as to obtain an efficient cellular internetworking system.
Regarding Claim 3, 10, 17
Park and Ahmadi teach all the features with respect to claim 2, 9, 16 and Park further teaches
wherein the one or more hardware processors (See Fig.2; The devices in the system merely comprises processor) are further
configured by machine-readable instructions (See [0039-0040]; devices comprises computer program instructions) to
assign attributes for the initial attach request (See [0091-0092]; assigned attributes by receiving attach request from UE and from requesting subscription information from UDM/HSS)
wherein the attributes comprise
a member (See [0091-0092]; support mobility between RATs),
string value (See [0091-0092]; text data or integer is used to indicate mobility)
value (See [0091-0092]; using handover for mobility between 4G and 5G)
Regarding Claim 4, 11
Park and Ahmadi teach all the features with respect to claim 3, 10 and Ahmadi further teaches
wherein the one or more hardware processors are further
configured by machine-readable instructions to
transmit the SBI HTTP2 message to a unified data management of a mobile network operator (See [0026-0027]; SBI HTTP2 message is transmitted to the UDM).
Regarding Claim 5, 12
Park and Ahmadi teach all the features with respect to claim 4, 11 and Park further teaches
wherein the one or more hardware processors are further configured by machine-readable instructions to
update the subscriber profile for the wireless device (See [0087]; MME/AMF store updated requested subscription information from UDM/HSS) maintained in a unified data repository (See [0087]; UDM/HSS fetched subscription information from UDR) with corresponding fields for the attributes for the initial attach request (See [0091-0092]; assigned attributes by receiving attach request from UE and from requesting subscription information from UDM/HSS).
Regarding Claim 6, 13
Park and Ahmadi teach all the features with respect to claim 3, 10 and Park further teaches
wherein the member is handover type (See fig.5; [0076]; [0091]; an attach request comprising a handover type like RAT support for 4G/5G) .
Regarding Claim 7, 14
Park and Ahmadi teach all the features with respect to claim 6, 13 and Bakker further teaches
wherein the string value is handover (See fig.5; [0091]; [0113]; mobility support from 4G-5G is attributed through indication).
Regarding Claim 18,
Park and Ahmadi teach all the features with respect to claim 17 and Park further teaches
wherein the value identifies the originating RAT and the destination RAT (See [0091-0092]; the values of RATs 4G/5G are stored in AMF/MME).
Claim(s) 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 2022/0240152 A1) in view of Ahmadi (US 2021/0092586 A1) and further in view of Chin (US 2021/0329514 A1).
Regarding Claim 19,
Park and Ahmadi teach all the features with respect to claim 15
But fail to explicitly recite
performing an audit of handovers for a subscriber based on the origination RAT
and the destination RAT maintained in the subscriber profile associated with the
wireless device.
However in analogous art,
Chin teaches a UE configured to track or monitor the quantity of handoffs that are performed between a first RAT and a second RAT during a time period (See [0028]).
Park and Ahmadi are analogous art because they all pertain to cellular wireless technology where multiple RAT can be used to establish communication.
Park teaches about a network determining a UE originating RAT and destination RAT through an initial attach request. Ahmadi teaches about a network that uses service base interface (SBI) HTTP2 message for 5G in order to authenticate UE through internetwork system. Chin teaches a UE configured to track or monitor the quantity of handoffs that are performed between a first RAT and a second RAT during a time period. Park and Ahmadi could use Chin features in order to evaluate area with signal degradation that result in multiple signal exchange between RATs. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of the filling of the application to combine Park, Ahmadi and Chin as to obtain an efficient cellular internetworking system.
Regarding Claim 20,
Park and Ahmadi teach all the features with respect to claim 15
But fail to explicitly recite
utilizing the origination RAT and destination RAT maintained in the subscriber
profile for determining poor overage areas due to frequent handovers from the
origination RAT to the destination RAT.
However in analogous art,
Chin teaches about a UE with multiple RATs (LTE/NR) that is experiencing many RAT handovers due to degradation of signal throughput in creatin coverage area (See [0028])
Park and Ahmadi are analogous art because they all pertain to cellular wireless technology where multiple RAT can be used to establish communication.
Park teaches about a network determining a UE originating RAT and destination RAT through an initial attach request. Ahmadi teaches about a network that uses service base interface (SBI) HTTP2 message for 5G in order to authenticate UE through internetwork system Chin teaches about a UE with multiple RATs (LTE/NR) that is experiencing many RAT handovers due to degradation of signal throughput in creatin coverage area. Park and Ahmadi could use Chin features in order to evaluate area with signal degradation using originating RAT and destination RAT that result in multiple signal exchange between them. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of the filling of the application to combine Park, Ahmadi and Chin as to obtain an efficient cellular internetworking system.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GARY LAFONTANT/Examiner, Art Unit 2646