DETAILED ACTION
In Request for Continuation filed on 01/30/2026 for amendment filed on 01/12/2026, claims 1-4 and 9-12 are pending. Claim 1 is currently amended. Claims 11-12 are newly added. Claims 1-4 and 9-12 are considered in the current Office Action.
Status of Previous Objections/Rejections
Previous 35 USC 103 rejections are maintained in view of the Applicant’s amendment and argument. See Response to Argument below.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Interpretation
The Examiner wishes to point out the application claims are directed towards an apparatus and as such will be examined under such conditions. The material worked upon or the process of using the apparatus is viewed as recitation of intended use and is given patentable weight only to the extent that structure is added to the claimed apparatus (Please see MPEP 2112.01 and 2114-2115 for further details).
Claim 1 recites the limitation “tunable heat filter” and the Examiner is interpretating the limitation as any heat source that provide heat energy at a selected temperature is considered as tunable heat filter which corresponded to [0025] of the instant application.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “a physical heat block filter”. Due to lack of specific definition from the instant specification, the Examiner is interpreting the limitation under broadest reasonable interpretation which is any heating assembly/source that has a physical structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 12 recites the limitation “wherein the tunable heat filter is configured to simultaneously supply the multiple infrared frequencies” which fails to comply with the written description requirement. At most, the specification discloses “the heat filtering zone 106 may be any type of heat, such as infrared heat, may comprise a plane or a discrete zone/range, may comprise multiple zones employing different temperatures or different types of heat, or may comprise different types of heating methodologies per zone, such as infrared. Moreover, the heat filter 106 discussed herein may be tunable; that is, the heat filter may deliver heat energy at a selected frequency or frequencies, at a selected temperature or temperatures, or the like [0025]”. Nothing in the specification has written description to support that “wherein the tunable heat filter is configured to simultaneously supply the multiple infrared frequencies”. Thus, claim 12 is rejected as fails to comply with the written description.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US2020/0023397 (“Hart et al” hereinafter Hart) and US2009/0014916 (“Nagai et al” hereinafter Nagai).
Regarding Claim 1, Hart teaches an apparatus (Figure 4A and 9B) for anti-cake material jetting for a print build ([0009] and [0111]), the apparatus (Figure 4A and 9B) comprising:
a controller (Figure 1, controller) comprising: at least one processor (Figure 1, all controller comprises of at least one processor); and memory storing instructions that (Figure 1 and [0073], The controller responds by sending a print command to a signal generator, which outputs an electrical signal pulse to eject the particle and fed back to the controller if necessary for adjustment of process parameters affecting particle trajectory and substrate registry, which implied the presence of a memory to store print commands and feedback information), when executed by the at least one processor, causes the at least one processor to perform operations (Figure 1 and [0073]);
a solution dispenser having a solution (Figure 4A and 9B, DPE print head and [0008]-[0009], liquid including particles exit the digital particle ejection (DPE) printhead through the orifice of the printhead), wherein a solute of the solution comprises photosensitive polymers ([0055], DPE printing can use any particulate feedstock including polymers that are melted and can solidify once delivered to the surface [0020] which is the characteristic of a photosensitive polymer) suspended within the solution ([0067], DPE can print virtually any solid object capable of being suspended in a liquid), wherein the photosensitive polymers have a size of 1-5 microns ([0022] and [0064], experiments show that DPE can eject particles in the 1-100 μm size range. The Claims contain limitations which are directed to articles or products worked upon by the claimed apparatus. These limitations are only given patentable weight to the extent which effects the structure of the claimed invention. Please see MPEP 2115. In this case, the apparatus of Hart is capable of printing particles in the 1-100 μm size range and the photosensitive polymers size does not add additional structure to the device and is thus not given patentable weight);
a jet (Figure 4A, DPE print head comprises a single print nozzle, or an array of print nozzle [0076], liquid including particles exit the digital particle ejection (DPE) printhead through the orifice of the nozzle) configured to dispense the solution ([0069] and [0079]; thus, the apparatus of Hart is capable of being used as intended as discussed above and thus meets all of the structural limitations as claimed);
a tunable heat filter positioned below the jet (Figure 4A and 9B, the energy source is positioned below the nozzle of the printhead); and
an ultraviolet actuator to provide UV light, wherein the UV light is directed to the print build ([0006], there can be 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 or more energy sources and additional photonic sources to modify the composition of the droplet. A droplet of photo-curable liquid can be exposed to a UV light source in flight, causing the droplet composition to gel or solidify [0106]);
wherein the operations comprise: dispersing, by the jet, the solution from the solution dispenser (Figure 1 and [0010]); and adjusting the tunable heat filter to a temperature ([0128], heating profile can be adjusted based on the desired liquid evaporation rate) to (i) burn off, at least in-part, a solvent of the dispersed solution ([0091], [0093], and [0102], as the heat source impart thermal energy to the particle during printing, it is inevitably that some liquid evaporated) and (ii) make molten the photosensitive polymers, as the solution passes through the heat filter downwardly ([0074]); and actuating the molten photosensitive polymers upon receipt at the print build via the ultraviolet actuator ([0106]).
Hart fails to teach a tunable heat filter configured to supply multiple infrared frequencies to create at least two discrete heating zones providing different temperatures per zone as the dispensed solution passes through the heat filter downwardly.
However, Nagai teaches a tunable heat filter configured to supply multiple infrared frequencies to create at least two discrete heating zones providing different temperatures per zone (Figure 3 and [0054], the light source may be an apparatus for emitting ultra violet rays or infrared rays, but a laser light is preferable. The radiation output of the laser light may also be adjusted to control the viscosity of the droplets after irradiation. Furthermore, the radiation output of the laser light may be varied for each discharged droplet [0041]; thus, the radiation output of the light source of Nagai, which is directly proportional to frequency, is capable of supply multiple frequency and different light frequency will generate different heating zone and different temperature. In other words, as the radiation output various based on the droplets, the first droplet will have a first radiation output and the second droplet might have a second radiation output that is different from the first radiation output. As a result, the apparatus of Nagai is capable of creating a different heating zone with different temperature as intended as discussed above and thus meets all of the structural limitations as claimed. See MPEP 2114) as the dispensed solution passes through the heat filter downwardly ([0065], when the discharged droplet is irradiated with laser light 3 , the solvent is evaporated, the polymer particle included in the droplet is heated, and the polymer particle is melted from a solid to a high-viscosity liquid; thus, as different droplet is irradiated will different radiation output, a temperature gradient is created).
Hart and Nagai are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of inkjet printing to generates a 3D object. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modified the tunable heat filter as taught by Hart such that it disclosed the above discussed limitations as taught by Nagai to reduce the stress load on the printed 3D object ([0041]).
Regarding Claim 2, The modified Hart teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the polymers have a size of 1-2 microns.
A claim is only limited by positively recited elements. Thus, "[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); see also In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935).
The Claims contain limitations (the polymers have a size of 1-2 microns) which are directed to articles or products worked upon by the claimed apparatus. These limitations are only given patentable weight to the extent which effects the structure of the claimed invention. Please see MPEP 2115. In this particular case, the polymers have a size about 1-2 microns does not add additional structure to the device and is thus not given patentable weight. Furthermore, [0022] and [0064] of Hart discloses experiments show that DPE can eject particles in the 1-100 μm size range. In this case, the apparatus of Hart is capable of printing particles in the 1-100 μm size range and the polymers size does not add additional structure to the device and is thus not given patentable weight.
Regarding Claim 3, the modified Hart teaches the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the polymers comprise polypropylene.
A claim is only limited by positively recited elements. Thus, "[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); see also In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935).
The Claims contain limitations (the polymers comprises polypropylene) which are directed to articles or products worked upon by the claimed apparatus. These limitations are only given patentable weight to the extent which effects the structure of the claimed invention. Please see MPEP 2115. In this particular case, polypropylene does not add additional structure to the device and is thus not given patentable weight.
Regarding Claim 4, the modified Hart teaches the apparatus of claim 3, wherein the solvent of the solution comprises water.
A claim is only limited by positively recited elements. Thus, "[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); see also In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935).
The Claims contain limitations (solution comprises water) which are directed to articles or products worked upon by the claimed apparatus. These limitations are only given patentable weight to the extent which effects the structure of the claimed invention. Please see MPEP 2115. In this particular case, water does not add additional structure to the device and is thus not given patentable weight.
Regarding Claim 10, the modified Hart teaches the apparatus of claim 1, but fails to explicitly teach the operations further comprising: second dispersing, by the jet, the solution from the solution dispenser; and second energizing the ultraviolet actuator to cure the photosensitive polymers on the print build.
However, Hart teaches the apparatus is used for layer-by-layer deposition and dispersing solutions by the jet (Figure 4A and 9B, DPE print head and [0008]-[0009], liquid including particles exit the digital particle ejection (DPE) printhead through the orifice of the printhead); and droplets of photo-curable liquid can be exposed to a UV light source in flight, causing the droplet composition to gel or solidify [0106]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modified the operations of the modified Hart such that it teaches the above discussed limitation in order to achieved a final product with desired layer thickness and shape ([0008]-[0009]).
Regarding Claim 11, the modified Hart teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the tunable heat filter is configured to be tuned automatically via the controller base on a knowledge as detailed in a print plan of at least one of the photosensitive polymer material, a print rate (Nagai, [0041], radiation output of the laser light may also be adjusted to control the viscosity of the droplets after irradiation. Furthermore, the radiation output of the laser light may be varied for each discharged droplet. Viscosity of the droplet is directly related to the print rate), and a print head speed.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US2020/0023397 (“Hart et al” hereinafter Hart) and US2009/0014916 (“Nagai et al” hereinafter Nagai) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US2015/0132173 (“Bruck et al” hereinafter Bruch).
Regarding Claim 9, the modified Hart teaches the apparatus of claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the tunable heat filter comprises a physical heat block filter comprising at least one level of filtering holes along a heated substrate.
However, Bruck teaches the tunable heat filter comprises a physical heat block filter comprising at least one level of filtering holes along a heated substrate (Figure 1, masking elements 61, 62 may include one or more optically transmissive portions 64, 65 , respectively. Such optically transmissive portions 64 , 65 may be in the form of hollow (empty) portions of the masking elements 61, 62. May be in the form of filtered portions of the masking elements 61 , 62 containing (for example) fine hole patterns in which an amount of the energy beam 20 passing through a filtered portion depends on the size and density of holes contained in the filtered portion [0041]).
Hart and Bruck are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of using a irradiation/light to manufactured a 3D product. Furthermore, Nagai and Bruch are reasonably pertinent to the problem of using a filter to selectively apply different radiation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modified the apparatus of the modified Hart such that it teaches all of the above limitations as taught by Bruck to control the amount of the energy beam passing through a filtered portion depends on the size and density of holes contained in the filtered portion ([0041]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US2020/0023397 (“Hart et al” hereinafter Hart) and US2009/0014916 (“Nagai et al” hereinafter Nagai) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US2018/0319082 (“Barnes et al” hereinafter Barnes).
Regarding Claim 12, the modified Hart teaches the apparatus of claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the tunable heat filter is configured to simultaneously supply the multiple infrared frequencies.
However, Barnes teaches the tunable heat filter is configured to simultaneously supply the multiple infrared frequencies (Figure 1, the combination of the irradiation source 9, the irradiation source is an infrared lamp [0023], and the radiation filter 13 formed the tunable heat filter. The filter 13 allows wavelengths within a narrower wavelength range than the originally irradiated wavelengths to pass through the filter 13 to the media 5 [0019]. Thus, the irradiation source simultaneously supplies an initial infrared wavelength and a different infrared wavelength as the beam travel through the filter. Wavelength is directly related to the frequency).
Hart and Barnes are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of inkjet printing to generates a 3D object. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modified the tunable heat filter as taught by Hart such that it disclosed the above discussed limitations as taught by Barnes to allow wavelengths that have relatively high source intensity and relatively high fusing agent absorption properties to pass through while it absorbs and/or reflects the effective absorption wavelengths of powder without agent ([0030]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 9 and 11-12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The Applicant argues the cited art fails to teach or suggest a tunable heat filter configured to supply multiple infrared frequencies to create at least two discrete heating zones providing different temperatures per zone as the dispensed solution passes through the heat filer downwardly. In particular, while Nagai can utilizes multiple frequencies, it can only be done in an alternating manor, where a single frequency is supplied at a time, nowhere does Nagai teach or suggest supplying multiple frequencies to create at least two discrete heating zones, which one skilled in the art would understand at least implicitly that based on the present disclosure that in order to have at least two discrete heating zones the multiple frequencies are supplied at multiple locations (i.e. zones) and at the same time.
The Examiner respectfully disagreed. Firstly, under the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), the words of a claim must be given their plain meaning unless such meaning is inconsistent with the specification, and it is improper to import claim limitations from the specification into the claim. Nowhere in the current claim language of claim 1 does it recite the need of supply multiple frequencies simultaneously and it is improper to import such limitation from the specification into the claim language. Current claim language recites a tunable heat source located below the jet that can supply various infrared frequencies, either simultaneously or in sequency, to create discrete heating zone with different temperature. Nagai discloses a light source for emitting UV rays or infrared rays (Figure 3 and [0054]) where the radiation output of the laser light may also be adjusted to control the viscosity of the droplets after irradiation. Furthermore, the radiation output of the laser light may be varied for each discharged droplet [0041]; thus, the radiation output of the light source of Nagai, which is directly proportional to frequency, is capable of supply multiple frequency and different light frequency will generate different heating zone and different temperature. In other words, as the radiation output various based on the droplets, the first droplet will have a first radiation output and the second droplet might have a second radiation output that is different from the first radiation output. As a result, the apparatus of Nagai is capable of creating a different heating zone with different temperature as intended as discussed above and thus meets all of the structural limitations as claimed. Thus, the rejection is maintained based on the current BRI of claim language.
Conclusion
/SEYED MASOUD MALEKZADEH/Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1754
XINWEN (CINDY) YE
Examiner
Art Unit 1754