DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/13/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
In response to the Office action dated on 11/04/2025 the amendment has been received on 02/03/2026. Claims 35, 41, 44 and 45 have been amended. Claims 46 and 47 have been newly added. Claims 35-47 are currently pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-9, filed on 02/03/2026, with respect to claims 35-47 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The appropriate claims have been amended in order to overcome the rejections provided in the previous Office action. Therefore, all the previous rejections of claims 35-45 have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection, necessitated by the amendment is made in view of Horiuchi et al. (US PAP 2023/0267608 A1) in view of Ma et al. (US PAP 2022/0353409 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 35-47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horiuchi et al. (US PAP 2023/0267608 A1) in view of Ma et al. (US PAP 2022/0353409 A1).
With respect to claims 35, 44 and 45, Horiuchi et al. teaches (see abstract; Figs.1-24) a radiographic imaging support system, a radiographic imaging support method that supports positioning of a radiographing site of a subject with respect to the radiographic imaging apparatus (2) and a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a program for causing a computer of a radiographic imaging support system that supports positioning of a radiographing site of a subject with respect to the radiographic imaging apparatus (2), wherein
the radiographic imaging support system comprising (see abstract; Figs. 1-24; paragraphs 0005-0014, 0019, 0040-00046, 0053-0055, 0062-0067, 0071-0103, 016-0155, 0117, 0120-0129, 0133-0143, 0147; claims 1-8):
a hardware processor (57) that acquires image information based on an optical image obtained by capturing an image of the radiographing site with an optical camera (19) (see abstract; Figs. 1-24; paragraphs 0005-0014, 0019, 0040-00046, 0053-0055, 0062-0067, 0071-0103, 016-0155, 0117, 0120-0129, 0133-0143, 0147; claims 1-8), generates first target position information regarding a target position of the radiographing site, and outputs the generated first target position information, wherein the first target position information includes information corresponding to a size of the radiographing site (see abstract; Figs. 1-24; paragraphs 0005-0014, 0019, 0040-00046, 0053-0055, 0062-0067, 0071-0103, 016-0155, 0117, 0120-0129, 0133-0143, 0147; claims 1-8)
but fails to explicitly teach or make obvious that generating first target position information regarding a target position of the radiographing site based on first current position information regarding a position of the radiographing site, and outputting the generated first target position information, wherein the first target position information is position information for positioning the radiographing site.
Ma et al. discloses a radiographic imaging support system, a radiographic imaging support method that supports positioning of a radiographing site of a subject with respect to the radiographic imaging apparatus and a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a program for causing a computer of a radiographic imaging support system that supports positioning of a radiographing site of a subject with respect to the radiographic imaging apparatus (see abstract; Figs. 1-10; paragraphs 0074, 0094, 0097, 0102, 0104, 0115, 0116, 0118, 0123, 0127, 0138, 0164, 0173 and 0199)
which explicitly teaches that components of the imaging device (110) may execute the control instruction. The imaging device (110) may be adjusted from the current position to the target position according to the control instruction (see paragraphs 0102, 0104, 0116, 0118, 0123 and 0199) in order to provide user with the capabilities to determine if the posture of the object is incompatible with the pending imaging protocol, it may be that the pending imaging protocol is selected improperly, the current posture and/or position of the object is different from the posture specified by target patient positioning information of the object, or both the current posture and/or position of the object and the pending imaging protocol are improper (see paragraphs 0102, 0104, 0116, 0118, 0123 and 0199). In some embodiments, when the processing device (120) determines that the preliminary image is incompatible with the pending imaging protocol, the processing device (120) may further determine whether the incompatibility is due to an improper pending imaging protocol and/or due to an improper current posture and/or position of the object, and accordingly determine at least one of the prompt information of the protocol adjustment request or the prompt information of the position adjustment request to the user. In some embodiments, the user may determine whether to adjust the pending imaging protocol or adjust the current posture and/or position of the object according to the prompt information (see paragraph 0199).
Horiuchi et al. in view of Ma et al. disclose the related radiographic imaging support system, a radiographic imaging support method that supports positioning of a radiographing site of a subject with respect to the radiographic imaging apparatus.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide teachings that the imaging device may be adjusted from the current position to the target position according to the control instruction as suggested by Ma et al. in the method/apparatus of Horiuchi et al., since such a modification would provide user with the capabilities to that generate target position information regarding a target position of the radiographing site based on first current position information regarding a position of the radiographing site, and output the generated target position information, wherein the first target position information is position information for positioning the radiographing site as needed.
It would have been obvious to treat Horiuchi et al. in view of Ma et al. as related art whereby an improvement on one of the systems/methods would readily be apparent as an improvement on either of the systems.
The Examiner’s conclusion that claims 35, 44 and 45 would have been obvious is based on the fact that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art, that one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and that the combination teaches nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR, 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d at 1385 (2007); Sakraida v. AG Pro, Inc., 425 U.S. 273, 282, 189 USPQ 449, 453 (1976); Anderson ’s-Black Rock, Inc. v. Pavement Salvage Co., 396 U.S. 57, 62-63, 163 USPQ 673, 675 (1969); Great Atlantic & P. Tea Co. v. Supermarket Equipment Corp., 340 U.S. 147, 152, 87 USPQ 303, 306 (1950).
With respect to claim 36, Horiuchi et al. (see abstract; Figs. 1-24; paragraphs 0005-0014, 0019, 0040-00046, 0053-0055, 0062-0067, 0071-0103, 016-0155, 0117, 0120-0129, 0133-0143, 0147; claims 1-8) as modified by Ma et al. (see abstract; Figs. 1-10; paragraphs 0074, 0094, 0097, 0102, 0104, 0115, 0116, 0118, 0123, 0127, 0138, 0164, 0173 and 0199) teaches the radiographic imaging support system according to claim 35 see abstract; Figs. 1-24; paragraphs 0005-0014, 0019, 0040-00046, 0053-0055, 0062-0067, 0071-0103, 016-0155, 0117, 0120-0129, 0133-0143, 0147; claims 1-8), wherein the hardware processor (57) generates first target position information regarding the target position of the radiographing site using the image information acquired as input using a learned classifier (see abstract; Figs. 1-24; paragraphs 0005-0014, 0019, 0040-00046, 0053-0055, 0062-0067, 0071-0103, 016-0155, 0117, 0120-0129, 0133-0143, 0147; claims 1-8).
With respect to claim 37, Horiuchi et al. (see abstract; Figs. 1-24; paragraphs 0005-0014, 0019, 0040-00046, 0053-0055, 0062-0067, 0071-0103, 016-0155, 0117, 0120-0129, 0133-0143, 0147; claims 1-8) as modified by Ma et al. (see abstract; Figs. 1-10; paragraphs 0074, 0094, 0097, 0102, 0104, 0115, 0116, 0118, 0123, 0127, 0138, 0164, 0173 and 0199) teaches the radiographic imaging support system according to claim 35 (see abstract; Figs. 1-24; paragraphs 0005-0014, 0019, 0040-00046, 0053-0055, 0062-0067, 0071-0103, 016-0155, 0117, 0120-0129, 0133-0143, 0147; claims 1-8), wherein the hardware processor (57) generates first target position information regarding the target position of the radiographing site on a basis of first reference position information regarding a radiographing position of the radiographing site and the image information acquired (see abstract; Figs. 1-24; paragraphs 0005-0014, 0019, 0040-00046, 0053-0055, 0062-0067, 0071-0103, 016-0155, 0117, 0120-0129, 0133-0143, 0147; claims 1-8).
With respect to claim 38, Horiuchi et al. (see abstract; Figs. 1-24; paragraphs 0005-0014, 0019, 0040-00046, 0053-0055, 0062-0067, 0071-0103, 016-0155, 0117, 0120-0129, 0133-0143, 0147; claims 1-8) as modified by Ma et al. (see abstract; Figs. 1-10; paragraphs 0074, 0094, 0097, 0102, 0104, 0115, 0116, 0118, 0123, 0127, 0138, 0164, 0173 and 0199) teaches the radiographic imaging support system according to claim 35 (see abstract; Figs. 1-24; paragraphs 0005-0014, 0019, 0040-00046, 0053-0055, 0062-0067, 0071-0103, 016-0155, 0117, 0120-0129, 0133-0143, 0147; claims 1-8), wherein the first target position information includes information regarding an outline of the radiographing site (see abstract; Figs. 1-24; paragraphs 0005-0014, 0019, 0040-00046, 0053-0055, 0062-0067, 0071-0103, 016-0155, 0117, 0120-0129, 0133-0143, 0147; claims 1-8).
With respect to claim 39, Horiuchi et al. (see abstract; Figs. 1-24; paragraphs 0005-0014, 0019, 0040-00046, 0053-0055, 0062-0067, 0071-0103, 016-0155, 0117, 0120-0129, 0133-0143, 0147; claims 1-8) as modified by Ma et al. (see abstract; Figs. 1-10; paragraphs 0074, 0094, 0097, 0102, 0104, 0115, 0116, 0118, 0123, 0127, 0138, 0164, 0173 and 0199) teaches (see abstract; Figs. 1-24; paragraphs 0005-0014, 0019, 0040-00046, 0053-0055, 0062-0067, 0071-0103, 016-0155, 0117, 0120-0129, 0133-0143, 0147; claims 1-8), the radiographic imaging support system according to claim 35, wherein the first target position information is based on an imaging direction of the optical camera (19) (see abstract; Figs. 1-24; paragraphs 0005-0014, 0019, 0040-00046, 0053-0055, 0062-0067, 0071-0103, 016-0155, 0117, 0120-0129, 0133-0143, 0147; claims 1-8).
With respect to claim 40, Horiuchi et al. (see abstract; Figs. 1-24; paragraphs 0005-0014, 0019, 0040-00046, 0053-0055, 0062-0067, 0071-0103, 016-0155, 0117, 0120-0129, 0133-0143, 0147; claims 1-8) as modified by Ma et al. (see abstract; Figs. 1-10; paragraphs 0074, 0094, 0097, 0102, 0104, 0115, 0116, 0118, 0123, 0127, 0138, 0164, 0173 and 0199) teaches the radiographic imaging support system according to claim 35 (see abstract; Figs. 1-24; paragraphs 0005-0014, 0019, 0040-00046, 0053-0055, 0062-0067, 0071-0103, 016-0155, 0117, 0120-0129, 0133-0143, 0147; claims 1-8), wherein the hardware processor (57) outputs the optical image including a radiation detection apparatus provided in the radiographic imaging apparatus and outputs the optical image so that the first target position information is located on at least part of the radiation detection apparatus in the optical image (see abstract; Figs. 1-24; paragraphs 0005-0014, 0019, 0040-00046, 0053-0055, 0062-0067, 0071-0103, 016-0155, 0117, 0120-0129, 0133-0143, 0147; claims 1-8).
With respect to claim 41, Horiuchi et al. (see abstract; Figs. 1-24; paragraphs 0005-0014, 0019, 0040-00046, 0053-0055, 0062-0067, 0071-0103, 016-0155, 0117, 0120-0129, 0133-0143, 0147; claims 1-8) as modified by Ma et al. (see abstract; Figs. 1-10; paragraphs 0074, 0094, 0097, 0102, 0104, 0115, 0116, 0118, 0123, 0127, 0138, 0164, 0173 and 0199) teaches the radiographic imaging support system according to claim 35, wherein the hardware processor (57) outputs the first target position information and first current position information regarding a position of the radiographing site included in the image information, in a distinguishable form (see abstract; Figs. 1-24; paragraphs 0005-0014, 0019, 0040-00046, 0053-0055, 0062-0067, 0071-0103, 016-0155, 0117, 0120-0129, 0133-0143, 0147; claims 1-8).
With respect to claim 42, Horiuchi et al. (see abstract; Figs. 1-24; paragraphs 0005-0014, 0019, 0040-00046, 0053-0055, 0062-0067, 0071-0103, 016-0155, 0117, 0120-0129, 0133-0143, 0147; claims 1-8) as modified by Ma et al. (see abstract; Figs. 1-10; paragraphs 0074, 0094, 0097, 0102, 0104, 0115, 0116, 0118, 0123, 0127, 0138, 0164, 0173 and 0199) teaches the radiographic imaging support system according to claim 41 (see abstract; Figs. 1-24; paragraphs 0005-0014, 0019, 0040-00046, 0053-0055, 0062-0067, 0071-0103, 016-0155, 0117, 0120-0129, 0133-0143, 0147; claims 1-8), wherein the hardware processor (57) determines that the first target position information matches the first current position information in a case where a difference between the first target position information and the first current position information is within a predetermined first threshold, and the predetermined first threshold is set for each of the radiographing site (see abstract; Figs. 1-24; paragraphs 0005-0014, 0019, 0040-00046, 0053-0055, 0062-0067, 0071-0103, 016-0155, 0117, 0120-0129, 0133-0143, 0147; claims 1-8).
With respect to claim 43, Horiuchi et al. (see abstract; Figs. 1-24; paragraphs 0005-0014, 0019, 0040-00046, 0053-0055, 0062-0067, 0071-0103, 016-0155, 0117, 0120-0129, 0133-0143, 0147; claims 1-8) as modified by Ma et al. (see abstract; Figs. 1-10; paragraphs 0074, 0094, 0097, 0102, 0104, 0115, 0116, 0118, 0123, 0127, 0138, 0164, 0173 and 0199) teaches the radiographic imaging support system according to claim 41 (see abstract; Figs. 1-24; paragraphs 0005-0014, 0019, 0040-00046, 0053-0055, 0062-0067, 0071-0103, 016-0155, 0117, 0120-0129, 0133-0143, 0147; claims 1-8), wherein the hardware processor (57) determines that the first target position information matches the first current position information in a case where a difference between the first target position information and the first current position information is within a predetermined first threshold, and in a case where it is determined that the first target position information matches the first current position information, the hardware processor outputs matching in a distinguishable form (see abstract; Figs. 1-24; paragraphs 0005-0014, 0019, 0040-00046, 0053-0055, 0062-0067, 0071-0103, 016-0155, 0117, 0120-0129, 0133-0143, 0147; claims 1-8).
With respect to claim 44, Horiuchi et al. (see abstract; Figs. 1-24; paragraphs 0005-0014, 0019, 0040-00046, 0053-0055, 0062-0067, 0071-0103, 016-0155, 0117, 0120-0129, 0133-0143, 0147; claims 1-8) as modified by Ma et al. (see abstract; Figs. 1-10; paragraphs 0074, 0094, 0097, 0102, 0104, 0115, 0116, 0118, 0123, 0127, 0138, 0164, 0173 and 0199) teaches a radiographic imaging support method (see abstract; Figs. 1-24; paragraphs 0005-0014, 0019, 0040-00046, 0053-0055, 0062-0067, 0071-0103, 016-0155, 0117, 0120-0129, 0133-0143, 0147; claims 1-8) for supporting positioning of a radiographing site of a subject with respect to a radiographic imaging apparatus, the radiographic imaging support method comprising: by a hardware processor (57), acquiring image information based on an optical image obtained by capturing an image of the radiographing site with an optical camera (19) (see abstract; Figs. 1-24; paragraphs 0005-0014, 0019, 0040-00046, 0053-0055, 0062-0067, 0071-0103, 016-0155, 0117, 0120-0129, 0133-0143, 0147; claims 1-8); generating first target position information regarding a target position of the radiographing site; and outputting the generated first target position information, wherein the first target position information includes information corresponding to a size of the radiographing site (see abstract; Figs. 1-24; paragraphs 0005-0014, 0019, 0040-00046, 0053-0055, 0062-0067, 0071-0103, 016-0155, 0117, 0120-0129, 0133-0143, 0147; claims 1-8).
With respect to claim 45, Horiuchi et al. (see abstract; Figs. 1-24; paragraphs 0005-0014, 0019, 0040-00046, 0053-0055, 0062-0067, 0071-0103, 016-0155, 0117, 0120-0129, 0133-0143, 0147; claims 1-8) as modified by Ma et al. (see abstract; Figs. 1-10; paragraphs 0074, 0094, 0097, 0102, 0104, 0115, 0116, 0118, 0123, 0127, 0138, 0164, 0173 and 0199) teaches (see abstract; Figs. 1-24; paragraphs 0005-0014, 0019, 0040-00046, 0053-0055, 0062-0067, 0071-0103, 016-0155, 0117, 0120-0129, 0133-0143, 0147; claims 1-8) a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a program for causing a computer of a radiographic imaging support system that supports positioning of a radiographing site of a subject with respect to a radiographic imaging apparatus to: acquire image information based on an optical image obtained by capturing an image of the radiographing site with an optical camera (19); generate first target position information regarding a target position of the radiographing site; and output the generated first target position information, wherein the first target position information includes information corresponding to a size of the radiographing site (see abstract; Figs. 1-24; paragraphs 0005-0014, 0019, 0040-00046, 0053-0055, 0062-0067, 0071-0103, 016-0155, 0117, 0120-0129, 0133-0143, 0147; claims 1-8).
With respect to claim 46, Horiuchi et al. (see abstract; Figs. 1-24; paragraphs 0005-0014, 0019, 0040-00046, 0053-0055, 0062-0067, 0071-0103, 016-0155, 0117, 0120-0129, 0133-0143, 0147; claims 1-8) as modified by Ma et al. (see abstract; Figs. 1-10; paragraphs 0074, 0094, 0097, 0102, 0104, 0115, 0116, 0118, 0123, 0127, 0138, 0164, 0173 and 0199) teaches the radiographic imaging support system according to claim 37, wherein the hardware processor generates first target position information regarding the target position of the radiographing site by correcting the first reference position information based on the first current position information and the image information acquired (see abstract; Figs. 1-24; paragraphs 0005-0014, 0019, 0040-00046, 0053-0055, 0062-0067, 0071-0103, 016-0155, 0117, 0120-0129, 0133-0143, 0147; claims 1-8).
With respect to claim 47, Horiuchi et al. (see abstract; Figs. 1-24; paragraphs 0005-0014, 0019, 0040-00046, 0053-0055, 0062-0067, 0071-0103, 016-0155, 0117, 0120-0129, 0133-0143, 0147; claims 1-8) as modified by Ma et al. (see abstract; Figs. 1-10; paragraphs 0074, 0094, 0097, 0102, 0104, 0115, 0116, 0118, 0123, 0127, 0138, 0164, 0173 and 0199) teaches the radiographic imaging support system according to claim 35, wherein the first target position information is generated to indicate an appropriate radiographing position of the radiographing site with respect to the radiographic imaging apparatus based on the optical image of the radiographing site, whereby the subject can be positioned at the appropriate radiography position (see abstract; Figs. 1-24; paragraphs 0005-0014, 0019, 0040-00046, 0053-0055, 0062-0067, 0071-0103, 016-0155, 0117, 0120-0129, 0133-0143, 0147; claims 1-8).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Sugahara et al. (US PAP 2024/0415476 A1) teaches a radiographic imaging support system (see abstract; Figs. 1-48; paragraphs 0075-0102 and 0120-0130) comprising:
a radiographic imaging support system including a processor which acquires a two-dimensional image obtained by photographing a subject undergoing radiography with a camera (20), extracts a point of interest of the subject included in the two-dimensional image, defines an imaging region to be imaged by the radiography in the two-dimensional image based on the point of interest, determines whether the imaging preparation state before the radiographic imaging is appropriate
, based on the imaging area, and outputs information according to the determination result (see abstract; Figs. 1-48; paragraphs 0075-0102 and 0120-0130).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to IRAKLI KIKNADZE whose telephone number is (571)272-6494. The examiner can normally be reached 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
Irakli Kiknadze
/IRAKLI KIKNADZE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884
/I.K./ February 25, 2026