DETAILED ACTION
Comments
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 21-40 are pending and examined in the instant Office action.
Information Disclosure Statements
The IDSs filed have been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim(s) 21-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea/law of nature/natural phenomenon without significantly more. Claims 21-38 are drawn to methods, claim 39 is drawn to a system comprising a computer, and claim 40 is drawn to a non-transitory memory.
In accordance with MPEP § 2106, claims found to recite statutory subject matter (Step 1 : YES) are then analyzed to determine if the claims recite any concepts that equate to an abstract idea, law of nature or natural phenomenon (Step 2A, Prong 1). In the instant application, the claims recite the following limitations that equate to an abstract idea:
The independent claims recite the mental step of accessing a graph representing at least the portion of the reference genome and a graph of a variation of the reference genome comprising nodes and edges.
The independent claims recite the mental step of aligning the plurality of sequence reads to the graph.
The independent claims recite the mental step of aligning a sequence read to the graph using a first alignment algorithm.
The independent claims recite the mental step of aligning a sequence read to the graph using a second, different, and linear second alignment algorithm.
The independent claims recite the mental step of generating a plurality of linear sequences using the graph.
The independent claims recite the mental step of comparing the particular sequence read to each of the plurality of linear sequences.
The independent claims recite the mental step of determining an aligned position of the particular sequence read with respect to the portion of the graph based on a result of the comparing.
Claim 22 recites the mental step of selecting a second alignment algorithm based on complexity.
Claim 23 recites the mental step of using a third alignment algorithm.
Claim 24 recites the mental step of determining a number of paths through the portion of the graph, determining whether the number of paths is less than or equal to a threshold number of paths, and selecting a second alignment algorithm upon determining that the number of paths is less than or equal to the threshold number of paths.
Claim 25 recites the mental step of constraining the threshold number of paths.
Claim 26 recites the mental step of determining a number of nodes included in the portion of the graph, determining whether the number of nodes is less than or equal to a threshold number of nodes, and selecting the second alignment algorithm upon determining that the number if nodes is less than or equal to the threshold number of nodes.
Claim 27 recites the mental step of constraining the threshold number of nodes.
Claim 28 recites the mental step of using hash functions along with the alignment algorithms.
Claim 29 recites the mental step of performing a depth-first search.
Claim 30 recites the mental step of walking the graph using a sliding window.
Claim 31 recites the mental step of generating a shift table indicating at least one shift value.
Claim 31 recites the mental step of comparing the particular sequence read to a first portion of at least one linear sequence of the plurality of linear sequences.
Claim 31 recites the mental step of comparing the particular sequence read to a second portion of the at least one linear sequence.
Claim 31 recites the mental step of requiring a separation between the first portion of the at least one linear sequence and the second portion of the at least one linear sequence to be equal to the at least one shift value indicated in the shift table.
Claim 32 recites the mental step of aligning the particular sequence read to a second portion of the graph different from the first portion of the graph.
Claim 33 recites the mental step of determining an alignment position of the particular sequence with the graph based on the results of the alignments.
Claim 34 recites the mental step of selecting aligned positions from portions of graphs.
Claim 35 recites the mental steps of determining multiple measures of qualities of alignments for sequence reads.
Claim 36 recites the mental step of constraining the number of sequence reads.
Claim 37 recites the mental step of constraining the number of base pairs represented by the graph.
Claim 38 recites the mental step of constraining the number of base pairs of a portion of the graph.
These recitations are similar to the concepts of collecting information, analyzing it and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis in Electric Power Group, LLC, v. Alstom (830 F.3d 1350, 119 USPQ2d 1739 (Fed. Cir. 2016)), organizing and manipulating information through mathematical correlations in Digitech Image Techs., LLC v Electronics for Imaging, Inc. (758 F.3d 1344, 111 U.S.P.Q.2d 1717 (Fed. Cir. 2014)) and comparing information regarding a sample or test to a control or target data in Univ. of Utah Research Found. v. Ambry Genetics Corp. (774 F.3d 755, 113 U.S.P.Q.2d 1241 (Fed. Cir. 2014)) and Association for Molecular Pathology v. USPTO (689 F.3d 1303, 103 U.S.P.Q.2d 1681 (Fed. Cir. 2012)) that the courts have identified as concepts that can be practically performed in the human mind or mathematical relationships. Therefore, these limitations fall under the “Mental process” and “Mathematical concepts” groupings of abstract ideas. Merely reciting that a mental process is being performed in a generic computer environment does not preclude the steps from being performed practically in the human mind or with pen and paper as claimed. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then if falls within the “Mental processes” grouping of abstract ideas. As such, claim(s) 21-40 recite(s) an abstract idea/law of nature/natural phenomenon (Step 2A, Prong 1 : YES).
Claims found to recite a judicial exception under Step 2A, Prong 1 are then further analyzed to determine if the claims as a whole integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application or not (Step 2A, Prong 2). This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claims do not recite an additional element that reflects an improvement to technology or applies or uses the recited judicial exception to affect a particular treatment for a condition. Rather, the instant claims recite additional elements that amount to mere instructions to implement the abstract idea in a generic computing environment or mere instructions to apply the recited judicial exception via a generic treatment.
As such, these limitations equate to mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a generic computer that the courts have stated does not render an abstract idea eligible in Alice Corp., 573 U.S. at 223, 110 USPQ2d at 1983. See also 573 U.S. at 224, 110 USPQ2d at 1984. As such, claims 21-40 is/are directed to an abstract idea/law of nature/natural phenomenon (Step 2A, Prong 2 : NO).
Claims found to be directed to a judicial exception are then further evaluated to determine if the claims recite an inventive concept that provides significantly more than the judicial exception itself (Step 2B). The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the claims recite additional elements that equate to mere instructions to apply the recited exception in a generic way or in a generic computing environment.
As discussed above, there are no additional limitations to indicate that the claimed analysis engine requires anything other than generic computer components in order to carry out the recited abstract idea in the claims. Claims that amount to nothing more than an instruction to apply the abstract idea using a generic computer do not render an abstract idea eligible. Alice Corp., 573 U.S. at 223, 110 USPQ2d at 1983. See also 573 U.S. at 224, 110 USPQ2d at 1984. MPEP 2106.05(f) discloses that mere instructions to apply the judicial exception cannot provide an inventive concept to the claims. The additional elements do not comprise an inventive concept when considered individually or as an ordered combination that transforms the claimed judicial exception into a patent-eligible application of the judicial exception. Therefore, the claims do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself (Step 2B : No). As such, claims 21-40 is/are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
35 U.S.C. 103 Rejection #1:
Claims 21-22, 24-28, and 37-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma et al. [Int. J. Bioinformatics Research and Applications, volume 6, 2010, pages 366-383; on IDS].
Claim 21 is drawn to a method for aligning a plurality of sequence reads to a graph representing at least a portion of a reference genome and variation of at least the portion of the reference genome. The method comprises accessing the graph representing at least the portion of the reference genome and the variation of at least the portion of the reference genome, the graph comprising nodes representing genetic sequences and edges connecting at least some of the nodes. The method comprises aligning the plurality of sequence reads to the graph.
The method comprises aligning the particular sequence read to the graph using a first alignment algorithm to identify one or more candidate positions in the graph to which the particular sequence read aligns. The method comprises aligning the particular sequence read to a portion of the graph using a second alignment algorithm different from the first alignment algorithm. The aligning includes the portion of the graph including at least one candidate position of the one or more candidate positions. The second alignment algorithm is a linear alignment algorithm, and aligning the particular sequence read to the portion of the graph uses the second alignment algorithm. The method comprises generating a plurality of linear sequences using the graph, wherein each of the plurality of linear sequences represents at least a portion of a respective path through the portion of the graph. The method comprises comparing the particular sequence read to each of the plurality of linear sequences. The method comprises determining an aligned position of the particular sequence read with respect to the portion of the graph based on a result of the comparing.
Claim 39 is drawn to similar subject matter as claim 1, except claim 39 is drawn to a system.
Claim 40 is drawn to similar subject matter as claim 1, except claim 40 is drawn to a computer readable memory.
The document of Ma et al. studies multiple genome alignment based on longest path in directed acyclic graphs [title]. The abstract of Ma et al. teaches multiple genome sequence alignment with the optimal result being “Sequences of Maximal Unique Matches.” Figure 1 on page 370 of Ma et al. teaches the basic local alignment algorithm for simple and less complex sequences. Figure 2 on page 371 of Ma et al. While Ma et al. selects Figure 1 for the simpler alignment scenario, Ma et al. selects Figure 2 for the more complex alignment scenario. Ma et al. teaches the advanced local alignment algorithm for advanced and more complex sequences. Both local alignment algorithms have nodes representing sequences with edges connecting pairs of nodes representing the sequences to be compared using directed acyclic graphing techniques. Both sequence alignment techniques of Ma et al. are linear alignments. Both Figures 1 and 2 of Ma et al. illustrate the generation of pluralities of linear sequences with aligned positions.
Ma et al. does not teach the computer limitations of the claims.
With regard to claim 22, Figures 1 and 2 of Ma et al. are interpreted to comprise different portions of sequence data wherein the first alignment algorithm is used for Figure 1, and the second alignment algorithm is used for Figure 2, wherein the alignment algorithm in Figure 2 of Ma et al. is more complex than the alignment algorithm in Figure 1 of Ma et al.
With regard to claims 24-27, Figure 2 of Ma et al. illustrates determining a threshold number of six paths through a portion of the graph with 18 nodes, Figure 1 of Ma et al. illustrates determining a threshold number of four paths through the graph with 5 nodes. In both Figures 1 and 2 of Ma et al., there are ten total unique paths for alignment to the same reference sequence. Figure 1 of Ma et al. has less than 10 nodes.
With regard to claim 28, it is interpreted that the plots of Figures 1 and 2 of Ma et al. are a variant of hash tables.
With regard to claims 37-38, Figure 3 of Ma et al. illustrates between 1 million and 1 billion base pairs wherein portions of Figure 3 of Ma et al. represent between 550 and 10000 base pairs.
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the graph analyses of Ma et al. to be computerized wherein the motivation would have been it is obvious to automate a manual algorithm. In re Venner, 262 F.2d 91, 95, 120 USPQ 193, 194 (CCPA 1958).
35 U.S.C. 103 Rejection #2:
Claims 23 and 29-36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma et al. as applied to claims 21-22, 24-28, and 37-40 above, in further view of Bao et al. [Bioinformatics Advance Access, 14 March 2013, 9 pages; on IDS].
Claim 23 recites use of a third alignment algorithm different from the first and second alignment algorithms.
The document of Ma et al. makes obvious using graph theory to demonstrate the properties of two sequence alignment algorithms, as discussed above.
Ma et al. does not teach a third alignment algorithm.
The document of Bao et al. studies boosting RNA-seq assemblies with partial or related genomic sequences [title]. Section 2.1 on page 2 of Bao et al. teaches the third alignment algorithm.
With regard to claim 29, Section 2.2 on page 2 of Bao et al. outlines a depth-first search.
With regard to claim 30, Figure 2 on page 3 of Bao et al. teaches a sliding window search.
With regard to claims 31-34, Figure 2 on page 3 of Bao et al. teaches a shift table with at least one shift value wherein the illustration on Figure 2 on page 3 of Bao et al. plots a shift table. Figure 2 of Bao et al. aligns different potions of sequence reads with different candidate positions to different positions in the reference genome.
With regard to claim 35, Figure 3 on page 6 of Bao et al. teaches multiple quality alignment metrics for different portions of the sequence alignments.
With regard to claim 36, the combinations of sequence reads suggested in the datasets sections 3.1.2 and 3.2.2 is over 600 million sequence reads.
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the graph analyses of Ma et al. by use of the additional data analysis techniques of Bao et al. wherein the motivation would have been that the additional data analysis techniques facilitate a complete analysis of the reference genome [Section 2 and Figures 2-3 of Bao et al.]. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success in combining Ma et al. and Mao et al. because both studies are analogously applicable to multiple alignments of a plurality of sequence reads to a genome.
Double Patenting
Double Patenting Rejection #1:
Claims [21, 27, 37, or 38], 22, [24 or 25], [26 or 27], [32, 33, or 34], 35, 39 and 40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 6, 11, 3, 4, 17, and 19, respectively, of U.S. Patent No. 11,810,648 B2; on IDS in view of Ma et al.
Both sets of claims are analogously drawn to multiple techniques for aligning pluralities of sequence reads to reference genomic data. While the claims of ‘648 recite additional limitations relative to the instantly rejected claims, the claims of ‘648 do not recite all of the limitations in the instantly rejected claims.
The document of Ma et al. studies multiple genome alignment based on longest path in directed acyclic graphs [title]. The abstract of Ma et al. teaches multiple genome sequence alignment with the optimal result being “Sequences of Maximal Unique Matches.” Figure 1 on page 370 of Ma et al. teaches the basic local alignment algorithm for simple and less complex sequences. Figure 2 on page 371 of Ma et al. While Ma et al. selects Figure 1 for the simpler alignment scenario, Ma et al. selects Figure 2 for the more complex alignment scenario. Ma et al. teaches the advanced local alignment algorithm for advanced and more complex sequences. Both local alignment algorithms have nodes representing sequences with edges connecting pairs of nodes representing the sequences to be compared using directed acyclic graphing techniques. Both sequence alignment techniques of Ma et al. are linear alignments. Both Figures 1 and 2 of Ma et al. illustrate the generation of pluralities of linear sequences with aligned positions.
With regard to claim 22, Figures 1 and 2 of Ma et al. are interpreted to comprise different portions of sequence data wherein the first alignment algorithm is used for Figure 1, and the second alignment algorithm is used for Figure 2, wherein the alignment algorithm in Figure 2 of Ma et al. is more complex than the alignment algorithm in Figure 1 of Ma et al.
With regard to claims 24-27, Figure 2 of Ma et al. illustrates determining a threshold number of six paths through a portion of the graph with 18 nodes, Figure 1 of Ma et al. illustrates determining a threshold number of four paths through the graph with 5 nodes. In both Figures 1 and 2 of Ma et al., there are ten total unique paths for alignment to the same reference sequence. Figure 1 of Ma et al. has less than 10 nodes.
With regard to claim 28, it is interpreted that the plots of Figures 1 and 2 of Ma et al. are a variant of hash tables.
With regard to claims 37-38, Figure 3 of Ma et al. illustrates between 1 million and 1 billion base pairs wherein portions of Figure 3 of Ma et al. represent between 550 and 10000 base pairs.
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the graph analyses of the claims of ‘648 by use of the multiple sequence alignment techniques of Ma et al. wherein the motivation would have been that the additional data analysis techniques facilitate a complete analysis of the reference genome [Figures 1 and 2 of Ma et al.].
Double Patenting Rejection #2:
Claims [23, 29, 30, 31, or 36] are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,810,648 B2; on IDS in view of Ma et al. in view of Bao et al.
Both sets of claims are analogously drawn to multiple techniques for aligning pluralities of sequence reads to reference genomic data. While the claims of ‘648 recite additional limitations relative to the instantly rejected claims, the claims of ‘648 do not recite all of the limitations in the instantly rejected claims.
The document of Ma et al. studies multiple genome alignment based on longest path in directed acyclic graphs [title]. The abstract of Ma et al. teaches multiple genome sequence alignment with the optimal result being “Sequences of Maximal Unique Matches.” Figure 1 on page 370 of Ma et al. teaches the basic local alignment algorithm for simple and less complex sequences. Figure 2 on page 371 of Ma et al. While Ma et al. selects Figure 1 for the simpler alignment scenario, Ma et al. selects Figure 2 for the more complex alignment scenario. Ma et al. teaches the advanced local alignment algorithm for advanced and more complex sequences. Both local alignment algorithms have nodes representing sequences with edges connecting pairs of nodes representing the sequences to be compared using directed acyclic graphing techniques. Both sequence alignment techniques of Ma et al. are linear alignments. Both Figures 1 and 2 of Ma et al. illustrate the generation of pluralities of linear sequences with aligned positions.
The document of Bao et al. studies boosting RNA-seq assemblies with partial or related genomic sequences [title]. Section 2.1 on page 2 of Bao et al. teaches the third alignment algorithm.
With regard to claim 29, Section 2.2 on page 2 of Bao et al. outlines a depth-first search.
With regard to claim 30, Figure 2 on page 3 of Bao et al. teaches a sliding window search.
With regard to claim 31, Figure 2 on page 3 of Bao et al. teaches a shift table with at least one shift value wherein the illustration on Figure 2 on page 3 of Bao et al. plots a shift table. Figure 2 of Bao et al. aligns different potions of sequence reads with different candidate positions to different positions in the reference genome.
With regard to claim 36, the combinations of sequence reads suggested in the datasets sections 3.1.2 and 3.2.2 is over 600 million sequence reads.
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the graph analyses of the claims of ‘648 by use of the multiple sequence alignment techniques of Ma et al. and Bao et al. wherein the motivation would have been that the additional data analysis techniques facilitate a complete analysis of the reference genome [Figures 1 and 2 of Ma et al.; Section 2 and Figures 2-3 of Bao et al.].
Related Prior Art
The documents of Kural [WO 2015/058095 A1; on IDS; and WO 2015/058093; on IDS] teach using graph theory to analyze sequence alignments. However, the documents of Kural do not base sequence alignment algorithms on levels of complexities.
E-mail Communications Authorization
Per updated USPTO Internet usage policies, Applicant and/or applicant’s representative is encouraged to authorize the USPTO examiner to discuss any subject matter concerning the above application via Internet e-mail communications. See MPEP 502.03. To approve such communications, Applicant must provide written authorization for e-mail communication by submitting the following statement via EFS-Web (using PTO/SB/439) or Central Fax (571-273-8300):
Recognizing that Internet communications are not secure, I hereby authorize the USPTO to communicate with the undersigned and practitioners in accordance with 37 CFR 1.33 and 37 CFR 1.34 concerning any subject matter of this application by video conferencing, instant messaging, or electronic mail. I understand that a copy of these communications will be made of record in the application file.
Written authorizations submitted to the Examiner via e-mail are NOT proper. Written authorizations must be submitted via EFS-Web (using PTO/SB/439) or Central Fax (571-273-8300). A paper copy of e-mail correspondence will be placed in the patent application when appropriate. E-mails from the USPTO are for the sole use of the intended recipient, and may contain information subject to the confidentiality requirement set forth in 35 USC § 122. See also MPEP 502.03.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s Supervisor, Larry Riggs, Supervisory Patent Examiner, can be reached at (571) 270-3062.
/RUSSELL S NEGIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1686 1 September 2026