DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s arguments, filed 07/30/2026, have been fully considered. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application. Applicant has amended their claims, filed 07/30/2026, and therefore rejections newly made in the instant office action have been necessitated by amendment.
Claims 1-20 are pending and hereby under examination.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 4-5, 11, and 13-14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claims 1 and 11, it appears that step (b) requires at least 3 motion and/or angle sensors. One on each lower limb and one on the lower back. Step (b) should be rewritten to refer to the “at least 3 motion and/or angle sensors throughout the claim to reflect this. For example, claim 1, lines 11-12 could be written as “wherein the at least three motion and/or angle sensors are configured …”. Additionally, claims 4-5 and 13-14 should also reflect this change.
Claim 4, line 2, “disposed near” should read “disposed on”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luinge (US 20080285805) and Oddsson (US 20050131317).
Regarding claim 1, Luinge discloses a system for improving sensorimotor function of a patient, the system comprising:
(a) at least one force and/or pressure sensor attached to or disposed on at least one lower limb or prosthesis of a patient, wherein the at least one force and/or pressure sensor is configured to detect force and/or pressure information relating to the lower limb or prosthesis and transmit force and/or pressure signals based on the force and/or pressure information (Paragraphs 0036 and 51, wherein force sensing shoes include sensors under the heel and forefoot to collect six degree-of-freedom force and moment measurements);
(b) at least one motion and/or angle sensor attached to or disposed on each at least one lower limb or prosthesis and a lower back or lower lumbar region of a patient, wherein the at least one motion and/or angle sensor is configured to detect motion and/or angle information relating to the lower limb or prosthesis and the lower back or lower lumbar region and transmit motion and/or angle signals based on the motion and/or angle information (Fig. 1, sensor modules located on each lower limb and the lower back/lumbar region of the patient; Paragraph 0030, wherein the sensor modules capture 3D position and orientation data, gathering motion data with dix degrees of freedom. The sensor modules collecting the data via inertial sensors such as accelerometers, gyroscopes, or magnetometers);
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Motion/angle sensor disposed the lower back/lumbar region)][AltContent: textbox (Motion/angle sensors disposed on each lower limb)]
(c) a processor configured to receive the force and/or pressure signals and the motion and/or angle signals (Paragraph 0040 and Fig. 3, wherein the sensor fusion circuit 306 is a digital signal processor that obtain estimates of position, velocity, and orientation), generate, in real time, a patient-specific virtual biomechanical model comprising an electronic, real-time full-body human model based on the force and/or pressure signals and the motion and/or angle signals (Paragraph 0033, wherein a biomechanical model assumes a subject’s body includes body segments linked by joints. The model includes 23 segments linked by 22 joints; Paragraph 0043, wherein the sensor fusion algorithms are expandable to a complete body segment model) to calculate an estimated center of pressure and a center of gravity (Paragraph 0051, wherein the sensor fusion circuit 306 estimates the subject’s center of mass and center of gravity).
Luinge discusses that motion capture and analysis systems are used in a variety fields, such as medicine and rehabilitation (Paragraph 0003). However, Luinge fails to disclose generating balance stimulation signals based on the estimated center of pressure and the center of gravity using the electronic, real-time full-body human model, and the system comprising at least one sensory stimulation unit disposed on at least one lower limb or prosthesis of the patient, wherein the at least one sensory stimulation unit comprises at least two stimulators that are actuable to provide stimulation to the patient based on the balance stimulation signals.
Luinge and Oddsson are in the same field of motion analysis. Oddsson teaches a feedback device for measuring balance and producing a stimulation to the wearer. The system includes a stimulation array comprising a vibrotactile feedback array 40 connected to a band worn around the lower limb (Fig. 4). The stimulators respond to the estimates of the center of pressure and/or weight distribution and provides a vibratory stimulus to the user (Paragraphs 0021 and 0070). The model, created using the estimations of the motion and forces provided from the wearable sensors, calculates the center of pressure and gravity as disclosed by Luinge combined with using the center of pressure to stimulate the user with a wearable vibrotactile feedback as taught by Oddsson reads on the claim limitation of “generate balance stimulation signals based on the estimated center of pressure and the center of gravity using the electronic, real-time full-body human model”. As Luinge suggests various uses of the motion capture system for medical and rehabilitative purposes, Oddsson uses motion analysis to provide stimulation to a user via a vibrotactile feedback array based on a center of pressure calculated from the motion sensors. Luinge discloses the center of pressure and gravity measurements from the force sensing shoes and other sensors that contribute to the full-body human model, and Oddsson uses the measurements to provide stimulations to the user. Luinge would benefit from the combination as a user wearing the system would be able to achieve improved upright balance control, reducing risk of falls and injuries (as discussed by Oddsson in paragraph 0006). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Luinge to incorporate the stimulation array based on center of pressure measurements as taught by Oddsson, the benefit being improved upright balance control, reducing risk of falls and injuries, for the user.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Luinge and Oddsson disclose the system of claim 1. Luinge further discloses wherein a first of the at least one force and/or pressure sensor is disposed within or integral with a first pad, wherein the first pad is disposable under a first foot or prosthetic foot of the patient (Paragraph 0051, wherein aiding sensors include force sensing shoes, the force shoes having sensors under the heel and forefoot capable of collecting six degrees-of-freedom).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Luinge and Oddsson disclose the system of claim 2. Luinge further discloses wherein a second of the at least one force and/or pressure sensor is disposed within or integral with a second pad, wherein the second pad is disposable under a second foot or prosthetic foot of the patient (Paragraph 0051, wherein aiding sensors include force sensing shoes, the force shoes having sensors under the heel and forefoot capable of collecting six degree-of-freedom; Examiner notes that Luinge discloses force sensing shoes; as such, two pads are disclosed, each with at least one force sensor).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Luinge and Oddsson disclose the system of claim 1. Luinge further discloses wherein the at least one motion and/or angle sensor comprises five motion and/or angle sensors attached to or disposed on a right foot or ankle, a left foot or ankle, a right thigh, a left thigh, and the lower back or lower lumbar region of the patient (see below).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Motion/angle sensors disposed on each foot/ankle and each thigh)][AltContent: textbox (Motion/angle sensor disposed on the lower back/lumbar region)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Luinge and Oddsson disclose the system of claim 4. Luinge further discloses wherein each of the five motion and/or angle sensors is an inertial motion unit disposed within a sensor processing module (Paragraph 0030 and Fig. 1, wherein the sensor modules 102 collect 3D inertial sensor data via accelerometers and gyroscope, and optionally, magnetometers).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Luinge and Oddsson disclose the system of claim 1. Oddsson further discloses wherein the at least one sensory stimulation unit comprises a first stimulation unit disposed on a first lower limb or prosthesis of the patient and a second stimulation unit disposed on a second lower limb or prosthesis of the patient (Fig. 5 and paragraph 0071, wherein the vibro-tactile array 52 is located on one or more legs of the user. The array includes three vibrator levels, each with four vibrators each).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Luinge and Oddsson disclose the system of claim 1. Oddsson further discloses wherein the at least one sensory stimulation unit comprises a band with four vibrotactile actuators disposed on the band (Fig. 5 and paragraph 0071, wherein the vibro-tactile array 52 is located on one or more legs of the user. The array includes three vibrator levels, each with four vibrators each).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Luinge and Oddsson disclose the system of claim 1. Luinge further discloses a user interface operably coupled to the processor, wherein the user interface comprises a display (Fig. 9, PC/laptop 906 with screen coupled to bus module 904). Although Luinge does not explicitly state that the laptop displays the human body model, Luinge discloses that the computer receives the orientation and position estimates for synchronization of sensor information and processing of sensor data into a sensor fusion circuit (Paragraph 0056). The sensor fusion circuit combines the model constraints and uses algorithms that are expandable to a complete body segment model (Paragraphs 0040 and 0043). It would be obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to then display the model on the screen of the laptop to provide the user a visual interpretation of the data.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Luinge and Oddsson disclose the system of claim 8. Luinge further discloses wherein the user interface comprises an application in a mobile device (Fig. 9, PC/laptop 906).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Luinge and Oddsson disclose the system of claim 9. Luinge further discloses wherein the mobile device comprises a laptop or a smartphone (Fig. 9, PC/laptop 906).
Regarding claim 11, Luinge discloses a system for improving sensorimotor function of a patient, the system comprising:
(a) at least one force and/or pressure sensor attached to or disposed on at least one lower limb or prosthesis of a patient, wherein the at least one force and/or pressure sensor is configured to detect force and/or pressure information relating to the lower limb or prosthesis and transmit force and/or pressure signals based on the force and/or pressure information (Paragraphs 0036 and 51, wherein force sensing shoes include sensors under the heel and forefoot to collect six degree-of-freedom force and moment measurements);
(b) at least one motion and/or angle sensor attached to or disposed on each at least one lower limb or prosthesis and a lower back or lower lumbar region of a patient, wherein the at least one motion and/or angle sensor is configured to detect motion and/or angle information relating to the lower limb or prosthesis and the lower back or lower lumbar region and transmit motion and/or angle signals based on the motion and/or angle information (Fig. 1, sensor modules located on each lower limb and the lower back/lumbar region of the patient; Paragraph 0030, wherein the sensor modules capture 3D position and orientation data, gathering motion data with dix degrees of freedom. The sensor modules collecting the data via inertial sensors such as accelerometers, gyroscopes, or magnetometers);
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Motion/angle sensor disposed the lower back/lumbar region)][AltContent: textbox (Motion/angle sensors disposed on each lower limb)]
(c) a processor configured to receive the force and/or pressure signals and the motion and/or angle signals (Paragraph 0040 and Fig. 3, wherein the sensor fusion circuit 306 is a digital signal processor that obtain estimates of position, velocity, and orientation), generate, in real time, a patient-specific virtual biomechanical model comprising an electronic, real-time full-body human model based on the force and/or pressure signals and the motion and/or angle signals (Paragraph 0033, wherein a biomechanical model assumes a subject’s body includes body segments linked by joints. The model includes 23 segments linked by 22 joints; Paragraph 0043, wherein the sensor fusion algorithms are expandable to a complete body segment model) to calculate an estimated center of pressure and a center of gravity (Paragraph 0051, wherein the sensor fusion circuit 306 estimates the subject’s center of mass and center of gravity);
(e) a user interface operably coupled to the processor, wherein the user interface is configured to receive information from the processor about the electronic, real-time full-body human model (Fig. 9, PC/laptop 906 with screen coupled to bus module 904). Although Luinge does not explicitly state that the laptop displays the human body model, Luinge discloses that the computer receives the orientation and position estimates for synchronization of sensor information and processing of sensor data into a sensor fusion circuit (Paragraph 0056). The sensor fusion circuit combines the model constraints and uses algorithms that are expandable to a complete body segment model (Paragraphs 0040 and 0043). It would be obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to then display the model on the screen of the laptop to provide the user a visual interpretation of the data.
Luinge discusses that motion capture and analysis systems are used in a variety fields, such as medicine and rehabilitation (Paragraph 0003). However, Luinge fails to disclose generating balance stimulation signals based on the estimated center of pressure and the center of gravity using the electronic, real-time full-body human model, and the system comprising at least one sensory stimulation unit disposed on at least one lower limb or prosthesis of the patient, wherein the at least one sensory stimulation unit comprises at least two stimulators that are actuable to provide stimulation to the patient based on the balance stimulation signals.
Luinge and Oddsson are in the same field of motion analysis. Oddsson teaches a feedback device for measuring balance and producing a stimulation to the wearer. The system includes a stimulation array comprising a vibrotactile feedback array 40 connected to a band worn around the lower limb (Fig. 4). The stimulators respond to the estimates of the center of pressure and/or weight distribution and provides a vibratory stimulus to the user (Paragraphs 0021 and 0070). The model, created using the estimations of the motion and forces provided from the wearable sensors, calculates the center of pressure and gravity as disclosed by Luinge combined with using the center of pressure to stimulate the user with a wearable vibrotactile feedback as taught by Oddsson reads on the claim limitation of “generate balance stimulation signals based on the estimated center of pressure and the center of gravity using the electronic, real-time full-body human model”. As Luinge suggests various uses of the motion capture system for medical and rehabilitative purposes, Oddsson uses motion analysis to provide stimulation to a user via a vibrotactile feedback array based on a center of pressure calculated from the motion sensors. Luinge discloses the center of pressure and gravity measurements from the force sensing shoes and other sensors that contribute to the full-body human model, and Oddsson uses the measurements to provide stimulations to the user. Luinge would benefit from the combination as a user wearing the system would be able to achieve improved upright balance control, reducing risk of falls and injuries (as discussed by Oddsson in paragraph 0006). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Luinge to incorporate the stimulation array based on center of pressure measurements as taught by Oddsson, the benefit being improved upright balance control, reducing risk of falls and injuries, for the user.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Luinge and Oddsson disclose the system of claim 11. Luinge further discloses wherein a first of the at least one force and/or pressure sensor is disposed within or integral with a first pad, wherein the first pad is disposable under a first foot or prosthetic foot of the patient (Paragraph 0051, wherein aiding sensors include force sensing shoes, the force shoes having sensors under the heel and forefoot capable of collecting six degree-of-freedom) and a second of the at least one force and/or pressure sensor is disposed within or integral with a second pad, wherein the second pad is disposable under a second foot or prosthetic foot of the patient (Paragraph 0051, wherein aiding sensors include force sensing shoes, the force shoes having sensors under the heel and forefoot capable of collecting six degree-of-freedom; Examiner notes that Luinge discloses force sensing shoes; as such, two pads are disclosed, each with at least one force sensor).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Luinge and Oddsson disclose the system of claim 11. Luinge further discloses wherein the at least one motion and/or angle sensor comprises five motion and/or angle sensors, wherein first and second motion and/or angle sensors are attached to or disposed on a right foot or ankle and a right thigh, respectively, of the patient, third and fourth motion and/or angle sensors are disposed on a left foot or ankle and a left thigh, respectively, of the patient, and a fifth motion and/or angle sensor is attached to or disposed on a lower back or lower lumbar region of the patient (see below).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Motion/angle sensors disposed on each foot/ankle and each thigh)][AltContent: textbox (Motion/angle sensor disposed on the lower back/lumbar region)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Luinge and Oddsson disclose the system of claim 13. Luinge further discloses wherein each of the five motion and/or angle sensors is an inertial motion unit disposed within a sensor processing module (Paragraph 0030 and Fig. 1, wherein the sensor modules 102 collect 3D inertial sensor data via accelerometers and gyroscope, and optionally, magnetometers), wherein the fifth motion and/or angle sensor is operably coupled to a local central processor, wherein the local central processor is in communication with the processor (Paragraph 0031, wherein each sensor module has an internal digital signal processing circuitry; Paragraph 0040, wherein the sensor fusion circuit 306 combines the sensor signals).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Luinge and Oddsson disclose the system of claim 11. Oddsson further discloses wherein the at least one sensory stimulation unit comprises a first stimulation unit disposed on a first lower limb or prosthesis of the patient and a second stimulation unit disposed on a second lower limb or prosthesis of the patient (Fig. 5 and paragraph 0071, wherein the vibro-tactile array 52 is located on one or more legs of the user. The array includes three vibrator levels, each with four vibrators each), wherein each of the first and second stimulation units comprises:
a band configured to be couplable to a lower limb or prosthesis;
the at least two stimulators comprising four stimulators attached to the band; and
one of the at least one motion and/or angle sensor attached to the band (Fig. 5 and paragraph 0071, wherein the vibro-tactile array 52 is located on one or more legs of the user attached to a band. The array includes three vibrator levels, each with four vibrators each).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Luinge and Oddsson disclose the system of claim 11. Luinge further discloses wherein the user interface comprises an application in a mobile device (Fig. 9, PC/laptop 906), wherein the mobile device comprises a laptop, or a smartphone (Fig. 9, PC/laptop 906).
Regarding claim 17, Luinge discloses a system for improving sensorimotor function of a patient, the system comprising:
(a) a first footpad unit comprising a first footpad comprising at least one first force and/or pressure sensor positionable under a first foot or prosthetic foot of a first lower limb or prosthesis of a patient , and a second footpad unit comprising a second footpad comprising at least one second force and/or pressure sensor positionable under a second foot or prosthetic foot of a second lower limb or prosthesis of the patient, wherein each of the at least one first and second force and/or pressure sensors are configured to detect force and/or pressure information relating to the first and second lower limbs or prostheses, respectively, and transmit force and/or pressure signals based on the force and/or pressure information (Paragraph 0051, wherein aiding sensors include force sensing shoes, the force shoes having sensors under the heel and forefoot capable of collecting six degree-of-freedom) and a second of the at least one force and/or pressure sensor is disposed within or integral with a second pad, wherein the second pad is disposable under a second foot or prosthetic foot of the patient (Paragraph 0051, wherein aiding sensors include force sensing shoes, the force shoes having sensors under the heel and forefoot capable of collecting six degree-of-freedom; Examiner notes that Luinge discloses force sensing shoes; as such, two pads are disclosed, each with at least one force sensor);
(b) first and second sensor processing modules comprising at least one first motion and/or angle sensor attached to or disposed on the first lower limb or prosthesis of the patient, third and fourth sensor processing modules comprising at least one second motion and/or angle sensor attached to or disposed on the second lower limb or prosthesis of the patient, and a fifth sensor processing module comprising at least one third motion and/or angle sensor attached to or disposed on a lower back of the patient, wherein each of the at least one first, second, and third motion and/or angle sensors is configured to detect motion and/or angle information relating to the first and second lower limbs or prostheses and the lower back or lower lumbar region and transmit motion and/or angle signals based on the motion and/or angle information (Fig. 1, sensor modules located on each lower limb and the lower back/lumbar region of the patient; Paragraph 0030, wherein the sensor modules capture 3D position and orientation data, gathering motion data with dix degrees of freedom. The sensor modules collecting the data via inertial sensors such as accelerometers, gyroscopes, or magnetometers);
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Motion/angle sensor disposed the lower back/lumbar region)][AltContent: textbox (Motion/angle sensors disposed on each lower limb)]
(c) a processor configured to receive the force and/or pressure signals and the motion and/or angle signals (Paragraph 0040 and Fig. 3, wherein the sensor fusion circuit 306 is a digital signal processor that obtain estimates of position, velocity, and orientation), generate, in real time, a patient-specific virtual biomechanical model comprising an electronic, real-time full-body human model based on the force and/or pressure signals and the motion and/or angle signals (Paragraph 0033, wherein a biomechanical model assumes a subject’s body includes body segments linked by joints. The model includes 23 segments linked by 22 joints; Paragraph 0043, wherein the sensor fusion algorithms are expandable to a complete body segment model) to calculate an estimated center of pressure and a center of gravity (Paragraph 0051, wherein the sensor fusion circuit 306 estimates the subject’s center of mass and center of gravity);
(e) a user interface operably coupled to the processor, wherein the user interface is configured to receive information from the processor about the electronic, real-time full-body human model (Fig. 9, PC/laptop 906 with screen coupled to bus module 904). Although Luinge does not explicitly state that the laptop displays the human body model, Luinge discloses that the computer receives the orientation and position estimates for synchronization of sensor information and processing of sensor data into a sensor fusion circuit (Paragraph 0056). The sensor fusion circuit combines the model constraints and uses algorithms that are expandable to a complete body segment model (Paragraphs 0040 and 0043). It would be obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to then display the model on the screen of the laptop to provide the user a visual interpretation of the data.
Luinge discusses that motion capture and analysis systems are used in a variety fields, such as medicine and rehabilitation (Paragraph 0003). However, Luinge fails to disclose generating balance stimulation signals based on the estimated center of pressure and the center of gravity using the electronic, real-time full-body human model, and the system comprising at least one sensory stimulation unit disposed on at least one lower limb or prosthesis of the patient, wherein the at least one sensory stimulation unit comprises at least two stimulators that are actuable to provide stimulation to the patient based on the balance stimulation signals.
Luinge and Oddsson are in the same field of motion analysis. Oddsson teaches a feedback device for measuring balance and producing a stimulation to the wearer. The system includes a stimulation array comprising a vibrotactile feedback array 40 connected to a band worn around the lower limb (Fig. 4). The stimulators respond to the estimates of the center of pressure and/or weight distribution and provides a vibratory stimulus to the user (Paragraphs 0021 and 0070). The model, created using the estimations of the motion and forces provided from the wearable sensors, calculates the center of pressure and gravity as disclosed by Luinge combined with using the center of pressure to stimulate the user with a wearable vibrotactile feedback as taught by Oddsson reads on the claim limitation of “generate balance stimulation signals based on the estimated center of pressure and the center of gravity using the electronic, real-time full-body human model”. As Luinge suggests various uses of the motion capture system for medical and rehabilitative purposes, Oddsson uses motion analysis to provide stimulation to a user via a vibrotactile feedback array based on a center of pressure calculated from the motion sensors. Luinge discloses the center of pressure and gravity measurements from the force sensing shoes and other sensors that contribute to the full-body human model, and Oddsson uses the measurements to provide stimulations to the user. Luinge would benefit from the combination as a user wearing the system would be able to achieve improved upright balance control, reducing risk of falls and injuries (as discussed by Oddsson in paragraph 0006). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Luinge to incorporate the stimulation array based on center of pressure measurements as taught by Oddsson, the benefit being improved upright balance control, reducing risk of falls and injuries, for the user.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Luinge and Oddsson disclose the system of claim 17. Luinge further discloses wherein the fifth motion and/or angle sensor is operably coupled to a local central processor, wherein the local central processor is in communication with the processor (Paragraph 0031, wherein each sensor module has an internal digital signal processing circuitry; Paragraph 0040, wherein the sensor fusion circuit 306 combines the sensor signals).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Luinge and Oddsson disclose the system of claim 17. Oddsson further discloses
A first stimulation unit disposed on the first lower limb or prosthesis of the patient, the first stimulation unit comprising:
a first band configured to be couplable to the first lower limb or prosthesis;
four first stimulators attached to the first band (Fig. 5 and paragraph 0071, wherein the vibro-tactile array 52 is located on one or more legs of the user. The array includes three vibrator levels, each with four vibrators each).
A second stimulation unit disposed on the second lower limb or prosthesis of the patient, the second stimulation unit comprising:
a second band configured to be couplable to the second lower limb or prosthesis;
four second stimulators attached to the second band (Fig. 5 and paragraph 0071, wherein the vibro-tactile array 52 is located on one or more legs of the user. The array includes three vibrator levels, each with four vibrators each).
The combination of Luinge and Oddsson fails to disclose wherein one of the first and second processing modules is incorporated into the first stimulation unit and one of the third and fourth sensor processing modules is incorporated into the second stimulation unit.
However, as Luinge and Oddsson disclose sensors and stimulators, respectively, on the lower limbs, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine them into one module together to reduce cost and components of the overall system. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the sensor modules of Luinge with the stimulators of Oddsson, the benefit being reduced cost and components of the system.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Luinge and Oddsson disclose the system of claim 17. Luinge further discloses wherein the user interface comprises an application in a mobile device (Fig. 9, PC/laptop 906), wherein the mobile device comprises a laptop, or a smartphone (Fig. 9, PC/laptop 906).
Response to Arguments
Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s arguments of the claim interpretation under 112(f). Examiner agrees with Applicant that the claims, as amended, recite sufficient structure for the elements laid out in the Office Action mailed 03/31/2026. Therefore, the elements are no longer interpreted under 112(f).
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 10-12, filed 07/30/2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. §112(b) rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive.
Applicant has amended the claims to recite that the processor uses the force/pressure signals and motion/angle signals to generate an electronic, real-time full-body human model and calculate an estimated center of pressure and center of gravity. Applicant has amended the claims to recite that the sensors are attached to or disposed on the body of the patient. Applicant has amended the claims to recite that the sensors are disposed in or integral with the first pad. Applicant has amended the claims to recite that the motion/angle sensors are attached to the band rather than “associated with” one of the four stimulators.
The rejection of the claims has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 12-18, filed 07/30/2026, with respect to 35 U.S.C. §102(a)(1) rejections have been fully considered are persuasive. Applicant asserts that Czaja fails to teach or suggest the motion and/or angle sensors or the electronic, real-time full-body human model as claimed. Examiner agrees that Czaja fails to disclose at least 3 motion and/or angle sensors and an electronic, real-time full-body human model. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Luinge and Oddsson as described above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NOAH M HEALY/Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/ADAM J EISEMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791