DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 8-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garretson (US 5772110 A) in view of Jaeschke et al. (US 4214659 A; hereinafter Jaeschke).
Regarding claims 1-2, 4-5, 8-9, 14-15, and 18-20, Garretson discloses a stackable series of interconnected boxes comprising a die cut panel (see Fig. 3) including a plurality of packages wherein a first package of the plurality of packages includes a pair of horizontal edges, wherein a first horizontal edge of the pair of horizontal edges is uncoupled and a second horizontal edge of the pair of horizontal edges is coupled to a third horizontal edge of an adjacent package (see illustration below),
wherein at least one additional package of the plurality of packages includes a pair of vertical edges (edges defining 36 and 37); and a pair of horizontal edges (19 and free edge of 17), wherein a first horizontal edge (19) of the pair of horizontal edges is coupled to a third horizontal edge of an adjacent package (Examiner notes that Garretson’s Figures 1-3 contemplate at least three adjacent packages), wherein one of the first horizontal edge or a second horizontal edge of the pair of horizontal edges includes a tear feature (19; Col 4 lines 30-49) configured to separate each package of the plurality of packages from one another. Examiner considers foldable paperboard to be a semi-flexible material. Garretson lacks a subcutaneous dose of medication held within each package.
Jaeschke teaches an emergency medication package comprising a subcutaneous dose (V) of medication package (E) held within an outer box (see Fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s filing to modify Garretson’s packaging to be used to hold subcutaneous doses of medication, as taught by Jaeschke, in order to safely transport and deliver needed medication (Jaeschke; Col 1 lines 45-65).
Regarding claims 3, 10-12, and 21, Garretson, as modified above, discloses a series of boxes wherein each of the plurality packages are sealable (via Garretson’s top lids; see Fig. 1).
Regarding claims 16-17, Garretson, as modified above, discloses a series of boxes wherein the packages reside in sequential queue in a line when stretched out (Garretson; see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 22, Garretson, as modified above, discloses a container wherein the packages collapses onto another to form a compact box (Garretson; see Fig. 1).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 1-2, filed 08/19/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-6, 8-12, and 14-20 under USC 102(a)(1)—in view of Garretson have been fully considered and are persuasive. Garretson lacks subcutaneous doses of medication. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of USC 103(a)—Garretson in view of Jaeschke.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER R DEMEREE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734