DETAILED ACTION
Amendment received on January 22, 2026 has been acknowledged. Claims 1-4, 14-15 have been cancelled. Claims 20-24 have been added. Therefore, claims 5-13, 16-24 are pending.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “terminal distal end” in claims 20-22; the “first external diameter”, the “second external diameter”, and the “third external diameter” in claims 20 and 22 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). Furthermore, the drawings do not adequately show a “circumferential depression (42)”. Paragraph [55] of the disclosure says the depression causes the discharge part (14) to widen in both directions. However, all of the drawings only show the discharge part widens in one direction. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 5-7, 10-12, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(s)(2) as being anticipated by Ciezarek (US 2025/0162769).
Regarding claim 5, Ciezarek teaches a fluid dispenser (1, Fig 1-8), the fluid dispenser comprising a fluid store (2); a delivery opening (space taken by 10 in Fig 1) through which fluid is discharged to the environment (via 5) in a delivery direction (F); and a housing component (15) penetrated by a delivery opening and having a delivery structure (6) adjoining the delivery opening (as shown in Fig 1) and surrounding a discharge path (5), for influencing a delivery characteristic (¶[55-56]), the delivery structure having a circumferential depression, on an outside thereof (¶[51-53], also shown in Fig 1, as a depression is formed between an upper end of 17 joins an lower end of 15).
Ciezarek further teaches in claim 6 wherein the fluid dispenser is configured as a droplet dispenser (¶[21]); and the delivery structure comprises a droplet formation surface (16; ¶[48-49]) on which droplet formation surface fluid discharged through the discharge opening adheres to form a droplet until the droplet detaches under force of gravity (¶56]);
in claim 7 wherein the droplet formation surface is delimited on an outside by a tear-off edge (end surface of 17 in Fig 1), wherein the tear-off edge is formed with a curvature radius of more than 0.05mm (as shown in Fig 1, end surface of 17 is rounded and although no dimension is disclosed, the curvature of radius of 17 has to be more than 0.05 mm);
in claim 10 wherein the fluid dispenser has a removable and refittable protective cap (4; ¶[45]) covering the delivery opening when fitted (as shown in Fig 8); and the protective cap has an inwardly pointing widening structure (portion of cap 4 in contact with 6, Fig 8) lying against an inside of the delivery structure when the protective cap is fitted (as shown in Fig 8);
in claim 11 wherein the delivery opening and/or the delivery structure has a shape deviating from rotational symmetry (¶[49]);
in claim 12 wherein the fluid dispenser is configured as a squeeze bottle dispenser and has as a fluid dispenser a squeeze bottle compressible manually for delivery purposes (¶[43]); and
in claim 19 (interpreted as product-by-process claim) wherein the protective cap is formed as a screw cap (¶[45]; Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985.) (See MPEP 2113).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-9, 13, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ciezarek.
Regarding claim 8-9, Ciezarek further teaches in claim 8 wherein the delivery structure has on the outside an external widening region (near 17), and in claim 9 wherein the delivery structure has on an inside an internal widening region (16), the internal widening region widening in the delivery direction (¶[48]).
Ciezarek is silent wherein the external widening region widening continuously in the delivery direction. Instead, Ciezarek teaches the opposite (Fig 1).
At the time the invention was made, it would have been obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use a continuously widening external widening region. Applicant has not disclosed the continuously widening external widening region provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected Ciezarek and the applicant’s external widening region to perform equally well because both types of chambers are equally capable of dispensing droplets.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ciezarek to obtain the invention as claimed because such a modification would have been considered a mere design consideration which fails to patentably distinguish over the prior art of Ciezarek.
Regarding claims 13 and 16, Ciezarek further teaches in wherein the fluid store is filled with a pharmaceutical fluid (¶[45]). Ciezarek is silent wherein the fluid store has an internal volume of less than 200 ml and wherein the drop formation surface has an outer diameter of at least 1 mm and /or at most 3 mm (no dimensions disclosed or scale in Fig 1).
The Federal Circuit has held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. MPEP 2144.04 (IV)(A) (discussing Gardner v. Tec Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984)). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ciezarek’s device to have any suitable dimensions, including those claimed. Applicant appears to have placed no criticality on any particular fluid store volume or drop formation surface diameter (see Specification) and it appears that Ciezarek’s device would work equally well.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on January 22, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant asserts that Ciezarek does not teach the limitations as recited in the claim 5, specifically, a circumferential depression. Examiner disagrees. Claim 5, as currently submitted, is not very clear and ambiguous. For example, in line 10, the term “an outside” is perhaps the wrong word used in that context. Does Applicant mean “outside or exterior surface”? Normally, “outside” is more thought of as being outside (i.e., being in nature). There is no further limitation on how the depression influences a delivery characteristic, nor anything to define and emphasize the criticality of this circumferential depression in relation to the delivery opening. While the disclosure provides definition for said “depression”, there are not enough details to provide a clear picture (see drawing objection supra). Therefore, due to those factors, claim 5 does not distinguish satisfactorily from Ciezarek. Accordingly, claim 5 must remain rejected and further clarification is highly recommended.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17-18, 20-21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 22-24 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for allowance: claim 22 is allowed primarily because the prior art of record cannot anticipate Applicant’s claimed invention by a single reference nor render Applicant’s claimed invention obvious by the combination of more than one reference.
The prior art of record, Cierzarek (US 2025/0162769), does not teach “a third external diameter transverse to the central axis of the delivery opening, the third external diameter at the depression being disposed axially between the first and second external diameters and the first and second external diameters both being greater than the third external diameter” as within the context of the claimed invention as disclosed and within the context of the other limitations present in claim 22.
Therefore, the prior art of record cannot anticipate Applicant’s claimed invention by a single reference nor render Applicant’s claimed invention obvious by the combination of more than one reference.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JENNIFER C CHIANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3754