DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Examiner acknowledges the amending of claims 1, 11, 12, 14-16 and 18-24.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed Remarks (11/24/2025) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant has argued the drawing objections regarding claims 7, 20 and 22-24 are improper as they are not needed to understand the invention, and has provided explanations of how the specification and figures provide the needed explanation.
The Examiner does not entirely agree. The details of claims 12+ cannot be provided by portions of the specification or figures directed to embodiments other than figure 4 as figure 4 (and claims 12+) are directed to the array of VCSELs. Further, the details of the third contact of claim 1, or second contact of claim 12, being formed in a trench and connected to the substrate are not at all depicted in the figures and such details are found to be important to understand the invention as they are useful in distinguishing from the art of record. This same reasoning also applies to the objections in view of claims 7 and 20+.
The Applicant has argued Joseph does not teach the electrical connection to “fill” the trench.
The Examiner first notes the claims do not specify the degree of filling (e.g. completely fill). Second, the Applicant has described the trenches to be formed in the epitaxial material, then to be coated with insulator, and then to be filled with the electrical contact material ([0051-52]). The trench is therefore not completely filled by the electrical contact material of the Applicant as the trench also contains the insulator.
Therefore, it is understood that a partial filling of the trench by the electrical material would read on “the first contact fills a trench” as this is the filling type disclosed by the Applicant and which also corresponds to Joseph’s electrical material partially filling the trench.
The Examiner notes new art is cited for the trench connection to the substrate.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the:
Details of third contact in a trench making direct connection to substrate (claim 1)
Third contact connected at top of structure (claim 7)
Details of second contact in a trench making direct connection to substrate (claim 12)
Each gap within a trench (claim 20)
Details of the second contact’s contact on top (claim 22)
The details of the third contact’s contact layer on top (claim 23)
Locations of each of the set of surface contacts on top (claim 24)
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The previous 112 rejections are withdrawn due to the current amendments.
Claims 7, 12 and 20 (and claims 14-16 and 18-22 via dependency) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 7 depends from claim 1 which states the third contact directly electrically contacts the substrate. Claim 7 then says the third contact also is electrically connected to the top of the epitaxial structure. The specification as originally filed does not describe a third contact which provides electrical connections to both the substrate and the top of the epitaxial structure.
Claim 12 defines a set of 2 or more electrical contacts which are electrically separated from each other on the VCSEL array. Figure 4, depicting the VCSEL array, shows only 2 contacts, #408a and #408b to be electrically separated ([0083]). There are not more than 2 contacts which are electrically separated. The Applicant may be intending to refer to “contact points” as outlined in [0083], but the claim instead refers to “contacts”. This language directed specifically to the “contacts” is therefore considered new matter as it is not clearly supported by the original specification.
Claim 20 refers to first and second contact points being connected via gaps, and those gaps to be within trenches. Figure 4 shows only gaps #410 within trenches and not “each gap”, which would include #412s, as claimed. This limitation is therefore not clearly supported by the original specification and is therefore considered new matter. Note that claim 12, from which claim 20 depends, makes clear that the second contact point(s) corresponds to fig.4 #412.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 9-11, 23 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muller (WO 2018/234131) in view of Joseph (US 10903622) and Koerner et al. (US 2022/0247152).
With respect to claim 1, Muller teaches a vertical cavity surface emitting laser (VCSEL) (fig.4), comprising: an epitaxial structure that includes a first active layer (fig.4 #121), a second active layer (fig.4 #125), a tunnel junction (fig.4 #123) between the first active layer and the second active layer; and a set of contacts that are electrically connected to the epitaxial structure (fig.4 #101/103/105), wherein the set of contacts includes three or more contacts (fig.4 3 shown), wherein the set of contacts are electrically separated from each other on the VCSEL (each electrically separate contacts), wherein a first contact (fig.4 #103), of the set of contacts, is directly electrically connected to the epitaxial structure at a depth between the first active layer and the second active layer (as seen in fig.4), the first contact is below the first active layer (as seen in fig.4), wherein a second contact (fig.4 #101), of the set of contacts, is directly electrically connected to the epitaxial structure at a depth above the first active layer and the second active layer (as seen in fig.4), and wherein at least a portion of a third contact (fig.4 #105), of the set of contacts, is located at a depth below the first contact and the second contact (as seen in fig.4) and provides a direct electrical connection to a substrate (fig.4 #110) of the VCSEL. Muller does not a portion of the first contact extend from above the first active layer to below the first active layer and which fills a trench. Joseph teaches a related VCSEL device (fig.10/11) which includes connecting an electrical contact (fig.13 #1302) via a gap in a lateral section of an electrical isolation layer (fig.11 #1101, break in #1101 in trench = gap) with the lateral section being found in a trench (fig.10b), and the contact to extend on top/bottom sides of the active layer (fig.8 #86) within the trench, thereby the contact fills the trench (e.g. takes up space within the trench). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the instant application to utilize the via type contact which fills a trench for at least the first contact of Muller with the trench and isolation layer with gap as demonstrated by Joseph in order to use the trench(es) to form protective structure(s) for the contact(s) and control the path of the current by use of the isolation layer with gaps.
Muller, as modified, does not teach at least a portion of the third contact to be included in another trench which extends to, and provides a direct electrical connection to, the substrate. Koerner teaches a related VCSEL device (fig.4, abstract) which includes an additional trench (fig.4e #444) formed to extend to a substrate (fig.4a #416), and an electrical contact filling the trench and providing a direct electrical connection to the substrate (fig.4f #450). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the instant application to adapt the device of Muller to make use of an additional trench with a direct electrical connection to the substrate to replace the third contact of Muller as demonstrated by Koerner in order to provide all electrical connections on a single side of the device and to protect the third connection using the trench.
With respect to claim 3, Muller, as modified, teaches a number of contacts included in the set of contacts is one more than a number of active layers (3 contacts, 2 active layers).
With respect to claim 4, Muller, as modified, teaches a first pair of contacts (Muller, fig.4 #103/105), of the set of contacts, is configured to provide electrical current to only the first active layer and not the second active layer, a second pair of contacts (Muller, fig.4 #101/105), of the set of contacts, is configured to provide electrical current to both the first active layer and the second active layer.
Note that each contact is “configured” as it is shown in the location needed to complete the given function. Also note that Muller teaches all active regions emitting together or in subsets (Muller, pg.10 line 33 – pg.11 line 2; independent arrangement allows for current to only #125 or #121 and #125 together).
With respect to claim 5, Muller, as modified, teaches the first pair of contacts is addressable to provide a first power level for the VCSEL, and the second pair of contacts is addressable to provide a second power level for the VCSEL that is greater than the first power level, and the third pair of contacts is addressable to provide a third power level for the VCSEL that is greater than the second power level.
Note that each contact is “addressable” as it is shown in the location needed to complete the given function. Also note that Muller teaches all active regions emitting together or in subsets (Muller, pg.10 line 33 – pg.11 line 2; independent arrangement allows for current to only #125 or #121 and #125 together).
With respect to claim 9, Muller, as modified, teaches the first contact is electrically connected via a gap in an electrical isolation layer (see claim 1 above), but does not teach the second contact is connected by a gap in an electrical isolation layer. Joseph teaches a related VCSEL device (fig.10/11) which includes connecting an electrical contact (fig.13 #1302) via a gap in a lateral section of an electrical isolation layer (fig.11 #1101, break in #1101 in trench = gap). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the instant application to utilize the isolation layer with gap as demonstrated by Joseph for the second contact of Muller in order control the path of the current by use of the isolation layer with gaps.
With respect to claim 10, Muller, as modified, teaches each respective gap, of the respective gaps, is in a lateral section of the electrical isolation layer (as modified in claims 1 and 9 above, wherein the section can be defined as ‘lateral’ in the figure).
With respect to claim 11, Muller, as modified, teaches trenches at either side of the central mesa (fig.4 left/right sides where material has been removed), but does not teach each lateral section the electrical isolation layer is within a trench. Joseph further teaches the electrical isolation to extend across/over all the trenches with gaps for electrical connections (fig.11). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the instant application to adapt the device of Muller to make use of a continuous electrical isolation layer with gaps for the electrical connections as demonstrated by Joseph (thereby being in lateral trenches at either side of the mesa) in order to passivate the semiconductor surfaces.
With respect to claim 23, Muller, as modified, teaches the device outlined above, but does not teach the third contact includes a contact layer at a top side of the VCSEL (see Koerner fig.4 top of contact).
With respect to claim 24, Muller, as modified, teaches each of the set of contacts includes a surface contact at a top surface of the VCSEL (Muller fig.4 #101 providing contact 2; Joseph fig.10 providing contact 1; Koerner fig.4 providing contact 3).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20150214696, 7620087 are noted as teaching similar multi-active region structures separated by TJ(s) and controlled via 3 or more contacts.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TOD T VAN ROY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2828