DETAILED ACTION
Summary
This is a first Office Action on the merits.
Claims 1-27 are currently pending.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 9, 12, 19, and 21 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, line 1, please amend “EV charging platform” to recite “electric vehicle (EV) charging platform”;
In claim 9, line 4, please amend “the movement of the sun” to recite “movement of the sun”;
In claim 12, line 1, please amend “EV charging platform” to recite “electric vehicle (EV) charging platform”;
In claim 19, line 3, please amend “the movement of the sun” to recite “movement of the sun”;
In claim 21, line 1, please amend “EV charging platform” to recite “electric vehicle (EV) charging platform”;
In claim 21, line 5, please amend “the movement of the sun” to recite “movement of the sun”;
Appropriate correction is required.
Applicant is advised that should claim 16 be found allowable, claim 20 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Applicant is advised that should claim 21 be found allowable, claim 25 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, and 7-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DELANO et al, US 2022/0263455.
Re claim 1:
DELANO teaches a multi-vehicle self-contained EV charging platform comprising:
A solar array (22) configured to convert solar energy into an electrical output signal [0032] [0033] [Figures 1-2A];
A charging system configured to receive the electrical output signal from the solar array and generate an EV charging signal [0035] [0040];
A charge distribution system configured to distribute the EV charging signal amongst a plurality of vehicles is more than one vehicle is coupled to the multi-vehicle self-contained EV charging platform [0040] [0054] [Figure 12]; and
A weighted based assembly (32) configured to stabilize the multi-vehicle self-contained EV charging platform [0034].
Re claim 3:
DELANO teaches the multi-vehicle self-contained EV charging platform of claim 1, wherein the charge distribution system configured to distribute the EV charging signal amongst a plurality of vehicles is more than one vehicle is coupled to the multi-vehicle self-contained EV charging platform is configured to simultaneously provide a portion of the EV charging signal to each of the plurality of vehicles (i.e., output from the terminal power draw unit may be made available via a plurality of electrical outlets 44 mounted on container 32, each vehicle charged simultaneously when plugged in [0040] [0054]).
Re claim 7:
DELANO teaches the multi-vehicle self-contained EV charging platform of claim 1, wherein the weighted base assembly is a ballasted base assembly (i.e., container 32 provides interior space 36a to receive ballast [0005] [0034]).
Re claim 8:
DELANO teaches the multi-vehicle self-contained EV charging platform of claim 7, wherein the ballasted base assembly is configured to be filled with one or more of: sand; gravel; a liquid; and water [0034].
Re claim 9:
DELANO teaches the multi-vehicle self-contained EV charging platform of claim 1, further comprising: a sun tracking actuation system configured to enable the solar array to track movement of the sun (i.e., bracket 24 may be angularly adjustable as well as rotatable to allow the PV panels to track the sun to maximize exposure [0033]).
Re claim 10:
DELANO teaches the multi-vehicle self-contained EV charging platform of claim 1, further comprising:
An inverter system configured for converting the electrical output signal from a DC electrical output signal to an AC electrical output signal [0040].
Re claim 11:
DELANO teaches the multi-vehicle self-contained EV charging platform of claim 1, further comprising:
An energy storage device configured to be charged by the electrical output signal and provide backup energy to the multi-vehicle self-contained EV charging platform (i.e., electrical storage batteries 52 and 66 [0041]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 12, 14, 17-19, 21, 23, and 25-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DELANO et al, US 2022/0263455 and JOHNSON, US 2013/0229141.
Re claim 5:
DELANO teaches the multi-vehicle self-contained EV charging platform of claim 1, wherein the weighted base assembly is configured to be centrally positioned within a grid of parking spaces, but does not specify that the grid is a 2x2 grid of parking spaces.
JOHNSON teaches multi-vehicle self-contained EV charging platform comprising a weighted base assembly centrally positioned within a 2x2 grid of parking spaces [Figure 12B].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to position the weighted base assembly centrally within a 2x2 grid of parking spaces. Parking lots having two adjacent rows of parking spaces is one very common parking lot configuration. Placing the platform centrally among a 2x2 grid of parking spaces in such a configuration would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide four motor vehicles easy access to the same charging platform.
Re claim 12:
DELANO teaches a multi-vehicle self-contained EV charging platform comprising:
A solar array (22) configured to convert solar energy into an electrical output signal [0032] [0033] [Figures 1-2A];
A charging system configured to receive the electrical output signal from the solar array and generate an EV charging signal [0035] [0040];
A charge distribution system configured to distribute the EV charging signal amongst a plurality of vehicles is more than one vehicle is coupled to the multi-vehicle self-contained EV charging platform [0040] [0054] [Figure 12]; and
A weighted based assembly (32) configured to stabilize the multi-vehicle self-contained EV charging platform and be centrally positioned within a grid of parking spaces [0034].
DELANO does not specifically teach the grid is a 2x2 grid of parking spaces.
JOHNSON teaches multi-vehicle self-contained EV charging platform comprising a weighted base assembly centrally positioned within 2x2 grid of parking spaces [Figure 12B].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to position the weighted base assembly centrally within a 2x2 grid of parking spaces. Parking lots having two adjacent rows of parking spaces is one very common parking lot configuration. Placing the platform centrally among a 2x2 grid of parking spaces in such a configuration would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide four motor vehicles easy access to the same charging platform.
Re claims 19, 21, and 25:
DELANO teaches a multi-vehicle self-contained EV charging platform comprising:
A solar array (22) configured to convert solar energy into an electrical output signal [0032] [0033] [Figures 1-2A];
A sun tracking actuation system configured to enable the solar array to track movement of the sun;
A charging system configured to receive the electrical output signal from the solar array and generate an EV charging signal [0035] [0040];
A charge distribution system configured to distribute the EV charging signal amongst a plurality of vehicles is more than one vehicle is coupled to the multi-vehicle self-contained EV charging platform [0040] [0054] [Figure 12]; and
A weighted based assembly (32) configured to stabilize the multi-vehicle self-contained EV charging platform and be centrally positioned within a grid of parking spaces [0034].
DELANO does not specifically teach the grid is a 2x2 grid of parking spaces.
JOHNSON teaches multi-vehicle self-contained EV charging platform comprising a weighted base assembly centrally positioned within 2x2 grid of parking spaces [Figure 12B].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to position the weighted base assembly centrally within a 2x2 grid of parking spaces. Parking lots having two adjacent rows of parking spaces is one very common parking lot configuration. Placing the platform centrally among a 2x2 grid of parking spaces in such a configuration would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide four motor vehicles easy access to the same charging platform.
Re claims 14 and 23:
DELANO, in view of JOHNSON, teaches the multi-vehicle self-contained EV charging platform of claim 12 and 21, wherein the charge distribution system configured to distribute the EV charging signal amongst a plurality of vehicles is more than one vehicle is coupled to the multi-vehicle self-contained EV charging platform is configured to simultaneously provide a portion of the EV charging signal to each of the plurality of vehicles (i.e., output from the terminal power draw unit may be made available via a plurality of electrical outlets 44 mounted on container 32, each vehicle charged simultaneously when plugged in [0040] [0054]).
Re claims 17 and 26:
DELANO teaches the multi-vehicle self-contained EV charging platform of claim 1, wherein the weighted base assembly is a ballasted base assembly (i.e., container 32 provides interior space 36a to receive ballast [0005] [0034]).
Re claim 18 and 27
DELANO teaches the multi-vehicle self-contained EV charging platform of claim 7, wherein the ballasted base assembly is configured to be filled with one or more of: sand; gravel; a liquid; and water [0034].
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DELANO et al, US 2022/0263455 in view of and WHEATLEY et al, US 2016/0141913.
Claim(s) 13 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DELANO et al, US 2022/0263455 and JOHNSON, US 2013/0229141, as applied in claim 12, and further in view of and BRIMACOMBE, US 2016/0229306.
Re claims 2, 13, and 22:
DELANO teaches the multi-vehicle self-contained EV charging platform of claim 1 and DELANO, in view of JOHNSON, teaches the multi-vehicle self-contained EV charging platform of claims 12 and 21, but does not teach the charging system includes one or more of: a Level 1 charging system; a Level 2 charging system; and, a Level 3 charging system.
BRIMACOMBE teaches an EV charging platform wherein the EV charging platform includes one or more of: a Level 1 charging system, a Level 2 charging system, and Level 3 charging system [0004] [0027]-[0034].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the charging system of DELANO to include one or more of a Level 1, Level 2, and Level 3 charging device, as taught in BRIMACOMBE, to facilitate operation of the charging platform in one of the three common charging standards known in the art (BIMACOMBE [0027]-[0034]).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DELANO et al, US 2022/0263455 in view of BILLMAIER, US 2011/0221393.
Claim(s) 15 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DELANO et al, US 2022/0263455 and JOHNSON, US 2013/0229141, as applied in claims 12 and 21, and further in view of BILLMAIER, US 2011/0221393.
Re claims 4, 15, and 24:
DELANO teaches the multi-vehicle self-contained EV charging apparatus of claim 1 and DELANO in view of JOHNSON teaches the multi-vehicle self-contained EV charging apparatus of claims 12 and 22, but does not teach the charging platform is configured to provide the EV charging signal to each of the plurality of vehicles in a round-robin fashion.
BILLMAIER teaches a multi-vehicle EV charging platform (128) comprising a charging distribution system configured to distribute an EV charging signal amongst a plurality of vehicles if more than one vehicle is coupled to the platform to provide an EV charging signal to each of the plurality of vehicles in a round-robin fashion [0032].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further incorporate the teachings of BILLMAIER in the platform of DELANO such that the platform is configured to provide the EV charging signal to each of the plurality of vehicles in a round-robin fashion. Further incorporating a round robin time sharing algorithm allows for an asymmetric charging approach (BILLMAIER [0032]).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DELANO et al, US 2022/0263455 in view of and WHEATLEY et al, US 2016/0141913.
Claim(s) 16 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DELANO et al, US 2022/0263455 and JOHNSON, US 2013/0229141, as applied in claim 12, and further in view of and WHEATLEY et al, US 2014/0042956.
Re claims 6, 16, and 20:
DELANO teaches the multi-vehicle self-contained EV charging platform of claim 1 and DELANO, in view of JOHNSON, teaches the multi-vehicle self-contained EV charging platform of claims 12, but does not teach the weighted base assembly is a concrete weighted base assembly.
WHEATLEY teaches a self-contained EV charging platform comprising a weighted base assembly is a concrete weighted base assembly [0031].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize a concrete weighted base as taught by WHEATLEY in the charging platform of DELANO. Concrete is a suitable heavy, bulk material that would prevent the assembly from tipping over.
Conclusion
/LAURA A GUDORF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876