DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13, 16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regards to Claim 13, the preamble recites “on a clothing hook”, but lines 6-7 recite “a hanging rod”, which are completely different structures. It is unclear which is correct.
The remaining claims inherit the rejection by dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gadsby (GB 2468700).
In regards to Claim 1, Gadsby teaches a hanger device that ensures that the hanger device and its supported clothing remain secure on a clothing hook the hanger device comprising:
a body component that is triangular in shape (Figure 3); and
at least one eyelet (Detail 22);
a hook extending upward from a top of the body component (Detail 12); and
wherein the at least one eyelet extends downward from the top of the body component (Detail 22 is downward from Detail 12); and
wherein the at least one eyelet allows the hanger device to be secured over a clothing hook (Figure 4 shows a clothing hook can be pass through the eyelet).
In regards to Claim 8, Gadsby teaches the hook can be used to hang the hanger device from a hanging rod or from a neck of the hanger device or a hanger (Figure 4 shows the neck of a hanger passing through the eyelet).
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Varghese-Abraham (20160166098).
In regards to Claim 1, Varghese-Abraham teaches a hanger device that ensures that the hanger device and its supported clothing remain secure on a clothing hook the hanger device comprising:
a body component that is triangular in shape (Figure 2); and
at least one eyelet (Detail 120);
a hook (Detail 102) extending upward from a top of the body component; and
wherein the at least one eyelet extends downward from the top of the body component (Detail 120 is downward from Detail 102); and
wherein the at least one eyelet allows the hanger device to be secured over a clothing hook (the eyelet is larger than the hook 102, so the eyelet could secure a hanger around the hook of another hanger).
In regards to Claim 3, Varghese-Abraham teaches the body component comprises two side arms of equal length (at Details 132, 134), each one projecting down from opposite sides of where the at least one eyelet is seated and upon which a garment would be draped.
In regards to Claim 4, Varghese-Abraham teaches the body component also comprises a bottom bar with a first and a second end adhered to lower ends of the two side arms (Detail 140).
In regards to Claim 5, Varghese-Abraham teaches the at least one eyelet is circular in shape (Figure 2).
In regards to Claim 8, Varghese-Abraham teaches the hook can be used to hang the hanger device from a hanging rod or from a neck of the hanger device or a hanger (Paragraph 18).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9, 13, and 16 is/are rejected, to the degree definite, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Varghese-Abraham in view of Mata (20190231103).
In regards to Claim 9, while Varghese-Abraham essentially teaches the invention as detailed above, it fails to specifically each a C-shaped component configured to removably secure the body component to the hanging rod. Mata, however, teaches that such C-shaped components are well known in the hanger device art (Figures 1, 6). It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the C-shaped component in the device of Varghese-Abraham, so as to hold multiple hangers in the same area in an orderly fashion (Abstract).
In regards to Claim 13, Varghese-Abraham teaches a hanger device that ensures that the hanger device and its supported clothing remaining secure on a clothing hook, the hanger device comprising:
a body component that is triangular in shape (Figure 2);
at least one eyelet circular in shape (Detail 120);
a hook (Detail 102) extending upward from a top of the body component; and
wherein the at least one eyelet extends downward from the top of the body component (Detail 120 is downward from Detail 102);
wherein the body component comprises two side arms of equal length (at Details 132, 134), each one projecting down from opposite sides of where the at least one eyelet is seated and upon which a garment would be draped;
wherein the body component also comprises a bottom bar with a first and a second end adhered to lower ends of the two side arms (Detail 140); and
wherein the at least one eyelet allows the hanger device to be secured over a clothing hook without worry of the hanger device falling off the clothing hook and onto ground (the eyelet is sized to allow a hook to fit therethrough).
While Varghese-Abraham essentially teaches the invention as detailed above, it fails to specifically each a C-shaped component configured to removably secure the body component to a hanging rod. Mata, however, teaches that such C-shaped components are well known in the hanger device art (Figures 1, 6). It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the C-shaped component in the device of Gadsby, so as to hold multiple hangers in the same area in an orderly fashion (Abstract).
In regards to Claim 16, Varghese-Abraham teaches the hook can be used to hang the hanger device form the hanging rod or from a neck of the hanger device or a hanger.
Claim(s) 11, 12, and 19 is/are rejected, to the degree definite, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Varghese-Abraham in view of Mata as applied to claims 9 and 13 above, and further in view of MacKenzie (5620127).
In regards to Claims 11 and 19, while the combination of Varghese-Abraham in view of Mata essentially teaches the invention as detailed, it fails to specifically teach a plurality of indicia. MacKenzie, however, teaches that when dealing with similar hanger devices, it is well known to include indicia (Figure 2, Detail 204). It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included indicia as taught by MacKenzie in the hanger device of the combination, so as to decorate the device. Advertising or decorative images would enhance the product by providing information or enhancing beauty, which would be appreciated by the ordinarily skilled artisan.
In regards to Claim 12, Varghese-Abraham teaches in paragraph 18 that parts can be molded, which would obviously be plastic.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHAUN R HURLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732