Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The term “substantially” in claim 10 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-12, 14, 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brewer (US 2023/0152008 A1) in view of Ionescu (US 11242258 B1) in view of Serhiiovych (US 75188C2).
Claims 1, 3-9, 14, 16-19:
Brewer teaches a method for treating lunar regolith with concentrated sunlight, that has been routed through an optical assembly, to cause heating, sintering, and/or phase change of the regolith (abstract). In particular, the phase change does include vaporization and the resulting gasses are collected by a gas collector 164 (Fig. 1) [0012].
Brewer does not explicitly teach this phase change is for purification (beneficiation) or collecting the vapor as a thin film on a substrate.
It is noted that lunar regolith has a known composition and does include silica and iron oxide.
Ionescu teaches a method for purifying silica (abstract). The starting material is any form of impure silica (mined, acquired, gathered, etc.) (11:34-67) and is purified by phase change including evaporating, sublimating, condensing, desublimating, etc. (15:40-42). This process can be repeated to further improve the purity and remove additional impurities until the desired level of purity is reached (15:17-60).
Serhiiovych teaches a method for refining materials by distillation in the space vacuum using solar energy (abstract). The material is evaporated and condensed onto condensing column 8 thereby forming a thin film. The refining occurs due to the different volatility of impurities relative to the main material.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to practice the method of Brewer where the vaporization is for the purpose of purification, repeated as needed until the desired level of purity is reached, and the silica vapors are collected on a condensing column substrate thereby forming a thin film of silica. Ionescu teaches purifying silica by phase change and Serhiiovych teaches collecting purified vapor onto a condensing substrate.
Claims 10, 12, 20:
Serhiiovych teaches the refining process occurs in the vacuum of space (abstract). This includes the condensation column 8 being substantially colder than the vaporized material due to contact with the coldness of space (Fig. 1). The environment of the moon would have been obvious because the combination is dealing with lunar regolith specifically.
Claim 11:
Ionescu teaches an actuator for adjusting the concentrated sunlight position on the material [0067].
Claim(s) 2, 13, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brewer (US 2023/0152008 A1) in view of Ionescu (US 11242258 B1) in view of Serhiiovych (US 75188C2) in view of Lee (KR 20130021844 A) and Ottermann (US 2008/0030130 A1).
Previously discussed prior art does not teach the substrate is a photovoltaic cell or the deposited material is glass. However, Lee teaches a method for using sunlight as a heat source to performing PVD/CVD on a photovoltaic substrate 20. It is noted that transparent glass is one of the layers of a photovoltaic substrate (i.e., solar cell).
Additionally, Ottermann teaches a method for manufacturing photovoltaics [0084] that further include glass layers deposited thereon by vapor deposition [0013-0015].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to practice the method of previously discussed prior art and deposit a transparent glass layer onto a photovoltaic substrate. Lee teaches PVD/CVD using sunlight on a photovoltaic substrate and Ottermann teaches glass as the vapor deposited layer. This is a suitable implementation for the manufacture of solar cells.
Conclusion
/ALEX A ROLLAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759