DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/18/2025 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Independent claim 1 recites that, in the second mode of operation, the contacts are configured to “conduct the positive potential, conduct an additional amount of the positive potential, conduct the negative potential, and conduct an additional amount of the negative potential.” Independent claim 9 recites corresponding method language.
The phrase “additional amount of the positive potential” and the phrase “additional amount of the negative potential” are unclear. Electrical potential ordinarily denotes a voltage relative to a reference, while the claim language “additional amount” could refer to increased voltage magnitude, increased current-carrying capability, increased power transfer, an added conductor carrying the same polarity, or some other electrical arrangement. The specification uses related but differing language, including “additional positive potential,” “additional negative potential,” and “additional electric energy,” without defining whether the intended scope is increased voltage, increased current, increased power, or reassignment of additional contacts to the same polarity rails. As a result, the scope of the claimed second mode is not set forth with reasonable certainty.
Claims 3 and 11 additionally repeat the same unclear terminology.
Claim 12 recites: “testing a connection to a ground reference of one or more of the vehicle or the power source at least one of the contacts of the collector device prior to switching from the first mode of operation to the second mode of operation.”
The phrase “at least one of the contacts of the collector device” lacks a clear grammatical relationship to the remainder of the limitation. It is unclear whether the claim intends that the testing is performed by at least one contact, through at least one contact, on at least one contact, or using at least one contact. Because the claim does not clearly set forth how the testing step is performed, the metes and bounds of the claimed method are unclear.
Claims 5 and 13 recite that the connection to the ground reference is tested “by directing a grounding resistance be connected with the collector device.” This phrase is unclear. It is not reasonably certain whether “grounding resistance” refers to a resistor or resistive element connected in a grounding path, a measured grounding-path resistance, or some other grounding-related parameter. It is also unclear what specific action is required by “directing” that such “grounding resistance” be connected. The specification discusses resistive elements and resistance measurements in different contexts, but does not define this phrase with sufficient precision to establish the scope of the limitation. Accordingly, the metes and bounds of claims 5 and 13 are unclear.
Claim 17 recites that the controller is configured to switch one or more contacts “to conducting additional potential between the power source and the powered system in a second mode of operation to increase a power transfer.” The term “additional potential” is unclear because the claim does not define whether this refers to an additional voltage level, an added conductor carrying an already-present polarity, an additional phase, or some other electrical quantity.
Claim 18 further recites identifying the powered system “via conduction of a designated potential.” The phrase “designated potential” is also unclear because the claim does not state what makes the potential “designated,” what characteristic of that potential is used for identification, or how conduction of that potential identifies the powered system.
Claim 19 recites measuring “one or more of the additional potential, a current, or an impedance conducted between the collector device and the delivery device.” This language is unclear at least because “impedance” is ordinarily a property of a circuit or interface, not something “conducted between” devices in the same manner as voltage or current.
REFERENCES RELIED ON
Reference 1: Heieis et al., US 2021/0008989 A1
Reference 2: Peter, US 2021/0221245 A1
Reference 3: US 2012/0139489 A1, Method and device for communication between an electric vehicle and a charging station
Reference 4: US 2016/0033565 A1, Zone fault detection method and system for electric vehicle charging systems
Reference 5: DE 102008031968 B4, AC ground fault detection system of a vehicle
Reference 6: US 2005/0205719 A1, Rail car tracking system
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and further in view of Reference 3.
Claims 4, 6, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and further in view of Reference 4.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and further in view of Reference 4 and Reference 5.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and further in view of Reference 6.
──────────
Claim 1 Rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2
A system comprising: a collector device configured to selectively couple a vehicle with a delivery device coupled with an off-board power source, the collector device including conductive contacts each configured to engage the delivery device, the contacts configured to switch modes of operation to change a power transfer capability of the collector device, the contacts configured to separately conduct a positive potential, conduct a negative potential, conduct a communication signal, and provide a connection to a ground reference in a first mode of operation of the modes of operation, and the contacts are configured to separately conduct the positive potential, conduct an additional amount of the positive potential, conduct the negative potential, and conduct an additional amount of the negative potential in a second mode of operation of the modes of operation.
ANALYSIS
Reference 1 teaches a vehicle charging interface having a vehicle-side contact device 58 and an off-board charging contact device 59. The charging contact device 59 includes charging contact surfaces 60, 61, 62, and 63, and the vehicle-side contact device 58 includes contact elements 64 forming contact surfaces 68, 69, 70, and 71. These surfaces are arranged to engage one another to form contact pairs when the vehicle is brought into the charging position. Thus, Reference 1 teaches a collector device configured to selectively couple a vehicle with a delivery device coupled with an off-board power source, and teaches conductive contacts each configured to engage the delivery device.
Reference 1 further teaches the functional allocation of the several contact pairs. Charging contact surface 60 with contact surface 68 and charging contact surface 61 with contact surface 69 form power contacts for transmitting charging current, specifically direct current. Charging contact surface 63 with contact surface 70 forms a signal contact, and charging contact surface 62 with contact surface 71 forms a protective-ground contact. Accordingly, Reference 1 teaches, in a first mode, separate contacts providing two DC power paths, a communication path, and a ground-reference path. Under the reasonable interpretation applied here, the two DC power paths correspond to a positive potential path and a negative potential path, while the remaining two contacts correspond to communication and ground-reference functions.
Reference 1 also teaches that the contact system is deliberately arranged for staged function and safe sequencing. The signal contact is used to control application and interruption of charging current, and the protective-ground contact is formed in a defined sequence relative to the power contacts. This shows that the contact interface is not merely static, but instead supports different functional states depending on charging status and safety state.
Reference 2 teaches a controller-driven interlock and switching arrangement that changes an interface from a low-power verification state to a charging-power state. In the first electrical interlock system 600, rail-side power switches 606 and 614 initially hold the fourth rail sections 4 at earth potential E. Oscillator 612 produces a low-frequency pilot signal, rail-side detection circuit 618 includes LF sensor 620 and HF sensor 622, and rail-side controller 621 receives the detection signals and controls oscillator 612 and switches 606, 614. On the vehicle side, shoes 404 are connected to vehicle-side detection circuit 626, LF/HF sensor 628, and vehicle-side power switches 630 and 632 controlled by vehicle-side controller 634. Once contact is detected, rail-side controller 621 switches rail-side power switches 606, 614 to connect power source 200 to the fourth rail sections 4 and changes oscillator 612 from LF to HF pilot. The vehicle-side controller 634 then switches vehicle-side power switches 630, 632 so the shoes 404 connect to the energy storage 22, thereby changing the interface from a pilot/verification condition to a charging-power condition.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to apply the controlled state-switching arrangement of Reference 2 to the four-contact interface of Reference 1. Reference 1 already teaches a four-contact vehicle/off-board interface with two power contacts, one signal contact, and one protective-ground contact. Reference 2 teaches that a charging interface can first operate in a low-energy pilot/verification condition and then, after successful detection and control by the controllers, transition into a higher-power charging condition. In view of these teachings, it would have been obvious to configure the Reference 1 contacts to operate in a first mode with positive, negative, communication, and ground-reference roles, and thereafter, after the verification functions are completed, switch the formerly auxiliary contacts to additional power-transfer duty so that all four contacts contribute to power transfer in the second mode. This yields the claimed increase in power-transfer capability.
Thus, the combined teachings of References 1 and 2 render obvious the claimed collector device, the first mode with separate positive, negative, communication, and ground-reference functions, and the second mode in which the contacts separately conduct the positive potential, an additional amount of the positive potential, the negative potential, and an additional amount of the negative potential.
MOTIVATION TO COMBINE
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to combine Reference 1 with Reference 2 because Reference 1 supplies the specific multi-contact vehicle charging hardware, including distinct power, signal, and protective-ground contacts, while Reference 2 supplies a concrete controller-and-switch architecture for moving from an initial low-power verification state to a charging-power state. Combining those teachings would have predictably permitted safe repurposing of non-power contacts into additional current-carrying paths after verification, thereby increasing charging power while preserving the initial signal and safety functions.
──────────
Claim 2 Rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and further in view of Reference 3
The system of claim 1, wherein, prior to switching from the first mode of operation to the second mode of operation, at least one of the contacts of the collector device is configured to communicate with the power source to identify the vehicle.
ANALYSIS
Reference 3 teaches communication between a vehicle and a charging station through a pilot path before approval of charging power. Reference 3 discloses charging station control device 4, vehicle control device 24, interface 22, pilot signal line 20, and pilot signal earth line 18. Reference 3 further teaches that, after establishment of the interface connection, the vehicle control device 24 generates a third pulse-width modulated signal 68 that comprises an identification message of the electric vehicle to the charging station. The charging station control device 4 receives and checks that vehicle identifier before proceeding further. This occurs prior to full approval of electricity supply on power conductor 12.
It would have been obvious to incorporate the known vehicle-identification communication of Reference 3 into the first-mode communication contact arrangement of Reference 1 as controlled according to Reference 2. In the resulting system, at least one contact of the collector device, namely the communication contact used during the first mode, communicates with the power source side to identify the vehicle before the contacts are switched to the second mode.
Accordingly, References 1, 2, and 3 together render obvious the subject matter of claim 2.
MOTIVATION TO COMBINE
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to add the identification exchange of Reference 3 to the system of References 1 and 2 because a source-side charging controller benefits from knowing which vehicle is connected before enabling or increasing power transfer. This would have predictably improved charging authorization, vehicle-specific charging compatibility, and overall safety.
──────────
Claim 3 Rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and further in view of Reference 3
The system of claim 2, further comprising a communication device configured to communicate with the power source regarding transfer of the positive potential, the additional amount of the positive potential, the negative potential, and the additional amount of the negative potential subsequent to the vehicle being identified.
ANALYSIS
Claim 3 includes all limitations of claims 1 and 2. Those limitations are taught or rendered obvious by References 1, 2, and 3 as explained above.
Reference 3 further teaches that after the vehicle is identified, charging station control device 4 sends a fourth pulse-width modulated rectangular signal 70, constituting an information signal about charging current. That signal communicates charging-transfer information for the identified vehicle, including the highest possible charging current intensity taking account of network limitations and vehicle capability. Thus, Reference 3 teaches communication with the charging source regarding the transfer parameters after vehicle identification.
When applied to the system of claim 1 as modified by claim 2, this teaching renders obvious a communication device configured to communicate with the power source, after the vehicle is identified, regarding transfer on the several power paths that exist in the higher-power mode, namely the original positive and negative paths together with the added positive and added negative paths.
Accordingly, References 1, 2, and 3 together render obvious claim 3.
MOTIVATION TO COMBINE
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to include post-identification transfer-parameter communication because once the source side has identified the vehicle, it is routine and beneficial to communicate allowable charging conditions before or during the higher-power transfer mode. Doing so would have predictably improved control of the enhanced-power configuration.
──────────
Claim 4 Rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and further in view of Reference 4
The system of claim 1, wherein prior to switching from the first mode of operation to the second mode of operation, at least one of the contacts of the collector device is configured to test a connection to a ground reference of one or more of the vehicle or the power source.
ANALYSIS
Reference 4 teaches a charging system with a ground monitor and control pilot arrangement for testing grounding integrity before and during power transfer. Specifically, Reference 4 discloses ground monitor circuit 42, EVSE control pilot circuit 44, EV control pilot circuit 56, and trip mechanism 46. The cable and charging interface include grounded conductors 26, 34, and 50, as well as control pilot conductor 54. Reference 4 teaches that the control pilot circuits 44 and 56 facilitate communications between the EVSE and the vehicle, including verification of connection state and authorization of charging power. Reference 4 also teaches that ground monitor circuit 42 monitors grounding continuity on the line-side grounding conductors and is configured to interrupt power if the impedance exceeds a threshold value.
It would have been obvious to apply the ground-testing approach of Reference 4 to the first-mode auxiliary contact arrangement of Reference 1 under the controller sequencing taught by Reference 2. In such a combined system, at least one of the collector-device contacts that provides the ground-reference path in the first mode is used, prior to switching to the second mode, to test whether the vehicle and/or source side has a satisfactory ground-reference connection.
Accordingly, References 1, 2, and 4 together render obvious claim 4.
MOTIVATION TO COMBINE
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to add the ground-reference testing of Reference 4 to the system of References 1 and 2 because Reference 1 expressly uses a dedicated protective-ground contact and Reference 2 teaches switching into a higher-power charging state only after interface verification. Incorporating a ground-continuity and impedance test before that switch would have predictably increased operational safety and reduced risk of energizing an improperly grounded interface.
──────────
Claim 5 Rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and further in view of Reference 4 and Reference 5
The system of claim 4, further comprising a controller of the vehicle configured to test the connection to the ground reference by directing a grounding resistance be connected with the collector device and by measuring one or both of a voltage or a current at an interface between the collector device and the delivery device.
ANALYSIS
Reference 5 teaches a more particular ground-fault testing arrangement using a resistive element and electrical measurement before full power operation. Reference 5 discloses resistance element 30 connected to supply voltage 32, electrical circuit 24 and 50 for selectively coupling the other side of resistance element 30 to secondary ground 26, error-detection measurement line 38 connected to the junction, and a controller or microprocessor 40 receiving the voltage signal and determining whether a ground fault exists before commencement of the step-up transformation. Reference 5 thus teaches directing a resistive element to be connected into a ground-related test path and measuring voltage, and by necessary implication current response, to determine whether a satisfactory ground condition exists.
Applying that known resistor-based ground test to the ground-monitoring context of claim 4 would have rendered obvious a vehicle controller configured to test the ground-reference connection by directing a grounding resistance to be connected with the collector-side circuitry and by measuring voltage and/or current at the collector-device/delivery-device interface before switching into the higher-power mode.
Accordingly, References 1, 2, 4, and 5 together render obvious claim 5.
MOTIVATION TO COMBINE
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to implement the more general ground-connection test of Reference 4 using the resistor-coupling and measurement technique of Reference 5 because Reference 5 provides a concrete, reliable, and low-complexity way to verify grounding integrity before higher-power energization. This substitution would have predictably improved the robustness and repeatability of the pre-switch safety test.
──────────
Claim 6 Rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and further in view of Reference 4
The system of claim 1, further comprising a powered system controller of the vehicle configured to repeatedly measure one or more of a voltage or a current conducted from the power source to the vehicle via the delivery device and the collector device.
ANALYSIS
Reference 2 teaches continuing electrical supervision of the interface during charging. Rail-side detection circuit 618 with sensors 620 and 622 continues to monitor the pilot condition, and rail-side controller 621 will return switches 606 and 614 to earth potential if the required pilot signal is not present at all times. On the vehicle side, detection circuit 626 and controller 634 monitor the interface through the shoes 404 and switches 630 and 632 as the system transitions and remains in the charging state. This reflects repeated monitoring of interface electrical conditions while power is being supplied.
Reference 4 reinforces this by teaching that control pilot circuits 44 and 56 continue to facilitate communication and readiness verification and that ground monitor circuit 42 continuously monitors grounding continuity and impedance while charging power is available. An ordinarily skilled artisan would have understood such repeated monitoring to include repeated measurement of voltage and/or current-related interface conditions conducted from the power source to the vehicle.
Accordingly, References 1, 2, and 4 together render obvious claim 6.
MOTIVATION TO COMBINE
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to repeatedly measure electrical conditions during charging because once the interface has been switched into a higher-power mode, continued monitoring is a predictable and desirable safeguard to detect degraded contact, misalignment, or loss of safe charging conditions.
──────────
Claim 7 Rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and further in view of Reference 4
The system of claim 6, wherein the powered system controller is configured to repeatedly communicate the one or more of the voltage or the current that is measured to a power source controller of the power source to repeatedly test a connection between the collector device and the delivery device.
ANALYSIS
Reference 2 teaches a closed-loop interlock in which the source side and vehicle side cooperate through the pilot condition. Rail-side controller 621 relies on the signal condition detected through circuit 618 and will de-energize the rail sections if the pilot is not maintained. Vehicle-side controller 634 responds to the detected signal condition through detection circuit 626 and sensors 628. This is a repeating feedback relationship used to keep testing whether the connection remains proper.
Reference 4 further teaches control pilot circuits 44 and 56 communicating status and authorization between EVSE and vehicle, and ground monitor circuit 42 communicating to trip mechanism 46 through EVSE control pilot circuit 44 when impedance exceeds threshold. Those teachings would have rendered it obvious not merely to measure the interface electrical condition repeatedly, but also to repeatedly communicate that measured condition, or a value representative of it, to the power-source controller to keep verifying the connection between the collector device and the delivery device.
Accordingly, References 1, 2, and 4 together render obvious claim 7.
MOTIVATION TO COMBINE
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to provide repeated communication of the measured interface condition to the power-source controller because the power-source side is in the best position to rapidly maintain, reduce, or interrupt source output. Sending recurring interface-condition information back to that controller is a predictable closed-loop safety enhancement.
──────────
Claim 8 Rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and further in view of Reference 6
The system of claim 1, further comprising a sensor configured to detect one or more of identifying indicia or a wirelessly readable tag configured to be coupled with the vehicle for identifying the vehicle.
ANALYSIS
Reference 6 teaches a rail-car identification system in which rail car 22 carries AEI tag 33 and passes a wayside AEI tag reader 36. The AEI tag 33 uniquely identifies the rail car to the reader 36. Thus, Reference 6 teaches a sensor configured to detect a wirelessly readable tag coupled with a vehicle for identifying that vehicle.
It would have been obvious to incorporate the known AEI tag and reader identification arrangement of Reference 6 into the charging system of References 1 and 2 so that the charging installation can identify an approaching or present vehicle and determine the proper charging protocol before or during the charging sequence.
Accordingly, References 1, 2, and 6 together render obvious claim 8.
MOTIVATION TO COMBINE
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to add the AEI tag/reader identification of Reference 6 because automatic vehicle identification is a routine and highly useful adjunct to rail-side infrastructure systems. The combination would have predictably improved authorization, parameter selection, fleet tracking, and charging recordkeeping.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and further in view of Reference 3.
Claims 12, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and further in view of Reference 4.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and further in view of Reference 4 and Reference 5.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and further in view of Reference 6.
──────────
Claim 9 Rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2
A method comprising: selectively coupling a collector device of a vehicle with a delivery device coupled with an off-board power source; separately conducting a positive potential and a negative potential between the power source and the vehicle via different contacts of the collector device in a first mode of operation; separately establishing a grounding connection and a communication pathway between the power source and the vehicle via the different contacts of the collector device in the first mode of operation; switching the different contacts from the first mode of operation to a second mode of operation; and separately conducting the positive potential, an additional amount of the positive potential, the negative potential, and an additional amount of the negative potential between the power source and the vehicle via the different contacts of the collector device in the second mode of operation.
ANALYSIS
Reference 1 teaches the method of selectively coupling a vehicle-side contact device 58 with an off-board charging contact device 59, the contact surfaces 68-71 engaging corresponding charging contact surfaces 60-63. Reference 1 also teaches, in the initial functional arrangement, two direct-current power contacts, one signal contact, and one protective-ground contact. Thus, Reference 1 teaches separately conducting power over different contacts while separately establishing grounding and communication via other contacts in a first mode of operation.
Reference 2 teaches switching an interface from an initial pilot/verification condition to a charging-power condition. In interlock system 600, switches 606 and 614 initially keep the relevant rail sections at earth potential, oscillator 612 provides the pilot signal, rail-side controller 621 responds to detection by circuit 618, and vehicle-side controller 634 responds to vehicle-side detection by circuit 626 and switches 630 and 632. After contact and verification, the rail-side controller switches the rail-side power switches to connect power source 200, and the vehicle-side controller switches the vehicle-side power switches to connect the vehicle storage 22. That teaching renders obvious the claimed switching of contact functions from the first mode to a second mode.
It would have been obvious to perform the Reference 1 method using the switching logic of Reference 2 so that after the initial communication and ground-reference functions are used to verify safe connection, the formerly auxiliary contacts are reassigned as added positive and added negative power paths in the second mode to increase power transfer.
Accordingly, References 1 and 2 render obvious claim 9.
MOTIVATION TO COMBINE
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to combine the multi-contact charging method of Reference 1 with the mode-transition control of Reference 2 because the combination predictably provides a safe sequence: verify connection first, then switch into a higher-power transfer state using more of the available contact interface.
──────────
Claim 10 Rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and further in view of Reference 3
The method of claim 9, further comprising: communicating with the power source via at least one of the contacts to identify the vehicle prior to switching from the first mode of operation to the second mode of operation.
ANALYSIS
Reference 3 teaches that, before approval of electricity supply, communication occurs over pilot signal line 20 and pilot signal earth line 18 through interface 22 between charging station control device 4 and vehicle control device 24. Reference 3 further teaches that vehicle control device 24 generates signal 68 comprising an identification message of the electric vehicle to the charging station before charging approval. This is communication with the power-source side via a contact path to identify the vehicle prior to switching to the charging state.
Accordingly, References 1, 2, and 3 render obvious claim 10.
MOTIVATION TO COMBINE
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to add vehicle identification before switching to the higher-power mode because it allows the source side to verify the connected vehicle and select the proper charging authorization and parameters before enabling enhanced power transfer.
──────────
Claim 11 Rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and further in view of Reference 3
The method of claim 10, further comprising: communicating with the power source regarding transfer of the positive potential, the additional amount of the positive potential, the negative potential, and the additional amount of the negative potential subsequent to the vehicle being identified.
ANALYSIS
Reference 3 teaches that after the vehicle has been identified, charging station control device 4 sends information signal 70 to communicate charging-current information for that vehicle. This is a communication regarding power transfer subsequent to vehicle identification. In the context of the combined system, once the interface has been switched to the higher-power second mode using the added power paths, that communication would reasonably concern the transfer permitted over the several power paths.
Accordingly, References 1, 2, and 3 render obvious claim 11.
MOTIVATION TO COMBINE
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to communicate post-identification transfer information because that is the natural and predictable next step after vehicle identification in a controlled charging system, especially one that is transitioning to a higher-power operating mode.
──────────
Claim 12 Rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and further in view of Reference 4
The method of claim 9, further comprising: testing a connection to a ground reference of one or more of the vehicle or the power source at least one of the contacts of the collector device prior to switching from the first mode of operation to the second mode of operation.
ANALYSIS
Reference 4 teaches monitoring the ground path and grounding continuity in a vehicle charging interface using ground monitor circuit 42, grounded conductors 26, 34, and 50, control pilot circuits 44 and 56, and trip mechanism 46. The ground monitor circuit tests whether impedance on the ground-side conductors exceeds a threshold and interrupts power if it does. Applied to the first-mode interface of References 1 and 2, this renders obvious the additional method step of testing a ground-reference connection of the vehicle or the power source through at least one of the collector-device contacts before switching to the second mode.
Accordingly, References 1, 2, and 4 render obvious claim 12.
MOTIVATION TO COMBINE
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to perform a ground-reference test before the higher-power switch because such a test predictably reduces shock and fault risk and is directly compatible with the first-mode ground and communication arrangement.
──────────
Claim 13 Rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and further in view of Reference 4 and Reference 5
The method of claim 12, wherein the connection to the ground reference is tested by directing a grounding resistance be connected with the collector device and by measuring one or both of a voltage or a current at an interface between the collector device and the delivery device.
ANALYSIS
Reference 5 teaches a ground-fault detection method in which a supply voltage input line is selectively coupled through resistive element 30 and electrical circuit 24, 50 to secondary ground 26, while measurement line 38 is monitored by microprocessor 40 to determine whether a ground fault exists before power conversion proceeds. This is a specific resistor-in-the-ground-test-path measurement technique.
It would have been obvious to implement the more general ground-reference testing of claim 12 using the specific resistor-coupling and voltage/current measurement arrangement of Reference 5. Thus, the combined references render obvious testing the connection to ground reference by directing a grounding resistance to be connected with the collector-device circuitry and by measuring one or both of voltage or current at the interface.
Accordingly, References 1, 2, 4, and 5 render obvious claim 13.
MOTIVATION TO COMBINE
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to use the resistor-based test of Reference 5 because it supplies a concrete and well-understood implementation for carrying out the pre-switch ground test in a controlled and measurable manner.
──────────
Claim 14 Rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and further in view of Reference 4
The method of claim 9, further comprising: repeatedly measuring one or more of a voltage or a current conducted from the power source to the vehicle via the delivery device and the collector device.
ANALYSIS
Reference 2 teaches repeated interface supervision using pilot signals, detection circuits 618 and 626, sensors 620, 622, and 628, and controllers 621 and 634, with charging power being removed if the pilot condition is not maintained. Reference 4 further teaches control pilot and ground monitoring during charging, including continuing monitoring of grounding continuity and impedance. These teachings render obvious repeatedly measuring voltage or current-related conditions conducted through the charging interface from the power source to the vehicle.
Accordingly, References 1, 2, and 4 render obvious claim 14.
MOTIVATION TO COMBINE
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to repeatedly measure interface electrical conditions during charging because ongoing measurement is the predictable way to confirm that the higher-power state remains safe and properly connected after the switch to the second mode.
──────────
Claim 15 Rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and further in view of Reference 4
The method of claim 14, further comprising: repeatedly communicating the one or more of the voltage or the current that is measured to a power source controller of the power source to repeatedly test a connection between the collector device and the delivery device.
ANALYSIS
Reference 2 teaches that the charging condition is maintained only while the expected pilot relationship persists between the source side and vehicle side, which is a continuing exchange used to verify the connection. Reference 4 teaches control pilot communication between EVSE and vehicle through circuits 44 and 56 and source-side interruption through trip mechanism 46 based on monitored interface conditions. An ordinarily skilled artisan would have found it obvious, once repeated measurement of interface electrical conditions is performed, to repeatedly communicate those measured conditions, or values representative of them, to the source-side controller so that the source side can repeatedly test the integrity of the collector-device/delivery-device connection.
Accordingly, References 1, 2, and 4 render obvious claim 15.
MOTIVATION TO COMBINE
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to communicate the repeatedly measured condition back to the source side because the source-side controller is responsible for maintaining or interrupting charging power. Providing that controller with recurring interface-condition information is a straightforward and predictable control improvement.
──────────
Claim 16 Rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and further in view of Reference 6
The method of claim 9, further comprising: detecting one or more of identifying indicia or a wirelessly readable tag configured to be coupled with the vehicle for identifying the vehicle.
ANALYSIS
Reference 6 teaches rail car 22 equipped with AEI tag 33 and detection by wayside AEI tag reader 36. This expressly teaches detecting a wirelessly readable tag coupled with the vehicle for identifying the vehicle. Incorporating such a detection step into the charging method of References 1 and 2 would have allowed the charging system to identify the vehicle before or during the charging process.
Accordingly, References 1, 2, and 6 render obvious claim 16.
MOTIVATION TO COMBINE
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to add AEI-tag detection to the charging method because automatic vehicle identification is a common and predictable infrastructure function in rail systems and provides immediate benefits for authorization and charging-profile selection.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and further in view of Reference 3.
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and further in view of Reference 4.
──────────
Claim 17 Rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2
A system comprising: a collector device configured to be coupled with a powered system, the collector device including separate conductive contacts configured to engage with corresponding contacts of a delivery device coupled with a power source that is outside the powered system; and a controller configured to switch one or more of the contacts of the collector device from providing one or more of a communication pathway with the power source or a grounding connection in a first mode of operation to conducting additional potential between the power source and the powered system in a second mode of operation to increase a power transfer between the power source and the powered system.
ANALYSIS
Reference 1 teaches a collector/contact device 58 on the vehicle side with separate conductive contacts 68, 69, 70, and 71 configured to engage corresponding contacts 60, 61, 62, and 63 of off-board charging contact device 59 coupled to a stationary charging station. Reference 1 also teaches that among these contacts, some are power contacts, one is a signal contact, and one is a protective-ground contact.
Reference 2 teaches the controller-driven switching of interface state through rail-side controller 621, vehicle-side controller 634, switches 606, 614, 630, and 632, and pilot circuitry using oscillator 612 and detection circuits 618 and 626. In the initial condition, the relevant path is held at earth potential and monitored via pilot signaling; after successful detection, the system switches into a power-transfer condition connecting source 200 and vehicle energy storage 22.
In view of these combined teachings, it would have been obvious to provide a controller configured to switch one or more contacts of the multi-contact interface from communication and/or grounding roles in a first mode to additional power-transfer roles in a second mode so as to increase power transfer between the off-board source and the powered system.
Accordingly, References 1 and 2 render obvious claim 17.
MOTIVATION TO COMBINE
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to combine Reference 1 and Reference 2 because Reference 1 provides the separate contact hardware and the distinct communication/ground/power functions, while Reference 2 provides the controller logic and switching scheme needed to transition from a safe initial state to an active charging state. The resulting system predictably increases usable power-transfer capability.
──────────
Claim 18 Rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and further in view of Reference 3
The system of claim 17, wherein, prior to switching from the first mode of operation to the second mode of operation, the controller is configured to identify the powered system via conduction of a designated potential between the power source and the powered system through at least one of the contacts.
ANALYSIS
Reference 3 teaches a predetermined DC potential on pilot signal line 20 supplied by charging station control device 4 through oscillator voltage source 6, measurement of that potential by voltage measurement device 10, and establishment of a second DC voltage level through interface 22 using pilot signal earth line 18 and vehicle-side circuitry. Reference 3 further teaches use of this pilot path to exchange the vehicle identification message 68 before charging supply is approved. Thus, Reference 3 teaches identifying the vehicle or powered system through a designated potential and pilot-contact conduction before switching to the active charging state.
Applied to the system of claim 17, the communication contact used in the first mode would conduct the designated potential and associated identification signaling prior to switching that interface into the higher-power second mode.
Accordingly, References 1, 2, and 3 render obvious claim 18.
MOTIVATION TO COMBINE
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to use a designated pilot potential and associated identification signaling before switching modes because that is a predictable way to confirm the identity and readiness of the connected vehicle before increasing transferred power.
──────────
Claim 19 Rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and further in view of Reference 4
The system of claim 17, wherein the controller is configured to repeatedly measure one or more of the additional potential, a current, or an impedance conducted between the collector device and the delivery device subsequent to switching from the first mode of operation to the second mode of operation.
ANALYSIS
Reference 2 teaches continued pilot-based monitoring after switching into the charging state. Rail-side detection circuit 618, vehicle-side detection circuit 626, controllers 621 and 634, and the requirement that a pilot signal be present at all times show repeated measurement and supervision of the energized interface after switching.
Reference 4 teaches monitoring impedance and ground continuity in the charging interface using ground monitor circuit 42, grounded conductors, and control pilot circuits 44 and 56, with interruption if impedance exceeds threshold. Taken together, these teachings render obvious repeated measurement, after switching to the second mode, of potential/current/impedance-related conditions between the collector device and the delivery device.
Accordingly, References 1, 2, and 4 render obvious claim 19.
MOTIVATION TO COMBINE
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to repeatedly measure electrical conditions after switching because the second mode carries increased power and therefore calls for continuing verification that the interface remains intact and safe.
──────────
Claim 20 Rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and further in view of Reference 4
The system of claim 19, wherein the controller is configured to communicate the one or more of the additional potential, the current, or the impedance to the power source.
ANALYSIS
Reference 2 teaches continuous source-side and vehicle-side coordination through the pilot and controller arrangement, including source-side reaction by controller 621 to detected conditions. Reference 4 teaches source-side control through EVSE control pilot circuit 44, EV control pilot circuit 56, and trip mechanism 46 in response to monitored impedance and grounding conditions. In view of those teachings, once the controller is repeatedly measuring potential/current/impedance after switching, it would have been obvious to communicate those measured values, or values representative of them, to the power source so that the source side can continue, limit, or interrupt charging as needed.
Accordingly, References 1, 2, and 4 render obvious claim 20.
MOTIVATION TO COMBINE
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to communicate the measured interface condition to the power source because source-side regulation of charging power is most effective when based on updated information from the interface on the vehicle side. This is a straightforward and predictable closed-loop control arrangement.
Conclusion
/Jason C Smith/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615