Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-15) in the reply filed on 11/20/2025 is acknowledged. Non-elected claims 16-27 are withdrawn from consideration. Claims 1-15 are treated on the merit. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JPH07-130463A cited by applicant. Regarding claim 1, JPH07-130463A discloses a microwave irradiation device (microwave oven) comprising a holder (see Figure 1) configured to hold an irradiated object (7); a power feeder (4) configured to conduct with an oscillator (1); and a directional antenna (2) configured to emit microwaves from an irradiation source in an irradiation surface by power feed through conduction via the power feeder (par. 0013).
Claim(s) 1, 7 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JPS60-262386A cited by applicant. Regarding claim 1, JPS60-262386A discloses a microwave irradiation device (microwave oven) comprising a holder (9) configured to hold an irradiated object (11); a power feeder (5) configured to conduct with an oscillator (3); and a directional antenna (8) configured to emit microwaves from an irradiation source in an irradiation surface by power feed through conduction via the power feeder (see translation of Description). Regarding claims 7 and 11, JPS60-262386A discloses the antenna (8) is a loop antenna in which the irradiation surface is an opening surface, wherein the loop antenna (8) is arranged such that a directional irradiation axis of the microwave emitted from the irradiation source does not cross a structure that reflects the microwave and constitutes the holder (Figure 1).
Claim(s) 1, 7, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JPS52-016656U cited by applicant. Regarding claims 1 and 7, JPS52-016656U discloses a microwave irradiation device (microwave oven) comprising a holder (5) configured to hold an irradiated object (6); a power feeder configured to conduct with an oscillator (8); and a loop antenna (7) configured to emit microwaves from an irradiation source (8) in an irradiation surface by power feed through conduction via the power feeder (page 3, line 4). Regarding claim 11, JPS52-016656U discloses the loop antenna (7) is arranged such that a directional irradiation axis of the microwave emitted from the irradiation source (8) does not cross a structure that reflects the microwave and constitutes the holder (Figure 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JPS52-016656U, in view of JPH58-176896A both cited by applicant. Regarding claim 2, JPS52-016656U discloses substantially all features of the claimed invention except the holder is a conveyance device that conveys the irradiated object in a conveyance direction, and the microwave irradiation device includes an antenna group including a plurality of the antennas arranged along the conveyance direction. JPH58-176896A discloses a holder is a conveyance device (2) that conveys the irradiated object in a conveyance direction, and the microwave irradiation device (3, 5) includes an antenna group including a plurality of the antennas (9) arranged along the conveyance direction. It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to utilize in JPS52-016656U the holder is a conveyance device that conveys the irradiated object in a conveyance direction, and the microwave irradiation device includes an antenna group including a plurality of the antennas arranged along the conveyance direction as taught by JPH58-176896A in order to evenly disperse microwaves to both side of the object to be heated. Regarding claim 3, JPS52-016656U discloses the loop antenna (7) is arranged such that a directional irradiation axis of the microwave emitted from the irradiation source (8) does not intersect a structure that reflects the microwave and constitutes the holder (Figure 1). Regarding claim 4, JPS52-016656U discloses the antenna group comprises the plurality of antenna arranged at both sides of the conveyance device in a manner sandwiching the conveyance device (The figure). Regarding claim 5, JPS52-016656U discloses the antenna is a loop antenna (7) in which the irradiation surface is an opening surface.
Claims 6, 8-10, and 12-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Bickel (US 3,953,702) discloses solid state microwave oven power source.
/QUANG T VAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761 February 10, 2026