DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 01/08/25 has/have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. Claim 17 recites the limitation “the second end of the first controllable switch is a positive output end of the energy storage component, and the negative output end of the battery component is a negative output end of the energy storage component” which does not distinctly claim that which the inventor regards as the invention. As written the first controllable switch appears to form a short across one energy storage component by connecting the positive output end to the negative output end. For the purpose of examination, and as supported by the embodiment of application FIG 5, this claim has been interpreted as “the second end of the first controllable switch is a positive output end of a first energy storage component, and the negative output end of the battery component is a negative output end of a second energy storage component”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 17 , and 20-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ono et al (US 20210234380 A1) modified by Fuglevand et al (US 20020177018 A1), and further supported by Loniza, Erika, et al. “Passive balancing of battery lithium polymer using shunt resistor circuit method.” AIP Conference Proceedings, vol. 1741, 2016, p. 090011, https://doi.org/10.1063/1.4958529. Ono has a priority date of 01/28/2020 corresponding to foreign application JP-2020011532
Regarding claim 1, Ono teaches an energy storage system comprising: a battery cluster, (¶0017 “FIG. 1, the battery system 1 includes a plurality of battery packs 21 and 22 and a battery control unit 3”, ¶0018 “battery pack 21 includes a plurality of batteries 21a to 21c. The battery pack 22 includes a plurality of batteries 22a to 22c”)
a direct current converter, (¶0019 “battery control unit 3 includes a plurality of switching units 41a to 41c, 42a to 42c, a plurality of voltage measurement units 51a to 51c, 52a to 52c, a plurality of bidirectional DC/DC converters 61 and 62 (bidirectional voltage converter), a plurality of current measurement units 71 and 72, and a controller 8”)
a controller, (¶0019 “battery control unit 3 includes a plurality of switching units 41a to 41c, 42a to 42c, a plurality of voltage measurement units 51a to 51c, 52a to 52c, a plurality of bidirectional DC/DC converters 61 and 62 (bidirectional voltage converter), a plurality of current measurement units 71 and 72, and a controller 8”)
[and at least one power conversion system];
wherein the energy storage system further comprises at least one direct current branch, (¶0018 “battery pack 21 includes a plurality of batteries 21a to 21c”)
and each of the at least one direct current branch comprises a battery cluster and a direct current converter that are connected to each other; (¶0028 “plurality of bidirectional DC/DC converters 61 and 62 are provided corresponding to the plurality of battery packs 21 and 22”)
wherein the at least one power conversion system is configured to perform power conversion on a direct current provided by the at least one direct current branch; (¶0047 “[FIG 3] controller 8 controls the outputs V.sub.DC21 and V.sub.DC22 of the bidirectional DC/DC converters 61 and 62 to a predetermined constant value equal to each other (step S13)”)
wherein each battery cluster comprises at least two energy storage components that are connected in series, (¶0018 “[FIG 1] battery pack 21 includes a plurality of batteries 21a to 21c. The battery pack 22 includes a plurality of batteries 22a to 22c… in which three batteries 21a to 21c, 22a to 22c are connected in series”)
each of the at least two energy storage components comprises a battery component, (¶0018 “battery pack 21 includes a plurality of batteries 21a to 21c”, FIG 1 depicts battery 21a to be the first energy storage component and battery 21b to be the second energy storage component)
[at least one of the at least two energy storage components comprise a first equalization circuit,]
and each battery component comprises at least two batteries; (¶0018 “Each of the plurality of batteries 21a to 21c, 22a to 22c is a chargeable and dischargeable storage battery, and may include one cell, or may include a plurality of cells”)
and wherein the controller is configured to: control the first [equalization] circuit, (¶0032 “controller 8 functions as a first controller, and controls ON/OFF of the first switches SW11a to SW11c, the SW21a to SW21c, the second switches SW12a to SW12c, SW22a to SW22c based on a voltage across each of the batteries 21a to 21c, 22a to 22c”)
[to balance electricity quantities of battery components in the battery cluster,]
and allocate operating power to the power conversion system and the direct current converter. (¶0033 “controller 8 first controls the outputs V.sub.DC11 and V.sub.DC12 of the DC/DC converters 61 and 62 based on charging states of the battery packs 21 and 22”)
Ono ¶0022 discloses “switching unit 41a is configured with a first switch SW11a connected in series with the battery 21a, and a second switch SW12a connected in parallel to the battery 21a and the first switch SW11a” and further details in ¶0032 “controller 8 functions as a first controller, and controls ON/OFF of the first switches SW11a to SW11c, the SW21a to SW21c, the second switches SW12a to SW12c… based on a voltage across each of the batteries 21a to 21c”. Controller 8 turns switching unit 41a into a bypass circuit, allowing controller 8 to connect and disconnect individual batteries 21a-21c from the battery pack 21.
Ono does not teach and at least one power conversion system; at least one of the at least two energy storage components comprise a first equalization circuit; and [wherein the controller is configured to: control the first] equalization circuit, to balance electricity quantities of battery components in the battery cluster.
Fugveland teaches and at least one power conversion system; (¶0057 “system 60 further includes switching circuitry 62 for switching a number of modules to produce a desired voltage at one or more loads 64 and 66”, ¶0063 “FIG. 3, a fuel cell system 200 includes a single set 210 of fuel cell subgroups 18 and multiple switched ultracapacitors (or parallel groups of ultracapacitors) 226, 228, and 230 which are placed in series to develop a desired voltage”)
at least one of the at least two energy storage components comprise a first equalization circuit; (¶0053 “[FIG 1] multiple subgroups 18 are associated with each circuit 36. In one embodiment, the controller 34 causes each circuit 36 to periodically shunt electrical current”)
and [wherein the controller is configured to: control the first] equalization circuit, to balance electricity quantities of battery components in the battery cluster. (¶0053 “[FIG 1] system 10 further includes, for each module, 12 and 13, one or more fuel cell shunt and passive diode protection circuits 36 coupled to the controller 34”, see below for further detail)
Loniza discloses a simulation for testing the performance of a shunt circuit used to balance the voltage of battery cells, determining that “Based on the tests with variable loads, it can be concluded of that the big capacity dummyload affects the battery voltage characteristics, despite accelerating balancing process” on pg 6. Thereby it would be well known in the art of battery balancing to use a shunt circuit as a passive equalization circuit, resulting in the fuel cell shunt and passive diode protection circuits 36 as taught by Fuglevand to be equalization circuits.
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the energy storage system as taught by Ono wherein at least one of the at least two energy storage components comprise a first equalization circuit controlled to balance electricity quantities of battery components in the battery cluster as taught by Fuglevand. Ono and Fuglevand share a lot of structure, each comprising battery clusters wherein each cluster is connected to a DCDC converter and each cluster further comprises multiple battery cells which are able to be connected and disconnected as needed. It would be obvious to incorporate Fuglevand’s fuel cell shunt and passive diode protection circuits 36 as part of Ono’s battery control unit 3 in order to passively balance the batteries 21a to 21c. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to improve operational safety of the energy storage system and extend the lifespan of the battery modules using a low-cost and simple circuit design.
Similarly for claim 23 as applied to a control method.
Regarding claim 2, Ono modified by Fuglevand teaches the energy storage system according to claim 1. Ono modified by Fuglevand further teaches wherein an output end of the battery cluster comprised in each direct current branch is connected to an input end of the direct current converter comprised in the direct current branch; (Ono ¶0029 “bidirectional DC/DC converters 61 and 62 boost and lower the total voltage of the battery packs 21 and 22 during discharge, and output the voltage to the load 10”)
and the direct current converter is configured to perform direct current conversion on a direct current provided by the battery cluster. (Ono ¶0029 “bidirectional DC/DC converters 61 and 62 boost and lower a voltage from the charger 40 during charge, and output the voltage to the battery packs 21 and 22”)
Regarding claim 3, Ono modified by Fuglevand teaches the energy storage system according to claim 2. Ono modified by Fuglevand further teaches wherein the controller is specifically further configured to determine operating power of all power conversion systems based on a power scheduling instruction (Ono ¶0033 “controller 8 first controls the outputs V.sub.DC11 and V.sub.DC12 of the DC/DC converters 61 and 62 based on charging states of the battery packs 21 and 22”)
and maximum allowed operating power of each power conversion system and each direct current converter, (Ono ¶0047 “controller 8 acquires the currents flowing through the battery packs 21 and 22 measured by the current measurement units 71 and 72, and compares the currents with a predetermined allowable maximum current (threshold value)(step S14)”)
wherein the power scheduling instruction indicates a sum of the operating power of all the power conversion systems. (Fuglevand ¶0057 “system 60 further includes switching circuitry 62 for switching a number of modules to produce a desired voltage at one or more loads 64 and 66”, Ono ¶0029 “a total voltage of the battery packs 21 and 22 is input as an input voltage to the first input-output terminals T.sub.1 of the bidirectional DC/DC converters 61 and 62. The total voltage of the battery packs 21 and 22 is a sum of voltages across the batteries 21a to 21c. 22a to 22c that are in the connected state in the battery packs 21 and 22”)
Regarding claim 4, Ono modified by Fuglevand teaches the energy storage system according to claim 3. Ono modified by Fuglevand further comprising: n power conversion systems (Fuglevand ¶0063 “FIG. 3, a fuel cell system 200 includes a single set 210 of fuel cell subgroups 18 and multiple switched ultracapacitors (or parallel groups of ultracapacitors) 226, 228, and 230 which are placed in series to develop a desired voltage”)
and m direct current converters, (Ono ¶0028 “plurality of bidirectional DC/DC converters 61 and 62 are provided corresponding to the plurality of battery packs 21 and 22”)
and n and m are integers greater than 1; (Fuglevand ultracapacitors 226, 228, and 230 (n=3) and Ono’s DC/DC converters 61 and 62 (m=2) respectively)
[the controller is further configured to: in response to the sum of the operating power being less than or equal to a smallest value of a sum of maximum allowed operating power of the n power conversion systems and a sum of maximum allowed operating power of all the direct current converters, determine, based on the sum of the operating power and maximum allowed operating power of each power conversion system, operating power to be allocated to an ith power conversion system, wherein i = 1, 2, ..., and n;
and the controller is further configured to: in response to the sum of the operating power being greater than the smallest value, determine, based on the smallest value and the maximum allowed operating power of each power conversion system, operating power to be allocated to the ith power conversion system.]
Ono as modified by Fuglevand does not teach the controller is further configured to: in response to the sum of the operating power being less than or equal to a smallest value of a sum of maximum allowed operating power of the n power conversion systems and a sum of maximum allowed operating power of all the direct current converters, determine, based on the sum of the operating power and maximum allowed operating power of each power conversion system, operating power to be allocated to an ith power conversion system, wherein i = 1, 2, ..., and n; and the controller is further configured to: in response to the sum of the operating power being greater than the smallest value, determine, based on the smallest value and the maximum allowed operating power of each power conversion system, operating power to be allocated to the ith power conversion system.
Fuglevand further teaches the controller is further configured to: in response to the sum of the operating power being less than or equal to a smallest value of a sum of maximum allowed operating power of the n power conversion systems and a sum of maximum allowed operating power of all the direct current converters, (¶0059 “if one or more modules fail or if the output voltage declines, the controller 34 will, in one embodiment, automatically maintain the voltage by switching in other modules”)
determine, based on the sum of the operating power and maximum allowed operating power of each power conversion system, operating power to be allocated to an ith power conversion system, wherein i = 1, 2, ..., and n; (¶0059 “FIGS. 1 and 2 allows real-time compensation of voltage by switching in and out various modules 12a-i, using the controller 34 and switching circuitry 62. Using the multiple taps and multiple modules 12a-i, the voltage can be regulated to within the voltage of a single module”)
and the controller is further configured to: in response to the sum of the operating power being greater than the smallest value, determine, based on the smallest value and the maximum allowed operating power of each power conversion system, operating power to be allocated to the ith power conversion system. (¶0059 “FIGS. 1 and 2 allows real-time compensation of voltage by switching in and out various modules 12a-i, using the controller 34 and switching circuitry 62. Using the multiple taps and multiple modules 12a-i, the voltage can be regulated to within the voltage of a single module”)
Fuglevand FIG 2 depicts the ultracapacitors 14 as being in series with one another and connected through switching circuitry 62 to external loads 64 and 66, necessitating that the voltages across ultracapacitors 14 be summed for a total voltage input to switching circuitry 62. Further ¶0059 describes connecting modules 12 as needed to maintain a particular output voltage, which would mean when the operating power drops below the maximum operating power controller 34 will compensate by adding more battery modules 12 to increase the operating power.
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to further modify the energy storage system as taught by Ono modified by Fuglevand wherein the controller is further configured to: in response to the sum of the operating power being greater than the smallest value, determine, based on the smallest value and the maximum allowed operating power of each power conversion system, operating power to be allocated to the ith power conversion system as further taught by Fuglevand. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to protect electronics from damage caused by high voltage spikes or drops which can put undue stress on the system.
Regarding claim 17, Ono modified by Fuglevand teaches the energy storage system according to claim 1. Ono modified by Fuglevand wherein the first equalization circuit comprises a first controllable switch and a second controllable switch; (Ono ¶0022 “switching unit 41a is configured with a first switch SW11a connected in series with the battery 21a, and a second switch SW12a connected in parallel to the battery 21a”)
and a positive output end of the battery component is connected to a first end of the first controllable switch, (Ono ¶0022 “One end T11 of the first switch SW11a is connected to one electrode (for example, a positive electrode) of the battery 21a”)
a second end of the first controllable switch is connected to a first end of the second controllable switch, (Ono ¶0022 “the other end T22 of the second switch SW12a is connected to the other end T12 of the first switch SW11a”)
a second end of the second controllable switch is connected to a negative output end of the battery component, (Ono¶0022 “One end T21 of the second switch SW12a is connected to the other electrode (for example, a negative electrode) of the battery 21a”)
the second end of the first controllable switch is a positive output end of the energy storage component, and the negative output end of the battery component is a negative output end of the energy storage component. (Ono SW11a and SW11b are analogous switches on batteries 21a and 21b respectively, Ono FIG 1 shows SW11b between two storage components)
Regarding claim 20, Ono modified by Fuglevand teaches the energy storage system according to claim 1. Ono modified by Fuglevand wherein in response to a new battery component is connected to the battery cluster, the controller is further configured to: firstly control a first controllable switch of the new battery component to be turned off, and control a second controllable switch of the new battery component module to be turned on; (Ono ¶0032 “controller 8 functions as a first controller, and controls ON/OFF of the first switches SW11a to SW11c”, Fuglevand ¶0069 “sequential time intervals (e.g., every millisecond), the controller 34 electrically connects a number of the modules 12a-i to a load 64 or 66 to meet the power requirements of the load 64 or 66 at the time”)
and in response to a first parameter corresponding to an original battery component is the same as a first parameter corresponding to the new battery component, control the second controllable switch to be turned off, and after a second preset time, control the first controllable switch to be turned on. (Fuglevand ¶0069 “sequential time intervals (e.g., every millisecond), the controller 34 electrically connects a number of the modules 12a-i to a load 64 or 66 to meet the power requirements of the load 64 or 66 at the time”)
Regarding claim 21, Ono modified by Fuglevand teaches the energy storage system according to claim 1. Ono modified by Fuglevand wherein the first equalization circuit comprises a direct current/direct current conversion circuit; (Ono ¶0028 “Each of the bidirectional DC/DC converters 61 and 62 includes a first input-output terminal T.sub.1, a second input-output terminal T.sub.2, and a ground terminal T.sub.GND”, Fuglevand)
an input end of the direct current/direct current conversion circuit is connected to an output end of the battery component, (Ono ¶0028 “Each of the bidirectional DC/DC converters 61 and 62 includes a first input-output terminal T.sub.1, a second input-output terminal T.sub.2, and a ground terminal T.sub.GND”)
and an output end of the direct current/direct current conversion circuit is connected to an output end of the energy storage component; (Ono ¶0029 “positive electrodes of the battery packs 21 and 22 are connected to each other, and are connected to the load 10 or the charger 40 via the input-output terminals T.sub.1 and the second input-output terminals T.sub.2 of the bidirectional DC/DC converters 61 and 62”)
and the direct current/direct current conversion circuit is configured to boost or reduce an output voltage of the energy storage component correspondingly connected to the direct current/direct current conversion circuit. (Ono ¶0029 “the bidirectional DC/DC converters 61 and 62 boost and lower the total voltage of the battery packs 21 and 22 during discharge, and output the voltage to the load 10. The bidirectional DC/DC converters 61 and 62 boost and lower a voltage from the charger 40 during charge, and output the voltage to the battery packs 21 and 22”)
Regarding claim 22, Ono modified by Fuglevand teaches the energy storage system according to claim 21. Ono modified by Fuglevand further teaches wherein the controller is further configured to control each first equalization circuit, (Fuglevand ¶0053 “[FIG 1] multiple subgroups 18 are associated with each circuit 36. In one embodiment, the controller 34 causes each circuit 36 to periodically shunt electrical current”)
or control a direct current converter connected to each battery cluster, (Ono ¶0047 “[FIG 3] controller 8 controls the outputs V.sub.DC21 and V.sub.DC22 of the bidirectional DC/DC converters 61 and 62 to a predetermined constant value equal to each other (step S13)”)
or control both each first equalization circuit and a direct current converter connected to each battery cluster, to adjust an output voltage of each battery cluster, so as to equalize output of battery clusters. (Fuglevand ¶0053 “[FIG 1] multiple subgroups 18 are associated with each circuit 36. In one embodiment, the controller 34 causes each circuit 36 to periodically shunt electrical current”, Ono ¶0047 “[FIG 3] controller 8 controls the outputs V.sub.DC21 and V.sub.DC22 of the bidirectional DC/DC converters 61 and 62 to a predetermined constant value equal to each other (step S13)”)
Regarding claim 24, Ono teaches an energy storage component, wherein the energy storage component module comprises a battery component [and a first equalization circuit]; (¶0017 “FIG. 1, the battery system 1 includes a plurality of battery packs 21 and 22 and a battery control unit 3”, ¶0018 “battery pack 21 includes a plurality of batteries 21a to 21c. The battery pack 22 includes a plurality of batteries 22a to 22c”, ¶0032 “controller 8 functions as a first controller, and controls ON/OFF of the first switches SW11a to SW11c, the SW21a to SW21c, the second switches SW12a to SW12c, SW22a to SW22c based on a voltage across each of the batteries 21a to 21c, 22a to 22c”)
[the first equalization circuit is configured to balance electricity quantities of the battery component with other battery component module in a battery cluster;]
wherein the first [equalization] circuit comprises a first controllable switch and a second controllable switch; (¶0022 “switching unit 41a is configured with a first switch SW11a connected in series with the battery 21a, and a second switch SW12a connected in parallel to the battery 21a”)
and a positive output end of the battery component module is connected to a first end of the first controllable switch, (¶0022 “One end T11 of the first switch SW11a is connected to one electrode (for example, a positive electrode) of the battery 21a”)
a second end of the first controllable switch is connected to a first end of the second controllable switch, a second end of the second controllable switch is connected to a negative output end of the battery component, (¶0022 “the other end T22 of the second switch SW12a is connected to the other end T12 of the first switch SW11a”)
the second end of the first controllable switch is a positive output end of the energy storage component module, and the negative output end of the battery component module is a negative output end of the energy storage component module; (Ono SW11a and SW11b are analogous switches on batteries 21a and 21b respectively, Ono FIG 1 shows SW11b between two storage components)
in response to the energy storage component is in a charging state and the battery cluster is in a charging cutoff state, (¶0044 “[FIG 2] if a battery among the batteries 21a to 21c, 22a to 22c that reaches the charge termination voltage is present (Y in step S6), the controller 8 determines whether all the batteries 21a to 21c, 22a to 22c reach the charge termination voltage (step S7)”)
and first parameters corresponding to all batteries in the battery cluster, the battery component is bypassed. (¶0032 “controller 8 bypasses the batteries 21a to 21c, 22a to 22c that reach a discharge termination voltage or a charge termination voltage during the discharge or the charge as a non-connected state”)
Ono does not teach wherein the energy storage component module comprises [a battery component] and a first equalization circuit; the first equalization circuit is configured to balance electricity quantities of the battery component with other battery component module in a battery cluster.
Fuglevand teaches wherein the energy storage component module comprises [a battery component] and a first equalization circuit; (¶0053 “[FIG 1] multiple subgroups 18 are associated with each circuit 36. In one embodiment, the controller 34 causes each circuit 36 to periodically shunt electrical current”)
the first equalization circuit is configured to balance electricity quantities of the battery component with other battery component module in a battery cluster. (¶0053 “[FIG 1] system 10 further includes, for each module, 12 and 13, one or more fuel cell shunt and passive diode protection circuits 36 coupled to the controller 34”, see below for further detail)
Loniza discloses a simulation for testing the performance of a shunt circuit used to balance the voltage of battery cells, determining that “Based on the tests with variable loads, it can be concluded of that the big capacity dummyload affects the battery voltage characteristics, despite accelerating balancing process” on pg 6. Thereby it would be well known in the art of battery balancing to use a shunt circuit as a passive equalization circuit, resulting in the fuel cell shunt and passive diode protection circuits 36 as taught by Fuglevand to be equalization circuits.
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify energy storage component as taught by Ono wherein at least one of the at least two energy storage components comprise a first equalization circuit controlled to balance electricity quantities of battery components in the battery cluster as taught by Fuglevand. Ono and Fuglevand share a lot of structure, each comprising battery clusters wherein each cluster is connected to a DCDC converter and each cluster further comprises multiple battery cells which are able to be connected and disconnected as needed. It would be obvious to incorporate Fuglevand’s fuel cell shunt and passive diode protection circuits 36 as part of Ono’s battery control unit 3 in order to passively balance the batteries 21a to 21c. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to improve operational safety of the energy storage system and extend the lifespan of the battery modules using a low-cost and simple circuit design.
Claim(s) 5-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ono modified by Fuglevand and further in view of Kim et al (US 20220185148 A1), and further supported by Loniza, Erika, et al. “Passive balancing of battery lithium polymer using shunt resistor circuit method.” AIP Conference Proceedings, vol. 1741, 2016, p. 090011, https://doi.org/10.1063/1.4958529.
Regarding claim 5, Ono modified by Fuglevand teaches the energy storage system according to claim 2. Ono modified by Fuglevand further teaches wherein the controller is specifically further configured to determine operating power of all direct current converters based on a power scheduling instruction, (Ono ¶0041 “controller 8 controls the outputs V.sub.DC11 and V.sub.DC12 of the DC/DC converters 61 and 62 so as to have a value corresponding to the charging states of the battery packs 21 and 22 as described above (step S4)”)
maximum allowed operating power of each power conversion system and each direct current converter, (Ono ¶0034 “when the charge current I1 larger than the allowable maximum input current flows, the controller 8 decreases the output V.sub.DC11”)
[and a third parameter corresponding to each battery cluster,]
wherein the power scheduling instruction indicates a sum of operating power of all power conversion systems. (Ono ¶0029 “total voltage of the battery packs 21 and 22 is a sum of voltages across the batteries 21a to 21c. 22a to 22c that are in the connected state in the battery packs 21 and 22”)
Ono modified by Fuglevand does not teach and a third parameter corresponding to each battery cluster.
Kim teaches and a third parameter corresponding to each battery cluster. (¶0078 “FIG. 6, the integrated control unit 140 individually controls the plurality of DC/DC power conversion units 110 on the basis of state information including the SOC and SOH of each of the plurality of battery packs 120, additional information including a maximum allowable charge/discharge output level of each of the plurality of battery packs 120, and rated power of the AC/DC power conversion unit 130”, ¶0086 “chargeable/dischargeable time calculation unit 1421 calculates a chargeable/dischargeable time of each of the plurality of battery packs 120 on the basis of the SOH and SOC of each of the plurality of battery packs 120 included in the state information”)
Kim ¶0116 discloses “SOH and SOC are changed according to the internal calculation of the BMS during every charge or discharge, the integrated control unit 140 may read the measured values at regular time intervals and change the output control of each battery pack”, indicating that the SOH and SOC measurements are updated and used as a control parameter in determining the charging/discharging state of the energy storage system. Further ¶0117 “remote control unit 150 may determine various independent variables such as maximum charge/discharge power of the battery packs and maximum SOC levels and minimum SOC levels of the battery packs” such that the minimum SOC level determines the maximum output of the battery pack.
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to further modify the energy storage system as taught by Ono modified by Fuglevand as a parameter to determine maximum allowed operating power as taught by Kim. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to maintain a balance of charge across the battery packs to prevent undue internal damage and maximize the lifespan of the energy storage system.
Regarding claim 6, Ono modified by Fuglevand and Kim teaches the energy storage system according to claim 5. Ono modified by Fuglevand and Kim further teaches further comprising: n power conversion systems (Fuglevand ¶0063 “FIG. 3, a fuel cell system 200 includes a single set 210 of fuel cell subgroups 18 and multiple switched ultracapacitors (or parallel groups of ultracapacitors) 226, 228, and 230 which are placed in series to develop a desired voltage”)
and m direct current converters, (Ono ¶0028 “plurality of bidirectional DC/DC converters 61 and 62 are provided corresponding to the plurality of battery packs 21 and 22”)
and n and m are integers greater than 1; (Fuglevand ultracapacitors 226, 228, and 230 (n=3) and Ono’s DC/DC converters 61 and 62 (m=2) respectively)
and the controller is specifically further configured to: during discharging of the energy storage system, when in response to the sum of the operating power being greater than a smallest value of a sum of maximum allowed operating power of the n power conversion systems and a sum of maximum allowed operating power of all the direct current converters, determine, based on the smallest value and each third parameter, operating power to be allocated to a jth direct current converter, wherein j = 1, 2, ..., and m. (Fuglevand ¶0059 “FIGS. 1 and 2 allows real-time compensation of voltage by switching in and out various modules 12a-i, using the controller 34 and switching circuitry 62. Using the multiple taps and multiple modules 12a-i, the voltage can be regulated to within the voltage of a single module”)
Regarding claim 7, Ono modified by Fuglevand and Kim teaches the energy storage system according to claim 6. Ono modified by Fuglevand and Kim the controller is further specifically configured to: during charging of the energy storage system, when in response to the sum of the operating power being greater than the smallest value of the sum of the maximum allowed operating power of the n power conversion systems and the sum of the maximum allowed operating power of all the direct current converters, (Fuglevand ¶0059 “if one or more modules fail or if the output voltage declines, the controller 34 will, in one embodiment, automatically maintain the voltage by switching in other modules”)
determine, based on the smallest value and each third parameter, operating power to be allocated to the jth direct current converter; (Kim ¶0117 “remote control unit 150 may determine various independent variables such as maximum charge/discharge power of the battery packs and maximum SOC levels and minimum SOC levels of the battery packs” such that the minimum SOC level determines the maximum output of the battery pack)
or in response to the sum of the operating power being less than or equal to the smallest value, determine, based on each third parameter and the sum of the operating power, operating power to be allocated to the jth direct current converter. (Fuglevand ¶0059 “FIGS. 1 and 2 allows real-time compensation of voltage by switching in and out various modules 12a-i, using the controller 34 and switching circuitry 62. Using the multiple taps and multiple modules 12a-i, the voltage can be regulated to within the voltage of a single module”)
Regarding claim 8, Ono as modified by Fuglevand and Kim teaches the energy storage system according to claim 6. Ono as modified by Fuglevand and Kim does not teach wherein the controller is further configured to: when the operating power to be allocated to the jth direct current converter is greater than maximum allowed operating power of the jth direct current converter, use the maximum allowed operating power of the jth direct current converter as the operating power to be allocated to the jth direct current converter.
Kim teaches wherein the controller is further configured to: when the operating power to be allocated to the jth direct current converter is greater than maximum allowed operating power of the jth direct current converter, use the maximum allowed operating power of the jth direct current converter as the operating power to be allocated to the jth direct current converter. (¶0097 “corrected output level of any one battery pack exceeds the maximum allowable charge/discharge output level determined for the battery pack, the second charge/discharge power determination unit 1427 causes the battery pack to be charged with the maximum allowable charge/discharge output level”)
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to further modify the energy storage system as taught by Ono modified by Fuglevand and Kim wherein the controller is further configured to: when the operating power to be allocated to the jth direct current converter is greater than maximum allowed operating power of the jth direct current converter, use the maximum allowed operating power of the jth direct current converter as the operating power to be allocated to the jth direct current converter as taught by Kim. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to maintain a balance of charge across the battery packs to prevent undue internal damage and maximize the lifespan of the energy storage system.
Regarding claim 9, Ono modified by Fuglevand and Kim teaches the energy storage system according to claim 5. Ono as modified by Fuglevand and Kim further teaches wherein in response to a new direct current branch being connected to the energy storage system, (Fuglevand ¶0069 “sequential time intervals (e.g., every millisecond), the controller 34 electrically connects a number of the modules 12a-i to a load 64 or 66 to meet the power requirements of the load 64 or 66 at the time”)
the controller is further configured to determine operating power of a direct current converter in the new direct current branch based on a third parameter corresponding to a battery cluster in the new direct current branch, (Fuglevand ¶0070 “FIG. 5, the digital controller 34 may create a sinusoid by controlling the switching circuitry 62 to connect and disconnect a number of modules 12a-i”, see below for further detail)
maximum allowed operating power of the direct current converter in the new direct current branch, the power scheduling instruction, (Fuglevand ¶0059 “circuit design shown in FIGS. 1 and 2 allows real-time compensation of voltage by switching in and out various modules 12a-i, using the controller 34 and switching circuitry 62… if one or more modules fail or if the output voltage declines, the controller 34 will, in one embodiment, automatically maintain the voltage by switching in other modules”)
maximum allowed operating power of each original power conversion system and each original direct current converter, (Fuglevand ¶0043 “number of fuel cell subgroups 18 which are coupled in series is selected such that the combined voltage of the fuel cell subgroups 18 is no greater than the maximum voltage rating of the ultracapacitor 14”)
and a third parameter corresponding to each original battery cluster. (Kim ¶0086 “chargeable/dischargeable time calculation unit 1421 calculates a chargeable/dischargeable time of each of the plurality of battery packs 120 on the basis of the SOH and SOC of each of the plurality of battery packs 120 included in the state information”)
Regarding claim 10, Ono modified by Fuglevand teaches the energy storage system according to claim 1. Ono modified by Fuglevand further comprising: a direct current bus,
and the battery cluster and the direct current converter that are comprised in each direct current branch are connected in series [and then connected to the direct current bus]; (Ono FIG 1 depicts DCDC converter 61 in series with batteries 21a-21c)
the direct current converter is configured to compensate for a difference between an output voltage of the battery cluster and a voltage [of the direct current bus]; (Fuglevand ¶0059 “if one or more modules fail or if the output voltage declines, the controller 34 will, in one embodiment, automatically maintain the voltage by switching in other modules”)
and the controller is further configured to control an operating status of the direct current converter. (Ono ¶0030 “bidirectional DC/DC converters 61 and 62 are connected to the controller 8, and can control the outputs V.sub.DC11, V.sub.DC12, V.sub.DC21, and V.sub.DC22 of the bidirectional DC/DC converters 61 and 62 by the controller 8”)
Ono as modified by Fuglevand, particularly as shown in Ono FIG 1, depicts a first DC branch of series connected batteries 21a-21c in series with DCDC converter 61 and a second DC branch of series connected batteries 22a-22c in series with DCDC converter 62. These two DC branches are connected to the same output of T2 which powers load 10, Ono as modified by Fuglevand does not explicitly disclose this connection point to be a direct current bus. Ono as modified by Fuglevand does not teach further comprising a direct current bus, [and the battery cluster and the direct current converter that are comprised in each direct current branch are connected in series] and then connected to the direct current bus.
Kim teaches further comprising a direct current bus, (¶0074 “plurality of DC/DC power conversion units 110 is connected with the one AC/DC power conversion unit 130 through a DC-BUS power line 116”)
[and the battery cluster and the direct current converter that are comprised in each direct current branch are connected in series] and then connected to the direct current bus. (¶0074 “Each of the plurality of DC/DC power conversion units 110 is connected with the one AC/DC power conversion unit 130 through a DC-BUS power line 116, and each of the plurality of battery packs 120 is connected with the corresponding DC/DC power conversion unit 110 through a DC power line 117”)
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to further modify the energy storage system as taught by Ono modified by Fuglevand further comprising a direct current bus, [and the battery cluster and the direct current converter that are comprised in each direct current branch are connected in series] and then connected to the direct current bus as taught by Kim. Ono as modified by Fuglevand and Kim both disclose a battery pack comprising multiple batteries or battery cells connected to a DCDC converter to form a DC branch, each branch in parallel with one another, and all of those DCDC converters being connected to a common output which is controlled by a controller.
The modification of incorporating Kim’s DC-BUS power line 116 to connect the DCDC converters would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to maintain a balance of charge across the battery packs to prevent undue internal damage and maximize the lifespan of the energy storage system. Incorporating Kim’s DC-BUS power line 116 to connect the DCDC converters would be an obvious modification to minimize power losses due to conversion and minimizing the cost of production.
Regarding claim 11, Ono modified by Fuglevand and Kim teaches the energy storage system according to claim 10. Ono as modified by Fuglevand and Kim further teaches wherein the battery cluster comprised in the direct current branch supplies power to the direct current converter comprised in the direct current branch; (Ono FIG 1 depicts DCDC converter 61 in series with batteries 21a-21c, Kim ¶0074 “plurality of DC/DC power conversion units 110 is connected with the one AC/DC power conversion unit 130 through a DC-BUS power line 116”)
or the direct current converter comprised in the direct current branch obtains power from the direct current bus; (Ono ¶0019 “battery control unit 3 includes a plurality of switching units 41a to 41c, 42a to 42c, a plurality of voltage measurement units 51a to 51c, 52a to 52c, a plurality of bidirectional DC/DC converters 61 and 62 (bidirectional voltage converter), a plurality of current measurement units 71 and 72, and a controller 8”, Kim ¶0074 “plurality of DC/DC power conversion units 110 is connected with the one AC/DC power conversion unit 130 through a DC-BUS power line 116”)
or when in response to a voltage of the battery cluster comprised in the direct current branch being higher than or equal to the voltage of the direct current bus, the battery cluster comprised in the direct current branch supplies power to the direct current converter comprised in the direct current branch; (Ono ¶0029 “bidirectional DC/DC converters 61 and 62 boost and lower the total voltage of the battery packs 21 and 22 during discharge, and output the voltage to the load 10”, controller 8 adjusts the voltage to lower the output voltage from the affected DC converter)
or when in response to a voltage of the battery cluster comprised in the direct current branch being lower than the voltage of the direct current bus, the direct current converter comprised in the direct current branch obtains power from the direct current bus. (Ono ¶0029 “bidirectional DC/DC converters 61 and 62 boost and lower the total voltage of the battery packs 21 and 22 during discharge, and output the voltage to the load 10”, controller 8 adjusts the voltage to raise the output voltage from the affected DC converter)
Regarding claim 12, Ono modified by Fuglevand and Kim teaches the energy storage system according to claim 10. Ono as modified by Fuglevand and Kim further teaches wherein the controller is further configured to: determine operating power of all power conversion systems based on a power scheduling instruction (Ono ¶0033 “controller 8 first controls the outputs V.sub.DC11 and V.sub.DC12 of the DC/DC converters 61 and 62 based on charging states of the battery packs 21 and 22”)
and maximum allowed operating power of each power conversion system and each direct current branch, (Ono ¶0047 “controller 8 acquires the currents flowing through the battery packs 21 and 22 measured by the current measurement units 71 and 72, and compares the currents with a predetermined allowable maximum current (threshold value)(step S14)”)
wherein the power scheduling instruction indicates a sum of the operating power of all the power conversion systems, (Fuglevand ¶0057 “system 60 further includes switching circuitry 62 for switching a number of modules to produce a desired voltage at one or more loads 64 and 66”, Ono ¶0029 “a total voltage of the battery packs 21 and 22 is input as an input voltage to the first input-output terminals T.sub.1 of the bidirectional DC/DC converters 61 and 62. The total voltage of the battery packs 21 and 22 is a sum of voltages across the batteries 21a to 21c. 22a to 22c that are in the connected state in the battery packs 21 and 22”)
and wherein the controller is further configured to determine maximum allowed operating power of each direct current branch based on maximum allowed operating power corresponding to each of the direct current converter and the battery cluster in each direct current branch. (Fuglevand ¶0059 “FIGS. 1 and 2 allows real-time compensation of voltage by switching in and out various modules 12a-i, using the controller 34 and switching circuitry 62. Using the multiple taps and multiple modules 12a-i, the voltage can be regulated to within the voltage of a single module”)
Regarding claim 13, Ono modified by Fuglevand and Kim teaches the energy storage system according to claim 12. Ono as modified by Fuglevand and Kim further teaches further comprising: n power conversion systems (Fuglevand ¶0063 “FIG. 3, a fuel cell system 200 includes a single set 210 of fuel cell subgroups 18 and multiple switched ultracapacitors (or parallel groups of ultracapacitors) 226, 228, and 230 which are placed in series to develop a desired voltage”)
and m direct current converters, (Ono ¶0028 “plurality of bidirectional DC/DC converters 61 and 62 are provided corresponding to the plurality of battery packs 21 and 22”)
and n and m are integers greater than 1; (Fuglevand ultracapacitors 226, 228, and 230 (n=3) and Ono’s DC/DC converters 61 and 62 (m=2) respectively)
the controller is specifically further configured to: when in response to the sum of the operating power is-being less than or equal to a smallest value of a sum of maximum allowed operating power of the n power conversion systems and a sum of maximum allowed operating power of all the direct current branches, (Fuglevand ¶0059 “if one or more modules fail or if the output voltage declines, the controller 34 will, in one embodiment, automatically maintain the voltage by switching in other modules”)
determine, based on the sum of the operating power and maximum allowed operating power of each power conversion system, operating power to be allocated to an ith power conversion system, wherein i = 1, 2, ..., and n; (Fuglevand ¶0059 “FIGS. 1 and 2 allows real-time compensation of voltage by switching in and out various modules 12a-i, using the controller 34 and switching circuitry 62. Using the multiple taps and multiple modules 12a-i, the voltage can be regulated to within the voltage of a single module”)
and the controller is further specifically configured to: in response to when the sum of the operating power s-being greater than the smallest value, determine, based on the smallest value and the maximum allowed operating power of each power conversion system, operating power to be allocated to the ith power conversion system. (Fuglevand ¶0059 “FIGS. 1 and 2 allows real-time compensation of voltage by switching in and out various modules 12a-i, using the controller 34 and switching circuitry 62. Using the multiple taps and multiple modules 12a-i, the voltage can be regulated to within the voltage of a single module”)
Fuglevand FIG 2 depicts the ultracapacitors 14 as being in series with one another and connected through switching circuitry 62 to external loads 64 and 66, necessitating that the voltages across ultracapacitors 14 be summed for a total voltage input to switching circuitry 62. Further ¶0059 describes connecting modules 12 as needed to maintain a particular output voltage, which would mean when the operating power drops below the maximum operating power controller 34 will compensate by adding more battery modules 12 to increase the operating power.
Regarding claim 14, Ono modified by Fuglevand and Kim teaches the energy storage system according to claim 12. Ono as modified by Fuglevand and Kim further teaches wherein the controller is further configured to: determine operating power of all direct current branches based on a power scheduling instruction, (Ono ¶0033 “controller 8 first controls the outputs V.sub.DC11 and V.sub.DC12 of the DC/DC converters 61 and 62 based on charging states of the battery packs 21 and 22”)
maximum allowed operating power of each power conversion system and each direct current branch, (Ono ¶0047 “controller 8 acquires the currents flowing through the battery packs 21 and 22 measured by the current measurement units 71 and 72, and compares the currents with a predetermined allowable maximum current (threshold value)(step S14)”)
and a third parameter corresponding to each battery cluster, (Kim ¶0078 “FIG. 6, the integrated control unit 140 individually controls the plurality of DC/DC power conversion units 110 on the basis of state information including the SOC and SOH of each of the plurality of battery packs 120, additional information including a maximum allowable charge/discharge output level of each of the plurality of battery packs 120, and rated power of the AC/DC power conversion unit 130”, Kim ¶0086 “chargeable/dischargeable time calculation unit 1421 calculates a chargeable/dischargeable time of each of the plurality of battery packs 120 on the basis of the SOH and SOC of each of the plurality of battery packs 120 included in the state information”)
wherein the power scheduling instruction indicates a sum of the operating power of all the direct current branches, (Fuglevand ¶0057 “system 60 further includes switching circuitry 62 for switching a number of modules to produce a desired voltage at one or more loads 64 and 66”, Ono ¶0029 “a total voltage of the battery packs 21 and 22 is input as an input voltage to the first input-output terminals T.sub.1 of the bidirectional DC/DC converters 61 and 62. The total voltage of the battery packs 21 and 22 is a sum of voltages across the batteries 21a to 21c. 22a to 22c that are in the connected state in the battery packs 21 and 22”)
wherein the energy storage system further comprises n power conversion systems (Fuglevand ¶0063 “FIG. 3, a fuel cell system 200 includes a single set 210 of fuel cell subgroups 18 and multiple switched ultracapacitors (or parallel groups of ultracapacitors) 226, 228, and 230 which are placed in series to develop a desired voltage”)
and m direct current converters, (Ono ¶0028 “plurality of bidirectional DC/DC converters 61 and 62 are provided corresponding to the plurality of battery packs 21 and 22”)
and n and m are integers greater than 1; (Fuglevand ultracapacitors 226, 228, and 230 (n=3) and Ono’s DC/DC converters 61 and 62 (m=2) respectively)
and the controller is specifically further configured to: during discharging of the energy storage system, when the sum of the operating power is greater than a smallest value of a sum of maximum allowed operating power of the n power conversion systems (Fuglevand ¶0059 “if one or more modules fail or if the output voltage declines, the controller 34 will, in one embodiment, automatically maintain the voltage by switching in other modules”)
and a sum of maximum allowed operating power of all the direct current branches, (Fuglevand ¶0059 “FIGS. 1 and 2 allows real-time compensation of voltage by switching in and out various modules 12a-i, using the controller 34 and switching circuitry 62. Using the multiple taps and multiple modules 12a-i, the voltage can be regulated to within the voltage of a single module”)
determine, based on the smallest value and each third parameter, (Kim ¶0086 “chargeable/dischargeable time calculation unit 1421 calculates a chargeable/dischargeable time of each of the plurality of battery packs 120 on the basis of the SOH and SOC of each of the plurality of battery packs 120 included in the state information”)
operating power to be allocated to a jth direct current branch, wherein j = 1, 2, ..., and m. (Kim ¶0097 “corrected output level of any one battery pack exceeds the maximum allowable charge/discharge output level determined for the battery pack, the second charge/discharge power determination unit 1427 causes the battery pack to be charged with the maximum allowable charge/discharge output level”)
Regarding claim 15, Ono modified by Fuglevand and Kim teaches the energy storage system according to claim 14. Ono as modified by Fuglevand and Kim wherein during charging of the energy storage system, the controller is further specifically configured to: in response to the sum of the operating power being greater than the smallest value of the sum of the maximum allowed operating power of the n power conversion systems and the sum of the maximum allowed operating power of all the direct current branches, (Fuglevand ¶0059 “if one or more modules fail or if the output voltage declines, the controller 34 will, in one embodiment, automatically maintain the voltage by switching in other modules”)
determine, based on the smallest value and each third parameter, operating power to be allocated to the jth direct current branch; (Kim ¶0097 “corrected output level of any one battery pack exceeds the maximum allowable charge/discharge output level determined for the battery pack, the second charge/discharge power determination unit 1427 causes the battery pack to be charged with the maximum allowable charge/discharge output level”)
or when in response to the sum of the operating power is-beingless than or equal to the smallest value, determine, based on each third parameter and the sum of the operating power, operating power to be allocated to the jth direct current branch, (Fuglevand ¶0059 “FIGS. 1 and 2 allows real-time compensation of voltage by switching in and out various modules 12a-i, using the controller 34 and switching circuitry 62. Using the multiple taps and multiple modules 12a-i, the voltage can be regulated to within the voltage of a single module”)
wherein the controller is further configured to: when in response to the operating power to be allocated to the jth direct current branch is-being greater than maximum allowed operating power of the jth direct current branch, use the maximum allowed operating power of the jth direct current branch as the operating power to be allocated to the jth direct current branch. (Kim ¶0097 “corrected output level of any one battery pack exceeds the maximum allowable charge/discharge output level determined for the battery pack, the second charge/discharge power determination unit 1427 causes the battery pack to be charged with the maximum allowable charge/discharge output level”)
Regarding claim 16, Ono modified by Fuglevand and Kim teaches the energy storage system according to claim 14. Ono as modified by Fuglevand and Kim wherein when in response to a new direct current branch being connected to the energy storage system, (Fuglevand ¶0069 “sequential time intervals (e.g., every millisecond), the controller 34 electrically connects a number of the modules 12a-i to a load 64 or 66 to meet the power requirements of the load 64 or 66 at the time”)
the controller is further configured to: determine operating power of a direct current branch in the new direct current branch based on a third parameter corresponding to a battery cluster in the new direct current branch, (Fuglevand ¶0070 “FIG. 5, the digital controller 34 may create a sinusoid by controlling the switching circuitry 62 to connect and disconnect a number of modules 12a-i”, see below for further detail)
maximum allowed operating power of the direct current branch in the new direct current branch, the power scheduling instruction, (Fuglevand ¶0059 “circuit design shown in FIGS. 1 and 2 allows real-time compensation of voltage by switching in and out various modules 12a-i, using the controller 34 and switching circuitry 62… if one or more modules fail or if the output voltage declines, the controller 34 will, in one embodiment, automatically maintain the voltage by switching in other modules”)
maximum allowed operating power of each original power conversion system and each original direct current branch, (Fuglevand ¶0043 “number of fuel cell subgroups 18 which are coupled in series is selected such that the combined voltage of the fuel cell subgroups 18 is no greater than the maximum voltage rating of the ultracapacitor 14”)
and a third parameter corresponding to each original battery cluster. (Kim ¶0086 “chargeable/dischargeable time calculation unit 1421 calculates a chargeable/dischargeable time of each of the plurality of battery packs 120 on the basis of the SOH and SOC of each of the plurality of battery packs 120 included in the state information”)
Claim(s) 18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ono modified by Fuglevand and further in view of Wu et al (US 20220344947 A1), and further supported by Loniza, Erika, et al. “Passive balancing of battery lithium polymer using shunt resistor circuit method.” AIP Conference Proceedings, vol. 1741, 2016, p. 090011, https://doi.org/10.1063/1.4958529.
Regarding claim 18, Ono modified by Fuglevand teaches the energy storage system according to claim 17. Ono modified by Fuglevand further teaches wherein in response to the energy storage component is being in a charging state, the controller is specifically configured to: in response to determining that the battery cluster being in a charging cutoff state, (Ono ¶0044 “[FIG 2] if a battery among the batteries 21a to 21c, 22a to 22c that reaches the charge termination voltage is present (Y in step S6), the controller 8 determines whether all the batteries 21a to 21c, 22a to 22c reach the charge termination voltage (step S7)”)
determine a to-be-equalized battery component based on first parameters corresponding to all batteries in the battery cluster, (Fuglevand ¶0053 “one or more fuel cell shunt and passive diode protection circuits 36 coupled to the controller 34… controller 34 causes each circuit 36 to periodically shunt electrical current between the anode and cathode of the respective fuel cell subgroups 18”, Ono ¶0032 “controller 8 functions as a first controller, and controls ON/OFF of the first switches SW11a to SW11c, the SW21a to SW21c, the second switches SW12a to SW12c, SW22a to SW22c based on a voltage across each of the batteries 21a to 21c, 22a to 22c”)
and then control a first equalization circuit corresponding to the to-be-equalized battery component module, to bypass the to-be-equalized battery component module, (Ono ¶0032 “controller 8 bypasses the batteries 21a to 21c, 22a to 22c that reach a discharge termination voltage or a charge termination voltage during the discharge or the charge as a non-connected state”)
[wherein the controller is specifically further configured to: determine a largest value of first parameters of batteries comprised in each of all battery components;
determine a to-be-equalized battery component in response to a first parameter deviation between largest values corresponding to the battery components is being greater than or equal to a first preset deviation value, wherein the to-be-equalized battery component comprises a battery with a largest first parameter;]
and then, firstly control both the first controllable switch and the second controllable switch to be turned off, and after a first preset time, control the second controllable switch to be turned on. (Fuglevand ¶0069 “sequential time intervals (e.g., every millisecond), the controller 34 electrically connects a number of the modules 12a-i to a load 64 or 66 to meet the power requirements of the load 64 or 66 at the time”)
Ono as modified by Fuglevand does not teach wherein the controller is specifically further configured to: determine a largest value of first parameters of batteries comprised in each of all battery components; determine a to-be-equalized battery component in response to a first parameter deviation between largest values corresponding to the battery components is being greater than or equal to a first preset deviation value, wherein the to-be-equalized battery component comprises a battery with a largest first parameter.
Wu teaches wherein the controller is specifically further configured to: determine a largest value of first parameters of batteries comprised in each of all battery components; (¶0144 “first control unit determines that a battery pack with a maximum first parameter value is a first to-be-balanced battery pack”)
determine a to-be-equalized battery component in response to a first parameter deviation between largest values corresponding to the battery components is being greater than or equal to a first preset deviation value, wherein the to-be-equalized battery component comprises a battery with a largest first parameter; (¶0192 “S802: When the difference is greater than or equal to a third preset threshold, determine that a battery pack with a maximum first parameter value is a first to-be-balanced battery pack”)
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the energy storage system as taught by Ono modified by Fuglevand herein the controller is specifically further configured to: determine a largest value of first parameters of batteries comprised in each of all battery components; determine a to-be-equalized battery component in response to a first parameter deviation between largest values corresponding to the battery components is being greater than or equal to a first preset deviation value, wherein the to-be-equalized battery component comprises a battery with a largest first parameter as taught by Wu. The energy storage system as taught by Ono modified by Fuglevand shares a lot of structure with the energy storage system as taught by Wu, both disclose a plurality of energy storage clusters connected to DCDC converters to provide power to a load and has the capability of bypassing specific batteries or strings of batteries to equalize the circuits. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to minimize the differences in state of charge across all the batteries to minimize degradation and prolong battery lifespan.
Regarding claim 19, Ono modified by Fuglevand teaches the energy storage system according to claim 17. Ono modified by Fuglevand further teaches wherein in response to the energy storage component being in a discharging state, (Ono ¶0044 “[FIG 2] if a battery among the batteries 21a to 21c, 22a to 22c that reaches the charge termination voltage is present (Y in step S6), the controller 8 determines whether all the batteries 21a to 21c, 22a to 22c reach the charge termination voltage (step S7)”)
the controller is further configured to: in response to determining that the battery cluster is in a discharging cutoff state, determine a to-be-equalized battery component module based on first parameters corresponding to all batteries in the battery cluster, (Fuglevand ¶0053 “one or more fuel cell shunt and passive diode protection circuits 36 coupled to the controller 34… controller 34 causes each circuit 36 to periodically shunt electrical current between the anode and cathode of the respective fuel cell subgroups 18”, Ono ¶0032 “controller 8 functions as a first controller, and controls ON/OFF of the first switches SW11a to SW11c, the SW21a to SW21c, the second switches SW12a to SW12c, SW22a to SW22c based on a voltage across each of the batteries 21a to 21c, 22a to 22c”)
and then control a first equalization circuit corresponding to the to-be-equalized battery component, to bypass the to-be-equalized battery component, (Ono ¶0032 “controller 8 bypasses the batteries 21a to 21c, 22a to 22c that reach a discharge termination voltage or a charge termination voltage during the discharge or the charge as a non-connected state”)
[wherein the controller is specifically further configured to: determine a smallest value of first parameters of batteries comprised in all battery components ;
determine a to- be-equalized battery component module when in response to a first parameter deviation between smallest values corresponding to the battery components modules is being greater than or equal to a second preset deviation value,
wherein the to-be-equalized battery component module comprises a battery with a smallest first parameter;]
and then, firstly control both the first controllable switch and the second controllable switch to be turned off, and after a first preset time, control the second controllable switch to be turned on. (Fuglevand ¶0069 “sequential time intervals (e.g., every millisecond), the controller 34 electrically connects a number of the modules 12a-i to a load 64 or 66 to meet the power requirements of the load 64 or 66 at the time”)
Ono modified by Fuglevand does not teach wherein the controller is specifically further configured to: determine a smallest value of first parameters of batteries comprised in all battery components; determine a to- be-equalized battery component module when in response to a first parameter deviation between smallest values corresponding to the battery components modules is being greater than or equal to a second preset deviation value, wherein the to-be-equalized battery component module comprises a battery with a smallest first parameter.
Wu teaches wherein the controller is specifically further configured to: determine a smallest value of first parameters of batteries comprised in all battery components; (¶0192 “S802: When the difference is greater than or equal to a third preset threshold… determine that a battery pack with a minimum first parameter value is a second to-be-balanced battery pack”)
determine a to- be-equalized battery component module when in response to a first parameter deviation between smallest values corresponding to the battery components modules is being greater than or equal to a second preset deviation value, wherein the to-be-equalized battery component module comprises a battery with a smallest first parameter. (¶0192 “S802: When the difference is greater than or equal to a third preset threshold… determine that a battery pack with a minimum first parameter value is a second to-be-balanced battery pack”, when the maximum first parameter is the average of the battery packs then the minimum first parameter becomes the first-to-be-discharged)
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the energy storage system as taught by Ono modified by Fuglevand wherein the controller is specifically further configured to: determine a smallest value of first parameters of batteries comprised in all battery components; determine a to- be-equalized battery component module when in response to a first parameter deviation between smallest values corresponding to the battery components modules is being greater than or equal to a second preset deviation value, wherein the to-be-equalized battery component module comprises a battery with a smallest first parameter. as taught by Wu. The energy storage system as taught by Ono modified by Fuglevand shares a lot of structure with the energy storage system as taught by Wu, both disclose a plurality of energy storage clusters connected to DCDC converters to provide power to a load and has the capability of bypassing specific batteries or strings of batteries to equalize the circuits. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to minimize the differences in state of charge across all the batteries to minimize degradation and prolong battery lifespan.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 objected to because of the following informalities: improper separation of limitations. Claim 11 comprises several “or” statement limitations which are separated by semicolons, and these “or” statements should be separated by commas. Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected due to minor informalities. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The subject matter of this application admits of illustration by a drawing to facilitate understanding of the invention. Applicant is required to furnish a drawing under 37 CFR 1.81(c). No new matter may be introduced in the required drawing. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d).
FIG 1 is objected to for missing graph title and axis labels
FIGs 1 and 2 are objected to for missing label “prior art”
The drawings are objected to for missing a drawing or label for equalization circuit comprising controllable switch Qx and resistor Rx in any of the existing figures.
Specification
The title of the invention is not consistent with the content of the claim set. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. The current title –“ENERGY STORAGE SYSTEM, CONTROL METHOD FOR ENERGY STORAGE SYSTEM, AND PHOTOVOLTAIC POWER GENERATION SYSTEM”, is not consistent with instant claim set which does not include or pertain to photovoltaic power generation system(s).
Prior Art Not Relied Upon
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found in the attached PTO-892 Notice of References Cited by Examiner attached to this correspondence.
Zhang et al (US 20220006299 A1) discloses an energy storage system comprising M cell strings, N energy storage DCDC converters, which are configured to connect to a power grid.
Kramer et al (US 20100244781 A1) discloses a cell management system and method for balancing energy across a plurality of cells coupled to a DC bus.
Conclusion
/LISA KOTOWSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/DAVID V HENZE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859