CTNF 18/464,950 CTNF 97169 DETAILED ACTION 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Drawings 06-22-03 The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “730” in fig. 7K has been used to designate both the pod chamber and the base. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance. 06-22-06 AIA The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: reference character “732” in [00155] is not shown in the drawings; also reference character “102n” in [00187] is not shown in the drawings . Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance. 06-22 AIA The drawings are objected to because : [0078] states “FIG. 1700” . Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101 07-04-01 AIA 07-04 35 U.S.C. 101 reads as follows: Whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter, or any new and useful improvement thereof, may obtain a patent therefor, subject to the conditions and requirements of this title. Claims 1, 9 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because: the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) the signals, computer-readable instructions and computer executed instructions, however they are not positively claimed and are generic computer elements and are not disclosed in applicant's specification as being non-transitory. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the generically recited computer elements do not add a meaningful limitation to the abstract idea because they amount to simply implementing the abstract idea on the signals, computer-readable instructions and computer executed instructions. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the receiving and transferring of the signal, the processor operating the computer storage media and the memory to store and retrieve information are all well-understood, routine, conventional computer functions. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claims 8-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. For claim 8, the limitation “an automatic feeding process” in line 3 is unclear because is it referring to a different automatic feeding process than what was stated in claim 1, line 11? For examination purposes, the limitation will be treated as the same automatic feeding process and it is recommended that --the-- be inserted before “automatic feeding process” in claim 8. Also, for claim 8, the limitation “at least one of the user device” in line 4 is unclear because is it referring to a different at least one of the user device than what was stated in line 2? For examination purposes, the limitation will be treated as the same at least one of the user device and it is recommended that --the-- be inserted before “at least one of the user device” in claim 8. For claim 9, the limitation “an automatic feeding process” in lines 20-21 is unclear because is it referring to a different automatic feeding process than what was stated in claim 9, lines 1-2? For examination purposes, the limitation will be treated as the same automatic feeding process and it is recommended that --the-- be inserted before “automatic feeding process” in claim 9. For claim 16, the limitation “an automatic feeding process” in lines 3-4 is unclear because is it referring to a different automatic feeding process than what was stated in claim 9, lines 1-2? For examination purposes, the limitation will be treated as the same automatic feeding process and it is recommended that --the-- be inserted before “automatic feeding process” in claim 16. Also, for claim 16, the limitation “at least one of the user device” in line 4 is unclear because is it referring to a different at least one of the user device than what was stated in line 2? For examination purposes, the limitation will be treated as the same at least one of the user device and it is recommended that --the-- be inserted before “at least one of the user device” in claim 16. Claims 10-15 are rejected as being dependent upon a rejected base claim. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-3, 5-6, 8-11, 13-14, 16-18, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1) and (a)(2 ) as being anticipated by Vachula (US 20200253162 A1 as cited in IDS) . Regarding claim 1, Vachula (see figs. 4A-12) discloses a control system (160) that implements an automatic feeding process (abstract and [0077-0079]), the control system comprising: one or more processors ([0109-0110]); and computer memory ([0109], [0118-0119] as Vachula describes a computer memory) having computer-readable instructions ([0110], and [0118-0119]) embodied thereon, that, when executed by at least one processor of the one or more processors, causes the control system to perform operations comprising: sending a first control signal to a de-lidding motor ([0090]) to cause rotation of a cutting module (190, [0078], [0088-0090] and [0111] as the control system sends signals to determine the next position of a can), wherein the rotation of the cutting module causes removal of a lid ([0090]-[0091]) of a food pod (C and [0089] describes a sealed can) positioned within a food pod holder (see examiner’s illustration of fig. 8A and [0088]) of a rotary plate (193 and [0107]) positioned within an enclosure (110 figs. 4A-4B and [0058]); receiving a signal indicative of continuing the automatic feeding process ([0078] and [0092]); and in response to receiving the signal, sending a second control signal to a base rotation motor (181’ and [0107]) coupled to the rotary plate (fig. 4B and [0107]) to cause the rotary plate to rotate until the food pod holder is aligned with an opening (300, and [0078], [0092] and [0095]) defining a feeding port ([0096]) on the enclosure ([0095-0096] and fig. 4A). PNG media_image1.png 282 306 media_image1.png Greyscale Regarding claim 2, Vachula discloses the control system of claim 1, wherein the feeding port is fixed on a top surface (fig. 4A) of the enclosure (fig. 4A and [0096]) and remains fixed on the enclosure during the rotation of at least one of: the cutting module or the rotary plate ([0095-0096]). Regarding claim 3, Vachula discloses the control system of claim 1, wherein the rotary plate rotates about an axis of rotation ([0107]), wherein the food pod holder and the opening defining the feeding port on the enclosure are radially equidistant from the axis of rotation (figs. 4A-5 and [0095-0096] [0107]). Regarding claim 5, Vachula discloses the control system of claim 1, wherein the signal indicative of continuing the automatic feeding process comprises an authentication signal indicative of authentication of the food pod ([0111]). Regarding claim 6, Vachula discloses the control system of claim 5, wherein the authentication signal is determined based on at least one of: an image of the food pod captured by a camera, a radio frequency reading captured by a radio frequency identification (RFID) sensor, a weight measurement associated with the food pod ([0111]), or a chemical reading taken from the food pod by a chemical sensing sensor. Regarding claim 8, Vachula discloses the control system of claim 1, further comprising a transceiver communicatively coupling the control system to at least one of a user device ([0110] as the control system will comprise of a transceiver to receive inputs from a phone) or an animal wearable device, wherein the signal indicative of continuing an automatic feeding process is received from at least one of the user device ([0092] and [0110] as the user can set the feeding schedule) or the animal wearable device. Regarding claim 9, Vachula discloses an automatic animal feeding system (100) that implements an automatic feeding process ([0078] and [0092]), the automatic animal feeding system comprising: an enclosure (110 figs. 4A-4B and [0058]) comprising an opening (300, and [0078], [0092] and [0095]) defining a feeding port ([0096]), and the enclosure enclosing at least: a rotary plate (193 and [0107]) comprising a food pod holder (see examiner’s illustration of fig. 8A above and [0088]) configured to hold a food pod (C and [0088-0089] describes a sealed can); and a base rotation motor (181’ and [0107]) coupled to the rotary plate (fig. 4B and [0107]); a de-lidding mechanism (190) comprising a de-lidding motor ([0090]) implemented to drive rotation of a cutting module (190, [0078], [0088-0090] and [0111] as the control system sends signals to determine the next position of a can); and an electronics module comprising: one or more processors ([0109-0110]); and computer memory ([0109], [0118-0119] as Vachula describes a computer memory) having computer-readable instructions ([0110], and [0118-0119]) embodied thereon, that, when executed by at least one processor of the one or more processors, causes the automatic animal feeding system to perform operations comprising: sending a first control signal to the de-lidding motor ([0090]) to cause the rotation of the cutting module (190, [0078], [0088-0090] and [0111] as the control system sends signals to determine the next position of a can), wherein the rotation of the cutting module causes removal of a lid ([0090]-[0091]) of the food pod positioned within the food pod holder (see examiner’s illustration of fig. 8A and [0088]) of the rotary plate (193 and [0107]); receiving a signal indicative of continuing an automatic feeding process ([0078] and [0092]); and in response to receiving the signal, sending a second control signal to the base rotation motor (181’ and [0107]) to cause rotation of the rotary plate until the food pod holder is aligned with the opening (300, and [0078], [0092] and [0095]) defining the feeding port ([0096]) on the enclosure ([0095-0096] and fig. 4A). Regarding claim 10, Vachula discloses the automatic animal feeding system of claim 9, wherein the feeding port is fixed on a top surface (fig. 4A) of the enclosure (fig. 4A and [0096]) and remains fixed during the rotation of at least one of: the cutting module or the rotary plate ([0095-0096]). Regarding claim 11, Vachula discloses the automatic animal feeding system of claim 9, wherein the rotary plate rotates about an axis of rotation ([0107]), wherein the food pod holder and the opening defining the feeding port are radially equidistant from the axis of rotation (figs. 4A-5 and [0095-0096] [0107]). Regarding claim 13, Vachula discloses the automatic animal feeding system of claim 9, wherein the signal indicative of continuing the automatic feeding process comprises an authentication signal indicative of authentication of the food pod ([0111]). Regarding claim 14, Vachula discloses the automatic animal feeding system of claim 13, wherein the authentication signal is determined based on at least one of: an image of the food pod captured by a camera, a radio frequency reading captured by a radio frequency identification (RFID) sensor, a weight measurement associated with the food pod ([0111]), or a chemical reading taken from the food pod by a chemical sensing sensor. Regarding claim 16, Vachula discloses the automatic animal feeding system of claim 9, further comprising a transceiver communicatively coupling the electronics module to at least one of a user device ([0110] as the control system will comprise of a transceiver to receive inputs from a phone) or an animal wearable device, wherein the signal indicative of continuing an automatic feeding process is received from at least one of the user device or the animal wearable device ([0092] and [0110] as the user can set the feeding schedule) or the animal wearable device. Regarding claim 17, Vachula discloses computer storage media ([0109], [0118-0119] as it is known that a memory can function as a computer storage media) having computer-executable instructions ([0110], and [0118-0119]) embodied thereon, that, when executed by at least one computer processor, cause computing operations to be performed, the operations comprising: sending a first control signal to a de-lidding motor ([0090]) to cause rotation of a cutting module (190, [0078], [0088-0090] and [0111] as the control system sends signals to determine the next position of a can), wherein the rotation of the cutting module causes removal of a lid ([0090]-[0091]) of a food pod (C and [0089] describes a sealed can) positioned within a food pod holder (see examiner’s illustration of fig. 8A above and [0088]) of a rotary plate (193 and [0107]) positioned within an enclosure (110 figs. 4A-4B and [0058]); receiving a signal indicative of continuing an automatic feeding process ([0078] and [0092]); and in response to receiving the signal, sending a second control signal to a base rotation motor (181’ and [0107]) coupled to the rotary plate (fig. 4B and [0107]) to cause the rotary plate to rotate until the food pod holder is aligned with an opening (300, and [0078], [0092] and [0095]) defining a feeding port ([0096]) on the enclosure ([0095-0096] and fig. 4A). Regarding claim 18, Vachula discloses the computer storage media of claim 17, wherein the rotary plate rotates about an axis of rotation ([0107]), wherein the food pod holder and the opening defining the feeding port on the enclosure are radially equidistant from the axis of rotation (figs. 4A-5 and [0095-0096] [0107]). Regarding claim 20, Vachula discloses the computer storage media of claim 19, wherein the signal indicative of continuing the automatic feeding process comprises an authentication signal indicative of authentication of the food pod ([0111]), wherein the authentication signal is determined based on at least one of: an image of the food pod captured by a camera, a radio frequency reading captured by a radio frequency identification (RFID) sensor, a weight measurement associated with the food pod ([0111]), or a chemical reading taken from the food pod by a chemical sensing sensor . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 4, 12 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vachula as applied to claim s 1, 9 and 17 above, and further in view of OVRAHIM (WO 2021225531 A1 as cited in IDS) . Regarding claim 4, Vachula teaches the control system of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise sending a third control signal to the base rotation motor to cause the rotary plate to rotate so that the food pod holder transitions away from being aligned with the opening defining the feeding port ([0078], [0104-0105], and [0111]) until the food pod is placed into a stationary opening (opening of 134) along a rotation path of the food pod holder ([0104-0105]). However, Vachula does not teaches wherein the food pod drops. OVRAHIM teaches wherein the food pod (210) drops (figs. 1-2 and see machine translation “The circular track 610 is further provided with a gap section so that when the receptacle 210 reaches the gap section, the receptacle 210 will fall into the waste collecting section 170.”). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the control system of Vachula to include wherein the food pod drops as taught by OVRAHIM in order to effortlessly dispose of the used food pods (see machine translation “The circular track 610 is further provided with a gap section so that when the receptacle 210 reaches the gap section, the receptacle 210 will fall into the waste collecting section 170.” of OVRAHIM ). Regarding claim 12, Vachula discloses the automatic animal feeding system of claim 9, wherein the operations further comprise sending a third control signal to the base rotation motor to cause the rotary plate to rotate so that the food pod holder transitions away from being aligned with the opening defining the feeding port ([0078], [0104-0105], and [0111]) until the food pod is placed into a stationary opening (opening of 134) along a rotation path of the food pod holder ([0104-0105]). However, Vachula does not teaches wherein the food pod drops. OVRAHIM teaches wherein the food pod (210) drops (figs. 1-2 and see machine translation “The circular track 610 is further provided with a gap section so that when the receptacle 210 reaches the gap section, the receptacle 210 will fall into the waste collecting section 170.”). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the automatic animal feeding system of Vachula to include wherein the food pod drops as taught by OVRAHIM in order to effortlessly dispose of the used food pods (see machine translation “The circular track 610 is further provided with a gap section so that when the receptacle 210 reaches the gap section, the receptacle 210 will fall into the waste collecting section 170.” of OVRAHIM ). Regarding claim 19, Vachula teaches the computer storage media of claim 17, wherein the operations further comprising sending a third control signal to the base rotation motor to cause the rotary plate to rotate so that the food pod holder transitions away from being aligned with the opening defining the feeding port ([0078], [0104-0105], and [0111]) until the food pod drops into a stationary opening (opening of 134) along a rotation path of the food pod holder ([0104-0105]). However, Vachula does not teaches wherein the food pod drops. OVRAHIM teaches wherein the food pod (210) drops (figs. 1-2 and see machine translation “The circular track 610 is further provided with a gap section so that when the receptacle 210 reaches the gap section, the receptacle 210 will fall into the waste collecting section 170.”). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the computer storage media of Vachula to include wherein the food pod drops as taught by OVRAHIM in order to effortlessly dispose of the used food pods (see machine translation “The circular track 610 is further provided with a gap section so that when the receptacle 210 reaches the gap section, the receptacle 210 will fall into the waste collecting section 170.” of OVRAHIM ) . 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 7 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vachula as applied to claim s 1 and 9 above, and further in view of Chen (CN 111439713 A) . Regarding claim 7, Vachula discloses the control system of claim 1, wherein the rotation of the cutting module is about a cam (195) that is oriented along a gravity vector ([0090] and fig. 10B), wherein the rotation of the cutting module causes the cutting module to vertically displace along the gravity vector ([0090] as the upper portion of the can could be cut) along a path defined by rotation along the cam ([0090] and fig. 10B). However, Vachula is silent about a lead screw and that comprises a screw thread. Chen teaches a lead screw (18) and that comprises a screw thread (fig. 4). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the cam of Vachula to include a lead screw and that comprises a screw thread as taught by Chen in order to provide a smoother cut edge to enhance safety as it is well known in the art. Regarding claim 15, Vachula discloses the automatic animal feeding system of claim 9, wherein the rotation of the cutting module is about a cam (195) that is oriented along a gravity vector ([0090] and fig. 10B), wherein the rotation of the cutting module causes the cutting module to vertically displace along the gravity vector ([0090] as the upper portion of the can could be cut) along a path defined by rotation along the cam ([0090] and fig. 10B). However, Vachula is silent about a lead screw and that comprises a screw thread. Chen teaches a lead screw (18) and that comprises a screw thread (fig. 4). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the cam of Vachula to include a lead screw and that comprises a screw thread as taught by Chen in order to provide a smoother cut edge to enhance safety as it is well known in the art . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Luttrell (US 20180035638 A1) teaches an automatic animal feeding system with compartments and a rotating base. Barnekow (US 20220394954 A1) teaches an automatic animal feeding system with a rotating base. DERAPS (US 20220312725 A1) teaches an automatic animal feeding system with compartments and a rotating base. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SAHAR ALMATRAHI whose telephone number is (571)272-2470. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 7:30-5:30. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Peter Poon can be reached at 571-272-6891. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /SAHAR ALMATRAHI/Examiner, Art Unit 3643 /DAVID J PARSLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3643 Application/Control Number: 18/464,950 Page 2 Art Unit: 3643 Application/Control Number: 18/464,950 Page 4 Art Unit: 3643 Application/Control Number: 18/464,950 Page 5 Art Unit: 3643 Application/Control Number: 18/464,950 Page 6 Art Unit: 3643 Application/Control Number: 18/464,950 Page 7 Art Unit: 3643 Application/Control Number: 18/464,950 Page 8 Art Unit: 3643 Application/Control Number: 18/464,950 Page 9 Art Unit: 3643 Application/Control Number: 18/464,950 Page 10 Art Unit: 3643 Application/Control Number: 18/464,950 Page 11 Art Unit: 3643 Application/Control Number: 18/464,950 Page 12 Art Unit: 3643 Application/Control Number: 18/464,950 Page 13 Art Unit: 3643 Application/Control Number: 18/464,950 Page 14 Art Unit: 3643