DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Regarding objections to the specification:
The specification was objected to due to an informality. The Applicant amended the specification to correct the informality, therefore the objection was withdrawn.
Regarding objections to the claims:
Claims 16 and 20 were objected to due to multiple informalities. The Applicant amended the claims to correct the informalities, therefore the objections were withdrawn.
Regarding rejections of the claims under §112:
Claim 20 was rejected as being indefinite. The Applicant amended the claim to correct the indefiniteness, therefore the rejection was withdrawn.
Regarding rejections of the claims under §§102 and 103:
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 11-12, and 14-15 were rejected as being anticipated by Taniguchi. Claims 4, 7, 13, and 16 were rejected as being obvious over Taniguchi. Claims 9-10, 17, and 19 were rejected as being obvious over Taniguchi in view of Eakman. Claims 18-20 were rejected as being obvious over Taniguchi in view of Eakman and Okano. The Applicant amended claims 1-3, 5-6, 8, 11-12, and 14-17.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/15/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding amended independent claims 1, 8, and 17, the Applicant argued that Taniguchi does not disclose integrated passive magnetic components as the rotation magnets are embedded in annular recessed portions of the flange portion and fixed magnets are secured to the casing are not integrated into the thrust disc, the first thrust bearing, and the second thrust bearing. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The magnets are integrated into the thrust disc, first thrust bearing, and second thrust bearing as they are functionally operating as parts of those features. Therefore, claims 1 and 8 remain anticipated by Taniguchi and claim 17 remains obvious over Taniguchi in view of Eakman.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8, 11-12, and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2007/0069597 to Taniguchi et al. (hereinafter Taniguchi; cited by Applicant on 5/1/2025).
Regarding claim 1, Taniguchi teaches a hybrid airfoil thrust bearing (FIG. 2; 23, 24, 63, 64) for a shaft (FIG. 2, 13) comprising a thrust disc (FIG. 2, 34) that rotates with the shaft, the hybrid airfoil thrust bearing comprising:
airfoil bearing components comprising:
a first top foil (FIG. 2, 23; FIG. 5(b), 56) immediately adjacent to a first side of the thrust disc and surrounding the shaft;
first additional components (FIG. 4, 11; FIG. 5(b); 57, 58) comprising a first thrust bearing;
a second top foil (FIG. 2, 24; FIG. 5(b), 56) immediately adjacent to a second side of the thrust disc and surrounding the shaft; and
second additional components (FIG. 4, 11; FIG. 5(b); 57, 58) comprising a second thrust bearing; and
passive magnetic bearing components integrated into the thrust disc (FIG. 2; 63a, 64a), into the first thrust bearing of the first additional components and into the second thrust bearing of the second additional components (Fig. 2; 63b, 64b) to remove a static load of the thrust disc on the first top foil and on the second top foil (Claim 2).
Regarding claim 2, Taniguchi teaches the hybrid airfoil thrust bearing according to claim 1, wherein:
the first additional components further comprise a first bump foil (FIG. 5(b), 57), the first thrust bearing defining a first bore (FIG. 5(b), between 34 and 58) and the first bump foil axially interposed between the first top foil and the first thrust bearing,
the second additional components further comprise a second bump foil (FIG. 5(b), 57), the second thrust bearing defining a second bore (FIG. 5(b), between 34 and 58) and the second bump foil being axially interposed between the second top foil and the second thrust bearing, and
the shaft is rotatable about a longitudinal axis thereof within the first and second bores and relative to the first and second thrust bearings (Paragraph [0048]).
Regarding claim 3, Taniguchi teaches the hybrid airfoil thrust bearing according to claim 2, wherein passive magnetic materials (FIG. 7; 63b, 64b) and have a same polarity as the passive magnetic materials integrated into the thrust disc (Paragraph [0047]).
Regarding claim 5, Taniguchi teaches the hybrid airfoil according to claim 1, wherein:
the first additional components further comprise a first bump foil (FIG. 5(b), 57) and a first flange (FIG. 2, portion of 11 radially contacting bearing), the first thrust bearing defining a first bore (FIG. 5(b), between 34 and 58), the first bump foil (FIG. 5(b), 57) being axially interposed between the first top foil and the first thrust bearing and the first flange being outboard of the first top foil and affixed to an outboard edge of the first thrust bearing,
the second additional components further comprise a second bump foil (FIG. 5(b), 57) and a second flange (FIG. 2, portion of 11 radially contacting bearing), the second thrust bearing defining a second bore (FIG. 5(b), between 34 and 58), the second bump foil being axially interposed between the second top foil and the second thrust bearing and the second flange being outboard of the second top foil and affixed to an outboard edge of the second thrust bearing, and
the shaft is rotatable about a longitudinal axis thereof within the first and second bores and relative to the first and second thrust bearings (Paragraph [0048]).
Regarding claim 6, Taniguchi teaches the hybrid airfoil thrust bearing according to claim 5, wherein passive magnetic materials are integrated into the first and second flanges (FIG. 7; 63b, 64b) and have a same polarity as the passive magnetic materials integrated into the thrust disc (Paragraph [0047]).
Regarding claim 8, Taniguchi teaches a device (FIG. 2, 6), comprising:
a shaft (FIG. 2, 13) rotatable about a longitudinal axis thereof;
a thrust disc (FIG. 2, 34) disposed along the shaft to rotate with the shaft; and
a hybrid airfoil thrust bearing (FIG. 2; 23, 24, 63, 64), comprising:
airfoil bearing components comprising:
a first top foil (FIG. 2, 23; FIG. 5(b), 56) immediately adjacent to a first side of the thrust disc and surrounding the shaft;
first additional components (FIG. 4, 11; FIG. 5(b); 57, 58) comprising a first thrust bearing;
a second top foil (FIG. 2, 24; FIG. 5(b), 56) immediately adjacent to a second side of the thrust disc and surrounding the shaft; and
second additional components (FIG. 4, 11; FIG. 5(b); 57, 58) comprising a second thrust bearing; and
passive magnetic bearing components integrated into the thrust disc (FIG. 2; 63a, 64a), into the first thrust bearing of the first additional components and into the second thrust bearing of the second additional components (FIG. 2; 63b, 64b) to remove a static load of the thrust disc on the first top foil and on the second top foil (Claim 2).
Regarding claim 11, Taniguchi teaches the device according to claim 8, wherein:
the first additional components further comprise a first bump foil (FIG. 5(b), 57), the first thrust bearing defining a first bore (FIG. 5(b), between 34 and 58) and the first bump foil being axially interposed between the first top foil and the first thrust bearing,
the second additional components further comprise a second bump foil (FIG. 5(b), 57), the second thrust bearing defining a second bore (FIG. 5(b), between 34 and 58) and the second bump foil being axially interposed between the second top foil and the second thrust bearing, and
the shaft is rotatable about a longitudinal axis thereof within the first and second bores and relative to the first and second thrust bearings (Paragraph [0048]).
Regarding claim 12, Taniguchi teaches the device according to claim 11, wherein passive magnetic materials (FIG. 7; 63b, 64b) have a same polarity as the passive magnetic materials integrated into the thrust disc (Paragraph [0047]).
Regarding claim 14, Taniguchi teaches the device according to claim 8, wherein:
the first additional components further comprise a first bump foil (FIG. 5(b), 57) and a first flange (FIG. 2, portion of 11 radially contacting bearing), the first thrust bearing defining a first bore (FIG. 5(b), between 34 and 58), the first bump foil being axially interposed between the first top foil and the first thrust bearing and the first flange being outboard of the first top foil and affixed to an outboard edge of the first thrust bearing,
the second additional components further comprise a second bump foil (FIG. 5(b), 57) and a second flange (FIG. 2, portion of 11 radially contacting bearing), the second thrust bearing defining a second bore (FIG. 5(b), between 34 and 58), the second bump foil being axially interposed between the second top foil and the second thrust bearing and the second flange being outboard of the second top foil and affixed to an outboard edge of the second thrust bearing, and
the shaft is rotatable about a longitudinal axis thereof within the first and second bores and relative to the first and second thrust bearings (Paragraph [0048]).
Regarding claim 15, Taniguchi teaches the device according to claim 14, wherein passive magnetic materials integrated into the first and second flanges (FIG. 7; 63b, 64b) have a same polarity as the passive magnetic materials integrated into the thrust disc (Paragraph [0047]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 7, 13, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taniguchi.
Regarding claim 4, Taniguchi teaches the hybrid airfoil thrust bearing according to claim 2, wherein the passive magnetic bearing components comprise:
first (FIG. 7, 63a) and second (FIG. 7, 64a) passive magnetic materials integrated into the first and second sides of the thrust disc;
third passive magnetic materials (FIG. 7, 63b) of a same polarity as the first passive magnetic materials integrated into the first thrust bearing (Paragraph [0047]); and
fourth passive magnetic materials (FIG. 7, 64b) of a same polarity as the second passive magnetic materials integrated into the second thrust bearing (Paragraph [0047]).
Taniguchi does not teach the first and second passive magnetic materials being of opposite polarity.
However, it would have been obvious to try placing the second passive magnetic material to be of opposite polarity to the first passive magnetic material as there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions (two magnetic poles of the magnet), with a reasonable expectation of success.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the hybrid airfoil thrust bearing of Taniguchi by changing the polarity of the second passive magnetic material as it helps keep the magnetic materials in the thrust disc as they would not axially repel each other.
Regarding claim 7, Taniguchi teaches the hybrid airfoil thrust bearing according to claim 5, wherein the passive magnetic bearing components comprise:
first (FIG. 7, 63a) and second (FIG. 7, 64a) passive magnetic materials integrated into the first and second sides of the thrust disc;
third passive magnetic materials (FIG. 7, 63b) of a same polarity as the first passive magnetic materials integrated into the first flange (Paragraph [0047]); and
fourth passive magnetic materials (FIG. 7, 64b) of a same polarity as the second passive magnetic materials integrated into the second flange (Paragraph [0047]).
Taniguchi does not teach the first and second passive magnetic materials being of opposite polarity.
However, it would have been obvious to try placing the second passive magnetic material to be of opposite polarity to the first passive magnetic material as there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions (two magnetic poles of the magnet), with a reasonable expectation of success.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the hybrid airfoil thrust bearing of Taniguchi by changing the polarity of the second passive magnetic material as it helps keep the magnetic materials in the thrust disc as they would not axially repel each other.
Regarding claim 13, Taniguchi teaches the device according to claim 11, wherein the passive magnetic bearing components comprise:
first (FIG. 7, 63a) and second (FIG. 7, 64a) passive magnetic materials integrated into the first and second sides of the thrust disc;
third passive magnetic materials (FIG. 7, 63b) of a same polarity as the first passive magnetic materials integrated into the first thrust bearing (Paragraph [0047]); and
fourth passive magnetic materials (FIG. 7, 64b) of a same polarity as the second passive magnetic materials integrated into the second thrust bearing (Paragraph [0047]).
Taniguchi does not teach the first and second passive magnetic materials being of opposite polarity.
However, it would have been obvious to try placing the second passive magnetic material to be of opposite polarity to the first passive magnetic material as there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions (two magnetic poles of the magnet), with a reasonable expectation of success.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the hybrid airfoil thrust bearing of Taniguchi by changing the polarity of the second passive magnetic material as it helps keep the magnetic materials in the thrust disc as they would not axially repel each other.
Regarding claim 16, Taniguchi teaches the device according to claim 14, wherein the passive magnetic bearing components comprise:
Taniguchi teaches the hybrid airfoil thrust bearing according to claim 5, wherein the passive magnetic bearing components comprise:
first (FIG. 7, 63a) and second (FIG. 7, 64a) passive magnetic materials integrated into the first and second sides of the thrust disc;
third passive magnetic materials (FIG. 7, 63b) of a same polarity as the first passive magnetic materials integrated into the first flange (Paragraph [0047]); and
fourth passive magnetic materials (FIG. 7, 64b) of a same polarity as the second passive magnetic materials integrated into the second flange (Paragraph [0047]).
Taniguchi does not teach the first and second passive magnetic materials being of opposite polarity.
However, it would have been obvious to try placing the second passive magnetic material to be of opposite polarity to the first passive magnetic material as there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions (two magnetic poles of the magnet), with a reasonable expectation of success.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the hybrid airfoil thrust bearing of Taniguchi by changing the polarity of the second passive magnetic material as it helps keep the magnetic materials in the thrust disc as they would not axially repel each other.
Claims 9-10, 17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taniguchi in view of U.S. Patent No. 5,726,560 to Eakman et al. (hereinafter Eakman).
Regarding claim 9, Taniguchi teaches the device according to claim 8, further comprising:
a compressor wheel (FIG. 2, 12) connected to an end of the shaft and one or more journal bearings (FIG. 2, 14) disposed along at least one of the first and second ends of the shaft.
Taniguchi does not teach a turbine wheel connected to the another end of the shaft.
However, Eakman teaches a compressor with a compressor wheel (FIG. 1, 3) at one end of a shaft (FIG. 1, 4) and a turbine wheel (FIG. 1, 5) on the other end of the shaft.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Taniguchi with the turbine wheel of Eakman to further increase the efficiency of the air compression of the device.
Regarding claim 10, Taniguchi in view of Eakman teaches the device according to claim 9, wherein Taniguchi further teaches the one or more journal bearings is a hybrid airfoil bearing (FIG. 2; 23, 24, 63, 64).
Regarding claim 17, Taniguchi teaches a compressed air supplying device (FIG. 2, 6), comprising:
a motor (FIG. 2, 20);
an impeller (FIG. 2, 13a);
a shaft (FIG. 2, 13), which is rotatable about a longitudinal axis thereof and by which the motor drives impeller rotation (Paragraph [0033]);
a thrust disc (FIG. 2, 34) disposed along the shaft to rotate with the shaft; and
a hybrid airfoil thrust bearing (FIG. 2; 23, 24, 63, 64), comprising:
airfoil bearing components comprising:
a first top foil (FIG. 2, 23; FIG. 5(b), 56) immediately adjacent to a first side of the thrust disc and surrounding the shaft;
first additional components (FIG. 4, 11; FIG. 5(b); 57, 58) comprising a first thrust bearing;
a second top foil (FIG. 2, 24; FIG. 5(b), 56) immediately adjacent to a second side of the thrust disc and surrounding the shaft; and
second additional components (FIG. 4, 11; FIG. 5(b); 57, 58) comprising a second thrust bearing; and
passive magnetic bearing components integrated into the thrust disc (FIG. 2; 63a, 64a), into the first thrust bearing of the first additional components and into the second thrust bearing of the second additional components (FIG. 2; 63b, 64b) to remove a static load of the thrust disc on the first top foil and on the second top foil (Claim 2).
Taniguchi does not teach the device being an air cycle machine (ACM).
However, Eakman teaches a bearing supported air compressor comprising an air cycle machine (FIG. 1, 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Taniguchi by incorporating it into the air cycle machine of Eakman for the air cycle machine of Eakman to benefit from the features of the device of Taniguchi.
Regarding claim 19, Taniguchi in view of Eakman teaches the ACM according to claim 17, wherein Taniguchi further teaches one or more journal bearings (FIG. 2, 14) disposed along the shaft.
Regarding claim 20, Taniguchi in view of Eakman teaches the ACM according to claim 19, wherein Taniguchi further teaches the one or more journal bearing being a hybrid airfoil bearing (FIG. 2; 23, 24, 63, 64).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taniguchi in view of Eakman and in further view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0099102 to Okano et al. (hereinafter Okano).
Regarding claim 18, Taniguchi in view of Eakman teaches the ACM according to claim 17, wherein Taniguchi further teaches the passive magnetic repulsion between the passive magnetic baring components integrated into the thrust disc and the passive magnetic bearing components integrated into the first and second additional components maintaining an axial position of the thrust disc (Paragraph [0047]).
Taniguchi in view of Eakman does not teach the thrust disc being between the motor and the impeller.
However, Okano teaches a compressor with a thrust disc (FIG. 1, 75) placed between an impeller (FIG. 1; 51, 52) and a motor (FIG. 1, 41).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ACM of Taniguchi in view of Eakman with the thrust disc placement of Okano to balance the rotational inertia of the shaft of the ACM, depending on its use case.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSHUA KIEL M RODRIGUEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/TULSIDAS C PATEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834