DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 16, 19 25, 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lou et al. (US 2021/0352688 A1). Regarding claims 1, 16, 25, Lou et al. disclose a wireless communication device configured for wireless communication, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories, the one or more processors (See fig 16 items 1604 and 1605) configured to: select a channel access priority class (CAPC) table (See Fig 5 and Para 87) indicating a defer period and a random number of sensing slots for a sidelink channel access procedure on an unlicensed carrier in a sidelink network based on at least one of a sidelink mode, a role of the wireless communication device in the sidelink network, a cast type of sidelink traffic to be transmitted by the wireless communication device, or a channel type of the sidelink traffic; and perform the sidelink channel access procedure for a sidelink transmission using the selected CAPC table (Para 87 teaches “Two types of channel access procedures for NR-U are available (e.g., type 1 and type 2). In a type 1 channel access procedure, a wireless device (e.g., gNB or UE) performs the channel access procedure in a time duration spanned by a random number of sensing slots to determine or find an idle channel before transmission. FIG. 4 illustrates a first type (Type 1) of channel access procedure. After a defer period 402 following a busy channel, a wireless device may transmit (UL or DL transmission burst) in a COT 404 after first sensing the channel to be idle during a random number of sensing slots 406 (e.g., m.sub.p consecutive sensing slots) in a defer duration. FIG. 5 is a table illustrating some parameters that can be used in the type 1 channel access procedure for different channel access priority classes.”). Regarding claims 4, 19, 28, Lou et al. discloses a wireless communication device, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: select the downlink CAPC table in response to the role of the wireless communication device being one of a SyncRef wireless communication device, an anchor node in the sidelink network, a road side unit (RSU), a sidelink relay node, or a sidelink coordination node configured to coordinate channel access of the unlicensed carrier among a plurality of sidelink nodes or schedule resources among the plurality of sidelink nodes (Para 50, Para 71 and Para 95 teaches of the communication device being a device that schedule resource for devices).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 3, 5-7, 17, 18, 20-22, 26, 27, 29 and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lou et al. (US 2021/0352688 A1) in view of Park et al. (US 2022/0046696 A1). Regarding claims 2, 17, 26 Lou et al. discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 2 above. Lou et al. does not disclose a wireless communication device, wherein the selected CAPC table comprises a downlink CAPC table or an uplink CAPC table. However Park et al. discloses a wireless communication device, wherein the selected CAPC table comprises a downlink CAPC table or an uplink CAPC table (Para 125 teaches “Meanwhile, Table 8 shows channel access priority class (or channel access priorities) in the downlink. In the disclosure, for convenience of description, embodiments are described based on the downlink channel access priority class. In a case of uplink, the same channel access priority class in Table 8 may be used in the same manner, or a separate channel access priority class for uplink signal transmission may be used”). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the method of having a downlink CAPC table for downlink and a uplink CAPC table for uplink of Park et al. with the system of Lou et al. in order to provide a system wherein, in case that a terminal transmits uplink data information, data information requiring a high level of reliability can be transmitted in a short latency time regardless of slot boundaries and downlink and uplink switching intervals. Regarding claims 3, 18, 27, Lou et al. discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 2 above. Lou et al. does not disclose a wireless communication device, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: select the uplink CAPC table in response to the sidelink mode being Mode 1; and select the downlink CAPC table in response to the sidelink mode being Mode 2. However Park et al. discloses a wireless communication device, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: select the uplink CAPC table in response to the sidelink mode being Mode 1; and select the downlink CAPC table in response to the sidelink mode being Mode 2. (Para 125 teaches “Meanwhile, Table 8 shows channel access priority class (or channel access priorities) in the downlink. In the disclosure, for convenience of description, embodiments are described based on the downlink channel access priority class. In a case of uplink, the same channel access priority class in Table 8 may be used in the same manner, or a separate channel access priority class for uplink signal transmission may be used”). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the method of having a downlink CAPC table for downlink and a uplink CAPC table for uplink of Park et al. with the system of Lou et al. in order to provide a system wherein, in case that a terminal transmits uplink data information, data information requiring a high level of reliability can be transmitted in a short latency time regardless of slot boundaries and downlink and uplink switching intervals. Regarding claims 5, 20, 29, Lou et al. discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 2 above and a wireless communication device, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to determine the cast type. (Para 76 teaches of different cast types for communication such as broadcast, multicast, group cast or unicast) . Lou et al. does not disclose a wireless communication device, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: select the downlink CAPC table in response to the cast type of the sidelink traffic comprising a high priority; and select the uplink CAPC table in response to the cast type of the sidelink traffic comprising a low priority. However Park et al. discloses a wireless communication device, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: select the downlink CAPC table in response to the cast type of the sidelink traffic comprising a high priority; and select the uplink CAPC table in response to the cast type of the sidelink traffic comprising a low priority. (Para 125 teaches “Meanwhile, Table 8 shows channel access priority class (or channel access priorities) in the downlink. In the disclosure, for convenience of description, embodiments are described based on the downlink channel access priority class. In a case of uplink, the same channel access priority class in Table 8 may be used in the same manner, or a separate channel access priority class for uplink signal transmission may be used”. It is obvious that for a broadcast, groupcast, and multicast a downlink CAPC table will be used with a priority according to the priority class of the communication. And in case of a unicast an uplink table or a downlink CAPC table will be used according to the direction of communication and the priority of the communication. ). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the method of having a downlink CAPC table for downlink and a uplink CAPC table for uplink of Park et al. with the system of Lou et al. in order to provide a system wherein, in case that a terminal transmits uplink data information, data information requiring a high level of reliability can be transmitted in a short latency time regardless of slot boundaries and downlink and uplink switching intervals. Regarding claims 6, 21, Lou et al. discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 2 above and a wireless communication device, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to determine the cast type. (Para 76 teaches of different cast types for communication such as broadcast, multicast, group cast or unicast) . Lou et al. does not disclose a wireless communication device, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: select the downlink CAPC table in response to the cast type of the sidelink traffic comprising groupcast or broadcast; and select the uplink CAPC table in response to the cast type of the sidelink traffic comprising unicast. However Park et al. discloses a wireless communication device, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: select the downlink CAPC table in response to the cast type of the sidelink traffic comprising groupcast or broadcast; and select the uplink CAPC table in response to the cast type of the sidelink traffic comprising unicast. (Para 125 teaches “Meanwhile, Table 8 shows channel access priority class (or channel access priorities) in the downlink. In the disclosure, for convenience of description, embodiments are described based on the downlink channel access priority class. In a case of uplink, the same channel access priority class in Table 8 may be used in the same manner, or a separate channel access priority class for uplink signal transmission may be used”. It is obvious that for a broadcast, groupcast, and multicast a downlink CAPC table will be used with a priority according to the priority class of the communication. And in case of a unicast an uplink table or a downlink CAPC table will be used according to the direction of communication and the priority of the communication. ). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the method of having a downlink CAPC table for downlink and a uplink CAPC table for uplink of Park et al. with the system of Lou et al. in order to provide a system wherein, in case that a terminal transmits uplink data information, data information requiring a high level of reliability can be transmitted in a short latency time regardless of slot boundaries and downlink and uplink switching intervals. Regarding claims 7, 22, 30, Lou et al. discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 2 above and a wireless communication device, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to determine the channel type (Para 120 and Para 145 teaches of different channel types such as PDCCH, PDSCH, PUCCH, and PUSCH) . Lou et al. does not disclose a wireless communication device, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: select the downlink CAPC table in response to the channel type of the sidelink traffic comprising a high priority; and select the uplink CAPC table in response to the channel type of the sidelink traffic comprising a low priority. However Park et al. discloses a wireless communication device, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: select the downlink CAPC table in response to the channel type of the sidelink traffic comprising a high priority; and select the uplink CAPC table in response to the channel type of the sidelink traffic comprising a low priority. (Para 125 teaches “Meanwhile, Table 8 shows channel access priority class (or channel access priorities) in the downlink. In the disclosure, for convenience of description, embodiments are described based on the downlink channel access priority class. In a case of uplink, the same channel access priority class in Table 8 may be used in the same manner, or a separate channel access priority class for uplink signal transmission may be used”. It is obvious that for PDCCH and PDSCH a downlink CAPC table will be used with a priority according to the priority class of the communication. And in case of PUCCH and PUSCH an uplink table CAPC table will be used for communication and the priority of the communication. ). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the method of having a downlink CAPC table for downlink and a uplink CAPC table for uplink of Park et al. with the system of Lou et al. in order to provide a system wherein, in case that a terminal transmits uplink data information, data information requiring a high level of reliability can be transmitted in a short latency time regardless of slot boundaries and downlink and uplink switching intervals.
Claim(s) 8-15, 23, 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lou et al. (US 2021/0352688 A1) in view of Hwang et al. (US 2025/0294608 A1) Regarding claim 8, Lou et al. discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 2 above. Lou et al. does not disclose a wireless communication device, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: select the downlink CAPC table in response to the channel type of the sidelink traffic comprising a sidelink synchronization signal block (S- SSB); select the downlink CAPC table in response to the channel type of the sidelink traffic comprising a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH); and select the uplink CAPC table in response to the channel type of the sidelink traffic comprising one or more of a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) or a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH). However Hwang et al. discloses a wireless communication device, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: select the downlink CAPC table in response to the channel type of the sidelink traffic comprising a sidelink synchronization signal block (S- SSB) (See table 19 and Para 205 teaches of downlink CAPC table which would be used if the channel type required sending data on the down link); select the downlink CAPC table in response to the channel type of the sidelink traffic comprising a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) (See table 19 and Para 205 teaches of downlink CAPC table which would be used if the channel type required sending data on the down link); and select the uplink CAPC table in response to the channel type of the sidelink traffic comprising one or more of a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) or a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) (See table 20 and Para 205 teaches of uplink CAPC table which would be used if the channel type required sending data on the uplink). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the method of using the appropriate CAPC table according to the channel type of Hwang et al. with the system of Lou et al. in order to provide wherein, in case that a terminal transmits uplink data information, data information requiring a high level of reliability can be transmitted in a short latency time regardless of slot boundaries and downlink and uplink switching intervals. Regarding claim 9, Lou et al. discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 2 above. Lou et al. does not disclose a wireless communication device, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: select one of the downlink CAPC table or the uplink CAPC table based on a respective priority of each of a plurality of channel types of sidelink traffic to be transmitted during a channel occupancy time (COT) following the sidelink channel access procedure. However Hwang et al. discloses a wireless communication device, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: select one of the downlink CAPC table or the uplink CAPC table based on a respective priority of each of a plurality of channel types of sidelink traffic to be transmitted during a channel occupancy time (COT) following the sidelink channel access procedure (See Table 19 and Table 20 and Para 198-201 teaches of selecting a uplink CAPC or downlink CAPC table ). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the method of using the appropriate CAPC table according to the channel type of Hwang et al. with the system of Lou et al. in order to provide wherein, in case that a terminal transmits uplink data information, data information requiring a high level of reliability can be transmitted in a short latency time regardless of slot boundaries and downlink and uplink switching intervals.
Regarding claim 10, Hwang et al. discloses a wireless communication device, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: select one of the downlink CAPC table or the uplink CAPC table in response to the plurality of channel types comprising a sidelink synchronization signal block (S-SSB) and a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH). (See table 19 and Para 205 teaches of downlink CAPC table which would be used if the channel type required sending data on the down link) The motivation to combine is the same as indicated in claim 9 above.
Regarding claim 11, Hwang et al. discloses a wireless communication device, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: select the downlink CAPC table based on the S-SSB. Regarding claim 12, Hwang et al. discloses a wireless communication device, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: select the uplink CAPC table based the PSSCH. (See table 19 and Para 205 teaches of downlink CAPC table which would be used if the channel type required sending data on the down link) The motivation to combine is the same as indicated in claim 9 above.
Regarding claim 13, Hwang et al. discloses a wireless communication device, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: select one of the downlink CAPC table or the uplink CAPC table in response to the plurality of channel types comprising a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) and a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH). (See Table 19 and Table 20 and Para 198-201 teaches of selecting a uplink CAPC or downlink CAPC table ). The motivation to combine is the same as indicated in claim 9 above. Regarding claim 14, Hwang et al. discloses a wireless communication device, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: select the downlink CAPC table based on the PSFCH. (See table 19 and Para 205 teaches of downlink CAPC table which would be used if the channel type required sending data on the down link) The motivation to combine is the same as indicated in claim 9 above.
Regarding claim 15, Hwang et al. discloses a wireless communication device, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: select the uplink CAPC table based on the PSSCH. (See table 20 and Para 205 teaches of uplink CAPC table which would be used if the channel type required sending data on the uplink). The motivation to combine is the same as indicated in claim 9 above.
Regarding claim 23, Lou et al. in view of Park et al. discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 2 above. Lou et al. in view of Park et al. does not explicitly disclose a method, wherein the selecting the CAPC table further comprises: selecting the downlink CAPC table in response to the channel type of the sidelink traffic comprising a sidelink synchronization signal block (S- SSB); selecting the downlink CAPC table in response to the channel type of the sidelink traffic comprising a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH); and selecting the uplink CAPC table in response to the channel type of the sidelink traffic comprising one or more of a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) or a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH). However Hwang et al. discloses a method, , wherein the selecting the CAPC table further comprises: selecting the downlink CAPC table in response to the channel type of the sidelink traffic comprising a sidelink synchronization signal block (S- SSB) (See table 19 and Para 205 teaches of downlink CAPC table which would be used if the channel type required sending data on the down link); selecting the downlink CAPC table in response to the channel type of the sidelink traffic comprising a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) (See table 19 and Para 205 teaches of downlink CAPC table which would be used if the channel type required sending data on the down link); and selecting the uplink CAPC table in response to the channel type of the sidelink traffic comprising one or more of a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) or a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH). (PSSCH) (See table 20 and Para 205 teaches of uplink CAPC table which would be used if the channel type required sending data on the uplink). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the method of using the appropriate CAPC table according to the channel type of Hwang et al. with the system of Lou et al. in view of Park et a. in order to provide wherein, in case that a terminal transmits uplink data information, data information requiring a high level of reliability can be transmitted in a short latency time regardless of slot boundaries and downlink and uplink switching intervals. Regarding claim 24, Lou et al. in view of Park et al. discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 2 above. Lou et al. in view of Park et al. does not disclose a method, wherein the selecting the CAPC table further comprises: selecting one of the downlink CAPC table or the uplink CAPC table based on a respective priority of each of a plurality of channel types of sidelink traffic to be transmitted during a channel occupancy time (COT) following the sidelink channel access procedure. However Hwang et al. discloses a method, wherein the selecting the CAPC table further comprises: selecting one of the downlink CAPC table or the uplink CAPC table based on a respective priority of each of a plurality of channel types of sidelink traffic to be transmitted during a channel occupancy time (COT) following the sidelink channel access procedure. (See Table 19 and Table 20 and Para 198-201 teaches of selecting a uplink CAPC or downlink CAPC table ). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the method of using the appropriate CAPC table according to the channel type of Hwang et al. with the system of Lou et al. in view of Park et al. in order to provide wherein, in case that a terminal transmits uplink data information, data information requiring a high level of reliability can be transmitted in a short latency time regardless of slot boundaries and downlink and uplink switching intervals.
Conclusion
/AJAY CATTUNGAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467